tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

09/12/2016 : WINTERHART - Ryk Of Glory

WINTERHART

Ryk Of Glory

MusicCD
MartialNeofolk

[78/100]   

Danse Macabre
09/12/2016, Didier BECU

EN

Electro fans surely know Falgalas and Wagner (no, not him!) from Dance Or Die, but Winterhart is something completely different. The music is a combination of martial industrial and neo-folk and issues about war and the demise of great cultures. It almost sounds impossible to come up with something new in this genre, but that is what this duo from Berlin does.

Brave New World is a frightening opener. The martial drums are pure neo-folk, but you also hear the electronic dark wave of Das Ich. The song sounds tragic, and so does the text: the white men came to rule the brave new world.

The gripping Eldorado is dark neo-folk and of course it deals about the non-existent gold country that was invented by the Indians to deceive the gold seekers. Those who make a neo-folk record always will have a Death In June-moment, for Winterhart that is King Of The Sun.

Sometimes the music is bombastic, but it is never ridiculous. Ryk Or Glory possesses the majestic, almost heroic character of a song by In The Nursery. The sound of the brothers Humberstone also can be heard in the instrumental Song Of Zeraphine.

The disc ends with two covers: Warriors Of The World by Manowar that gets a Laibach-like treatment and even though we heard enough Joy Division covers by now, the version of Atmosphere is imposing, simply because you have never heard the classic in this way!

Yes, we do like this album...

Didier BECU
09/12/2016


NL

Falgalas en Wagner (neen, niet die!) kennen de elektroliefhebbers van Dance Or Die, maar met Winterhart tappen ze toch uit een compleet ander (en heerlijk) vaatje. De muziek is een combinatie van neofolk en martial industrial en thema’s als oorlogen en de ondergang van grote culturen. Het klinkt bijna onmogelijk om in dit genre met wat nieuws voor de dag te komen, maar dit Berlijnse duo is er desalniettemin mooi in geslaagd.

Meer angstaanjagend dan Brave New World kan een opener niet zijn. Door de martial drums denk je aan neofolk, maar je hoort er tevens de elektronische darkwave van Das Ich in. Het lied klinkt tragisch en de tekst liegt er niet om: the white men came to rule the brave new world.

Het aangrijpende Eldorado is donkere neofolk over het onbestaande goudland dat werd verzonnen door de Indianen om goudzoekers om de tuin te leiden. Wie een neofolkplaat maakt zal altijd wel zijn Death In June-moment beleven, voor Winterhart is dat King Of The Sun.

De band is niet vies van een bombastische aanpak, ook al wordt het nooit belachelijk. Ryk Or Glory bezit het majestueuze, bijna heroïsche karakter van een In The Nursery-song. Het geluid van de broertjes Humberstone horen we nog beter in het instrumentale Song Of Zeraphine.

De plaat wordt afgesloten met twee covers: Warriors Of The World van Manowar krijgt een Laibach-achtige bewerking en ook al hebben we het ondertussen gehad met de vele Joy Division-covers, is Atmosphere imponerend sterk. Neen, zo heb je deze klassieker nog niet gehoord!

Ja, we houden wel van deze plaat…

Didier BECU
09/12/2016


Music reviews

19
07
NAUT
Raise The Lights
13
07
LIZARD SMILE
Wandering in Mirrors
12
07
SIMPLE MINDS
Walk Between Worlds
27
06
JOHN FOXX
METAMATIC (2018 BOX)
18
06
ASTRASONIC
Passengers
15
06
NEGANT
No !

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

18
07
Today it’s exactly 30 years since Siouxsie & The Banshees released their single Peek-a-Boo.
18
07
Today, exactly 38 years ago, Joy Division released their second and final studio album, Closer.
16
07
DIRK DA DAVO 'MOODS': CD release July 2018
16
07
'A Midsummer Night's Dream' - a modern adaption of Shakespeare's comedy play celebrates theatrical debut
10
07
Peek-a-Boo Magazine #30 out now with temporary free download of the song 'Peek-a-Boo' by Christian Death!!
10
07
Today it’s exactly 27 years ago Ministry released N.W.O. (New World Order)!

Concert reviews

16
07
COVENANT W/ STONEBURNER
Live @ Ivy Smokehouse, Washington DC, 15th April 2018
24
05
LES NÉGRESSES VERTES
Live at De Casino, Sint-Niklaas - Belgium - 05.05.2018
19
04
SCORPIONS
Live at Vorst Nationaal - Belgium - 04.04.2018
19
03
FEVER RAY
Live @ AB - Brussels - 15.03.2018
14
03
DER KLINKE - STORY OFF
De Kelk, Brugge - 9 maart 2018
12
03
DISTORTED RETROSPECT
Distorted Retrospect - 6th March 2018 - Charlottesville, VA (USA)

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

19
07
CHRISTIAN DEATH
'I think pacifism will be the rehearsal for the ultimate slaughter'
18
07
WHISPERS IN THE SHADOW
'I have no high hopes for humanity anymore...'
23
06
DISTRICT 13
Many have a “life in chains”, each for themselves.[...] Many would like to be free, but they are trapped.
21
06
DANIEL B / PROTHESE
‘I Don’t Want To Be Confined In A Genre That Creates Expectations And Borders’
15
06
THE LIVELONG JUNE
OUR AIM WAS TO PRODUCE SOMETHING THAT SOUNDED LIKE NOTHING ELSE THAT WE LISTENED TO

PHOTOS

25
06
LACUNA COIL
Graspop, Dessel
25
06
EISBRECHER
Graspop, Dessel
25
06
MARILYN MANSON
Graspop, Dessel
23
06
IN THIS MOMENT
Graspop, Dessel
22
06
HEILUNG
Graspop, Dessel
22
06
GHOST
Graspop, Dessel
19
06
ONRUST
Trouwfe(e)st #2, JH Wommel, Wommelgem, Belgium

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

19
07
SECRETS OF THE MOON
Man Behind The Sun
18
07
DAVEY SUICIDE
Imperfect
17
07
MAIA VIDAL
Jell-O
16
07
DAVID BOWIE
I Can’t Give Everything Away
15
07
JO QUAIL
Laurus
14
07
PIG
The Revelation
13
07
KLAMMER
Spiral Girl