tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd (ep) review

09/12/2016 : MERCIFUL NUNS - Allseeing Eye EP

MERCIFUL NUNS

Allseeing Eye EP

MusicCD (EP)
Gothic Rock

[90/100]   

Solar Lodge/Alive!
09/12/2016, Didier BECU

EN

It doesn’t happen that often that Merciful Nuns composes a song that can be described as a singalong. Usually the band of singer Seth Artaud is known for its epic goth rock compositions, but Allseeing Eye is different. The album Thelema VIII is one of our favorite albums of the year (yes, and we say this after three months only), and every time Allseeing Eye blasts out of the speakers, we push the repeat button. You can dance on it, you can play air guitar on it or you just can yell the lyrics. Goth rock at its best, and while most of the goth rock bands have become a well-oiled jukebox, Merciful Nuns is getting better with every release.

This CD single includes a second version of Allseeing Eye. It is different, because the production puts the guitars more to the fore. It’s a small detail, but it gives the song a complete different feel. It's a bit strange that the class song Isolation did not make it to the new album, but according to Artaud, this track did not fit into the concept of Thelema VIII,that is built around the philosophy of humanist François Rabelais.

Silence is a beautiful goth epic to close this magnificent EP with. The choirs in the background give the track a dramatic sound.

This EP is certainly one of the more accessible releases by Merciful Nuns, but that does not make it worse (on the contrary). But if you want a copy then you better be quick, because these are only 1,000 copies available.

Didier BECU
09/12/2016


NL

Het gebeurt maar zelden dat Merciful Nuns een meezinger componeert. Meestal kennen we de band van de zanger van Seth Artaud voor zijn epische gothrockcomposities, maar op Allseeing Eye is dat eventjes anders. Het album Thelema VIII behoort tot onze favoriete albums van het jaar (ja, en dat na drie maanden), en telkens Allseeing Eye uit de speakers knalt, wordt meermaals de herhalingstoets ingedrukt. Je kan er op dansen, er luchtgitaar op spelen of gewoon lekker de tekst meebrullen. Gothrock op zijn best, en terwijl de meeste van hun genregenoten niet meer dan een geoliede jukebox zijn, wordt Merciful Nuns met iedere release alsmaar beter.

Op deze cd-single staat er een tweede versie van Allseeing Eye. Het verschilt zit hem vooral in de productie omdat de gothgitaren meer op de voorgrond treden.

Het is een beetje vreemd dat Isolation de nieuwe cd niet heeft gehaald, maar volgens Artaud pastte deze track gewoon niet in het concept van Thelema VIII, dat gebouwd is rond de filosofie van de humanist François Rabelais.

In Silence is een prachtig gothepos dat deze magnifieke ep afsluit. De koorzang op de achtergrond geeft de track een dramatisch geluid.

Deze ep behoort zeker tot het meer toegankelijke werk van Merciful Nuns, maar dat maakt het er niet slechter op (integendeel). Je reppen is evenwel de boodschap, want hiervan zijn maar 1000 exemplaren in omloop.

Didier BECU
09/12/2016


Music reviews

14
06
CABINET OF MILLIONAIRES
Theresa, Vol.3 Ep
13
06
DEF ROBOT
Makers Of Mountains
04
06
THIS CAN HURT
Worlds Apart
03
06
RADERKRAFT
Smart Control
02
06
MASSIVE EGO
Church For The Malfunctioned
01
06
VUKOVAR
Cremator

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

15
06
Today it’s exactly 40 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).
03
06
Today, 41 years ago, Joy Division self-released their very first 7' EP, An Ideal For Living!
29
05
UK's Electronic-Pop Band EMPATHY TEST Announce The Release of EMPTY-HANDED EP
16
05
45 years of Diamond Dogs (David Bowie)
15
05
On this day, 29 years ago, British post-punk band Wire released their 7th studio album Manscape
14
05
'Locating Silver Lake' out on DVD today!

Concert reviews

15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

15
06
KENNEY JONES
'There's always an element of doubt in anything you do'
23
05
JAKE BURNS (STIFF LITTLE FINGERS)
'We were writing a songs about our own rights'
22
05
TREHA SEKTORI
‘I Have A Feeling Of Constant Dissatisfaction, So I'll Get Back To Work To Make It Better’
10
05
APSURDE
No Matter What We Do, We Will Always Sound Like Depeche Mode
09
05
ANDY GILL (GANG OF FOUR)
'You never expect Gang of Four to be very optimistic.Do you ?'

PHOTOS

12
06
12
06
12
06
12
06
AGONOIZE
Agra, WGT Leipzig
12
06
VELVET ACID CHRIST
Agra, WGT Leipzig
12
06
NACHTMAHR
Agra, WGT Leipzig
12
06
GROUND NERO
Westbad, WGT Leipzig

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

16
06
WHITE ZOMBIE
More Human Than Human
15
06
KARIN PARK
Hurricane
14
06
AUSTRA
I Love You More Than You Love Yourself
13
06
FACTICE FACTORY
L'Aurore
12
06
SOWULU
Ginnungagap
11
06
SHE PAST AWAY
Katarsis
10
06
HANTE
Noir