tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

09/12/2016 : NOVA-SPES - A Dog And His Boy

NOVA-SPES

A Dog And His Boy

MusicCD
Future PopSynth Pop / Electro Pop

[70/100]   

Danse Macabre
09/12/2016, Didier BECU

EN

We don’t like to write it down, but many people consider future pop as brainless music that is only made to entertain. Well, even though we don’t agree, Nova Spes is an exception to the rule, although the question is if you have to categorize this band from Leipzig as future pop.

If you follow Bruno Kramm, then you obviously know that the Das Ich musician isn’t happy with the current political landscape of Western Europe, therefore it is no surprise that the fifth album of this band is released on his Danse Macabre-label.

The CD cover indicatess the spirit of this album: a boy, sitting on the ground with his head bent down, his only companion is a dog that looks the other way.

You get danceable beats that makes you swing, but this future pop won’t make you happy. Each text is full of social criticism. We do not need to quote excerpts from the texts as proof, simply because the titles say more than enough: In The Main You Are Yourself, Destroy, We Stand Together or Fascist Pig.

Future pop for punks, so to speak. That is why Nova Spes probably won’t headline M'era Luna. The tracks are professionally made and you have to think about them! The sole minor point is the fact that this CD could use more variety.

Didier BECU
09/12/2016


NL

We schrijven het niet graag, maar heel wat mensen beschouwen futurepop als hersenloze muziek die louter dient om je te amuseren, meer niet. Nou, ook al zijn wij het daarmee niet helemaal eens, vormt Nova-Spes toch een uitzondering op de regel, hoewel meteen de vraag rijst in hoeverre je kan zeggen dat deze band uit Leipzig onder de noemer futurepop valt.

Wie Bruno Kramm een beetje kent, weet dat de Das Ich-muzikant het niet bepaald eens is met de rechtste koers die deze wereld tegenwoordig vaart en het is dan ook niet zo verwonderlijk dat de vijfde cd van deze band op zijn Danse Macabre-label verschijnt.

Het hoesje verraadt meteen de sfeer van deze cd: een jongen zit op de grond met zijn hoofd voorover gebogen, zijn enige metgezel is een hond die de andere richting uitkijkt.

Neen, je hoort wel dansbare beats die je regelmatig doen heupwiegen, maar echt vrolijk word je niet van deze futurepop. Iedere tekst staat dan ook bol van de maatschappijkritiek. We moeten zelfs geen zinnetjes uit de teksten halen, de titels zeggen immers meer dan genoeg: In The Main You Are Yourself, Destroy, We Stand Together of Fascist Pig.

Futurepop voor punkers, dus. Het is dan ook daarom dat Nova-Spes niet meteen de hoofdact van M’era Luna zal worden, want hier moet over worden nagedacht. De tracks zitten professioneel in elkaar en als we dan toch kritiek mogen geven, dan is dat over het feit dat deze cd wat meer variatie kon gebruiken.

Didier BECU
09/12/2016


Music reviews

05
04
VARIOUS ARTISTS
Electropop 18 (Super Deluxe Edition)
23
03
300 000VK
Peter Paradox
10
03
PYRROLINE
Struggling
23
02
THE HEAT INC.
EP
23
02
PIG
Pain Is God
22
02
ANTHONY JONES
Farewell To Flesh

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

14
04
In memorian.... The Punk Empowerment Of Poly Styrene(° 3 July 1957 †25 April 2011)
13
04
34 years MUTE records released 'Let Your Body Learn' by Nitzer Ebb!
07
04
Skinny Puppy’s Cevin Key zoom chat's with à;GRUMH...
04
04
15 years ago, Nine Inch Nails released ‘Every Day Is Exactly the Same’.
03
04
On this day, 19 years ago, Frank Tovey / Fad Gadget died at the age of 45.
02
04
SYNAPTIC DEFECT sends teaser into the world

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

12
02
DIVE
We All Can Ask Us The Question ‘Where Do We Go From Here?'
10
02
RAYMOND WATTS (PIG)
'It’s not a re-discovery. It’s finding the way in to let the stuff out...'
02
02
JOHN 3:16
I regularly come across animal remains at various stages of decomposition. That started to affect me, and that's where the concept of the record was born.
07
01
MAMAN KUSTERS
‘Let’s Keep It Intriguing
16
12
THE BREATH OF LIFE
'No, I never considered quitting making music. Nor to taste good special beers.'

PHOTOS

25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival
20
08
JUSTIN SULLIVAN & GASTONE
Kreisverwaltung Groß-Gerau

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

14
04
MESH
It scares me
13
04
MONOTONE EXPRESSION
Out Of Tune With Life
12
04
LAID BACK
White Horse
11
04
VOK
Waterfall
10
04
SVEN VATH VS. ANTHONY ROTHER
Komm
09
04
THIS CAN HURT
IF YOU GO
08
04
THE SISTERS OF MERCY
Lucretia, My Reflection