tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

09/12/2016 : WINTERHART - Ryk Of Glory

WINTERHART

Ryk Of Glory

MusicCD
MartialNeofolk

[78/100]   

Danse Macabre
09/12/2016, Didier BECU

EN

Electro fans surely know Falgalas and Wagner (no, not him!) from Dance Or Die, but Winterhart is something completely different. The music is a combination of martial industrial and neo-folk and issues about war and the demise of great cultures. It almost sounds impossible to come up with something new in this genre, but that is what this duo from Berlin does.

Brave New World is a frightening opener. The martial drums are pure neo-folk, but you also hear the electronic dark wave of Das Ich. The song sounds tragic, and so does the text: the white men came to rule the brave new world.

The gripping Eldorado is dark neo-folk and of course it deals about the non-existent gold country that was invented by the Indians to deceive the gold seekers. Those who make a neo-folk record always will have a Death In June-moment, for Winterhart that is King Of The Sun.

Sometimes the music is bombastic, but it is never ridiculous. Ryk Or Glory possesses the majestic, almost heroic character of a song by In The Nursery. The sound of the brothers Humberstone also can be heard in the instrumental Song Of Zeraphine.

The disc ends with two covers: Warriors Of The World by Manowar that gets a Laibach-like treatment and even though we heard enough Joy Division covers by now, the version of Atmosphere is imposing, simply because you have never heard the classic in this way!

Yes, we do like this album...

Didier BECU
09/12/2016


NL

Falgalas en Wagner (neen, niet die!) kennen de elektroliefhebbers van Dance Or Die, maar met Winterhart tappen ze toch uit een compleet ander (en heerlijk) vaatje. De muziek is een combinatie van neofolk en martial industrial en thema’s als oorlogen en de ondergang van grote culturen. Het klinkt bijna onmogelijk om in dit genre met wat nieuws voor de dag te komen, maar dit Berlijnse duo is er desalniettemin mooi in geslaagd.

Meer angstaanjagend dan Brave New World kan een opener niet zijn. Door de martial drums denk je aan neofolk, maar je hoort er tevens de elektronische darkwave van Das Ich in. Het lied klinkt tragisch en de tekst liegt er niet om: the white men came to rule the brave new world.

Het aangrijpende Eldorado is donkere neofolk over het onbestaande goudland dat werd verzonnen door de Indianen om goudzoekers om de tuin te leiden. Wie een neofolkplaat maakt zal altijd wel zijn Death In June-moment beleven, voor Winterhart is dat King Of The Sun.

De band is niet vies van een bombastische aanpak, ook al wordt het nooit belachelijk. Ryk Or Glory bezit het majestueuze, bijna heroïsche karakter van een In The Nursery-song. Het geluid van de broertjes Humberstone horen we nog beter in het instrumentale Song Of Zeraphine.

De plaat wordt afgesloten met twee covers: Warriors Of The World van Manowar krijgt een Laibach-achtige bewerking en ook al hebben we het ondertussen gehad met de vele Joy Division-covers, is Atmosphere imponerend sterk. Neen, zo heb je deze klassieker nog niet gehoord!

Ja, we houden wel van deze plaat…

Didier BECU
09/12/2016


Music reviews

03
05
BOYTRONIC
The Robot Treatment
02
05
ARMAGEDDON DILDOS
Heut Nacht
01
05
BLUTENGEL + HOCICO
Obscured
30
04
STRIKKLAND
Predatorial Right
29
04
THIRD REALM
The Art of Despair
28
04
THE BIRTHDAY MASSACRE
DIAMONDS

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

26
05
Happy birthday Wayne Hussey!
24
05
46 years Of Diamond Dogs!
23
05
34 years of 'Let Your Body Learn!'
22
05
39 years Spellbound!
21
05
Electro / EBM pioneers PORTION CONTROL strike hard with new album 'Head Buried'!
20
05
40 years ALAN VEGA · MARTIN REV or THE SECOND SUICIDE ALBUM!

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

26
05
MARK E MOON
We Know We’re Not Re-Inventing The Wheel!
23
05
JOSH KLINGHOFFER (PLURALONE,RHCP)
“I suddenly found the piano the most exciting instrument to write on.”
19
05
THE HERESY GENE
'The More We Do It, The More Important It Feels.'
01
05
AUTUMN TEARS
An Interview With Autumn Tears
30
04
EMPUSAE
One thing is for sure... I'll never stop making music!

PHOTOS

13
03
SIGLO XX
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
ROME
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ROSE OF AVALANCHE
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE DANSE SOCIETY
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ARCH
Porta Nigra Aarschot
11
03
FRONT 242
Pulse Namur Isnes
11
03
SHAARGHOT
Pulse Namur Isnes

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

27
05
HIDDEN ORCHESTRA
Still
26
05
EX-RZ
I can't live in a living room
25
05
POISON POINT
Imaginary Veil
24
05
GRAUZONE
Eisbaer
23
05
SCHONWALD
Fury
22
05
DANIELLE DE PICCIOTTO & ALEXANDER HACKE
Awake
21
05
SIOUXSIE & THE BANSHEES
Happy House