tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

29/11/2015 : DARKER HALF - Never Surrender

DARKER HALF

Never Surrender

MusicCD
power metal

[68/100]   

Fastball
29/11/2015, Didier BECU

EN

Over here, Darker Half is completely unknown, but in their home country these four guys are a quite popular power metal band. They already shared the stage with legend acts such as Queensryche, Helloween and Accept.

However, the Australian boys tought that the time has come to conquer other parts of the world, and therefore their third album is released in Europe (via Fastball), followed by a tour that will lead them to East European venues.

It is not just the cover that reminds you of Judas Priest, after only a few minutes you know that this is rock-solid power metal with guitars that sometimes have a prog rock touch.

The ten tracks are all a bit old-fashioned, but in the positive sense, at least if you like bands like Megadeth or Hammerfall, and if you can accept the very specific voice of singer Vo Simpson.

Didier BECU
29/11/2015


NL

Bij ons zijn ze volslagen onbekend, maar in thuisland Australië is Darker Half een populaire powermetalband die het podium mocht delen met grootheden als Queensrÿche, Helloween en Accept. Het viertal vindt dat de tijd rijp om ook in het buitenland z'n talent te tonen, en dus is het derde album in Europa (via Fastball) uitgebracht, gevolgd door een toer die het gezelschap vooral door Oost-Europa zal loodsen.

Het is niet alleen het hoesje dat je aan Judas Priest laat denken, na amper een paar minuten weet je dat je op deze cd, die ten tracks bevat, oerdegelijke powermetal hoort met gitaren die soms een progrocktintje hebben.

Het is allemaal ouderwets, maar dan wel in de positieve zin, ten minste als je van bands als Megadeth of Hammefall houdt en de zeer specifieke (bijna nichterige) stem van Vo Simpson kan verdragen.

Didier BECU
29/11/2015


Music reviews

16
04
AD:KEY
I can't feel you
16
04
PORTION CONTROL
SEED EP3
15
04
ABSOLUTE BODY CONTROL
A New Dawn
15
04
IN ABSENTIA
Charnel House Chatterbox (Remastered 2021)
14
04
THE BURYING KIND
The Burying Kind ( EP )
05
04
VARIOUS ARTISTS
Electropop 18 (Super Deluxe Edition)

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

16
04
36 years ago, The Sisters Of Mercy performed No Time To Cry on German TV!
16
04
On this day, 36 years ago, The Sisters Of Mercy performed ‘No Time to Cry’ on German TV
15
04
On this day, 20 years ago, FAD GADGET performed his first legendary come-back show!
14
04
In memorian.... The Punk Empowerment Of Poly Styrene (° 3 July 1957 †25 April 2011)
13
04
34 years MUTE records released 'Let Your Body Learn' by Nitzer Ebb!
07
04
Skinny Puppy’s Cevin Key zoom chat's with à;GRUMH...

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

15
04
BLEEDING RAVEN
Never really took myself serious... still don’t...
12
02
DIVE
We All Can Ask Us The Question ‘Where Do We Go From Here?'
10
02
RAYMOND WATTS (PIG)
'It’s not a re-discovery. It’s finding the way in to let the stuff out...'
02
02
JOHN 3:16
I regularly come across animal remains at various stages of decomposition. That started to affect me, and that's where the concept of the record was born.
07
01
MAMAN KUSTERS
‘Let’s Keep It Intriguing

PHOTOS

15
04
FAD GADGET
Mean Fiddler, London, England
25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

17
04
LYNCELIA
Self-Mystery Girl
16
04
COCTEAU TWINS
Carolyn's Fingers
15
04
FAITH AND THE MUSE
Battle Hymn
14
04
MESH
It scares me
13
04
MONOTONE EXPRESSION
Out Of Tune With Life
12
04
LAID BACK
White Horse
11
04
VOK
Waterfall