tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

29/11/2015 : DARKER HALF - Never Surrender

DARKER HALF

Never Surrender

MusicCD
power metal

[68/100]   

Fastball
29/11/2015, Didier BECU

EN

Over here, Darker Half is completely unknown, but in their home country these four guys are a quite popular power metal band. They already shared the stage with legend acts such as Queensryche, Helloween and Accept.

However, the Australian boys tought that the time has come to conquer other parts of the world, and therefore their third album is released in Europe (via Fastball), followed by a tour that will lead them to East European venues.

It is not just the cover that reminds you of Judas Priest, after only a few minutes you know that this is rock-solid power metal with guitars that sometimes have a prog rock touch.

The ten tracks are all a bit old-fashioned, but in the positive sense, at least if you like bands like Megadeth or Hammerfall, and if you can accept the very specific voice of singer Vo Simpson.

Didier BECU
29/11/2015


NL

Bij ons zijn ze volslagen onbekend, maar in thuisland Australië is Darker Half een populaire powermetalband die het podium mocht delen met grootheden als Queensrÿche, Helloween en Accept. Het viertal vindt dat de tijd rijp om ook in het buitenland z'n talent te tonen, en dus is het derde album in Europa (via Fastball) uitgebracht, gevolgd door een toer die het gezelschap vooral door Oost-Europa zal loodsen.

Het is niet alleen het hoesje dat je aan Judas Priest laat denken, na amper een paar minuten weet je dat je op deze cd, die ten tracks bevat, oerdegelijke powermetal hoort met gitaren die soms een progrocktintje hebben.

Het is allemaal ouderwets, maar dan wel in de positieve zin, ten minste als je van bands als Megadeth of Hammefall houdt en de zeer specifieke (bijna nichterige) stem van Vo Simpson kan verdragen.

Didier BECU
29/11/2015


Music reviews

17
05
LISA MORGENSTERN
Chameleon
16
05
VEIL OF LIGHT
Inflict
15
05
KIM THOMPSETT
The Hollows
14
05
L7
Scatter The Rats
13
05
SIGNAL AOUT 42
Insurrection
08
05
KRISTIN HERSH
Crooked (Reissue)

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

16
05
45 years of Diamond Dogs (David Bowie)
15
05
On this day, 29 years ago, British post-punk band Wire released their 7th studio album Manscape
14
05
'Locating Silver Lake' out on DVD today!
13
05
Today it’s exactly 22 years ago Nine Inch Nails released their The Perfect Drug (Versions) EP!
12
05
Legendary Gothic/Death Rock Band CHRISTIAN DEATH Announces Forthcoming European Tour & First Ever Live Video Chat/'Forgiven' Video Premiere
12
05
This month it’s been 41 years since Kraftwerk released Die Roboter / The Robots!

Concert reviews

15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

23
05
JAKE BURNS (STIFF LITTLE FINGERS)
'We were writing a songs about our own rights'
22
05
TREHA SEKTORI
‘I Have A Feeling Of Constant Dissatisfaction, So I'll Get Back To Work To Make It Better’
10
05
APSURDE
No Matter What We Do, We Will Always Sound Like Depeche Mode
09
05
ANDY GILL (GANG OF FOUR)
'You never expect Gang of Four to be very optimistic.Do you ?'
29
04
STACY COCHRAN
'I didn’t want to write something cruel; I wanted to find the daily fears and even some transcendent pragmatism inside a complicated set of characters...'

PHOTOS

25
05
LARVA
Dame C Rijsel
25
05
MIREXXX
Dam C Rijsel
21
05
PETER HOOK
New Waves Day, Oberhausen
21
05
GANG OF FOUR
New Waves Day, Oberhausen
21
05
CHAMELEONS VOX
New Waves Day, Oberhausen
21
05
AND ALSO THE TREES
New Waves Day, Oberhausen
21
05
PINK TURNS BLUE
New Waves Day, Oberhausen

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

26
05
NOISE
Quiet
25
05
KNK
Darling
24
05
TUXEDOMOON
In a manner of speaking
23
05
THE CURE
One Hundred Years, Live in Antwerp, 2016
22
05
NEW MODEL ARMY
Winter
21
05
NUMB
Lies
20
05
LUCIFER'S DREAM
Elixir of Isis