tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

30/10/2015 : HORSKH - Dawn (Extended Version)

HORSKH

Dawn (Extended Version)

MusicCD
EBMIndustrial

[82/100]   

Audiotrauma
30/10/2015, Didier BECU

EN

Sometimes, you wonder whether it pays to spend your time in reading the long endless list of (often useless) messages on the social media. The answer is yes. So, I recently discovered by coincidence the French band Horskh.

It is indeed a name that is nearly impossible to remember, but once the thumping beats have reached your brains, you always will remember what the music of Bass and Briou stands for. This duo from Besançon makes an explosive potpourri of electronic sounds with drums, guitars and synths.

This EP (well, there are thirteen tracks on it!) is released on Audiotrauma and already from the first song (Magma) you’re senseless by the beats. The song has the rhythm of Nitzer Ebb, the beats of Suicide Commando and to make it complete, there’s a huge sense of melancholy in it.

The duo really draws inspiration from all possible (electronic) styles. Protocol is extremely aggressive and the beats are merciless attacks at the brain, while Trajectory is a sing-along tune (albeit one with distorted beats) that could do well on the alternative dance floor. Tainted is experimental stuff that makes Horskh sound like the industrial institution Imminent Starvation, and if that is not enough, on Host they sound like Combichrist on acid.

In addition to the eight original songs, five other tracks get a remix. Normally, after listening to an EP, one must say that he looks forward to what will follow in the future, but we already can confirm that Horskh is at the front row of EBM/indus acts to keep an eye on!

Click here for the Facebook page.

Didier BECU
30/10/2015


NL

Soms stel je je wel eens de vraag of het loont om je tijd te steken in het lezen van de ellenlange lijst van (vaak nutteloze) berichten op de sociale media. Ja, dus. Zo stootte ik onlangs heel toevallig op de Franse band Horskh.

Het is inderdaad een naam die bijna onmogelijk te onthouden is, maar eens de dreunende beats je hersenen hebben bereikt, zal je je wel altijd blijven herinneren waar de muziek van Bass en Briou voor staat. Dit duo uit Besançon tovert immers uit zijn drums, gitaren en synths een explosieve potpourri van elektronische geluiden.

Deze ep (nou ja, er staan dertien nummers op!) is uitgebracht door Audiotrauma en slaat je vanaf het eerste nummer (Magma) met zijn beats compleet murw. Het nummer heeft het ritme van Nitzer Ebb, de beats van Suicide Commando en er zit ook nog een flinke brok melancholie in.

Het duo haalt werkelijk zijn inspiratie uit alle mogelijke (elektronische) stijlen. Zo is Protocol uiterst agressief en zijn de beats genadeloze aanslagen op je brein, terwijl Trajectory een meezinger is (alhoewel eentje met distorted beats) die het goed zou doen op de alternatieve dansvloer. In Tainted wordt er wat lustig geëxperimenteerd waardoor Horskh plots indus wordt zoals Imminent Starvation, en alsof dat niet genoeg is klinken ze op het krankzinnige Host bijna als Combichrist.

Naast 8 originele nummers, krijgen vijf andere tracks een remixbehandeling. Normaliter zouden we bij het beluisteren van een ep moeten zeggen dat we volop uitkijken naar wat volgt, maar met Dawn weten we nu al dat Horskh op de voorste rij staat van de in de gaten te houden EBM/indus-acts.

Klik hier voor de Facebookpagina.

Didier BECU
30/10/2015


 

Next reviews
THE COLORIST FT. EMILIANA TORRINI • Gent, De Handelsbeurs 29/10/2015
WOLFGANG FLUR • Eloquence-Complete Works
PACO ALMAZáN GUILLéN (VOX HUMANA) • Ten Album That Changed My Life
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Pistes Noires-Hommage Electronique-Pop A Etienne Daho
EL GUERRILLERO ROJO • Manifiesto LP 1983-1984
THE SHOES • Chemicals
BRUNO KRAMM (DAS ICH) • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
DIARY OF DREAMS • Grau Im Licht
SPATIAL RELATION • Beyond The Zero
THE BRITISH IBM • Psychopaths Dream In Black And White

 

Same combination of genres: EBM + INDUSTRIAL
IMPERATIVE REACTION • Mirror
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY • Eye On You (Feat. Robert Görl)
KNK • Dead Body Music III
ALVAR • I Sew A Blanket Of All The Broken Clouds
MORTAL VOID • Of shadows and mirrors
HEXHEART • Midnight on a Moonless Night
SYD 31 • Drowning In Air EP
OBSZÖN GESCHOPF • The Vault Of Nightmares
FATAL CASUALTIES • Psalm
DER KLINKE • The Gathering Of Hopes

 

Same genre: EBM
MICHAEL ZODOROZNY • Other Side
ARMAGEDDON DILDOS • Desctruction
RHYS FULBER • Brutal Nature
ORANGE SECTOR • Alles wird Gold
HERRNIA • Takkewereld
STAATSEINDE • Crazy Earthlings Collab Tape - Episode II
MILDREDA • I was never really there
RADERKRAFT • Dust & Debris
INSTITUTE FOR THE CRIMINALLY INSANE • Classic Chevrolet
PESCH • Melba

 

Same genre: INDUSTRIAL
HOCICO • HyperViolent
MATT HART • Decimate
ANALFABETISM • Rotvälta
MATT HART • TALES OF TERRA & CHAOS RETOLD
300 000VK • Peter Paradox
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY • Mechanical Soul
IMPLANT • Phantom Pain
HA:PEOPLE.3.55 • El Dia de la Bestia, Part 2 : WAR!
PORTION CONTROL • SEED EP 2
DIVE • Where do we go from here

Music reviews

12
05
SHE HATES EMOTIONS
Space and time
11
05
THIS CAN HURT
A Darker Shade Of Blue
22
04
DEAD MAN'S HILL
Inner Journeys Through The Living Temples Of Water
20
04
HYDROM LINE
Hydrom Line Edition 2021
19
04
HOCICO
HyperViolent
15
04
DIRK DA DAVO
The Unreal

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

15
05
On this day, 32 years ago, British post-punk band Wire released their 7th studio album Manscape
13
05
Today it’s exactly 25 years ago Nine Inch Nails released their The Perfect Drug (Versions) EP!
12
05
Witchy Goth Rock Band Metamorph Traverses Darkness With New Single 'Dream Curve'
11
05
Today it’s been 35 years since NITZER EBB released their legendary debut album That Total Age!
08
05
42 years ALAN VEGA · MARTIN REV or THE SECOND SUICIDE ALBUM!
07
05
This month it’s been 44 years since Kraftwerk released Die Roboter / The Robots!

Concert reviews

13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

20
04
NINO SABLE
I am not a friend of boxed content...
13
04
ECHO ROAD
'There was no easy way or any shortcut to be taken in terms of producing something truly representative of the human experience. We simply had to ‘just do it'.'
06
04
MARROWVOLTAGE
There is always a strong, dominating motif behind any of our songs. A feeling, a powerful association. For example, the gravitational force of an abyss underneath you. The movement of mighty and elegant creatures in the
05
04
LACRIMOSA
There were times when I could hardly believe that I would ever be able to finish the album.
10
03
ADULT.
'We have worked and risked so much to make this tour happen, so pleeeeeease come get wild!!!'

PHOTOS

16
05
THE MULTICOLOURED SHADES
Backyard Club Recklinghausen,Germany
15
05
RED ZEBRA
This is not a dark fest. Lessines
15
05
THE ULTIMATE DREAMERS
This is not a dark fest. Lessines
15
05
ULTRA SUNN
This is not a dark fest. Lessines
15
05
PARTIKUL
This is not a dark fest. Lessines
28
04
FAUN
Christuskirche Bochum
24
04
CLAN OF XYMOX
Rockfabrik Uebach-Palenberg

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

16
05
THE LUST SYNDICATE
Death moves towards us
15
05
EINSTÜRZENDE NEUBAUTEN
Yü-Gung (Fütter Mein Ego) - (Live Rockpalast 1990)
14
05
KATATONIA
Old Heart Falls
13
05
EVI VINE
Welcome The Dreamled Masses
12
05
RABIA SORDA
Deaf
11
05
ORNAMENTI D'ORO
Great God
10
05
MOTOR!K
Static