tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

30/10/2015 : HORSKH - Dawn (Extended Version)

HORSKH

Dawn (Extended Version)

MusicCD
EBMIndustrial

[82/100]   

Audiotrauma
30/10/2015, Didier BECU

EN

Sometimes, you wonder whether it pays to spend your time in reading the long endless list of (often useless) messages on the social media. The answer is yes. So, I recently discovered by coincidence the French band Horskh.

It is indeed a name that is nearly impossible to remember, but once the thumping beats have reached your brains, you always will remember what the music of Bass and Briou stands for. This duo from Besançon makes an explosive potpourri of electronic sounds with drums, guitars and synths.

This EP (well, there are thirteen tracks on it!) is released on Audiotrauma and already from the first song (Magma) you’re senseless by the beats. The song has the rhythm of Nitzer Ebb, the beats of Suicide Commando and to make it complete, there’s a huge sense of melancholy in it.

The duo really draws inspiration from all possible (electronic) styles. Protocol is extremely aggressive and the beats are merciless attacks at the brain, while Trajectory is a sing-along tune (albeit one with distorted beats) that could do well on the alternative dance floor. Tainted is experimental stuff that makes Horskh sound like the industrial institution Imminent Starvation, and if that is not enough, on Host they sound like Combichrist on acid.

In addition to the eight original songs, five other tracks get a remix. Normally, after listening to an EP, one must say that he looks forward to what will follow in the future, but we already can confirm that Horskh is at the front row of EBM/indus acts to keep an eye on!

Click here for the Facebook page.

Didier BECU
30/10/2015


NL

Soms stel je je wel eens de vraag of het loont om je tijd te steken in het lezen van de ellenlange lijst van (vaak nutteloze) berichten op de sociale media. Ja, dus. Zo stootte ik onlangs heel toevallig op de Franse band Horskh.

Het is inderdaad een naam die bijna onmogelijk te onthouden is, maar eens de dreunende beats je hersenen hebben bereikt, zal je je wel altijd blijven herinneren waar de muziek van Bass en Briou voor staat. Dit duo uit Besançon tovert immers uit zijn drums, gitaren en synths een explosieve potpourri van elektronische geluiden.

Deze ep (nou ja, er staan dertien nummers op!) is uitgebracht door Audiotrauma en slaat je vanaf het eerste nummer (Magma) met zijn beats compleet murw. Het nummer heeft het ritme van Nitzer Ebb, de beats van Suicide Commando en er zit ook nog een flinke brok melancholie in.

Het duo haalt werkelijk zijn inspiratie uit alle mogelijke (elektronische) stijlen. Zo is Protocol uiterst agressief en zijn de beats genadeloze aanslagen op je brein, terwijl Trajectory een meezinger is (alhoewel eentje met distorted beats) die het goed zou doen op de alternatieve dansvloer. In Tainted wordt er wat lustig geëxperimenteerd waardoor Horskh plots indus wordt zoals Imminent Starvation, en alsof dat niet genoeg is klinken ze op het krankzinnige Host bijna als Combichrist.

Naast 8 originele nummers, krijgen vijf andere tracks een remixbehandeling. Normaliter zouden we bij het beluisteren van een ep moeten zeggen dat we volop uitkijken naar wat volgt, maar met Dawn weten we nu al dat Horskh op de voorste rij staat van de in de gaten te houden EBM/indus-acts.

Klik hier voor de Facebookpagina.

Didier BECU
30/10/2015


 

Next reviews
THE COLORIST FT. EMILIANA TORRINI • Gent, De Handelsbeurs 29/10/2015
WOLFGANG FLUR • Eloquence-Complete Works
PACO ALMAZáN GUILLéN (VOX HUMANA) • Ten Album That Changed My Life
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Pistes Noires-Hommage Electronique-Pop A Etienne Daho
EL GUERRILLERO ROJO • Manifiesto LP 1983-1984
THE SHOES • Chemicals
BRUNO KRAMM (DAS ICH) • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
DIARY OF DREAMS • Grau Im Licht
SPATIAL RELATION • Beyond The Zero
THE BRITISH IBM • Psychopaths Dream In Black And White

 

Same combination of genres: EBM + INDUSTRIAL
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY • Eye On You (Feat. Robert Görl)
KNK • Dead Body Music III
ALVAR • I Sew A Blanket Of All The Broken Clouds
MORTAL VOID • Of shadows and mirrors
HEXHEART • Midnight on a Moonless Night
SYD 31 • Drowning In Air EP
OBSZÖN GESCHOPF • The Vault Of Nightmares
FATAL CASUALTIES • Psalm
DER KLINKE • The Gathering Of Hopes
MOVEMENT TEN • Build Them And They Will Come

 

Same genre: EBM
SHERAPHIM SYSTEM • Phoenix
TUKT • Tukt
STAATSEINDE • Darüber Reden Wir Nicht
EMERGENCY SEQUENCE • Sharpening The Axe
PORTION CONTROL • Head Buried
UNITCODE:MACHINE • Paper empires
GHOSTING • The Flanders EP
STRIKKLAND • Predatorial Right
ARMAGEDDON DILDOS • Heut Nacht
POUPPEE FABRIKK • Armèn

 

Same genre: INDUSTRIAL
BLACK NEEDLE NOISE • Seed of Evil
THIRD REALM • The Art of Despair
BLAC KOLOR • Nephi
AIMAPROJECT • Di AimA Il Segno
GRENDEL • Ascending The Abyss
XTORT • Nothing is real
ACRETONGUE • Ghost Nocturne
HOCICO • Artificial Extinction
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
GROOVENOM • Wir müssen reden

Music reviews

03
09
SHERAPHIM SYSTEM
Phoenix
02
09
CAWATANA
In The Silver Light (7')
01
09
MIKE SOPKO, BILL LASWELL, TYSHAWN SOREY
On Common Ground
31
08
TUKT
Tukt
26
08
EMERGENCY SEQUENCE
Sharpening The Axe
21
08
STRUGGLER
Wilma (Determinated Protector)

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

22
09
Today it’s been exactly 28 years since Nine Inch Nails released Broken (EP)
08
09
SUICIDE COMMANDO release a complete 'Dein herz, meine gier' lyric video for the release of the limited club single CD 'Dein herz, meine gier / Bunkerb!tc!
04
09
39 years ago, Soft Cell's version of ‘Tainted Love’ reached the number one position in the British hit parade!
28
08
43 years ago Iggy Pop released Lust for Life (29th August 1977)
12
08
kaRIN FROM COLLIDE AND SHIKHEE FROM ANDROID LUST RELEASE NEW SINGLE ''ARE YOU LISTENING?''
10
08
Today, it’s exactly 33 years ago Nitzer Ebb released Join In The Chant!

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

19
09
MORTAR DEVOTIONS
Dystopia Is Just Around The Corner And Orwell Warned Us Already In 1948
16
09
MAT OSMAN (SUEDE)
'I’m always writing short stories...'
15
09
ERASURE
'Music certainly gives us hope' - Erasure talk about their new album 'The Neon'
14
09
WATA (BORIS)
'I will always feel like a rookie...'
12
09
DAWN OF ASHES
‘Covid-19 Is A Gateway To Show Us The True Colors Of The Human Race

PHOTOS

20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival
20
08
JUSTIN SULLIVAN & GASTONE
Kreisverwaltung Groß-Gerau
20
08
JUSTIN SULLIVAN & GASTONE
Kreisverwaltung Groß-Gerau

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

24
09
RYUICHI SAKAMOTO
Merry Christmas, Mr Lawrence
23
09
ANNA VON HAUSSWOLFF
The Mysterious Vanishing of Electra
22
09
BLACK LINE
Snap
21
09
ALPHAMAY
Silence Emotion
20
09
FREISPIELEREI
Fish Muss Schwimmen, Gell
19
09
TRUE ZEBRA
Connection is addiction
19
09
NO!ON
6