tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

29/11/2015 : FLASH CERO - 1988

FLASH CERO

1988

MusicCD
Synth Pop / Electro PopSynth Wave

[82/100]   

Mecanica
29/11/2015, Jurgen BRAECKEVELT

EN

We go back to 1986, to Madrid where we find the band Flash Cero (later Zero Flash). Armed with a Roland Juno 60, a Casio 5000, a Simmons drum machine and a few effects as base material, Logytself (synths) and Fan DI Kaox (vocals) started their project. Barely a few weeks later, they were joined by Fran Null (keyboards) and Javier Cruz (percussion).

The first demo was made in 1987: six tracks that the foursome used to find a record company that would take them under its wings. In 1988 they signed a record deal and 1988 (how do you find such a title?) was their first album.

27 years later this techno pop album is reissued by Mecanica Records. The original recordings are remastered and the new artwork comes from the personal archives of the band.

The sound is really 80s, and due to the limited resources we can’t really mention the term EBM. It isn't synthpop either. Flash Cero describes the music as techno pop, which is actually the best description! The songs are composed with rhythmic drums, base synths and a flat sounding voice, but one that is perfect for the band’s typical sound. Musically, we hear some snatches of early Front 242 and Cabaret Voltaire.

The 1988 re-release is available on LP (350 copies) and CD (250 copies). On the CD you get the nine original songs, plus a number of demos and two live recordings.

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
29/11/2015


NL

We gaan terug naar 1986, toen in Madrid de band Flash Cero (later Flash Zero) het levenslicht zag. Gewapend met een Roland Juno 60, een Casio 5000, een Simmons drummachine en een paar effecten als basismateriaal, gingen Logytself (synths) en Fan DI Kaox (vocals) aan de slag. Amper een paar weken later werden de troepen versterkt met Fran Null (keyboards) en Javier Cruz (percussie).

Het eerste wapenfeit kwam er in 1987: een demo met daarop 6 nummers waarmee het viertal voor het eerst het podium opging om zo een platenfirma warm te maken om ze onder de vleugels te nemen. In 1988 tekenden ze een platencontract en werd 1988 (hoe kom je erop?) hun eerste lp.

27 jaar later wordt dit technopopalbum door Mecanica Records opnieuw uitgebracht. De originele opnames zijn geremasterd en voorzien van artwork dat uit de persoonlijke archieven van de band komt.

De sound is echt 80s, waarbij we nog geen gewag kunnen maken van EBM, gezien de beperkte middelen waarmee de tracks zijn gecomponeerd. Het is ook geen synthpop. Zelf omschrijven ze de muziek als technopop, wat eigenlijk nog het beste verwoordt wat we horen. De songs zijn opgebouwd uit ritmische drums, basissynths en een vlak klinkende stem met weinig ups en downs, maar die toch een bijdrage levert aan het typische geluid van deze groep. We horen flarden van de vroegere Front 242 en Cabaret Voltaire.

De nieuwe uitgave van 1988 is te koop op lp (350 exemplaren) en cd (250 exemplaren). Op de cd krijg je de 9 originele nummers met daarbovenop een aantal demoversies en twee live-opnames.

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
29/11/2015


Music reviews

18
01
RINGFINGER
Pressure
16
01
SYRENOMILIA
A Rose Shattered
14
01
M73
Tainted
09
01
NEGANT
Schwarz!
08
01
MORE EPHEMEROL
Obituary Templates
07
01
CHRISTOPHE CLEBARD
SSS

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

19
01
On this day, 29 years ago (19 January 1991), The Cure performed at The Great British Music Awards!
18
01
On this day, 40 ago, John Foxx released his first solo project album Metamatic!
17
01
Today, 35 years ago, Alien Sex Fiend recorded Liquid Head in Tokyo!
16
01
25 years Divine Rapture | Celebrating The Siouxsie and the Banshees 1995 and final album!
15
01
The Dreams Will Always Linger | Remembering Dolores O’Riordan - 2 Year Anniversary
15
01
This month 48 years ago KRAFTWERK released their second studio album KRAFTWERK 2

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

19
01
IAN EVERETT (SOLID BRONZE)
'had a lot of time to sit with these songs...'
17
01
BROOK
I’ve soaked up a lot of musical genres over the years, and I like to think that maybe this is reflected throughout the Brook album.
15
01
ORDO ROSARIUS EQUILIBRIO
I never thought I’d live to see the day when Ordo Rosarius Equilibrio was mentioned next to Current 93 and Death in June.
14
01
IC434
find it amazing to live in a highly developed society and at the same time having to realize what a mentally mess it really is.
13
01
SYRENOMELIA
The drunk rural constable at the local pub.

PHOTOS

19
01
ERYX LONDON
Dark Winter Festival Liège
19
01
KEZDOWN
DARK WINTER FESTIVAL LIEGE
26
12
SUICIDE COMMANDO
Bimfest
26
12
REIN
Bimfest
26
12
THE DEVIL & THE UNIVERSE
bimfest
26
12
STURM CAFE
bimfest
26
12
RADERKRAFT
bimfest

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

19
01
THE BREATH OF LIFE
Blackout
18
01
SDH (SEMIOTICS DEPARTMENT OF HETERONYMS)
No Miracles (Official Video)
17
01
CAPITAL X
Majesty
17
01
GARBAGE
No Horses
16
01
SEVERED HEADS
All Saints Day
15
01
EURYTHMICS
Sweet Dreams
14
01
JANE'S ADDICTION
Been Caught Stealing