tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this vinyl review

28/10/2015 : SPATIAL RELATION - Beyond The Zero

SPATIAL RELATION

Beyond The Zero

MusicVinyl
MinimalSynth Pop / Electro Pop

[83/100]   

Peripheral Minimal
28/10/2015, Didier BECU

EN

Perhaps you've already heard the name Spatial Relation. No, we are not talking about the scientific term, but the duo from Brooklyn that already has been one of the favorite bands of many minimal synth lovers for a while.

Previously, the tape Thoughtcrime EP was released and they appeared on compilations of The Scrap Mag (Spain) and Until the Sun Grows Cold from Vocoder Tapes (Britain). Two years ago Peripheral Minimal released a split single with Xiu, and the label thought that the time was right to release a full album. Beyond the Zero is only available on vinyl, recorded in the home studio of the American duo and mastered by the Dutch producer Alden Tyrell.

It remains difficult to stick a label on the electronics of Lisette and Jacob. The songs are very danceable, they’re melancholic (think Isolation Ward or Nine Circles), Lisette likes to do strange things with her voice in the style of Laurie Anderson. The compositions seems perhaps ice cold, but at the same time they are irresistible sexy. A release that is absolutely worth exploring!

Didier BECU
28/10/2015


NL

Misschien heb je de naam Spatial Relation al eens horen vallen. Neen, we hebben het niet over de wetenschappelijke term, wel over het duo uit Brooklyn dat al een tijdje één van de favoriete bands is van vele minimalsynthliefhebbers.

Eerder verscheen de tape Thoughtcrime EP en kwamen ze op compilaties van het Spaanse The Scrap Mag en het Britse Until the Sun Grows Cold from Vocoder Tapes terecht. Nadat Peripheral Minimal twee jaar geleden een splitsingle met Xiu uitbracht, vond het label dat de tijd rijp was om een volledige plaat uit te brengen. Beyond the Zero is alleen maar op vinyl verkrijgbaar, opgenomen in de thuisstudio van het Amerikaanse duo en gemasterd door de Nederlandse producer Alden Tyrell.

Het blijft lastig om een etiket te plakken op de elektronische spielerei van Lisette en Jacob. De composities zijn zeer dansbaar, melancholisch (denk aan Isolation Ward of Nine Circles), Lisette houdt ervan om vreemde dingen met haar stem te doen, zoals bijv. Laurie Anderson. De composities zijn misschien wel ijskoud, maar stralen tegelijkertijd iets ontzettends sexy uit. Een release die absoluut het ontdekken waard is! 

Didier BECU
28/10/2015


 

Next reviews
THE BRITISH IBM • Psychopaths Dream In Black And White
SIX COMM • Fleischmaschine
MY DYING BRIDE • Feel The Misery
PROCOL HARUM • Shine On So Brightly
ILLUMININE & MICHAEL PRICE TRIO • Antwerp, De Roma, 22/10/2015
SALES/SINKANE • Gent, De Charlatan (25th October 2015)-Democrazy
GARY NUMAN • Manchester, Academy (24/10/2015)
APOCALYPTICA/TRACER • Brussels, AB (24th October 2015)
THE BLACK HEART REBELLION • People, If You See The Smoke Do Not Think It Is Fields They're Burning.
CHRIS TENZ • Nails Through Bird Feet

 

Same combination of genres: MINIMAL + SYNTH POP / ELECTRO POP
STURM CAFE • Fernes Land
BETA EVERS + SPATIAL RELATION • Split EP
PROJEKT ICH • Wolkenträne
DERNIERE VOLONTE • Prie Pour Moi
EX-MACHINA • Transhuman
CULT CLUB • Never Enough
VEIN CAT • Fold EP
THE RORSCHACH GARDEN • The Rorschach Dossier
JO LEMAIRE + FLOUZE • Pigmy world
ADN’ CKRYSTALL • Jazz' Mad

 

Same genre: MINIMAL
THE ULTIMATE DREAMERS • Live Happily While Waiting For Death
RADERKRAFT • Dust & Debris
THE RORSCHACH GARDEN • Dangerous Isolation Site
ABSOLUTE BODY CONTROL • A New Dawn
NICHOLAS LENS & NICK CAVE • L.I.T.A.N.I.E.S
MARTIN L. GORE • The Third Chimpanzee E.P.
SYNTET • Hjärtats slag
RUE OBERKAMPF • Negativraum
CAWATANA • In The Silver Light (7')
COLIN EDWIN • POINTS OF ORIGIN

 

Same genre: SYNTH POP / ELECTRO POP
TRAGIC IMPULSE • Distant Worlds
SHE HATES EMOTIONS • Space and time
FRAGRANCE • Salt Water
ARMAGEDDON DILDOS • Desctruction
SJOBLOM • Tape
NUOVO TESTAMENTO • New Earth
DD SANCHEZ • StRaNgE
ERASURE • THE NEON
HER OWN WORLD • A Different Kind Of Reality
AUGER • Insurgence

Music reviews

28
07
WULF7
I don't want (Anymore)
06
07
TRAGIC IMPULSE
Distant Worlds
04
07
RAMMSTEIN
Zeit
27
06
BALVANERA
Courses of Action
14
06
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Gift For You
10
06
SAMHAIN
Experiment

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

15
08
Futurepop Act, Voicecoil Reflects On Strange Days With New Album
14
08
Darkwave Duo, Male Tears Addresses Nightlife Hypocrisy & Abuse With New Single
10
08
Today, it’s exactly 35 years ago Nitzer Ebb released Join In The Chant!
09
08
Electronic Band She 1 - Him 2 Addresses Breaking Free With New Single
08
08
32 years of Head/Down with MOEV
07
08
Neo-Fanfare/Darkwave Band, Crooniek Reflects On The Concept Of Time With New Album

Concert reviews

05
07
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

05
08
MOTOR!K
I have to admit that I often still find it strange and difficult to grasp: people going crazy on three weirdos playing some repetitive music
12
07
FERALIA PLANITIA & DAS AUGE
'Thanks to our overlapping tastes in music, we became good friends; music was our cement, sort of speak…'
18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.

PHOTOS

16
08
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
16
08
SCHANDMAUL
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
16
08
ROTERSAND
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
16
08
VNV NATION CLASSICAL
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
16
08
COMBICHRIST
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
15
08
FEUERSCHWANZ
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
15
08
UNZUCHT
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

16
08
0KONTROL
Lullaby
15
08
AUSTRA
Utopia
14
08
THE SMITHS
There Is A Light That Never Goes Out
13
08
DRAB MAJESTY
39 By Design
12
08
COCTEAU TWINS
Hazel
11
08
IN STRICT CONFIDENDE
Somebody Else´s Dream
10
08
DOWNLOAD
Neuron Proper