tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd (ep) review

09/12/2016 : MERCIFUL NUNS - Allseeing Eye EP

MERCIFUL NUNS

Allseeing Eye EP

MusicCD (EP)
Gothic Rock

[90/100]   

Solar Lodge/Alive!
09/12/2016, Didier BECU

EN

It doesn’t happen that often that Merciful Nuns composes a song that can be described as a singalong. Usually the band of singer Seth Artaud is known for its epic goth rock compositions, but Allseeing Eye is different. The album Thelema VIII is one of our favorite albums of the year (yes, and we say this after three months only), and every time Allseeing Eye blasts out of the speakers, we push the repeat button. You can dance on it, you can play air guitar on it or you just can yell the lyrics. Goth rock at its best, and while most of the goth rock bands have become a well-oiled jukebox, Merciful Nuns is getting better with every release.

This CD single includes a second version of Allseeing Eye. It is different, because the production puts the guitars more to the fore. It’s a small detail, but it gives the song a complete different feel. It's a bit strange that the class song Isolation did not make it to the new album, but according to Artaud, this track did not fit into the concept of Thelema VIII,that is built around the philosophy of humanist François Rabelais.

Silence is a beautiful goth epic to close this magnificent EP with. The choirs in the background give the track a dramatic sound.

This EP is certainly one of the more accessible releases by Merciful Nuns, but that does not make it worse (on the contrary). But if you want a copy then you better be quick, because these are only 1,000 copies available.

Didier BECU
09/12/2016


NL

Het gebeurt maar zelden dat Merciful Nuns een meezinger componeert. Meestal kennen we de band van de zanger van Seth Artaud voor zijn epische gothrockcomposities, maar op Allseeing Eye is dat eventjes anders. Het album Thelema VIII behoort tot onze favoriete albums van het jaar (ja, en dat na drie maanden), en telkens Allseeing Eye uit de speakers knalt, wordt meermaals de herhalingstoets ingedrukt. Je kan er op dansen, er luchtgitaar op spelen of gewoon lekker de tekst meebrullen. Gothrock op zijn best, en terwijl de meeste van hun genregenoten niet meer dan een geoliede jukebox zijn, wordt Merciful Nuns met iedere release alsmaar beter.

Op deze cd-single staat er een tweede versie van Allseeing Eye. Het verschilt zit hem vooral in de productie omdat de gothgitaren meer op de voorgrond treden.

Het is een beetje vreemd dat Isolation de nieuwe cd niet heeft gehaald, maar volgens Artaud pastte deze track gewoon niet in het concept van Thelema VIII, dat gebouwd is rond de filosofie van de humanist François Rabelais.

In Silence is een prachtig gothepos dat deze magnifieke ep afsluit. De koorzang op de achtergrond geeft de track een dramatisch geluid.

Deze ep behoort zeker tot het meer toegankelijke werk van Merciful Nuns, maar dat maakt het er niet slechter op (integendeel). Je reppen is evenwel de boodschap, want hiervan zijn maar 1000 exemplaren in omloop.

Didier BECU
09/12/2016


Music reviews

06
02
HARRY CLOUD
The Pig And The Machine
03
02
MISERIA ULTIMA
Graygarden
01
02
MONO INC.
The Book Of Fire
30
01
THE MARS MODEL
FrancoBelga
27
01
6TH CROWD
Самозванцы (Samozvantsiy)
18
01
RINGFINGER
Pressure

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

18
02
Today, exactly 17 years ago, American Industrial Metal band Ministry released Animositisomina!
17
02
On this day, 6 years ago, DEVO guitarist Bob Casale (61) died.
15
02
LEPROUS – Launch drum playthrough video for “The Sky Is Red”
15
02
This February, it's 33 AGO Kraftwerk released 'The Telephone Call / Der Telefon-Anruf'.
14
02
Today, exactly 41 years ago, John Peel broadcast the first Peel Sessions, performed by Joy Division
09
02
German Electronic/Synthpop Act SEA OF SIN Presents Their Single & Video Release For 'YOU'

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

17
02
H.R. (THE BAD BRAINS)
'I always wanted to play reggae!'
11
02
NICKY GARRATT (UK SUBS, HEDERSLEBEN)
'Putting a krautrock band together I always wanted this fearlessness.' (Interview Part 2)
10
02
NICKY GARRATT (UK SUBS, HEDERSLEBEN): PART II
'In punk, I found the vehicle for skepticism.' (Interview Part 1)
07
02
DOUGLAS P. (DEATH IN JUNE)
'Words/lyrics are continuously coming to me, everywhere and anywhere...'
02
02
CHRIS CUTLER (HENRY COW)
'We all shared a common concern with extending the vocabulary of rock...'

PHOTOS

12
02
MONSTERMAGNET
FZW Dortmund,Germany
12
02
SAINT AGNES SUPPORT MONSTERMAGNET
FZW Dortmund,Germany
26
01
FIX8:SED8
Oefenbunker Landgraaf
26
01
GRAUSAME TOCHTER
Oefenbunker Landgraaf
26
01
LAPIS EXILIS
Oefenbuker Landgraaf
25
01
ASHBURY HEIGHTS
Rockpalast Matrix Bochum Germany
25
01
MASSIVE EGO
Rockpalast Matrix Bochum Germany

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

21
02
PETER BRODERICK
Up Niek Mountain
20
02
ROGER WATERS
Wait for Her
19
02
X MARKS THE PEDWALK
Secrets
18
02
THE MISSION
Love Me To Death
17
02
CLAN OF XYMOX
Imagination
16
02
GERTRUD STEIN
The Void
15
02
MINISTRY
Same Old Madness