tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

09/12/2016 : NOVA-SPES - A Dog And His Boy

NOVA-SPES

A Dog And His Boy

MusicCD
Future PopSynth Pop / Electro Pop

[70/100]   

Danse Macabre
09/12/2016, Didier BECU

EN

We don’t like to write it down, but many people consider future pop as brainless music that is only made to entertain. Well, even though we don’t agree, Nova Spes is an exception to the rule, although the question is if you have to categorize this band from Leipzig as future pop.

If you follow Bruno Kramm, then you obviously know that the Das Ich musician isn’t happy with the current political landscape of Western Europe, therefore it is no surprise that the fifth album of this band is released on his Danse Macabre-label.

The CD cover indicatess the spirit of this album: a boy, sitting on the ground with his head bent down, his only companion is a dog that looks the other way.

You get danceable beats that makes you swing, but this future pop won’t make you happy. Each text is full of social criticism. We do not need to quote excerpts from the texts as proof, simply because the titles say more than enough: In The Main You Are Yourself, Destroy, We Stand Together or Fascist Pig.

Future pop for punks, so to speak. That is why Nova Spes probably won’t headline M'era Luna. The tracks are professionally made and you have to think about them! The sole minor point is the fact that this CD could use more variety.

Didier BECU
09/12/2016


NL

We schrijven het niet graag, maar heel wat mensen beschouwen futurepop als hersenloze muziek die louter dient om je te amuseren, meer niet. Nou, ook al zijn wij het daarmee niet helemaal eens, vormt Nova-Spes toch een uitzondering op de regel, hoewel meteen de vraag rijst in hoeverre je kan zeggen dat deze band uit Leipzig onder de noemer futurepop valt.

Wie Bruno Kramm een beetje kent, weet dat de Das Ich-muzikant het niet bepaald eens is met de rechtste koers die deze wereld tegenwoordig vaart en het is dan ook niet zo verwonderlijk dat de vijfde cd van deze band op zijn Danse Macabre-label verschijnt.

Het hoesje verraadt meteen de sfeer van deze cd: een jongen zit op de grond met zijn hoofd voorover gebogen, zijn enige metgezel is een hond die de andere richting uitkijkt.

Neen, je hoort wel dansbare beats die je regelmatig doen heupwiegen, maar echt vrolijk word je niet van deze futurepop. Iedere tekst staat dan ook bol van de maatschappijkritiek. We moeten zelfs geen zinnetjes uit de teksten halen, de titels zeggen immers meer dan genoeg: In The Main You Are Yourself, Destroy, We Stand Together of Fascist Pig.

Futurepop voor punkers, dus. Het is dan ook daarom dat Nova-Spes niet meteen de hoofdact van M’era Luna zal worden, want hier moet over worden nagedacht. De tracks zitten professioneel in elkaar en als we dan toch kritiek mogen geven, dan is dat over het feit dat deze cd wat meer variatie kon gebruiken.

Didier BECU
09/12/2016


Music reviews

17
05
LISA MORGENSTERN
Chameleon
16
05
VEIL OF LIGHT
Inflict
15
05
KIM THOMPSETT
The Hollows
14
05
L7
Scatter The Rats
13
05
SIGNAL AOUT 42
Insurrection
08
05
KRISTIN HERSH
Crooked (Reissue)

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

16
05
45 years of Diamond Dogs (David Bowie)
15
05
On this day, 29 years ago, British post-punk band Wire released their 7th studio album Manscape
14
05
'Locating Silver Lake' out on DVD today!
13
05
Today it’s exactly 22 years ago Nine Inch Nails released their The Perfect Drug (Versions) EP!
12
05
Legendary Gothic/Death Rock Band CHRISTIAN DEATH Announces Forthcoming European Tour & First Ever Live Video Chat/'Forgiven' Video Premiere
12
05
This month it’s been 41 years since Kraftwerk released Die Roboter / The Robots!

Concert reviews

15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

23
05
JAKE BURNS (STIFF LITTLE FINGERS)
'We were writing a songs about our own rights'
22
05
TREHA SEKTORI
‘I Have A Feeling Of Constant Dissatisfaction, So I'll Get Back To Work To Make It Better’
10
05
APSURDE
No Matter What We Do, We Will Always Sound Like Depeche Mode
09
05
ANDY GILL (GANG OF FOUR)
'You never expect Gang of Four to be very optimistic.Do you ?'
29
04
STACY COCHRAN
'I didn’t want to write something cruel; I wanted to find the daily fears and even some transcendent pragmatism inside a complicated set of characters...'

PHOTOS

25
05
LARVA
Dame C Rijsel
25
05
MIREXXX
Dam C Rijsel
21
05
PETER HOOK
New Waves Day, Oberhausen
21
05
GANG OF FOUR
New Waves Day, Oberhausen
21
05
CHAMELEONS VOX
New Waves Day, Oberhausen
21
05
AND ALSO THE TREES
New Waves Day, Oberhausen
21
05
PINK TURNS BLUE
New Waves Day, Oberhausen

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

25
05
KNK
Darling
24
05
TUXEDOMOON
In a manner of speaking
23
05
THE CURE
One Hundred Years, Live in Antwerp, 2016
22
05
NEW MODEL ARMY
Winter
21
05
NUMB
Lies
20
05
LUCIFER'S DREAM
Elixir of Isis
19
05
SIOUXSIE & THE BANSHEES
You're Lost Little Girl