tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

09/12/2016 : WINTERHART - Ryk Of Glory

WINTERHART

Ryk Of Glory

MusicCD
MartialNeofolk

[78/100]   

Danse Macabre
09/12/2016, Didier BECU

EN

Electro fans surely know Falgalas and Wagner (no, not him!) from Dance Or Die, but Winterhart is something completely different. The music is a combination of martial industrial and neo-folk and issues about war and the demise of great cultures. It almost sounds impossible to come up with something new in this genre, but that is what this duo from Berlin does.

Brave New World is a frightening opener. The martial drums are pure neo-folk, but you also hear the electronic dark wave of Das Ich. The song sounds tragic, and so does the text: the white men came to rule the brave new world.

The gripping Eldorado is dark neo-folk and of course it deals about the non-existent gold country that was invented by the Indians to deceive the gold seekers. Those who make a neo-folk record always will have a Death In June-moment, for Winterhart that is King Of The Sun.

Sometimes the music is bombastic, but it is never ridiculous. Ryk Or Glory possesses the majestic, almost heroic character of a song by In The Nursery. The sound of the brothers Humberstone also can be heard in the instrumental Song Of Zeraphine.

The disc ends with two covers: Warriors Of The World by Manowar that gets a Laibach-like treatment and even though we heard enough Joy Division covers by now, the version of Atmosphere is imposing, simply because you have never heard the classic in this way!

Yes, we do like this album...

Didier BECU
09/12/2016


NL

Falgalas en Wagner (neen, niet die!) kennen de elektroliefhebbers van Dance Or Die, maar met Winterhart tappen ze toch uit een compleet ander (en heerlijk) vaatje. De muziek is een combinatie van neofolk en martial industrial en thema’s als oorlogen en de ondergang van grote culturen. Het klinkt bijna onmogelijk om in dit genre met wat nieuws voor de dag te komen, maar dit Berlijnse duo is er desalniettemin mooi in geslaagd.

Meer angstaanjagend dan Brave New World kan een opener niet zijn. Door de martial drums denk je aan neofolk, maar je hoort er tevens de elektronische darkwave van Das Ich in. Het lied klinkt tragisch en de tekst liegt er niet om: the white men came to rule the brave new world.

Het aangrijpende Eldorado is donkere neofolk over het onbestaande goudland dat werd verzonnen door de Indianen om goudzoekers om de tuin te leiden. Wie een neofolkplaat maakt zal altijd wel zijn Death In June-moment beleven, voor Winterhart is dat King Of The Sun.

De band is niet vies van een bombastische aanpak, ook al wordt het nooit belachelijk. Ryk Or Glory bezit het majestueuze, bijna heroïsche karakter van een In The Nursery-song. Het geluid van de broertjes Humberstone horen we nog beter in het instrumentale Song Of Zeraphine.

De plaat wordt afgesloten met twee covers: Warriors Of The World van Manowar krijgt een Laibach-achtige bewerking en ook al hebben we het ondertussen gehad met de vele Joy Division-covers, is Atmosphere imponerend sterk. Neen, zo heb je deze klassieker nog niet gehoord!

Ja, we houden wel van deze plaat…

Didier BECU
09/12/2016


Music reviews

17
05
LISA MORGENSTERN
Chameleon
16
05
VEIL OF LIGHT
Inflict
15
05
KIM THOMPSETT
The Hollows
14
05
L7
Scatter The Rats
13
05
SIGNAL AOUT 42
Insurrection
08
05
KRISTIN HERSH
Crooked (Reissue)

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

16
05
45 years of Diamond Dogs (David Bowie)
15
05
On this day, 29 years ago, British post-punk band Wire released their 7th studio album Manscape
14
05
'Locating Silver Lake' out on DVD today!
13
05
Today it’s exactly 22 years ago Nine Inch Nails released their The Perfect Drug (Versions) EP!
12
05
Legendary Gothic/Death Rock Band CHRISTIAN DEATH Announces Forthcoming European Tour & First Ever Live Video Chat/'Forgiven' Video Premiere
12
05
This month it’s been 41 years since Kraftwerk released Die Roboter / The Robots!

Concert reviews

15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

23
05
JAKE BURNS (STIFF LITTLE FINGERS)
'We were writing a songs about our own rights'
22
05
TREHA SEKTORI
‘I Have A Feeling Of Constant Dissatisfaction, So I'll Get Back To Work To Make It Better’
10
05
APSURDE
No Matter What We Do, We Will Always Sound Like Depeche Mode
09
05
ANDY GILL (GANG OF FOUR)
'You never expect Gang of Four to be very optimistic.Do you ?'
29
04
STACY COCHRAN
'I didn’t want to write something cruel; I wanted to find the daily fears and even some transcendent pragmatism inside a complicated set of characters...'

PHOTOS

21
05
PETER HOOK
New Waves Day, Oberhausen
21
05
GANG OF FOUR
New Waves Day, Oberhausen
21
05
CHAMELEONS VOX
New Waves Day, Oberhausen
21
05
AND ALSO THE TREES
New Waves Day, Oberhausen
21
05
PINK TURNS BLUE
New Waves Day, Oberhausen
21
05
IN2THESOUND
New Waves Day,Turbinenhalle Oberhausen
21
05
THEN COMES SILENCE
New Waves Day,Turbinenhalle Oberhausen

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

25
05
KNK
Darling
24
05
TUXEDOMOON
In a manner of speaking
23
05
THE CURE
One Hundred Years, Live in Antwerp, 2016
22
05
NEW MODEL ARMY
Winter
21
05
NUMB
Lies
20
05
LUCIFER'S DREAM
Elixir of Isis
19
05
SIOUXSIE & THE BANSHEES
You're Lost Little Girl