tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

09/12/2016 : WINTERHART - Ryk Of Glory

WINTERHART

Ryk Of Glory

MusicCD
MartialNeofolk

[78/100]   

Danse Macabre
09/12/2016, Didier BECU

EN

Electro fans surely know Falgalas and Wagner (no, not him!) from Dance Or Die, but Winterhart is something completely different. The music is a combination of martial industrial and neo-folk and issues about war and the demise of great cultures. It almost sounds impossible to come up with something new in this genre, but that is what this duo from Berlin does.

Brave New World is a frightening opener. The martial drums are pure neo-folk, but you also hear the electronic dark wave of Das Ich. The song sounds tragic, and so does the text: the white men came to rule the brave new world.

The gripping Eldorado is dark neo-folk and of course it deals about the non-existent gold country that was invented by the Indians to deceive the gold seekers. Those who make a neo-folk record always will have a Death In June-moment, for Winterhart that is King Of The Sun.

Sometimes the music is bombastic, but it is never ridiculous. Ryk Or Glory possesses the majestic, almost heroic character of a song by In The Nursery. The sound of the brothers Humberstone also can be heard in the instrumental Song Of Zeraphine.

The disc ends with two covers: Warriors Of The World by Manowar that gets a Laibach-like treatment and even though we heard enough Joy Division covers by now, the version of Atmosphere is imposing, simply because you have never heard the classic in this way!

Yes, we do like this album...

Didier BECU
09/12/2016


NL

Falgalas en Wagner (neen, niet die!) kennen de elektroliefhebbers van Dance Or Die, maar met Winterhart tappen ze toch uit een compleet ander (en heerlijk) vaatje. De muziek is een combinatie van neofolk en martial industrial en thema’s als oorlogen en de ondergang van grote culturen. Het klinkt bijna onmogelijk om in dit genre met wat nieuws voor de dag te komen, maar dit Berlijnse duo is er desalniettemin mooi in geslaagd.

Meer angstaanjagend dan Brave New World kan een opener niet zijn. Door de martial drums denk je aan neofolk, maar je hoort er tevens de elektronische darkwave van Das Ich in. Het lied klinkt tragisch en de tekst liegt er niet om: the white men came to rule the brave new world.

Het aangrijpende Eldorado is donkere neofolk over het onbestaande goudland dat werd verzonnen door de Indianen om goudzoekers om de tuin te leiden. Wie een neofolkplaat maakt zal altijd wel zijn Death In June-moment beleven, voor Winterhart is dat King Of The Sun.

De band is niet vies van een bombastische aanpak, ook al wordt het nooit belachelijk. Ryk Or Glory bezit het majestueuze, bijna heroïsche karakter van een In The Nursery-song. Het geluid van de broertjes Humberstone horen we nog beter in het instrumentale Song Of Zeraphine.

De plaat wordt afgesloten met twee covers: Warriors Of The World van Manowar krijgt een Laibach-achtige bewerking en ook al hebben we het ondertussen gehad met de vele Joy Division-covers, is Atmosphere imponerend sterk. Neen, zo heb je deze klassieker nog niet gehoord!

Ja, we houden wel van deze plaat…

Didier BECU
09/12/2016


 

Next reviews
AUBIN • Any Day Now
MEIJER • Vrouwen
PONY PONY RUN RUN • Voyage Voyage
ALPHAMAY • Twisted Lines
HECQ • Night Falls (Remastered)
FEW BITS • Big Sparks
LA MUERTE/MY DILIGENCE • Kortrijk, De Kreun (10/03/2016)
EREB ALTOR • Blot-Ilt-Taut
N3VOA • Wasted Memories
THE ANCHORESS • Confessions of a Romance Novelist

 

Same combination of genres: MARTIAL + NEOFOLK
ORDER OF VICTORY & SACRIS TANDEM • Strength Of Materials
ORDER OF VICTORY • Lost December - A tribute to COLD DESIGN
ORDER OF VICTORY • Memento Belli
LUPI GLADIUS • Veritas
IN SLAUGHTER NATIVES • Cannula Coma Legio
DER BLUTHARSCH • Concert at Magasin4 in Brussels on 15th March 2012

 

Same genre: MARTIAL
AIMAPROJECT • Di AimA Il Segno
DERNIERE VOLONTE • Prie Pour Moi
ORDER OF VICTORY & TSIDMZ • Third Rome / Terza Roma
ROSA†CRVX • Review of the concert in Brussels on 19 January 2013
LAIBACH • Review of the concert 'We Come In Peace' in Oudenaarde on 17th September 2012
MILITIA • At GothVille festival in Herk-De Stad on 16th March 2012 with Vic Anselmo and C.I.A.

 

Same genre: NEOFOLK
AIMA & THE ILLUSION OF SILENCE • Music for certain rituals
DEATH IN JUNE • THE CORN YEARS
MONICA RICHARDS & ANTHONY JONES • AESTUARIUM
PETER GUNDRY • V Ö L U R
AIMA • Haiku Irregolari In Forma Di Musica
ORDO ROSARIUS EQUILIBRIO • Ménage à quatre
HEILUNG • Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
SANGRE DE MUERDAGO • Os Segredos da Raposa Vermella
RUMMELSNUFF & ASBACH • Rummelsnuff & Asbach
HEIMATAERDE • Aerdenbrand

Music reviews

09
08
TRANSPORT AERIAN
Big Heart
08
08
VIOLENT VICKIE
Blame
07
08
FAUST PROJECT
The Future Comes On Sleeping Pills
05
08
TECHNOLORGY
Carnivore
03
08
OST+FRONT
Ikarus
15
07
SHE HATES EMOTIONS
Melancholic Maniac

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

10
08
Today, it’s exactly 33 years ago Nitzer Ebb released Join In The Chant!
08
08
Post-Punk Band THE FUNHOUSE COLLECTIVE Unleashes Cover Of GOLDEN EARRING's 'Twilight Zone'
03
08
Gothic Rock Band BLACK ANGEL Crafts Stories Of Love With New Album: Kiss Of Death
01
08
This month, 37 years ago, Nitzer Ebb recorded their first demo Basic Pain Procedure!
31
07
PROVISION Breaks Seven Year Silence With 'Hearts Turn Dark'
30
07
Electronic Act VEXILLARY Examines Surveillance Culture With New EP

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

10
08
BILL LASWELL
'Sometimes thing sort of “follow a path”...'
08
08
BLIXA BARGELD
'The way we work is so…traditional'
06
08
SUBJECT.2
'Love, Betrayal, Deceit' - A conversation with Subject:2 on their new album
04
08
STEVE VON TILL (NEUROSIS)
'The greatest sentence in prose would have no place in a song...'
02
08
VELVET KILLS
Velvet Kills Is A Paradox, Wrapped In A Mystery, Inside Of An Enigma…

PHOTOS

13
03
SIGLO XX
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
ROME
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ROSE OF AVALANCHE
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE DANSE SOCIETY
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ARCH
Porta Nigra Aarschot
11
03
FRONT 242
Pulse Namur Isnes
11
03
SHAARGHOT
Pulse Namur Isnes

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

11
08
JACK MANIAC
No Fate
10
08
RED QUEEN
Insidious
09
08
DES AMES LIBRES
Cold Hands
08
08
BLACK FOREST
GREED
07
08
SUPERNOVA 1006
Dope
06
08
SIXTH JUNE
Nebo
05
08
ANNE CLARK
Our Darkness