tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

29/11/2015 : MERCIFUL NUNS - 400 Billion Suns

MERCIFUL NUNS

400 Billion Suns

MusicCD
Gothic Rock

[83/100]   

Solar Lodge/Alive!
29/11/2015, Didier BECU

EN

We assume (or let us say hope) that we don’t have to introduce Merciful Nuns on our pages. This goth rock band from Berlin was founded by Artaud Seth, who is also the singer of Garden of Delight. Because of Artaud's typical voice, these Germans always are compared with The Sisters of Mercy and Fields of the Nephilim. Of course there are many similarities, but these nuns have developed their own style by basing their texts on ancient cultures and spiritualism. Since their debut Lib. I from 2015 eight albums have been released and now there is a live album: 400 Billion Suns, recorded last year in Poland during the Castle Party Festival, and just like the compilation Closing, the live recording offers a good view of ​​what this band already did.

Who ever saw them at work, knows that Merciful Nuns sucks the listener into the impressive sound. And that’s also the feeling you get when hearing this live album. It sounds unpolished and rather raw and you never have the impression that you listen to some overproduced live tracks with applause.

Merciful Nuns is certainly not an easy band, it is more like progressive rock with goth influences and a weird (but superb) atmosphere. Needless to say that this CD collection is a must for every fan. for those who would not be familiar with the band, it is an ideal introduction! Better late than never!

Didier BECU
29/11/2015


NL

We veronderstellen (of laat ons eerder zeggen hopen) dat we Merciful Nuns niet meer hoeven voor te stellen op onze pagina’s. Deze gothrockband uit Berlijn is opgericht door Artaud Seth, die vroeger bij Garden of Delight speelde. Door Artauds typische stem werden deze Duitsers tot vervelens toe met The Sisters of Mercy en Fields of the Nephilim vergeleken. Er zijn natuurlijk heel wat raakpunten, toch hebben deze nonnen een eigen stijl ontwikkeld door hun teksten te baseren op oude culturen en spiritualisme. Sinds hun debuut Lib. I uit 2015 zijn er ondertussen al acht albums verschenen (luiaards kan je ze niet noemen) en nu is er ook een liveplaat: 400 Billion Suns. De plaat is vorig jaar opgenomen in Polen tijdens het Castle Party-festival, en de liveregistratie biedt net als de verzamelaar Closing een mooi beeld van wat deze band al heeft gepresteerd.

Wie deze band ooit aan het werk zag, weet dat Merciful Nuns de luisteraar in zijn imposant geluid opzuigt. En dat gevoel heb je volop op deze liveplaat. Het klinkt niet gepolijst, maar lekker rauw zodat je niet de indruk krijgt dat je naar opgepoetste tracks met wat applaus zit te luisteren. Merciful Nuns is zeker geen gemakkelijke band om te doorgronden, het is meer progrock met veel gothinvloeden en een nadruk op sfeer. Onnodig om te zeggen dat deze cd in de collectie thuishoort van iedere fan, en voor diegenenj die de band nog niet zouden kennen is het een ideale kennismaking!

Tracklist:
1 Intro
2 Speed of Light
3 Karma Inn
4 Body of Light
5 Genesis Revealed
6 Exosphere
7 Blackbody/Ultraviolet
8 Supernovae
9 Occvltation
10 The Maelstrom
11 God Aeon
12 Hypogeum
13 Ancient Astronauts
14 The Return

Didier BECU
29/11/2015


Music reviews

26
01
FIX8:SED8
The Inevitable Relapse (Limited Edition)
25
01
POUPPEE FABRIKK
Burn Forever
23
01
STURM CAFE
Fernes Land
18
01
DISTANT VOICES
Long Road to Home
17
01
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
Mechanical Soul
16
01
IMPLANT
Phantom Pain

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

25
01
Exactly 43 years ago, Joy Division played their very first concert!
24
01
Today, exactly 30 years ago Front 242 released the album Tyranny ▶For You◀
24
01
Today, 3 years ago, Mark E. Smith, singer of legendary post-punk band The Fall died, aged 60
22
01
On this day, 11 years ago, Nitzer Ebb released their sixth studio album Industrial Complex!
21
01
Today, exactly 28 years ago, Ministry released Just One Fix!
19
01
On this day, 30 years ago (19 January 1991), The Cure performed at The Great British Music Awards!

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

07
01
MAMAN KUSTERS
‘Let’s Keep It Intriguing
16
12
THE BREATH OF LIFE
'No, I never considered quitting making music. Nor to taste good special beers.'
05
12
CEVIN KEY (SKINNY PUPPY, DOWNLOAD)
'It really has been like the formation of a new band in a lot of ways...'
03
12
ALEX SKOLNICK (TESTAMENT, ALEX SKOLNICK TRIO)
'I was as knocked out as I was hearing Van Halen...'
14
11
PROYECTO MIRAGE
I Think We Needed A Break

PHOTOS

25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival
20
08
JUSTIN SULLIVAN & GASTONE
Kreisverwaltung Groß-Gerau

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

26
01
CHICKS ON SPEED
Utopia
25
01
STRONG PRODUCT
Trolleybus Park
24
01
BUZZ KULL
Last in the club
23
01
KALTE NACHT
Voices in silence
22
01
SYNAPTIC DEFECT
Tacky games
21
01
ROB ZOMBIE
The Triumph of King Freak (A Crypt of Preservation and Superstition)
20
01
NEW ORDER
True Faith