tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

30/10/2015 : HORSKH - Dawn (Extended Version)

HORSKH

Dawn (Extended Version)

MusicCD
EBMIndustrial

[82/100]   

Audiotrauma
30/10/2015, Didier BECU

EN

Sometimes, you wonder whether it pays to spend your time in reading the long endless list of (often useless) messages on the social media. The answer is yes. So, I recently discovered by coincidence the French band Horskh.

It is indeed a name that is nearly impossible to remember, but once the thumping beats have reached your brains, you always will remember what the music of Bass and Briou stands for. This duo from Besançon makes an explosive potpourri of electronic sounds with drums, guitars and synths.

This EP (well, there are thirteen tracks on it!) is released on Audiotrauma and already from the first song (Magma) you’re senseless by the beats. The song has the rhythm of Nitzer Ebb, the beats of Suicide Commando and to make it complete, there’s a huge sense of melancholy in it.

The duo really draws inspiration from all possible (electronic) styles. Protocol is extremely aggressive and the beats are merciless attacks at the brain, while Trajectory is a sing-along tune (albeit one with distorted beats) that could do well on the alternative dance floor. Tainted is experimental stuff that makes Horskh sound like the industrial institution Imminent Starvation, and if that is not enough, on Host they sound like Combichrist on acid.

In addition to the eight original songs, five other tracks get a remix. Normally, after listening to an EP, one must say that he looks forward to what will follow in the future, but we already can confirm that Horskh is at the front row of EBM/indus acts to keep an eye on!

Click here for the Facebook page.

Didier BECU
30/10/2015


NL

Soms stel je je wel eens de vraag of het loont om je tijd te steken in het lezen van de ellenlange lijst van (vaak nutteloze) berichten op de sociale media. Ja, dus. Zo stootte ik onlangs heel toevallig op de Franse band Horskh.

Het is inderdaad een naam die bijna onmogelijk te onthouden is, maar eens de dreunende beats je hersenen hebben bereikt, zal je je wel altijd blijven herinneren waar de muziek van Bass en Briou voor staat. Dit duo uit Besançon tovert immers uit zijn drums, gitaren en synths een explosieve potpourri van elektronische geluiden.

Deze ep (nou ja, er staan dertien nummers op!) is uitgebracht door Audiotrauma en slaat je vanaf het eerste nummer (Magma) met zijn beats compleet murw. Het nummer heeft het ritme van Nitzer Ebb, de beats van Suicide Commando en er zit ook nog een flinke brok melancholie in.

Het duo haalt werkelijk zijn inspiratie uit alle mogelijke (elektronische) stijlen. Zo is Protocol uiterst agressief en zijn de beats genadeloze aanslagen op je brein, terwijl Trajectory een meezinger is (alhoewel eentje met distorted beats) die het goed zou doen op de alternatieve dansvloer. In Tainted wordt er wat lustig geëxperimenteerd waardoor Horskh plots indus wordt zoals Imminent Starvation, en alsof dat niet genoeg is klinken ze op het krankzinnige Host bijna als Combichrist.

Naast 8 originele nummers, krijgen vijf andere tracks een remixbehandeling. Normaliter zouden we bij het beluisteren van een ep moeten zeggen dat we volop uitkijken naar wat volgt, maar met Dawn weten we nu al dat Horskh op de voorste rij staat van de in de gaten te houden EBM/indus-acts.

Klik hier voor de Facebookpagina.

Didier BECU
30/10/2015


 

Next reviews
THE COLORIST FT. EMILIANA TORRINI • Gent, De Handelsbeurs 29/10/2015
WOLFGANG FLUR • Eloquence-Complete Works
PACO ALMAZáN GUILLéN (VOX HUMANA) • Ten Album That Changed My Life
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Pistes Noires-Hommage Electronique-Pop A Etienne Daho
EL GUERRILLERO ROJO • Manifiesto LP 1983-1984
THE SHOES • Chemicals
BRUNO KRAMM (DAS ICH) • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
DIARY OF DREAMS • Grau Im Licht
SPATIAL RELATION • Beyond The Zero
THE BRITISH IBM • Psychopaths Dream In Black And White

 

Same combination of genres: EBM + INDUSTRIAL
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY • Eye On You (Feat. Robert Görl)
KNK • Dead Body Music III
ALVAR • I Sew A Blanket Of All The Broken Clouds
MORTAL VOID • Of shadows and mirrors
HEXHEART • Midnight on a Moonless Night
SYD 31 • Drowning In Air EP
OBSZÖN GESCHOPF • The Vault Of Nightmares
FATAL CASUALTIES • Psalm
DER KLINKE • The Gathering Of Hopes
MOVEMENT TEN • Build Them And They Will Come

 

Same genre: EBM
AD:KEY • Resonanz
DREADFOOL • Atoms for peace
SUICIDE COMMANDO • Mindstrip Redux
PORTION CONTROL • SEED EP1
TRUE ZEBRA • Idiorhythmic
SHERAPHIM SYSTEM • Phoenix
TUKT • Tukt
STAATSEINDE • Darüber Reden Wir Nicht
EMERGENCY SEQUENCE • Sharpening The Axe
PORTION CONTROL • Head Buried

 

Same genre: INDUSTRIAL
JESU • When I Was Small
ALSO • Live in Celovec
BLACK NEEDLE NOISE • Seed of Evil
THIRD REALM • The Art of Despair
BLAC KOLOR • Nephi
AIMAPROJECT • Di AimA Il Segno
GRENDEL • Ascending The Abyss
XTORT • Nothing is real
ACRETONGUE • Ghost Nocturne
HOCICO • Artificial Extinction

Music reviews

26
11
PREEMPTIVE STRIKE 0.1
The Dread Files
25
11
FIRST
Restless
18
11
AD:KEY
Resonanz
17
11
SWANS
Children Of GodFeel Good Now
16
11
ERASURE
THE NEON
14
11
ASSEMBLAGE 23
Mourn

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

28
11
Today it's exactly 40 years since Siouxsie and the Banshees, released their Christmas single 'Israel'!
27
11
39 years of Don't You Want Me by The Human League
27
11
Non-Stop Erotic Cabaret | Untainted With Time - Released 39 years ago!
26
11
38 years of Melting with Siouxsie and the Banshees!
26
11
29 years ‘Fear (of the Unknown)’... by Siouxsie and the Banshees!
25
11
Nocturnal Rapture | Nocturne Is 37 Years Old Today

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing
31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

14
11
PROYECTO MIRAGE
I Think We Needed A Break
21
10
DELERITAS
EBM-Indus Night Liège : The bands presented... Deleritas!
20
10
WULF7
EBM-Indus Night Liège : The bands presented... WÜLF7!
19
10
LISA GERRARD (DEAD CAN DANCE)
'I love the innocent dangers that can be experienced in musical performance...'
18
10
SERAPHIM SYSTEM
A Glorious Return To Form

PHOTOS

25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival
20
08
JUSTIN SULLIVAN & GASTONE
Kreisverwaltung Groß-Gerau

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

30
11
DIVE
Black Star (Official Music Video)
30
11
POPTONE
Slice Of Life
29
11
CUELEBRE
Fodder for the raven
28
11
ORDO ROSARIUS EQUILIBRIO
I M B E C I L E, My Idiot Lover
27
11
LYAPIS TRUBETSKOY
Lights
26
11
PIG
Rock n Roll Refugee
25
11
TRISOMIE 21
The Last Song