tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

29/11/2015 : MERCIFUL NUNS - 400 Billion Suns

MERCIFUL NUNS

400 Billion Suns

MusicCD
Gothic Rock

[83/100]   

Solar Lodge/Alive!
29/11/2015, Didier BECU

EN

We assume (or let us say hope) that we don’t have to introduce Merciful Nuns on our pages. This goth rock band from Berlin was founded by Artaud Seth, who is also the singer of Garden of Delight. Because of Artaud's typical voice, these Germans always are compared with The Sisters of Mercy and Fields of the Nephilim. Of course there are many similarities, but these nuns have developed their own style by basing their texts on ancient cultures and spiritualism. Since their debut Lib. I from 2015 eight albums have been released and now there is a live album: 400 Billion Suns, recorded last year in Poland during the Castle Party Festival, and just like the compilation Closing, the live recording offers a good view of ​​what this band already did.

Who ever saw them at work, knows that Merciful Nuns sucks the listener into the impressive sound. And that’s also the feeling you get when hearing this live album. It sounds unpolished and rather raw and you never have the impression that you listen to some overproduced live tracks with applause.

Merciful Nuns is certainly not an easy band, it is more like progressive rock with goth influences and a weird (but superb) atmosphere. Needless to say that this CD collection is a must for every fan. for those who would not be familiar with the band, it is an ideal introduction! Better late than never!

Didier BECU
29/11/2015


NL

We veronderstellen (of laat ons eerder zeggen hopen) dat we Merciful Nuns niet meer hoeven voor te stellen op onze pagina’s. Deze gothrockband uit Berlijn is opgericht door Artaud Seth, die vroeger bij Garden of Delight speelde. Door Artauds typische stem werden deze Duitsers tot vervelens toe met The Sisters of Mercy en Fields of the Nephilim vergeleken. Er zijn natuurlijk heel wat raakpunten, toch hebben deze nonnen een eigen stijl ontwikkeld door hun teksten te baseren op oude culturen en spiritualisme. Sinds hun debuut Lib. I uit 2015 zijn er ondertussen al acht albums verschenen (luiaards kan je ze niet noemen) en nu is er ook een liveplaat: 400 Billion Suns. De plaat is vorig jaar opgenomen in Polen tijdens het Castle Party-festival, en de liveregistratie biedt net als de verzamelaar Closing een mooi beeld van wat deze band al heeft gepresteerd.

Wie deze band ooit aan het werk zag, weet dat Merciful Nuns de luisteraar in zijn imposant geluid opzuigt. En dat gevoel heb je volop op deze liveplaat. Het klinkt niet gepolijst, maar lekker rauw zodat je niet de indruk krijgt dat je naar opgepoetste tracks met wat applaus zit te luisteren. Merciful Nuns is zeker geen gemakkelijke band om te doorgronden, het is meer progrock met veel gothinvloeden en een nadruk op sfeer. Onnodig om te zeggen dat deze cd in de collectie thuishoort van iedere fan, en voor diegenenj die de band nog niet zouden kennen is het een ideale kennismaking!

Tracklist:
1 Intro
2 Speed of Light
3 Karma Inn
4 Body of Light
5 Genesis Revealed
6 Exosphere
7 Blackbody/Ultraviolet
8 Supernovae
9 Occvltation
10 The Maelstrom
11 God Aeon
12 Hypogeum
13 Ancient Astronauts
14 The Return

Didier BECU
29/11/2015


Music reviews

11
07
CONTAINER 90
Friendship and love
10
07
ENZO KREFT
Control
09
07
HOCICO
Artificial Extinction
04
07
MECHANIMAL
White Flag Single
14
06
CABINET OF MILLIONAIRES
Theresa, Vol.3 Ep
13
06
DEF ROBOT
Makers Of Mountains

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

18
07
Today it’s 31 years since Siouxsie & The Banshees released their single Peek-a-Boo.
18
07
Today, exactly 39 years ago, Joy Division released their second and final studio album, Closer.
17
07
Electronic/Industrial Bass Artist SINthetik Messiah Announces The Release of Their Single 'Black Sheep'
16
07
Electronic Act THE BRUTE: Announces New LONESOME HERO/AND I WANT YOU Split Single & Video
15
07
New Peek-a-Boo Magazine #34 out now!
15
07
PINK TURNS ANNOUNCES REISSUES OF FIRST ALBUMS + TOUR 2019

Concert reviews

14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019
15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

16
07
MARK DEUTROM (CLOWN ALLEY/THE MELVINS)
' I felt like I needed to make a solo-record at that time!'
15
07
STEVE DIGGLE (BUZZCOCKS)
'We were writing from the heart and soul!'
08
07
TODD TRAINER (SHELLAC)
'My attitude has always been to be original and unique!'
06
07
BOB BERT (PUSSY GALORE, LYDIA LUNCH RETROVIRUS, EX-SONIC YOUTH,...)
'One man’s noise is another man’s symphony!'
02
07
TEST DEPARTMENT
THE 80s WERE AN AMAZING TIME FOR MUSICAL DEVELOPMENT

PHOTOS

19
07
SILENT RUNNERS
Blue Shell Köln
17
07
JOY/DISASTER
Blue Shell Köln
17
07
JOY/DISASTER
Blue Shell Köln
16
07
IAMTHESHADOW
Blue Shell Köln
16
07
IAMTHESHADOW
Blue Shell Köln
16
07
CRYING VESSEL
Blue Shell Köln
10
07
CEPHALGY
Parkhaus Duisburg

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

20
07
THE LUST SYNDICATE
Death moves towards us
19
07
FIELDS OF THE NEPHILIM
Moonchild
18
07
AMBASSADOR21
FUCKALLSYSTEMS
17
07
THIS CAN HURT
Worlds Apart
16
07
RABIA SORDA
Deaf
15
07
GUS GUS
Deep Inside
14
07
CUBANATE
Kolossus