tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

29/11/2015 : DARKER HALF - Never Surrender

DARKER HALF

Never Surrender

MusicCD
power metal

[68/100]   

Fastball
29/11/2015, Didier BECU

EN

Over here, Darker Half is completely unknown, but in their home country these four guys are a quite popular power metal band. They already shared the stage with legend acts such as Queensryche, Helloween and Accept.

However, the Australian boys tought that the time has come to conquer other parts of the world, and therefore their third album is released in Europe (via Fastball), followed by a tour that will lead them to East European venues.

It is not just the cover that reminds you of Judas Priest, after only a few minutes you know that this is rock-solid power metal with guitars that sometimes have a prog rock touch.

The ten tracks are all a bit old-fashioned, but in the positive sense, at least if you like bands like Megadeth or Hammerfall, and if you can accept the very specific voice of singer Vo Simpson.

Didier BECU
29/11/2015


NL

Bij ons zijn ze volslagen onbekend, maar in thuisland Australië is Darker Half een populaire powermetalband die het podium mocht delen met grootheden als Queensrÿche, Helloween en Accept. Het viertal vindt dat de tijd rijp om ook in het buitenland z'n talent te tonen, en dus is het derde album in Europa (via Fastball) uitgebracht, gevolgd door een toer die het gezelschap vooral door Oost-Europa zal loodsen.

Het is niet alleen het hoesje dat je aan Judas Priest laat denken, na amper een paar minuten weet je dat je op deze cd, die ten tracks bevat, oerdegelijke powermetal hoort met gitaren die soms een progrocktintje hebben.

Het is allemaal ouderwets, maar dan wel in de positieve zin, ten minste als je van bands als Megadeth of Hammefall houdt en de zeer specifieke (bijna nichterige) stem van Vo Simpson kan verdragen.

Didier BECU
29/11/2015


Music reviews

28
07
WULF7
I don't want (Anymore)
06
07
TRAGIC IMPULSE
Distant Worlds
04
07
RAMMSTEIN
Zeit
27
06
BALVANERA
Courses of Action
14
06
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Gift For You
10
06
SAMHAIN
Experiment

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

08
08
32 years of Head/Down with MOEV
07
08
Neo-Fanfare/Darkwave Band, Crooniek Reflects On The Concept Of Time With New Album
06
08
Post-Punk Artist Daniel Ouellette Brings Life To A Haunted House With New Album
05
08
Industrial bass artist SINthetik Messiah addresses violence in The Vatican with new single
05
08
NOISE UNIT is back in full force!
05
08
Industrial artist, Nuda addresses past trauma & mental illness with 'Trigger'

Concert reviews

05
07
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

05
08
MOTOR!K
I have to admit that I often still find it strange and difficult to grasp: people going crazy on three weirdos playing some repetitive music
12
07
FERALIA PLANITIA & DAS AUGE
'Thanks to our overlapping tastes in music, we became good friends; music was our cement, sort of speak…'
18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.

PHOTOS

08
08
NEW MODEL ARMY
Rockfabrik Uebach-Palenberg
05
08
RAMMSTEIN
Park De Nieuwe Koers Oostende
02
08
SHE PAST AWAY
Amphi Festival Keulen
02
08
FROZEN PLASMA
Amphi Festival Keulen
02
08
MONO INC.
Amphi Festival Keulen
02
08
[:SITD:]
Amphi Festival Keulen
02
08
MESH
Amphi Festival Keulen

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

09
08
WE NEVER MET
Come Play With Fire
08
08
ROSARUBEA
Window Pain
07
08
CREMATORY
Haus Mit Garten
06
08
K-X-P
Space Precious Time
05
08
MONICA JEFFRIES
In Circles
04
08
ILLUMININE
For What It's Worth (Live at Sundlaugin Studio)
03
08
THE CURE
A Forest (Live in Paris 1979)