tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

29/11/2015 : FLASH CERO - 1988

FLASH CERO

1988

MusicCD
Synth Pop / Electro PopSynth Wave

[82/100]   

Mecanica
29/11/2015, Jurgen BRAECKEVELT

EN

We go back to 1986, to Madrid where we find the band Flash Cero (later Zero Flash). Armed with a Roland Juno 60, a Casio 5000, a Simmons drum machine and a few effects as base material, Logytself (synths) and Fan DI Kaox (vocals) started their project. Barely a few weeks later, they were joined by Fran Null (keyboards) and Javier Cruz (percussion).

The first demo was made in 1987: six tracks that the foursome used to find a record company that would take them under its wings. In 1988 they signed a record deal and 1988 (how do you find such a title?) was their first album.

27 years later this techno pop album is reissued by Mecanica Records. The original recordings are remastered and the new artwork comes from the personal archives of the band.

The sound is really 80s, and due to the limited resources we can’t really mention the term EBM. It isn't synthpop either. Flash Cero describes the music as techno pop, which is actually the best description! The songs are composed with rhythmic drums, base synths and a flat sounding voice, but one that is perfect for the band’s typical sound. Musically, we hear some snatches of early Front 242 and Cabaret Voltaire.

The 1988 re-release is available on LP (350 copies) and CD (250 copies). On the CD you get the nine original songs, plus a number of demos and two live recordings.

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
29/11/2015


NL

We gaan terug naar 1986, toen in Madrid de band Flash Cero (later Flash Zero) het levenslicht zag. Gewapend met een Roland Juno 60, een Casio 5000, een Simmons drummachine en een paar effecten als basismateriaal, gingen Logytself (synths) en Fan DI Kaox (vocals) aan de slag. Amper een paar weken later werden de troepen versterkt met Fran Null (keyboards) en Javier Cruz (percussie).

Het eerste wapenfeit kwam er in 1987: een demo met daarop 6 nummers waarmee het viertal voor het eerst het podium opging om zo een platenfirma warm te maken om ze onder de vleugels te nemen. In 1988 tekenden ze een platencontract en werd 1988 (hoe kom je erop?) hun eerste lp.

27 jaar later wordt dit technopopalbum door Mecanica Records opnieuw uitgebracht. De originele opnames zijn geremasterd en voorzien van artwork dat uit de persoonlijke archieven van de band komt.

De sound is echt 80s, waarbij we nog geen gewag kunnen maken van EBM, gezien de beperkte middelen waarmee de tracks zijn gecomponeerd. Het is ook geen synthpop. Zelf omschrijven ze de muziek als technopop, wat eigenlijk nog het beste verwoordt wat we horen. De songs zijn opgebouwd uit ritmische drums, basissynths en een vlak klinkende stem met weinig ups en downs, maar die toch een bijdrage levert aan het typische geluid van deze groep. We horen flarden van de vroegere Front 242 en Cabaret Voltaire.

De nieuwe uitgave van 1988 is te koop op lp (350 exemplaren) en cd (250 exemplaren). Op de cd krijg je de 9 originele nummers met daarbovenop een aantal demoversies en twee live-opnames.

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
29/11/2015


Music reviews

03
07
PORTION CONTROL
Head Buried
02
07
AIMA & THE ILLUSION OF SILENCE
Music for certain rituals
28
06
VARIOUS ARTISTS
PERIHELION 2134
24
06
COLD IN MAY
Isolation songs
19
06
UNITCODE:MACHINE
Paper empires
18
06
BLACK NEEDLE NOISE
Seed of Evil

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

04
07
Industrial Band RIOTLEGION Announces The Release Of Machine Liberation
03
07
I Wanted To Tell Her by Ministry turns 37 years this month!
15
06
Today it’s exactly 41 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).
11
06
29 years of Kraftwerk in The Mix
11
06
Sieben covering David Bowie's Heroes live + new CD album 2020 VISION releases this Friday, 12th June!
10
06
29 years of Family Man!

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

04
07
LAIBACH
When they banned Laibach, we said 'great, let's move further'!
27
06
BURTON C.BELL (FEAR FACTORY, ASCENSION OF THE WATCHERS )
'It all comes from my head – whatever I’m feeling, whatever I’m thinking of.'
27
06
RODNEY ORPHEUS / THE CASSANDRA COMPLEX
I Think I’m Still As Revolutionary And Opinionated As Ever...
25
06
THE COLOURS OF SILENCE
Isolation Is Good For Art. Embrace It And Use It
13
06
LAST INFLUENCE OF BRAIN
L.I.O.B. Has Always Been Such A Distraction For Us

PHOTOS

13
03
SIGLO XX
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
ROME
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ROSE OF AVALANCHE
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE DANSE SOCIETY
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ARCH
Porta Nigra Aarschot
11
03
FRONT 242
Pulse Namur Isnes
11
03
SHAARGHOT
Pulse Namur Isnes

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

05
07
GOLDFRAPP
Winter Wonderland
04
07
LORDS OF ACID
I Sit On Acid
03
07
DEAD CAN DANCE
Eleusis
02
07
LIAISONS DANGEREUSES
Los niños del parque
01
07
HORD
Lines
30
06
U.R.A.N.
Geo Logo
29
06
MISS KITTIN
Bassline