tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

29/11/2015 : FLASH CERO - 1988

FLASH CERO

1988

MusicCD
Synth Pop / Electro PopSynth Wave

[82/100]   

Mecanica
29/11/2015, Jurgen BRAECKEVELT

EN

We go back to 1986, to Madrid where we find the band Flash Cero (later Zero Flash). Armed with a Roland Juno 60, a Casio 5000, a Simmons drum machine and a few effects as base material, Logytself (synths) and Fan DI Kaox (vocals) started their project. Barely a few weeks later, they were joined by Fran Null (keyboards) and Javier Cruz (percussion).

The first demo was made in 1987: six tracks that the foursome used to find a record company that would take them under its wings. In 1988 they signed a record deal and 1988 (how do you find such a title?) was their first album.

27 years later this techno pop album is reissued by Mecanica Records. The original recordings are remastered and the new artwork comes from the personal archives of the band.

The sound is really 80s, and due to the limited resources we can’t really mention the term EBM. It isn't synthpop either. Flash Cero describes the music as techno pop, which is actually the best description! The songs are composed with rhythmic drums, base synths and a flat sounding voice, but one that is perfect for the band’s typical sound. Musically, we hear some snatches of early Front 242 and Cabaret Voltaire.

The 1988 re-release is available on LP (350 copies) and CD (250 copies). On the CD you get the nine original songs, plus a number of demos and two live recordings.

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
29/11/2015


NL

We gaan terug naar 1986, toen in Madrid de band Flash Cero (later Flash Zero) het levenslicht zag. Gewapend met een Roland Juno 60, een Casio 5000, een Simmons drummachine en een paar effecten als basismateriaal, gingen Logytself (synths) en Fan DI Kaox (vocals) aan de slag. Amper een paar weken later werden de troepen versterkt met Fran Null (keyboards) en Javier Cruz (percussie).

Het eerste wapenfeit kwam er in 1987: een demo met daarop 6 nummers waarmee het viertal voor het eerst het podium opging om zo een platenfirma warm te maken om ze onder de vleugels te nemen. In 1988 tekenden ze een platencontract en werd 1988 (hoe kom je erop?) hun eerste lp.

27 jaar later wordt dit technopopalbum door Mecanica Records opnieuw uitgebracht. De originele opnames zijn geremasterd en voorzien van artwork dat uit de persoonlijke archieven van de band komt.

De sound is echt 80s, waarbij we nog geen gewag kunnen maken van EBM, gezien de beperkte middelen waarmee de tracks zijn gecomponeerd. Het is ook geen synthpop. Zelf omschrijven ze de muziek als technopop, wat eigenlijk nog het beste verwoordt wat we horen. De songs zijn opgebouwd uit ritmische drums, basissynths en een vlak klinkende stem met weinig ups en downs, maar die toch een bijdrage levert aan het typische geluid van deze groep. We horen flarden van de vroegere Front 242 en Cabaret Voltaire.

De nieuwe uitgave van 1988 is te koop op lp (350 exemplaren) en cd (250 exemplaren). Op de cd krijg je de 9 originele nummers met daarbovenop een aantal demoversies en twee live-opnames.

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
29/11/2015


 

Next reviews
MERCIFUL NUNS • 400 Billion Suns
DISTEL • Zand
DARKER HALF • Never Surrender
FRANK AUERBACH • London, Tate Britain (Until/tot 13/3/2016)
OM • Antwerpen, Trix (25/11/2015)
RHESUS FACTOR FEATURING LEATHER STRIP • Mann Der Arbeit
ABD AL MALIK • Scarifications
POTERNA • Fate
L'ORDRE DE HELOISE • Après Le Chaos
HUGE SHARK • Almost Over

 

Same combination of genres: SYNTH POP / ELECTRO POP + SYNTH WAVE
JOHN FOXX • METAMATIC (2018 BOX)
THE HUMAN LEAGUE + EKKOES • Borgerhout, De Roma (16/11/2016)
SYNTHS VERSUS ME • 1987 12'
PROJEKT ICH • Wolkenträne
MECHANIMAL • Delta Pi Delta
EX-MACHINA • Transhuman
THE RORSCHACH GARDEN • The Rorschach Dossier
THE RORSCHACH GARDEN • Tales Of A Fragile Mind
ALLES • Post
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Transmission Nord Waves 80-13

 

Same genre: SYNTH POP / ELECTRO POP
VOGON POETRY • Life, The Universe and Everything
REFLECTION • Lumen
SALLY DIGE • Holding On
PSYCHE • Youth Of Tomorrow (12'')
HELIOPHILE • Permeate
BETA EVERS + SPATIAL RELATION • Split EP
LIE DETECTOR • To Fly!
SPECTRA PARIS • Retromachine Betty
PARRALOX • Subculture
TEN AFTER DAWN • Best Of Both Words

 

Same genre: SYNTH WAVE
SEMIOTICS DEPARTMENT OF HETERONYMS • Semiotics Department of Heteronyms
VIOLENCE • Le Flux de la Nature
CONSPIRACY COVEN • Conspiracy Coven
APSURDE • See Me Coming
DARK DOOR • Inferno
SILENT RUNNERS • The Directory
PARADOX OBSCUR • Artifact
CONFRONTATIONAL • The Burning Dawn
MESSIER 39 • Venus Eclipse
STAATSEINDE • Neue Zyklus

Music reviews

20
10
PHANTOM OF THE BLACK HILLS
Scalped
19
10
CHRIS WATSON
Locations Processed
18
10
COLE VARGAS
Cole Vargas
16
10
DAVID BOWIE
Low, Heroes, Lodger
15
10
ALVAR
I Sew A Blanket Of All The Broken Clouds
15
10
BAUHAUS
Bela Lugosi’s Dead

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

20
10
CHRISTIAN DEATH Announces Headlining USA East Coast Tour Dates
19
10
Ancient Greek folk ensemble DAEMONIA NYMPHE have announced the re-release of acclaimed album Psychostasia!
18
10
Dive re-releases his fourth studio album 'Snakedressed' on double vinyl
18
10
'Write When You Get Work' screening at Philadelphia Film Festival this weekend - watch the trailer here!
17
10
Belgian post-punk outfit Whispering Sons has announced their long-awaited debut album 'Image'!
16
10
KOLLAPS ANNOUNCES EUROPEAN TOUR 2018

Concert reviews

24
09
MODELE MARTIAL - AUTOPSIE D'UNE OMBRE - IAMTHESHADOW
B52 - Eernegem - 14/09/2018
14
08
WAVE GOTIK TREFFEN
Review from WGT 2018, Leipzig, Germany
10
08
GOLDEN EARRING + THE KIDS
Live at Zulzeekse Feesten, Kluisbergen - Belgium - 28.07.2018
16
07
COVENANT W/ STONEBURNER
Live @ Ivy Smokehouse, Washington DC, 15th April 2018
24
05
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live at De Casino, Sint-Niklaas - Belgium - 05.05.2018
19
04
SCORPIONS
Live at Vorst Nationaal - Belgium - 04.04.2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

20
10
TRASH DEITY
Trash Dialog: An Interview With Groovie Mann & John Norton of Trash Deity
19
10
SONOLOGYST
A ‘Vertical’ Approach To Music
18
10
MERZBOW
Interview with Masami Akita (Merzbow)
17
10
ALVAR
The trend of 2018 has been 303´s - we sold ours!
03
10
A SLICE OF LIFE
Right before their performance at W-Fest A Slice Of Life released their debut album Restless which turns out to be an excellent post-punk record. Dark Entries was curious about the band’s history and the album, and had

PHOTOS

16
10
STIN SCATZOR
Le Garage Luik
16
10
DOGANOV
Le Garage Luik
09
10
NEON ELECTRONICS
JH Wommel, Wommelgem, Belgium
09
10
APPARAAT
JH Wommel, Wommelgem, Belgium
20
09
PERSEPHONE
Théâtre Mercelis Brussels
23
08
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
W-Fest Amougies
23
08
SHE PAST AWAY
W-Fest Amougies

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

20
10
RROYCE
The Principle Of Grace
19
10
DEATH KOOLAID
Kids
18
10
PRECIOUS CHILD
Hollow
17
10
VNV NATION
When is the Future?
17
10
WARDRUNA
Raido
16
10
DUSK
The Next Me
16
10
DOOMSQUAD
Pyramids On Mars