tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

29/11/2015 : FLASH CERO - 1988

FLASH CERO

1988

MusicCD
Synth Pop / Electro PopSynth Wave

[82/100]   

Mecanica
29/11/2015, Jurgen BRAECKEVELT

EN

We go back to 1986, to Madrid where we find the band Flash Cero (later Zero Flash). Armed with a Roland Juno 60, a Casio 5000, a Simmons drum machine and a few effects as base material, Logytself (synths) and Fan DI Kaox (vocals) started their project. Barely a few weeks later, they were joined by Fran Null (keyboards) and Javier Cruz (percussion).

The first demo was made in 1987: six tracks that the foursome used to find a record company that would take them under its wings. In 1988 they signed a record deal and 1988 (how do you find such a title?) was their first album.

27 years later this techno pop album is reissued by Mecanica Records. The original recordings are remastered and the new artwork comes from the personal archives of the band.

The sound is really 80s, and due to the limited resources we can’t really mention the term EBM. It isn't synthpop either. Flash Cero describes the music as techno pop, which is actually the best description! The songs are composed with rhythmic drums, base synths and a flat sounding voice, but one that is perfect for the band’s typical sound. Musically, we hear some snatches of early Front 242 and Cabaret Voltaire.

The 1988 re-release is available on LP (350 copies) and CD (250 copies). On the CD you get the nine original songs, plus a number of demos and two live recordings.

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
29/11/2015


NL

We gaan terug naar 1986, toen in Madrid de band Flash Cero (later Flash Zero) het levenslicht zag. Gewapend met een Roland Juno 60, een Casio 5000, een Simmons drummachine en een paar effecten als basismateriaal, gingen Logytself (synths) en Fan DI Kaox (vocals) aan de slag. Amper een paar weken later werden de troepen versterkt met Fran Null (keyboards) en Javier Cruz (percussie).

Het eerste wapenfeit kwam er in 1987: een demo met daarop 6 nummers waarmee het viertal voor het eerst het podium opging om zo een platenfirma warm te maken om ze onder de vleugels te nemen. In 1988 tekenden ze een platencontract en werd 1988 (hoe kom je erop?) hun eerste lp.

27 jaar later wordt dit technopopalbum door Mecanica Records opnieuw uitgebracht. De originele opnames zijn geremasterd en voorzien van artwork dat uit de persoonlijke archieven van de band komt.

De sound is echt 80s, waarbij we nog geen gewag kunnen maken van EBM, gezien de beperkte middelen waarmee de tracks zijn gecomponeerd. Het is ook geen synthpop. Zelf omschrijven ze de muziek als technopop, wat eigenlijk nog het beste verwoordt wat we horen. De songs zijn opgebouwd uit ritmische drums, basissynths en een vlak klinkende stem met weinig ups en downs, maar die toch een bijdrage levert aan het typische geluid van deze groep. We horen flarden van de vroegere Front 242 en Cabaret Voltaire.

De nieuwe uitgave van 1988 is te koop op lp (350 exemplaren) en cd (250 exemplaren). Op de cd krijg je de 9 originele nummers met daarbovenop een aantal demoversies en twee live-opnames.

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
29/11/2015


Music reviews

08
12
NEON TZIGANE
Del Wesh
07
12
FROSTTIDE
Decedents – Enshrined
06
12
MIREXXX
Vault
23
11
JO QUAIL
Exsolve
22
11
SADOMANCER
Dystopian Dawn
20
11
METROLAND
Memorabilia & Memorabilia The Remixes

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

10
12
On this day, 39 years ago John Peel broadcasted Joy Division's 2nd Peel Sessions!
09
12
SID VICIOUS, A Christmas Story | 41-Years Ago The Pistols Deliver Christmas
08
12
Today, 40 years ago, Public Image released its debut album First issue!
08
12
Celebration Of The Lizard | Today Is Jim Morrison’s 75th-Birthday
06
12
Ever Fallen In love? | A Tribute To Pete Shelley (17/4/1955-06/12/18)
06
12
BodyBeats announces complete and 100% Swedish line-up for International EBM day!

Concert reviews

16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018
24
09
MODELE MARTIAL - AUTOPSIE D'UNE OMBRE - IAMTHESHADOW
B52 - Eernegem - 14/09/2018
14
08
WAVE GOTIK TREFFEN
Review from WGT 2018, Leipzig, Germany
10
08
GOLDEN EARRING + THE KIDS
Live at Zulzeekse Feesten, Kluisbergen - Belgium - 28.07.2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

10
12
THE BLADES
Too Late To Stop Now! | The Return Of The Blades - An Interview With Paul Cleary
05
12
NOIRE ANTIDOTE
'Negative etiquette' resemblance the negative sides of human behaviour but more translated into a feeling.
24
11
DOPPELGANGER
'We are goths, and we only remember the sad stories :)'
22
11
PAUL LEARY (THE COCKY BITCHES,BUTTHOLE SURFERS)
'My mind has a jukebox that I cannot unplug.'
19
11
THE NAMES
We're lucky to have everyone still alive and well, unlike many of our friends of Factory records.

PHOTOS

03
12
WHISPERING SONS
Sinner's Day Genk
03
12
JOHN CALE
Sinner's Day Genk
03
12
RED ZEBRA
Sinner's Day Genk
03
12
GANG OF FOUR
Sinner's Day Genk
02
12
FISCHER Z
Sinner's Day Genk
02
12
COCAINE PISS
Sinner's Day Genk
02
12
DE BRASSERS
Sinner's Day Genk

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

12
12
E-SOCIETY
E-Society
11
12
FUNKER VOGT
Feel the Pain
10
12
THE VIOLENT YOUTH
Rabota (my life is a job)
09
12
0KONTROL
Lullaby
08
12
DICEPEOPLE
Somebody to Love
08
12
RAMPLINGG
Set My Heart
07
12
KATATONIA
Old Heart Falls