tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd (ep) review

01/11/2015 : MASK - Body Burn

MASK

Body Burn

MusicCD (EP)
Electro Pop

[80/100]   

Self-released
01/11/2015, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

Anyone who follows the Belgian music scene, undoubtedly will know who Sam Claeys is. He used to be the bassist of the rock punk legend Red Zebra, and he’s currently involved with Der Klinke and Elements. And now he is also part of Mask, along with Gino Claeys (who did the production together with Pieter Nyckees), Chris Hazy De Neve (also formerly of Red Zebra, and now playing with Der Klinke and Elements) and bassist Bart Parmentier. On this project, Sam sings and plays the guitar.

On this EP, that is recorded at the Shellshock studio in Knokke (Belgium) earlier this year, we find four electro-pop songs. Originally they were written by Sam on piano and guitar, but later reworked by Hazy as electro-pop tracks.

There are some fine songs here, like opener Body Burn and Falling. Both are uptempo songs, they’re catchy, the voice is great and the electro sounds remind me of Hurts (especially the voice), but it’s all less polished. The other two songs are of a good level too, especially The Weight of the World. In the lyrics, the band attempts to say things that make you think...

Only on Approving The Dark it seems like Sam is struggling a bit with the vocals, we guess this song just doesn’t fit him soo much, but in general this is a very fine EP.

Mask already played a few gigs (Red Rock Rally in Bruges for example) and the set included covers like Seasons (Future Islands) and Winning (The Sound). We certainly look forward to more.

Wim GUILLEMYN
01/11/2015


NL

Wie een beetje de Belgische muziekscène volgt, zal ongetwijfeld Sam Claeys kennen. Hij was bassist bij de rock-/punklegende Red Zebra, en momenteel bij Der Klinke en Elements. En nu maakt hij ook deel uit van Mask, samen met Gino Claeys (die samen met Pieter Nyckees de productie deed), Chris Hazy De Neve (eveneens vroeger bij Red Zebra en nu bij Der Klinke en Elements) en bassist Bart Parmentier. Op dit project verzorgt Sam de zang en de gitaar.

Op deze ep, die begin dit jaar in de Shell Shock studio in Knokke werd opgenomen, horen we vier electro-popsongs. Oorspronkelijk zijn ze door Sam geschreven op piano en gitaar en later door Hazy tot electro-poptracks herwerkt.

Dat levert enkele fijne nummers op. Opener Body Burn en Falling bijv.: beide tracks zijn uptempo songs, catchy met een aangename stem en het electrosausje doet me wat denken aan Hurts (vooral de stem dan), maar wel minder gepolijst. Ook de twee andere songs zijn van een goed niveau, vooral The Weight of the World. In zijn teksten probeert men ook wat zinnigs te vertellen.

Het is alleen maar op de afsluiter Approving The Dark dat Sam wat met de zang worstelt. Blijkbaar ligt deze song hem iets minder, maar voor de rest is dit een zeer puike ep.

Mask heeft al een paar optredens achter de rug, o.a. in de Red Rock Rally in Brugge en daar brachten ze covers zoals Seasons (Future Islands) en Winning (The Sound). We zijn alvast benieuwd naar meer.

Wim GUILLEMYN
01/11/2015


Music reviews

03
05
BOYTRONIC
The Robot Treatment
02
05
ARMAGEDDON DILDOS
Heut Nacht
01
05
BLUTENGEL + HOCICO
Obscured
30
04
STRIKKLAND
Predatorial Right
29
04
THIRD REALM
The Art of Despair
28
04
THE BIRTHDAY MASSACRE
DIAMONDS

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

26
05
Happy birthday Wayne Hussey!
24
05
46 years Of Diamond Dogs!
23
05
34 years of 'Let Your Body Learn!'
22
05
39 years Spellbound!
21
05
Electro / EBM pioneers PORTION CONTROL strike hard with new album 'Head Buried'!
20
05
40 years ALAN VEGA · MARTIN REV or THE SECOND SUICIDE ALBUM!

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

26
05
MARK E MOON
We Know We’re Not Re-Inventing The Wheel!
23
05
JOSH KLINGHOFFER (PLURALONE,RHCP)
“I suddenly found the piano the most exciting instrument to write on.”
19
05
THE HERESY GENE
'The More We Do It, The More Important It Feels.'
01
05
AUTUMN TEARS
An Interview With Autumn Tears
30
04
EMPUSAE
One thing is for sure... I'll never stop making music!

PHOTOS

13
03
SIGLO XX
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
ROME
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ROSE OF AVALANCHE
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE DANSE SOCIETY
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ARCH
Porta Nigra Aarschot
11
03
FRONT 242
Pulse Namur Isnes
11
03
SHAARGHOT
Pulse Namur Isnes

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

27
05
HIDDEN ORCHESTRA
Still
26
05
EX-RZ
I can't live in a living room
25
05
POISON POINT
Imaginary Veil
24
05
GRAUZONE
Eisbaer
23
05
SCHONWALD
Fury
22
05
DANIELLE DE PICCIOTTO & ALEXANDER HACKE
Awake
21
05
SIOUXSIE & THE BANSHEES
Happy House