tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd (ep) review

01/11/2015 : MASK - Body Burn

MASK

Body Burn

MusicCD (EP)
Electro Pop

[80/100]   

Self-released
01/11/2015, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

Anyone who follows the Belgian music scene, undoubtedly will know who Sam Claeys is. He used to be the bassist of the rock punk legend Red Zebra, and he’s currently involved with Der Klinke and Elements. And now he is also part of Mask, along with Gino Claeys (who did the production together with Pieter Nyckees), Chris Hazy De Neve (also formerly of Red Zebra, and now playing with Der Klinke and Elements) and bassist Bart Parmentier. On this project, Sam sings and plays the guitar.

On this EP, that is recorded at the Shellshock studio in Knokke (Belgium) earlier this year, we find four electro-pop songs. Originally they were written by Sam on piano and guitar, but later reworked by Hazy as electro-pop tracks.

There are some fine songs here, like opener Body Burn and Falling. Both are uptempo songs, they’re catchy, the voice is great and the electro sounds remind me of Hurts (especially the voice), but it’s all less polished. The other two songs are of a good level too, especially The Weight of the World. In the lyrics, the band attempts to say things that make you think...

Only on Approving The Dark it seems like Sam is struggling a bit with the vocals, we guess this song just doesn’t fit him soo much, but in general this is a very fine EP.

Mask already played a few gigs (Red Rock Rally in Bruges for example) and the set included covers like Seasons (Future Islands) and Winning (The Sound). We certainly look forward to more.

Wim GUILLEMYN
01/11/2015


NL

Wie een beetje de Belgische muziekscène volgt, zal ongetwijfeld Sam Claeys kennen. Hij was bassist bij de rock-/punklegende Red Zebra, en momenteel bij Der Klinke en Elements. En nu maakt hij ook deel uit van Mask, samen met Gino Claeys (die samen met Pieter Nyckees de productie deed), Chris Hazy De Neve (eveneens vroeger bij Red Zebra en nu bij Der Klinke en Elements) en bassist Bart Parmentier. Op dit project verzorgt Sam de zang en de gitaar.

Op deze ep, die begin dit jaar in de Shell Shock studio in Knokke werd opgenomen, horen we vier electro-popsongs. Oorspronkelijk zijn ze door Sam geschreven op piano en gitaar en later door Hazy tot electro-poptracks herwerkt.

Dat levert enkele fijne nummers op. Opener Body Burn en Falling bijv.: beide tracks zijn uptempo songs, catchy met een aangename stem en het electrosausje doet me wat denken aan Hurts (vooral de stem dan), maar wel minder gepolijst. Ook de twee andere songs zijn van een goed niveau, vooral The Weight of the World. In zijn teksten probeert men ook wat zinnigs te vertellen.

Het is alleen maar op de afsluiter Approving The Dark dat Sam wat met de zang worstelt. Blijkbaar ligt deze song hem iets minder, maar voor de rest is dit een zeer puike ep.

Mask heeft al een paar optredens achter de rug, o.a. in de Red Rock Rally in Brugge en daar brachten ze covers zoals Seasons (Future Islands) en Winning (The Sound). We zijn alvast benieuwd naar meer.

Wim GUILLEMYN
01/11/2015


Music reviews

17
11
DAGEIST
Sexy
16
11
ORDO ROSARIUS EQUILIBRIO
Let's Play (Two girls and a goat)
12
11
TWIN TRIBES
Ceremony
31
10
BLAC KOLOR
Nephi
24
10
ROGER C.REALE & RUE MORGUE
The Collection
23
10
KIM GORDON
No Home Record

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

18
11
Disorientations! New band, new single, new video!
14
11
Today, 30 years The Mind Is A Terrible Thing To Taste by Ministry!
13
11
Today, 41 years ago, Siouxsie & The Banshees released their debut album Scream!
13
11
Today, 38 years ago, New Order released its debut album Movement!
12
11
Exclusive Belgian NITZER EBB clubshow at De Casino - St-Niklaas - B
11
11
THE CASSANDRA COMPLEX released GRENADE 2019 REMASTER

Concert reviews

21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019
15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

02
11
UNDERTHESKIN
Try To Leave The Listener In A Certain Reflection, And Maybe Bring Some Kind Of Relief
01
11
MIKE WATT(JUMPSTARTED PLOWHARDS)
In a way, the project is a total collaboration!
26
10
MICHAEL GIRA(SWANS)
'Having a strong presence of death in your mind all the time is very healthy thing!'
25
10
PAUL Q.KOLDERIE
'There has to be a song that I feel needs to be recorded…'
14
10
JAMES MCGREGOR (THE CLOCKWORKS)
'Our dynamic is genuinely a gang scenario'

PHOTOS

17
11
FAUN
Christuskirche Bochum
14
11
DEINE LAKAIEN HELIUM VOLA VELJANOV
Christuskirche Bochum
14
11
MORGAN KING
B52 music club
13
11
STORY OFF
B52 music club
13
11
N TALES
B52 music club
11
11
SUICIDE COMMANDO
Magasin 4 Bruxelles
11
11
AMBASSADOR 21
Magasin 4 Bruxelles

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

18
11
OAKTREE
La Fin
17
11
ALISON MOYET
Other
16
11
ROSARUBEA
A Blue Bird in a Scarlet Spring
15
11
DER KLINKE
My Frozen Heart
14
11
KELUAR
Volition
13
11
HEILUNG
Krigsgaldr
12
11
STOCKHAUSSEN
Mi siniestro