tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

09/12/2016 : ALPHAMAY - Twisted Lines

ALPHAMAY

Twisted Lines

MusicCD
Future PopSynthpop

[75/100]   

Timezone Records
09/12/2016, Didier BECU

EN

Alphamay from Osnabrück is a synth pop band, but due to the importance of visuals, the band is more than just that. We only have the CD, so we are looking for the answer to the question: is Alphamay on CD more than a synth pop band?

Weak Philosphy takes us back to the early days of Depeche Mode. The synths seem to come from an old Atari console, but the melody is infectious. Especially when the voice of Henning Hammoor is more aggressive, Alphamay is at its best. If you can forget Sonia Kraushofer, then you would swear that Ease Your Pain is just a track by L'Ame Immortelle.

Although you always notice to which bands Alphamay has listened, the music of the duo is varied. Sometimes this results in flat synth pop like No Man's Island, but it can also be genius future pop with an addictive melody (Summer Of '89). Nightclub Nightmares sounds like Mesh. No, you can never say the band is original, but Alphamay knows very well how to write perfect pop songs and that is something you can be proud of.

The Rising Moon is the mandatory (but beautiful) ballad. But no worries, the beats rise again on Silence Emotion, although Alphamay always walks within the lines of synth pop. 3:45 am has an EBM drive and it is probably the track to play in a club, although no one will stand still when he/she hears The Scepter Alliance. Again it is one of the better tracks, simply because it is a song with fists.

You need a touch of melancholy? That can be arranged for you in the beautiful Enchantment Rose. Admittedly, Depeche Mode also makes this kind of songs, but if they are made as Alphama makes them, then we won’t complain. The record ends with Dreams In Colours, which reminds us again of that band of Dave Gahan.

Twisted Lines is a CD with a style that we often heard (perhaps too often), but because of the good compositions, you you won't care. Even more, Alphamay almost is at the same level of the bands it adores.

Didier BECU
09/12/2016


NL

Alphamay uit Osnabrück omschrijft zichzelf als een synthpopband, maar door het belang dat wordt gehecht aan de visuals vinden ze dat het toch meer is dan dat. Wij moeten het met de cd stellen, en we zijn dan ook uiterst benieuwd naar het antwoord op de vraag: is Alphamay op cd ook meer dan zo maar een synthpopband?

Weak Philosphy brengt ons terug naar de begindagen van Depeche Mode. De synths hebben het geluid van een ouderwetse Atari-console, maar gelukkig is het melodietje enigzins aanstekelijk. Beter wordt het als de stem van Henning Hammoor wat agressiever wordt. Als je Sonia Kraushofer kan wegtoveren, zou je zweren dat Ease Your Pain gewoon een track van L’Ame Immortelle is.

Ofschoon je altijd wel merkt naar wat of wie Alphamay heeft geluisterd, is de muziek van het duo toch gevarieerd. Soms resulteert dat in te vlakke (bijna inhoudsloze) synthpop als No Man’s Island, maar het kan evengoed op sublieme futurepop met een verslavend refreintje uitdraaien (Summer Of ’89). Nightclub Nightmares is dan weer pure Mesh. Neen, op originaliteit zal je deze twee niet gauw betrappen, maar ze weten wel zeer goed hoe een ingenieus poplied dient te worden geschreven en dat is tegenwoordig ook al wat waard.

The Rising Moon is de verplichte (maar weliswaar mooie) ballade. Maar geen nood, op Silence Emotion worden de beats weer opgetrokken, ofschoon Alphamay steeds mooi binnen de lijntjes van de fatsoenlijke synthpop (wat een uitdrukking!) blijft. 3:45 am heeft een EBM-drive, het is wellicht de track die je het beste in een club kan draaien, alhoewel er ook geen mens zal blijven zitten als je het futuristische The Scepter Alliance aan je dj-set zou toevoegen. Weer één van de betere tracks en alweer omdat het een lied met vuisten is.

Ook nog een vleugje melancholie nodig? Dat wordt in het fraaie Enchantment Rose voor je geregeld. Toegegeven, Depeche Mode maakt ook zo’n songs, maar als ze even goed gemaakt zijn als door Alphamay, zal je ons niet gauw horen klagen. De plaat wordt afgesloten met Dreams In Colours, met alweer een hint naar Dave Gahan en zijn kornuiten.

Twisted Lines is een cd die je qua stijl al vaak (misschien zelfs te vaak) hebt gehoord, maar door de knappe composities zal je je daar niet aan ergeren. Meer zelfs, Alphamay staat bijna op hetzelfde niveau van diegenen naar wie het opkijkt.

Didier BECU
09/12/2016


Music reviews

22
03
TINY FIGHTER
Tell Me
22
03
NEON ELECTRONICS
Apollo
21
03
ART DIKTATOR
Isola
20
03
LADYTRON
Ladytron
19
03
DER KLINKE
Decade
18
03
ORPHAN GOGGLES/ ACID MOTHERS TEMPLE & THE MELTING PARAISO U.F.O
Split Single

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

22
03
Today, exactly 29 years ago, Nine Inch Nails released their second single Head Like a Hole!
21
03
Bone Machine | 31-Years Since The Pixies Surfer Rosa
20
03
Today it’s been 29 years since Nitzer Ebb released their third studio album Showtime!
19
03
Just One Fix | Seventeen Years Since Ministry Unleashed Sphinctour
18
03
Today, 39 years ago, Joy Division released 'Licht und Blindheit'.
17
03
The Ignition Of Irish Punk | The Radiators From Space

Concert reviews

15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

16
03
STEVE IGNORANT (CRASS)
'I think what drives me is the endless injustice that goes through life.'
11
03
SYNAPSCAPE
A Fascinating Challenge About Bringing New Life Into Old Tracks
10
03
BIG JOHN DUNCAN
'I don't like to copy things, I like to try and be original and always happy!'
09
03
MISSING IN STARS
'This music is for everyone, even my closest metal friends support it...'
08
03
DEAN GARCIA - SPC ECO + CURVE
“..I love recording, it's one of the only things that is completely absorbing for me..”

PHOTOS

10
03
DER KLINKE
De Klinker Aarschot
10
03
A SLICE OF LIFE
De Klinker Aarschot
10
03
DEAD HIGH WIRE
De Klinker Aarschot
10
03
HATCHLING
De Klinker Aarschot
06
03
LAIBACH
Botanique Brussel
27
02
IAMX
La Madeleine Brussel
24
02
WULFBAND
De Casino St Niklaas

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

23
03
EMBER TWIN
I Can't Turn You On
22
03
MYDGAR
We choose to go to the Moon
21
03
JO QUAIL
Gold
20
03
CLAN OF XYMOX
Clan Of Xymox - Vixen In Disguise (Official Video)
19
03
HANTE
Living In A French Movie
18
03
HAUSCHKA
Craco
17
03
DIVE
Sidewalk Sinner - Snakedressed