tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

09/12/2016 : KARAWANE - Karawane

KARAWANE

Karawane

MusicCD
IndiePsychedelicShoegaze

[76/100]   

Excelsior Recordings
09/12/2016, Didier BECU

EN

We investigated the cover several times, not that you find many information on it, but Karawane is indeed a Dutch band, although we hear more the atmosphere of desolated American deserts than the Amsterdam canals. Karawane is the band of Anne van Wieren and Maaike van der Linde. Indie folk, flirting with ethereal pop.

You even hear some dark wave in its indie sound as Sleep surely is as beautiful as the best by Mazzy Star. Because of this brilliant opener, the Dutch band evokes high expectations, but do not worry: during 11 song Karawane maintains the high quality.

During Man, it becomes obvious that Karawane is not only about beauty, as the band likes to compose unusual pop as well. Nothing sounds in accordance with the laws of logic, although in the end Karawane comes up with majestic beauty that would fit fine on the Bella Union-catalogue.

In Ten Steps we notice some shoegaze guitars. Would it be possible that this Dutch band has some releases by Besnard Lakes in its record collection? We think so! Fun makes you dream away, while Can wakes you up and takes you out of your dream.

After hearing eleven tracks, Karawane can be described as indie pop with a melancholic sound. Black Hole almost sounds sacred, while at the end, the fairytale Bells is like a walk through Mercury Rev-land. Quite sublime!

Didier BECU
09/12/2016


NL

We hebben het hoesje meerdere malen onderzocht, niet dat er zo veel informatie op staat, maar Karawane is wel degelijk een Nederlandse band, ofschoon je hier meer verlaten Amerikaanse woestijnen in hoort dan de Amsterdamse grachten. Karawane is de band van Anne van Wieren en Maaike van der Linde. Indiefolk die flirt met ethereal pop.

Je hoort zelfs wat dark wave in hun indiegeluid, zo is Sleep minstens even aangrijpend mooi als het beste van Mazzy Star. Met deze briljante opener leggen de Nederlanders evenwel de lat meteen zeer hoog, maar geen nood: Karawane houdt het elf tracks vol.

Meteen in Man wordt het overduidelijk dat Karawane niet alleen op schoonheid teert, het mag gerust ook tegendraadse pop zijn. Niets klinkt immers volgens de wetten van de logica bij Karawane, hoewel je op het einde magistrale schoonheid hoort die niet zou misstaan in de Bella Union-catalogus.

In Ten Steps vallen ons de shoegazegitaren op. Zouden die Nederlanders platen van Besnard Lakes in hun collectie hebben? Dat zou beslist kunnen! Fun neemt je mee naar verre dromen, terwijl Can ervoor zorgt dat je niet in slaap wordt gewiegd.

Na elf tracks kan je Karawane het best omschrijven als indiepop met een melancholisch geluid. Black Hole is bijna sacraal, terwijl je in de sprookjesachtige afsluiter Bells ergens in Mercury Rev-land vertoeft. Mooi, zeg maar magistraal mooi.

Didier BECU
09/12/2016


 

Next reviews
SONJA KRAUSHOFER • Black Easter 2016
EVI VINE • Black Easter 2016
FATAL DESTINY • Palindromia
FAT FREDDY'S DROP • Bays
ADAN & ILSE • Chirurgie Plastique
E-TROPOLIS FESTIVAL 2016 • Oberhausen (5/03/2016)
ABSOLUTE BODY CONTROL • Wind (Re) Wind
PORTA NIGRA X • Aarschot, JH De Klinker (05/03/16)
COLOSSLOTH • Outstretch Your Hand For The Impress Of Truth
HEARTACHE CIRCUS • Aalst, De Werf (04/03/2016)

 

Same combination of genres: INDIE + PSYCHEDELIC + SHOEGAZE
THE UNDERGROUND YOUTH • Mademoiselle
MASS GOTHIC • Mass Gothic
THE SHOES • Chemicals
GYPSYBLOOD • Cold in the guestway

 

Same genre: INDIE
MONICA RICHARDS & ANTHONY JONES • AESTUARIUM
AMY STUDT • Happiest Girl in The Universe
THIS CAN HURT • Worlds Apart
LISA MORGENSTERN • Chameleon
L7 • Scatter The Rats
VUKOVAR • Cremator
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
TINY FIGHTER • Tell Me
DRAGON WELDING • Dragon Welding
ERNEST MOON • Ba-Jesus

 

Same genre: PSYCHEDELIC
THE MEMBRANES • What Nature Gives… Nature Takes Away
ORPHAN GOGGLES/ ACID MOTHERS TEMPLE & THE MELTING PARAISO U.F.O • Split Single
CRIMEN • Silent Animals
THE TEAR GARDEN • The Brown Acid Caveat
DANIELLE DE PICCIOTTO & ALEXANDER HACKE • Perseverantia
FOLK DEVILS • Beautiful Monsters
THE TEMPEST • 5 Against The House
TRUE WIDOW • Avvolgere
ROBBING MILLIONS • Robbing Millions
MAIDAVALE • Tales of the Wicked West

 

Same genre: SHOEGAZE
THE BLACK WATCH • Magic Johnson
NAIROD YARG • Nairod Yarg
MECHANIMAL • White Flag Single
SUBMOTILE • Ghosts Fade On Skylines
UNDERTHESKIN • Negative
LADYTRON • Ladytron
SPC ECO • Fifteen
EVI VINE • Black Light White Dark
BEAUTY IN CHAOS • Finding Beauty In Chaos
MY BLOODY VALENTINE • LOVELESS

Music reviews

02
12
DIVE
Where do we go from here
01
12
THE MARS MODEL
Sister Glory / Frozen in Time
26
11
PREEMPTIVE STRIKE 0.1
The Dread Files
25
11
FIRST
Restless
18
11
AD:KEY
Resonanz
17
11
SWANS
Children Of GodFeel Good Now

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

02
12
This month it’s 36 years ago Canadian industrial act Skinny Puppy released their very first EP Remission.
01
12
50 years of Ruckzuck with Kraftwerk!
28
11
Today it's exactly 40 years since Siouxsie and the Banshees, released their Christmas single 'Israel'!
27
11
39 years of Don't You Want Me by The Human League
27
11
Non-Stop Erotic Cabaret | Untainted With Time - Released 39 years ago!
26
11
38 years of Melting with Siouxsie and the Banshees!

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing
31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

14
11
PROYECTO MIRAGE
I Think We Needed A Break
21
10
DELERITAS
EBM-Indus Night Liège : The bands presented... Deleritas!
20
10
WULF7
EBM-Indus Night Liège : The bands presented... WÜLF7!
19
10
LISA GERRARD (DEAD CAN DANCE)
'I love the innocent dangers that can be experienced in musical performance...'
18
10
SERAPHIM SYSTEM
A Glorious Return To Form

PHOTOS

25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival
20
08
JUSTIN SULLIVAN & GASTONE
Kreisverwaltung Groß-Gerau

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

02
12
GROUND NERO
Plethora
01
12
EXIT STRATEGY
Dead Zone
30
11
DIVE
Black Star (Official Music Video)
30
11
POPTONE
Slice Of Life
29
11
CUELEBRE
Fodder for the raven
28
11
ORDO ROSARIUS EQUILIBRIO
I M B E C I L E, My Idiot Lover
27
11
LYAPIS TRUBETSKOY
Lights