tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

09/12/2016 : DERNIERE VOLONTE - Prie Pour Moi

DERNIERE VOLONTE

Prie Pour Moi

MusicCD
MartialMinimalSynth Pop / Electro Pop

[92/100]   

Hau Ruck!
09/12/2016, Didier BECU

EN

At the end of the 90, Dernière Volonté caused a real bomb in the industrial martial genre. The debut of Geoffroy Delacroix (Obeir Et Mourir) is one of the classics in this genre, but on his third album Les Blessures de l'Ombre, he completely changed the style by making it more poppy. Soon names like Etienne Daho or Taxi Girl were used as a reference, and when Geoffroy started his side project Position Parallèle, this became even more apparent.

His seventh CD (Prié Pour Moi) is released on HauRuck, the label of Der Blutharsch And The Infinite Church Of The Leading Hand, and that's no surprise because Geoffroy already joined Albin Julius on stage.

Ténèbres immerse the listener in a strange atmosphere. It feels like a walk through the catacombs, but you are on your own. From comes from every angle. The nightmare only lasts 2 minutes, but you are prepared for what is to come as Geoffroy enters your soul with very black thoughts, and even then it's melancholic pop with dark ambient influences. For two minutes, because the heroic sounds of Les Rêves De Dorian follow. The combination of a dark atmosphere with the unique (almost poppy) voice of Geoffroy Delacroix makes Dernière Volonté one of the best bands in the neofolk genre.

A Bout Portant is melancholic synth pop: imagine Etienne Daho with a glockenspiel. Petit Soldat is black pop. Yes, it's a term you rarely read, but we do not have other words to describe it.

Prie Pour Moi almost is minimal wave, and it’s difficult to keep your eyes dry when hearing this intense beauty of the melancholic sounds. And it doesn’t stop as the synths on Je Serai Toujours sound like a church organ on a funeral ceremony. Après Nous directs us (again) to Etienne Daho territory, but we probably say this because French genius pop always leads to him anyway...

Prie Pour Moi is a CD for lost and melancholic souls. Every track is a gem. One of the CDs of this month, or even this year…

Didier BECU
09/12/2016


NL

Op het einde van de jaren 90 zorgde Dernière Volonté voor een ware bom in de industrial martialwereld. Het debuut van Geoffroy Delacroix (Obeir Et Mourir) is één van de klassiekers uit het genre, maar met zijn derde plaat Les Blessures de l'Ombre zorgde hij voor een complete stijlbreuk door opeens onweerstaanbaar poppy te klinken. Al gauw vielen namen als Etienne Daho of Taxi Girl, en toen Geoffroy met zijn zijproject Position Parallèle begon, werd dat nog duidelijker.

Zijn zevende cd (Prié Pour Moi) is uitgebracht op HauRuck, het label van Der Blutharsch And The Infinite Church Of The Leading Hand, en dat is geen verrassing omdat Geoffroy al met Albin Julius op het podium stond.

Starttrack Ténèbres liegt er niet om. Meteen word je in een vreemde atmosfeer ondergedompeld. Het is een wandeling door de catacomben, maar wel op je eentje. Uit elke hoek dreigt er gevaar, de angst besluipt je. Een ideaal begin, want Geoffroy zal meer dan eens in je donkere brein komen piepen, ook al doet hij dat via melancholische pop met darkambientinvloeden. Meteen na de intro is het tijd voor heroïsche klanken op Les Rêves De Dorian. De combinatie van een donkere sfeer en de aparte (bijna poppy) stem van Geoffroy Delacroix maken van Derniere Volonté één van de mooiste (en meest aangrijpende bands) in het neofolkgenre.

A Bout Portant is melancholische synthpop. Het klinkt ontzettend vreemd om het te schrijven, maar denk aan Etienne Daho met een glockenspiel en je hebt de perfecte omschrijving.

Petit Soldat is zwarte pop. Ja, het is een term die je maar zelden leest, maar andere woorden hebben we er niet voor.

Prié Pour Moi is al even meeslepend, het is bijna minimal wave. Op Je Serai Toujours klinken de synths bijna als een kerkorgel.

De schoonheid houdt aan. Après Nous brengt ons (alweer) in Etienne Daho-gebied, maar wellicht zeggen we dat omdat geniale Franse pop altijd wel naar hem zal leiden…

Prié Pour Moi klinkt bijna ondraaglijk melancholisch en ondanks de poppy klanken, gitzwart. Briljant, en een cd die tranen in je ogen brengt wegens zijn ultieme schoonheid. De cd van het moment, wellicht zelfs van het jaar.

Didier BECU
09/12/2016


 

Next reviews
MERCIFUL NUNS • Allseeing Eye EP
LUDOVIC DHENRY • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
PATRIARCH • Rage of Gods
MASS GOTHIC • Mass Gothic
WINTERHART • Ryk Of Glory
AUBIN • Any Day Now
MEIJER • Vrouwen
PONY PONY RUN RUN • Voyage Voyage
ALPHAMAY • Twisted Lines
HECQ • Night Falls (Remastered)

 

Same genre: MARTIAL
AIMAPROJECT • Di AimA Il Segno
WINTERHART • Ryk Of Glory
ORDER OF VICTORY & SACRIS TANDEM • Strength Of Materials
ORDER OF VICTORY & TSIDMZ • Third Rome / Terza Roma
ORDER OF VICTORY • Lost December - A tribute to COLD DESIGN
ORDER OF VICTORY • Memento Belli
LUPI GLADIUS • Veritas
IN SLAUGHTER NATIVES • Cannula Coma Legio
ROSA†CRVX • Review of the concert in Brussels on 19 January 2013
LAIBACH • Review of the concert 'We Come In Peace' in Oudenaarde on 17th September 2012

 

Same genre: MINIMAL
SHE HATES EMOTIONS • See The Light (Single)
MORE EPHEMEROL • Obituary Templates
L'AVENIR • Requiem And Live
STAATSEINDE • Dreiheit
MEAGER BENEFITS • Crawling
RADERKRAFT • Smart Control
MANDIVULA • Nonsens
SELOFAN • Vitrioli
SEMIOTICS DEPARTMENT OF HETERONYMS • Semiotics Department of Heteronyms
VIOLENCE • Le Flux de la Nature

 

Same genre: SYNTH POP / ELECTRO POP
AUGER • Insurgence
UNITCODE:MACHINE • Paper empires
COLD IN MAY • Koma:Redux
MONICA RICHARDS & ANTHONY JONES • AESTUARIUM
LUCKY AND LOVE • Transitions
LADYTRON • Ladytron
SIMI NAH • La Terre est Noire
JOHN FOXX • METAMATIC (2018 BOX)
VOGON POETRY • Life, The Universe and Everything
REFLECTION • Lumen

Music reviews

28
06
VARIOUS ARTISTS
PERIHELION 2134
24
06
COLD IN MAY
Isolation songs
19
06
UNITCODE:MACHINE
Paper empires
18
06
BLACK NEEDLE NOISE
Seed of Evil
17
06
DEATH IN JUNE
THE CORN YEARS
16
06
AUGER
Insurgence

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

15
06
Today it’s exactly 41 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).
11
06
29 years of Kraftwerk in The Mix
11
06
Sieben covering David Bowie's Heroes live + new CD album 2020 VISION releases this Friday, 12th June!
10
06
29 years of Family Man!
03
06
Today, 42 years ago, Joy Division self-released their very first 7' EP, An Ideal For Living!
28
05
Electro/Synthwave act GIANT MONSTERS ON THE HORIZON unleash new studio album - Live From Night City

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

27
06
BURTON C.BELL (FEAR FACTORY, ASCENSION OF THE WATCHERS )
'It all comes from my head – whatever I’m feeling, whatever I’m thinking of.'
27
06
RODNEY ORPHEUS / THE CASSANDRA COMPLEX
I Think I’m Still As Revolutionary And Opinionated As Ever...
25
06
THE COLOURS OF SILENCE
Isolation Is Good For Art. Embrace It And Use It
13
06
LAST INFLUENCE OF BRAIN
L.I.O.B. Has Always Been Such A Distraction For Us
10
06
THE JUGGERNAUTS
It's striking, in 'mainstream' genres no-one is making a big deal about band's similarities and their possible influences... But oh dear if you dare make EBM!

PHOTOS

13
03
SIGLO XX
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
ROME
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ROSE OF AVALANCHE
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE DANSE SOCIETY
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ARCH
Porta Nigra Aarschot
11
03
FRONT 242
Pulse Namur Isnes
11
03
SHAARGHOT
Pulse Namur Isnes

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

02
07
LIAISONS DANGEREUSES
Los niños del parque
01
07
HORD
Lines
30
06
U.R.A.N.
Geo Logo
29
06
MISS KITTIN
Bassline
28
06
HOCICO
I Abomination
27
06
BOY HARSHER
Motion
26
06
NICK CAVE & THE BAD SEEDS
The Mercy Seat