tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd (ep) review

09/12/2016 : MERCIFUL NUNS - Allseeing Eye EP

MERCIFUL NUNS

Allseeing Eye EP

MusicCD (EP)
Gothic Rock

[90/100]   

Solar Lodge/Alive!
09/12/2016, Didier BECU

EN

It doesn’t happen that often that Merciful Nuns composes a song that can be described as a singalong. Usually the band of singer Seth Artaud is known for its epic goth rock compositions, but Allseeing Eye is different. The album Thelema VIII is one of our favorite albums of the year (yes, and we say this after three months only), and every time Allseeing Eye blasts out of the speakers, we push the repeat button. You can dance on it, you can play air guitar on it or you just can yell the lyrics. Goth rock at its best, and while most of the goth rock bands have become a well-oiled jukebox, Merciful Nuns is getting better with every release.

This CD single includes a second version of Allseeing Eye. It is different, because the production puts the guitars more to the fore. It’s a small detail, but it gives the song a complete different feel. It's a bit strange that the class song Isolation did not make it to the new album, but according to Artaud, this track did not fit into the concept of Thelema VIII,that is built around the philosophy of humanist François Rabelais.

Silence is a beautiful goth epic to close this magnificent EP with. The choirs in the background give the track a dramatic sound.

This EP is certainly one of the more accessible releases by Merciful Nuns, but that does not make it worse (on the contrary). But if you want a copy then you better be quick, because these are only 1,000 copies available.

Didier BECU
09/12/2016


NL

Het gebeurt maar zelden dat Merciful Nuns een meezinger componeert. Meestal kennen we de band van de zanger van Seth Artaud voor zijn epische gothrockcomposities, maar op Allseeing Eye is dat eventjes anders. Het album Thelema VIII behoort tot onze favoriete albums van het jaar (ja, en dat na drie maanden), en telkens Allseeing Eye uit de speakers knalt, wordt meermaals de herhalingstoets ingedrukt. Je kan er op dansen, er luchtgitaar op spelen of gewoon lekker de tekst meebrullen. Gothrock op zijn best, en terwijl de meeste van hun genregenoten niet meer dan een geoliede jukebox zijn, wordt Merciful Nuns met iedere release alsmaar beter.

Op deze cd-single staat er een tweede versie van Allseeing Eye. Het verschilt zit hem vooral in de productie omdat de gothgitaren meer op de voorgrond treden.

Het is een beetje vreemd dat Isolation de nieuwe cd niet heeft gehaald, maar volgens Artaud pastte deze track gewoon niet in het concept van Thelema VIII, dat gebouwd is rond de filosofie van de humanist François Rabelais.

In Silence is een prachtig gothepos dat deze magnifieke ep afsluit. De koorzang op de achtergrond geeft de track een dramatisch geluid.

Deze ep behoort zeker tot het meer toegankelijke werk van Merciful Nuns, maar dat maakt het er niet slechter op (integendeel). Je reppen is evenwel de boodschap, want hiervan zijn maar 1000 exemplaren in omloop.

Didier BECU
09/12/2016


Music reviews

24
09
KMFDM
Hyena
23
09
DEMI LOVATO
HOLY FVCK
22
09
MISERIA ULTIMA
Witch Heart Apparition
20
09
SYGO CRIES
In Outside Places
19
09
PARADOX OBSCUR
Intercourse
07
09
KILL SHELTER
Asylum

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

25
09
Today, exactly 35 years ago The Klinik released 'Plague'!
24
09
DIE KRUPPS members side project, DIE ROBO SAPIENS, launches debut album in October!
23
09
Dark electronic artist SINE addresses alternate reality with new EP, Mantis 2
22
09
Today it’s been exactly 30 years since Nine Inch Nails released Broken (EP)
18
09
Industrial Band 40 Octaves Below Brings Retribution In 'Splintered'
07
09
A Slice Of Life releases new album Tabula Rasa on 23rd September

Concert reviews

05
07
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

14
09
LIA HIDE
Lia Hide & The Plato-Inspired New Album - An Interview
08
09
JOSIE PACE
Interview with Josie Pace
05
08
MOTOR!K
I have to admit that I often still find it strange and difficult to grasp: people going crazy on three weirdos playing some repetitive music
12
07
FERALIA PLANITIA & DAS AUGE
'Thanks to our overlapping tastes in music, we became good friends; music was our cement, sort of speak…'
18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.

PHOTOS

25
09
SOLAR FAKE
Turbinenhalle Oberhausen E-Tropolis Festival
25
09
WINTERKALTE
Turbinenhalle Oberhausen E-Tropolis Festival
24
09
THE LEATHER STRIP
Not just another EBM day! De Casino
24
09
A SPLIT - SECOND
Not just another EBM day! De Casino
24
09
KNK
Not just another EBM day! De Casino
24
09
ELM
Not just another EBM day! De Casino
24
09
PRAGA KHAN
AB Brussel

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

25
09
RAMMSTEIN
Sonne
24
09
KRAFTWERK
The Robots (Live, 2004)
23
09
TEARS & MARBLE
Outsiders
22
09
ESCAPE TO WHAT
Fake Messiah Syndrome
21
09
GOETHES ERBEN
Making Of Menschenstille
20
09
DRAB MAJESTY
Too Soon To Tell
19
09
STORY OFF
Life On Other Planets