tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

29/11/2015 : DARKER HALF - Never Surrender

DARKER HALF

Never Surrender

MusicCD
power metal

[68/100]   

Fastball
29/11/2015, Didier BECU

EN

Over here, Darker Half is completely unknown, but in their home country these four guys are a quite popular power metal band. They already shared the stage with legend acts such as Queensryche, Helloween and Accept.

However, the Australian boys tought that the time has come to conquer other parts of the world, and therefore their third album is released in Europe (via Fastball), followed by a tour that will lead them to East European venues.

It is not just the cover that reminds you of Judas Priest, after only a few minutes you know that this is rock-solid power metal with guitars that sometimes have a prog rock touch.

The ten tracks are all a bit old-fashioned, but in the positive sense, at least if you like bands like Megadeth or Hammerfall, and if you can accept the very specific voice of singer Vo Simpson.

Didier BECU
29/11/2015


NL

Bij ons zijn ze volslagen onbekend, maar in thuisland Australië is Darker Half een populaire powermetalband die het podium mocht delen met grootheden als Queensrÿche, Helloween en Accept. Het viertal vindt dat de tijd rijp om ook in het buitenland z'n talent te tonen, en dus is het derde album in Europa (via Fastball) uitgebracht, gevolgd door een toer die het gezelschap vooral door Oost-Europa zal loodsen.

Het is niet alleen het hoesje dat je aan Judas Priest laat denken, na amper een paar minuten weet je dat je op deze cd, die ten tracks bevat, oerdegelijke powermetal hoort met gitaren die soms een progrocktintje hebben.

Het is allemaal ouderwets, maar dan wel in de positieve zin, ten minste als je van bands als Megadeth of Hammefall houdt en de zeer specifieke (bijna nichterige) stem van Vo Simpson kan verdragen.

Didier BECU
29/11/2015


Music reviews

19
01
THE PULSEBEATS
LOOKIN’ OUT
18
01
ANALFABETISM
Rotvälta
17
01
ARMAGEDDON DILDOS
Desctruction
23
12
SYGO CRIES
Talking about walls
22
12
DIRK DA DAVO
King Of Fools
21
12
RHYS FULBER
Brutal Nature

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

27
01
On this day, 40 years ago, the B52's released Mesopotamia
25
01
Exactly 44 years ago, Joy Division played their very first concert!
24
01
Today, 4 years ago, Mark E. Smith, singer of legendary post-punk band The Fall died, aged 60
24
01
Today, exactly 31 years ago Front 242 released the album Tyranny ▶For You◀
23
01
46 years with David Bowie from Station To Station.
22
01
On this day, 12 years ago, Nitzer Ebb released their sixth studio album Industrial Complex!

Concert reviews

21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

09
01
25 YEARS OF AHRAYEPH
Everything I do, right or wrong, is being determined by my autism
17
12
SOPHIA LUCIA
Blurring Boundaries
11
12
JAH WOBBLE
'Bass was considered being among dying instruments for years. Dub pushed it to the front...'
05
12
MOVMENT
Finding Truth Through Dakness
26
11
WHISPERS IN THE SHADOW
I’m not a conservative songwriter and I’m not interested in the status quo; I’m interested in progress.

PHOTOS

24
01
DUCTAPE
Dark Winter Liège Festival - Le Garage
07
11
GARY NUMAN
Sinner's Day Heusden Zolder
07
11
COVENANT
Sinner's Day Heusden Zolder
07
11
AND ALSO THE TREES
Sinner's Day Heusden Zolder
07
11
A SPLIT - SECOND
Sinner's Day Heusden Zolder
07
11
YOUR LIFE ON HOLD
Sinner's Day Heusden Zolder
07
11
LEAETHER STRIP
Sinner's Day Heusden Zolder

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

27
01
156
Kokoro
26
01
WARDRUNA
Raido
25
01
FRONT 242
Controversy Between
24
01
ELVYA DULCIMER
Spring Dance
23
01
DIVE
Sidewalk Sinner - Snakedressed
22
01
IAN MCCULLOCH
Lover Lover Lover
21
01
DAVID BOWIE
Fashion