tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this vinyl review

28/10/2015 : SPATIAL RELATION - Beyond The Zero

SPATIAL RELATION

Beyond The Zero

MusicVinyl
MinimalSynth Pop / Electro Pop

[83/100]   

Peripheral Minimal
28/10/2015, Didier BECU

EN

Perhaps you've already heard the name Spatial Relation. No, we are not talking about the scientific term, but the duo from Brooklyn that already has been one of the favorite bands of many minimal synth lovers for a while.

Previously, the tape Thoughtcrime EP was released and they appeared on compilations of The Scrap Mag (Spain) and Until the Sun Grows Cold from Vocoder Tapes (Britain). Two years ago Peripheral Minimal released a split single with Xiu, and the label thought that the time was right to release a full album. Beyond the Zero is only available on vinyl, recorded in the home studio of the American duo and mastered by the Dutch producer Alden Tyrell.

It remains difficult to stick a label on the electronics of Lisette and Jacob. The songs are very danceable, they’re melancholic (think Isolation Ward or Nine Circles), Lisette likes to do strange things with her voice in the style of Laurie Anderson. The compositions seems perhaps ice cold, but at the same time they are irresistible sexy. A release that is absolutely worth exploring!

Didier BECU
28/10/2015


NL

Misschien heb je de naam Spatial Relation al eens horen vallen. Neen, we hebben het niet over de wetenschappelijke term, wel over het duo uit Brooklyn dat al een tijdje één van de favoriete bands is van vele minimalsynthliefhebbers.

Eerder verscheen de tape Thoughtcrime EP en kwamen ze op compilaties van het Spaanse The Scrap Mag en het Britse Until the Sun Grows Cold from Vocoder Tapes terecht. Nadat Peripheral Minimal twee jaar geleden een splitsingle met Xiu uitbracht, vond het label dat de tijd rijp was om een volledige plaat uit te brengen. Beyond the Zero is alleen maar op vinyl verkrijgbaar, opgenomen in de thuisstudio van het Amerikaanse duo en gemasterd door de Nederlandse producer Alden Tyrell.

Het blijft lastig om een etiket te plakken op de elektronische spielerei van Lisette en Jacob. De composities zijn zeer dansbaar, melancholisch (denk aan Isolation Ward of Nine Circles), Lisette houdt ervan om vreemde dingen met haar stem te doen, zoals bijv. Laurie Anderson. De composities zijn misschien wel ijskoud, maar stralen tegelijkertijd iets ontzettends sexy uit. Een release die absoluut het ontdekken waard is! 

Didier BECU
28/10/2015


 

Next reviews
THE BRITISH IBM • Psychopaths Dream In Black And White
SIX COMM • Fleischmaschine
MY DYING BRIDE • Feel The Misery
PROCOL HARUM • Shine On So Brightly
ILLUMININE & MICHAEL PRICE TRIO • Antwerp, De Roma, 22/10/2015
SALES/SINKANE • Gent, De Charlatan (25th October 2015)-Democrazy
GARY NUMAN • Manchester, Academy (24/10/2015)
APOCALYPTICA/TRACER • Brussels, AB (24th October 2015)
THE BLACK HEART REBELLION • People, If You See The Smoke Do Not Think It Is Fields They're Burning.
CHRIS TENZ • Nails Through Bird Feet

 

Same combination of genres: MINIMAL + SYNTH POP / ELECTRO POP
STURM CAFE • Fernes Land
BETA EVERS + SPATIAL RELATION • Split EP
PROJEKT ICH • Wolkenträne
DERNIERE VOLONTE • Prie Pour Moi
EX-MACHINA • Transhuman
CULT CLUB • Never Enough
VEIN CAT • Fold EP
THE RORSCHACH GARDEN • The Rorschach Dossier
JO LEMAIRE + FLOUZE • Pigmy world
ADN’ CKRYSTALL • Jazz' Mad

 

Same genre: MINIMAL
NICHOLAS LENS & NICK CAVE • L.I.T.A.N.I.E.S
MARTIN L. GORE • The Third Chimpanzee E.P.
SYNTET • Hjärtats slag
RUE OBERKAMPF • Negativraum
CAWATANA • In The Silver Light (7')
COLIN EDWIN • POINTS OF ORIGIN
STAATSEINDE • Darüber Reden Wir Nicht
SHE HATES EMOTIONS • See The Light (Single)
MORE EPHEMEROL • Obituary Templates
L'AVENIR • Requiem And Live

 

Same genre: SYNTH POP / ELECTRO POP
DD SANCHEZ • StRaNgE
ERASURE • THE NEON
HER OWN WORLD • A Different Kind Of Reality
AUGER • Insurgence
UNITCODE:MACHINE • Paper empires
COLD IN MAY • Koma:Redux
MONICA RICHARDS & ANTHONY JONES • AESTUARIUM
LUCKY AND LOVE • Transitions
LADYTRON • Ladytron
SIMI NAH • La Terre est Noire

Music reviews

05
04
VARIOUS ARTISTS
Electropop 18 (Super Deluxe Edition)
23
03
300 000VK
Peter Paradox
10
03
PYRROLINE
Struggling
23
02
THE HEAT INC.
EP
23
02
PIG
Pain Is God
22
02
ANTHONY JONES
Farewell To Flesh

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

14
04
In memorian.... The Punk Empowerment Of Poly Styrene(° 3 July 1957 †25 April 2011)
13
04
34 years MUTE records released 'Let Your Body Learn' by Nitzer Ebb!
07
04
Skinny Puppy’s Cevin Key zoom chat's with à;GRUMH...
04
04
15 years ago, Nine Inch Nails released ‘Every Day Is Exactly the Same’.
03
04
On this day, 19 years ago, Frank Tovey / Fad Gadget died at the age of 45.
02
04
SYNAPTIC DEFECT sends teaser into the world

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

12
02
DIVE
We All Can Ask Us The Question ‘Where Do We Go From Here?'
10
02
RAYMOND WATTS (PIG)
'It’s not a re-discovery. It’s finding the way in to let the stuff out...'
02
02
JOHN 3:16
I regularly come across animal remains at various stages of decomposition. That started to affect me, and that's where the concept of the record was born.
07
01
MAMAN KUSTERS
‘Let’s Keep It Intriguing
16
12
THE BREATH OF LIFE
'No, I never considered quitting making music. Nor to taste good special beers.'

PHOTOS

25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival
20
08
JUSTIN SULLIVAN & GASTONE
Kreisverwaltung Groß-Gerau

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

14
04
MESH
It scares me
13
04
MONOTONE EXPRESSION
Out Of Tune With Life
12
04
LAID BACK
White Horse
11
04
VOK
Waterfall
10
04
SVEN VATH VS. ANTHONY ROTHER
Komm
09
04
THIS CAN HURT
IF YOU GO
08
04
THE SISTERS OF MERCY
Lucretia, My Reflection