tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

09/12/2016 : KARAWANE - Karawane

KARAWANE

Karawane

MusicCD
IndiePsychedelicShoegaze

[76/100]   

Excelsior Recordings
09/12/2016, Didier BECU

EN

We investigated the cover several times, not that you find many information on it, but Karawane is indeed a Dutch band, although we hear more the atmosphere of desolated American deserts than the Amsterdam canals. Karawane is the band of Anne van Wieren and Maaike van der Linde. Indie folk, flirting with ethereal pop.

You even hear some dark wave in its indie sound as Sleep surely is as beautiful as the best by Mazzy Star. Because of this brilliant opener, the Dutch band evokes high expectations, but do not worry: during 11 song Karawane maintains the high quality.

During Man, it becomes obvious that Karawane is not only about beauty, as the band likes to compose unusual pop as well. Nothing sounds in accordance with the laws of logic, although in the end Karawane comes up with majestic beauty that would fit fine on the Bella Union-catalogue.

In Ten Steps we notice some shoegaze guitars. Would it be possible that this Dutch band has some releases by Besnard Lakes in its record collection? We think so! Fun makes you dream away, while Can wakes you up and takes you out of your dream.

After hearing eleven tracks, Karawane can be described as indie pop with a melancholic sound. Black Hole almost sounds sacred, while at the end, the fairytale Bells is like a walk through Mercury Rev-land. Quite sublime!

Didier BECU
09/12/2016


NL

We hebben het hoesje meerdere malen onderzocht, niet dat er zo veel informatie op staat, maar Karawane is wel degelijk een Nederlandse band, ofschoon je hier meer verlaten Amerikaanse woestijnen in hoort dan de Amsterdamse grachten. Karawane is de band van Anne van Wieren en Maaike van der Linde. Indiefolk die flirt met ethereal pop.

Je hoort zelfs wat dark wave in hun indiegeluid, zo is Sleep minstens even aangrijpend mooi als het beste van Mazzy Star. Met deze briljante opener leggen de Nederlanders evenwel de lat meteen zeer hoog, maar geen nood: Karawane houdt het elf tracks vol.

Meteen in Man wordt het overduidelijk dat Karawane niet alleen op schoonheid teert, het mag gerust ook tegendraadse pop zijn. Niets klinkt immers volgens de wetten van de logica bij Karawane, hoewel je op het einde magistrale schoonheid hoort die niet zou misstaan in de Bella Union-catalogus.

In Ten Steps vallen ons de shoegazegitaren op. Zouden die Nederlanders platen van Besnard Lakes in hun collectie hebben? Dat zou beslist kunnen! Fun neemt je mee naar verre dromen, terwijl Can ervoor zorgt dat je niet in slaap wordt gewiegd.

Na elf tracks kan je Karawane het best omschrijven als indiepop met een melancholisch geluid. Black Hole is bijna sacraal, terwijl je in de sprookjesachtige afsluiter Bells ergens in Mercury Rev-land vertoeft. Mooi, zeg maar magistraal mooi.

Didier BECU
09/12/2016


 

Next reviews
SONJA KRAUSHOFER • Black Easter 2016
EVI VINE • Black Easter 2016
FATAL DESTINY • Palindromia
FAT FREDDY'S DROP • Bays
ADAN & ILSE • Chirurgie Plastique
E-TROPOLIS FESTIVAL 2016 • Oberhausen (5/03/2016)
ABSOLUTE BODY CONTROL • Wind (Re) Wind
PORTA NIGRA X • Aarschot, JH De Klinker (05/03/16)
COLOSSLOTH • Outstretch Your Hand For The Impress Of Truth
HEARTACHE CIRCUS • Aalst, De Werf (04/03/2016)

 

Same combination of genres: INDIE + PSYCHEDELIC + SHOEGAZE
THE UNDERGROUND YOUTH • Mademoiselle
MASS GOTHIC • Mass Gothic
THE SHOES • Chemicals
GYPSYBLOOD • Cold in the guestway

 

Same genre: INDIE
MONICA RICHARDS & ANTHONY JONES • AESTUARIUM
AMY STUDT • Happiest Girl in The Universe
THIS CAN HURT • Worlds Apart
LISA MORGENSTERN • Chameleon
L7 • Scatter The Rats
VUKOVAR • Cremator
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
TINY FIGHTER • Tell Me
DRAGON WELDING • Dragon Welding
ERNEST MOON • Ba-Jesus

 

Same genre: PSYCHEDELIC
THE MEMBRANES • What Nature Gives… Nature Takes Away
ORPHAN GOGGLES/ ACID MOTHERS TEMPLE & THE MELTING PARAISO U.F.O • Split Single
CRIMEN • Silent Animals
THE TEAR GARDEN • The Brown Acid Caveat
DANIELLE DE PICCIOTTO & ALEXANDER HACKE • Perseverantia
FOLK DEVILS • Beautiful Monsters
THE TEMPEST • 5 Against The House
TRUE WIDOW • Avvolgere
ROBBING MILLIONS • Robbing Millions
MAIDAVALE • Tales of the Wicked West

 

Same genre: SHOEGAZE
THE BLACK WATCH • Magic Johnson
NAIROD YARG • Nairod Yarg
MECHANIMAL • White Flag Single
SUBMOTILE • Ghosts Fade On Skylines
UNDERTHESKIN • Negative
LADYTRON • Ladytron
SPC ECO • Fifteen
EVI VINE • Black Light White Dark
BEAUTY IN CHAOS • Finding Beauty In Chaos
MY BLOODY VALENTINE • LOVELESS

Music reviews

03
12
THE HERESY GENE
La Luz Del Padre
28
11
PETER BJARGO (ARCANA)
Structures and Downfall
27
11
PLASTIKSTROM
Beton Gegen Angst
23
11
MONICA RICHARDS & ANTHONY JONES
AESTUARIUM
19
11
PSY'AVIAH
Soul Searching
17
11
DAGEIST
Sexy

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

10
12
Postpunk pioneers The Membranes and Kitty Lectro team up for stunning 'Nocturnal' EP
10
12
Los Angeles Synth Act More Ephemerol Debuts New Single, 'Cult Classics'
10
12
On this day, 40 years ago John Peel broadcasted Joy Division's 2nd Peel Sessions!
09
12
40 Years Of 20 Jazz Funk Greats!
08
12
Today, 41 years ago, Public Image released its debut album First issue!
08
12
76 Years Ago JIM MORRISON WAS BORN!

Concert reviews

25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019
15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

09
12
FIX8:SED8
I Could Talk About The Wonder That Is Skinny Puppy For Hours
29
11
TREVOR DUNN (MR.BUNGLE,FANTOMAS, TRIO-CONVULSANT...)
'The hard thing to do is to keep it simple.'
24
11
DEAD HIGH WIRE
‘Dead High Wire Did Not Like To Be Categorized In One Box’
02
11
UNDERTHESKIN
Try To Leave The Listener In A Certain Reflection, And Maybe Bring Some Kind Of Relief
01
11
MIKE WATT(JUMPSTARTED PLOWHARDS)
In a way, the project is a total collaboration!

PHOTOS

09
12
MARK E MOON
Sportkafee Waregem
06
12
SUICIDE COMMANDO
Poppodium Nieuwe Nor Heerlen
04
12
NEAR EARTH ORBIT
Poppodium Nieuwe Nor Heerlen
03
12
DASSWAT
C.C. Palethe Pelt
03
12
DIVE
Poppodium Nieuwe Nor Heerlen
03
12
THE DEVIL AND THE UNIVERSE
Poppodium Nieuwe Nor Heerlen
03
12
CLAN OF XYMOX
Gleiss 22 Münster Germany

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

11
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE
Death by completion
10
12
A SPLIT-SECOND
Mambo Witch
09
12
PROJECT PITCHFORK
Titanes
08
12
REVOLTING COCKS (THE)
Beer, Steers and Queers
07
12
VAST
Touched
07
12
MOTOR!K
Static
06
12
MASSIVE EGO
Let Go