tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

09/12/2016 : NOVA-SPES - A Dog And His Boy

NOVA-SPES

A Dog And His Boy

MusicCD
Future PopSynth Pop / Electro Pop

[70/100]   

Danse Macabre
09/12/2016, Didier BECU

EN

We don’t like to write it down, but many people consider future pop as brainless music that is only made to entertain. Well, even though we don’t agree, Nova Spes is an exception to the rule, although the question is if you have to categorize this band from Leipzig as future pop.

If you follow Bruno Kramm, then you obviously know that the Das Ich musician isn’t happy with the current political landscape of Western Europe, therefore it is no surprise that the fifth album of this band is released on his Danse Macabre-label.

The CD cover indicatess the spirit of this album: a boy, sitting on the ground with his head bent down, his only companion is a dog that looks the other way.

You get danceable beats that makes you swing, but this future pop won’t make you happy. Each text is full of social criticism. We do not need to quote excerpts from the texts as proof, simply because the titles say more than enough: In The Main You Are Yourself, Destroy, We Stand Together or Fascist Pig.

Future pop for punks, so to speak. That is why Nova Spes probably won’t headline M'era Luna. The tracks are professionally made and you have to think about them! The sole minor point is the fact that this CD could use more variety.

Didier BECU
09/12/2016


NL

We schrijven het niet graag, maar heel wat mensen beschouwen futurepop als hersenloze muziek die louter dient om je te amuseren, meer niet. Nou, ook al zijn wij het daarmee niet helemaal eens, vormt Nova-Spes toch een uitzondering op de regel, hoewel meteen de vraag rijst in hoeverre je kan zeggen dat deze band uit Leipzig onder de noemer futurepop valt.

Wie Bruno Kramm een beetje kent, weet dat de Das Ich-muzikant het niet bepaald eens is met de rechtste koers die deze wereld tegenwoordig vaart en het is dan ook niet zo verwonderlijk dat de vijfde cd van deze band op zijn Danse Macabre-label verschijnt.

Het hoesje verraadt meteen de sfeer van deze cd: een jongen zit op de grond met zijn hoofd voorover gebogen, zijn enige metgezel is een hond die de andere richting uitkijkt.

Neen, je hoort wel dansbare beats die je regelmatig doen heupwiegen, maar echt vrolijk word je niet van deze futurepop. Iedere tekst staat dan ook bol van de maatschappijkritiek. We moeten zelfs geen zinnetjes uit de teksten halen, de titels zeggen immers meer dan genoeg: In The Main You Are Yourself, Destroy, We Stand Together of Fascist Pig.

Futurepop voor punkers, dus. Het is dan ook daarom dat Nova-Spes niet meteen de hoofdact van M’era Luna zal worden, want hier moet over worden nagedacht. De tracks zitten professioneel in elkaar en als we dan toch kritiek mogen geven, dan is dat over het feit dat deze cd wat meer variatie kon gebruiken.

Didier BECU
09/12/2016


Music reviews

18
01
RINGFINGER
Pressure
16
01
SYRENOMILIA
A Rose Shattered
14
01
M73
Tainted
09
01
NEGANT
Schwarz!
08
01
MORE EPHEMEROL
Obituary Templates
07
01
CHRISTOPHE CLEBARD
SSS

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

25
01
Exactly 42 years ago, Joy Division played their very first concert!
24
01
Canadian DJ/Multi-Genre Artist JHNN Reveals New Single And Video 'My Strange Addiction'
24
01
Today, exactly 29 ago years ago Front 242 released the album Tyranny ▶For You◀
24
01
Today, 2 years ago, Mark E. Smith, singer of legendary post-punk band The Fall died, aged 60
23
01
Dirk Da Davo (former The Neon Judgement) and Jean-Marie Aerts (former TC MATIC) announce first joint venture full album!
22
01
On this day, 10 years ago, Nitzer Ebb released their sixth studio album Industrial Complex!

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

24
01
TREY GUNN (KING CRIMSON,TU ,SECURITY PROJECT,...)
'I’m trying to set up an experiential thing...'
20
01
AARON TURNER (SUMAC, ISIS, MAMIFFER...)
'It’s like a dialogue between me and what I’m hearing...'
19
01
IAN EVERETT (SOLID BRONZE)
'had a lot of time to sit with these songs...'
17
01
BROOK
I’ve soaked up a lot of musical genres over the years, and I like to think that maybe this is reflected throughout the Brook album.
15
01
ORDO ROSARIUS EQUILIBRIO
I never thought I’d live to see the day when Ordo Rosarius Equilibrio was mentioned next to Current 93 and Death in June.

PHOTOS

26
01
FIX8:SED8
Oefenbunker Landgraaf
26
01
GRAUSAME TOCHTER
Oefenbunker Landgraaf
26
01
LAPIS EXILIS
Oefenbuker Landgraaf
25
01
ASHBURY HEIGHTS
Rockpalast Matrix Bochum Germany
25
01
MASSIVE EGO
Rockpalast Matrix Bochum Germany
19
01
DAGEIST
Dark Winter Festival Liège
19
01
THE ARCH
Dark Winter Festival Liège

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

26
01
MASSENHYSTERIE
Weiber regieren die Welt
25
01
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
Armored Core
24
01
DE DELVERS
Poolnacht
23
01
GOLDFRAPP
Systemagic
22
01
JOSIE PACE & SAMMI DOLL
Perfect Replacement (Official Music Video)
21
01
JAH WOBBLE
How Much Are They?
20
01
THROBBING GRISTLE
Six Six Sixties (Fan made video)