tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

29/11/2015 : MERCIFUL NUNS - 400 Billion Suns

MERCIFUL NUNS

400 Billion Suns

MusicCD
Gothic Rock

[83/100]   

Solar Lodge/Alive!
29/11/2015, Didier BECU

EN

We assume (or let us say hope) that we don’t have to introduce Merciful Nuns on our pages. This goth rock band from Berlin was founded by Artaud Seth, who is also the singer of Garden of Delight. Because of Artaud's typical voice, these Germans always are compared with The Sisters of Mercy and Fields of the Nephilim. Of course there are many similarities, but these nuns have developed their own style by basing their texts on ancient cultures and spiritualism. Since their debut Lib. I from 2015 eight albums have been released and now there is a live album: 400 Billion Suns, recorded last year in Poland during the Castle Party Festival, and just like the compilation Closing, the live recording offers a good view of ​​what this band already did.

Who ever saw them at work, knows that Merciful Nuns sucks the listener into the impressive sound. And that’s also the feeling you get when hearing this live album. It sounds unpolished and rather raw and you never have the impression that you listen to some overproduced live tracks with applause.

Merciful Nuns is certainly not an easy band, it is more like progressive rock with goth influences and a weird (but superb) atmosphere. Needless to say that this CD collection is a must for every fan. for those who would not be familiar with the band, it is an ideal introduction! Better late than never!

Didier BECU
29/11/2015


NL

We veronderstellen (of laat ons eerder zeggen hopen) dat we Merciful Nuns niet meer hoeven voor te stellen op onze pagina’s. Deze gothrockband uit Berlijn is opgericht door Artaud Seth, die vroeger bij Garden of Delight speelde. Door Artauds typische stem werden deze Duitsers tot vervelens toe met The Sisters of Mercy en Fields of the Nephilim vergeleken. Er zijn natuurlijk heel wat raakpunten, toch hebben deze nonnen een eigen stijl ontwikkeld door hun teksten te baseren op oude culturen en spiritualisme. Sinds hun debuut Lib. I uit 2015 zijn er ondertussen al acht albums verschenen (luiaards kan je ze niet noemen) en nu is er ook een liveplaat: 400 Billion Suns. De plaat is vorig jaar opgenomen in Polen tijdens het Castle Party-festival, en de liveregistratie biedt net als de verzamelaar Closing een mooi beeld van wat deze band al heeft gepresteerd.

Wie deze band ooit aan het werk zag, weet dat Merciful Nuns de luisteraar in zijn imposant geluid opzuigt. En dat gevoel heb je volop op deze liveplaat. Het klinkt niet gepolijst, maar lekker rauw zodat je niet de indruk krijgt dat je naar opgepoetste tracks met wat applaus zit te luisteren. Merciful Nuns is zeker geen gemakkelijke band om te doorgronden, het is meer progrock met veel gothinvloeden en een nadruk op sfeer. Onnodig om te zeggen dat deze cd in de collectie thuishoort van iedere fan, en voor diegenenj die de band nog niet zouden kennen is het een ideale kennismaking!

Tracklist:
1 Intro
2 Speed of Light
3 Karma Inn
4 Body of Light
5 Genesis Revealed
6 Exosphere
7 Blackbody/Ultraviolet
8 Supernovae
9 Occvltation
10 The Maelstrom
11 God Aeon
12 Hypogeum
13 Ancient Astronauts
14 The Return

Didier BECU
29/11/2015


Music reviews

20
10
PHANTOM OF THE BLACK HILLS
Scalped
19
10
CHRIS WATSON
Locations Processed
18
10
COLE VARGAS
Cole Vargas
16
10
DAVID BOWIE
Low, Heroes, Lodger
15
10
ALVAR
I Sew A Blanket Of All The Broken Clouds
15
10
BAUHAUS
Bela Lugosi’s Dead

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

20
10
CHRISTIAN DEATH Announces Headlining USA East Coast Tour Dates
19
10
Ancient Greek folk ensemble DAEMONIA NYMPHE have announced the re-release of acclaimed album Psychostasia!
18
10
Dive re-releases his fourth studio album 'Snakedressed' on double vinyl
18
10
'Write When You Get Work' screening at Philadelphia Film Festival this weekend - watch the trailer here!
17
10
Belgian post-punk outfit Whispering Sons has announced their long-awaited debut album 'Image'!
16
10
KOLLAPS ANNOUNCES EUROPEAN TOUR 2018

Concert reviews

24
09
MODELE MARTIAL - AUTOPSIE D'UNE OMBRE - IAMTHESHADOW
B52 - Eernegem - 14/09/2018
14
08
WAVE GOTIK TREFFEN
Review from WGT 2018, Leipzig, Germany
10
08
GOLDEN EARRING + THE KIDS
Live at Zulzeekse Feesten, Kluisbergen - Belgium - 28.07.2018
16
07
COVENANT W/ STONEBURNER
Live @ Ivy Smokehouse, Washington DC, 15th April 2018
24
05
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live at De Casino, Sint-Niklaas - Belgium - 05.05.2018
19
04
SCORPIONS
Live at Vorst Nationaal - Belgium - 04.04.2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

20
10
TRASH DEITY
Trash Dialog: An Interview With Groovie Mann & John Norton of Trash Deity
19
10
SONOLOGYST
A ‘Vertical’ Approach To Music
18
10
MERZBOW
Interview with Masami Akita (Merzbow)
17
10
ALVAR
The trend of 2018 has been 303´s - we sold ours!
03
10
A SLICE OF LIFE
Right before their performance at W-Fest A Slice Of Life released their debut album Restless which turns out to be an excellent post-punk record. Dark Entries was curious about the band’s history and the album, and had

PHOTOS

16
10
STIN SCATZOR
Le Garage Luik
16
10
DOGANOV
Le Garage Luik
09
10
NEON ELECTRONICS
JH Wommel, Wommelgem, Belgium
09
10
APPARAAT
JH Wommel, Wommelgem, Belgium
20
09
PERSEPHONE
Théâtre Mercelis Brussels
23
08
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
W-Fest Amougies
23
08
SHE PAST AWAY
W-Fest Amougies

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

21
10
WE NEVER MET
Come Play With Fire
20
10
RROYCE
The Principle Of Grace
19
10
DEATH KOOLAID
Kids
18
10
PRECIOUS CHILD
Hollow
17
10
VNV NATION
When is the Future?
17
10
WARDRUNA
Raido
16
10
DUSK
The Next Me