tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

30/10/2015 : HORSKH - Dawn (Extended Version)

HORSKH

Dawn (Extended Version)

MusicCD
EBMIndustrial

[82/100]   

Audiotrauma
30/10/2015, Didier BECU

EN

Sometimes, you wonder whether it pays to spend your time in reading the long endless list of (often useless) messages on the social media. The answer is yes. So, I recently discovered by coincidence the French band Horskh.

It is indeed a name that is nearly impossible to remember, but once the thumping beats have reached your brains, you always will remember what the music of Bass and Briou stands for. This duo from Besançon makes an explosive potpourri of electronic sounds with drums, guitars and synths.

This EP (well, there are thirteen tracks on it!) is released on Audiotrauma and already from the first song (Magma) you’re senseless by the beats. The song has the rhythm of Nitzer Ebb, the beats of Suicide Commando and to make it complete, there’s a huge sense of melancholy in it.

The duo really draws inspiration from all possible (electronic) styles. Protocol is extremely aggressive and the beats are merciless attacks at the brain, while Trajectory is a sing-along tune (albeit one with distorted beats) that could do well on the alternative dance floor. Tainted is experimental stuff that makes Horskh sound like the industrial institution Imminent Starvation, and if that is not enough, on Host they sound like Combichrist on acid.

In addition to the eight original songs, five other tracks get a remix. Normally, after listening to an EP, one must say that he looks forward to what will follow in the future, but we already can confirm that Horskh is at the front row of EBM/indus acts to keep an eye on!

Click here for the Facebook page.

Didier BECU
30/10/2015


NL

Soms stel je je wel eens de vraag of het loont om je tijd te steken in het lezen van de ellenlange lijst van (vaak nutteloze) berichten op de sociale media. Ja, dus. Zo stootte ik onlangs heel toevallig op de Franse band Horskh.

Het is inderdaad een naam die bijna onmogelijk te onthouden is, maar eens de dreunende beats je hersenen hebben bereikt, zal je je wel altijd blijven herinneren waar de muziek van Bass en Briou voor staat. Dit duo uit Besançon tovert immers uit zijn drums, gitaren en synths een explosieve potpourri van elektronische geluiden.

Deze ep (nou ja, er staan dertien nummers op!) is uitgebracht door Audiotrauma en slaat je vanaf het eerste nummer (Magma) met zijn beats compleet murw. Het nummer heeft het ritme van Nitzer Ebb, de beats van Suicide Commando en er zit ook nog een flinke brok melancholie in.

Het duo haalt werkelijk zijn inspiratie uit alle mogelijke (elektronische) stijlen. Zo is Protocol uiterst agressief en zijn de beats genadeloze aanslagen op je brein, terwijl Trajectory een meezinger is (alhoewel eentje met distorted beats) die het goed zou doen op de alternatieve dansvloer. In Tainted wordt er wat lustig geëxperimenteerd waardoor Horskh plots indus wordt zoals Imminent Starvation, en alsof dat niet genoeg is klinken ze op het krankzinnige Host bijna als Combichrist.

Naast 8 originele nummers, krijgen vijf andere tracks een remixbehandeling. Normaliter zouden we bij het beluisteren van een ep moeten zeggen dat we volop uitkijken naar wat volgt, maar met Dawn weten we nu al dat Horskh op de voorste rij staat van de in de gaten te houden EBM/indus-acts.

Klik hier voor de Facebookpagina.

Didier BECU
30/10/2015


 

Next reviews
THE COLORIST FT. EMILIANA TORRINI • Gent, De Handelsbeurs 29/10/2015
WOLFGANG FLUR • Eloquence-Complete Works
PACO ALMAZáN GUILLéN (VOX HUMANA) • Ten Album That Changed My Life
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Pistes Noires-Hommage Electronique-Pop A Etienne Daho
EL GUERRILLERO ROJO • Manifiesto LP 1983-1984
THE SHOES • Chemicals
BRUNO KRAMM (DAS ICH) • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
DIARY OF DREAMS • Grau Im Licht
SPATIAL RELATION • Beyond The Zero
THE BRITISH IBM • Psychopaths Dream In Black And White

 

Same combination of genres: EBM + INDUSTRIAL
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY • Eye On You (Feat. Robert Görl)
KNK • Dead Body Music III
ALVAR • I Sew A Blanket Of All The Broken Clouds
MORTAL VOID • Of shadows and mirrors
HEXHEART • Midnight on a Moonless Night
SYD 31 • Drowning In Air EP
OBSZÖN GESCHOPF • The Vault Of Nightmares
FATAL CASUALTIES • Psalm
DER KLINKE • The Gathering Of Hopes
MOVEMENT TEN • Build Them And They Will Come

 

Same genre: EBM
STRIKKLAND • Predatorial Right
ARMAGEDDON DILDOS • Heut Nacht
POUPPEE FABRIKK • Armèn
REALITY'S DESPAIR • Melancholic Disposition
MISERIA ULTIMA • Graygarden
M73 • Tainted
PLASTIKSTROM • Beton Gegen Angst
ELM • Death Of The North
GRENDEL • Ascending The Abyss
PREEMPTIVE STRIKE 0.1 • Harbringer

 

Same genre: INDUSTRIAL
THIRD REALM • The Art of Despair
BLAC KOLOR • Nephi
AIMAPROJECT • Di AimA Il Segno
XTORT • Nothing is real
ACRETONGUE • Ghost Nocturne
HOCICO • Artificial Extinction
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
GROOVENOM • Wir müssen reden
NEON ELECTRONICS • Apollo
VARIOUS ARTISTS • A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

Music reviews

05
06
GOOD CO
So Pretty
30
05
THIS ETERNAL DECAY
Silence
29
05
THE MIDNIGHT COMPUTERS
Anxious
03
05
BOYTRONIC
The Robot Treatment
02
05
ARMAGEDDON DILDOS
Heut Nacht
01
05
BLUTENGEL + HOCICO
Obscured

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

03
06
Today, 42 years ago, Joy Division self-released their very first 7' EP, An Ideal For Living!
28
05
Electro/Synthwave act GIANT MONSTERS ON THE HORIZON unleash new studio album - Live From Night City
26
05
Happy birthday Wayne Hussey!
24
05
46 years Of Diamond Dogs!
23
05
34 years of 'Let Your Body Learn!'
22
05
39 years Spellbound!

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

26
05
MARK E MOON
We Know We’re Not Re-Inventing The Wheel!
23
05
JOSH KLINGHOFFER (PLURALONE,RHCP)
“I suddenly found the piano the most exciting instrument to write on.”
19
05
THE HERESY GENE
'The More We Do It, The More Important It Feels.'
01
05
AUTUMN TEARS
An Interview With Autumn Tears
30
04
EMPUSAE
One thing is for sure... I'll never stop making music!

PHOTOS

13
03
SIGLO XX
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
ROME
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ROSE OF AVALANCHE
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE DANSE SOCIETY
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ARCH
Porta Nigra Aarschot
11
03
FRONT 242
Pulse Namur Isnes
11
03
SHAARGHOT
Pulse Namur Isnes

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

05
06
PLASTIC NOISE EXPERIENCE
CONTROL
04
06
SUFFOCATING MINDS
Second Life
03
06
DARKH
Bury Our Bones
02
06
THE 69 EYES
Jet Fighter Plane
01
06
AEVERIUM
Hunted
31
05
THE JUGGERNAUTS
PURGE
30
05
MERCIFUL NUNS
Live at Amphi, Cologne 23-07-2017