tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

29/11/2015 : DARKER HALF - Never Surrender

DARKER HALF

Never Surrender

MusicCD
power metal

[68/100]   

Fastball
29/11/2015, Didier BECU

EN

Over here, Darker Half is completely unknown, but in their home country these four guys are a quite popular power metal band. They already shared the stage with legend acts such as Queensryche, Helloween and Accept.

However, the Australian boys tought that the time has come to conquer other parts of the world, and therefore their third album is released in Europe (via Fastball), followed by a tour that will lead them to East European venues.

It is not just the cover that reminds you of Judas Priest, after only a few minutes you know that this is rock-solid power metal with guitars that sometimes have a prog rock touch.

The ten tracks are all a bit old-fashioned, but in the positive sense, at least if you like bands like Megadeth or Hammerfall, and if you can accept the very specific voice of singer Vo Simpson.

Didier BECU
29/11/2015


NL

Bij ons zijn ze volslagen onbekend, maar in thuisland Australië is Darker Half een populaire powermetalband die het podium mocht delen met grootheden als Queensrÿche, Helloween en Accept. Het viertal vindt dat de tijd rijp om ook in het buitenland z'n talent te tonen, en dus is het derde album in Europa (via Fastball) uitgebracht, gevolgd door een toer die het gezelschap vooral door Oost-Europa zal loodsen.

Het is niet alleen het hoesje dat je aan Judas Priest laat denken, na amper een paar minuten weet je dat je op deze cd, die ten tracks bevat, oerdegelijke powermetal hoort met gitaren die soms een progrocktintje hebben.

Het is allemaal ouderwets, maar dan wel in de positieve zin, ten minste als je van bands als Megadeth of Hammefall houdt en de zeer specifieke (bijna nichterige) stem van Vo Simpson kan verdragen.

Didier BECU
29/11/2015


Music reviews

03
07
PORTION CONTROL
Head Buried
02
07
AIMA & THE ILLUSION OF SILENCE
Music for certain rituals
28
06
VARIOUS ARTISTS
PERIHELION 2134
24
06
COLD IN MAY
Isolation songs
19
06
UNITCODE:MACHINE
Paper empires
18
06
BLACK NEEDLE NOISE
Seed of Evil

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

03
07
I Wanted To Tell Her by Ministry turns 37 years this month!
15
06
Today it’s exactly 41 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).
11
06
29 years of Kraftwerk in The Mix
11
06
Sieben covering David Bowie's Heroes live + new CD album 2020 VISION releases this Friday, 12th June!
10
06
29 years of Family Man!
03
06
Today, 42 years ago, Joy Division self-released their very first 7' EP, An Ideal For Living!

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

27
06
BURTON C.BELL (FEAR FACTORY, ASCENSION OF THE WATCHERS )
'It all comes from my head – whatever I’m feeling, whatever I’m thinking of.'
27
06
RODNEY ORPHEUS / THE CASSANDRA COMPLEX
I Think I’m Still As Revolutionary And Opinionated As Ever...
25
06
THE COLOURS OF SILENCE
Isolation Is Good For Art. Embrace It And Use It
13
06
LAST INFLUENCE OF BRAIN
L.I.O.B. Has Always Been Such A Distraction For Us
10
06
THE JUGGERNAUTS
It's striking, in 'mainstream' genres no-one is making a big deal about band's similarities and their possible influences... But oh dear if you dare make EBM!

PHOTOS

13
03
SIGLO XX
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
ROME
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ROSE OF AVALANCHE
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE DANSE SOCIETY
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ARCH
Porta Nigra Aarschot
11
03
FRONT 242
Pulse Namur Isnes
11
03
SHAARGHOT
Pulse Namur Isnes

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

03
07
DEAD CAN DANCE
Eleusis
02
07
LIAISONS DANGEREUSES
Los niños del parque
01
07
HORD
Lines
30
06
U.R.A.N.
Geo Logo
29
06
MISS KITTIN
Bassline
28
06
HOCICO
I Abomination
27
06
BOY HARSHER
Motion