tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

29/11/2015 : MERCIFUL NUNS - 400 Billion Suns

MERCIFUL NUNS

400 Billion Suns

MusicCD
Gothic Rock

[83/100]   

Solar Lodge/Alive!
29/11/2015, Didier BECU

EN

We assume (or let us say hope) that we don’t have to introduce Merciful Nuns on our pages. This goth rock band from Berlin was founded by Artaud Seth, who is also the singer of Garden of Delight. Because of Artaud's typical voice, these Germans always are compared with The Sisters of Mercy and Fields of the Nephilim. Of course there are many similarities, but these nuns have developed their own style by basing their texts on ancient cultures and spiritualism. Since their debut Lib. I from 2015 eight albums have been released and now there is a live album: 400 Billion Suns, recorded last year in Poland during the Castle Party Festival, and just like the compilation Closing, the live recording offers a good view of ​​what this band already did.

Who ever saw them at work, knows that Merciful Nuns sucks the listener into the impressive sound. And that’s also the feeling you get when hearing this live album. It sounds unpolished and rather raw and you never have the impression that you listen to some overproduced live tracks with applause.

Merciful Nuns is certainly not an easy band, it is more like progressive rock with goth influences and a weird (but superb) atmosphere. Needless to say that this CD collection is a must for every fan. for those who would not be familiar with the band, it is an ideal introduction! Better late than never!

Didier BECU
29/11/2015


NL

We veronderstellen (of laat ons eerder zeggen hopen) dat we Merciful Nuns niet meer hoeven voor te stellen op onze pagina’s. Deze gothrockband uit Berlijn is opgericht door Artaud Seth, die vroeger bij Garden of Delight speelde. Door Artauds typische stem werden deze Duitsers tot vervelens toe met The Sisters of Mercy en Fields of the Nephilim vergeleken. Er zijn natuurlijk heel wat raakpunten, toch hebben deze nonnen een eigen stijl ontwikkeld door hun teksten te baseren op oude culturen en spiritualisme. Sinds hun debuut Lib. I uit 2015 zijn er ondertussen al acht albums verschenen (luiaards kan je ze niet noemen) en nu is er ook een liveplaat: 400 Billion Suns. De plaat is vorig jaar opgenomen in Polen tijdens het Castle Party-festival, en de liveregistratie biedt net als de verzamelaar Closing een mooi beeld van wat deze band al heeft gepresteerd.

Wie deze band ooit aan het werk zag, weet dat Merciful Nuns de luisteraar in zijn imposant geluid opzuigt. En dat gevoel heb je volop op deze liveplaat. Het klinkt niet gepolijst, maar lekker rauw zodat je niet de indruk krijgt dat je naar opgepoetste tracks met wat applaus zit te luisteren. Merciful Nuns is zeker geen gemakkelijke band om te doorgronden, het is meer progrock met veel gothinvloeden en een nadruk op sfeer. Onnodig om te zeggen dat deze cd in de collectie thuishoort van iedere fan, en voor diegenenj die de band nog niet zouden kennen is het een ideale kennismaking!

Tracklist:
1 Intro
2 Speed of Light
3 Karma Inn
4 Body of Light
5 Genesis Revealed
6 Exosphere
7 Blackbody/Ultraviolet
8 Supernovae
9 Occvltation
10 The Maelstrom
11 God Aeon
12 Hypogeum
13 Ancient Astronauts
14 The Return

Didier BECU
29/11/2015


Music reviews

05
07
JAYE JAYLE
PRISYN
03
07
PORTION CONTROL
Head Buried
02
07
AIMA & THE ILLUSION OF SILENCE
Music for certain rituals
28
06
VARIOUS ARTISTS
PERIHELION 2134
24
06
COLD IN MAY
Isolation songs
19
06
UNITCODE:MACHINE
Paper empires

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

07
07
FRONT 242's Daniel B. celebrate his 66th birthday with the release of 6+6
04
07
Industrial Band RIOTLEGION Announces The Release Of Machine Liberation
03
07
I Wanted To Tell Her by Ministry turns 37 years this month!
15
06
Today it’s exactly 41 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).
11
06
29 years of Kraftwerk in The Mix
11
06
Sieben covering David Bowie's Heroes live + new CD album 2020 VISION releases this Friday, 12th June!

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

06
07
J.ROBBINS
'When someone has a song and they’re struggling about - what’s the best way to present it...'
04
07
LAIBACH
When they banned Laibach, we said 'great, let's move further'!
27
06
BURTON C.BELL (FEAR FACTORY, ASCENSION OF THE WATCHERS )
'It all comes from my head – whatever I’m feeling, whatever I’m thinking of.'
27
06
RODNEY ORPHEUS / THE CASSANDRA COMPLEX
I Think I’m Still As Revolutionary And Opinionated As Ever...
25
06
THE COLOURS OF SILENCE
Isolation Is Good For Art. Embrace It And Use It

PHOTOS

13
03
SIGLO XX
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
ROME
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ROSE OF AVALANCHE
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE DANSE SOCIETY
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ARCH
Porta Nigra Aarschot
11
03
FRONT 242
Pulse Namur Isnes
11
03
SHAARGHOT
Pulse Namur Isnes

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

07
07
KDF
Innocence
06
07
SNOG
Spätzle Machine
06
07
THE HORRORIST
The Horrorist - One Night In New York City (Uncensored)(Chris Liebing Remix)
05
07
GOLDFRAPP
Winter Wonderland
04
07
LORDS OF ACID
I Sit On Acid
03
07
DEAD CAN DANCE
Eleusis
02
07
LIAISONS DANGEREUSES
Los niños del parque