tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

09/12/2016 : ALPHAMAY - Twisted Lines

ALPHAMAY

Twisted Lines

MusicCD
Future PopSynthpop

[75/100]   

Timezone Records
09/12/2016, Didier BECU

EN

Alphamay from Osnabrück is a synth pop band, but due to the importance of visuals, the band is more than just that. We only have the CD, so we are looking for the answer to the question: is Alphamay on CD more than a synth pop band?

Weak Philosphy takes us back to the early days of Depeche Mode. The synths seem to come from an old Atari console, but the melody is infectious. Especially when the voice of Henning Hammoor is more aggressive, Alphamay is at its best. If you can forget Sonia Kraushofer, then you would swear that Ease Your Pain is just a track by L'Ame Immortelle.

Although you always notice to which bands Alphamay has listened, the music of the duo is varied. Sometimes this results in flat synth pop like No Man's Island, but it can also be genius future pop with an addictive melody (Summer Of '89). Nightclub Nightmares sounds like Mesh. No, you can never say the band is original, but Alphamay knows very well how to write perfect pop songs and that is something you can be proud of.

The Rising Moon is the mandatory (but beautiful) ballad. But no worries, the beats rise again on Silence Emotion, although Alphamay always walks within the lines of synth pop. 3:45 am has an EBM drive and it is probably the track to play in a club, although no one will stand still when he/she hears The Scepter Alliance. Again it is one of the better tracks, simply because it is a song with fists.

You need a touch of melancholy? That can be arranged for you in the beautiful Enchantment Rose. Admittedly, Depeche Mode also makes this kind of songs, but if they are made as Alphama makes them, then we won’t complain. The record ends with Dreams In Colours, which reminds us again of that band of Dave Gahan.

Twisted Lines is a CD with a style that we often heard (perhaps too often), but because of the good compositions, you you won't care. Even more, Alphamay almost is at the same level of the bands it adores.

Didier BECU
09/12/2016


NL

Alphamay uit Osnabrück omschrijft zichzelf als een synthpopband, maar door het belang dat wordt gehecht aan de visuals vinden ze dat het toch meer is dan dat. Wij moeten het met de cd stellen, en we zijn dan ook uiterst benieuwd naar het antwoord op de vraag: is Alphamay op cd ook meer dan zo maar een synthpopband?

Weak Philosphy brengt ons terug naar de begindagen van Depeche Mode. De synths hebben het geluid van een ouderwetse Atari-console, maar gelukkig is het melodietje enigzins aanstekelijk. Beter wordt het als de stem van Henning Hammoor wat agressiever wordt. Als je Sonia Kraushofer kan wegtoveren, zou je zweren dat Ease Your Pain gewoon een track van L’Ame Immortelle is.

Ofschoon je altijd wel merkt naar wat of wie Alphamay heeft geluisterd, is de muziek van het duo toch gevarieerd. Soms resulteert dat in te vlakke (bijna inhoudsloze) synthpop als No Man’s Island, maar het kan evengoed op sublieme futurepop met een verslavend refreintje uitdraaien (Summer Of ’89). Nightclub Nightmares is dan weer pure Mesh. Neen, op originaliteit zal je deze twee niet gauw betrappen, maar ze weten wel zeer goed hoe een ingenieus poplied dient te worden geschreven en dat is tegenwoordig ook al wat waard.

The Rising Moon is de verplichte (maar weliswaar mooie) ballade. Maar geen nood, op Silence Emotion worden de beats weer opgetrokken, ofschoon Alphamay steeds mooi binnen de lijntjes van de fatsoenlijke synthpop (wat een uitdrukking!) blijft. 3:45 am heeft een EBM-drive, het is wellicht de track die je het beste in een club kan draaien, alhoewel er ook geen mens zal blijven zitten als je het futuristische The Scepter Alliance aan je dj-set zou toevoegen. Weer één van de betere tracks en alweer omdat het een lied met vuisten is.

Ook nog een vleugje melancholie nodig? Dat wordt in het fraaie Enchantment Rose voor je geregeld. Toegegeven, Depeche Mode maakt ook zo’n songs, maar als ze even goed gemaakt zijn als door Alphamay, zal je ons niet gauw horen klagen. De plaat wordt afgesloten met Dreams In Colours, met alweer een hint naar Dave Gahan en zijn kornuiten.

Twisted Lines is een cd die je qua stijl al vaak (misschien zelfs te vaak) hebt gehoord, maar door de knappe composities zal je je daar niet aan ergeren. Meer zelfs, Alphamay staat bijna op hetzelfde niveau van diegenen naar wie het opkijkt.

Didier BECU
09/12/2016


Music reviews

06
02
HARRY CLOUD
The Pig And The Machine
03
02
MISERIA ULTIMA
Graygarden
01
02
MONO INC.
The Book Of Fire
30
01
THE MARS MODEL
FrancoBelga
27
01
6TH CROWD
Самозванцы (Samozvantsiy)
18
01
RINGFINGER
Pressure

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

18
02
Today, exactly 17 years ago, American Industrial Metal band Ministry released Animositisomina!
17
02
On this day, 6 years ago, DEVO guitarist Bob Casale (61) died.
15
02
LEPROUS – Launch drum playthrough video for “The Sky Is Red”
15
02
This February, it's 33 AGO Kraftwerk released 'The Telephone Call / Der Telefon-Anruf'.
14
02
Today, exactly 41 years ago, John Peel broadcast the first Peel Sessions, performed by Joy Division
09
02
German Electronic/Synthpop Act SEA OF SIN Presents Their Single & Video Release For 'YOU'

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

17
02
H.R. (THE BAD BRAINS)
'I always wanted to play reggae!'
11
02
NICKY GARRATT (UK SUBS, HEDERSLEBEN)
'Putting a krautrock band together I always wanted this fearlessness.' (Interview Part 2)
10
02
NICKY GARRATT (UK SUBS, HEDERSLEBEN): PART II
'In punk, I found the vehicle for skepticism.' (Interview Part 1)
07
02
DOUGLAS P. (DEATH IN JUNE)
'Words/lyrics are continuously coming to me, everywhere and anywhere...'
02
02
CHRIS CUTLER (HENRY COW)
'We all shared a common concern with extending the vocabulary of rock...'

PHOTOS

12
02
MONSTERMAGNET
FZW Dortmund,Germany
12
02
SAINT AGNES SUPPORT MONSTERMAGNET
FZW Dortmund,Germany
26
01
FIX8:SED8
Oefenbunker Landgraaf
26
01
GRAUSAME TOCHTER
Oefenbunker Landgraaf
26
01
LAPIS EXILIS
Oefenbuker Landgraaf
25
01
ASHBURY HEIGHTS
Rockpalast Matrix Bochum Germany
25
01
MASSIVE EGO
Rockpalast Matrix Bochum Germany

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

25
02
MARILYN MANSON
Sweet Dreams (Are Made Of This)
24
02
ESPLENDOR GEOMETRICO
Trybuna Robotnicza I
23
02
DAVID BOWIE
No Plan
22
02
EIGTH WONDER
I'm Not Scared
21
02
PETER BRODERICK
Up Niek Mountain
20
02
ROGER WATERS
Wait for Her
19
02
X MARKS THE PEDWALK
Secrets