tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

09/12/2016 : WINTERHART - Ryk Of Glory

WINTERHART

Ryk Of Glory

MusicCD
MartialNeofolk

[78/100]   

Danse Macabre
09/12/2016, Didier BECU

EN

Electro fans surely know Falgalas and Wagner (no, not him!) from Dance Or Die, but Winterhart is something completely different. The music is a combination of martial industrial and neo-folk and issues about war and the demise of great cultures. It almost sounds impossible to come up with something new in this genre, but that is what this duo from Berlin does.

Brave New World is a frightening opener. The martial drums are pure neo-folk, but you also hear the electronic dark wave of Das Ich. The song sounds tragic, and so does the text: the white men came to rule the brave new world.

The gripping Eldorado is dark neo-folk and of course it deals about the non-existent gold country that was invented by the Indians to deceive the gold seekers. Those who make a neo-folk record always will have a Death In June-moment, for Winterhart that is King Of The Sun.

Sometimes the music is bombastic, but it is never ridiculous. Ryk Or Glory possesses the majestic, almost heroic character of a song by In The Nursery. The sound of the brothers Humberstone also can be heard in the instrumental Song Of Zeraphine.

The disc ends with two covers: Warriors Of The World by Manowar that gets a Laibach-like treatment and even though we heard enough Joy Division covers by now, the version of Atmosphere is imposing, simply because you have never heard the classic in this way!

Yes, we do like this album...

Didier BECU
09/12/2016


NL

Falgalas en Wagner (neen, niet die!) kennen de elektroliefhebbers van Dance Or Die, maar met Winterhart tappen ze toch uit een compleet ander (en heerlijk) vaatje. De muziek is een combinatie van neofolk en martial industrial en thema’s als oorlogen en de ondergang van grote culturen. Het klinkt bijna onmogelijk om in dit genre met wat nieuws voor de dag te komen, maar dit Berlijnse duo is er desalniettemin mooi in geslaagd.

Meer angstaanjagend dan Brave New World kan een opener niet zijn. Door de martial drums denk je aan neofolk, maar je hoort er tevens de elektronische darkwave van Das Ich in. Het lied klinkt tragisch en de tekst liegt er niet om: the white men came to rule the brave new world.

Het aangrijpende Eldorado is donkere neofolk over het onbestaande goudland dat werd verzonnen door de Indianen om goudzoekers om de tuin te leiden. Wie een neofolkplaat maakt zal altijd wel zijn Death In June-moment beleven, voor Winterhart is dat King Of The Sun.

De band is niet vies van een bombastische aanpak, ook al wordt het nooit belachelijk. Ryk Or Glory bezit het majestueuze, bijna heroïsche karakter van een In The Nursery-song. Het geluid van de broertjes Humberstone horen we nog beter in het instrumentale Song Of Zeraphine.

De plaat wordt afgesloten met twee covers: Warriors Of The World van Manowar krijgt een Laibach-achtige bewerking en ook al hebben we het ondertussen gehad met de vele Joy Division-covers, is Atmosphere imponerend sterk. Neen, zo heb je deze klassieker nog niet gehoord!

Ja, we houden wel van deze plaat…

Didier BECU
09/12/2016


Music reviews

22
07
SAIGON BLUE RAIN
Pink Obsession
11
07
CONTAINER 90
Friendship and love
10
07
ENZO KREFT
Control
09
07
HOCICO
Artificial Extinction
04
07
MECHANIMAL
White Flag Single
14
06
CABINET OF MILLIONAIRES
Theresa, Vol.3 Ep

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

18
07
Today it’s 31 years since Siouxsie & The Banshees released their single Peek-a-Boo.
18
07
Today, exactly 39 years ago, Joy Division released their second and final studio album, Closer.
17
07
Electronic/Industrial Bass Artist SINthetik Messiah Announces The Release of Their Single 'Black Sheep'
16
07
Electronic Act THE BRUTE: Announces New LONESOME HERO/AND I WANT YOU Split Single & Video
15
07
New Peek-a-Boo Magazine #34 out now!
15
07
PINK TURNS ANNOUNCES REISSUES OF FIRST ALBUMS + TOUR 2019

Concert reviews

14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019
15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

16
07
MARK DEUTROM (CLOWN ALLEY/THE MELVINS)
' I felt like I needed to make a solo-record at that time!'
15
07
STEVE DIGGLE (BUZZCOCKS)
'We were writing from the heart and soul!'
08
07
TODD TRAINER (SHELLAC)
'My attitude has always been to be original and unique!'
06
07
BOB BERT (PUSSY GALORE, LYDIA LUNCH RETROVIRUS, EX-SONIC YOUTH,...)
'One man’s noise is another man’s symphony!'
02
07
TEST DEPARTMENT
THE 80s WERE AN AMAZING TIME FOR MUSICAL DEVELOPMENT

PHOTOS

22
07
L'AME IMMORTELLE
Amphi
22
07
PINK TURNS BLUE
Amphi
22
07
HENRIC DE LA COUR
Amphi
22
07
BLUTENGEL
Amphi
22
07
LORD OF THE LOST
Amphi
22
07
HOCICO
Amphi
22
07
THE CASSANDRA COMPLEX
Amphi

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

22
07
LIZARD SMILE
Silence In Your Eyes
21
07
MINUIT MACHINE
BATTLES
20
07
THE LUST SYNDICATE
Death moves towards us
19
07
FIELDS OF THE NEPHILIM
Moonchild
18
07
AMBASSADOR21
FUCKALLSYSTEMS
17
07
THIS CAN HURT
Worlds Apart
16
07
RABIA SORDA
Deaf