tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd (ep) review

09/12/2016 : MERCIFUL NUNS - Allseeing Eye EP

MERCIFUL NUNS

Allseeing Eye EP

MusicCD (EP)
Gothic Rock

[90/100]   

Solar Lodge/Alive!
09/12/2016, Didier BECU

EN

It doesn’t happen that often that Merciful Nuns composes a song that can be described as a singalong. Usually the band of singer Seth Artaud is known for its epic goth rock compositions, but Allseeing Eye is different. The album Thelema VIII is one of our favorite albums of the year (yes, and we say this after three months only), and every time Allseeing Eye blasts out of the speakers, we push the repeat button. You can dance on it, you can play air guitar on it or you just can yell the lyrics. Goth rock at its best, and while most of the goth rock bands have become a well-oiled jukebox, Merciful Nuns is getting better with every release.

This CD single includes a second version of Allseeing Eye. It is different, because the production puts the guitars more to the fore. It’s a small detail, but it gives the song a complete different feel. It's a bit strange that the class song Isolation did not make it to the new album, but according to Artaud, this track did not fit into the concept of Thelema VIII,that is built around the philosophy of humanist François Rabelais.

Silence is a beautiful goth epic to close this magnificent EP with. The choirs in the background give the track a dramatic sound.

This EP is certainly one of the more accessible releases by Merciful Nuns, but that does not make it worse (on the contrary). But if you want a copy then you better be quick, because these are only 1,000 copies available.

Didier BECU
09/12/2016


NL

Het gebeurt maar zelden dat Merciful Nuns een meezinger componeert. Meestal kennen we de band van de zanger van Seth Artaud voor zijn epische gothrockcomposities, maar op Allseeing Eye is dat eventjes anders. Het album Thelema VIII behoort tot onze favoriete albums van het jaar (ja, en dat na drie maanden), en telkens Allseeing Eye uit de speakers knalt, wordt meermaals de herhalingstoets ingedrukt. Je kan er op dansen, er luchtgitaar op spelen of gewoon lekker de tekst meebrullen. Gothrock op zijn best, en terwijl de meeste van hun genregenoten niet meer dan een geoliede jukebox zijn, wordt Merciful Nuns met iedere release alsmaar beter.

Op deze cd-single staat er een tweede versie van Allseeing Eye. Het verschilt zit hem vooral in de productie omdat de gothgitaren meer op de voorgrond treden.

Het is een beetje vreemd dat Isolation de nieuwe cd niet heeft gehaald, maar volgens Artaud pastte deze track gewoon niet in het concept van Thelema VIII, dat gebouwd is rond de filosofie van de humanist François Rabelais.

In Silence is een prachtig gothepos dat deze magnifieke ep afsluit. De koorzang op de achtergrond geeft de track een dramatisch geluid.

Deze ep behoort zeker tot het meer toegankelijke werk van Merciful Nuns, maar dat maakt het er niet slechter op (integendeel). Je reppen is evenwel de boodschap, want hiervan zijn maar 1000 exemplaren in omloop.

Didier BECU
09/12/2016


Music reviews

18
01
DISTANT VOICES
Long Road to Home
17
01
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
Mechanical Soul
16
01
IMPLANT
Phantom Pain
15
01
DD SANCHEZ
StRaNgE
10
01
BLACK SNOW IN SUMMER
Lost Feelings
09
01
CAUSENATION
Promises of hope and fear

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

21
01
Today, exactly 28 years ago, Ministry released Just One Fix!
19
01
On this day, 30 years ago (19 January 1991), The Cure performed at The Great British Music Awards!
18
01
On this day, 41 ago, John Foxx released his first solo project album Metamatic!
17
01
Today, 36 years ago, Alien Sex Fiend recorded Liquid Head in Tokyo!
16
01
26 years Divine Rapture | Celebrating The Siouxsie and the Banshees 1995 and final album!
15
01
Brand new Front Line Assembly album 'Mechanical Soul' out today!

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

07
01
MAMAN KUSTERS
‘Let’s Keep It Intriguing
16
12
THE BREATH OF LIFE
'No, I never considered quitting making music. Nor to taste good special beers.'
05
12
CEVIN KEY (SKINNY PUPPY, DOWNLOAD)
'It really has been like the formation of a new band in a lot of ways...'
03
12
ALEX SKOLNICK (TESTAMENT, ALEX SKOLNICK TRIO)
'I was as knocked out as I was hearing Van Halen...'
14
11
PROYECTO MIRAGE
I Think We Needed A Break

PHOTOS

25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival
20
08
JUSTIN SULLIVAN & GASTONE
Kreisverwaltung Groß-Gerau

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

21
01
ROB ZOMBIE
The Triumph of King Freak (A Crypt of Preservation and Superstition)
20
01
NEW ORDER
True Faith
19
01
CORDE OBLIQUE
Suono su tela
18
01
KAI SCHUMACHER
The Hug (Rework by Illuminine)
17
01
ELSJE HELEWAUT & RUDOLF HECKE
Let's Not Give A Damn
16
01
PSY'AVIAH
Not What I Expected
15
01
LEATHER STRIP
Strap me down