tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

09/12/2016 : NOVA-SPES - A Dog And His Boy

NOVA-SPES

A Dog And His Boy

MusicCD
Future PopSynth Pop / Electro Pop

[70/100]   

Danse Macabre
09/12/2016, Didier BECU

EN

We don’t like to write it down, but many people consider future pop as brainless music that is only made to entertain. Well, even though we don’t agree, Nova Spes is an exception to the rule, although the question is if you have to categorize this band from Leipzig as future pop.

If you follow Bruno Kramm, then you obviously know that the Das Ich musician isn’t happy with the current political landscape of Western Europe, therefore it is no surprise that the fifth album of this band is released on his Danse Macabre-label.

The CD cover indicatess the spirit of this album: a boy, sitting on the ground with his head bent down, his only companion is a dog that looks the other way.

You get danceable beats that makes you swing, but this future pop won’t make you happy. Each text is full of social criticism. We do not need to quote excerpts from the texts as proof, simply because the titles say more than enough: In The Main You Are Yourself, Destroy, We Stand Together or Fascist Pig.

Future pop for punks, so to speak. That is why Nova Spes probably won’t headline M'era Luna. The tracks are professionally made and you have to think about them! The sole minor point is the fact that this CD could use more variety.

Didier BECU
09/12/2016


NL

We schrijven het niet graag, maar heel wat mensen beschouwen futurepop als hersenloze muziek die louter dient om je te amuseren, meer niet. Nou, ook al zijn wij het daarmee niet helemaal eens, vormt Nova-Spes toch een uitzondering op de regel, hoewel meteen de vraag rijst in hoeverre je kan zeggen dat deze band uit Leipzig onder de noemer futurepop valt.

Wie Bruno Kramm een beetje kent, weet dat de Das Ich-muzikant het niet bepaald eens is met de rechtste koers die deze wereld tegenwoordig vaart en het is dan ook niet zo verwonderlijk dat de vijfde cd van deze band op zijn Danse Macabre-label verschijnt.

Het hoesje verraadt meteen de sfeer van deze cd: een jongen zit op de grond met zijn hoofd voorover gebogen, zijn enige metgezel is een hond die de andere richting uitkijkt.

Neen, je hoort wel dansbare beats die je regelmatig doen heupwiegen, maar echt vrolijk word je niet van deze futurepop. Iedere tekst staat dan ook bol van de maatschappijkritiek. We moeten zelfs geen zinnetjes uit de teksten halen, de titels zeggen immers meer dan genoeg: In The Main You Are Yourself, Destroy, We Stand Together of Fascist Pig.

Futurepop voor punkers, dus. Het is dan ook daarom dat Nova-Spes niet meteen de hoofdact van M’era Luna zal worden, want hier moet over worden nagedacht. De tracks zitten professioneel in elkaar en als we dan toch kritiek mogen geven, dan is dat over het feit dat deze cd wat meer variatie kon gebruiken.

Didier BECU
09/12/2016


Music reviews

27
09
JOSH WERNER
Mode For Titan
26
09
TRUE ZEBRA
Idiorhythmic
25
09
KMFDM
In Dub
03
09
SHERAPHIM SYSTEM
Phoenix
02
09
CAWATANA
In The Silver Light (7')
01
09
MIKE SOPKO, BILL LASWELL, TYSHAWN SOREY
On Common Ground

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

26
09
A CERTAIN RATIO are back with a new album, ACR Loco!
25
09
Today, exactly 33 years ago The Klinik released 'Plague'!
22
09
Today it’s been exactly 28 years since Nine Inch Nails released Broken (EP)
08
09
SUICIDE COMMANDO release a complete 'Dein herz, meine gier' lyric video for the release of the limited club single CD 'Dein herz, meine gier / Bunkerb!tc!
04
09
39 years ago, Soft Cell's version of ‘Tainted Love’ reached the number one position in the British hit parade!
28
08
43 years ago Iggy Pop released Lust for Life (29th August 1977)

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing
31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

26
09
THIS ETERNAL DECAY
In The Early Days We Spent More Time Drinking And Partying Rather Than Playing
19
09
MORTAR DEVOTIONS
Dystopia Is Just Around The Corner And Orwell Warned Us Already In 1948
16
09
MAT OSMAN (SUEDE)
'I’m always writing short stories...'
15
09
ERASURE
'Music certainly gives us hope' - Erasure talk about their new album 'The Neon'
14
09
WATA (BORIS)
'I will always feel like a rookie...'

PHOTOS

25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival
20
08
JUSTIN SULLIVAN & GASTONE
Kreisverwaltung Groß-Gerau

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

28
09
SUFFOCATING MINDS
Slow Down
27
09
A CERTAIN RATIO
Always In Love
26
09
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
Virus
25
09
HYPERMOND.
Paranoia
25
09
PSY'AVIAH
Aftermath
24
09
RYUICHI SAKAMOTO
Merry Christmas, Mr Lawrence
23
09
ANNA VON HAUSSWOLFF
The Mysterious Vanishing of Electra