tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

29/11/2015 : MERCIFUL NUNS - 400 Billion Suns

MERCIFUL NUNS

400 Billion Suns

MusicCD
Gothic Rock

[83/100]   

Solar Lodge/Alive!
29/11/2015, Didier BECU

EN

We assume (or let us say hope) that we don’t have to introduce Merciful Nuns on our pages. This goth rock band from Berlin was founded by Artaud Seth, who is also the singer of Garden of Delight. Because of Artaud's typical voice, these Germans always are compared with The Sisters of Mercy and Fields of the Nephilim. Of course there are many similarities, but these nuns have developed their own style by basing their texts on ancient cultures and spiritualism. Since their debut Lib. I from 2015 eight albums have been released and now there is a live album: 400 Billion Suns, recorded last year in Poland during the Castle Party Festival, and just like the compilation Closing, the live recording offers a good view of ​​what this band already did.

Who ever saw them at work, knows that Merciful Nuns sucks the listener into the impressive sound. And that’s also the feeling you get when hearing this live album. It sounds unpolished and rather raw and you never have the impression that you listen to some overproduced live tracks with applause.

Merciful Nuns is certainly not an easy band, it is more like progressive rock with goth influences and a weird (but superb) atmosphere. Needless to say that this CD collection is a must for every fan. for those who would not be familiar with the band, it is an ideal introduction! Better late than never!

Didier BECU
29/11/2015


NL

We veronderstellen (of laat ons eerder zeggen hopen) dat we Merciful Nuns niet meer hoeven voor te stellen op onze pagina’s. Deze gothrockband uit Berlijn is opgericht door Artaud Seth, die vroeger bij Garden of Delight speelde. Door Artauds typische stem werden deze Duitsers tot vervelens toe met The Sisters of Mercy en Fields of the Nephilim vergeleken. Er zijn natuurlijk heel wat raakpunten, toch hebben deze nonnen een eigen stijl ontwikkeld door hun teksten te baseren op oude culturen en spiritualisme. Sinds hun debuut Lib. I uit 2015 zijn er ondertussen al acht albums verschenen (luiaards kan je ze niet noemen) en nu is er ook een liveplaat: 400 Billion Suns. De plaat is vorig jaar opgenomen in Polen tijdens het Castle Party-festival, en de liveregistratie biedt net als de verzamelaar Closing een mooi beeld van wat deze band al heeft gepresteerd.

Wie deze band ooit aan het werk zag, weet dat Merciful Nuns de luisteraar in zijn imposant geluid opzuigt. En dat gevoel heb je volop op deze liveplaat. Het klinkt niet gepolijst, maar lekker rauw zodat je niet de indruk krijgt dat je naar opgepoetste tracks met wat applaus zit te luisteren. Merciful Nuns is zeker geen gemakkelijke band om te doorgronden, het is meer progrock met veel gothinvloeden en een nadruk op sfeer. Onnodig om te zeggen dat deze cd in de collectie thuishoort van iedere fan, en voor diegenenj die de band nog niet zouden kennen is het een ideale kennismaking!

Tracklist:
1 Intro
2 Speed of Light
3 Karma Inn
4 Body of Light
5 Genesis Revealed
6 Exosphere
7 Blackbody/Ultraviolet
8 Supernovae
9 Occvltation
10 The Maelstrom
11 God Aeon
12 Hypogeum
13 Ancient Astronauts
14 The Return

Didier BECU
29/11/2015


Music reviews

12
11
TWIN TRIBES
Ceremony
31
10
BLAC KOLOR
Nephi
24
10
ROGER C.REALE & RUE MORGUE
The Collection
23
10
KIM GORDON
No Home Record
19
10
THE BLACK WATCH
Magic Johnson
19
10
FUTURE PILOT AKA
Orkestra Digitalis

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

12
11
Exclusive Belgian NITZER EBB clubshow at De Casino - St-Niklaas - B
11
11
THE CASSANDRA COMPLEX released GRENADE 2019 REMASTER
10
11
AMPHI FESTIVAL 2020 releases third band wave with Mesh, Zeromancer & many more
09
11
UK Gothic Rock Band HER DESPAIR Release Official Music Video for 'The Exorcism' - New EP, Exorcisms Of Eroticism due November 22nd
08
11
Bauhaus' David J announces 'Missive to an Angel from the Halls of Infamy and Allure' LP and Euro/UK tour!
07
11
Today it’s been exactly 28 years since Industrial/Metal band Ministry released Jesus Built My Hotrod!

Concert reviews

21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019
15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

02
11
UNDERTHESKIN
Try To Leave The Listener In A Certain Reflection, And Maybe Bring Some Kind Of Relief
01
11
MIKE WATT(JUMPSTARTED PLOWHARDS)
In a way, the project is a total collaboration!
26
10
MICHAEL GIRA(SWANS)
'Having a strong presence of death in your mind all the time is very healthy thing!'
25
10
PAUL Q.KOLDERIE
'There has to be a song that I feel needs to be recorded…'
14
10
JAMES MCGREGOR (THE CLOCKWORKS)
'Our dynamic is genuinely a gang scenario'

PHOTOS

11
11
SUICIDE COMMANDO
Magasin 4 Bruxelles
11
11
AMBASSADOR 21
Magasin 4 Bruxelles
11
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH!!
Magasin 4 Bruxelles
05
11
THEN COMES SILENCE
North Shadows Records Festival Auchel
05
11
MODELE MARTIAL
North Shadows Records Festival Auchel
04
11
WHITE COAL ADDICTION
North Shadows Records Festival Auchel
04
11
DATE AT MIDNIGHT
North Shadows Records Festival Auchel

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

12
11
STOCKHAUSSEN
Mi siniestro
11
11
FIGURE AND CODE PANDORUM
RedRum
10
11
JESUS AND MARY CHAIN
Happy When It Rains
09
11
3TEETH
Sell Your Face
08
11
MUSCLE AND MARROW
Ritual
07
11
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
Electric Dreams
06
11
SOCIETY 1
It's Yours Now