tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd (ep) review

09/12/2016 : MERCIFUL NUNS - Allseeing Eye EP

MERCIFUL NUNS

Allseeing Eye EP

MusicCD (EP)
Gothic Rock

[90/100]   

Solar Lodge/Alive!
09/12/2016, Didier BECU

EN

It doesn’t happen that often that Merciful Nuns composes a song that can be described as a singalong. Usually the band of singer Seth Artaud is known for its epic goth rock compositions, but Allseeing Eye is different. The album Thelema VIII is one of our favorite albums of the year (yes, and we say this after three months only), and every time Allseeing Eye blasts out of the speakers, we push the repeat button. You can dance on it, you can play air guitar on it or you just can yell the lyrics. Goth rock at its best, and while most of the goth rock bands have become a well-oiled jukebox, Merciful Nuns is getting better with every release.

This CD single includes a second version of Allseeing Eye. It is different, because the production puts the guitars more to the fore. It’s a small detail, but it gives the song a complete different feel. It's a bit strange that the class song Isolation did not make it to the new album, but according to Artaud, this track did not fit into the concept of Thelema VIII,that is built around the philosophy of humanist François Rabelais.

Silence is a beautiful goth epic to close this magnificent EP with. The choirs in the background give the track a dramatic sound.

This EP is certainly one of the more accessible releases by Merciful Nuns, but that does not make it worse (on the contrary). But if you want a copy then you better be quick, because these are only 1,000 copies available.

Didier BECU
09/12/2016


NL

Het gebeurt maar zelden dat Merciful Nuns een meezinger componeert. Meestal kennen we de band van de zanger van Seth Artaud voor zijn epische gothrockcomposities, maar op Allseeing Eye is dat eventjes anders. Het album Thelema VIII behoort tot onze favoriete albums van het jaar (ja, en dat na drie maanden), en telkens Allseeing Eye uit de speakers knalt, wordt meermaals de herhalingstoets ingedrukt. Je kan er op dansen, er luchtgitaar op spelen of gewoon lekker de tekst meebrullen. Gothrock op zijn best, en terwijl de meeste van hun genregenoten niet meer dan een geoliede jukebox zijn, wordt Merciful Nuns met iedere release alsmaar beter.

Op deze cd-single staat er een tweede versie van Allseeing Eye. Het verschilt zit hem vooral in de productie omdat de gothgitaren meer op de voorgrond treden.

Het is een beetje vreemd dat Isolation de nieuwe cd niet heeft gehaald, maar volgens Artaud pastte deze track gewoon niet in het concept van Thelema VIII, dat gebouwd is rond de filosofie van de humanist François Rabelais.

In Silence is een prachtig gothepos dat deze magnifieke ep afsluit. De koorzang op de achtergrond geeft de track een dramatisch geluid.

Deze ep behoort zeker tot het meer toegankelijke werk van Merciful Nuns, maar dat maakt het er niet slechter op (integendeel). Je reppen is evenwel de boodschap, want hiervan zijn maar 1000 exemplaren in omloop.

Didier BECU
09/12/2016


Music reviews

05
07
JAYE JAYLE
PRISYN
03
07
PORTION CONTROL
Head Buried
02
07
AIMA & THE ILLUSION OF SILENCE
Music for certain rituals
28
06
VARIOUS ARTISTS
PERIHELION 2134
24
06
COLD IN MAY
Isolation songs
19
06
UNITCODE:MACHINE
Paper empires

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

09
07
Dutch electro pioneers, Minny Pops announce the release of a brand new double A-Side single!
08
07
Darkwave Artist DISSONANCE Announces New Maxi-Single 'Precipice;' A Lament Of Personal Struggle
07
07
Darkwave Band STYKFAKTOR Reveals New Single, 'Distance' - An Emotional Struggle With Social Distancing
07
07
FRONT 242's Daniel B. celebrate his 66th birthday with the release of 6+6
04
07
Industrial Band RIOTLEGION Announces The Release Of Machine Liberation
03
07
I Wanted To Tell Her by Ministry turns 37 years this month!

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

09
07
DON GORDON (NUMB)
'In many ways the first Numb album was one of the ‘easiest’ to produce...'
06
07
J.ROBBINS
'When someone has a song and they’re struggling about - what’s the best way to present it...'
04
07
LAIBACH
When they banned Laibach, we said 'great, let's move further'!
27
06
BURTON C.BELL (FEAR FACTORY, ASCENSION OF THE WATCHERS )
'It all comes from my head – whatever I’m feeling, whatever I’m thinking of.'
27
06
RODNEY ORPHEUS / THE CASSANDRA COMPLEX
I Think I’m Still As Revolutionary And Opinionated As Ever...

PHOTOS

13
03
SIGLO XX
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
ROME
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ROSE OF AVALANCHE
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE DANSE SOCIETY
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ARCH
Porta Nigra Aarschot
11
03
FRONT 242
Pulse Namur Isnes
11
03
SHAARGHOT
Pulse Namur Isnes

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

09
07
XUP
CUT YOU OPEN
09
07
FAR
Epicaricacy
08
07
RYUICHI SAKAMOTO & DAVID SYLVIAN
Life, Life
07
07
KDF
Innocence
06
07
SNOG
Spätzle Machine
06
07
THE HORRORIST
The Horrorist - One Night In New York City (Uncensored)(Chris Liebing Remix)
05
07
GOLDFRAPP
Winter Wonderland