tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

09/12/2016 : NOVA-SPES - A Dog And His Boy

NOVA-SPES

A Dog And His Boy

MusicCD
Future PopSynth Pop / Electro Pop

[70/100]   

Danse Macabre
09/12/2016, Didier BECU

EN

We don’t like to write it down, but many people consider future pop as brainless music that is only made to entertain. Well, even though we don’t agree, Nova Spes is an exception to the rule, although the question is if you have to categorize this band from Leipzig as future pop.

If you follow Bruno Kramm, then you obviously know that the Das Ich musician isn’t happy with the current political landscape of Western Europe, therefore it is no surprise that the fifth album of this band is released on his Danse Macabre-label.

The CD cover indicatess the spirit of this album: a boy, sitting on the ground with his head bent down, his only companion is a dog that looks the other way.

You get danceable beats that makes you swing, but this future pop won’t make you happy. Each text is full of social criticism. We do not need to quote excerpts from the texts as proof, simply because the titles say more than enough: In The Main You Are Yourself, Destroy, We Stand Together or Fascist Pig.

Future pop for punks, so to speak. That is why Nova Spes probably won’t headline M'era Luna. The tracks are professionally made and you have to think about them! The sole minor point is the fact that this CD could use more variety.

Didier BECU
09/12/2016


NL

We schrijven het niet graag, maar heel wat mensen beschouwen futurepop als hersenloze muziek die louter dient om je te amuseren, meer niet. Nou, ook al zijn wij het daarmee niet helemaal eens, vormt Nova-Spes toch een uitzondering op de regel, hoewel meteen de vraag rijst in hoeverre je kan zeggen dat deze band uit Leipzig onder de noemer futurepop valt.

Wie Bruno Kramm een beetje kent, weet dat de Das Ich-muzikant het niet bepaald eens is met de rechtste koers die deze wereld tegenwoordig vaart en het is dan ook niet zo verwonderlijk dat de vijfde cd van deze band op zijn Danse Macabre-label verschijnt.

Het hoesje verraadt meteen de sfeer van deze cd: een jongen zit op de grond met zijn hoofd voorover gebogen, zijn enige metgezel is een hond die de andere richting uitkijkt.

Neen, je hoort wel dansbare beats die je regelmatig doen heupwiegen, maar echt vrolijk word je niet van deze futurepop. Iedere tekst staat dan ook bol van de maatschappijkritiek. We moeten zelfs geen zinnetjes uit de teksten halen, de titels zeggen immers meer dan genoeg: In The Main You Are Yourself, Destroy, We Stand Together of Fascist Pig.

Futurepop voor punkers, dus. Het is dan ook daarom dat Nova-Spes niet meteen de hoofdact van M’era Luna zal worden, want hier moet over worden nagedacht. De tracks zitten professioneel in elkaar en als we dan toch kritiek mogen geven, dan is dat over het feit dat deze cd wat meer variatie kon gebruiken.

Didier BECU
09/12/2016


Music reviews

19
11
PSY'AVIAH
Soul Searching
17
11
DAGEIST
Sexy
16
11
ORDO ROSARIUS EQUILIBRIO
Let's Play (Two girls and a goat)
12
11
TWIN TRIBES
Ceremony
31
10
BLAC KOLOR
Nephi
24
10
ROGER C.REALE & RUE MORGUE
The Collection

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

21
11
The Last Beat of My Heart by Siouxsie and the Banshees was released 32 years ago!
21
11
Isn't Anything (album) by My Bloody Valentine turns 32 today!
18
11
Disorientations! New band, new single, new video!
14
11
Today, 30 years The Mind Is A Terrible Thing To Taste by Ministry!
13
11
Today, 41 years ago, Siouxsie & The Banshees released their debut album Scream!
13
11
Today, 38 years ago, New Order released its debut album Movement!

Concert reviews

21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019
15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

02
11
UNDERTHESKIN
Try To Leave The Listener In A Certain Reflection, And Maybe Bring Some Kind Of Relief
01
11
MIKE WATT(JUMPSTARTED PLOWHARDS)
In a way, the project is a total collaboration!
26
10
MICHAEL GIRA(SWANS)
'Having a strong presence of death in your mind all the time is very healthy thing!'
25
10
PAUL Q.KOLDERIE
'There has to be a song that I feel needs to be recorded…'
14
10
JAMES MCGREGOR (THE CLOCKWORKS)
'Our dynamic is genuinely a gang scenario'

PHOTOS

17
11
FAUN
Christuskirche Bochum
14
11
DEINE LAKAIEN HELIUM VOLA VELJANOV
Christuskirche Bochum
14
11
MORGAN KING
B52 music club
13
11
STORY OFF
B52 music club
13
11
N TALES
B52 music club
11
11
SUICIDE COMMANDO
Magasin 4 Bruxelles
11
11
AMBASSADOR 21
Magasin 4 Bruxelles

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

21
11
FILTER
Hey Man, Nice Shot
20
11
COLD CAVE
Villains Of The Moon
19
11
HYPERMOND.
Double
19
11
:OF THE WAND & THE MOON:
Caught In Winters Weave
19
11
NITZER EBB
Llive at Kulttempel in Oberhausen, Germany - 15.11.2019
18
11
OAKTREE
La Fin
17
11
ALISON MOYET
Other