tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

02/11/2015 : DRACONIAN - Sovran

DRACONIAN

Sovran

MusicCD
Black MetalDoom MetalGothic

[92/100]   

Napalm Records
02/11/2015, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

Draconian had to arrange a few things after their last album A Rose For the Apocalypse from 2011. Lisa Johansson, who for years was the singer, left and so they had to find a worthy successor which was found with Heike Langhans. This quest took some time, and in the end it lasted four years before a new album could be released. Anders Jacobsson wanted Heike to be part of the creative process of the new album, she even wrote some lyrics herself.

The album is wrapped in a beautiful cover, made by the Romanian artist Costin Chioreanu who is known for designing album covers. The cover also has a meaning: the connection between man and the universe, the plants, the stars and everything that is above us.

The first song Heavy Lies the Crown immediately is a strong starter. A doomy bass line and a guitar riff open the intro; we hear a piano, the angelic voice of Heike, then the guitar riff of the intro again, along with the grunts of Anders: a fantastic piece of music.

Heike's vocals are fantastic and include a lot of emotion and melancholy. Tortured Pale Blue is rich in emotions and orchestration. Stellar Tombs and Dishearten are heavier. Stellar Tombs has some beautiful vocals and guitar melodies. On Dusk Mariner we discover some violins and you get an 80s feeling because of the effects on the vocals. Rivers Between Us has guest vocals by Daniel of Crippled Black Phoenix. Anders and Heike's voices contrast nicely, while Daniel and Heike provide beautiful harmonies.

All songs are well structured. It's an album that you can listen to for many times without getting bored and with a qualitative song structure and production. I thought Feel The Misery of My Dying Bride was going to be the top record of 2015 in this genre, but Draconian does better. This album will definitely end up high in my list of 2015.

Wim GUILLEMYN
02/11/2015


NL

Draconian had wat op orde te stellen na zijn vorige album (A Rose For the Apocalypse uit 2011). Lisa Johansson, die jarenlang de zangeres was, vertrok en dus moest er gezocht worden naar een waardige opvolger en die vond men met Heike Langhans. Deze zoektocht vroeg wat tijd en uiteindelijk duurde het vier jaar vooraleer er een nieuw album kwam.

Anders Jacobsson schreef samen met Heike de zanglijnen en de teksten, hij wilde immers dat ze deel uitmaakte van het creatieproces van de nieuwe cd, sommige teksten zijn door haar alleen geschreven.

Het album is gehuld in een mooie cover die is gemaakt door de Roemeense kunstenaar Costin Chioreanu, bekend voor het ontwerpen van albumcovers. De hoes heeft ook een betekenis: de connectie tussen de mens en het universum, de planten, de sterren en alles boven ons.

De eerste song, Heavy Lies the Crown, leidt meteen het album sterk in. Een doomy baslijn en gitaarriff openen de intro; we horen wat piano, de engelachtige stem van Heike, waarna de gitaarriff uit de intro weer opduikt, samen met de grunts van Anders. In het refrein bloeit de track helemaal open. Een fantastisch stukje muziek.

De vocalen van Heike zijn fantastisch en bevatten veel emotie en melancholie. Pale Tortured Blue is rijk aan emoties en orkestratie. Stellar Tombs en Dishearten zijn wat zwaarder en hebben meer tempo dan de vorige songs. Stellar Tombs heeft een middenstuk met mooie zang- en gitaarmelodieën. Dishearten heeft ook een mooie bridge voordat de outro rock wordt. Op Dusk Mariner ontdekken we wat violen en je krijgt een 80s-gevoel door o.a. de effecten op de zang. Rivers Between Us heeft gastvocalen door Daniël van Crippled Black Phoenix. Met Anders en Heike krijgen we bij de stemmen een mooi contrast, terwijl Daniël en Heike een mooie samenzang verzorgen.

Alle nummers zijn goed opgebouwd. Het is een album dat je veel malen kan beluisteren zonder je te vervelen en met een kwalitatieve songopbouw en productie. Ik dacht dat Feel The Misery van My Dying Bride de topplaat uit dit genre voor 2015 zou zijn, maar ik zet dit album nog een trapje hoger op de ladder. Dit album komt zeker en vast dit jaar in mijn eindejaarslijstje terecht.

Wim GUILLEMYN
02/11/2015


02/11/2015 : DRACONIAN - Sovran 02/11/2015 : DRACONIAN - Sovran 02/11/2015 : DRACONIAN - Sovran

 

Next reviews
THE LOVELY INTANGIBLES • Tomorrow Is Never
GODSPEED YOU! BLACK EMPEROR • Antwerpen, Trix (30/10/2015)
MASK • Body Burn
ELISA WAUT • Brugge, Stadsschouwburg (31/10/2015)
PAVLOV'S DOG • Leuven, Het Depot (30/10/2015)
SOLAR FAKE • Another Manic Episode
HORSKH • Dawn (Extended Version)
THE COLORIST FT. EMILIANA TORRINI • Gent, De Handelsbeurs 29/10/2015
WOLFGANG FLUR • Eloquence-Complete Works
PACO ALMAZáN GUILLéN (VOX HUMANA) • Ten Album That Changed My Life

 

Same genre: BLACK METAL
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
LOTUS THIEF • Gramarye
BLACKWOOD • As the World Rots Away
CRADLE OF FILTH • Dusk And Her Embrace – The Original Sin
ANTAGONIST ZERO • No Tears
DOMINANZ • Noxious
EREB ALTOR • Blot-Ilt-Taut
MIGHTIEST • Sinisterra
DALLA NEBBIA • Felix Culpa
AMBER ASYLUM, CAMERATA MEDIOLANENSE, EMPYRIUM, DARKHER, TENHI • Prophecy Fest @ Balver Höhle in Balve 19/09/2015

 

Same genre: DOOM METAL
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA • Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
NADJA • The Stone is Not Hit By The Sun, Nor Carved With A Knife
CANDLEMASS • Death Thy Lover
ON THORNS I LAY • Eternal Silence
MARCHE FUNèBRE • Lost
IMPLORE • Depopulation
AHAB • THE BOATS OF THE GLEN CARRIG
PARADISE LOST • The Plague Within
ORPHANS OF DUSK • Revenant
ARCANE COELESTIA • Nomas

 

Same genre: GOTHIC
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
THE SISTERS OF MERCY • First And Last And Always
ALIEN VAMPIRES • Evil Twin Ep
SIOUXSIE AND THE BANSHEES • Juju
VIRGIN PRUNES • Hérésie
FOXXXY MULDER • Heretic
BAUHAUS • Bela Lugosi’s Dead
PHANTOM OF THE BLACK HILLS • Scalped
CRYING VESSEL • A Beautiful Curse
AUTUMN • The Fall

Music reviews

11
07
CONTAINER 90
Friendship and love
10
07
ENZO KREFT
Control
09
07
HOCICO
Artificial Extinction
04
07
MECHANIMAL
White Flag Single
14
06
CABINET OF MILLIONAIRES
Theresa, Vol.3 Ep
13
06
DEF ROBOT
Makers Of Mountains

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

18
07
Today it’s 31 years since Siouxsie & The Banshees released their single Peek-a-Boo.
18
07
Today, exactly 39 years ago, Joy Division released their second and final studio album, Closer.
17
07
Electronic/Industrial Bass Artist SINthetik Messiah Announces The Release of Their Single 'Black Sheep'
16
07
Electronic Act THE BRUTE: Announces New LONESOME HERO/AND I WANT YOU Split Single & Video
15
07
New Peek-a-Boo Magazine #34 out now!
15
07
PINK TURNS ANNOUNCES REISSUES OF FIRST ALBUMS + TOUR 2019

Concert reviews

14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019
15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

16
07
MARK DEUTROM (CLOWN ALLEY/THE MELVINS)
' I felt like I needed to make a solo-record at that time!'
15
07
STEVE DIGGLE (BUZZCOCKS)
'We were writing from the heart and soul!'
08
07
TODD TRAINER (SHELLAC)
'My attitude has always been to be original and unique!'
06
07
BOB BERT (PUSSY GALORE, LYDIA LUNCH RETROVIRUS, EX-SONIC YOUTH,...)
'One man’s noise is another man’s symphony!'
02
07
TEST DEPARTMENT
THE 80s WERE AN AMAZING TIME FOR MUSICAL DEVELOPMENT

PHOTOS

17
07
JOY/DISASTER
Blue Shell Köln
17
07
JOY/DISASTER
Blue Shell Köln
16
07
IAMTHESHADOW
Blue Shell Köln
16
07
IAMTHESHADOW
Blue Shell Köln
16
07
CRYING VESSEL
Blue Shell Köln
10
07
CEPHALGY
Parkhaus Duisburg
10
07
ALIENARE
Parkhaus Duisburg

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

18
07
AMBASSADOR21
FUCKALLSYSTEMS
17
07
THIS CAN HURT
Worlds Apart
16
07
RABIA SORDA
Deaf
15
07
GUS GUS
Deep Inside
14
07
CUBANATE
Kolossus
13
07
DEAD CAN DANCE
Anabasis
12
07
DIE KRUPPS
Goldfinger