tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

09/12/2016 : KARAWANE - Karawane

KARAWANE

Karawane

MusicCD
IndiePsychedelicShoegaze

[76/100]   

Excelsior Recordings
09/12/2016, Didier BECU

EN

We investigated the cover several times, not that you find many information on it, but Karawane is indeed a Dutch band, although we hear more the atmosphere of desolated American deserts than the Amsterdam canals. Karawane is the band of Anne van Wieren and Maaike van der Linde. Indie folk, flirting with ethereal pop.

You even hear some dark wave in its indie sound as Sleep surely is as beautiful as the best by Mazzy Star. Because of this brilliant opener, the Dutch band evokes high expectations, but do not worry: during 11 song Karawane maintains the high quality.

During Man, it becomes obvious that Karawane is not only about beauty, as the band likes to compose unusual pop as well. Nothing sounds in accordance with the laws of logic, although in the end Karawane comes up with majestic beauty that would fit fine on the Bella Union-catalogue.

In Ten Steps we notice some shoegaze guitars. Would it be possible that this Dutch band has some releases by Besnard Lakes in its record collection? We think so! Fun makes you dream away, while Can wakes you up and takes you out of your dream.

After hearing eleven tracks, Karawane can be described as indie pop with a melancholic sound. Black Hole almost sounds sacred, while at the end, the fairytale Bells is like a walk through Mercury Rev-land. Quite sublime!

Didier BECU
09/12/2016


NL

We hebben het hoesje meerdere malen onderzocht, niet dat er zo veel informatie op staat, maar Karawane is wel degelijk een Nederlandse band, ofschoon je hier meer verlaten Amerikaanse woestijnen in hoort dan de Amsterdamse grachten. Karawane is de band van Anne van Wieren en Maaike van der Linde. Indiefolk die flirt met ethereal pop.

Je hoort zelfs wat dark wave in hun indiegeluid, zo is Sleep minstens even aangrijpend mooi als het beste van Mazzy Star. Met deze briljante opener leggen de Nederlanders evenwel de lat meteen zeer hoog, maar geen nood: Karawane houdt het elf tracks vol.

Meteen in Man wordt het overduidelijk dat Karawane niet alleen op schoonheid teert, het mag gerust ook tegendraadse pop zijn. Niets klinkt immers volgens de wetten van de logica bij Karawane, hoewel je op het einde magistrale schoonheid hoort die niet zou misstaan in de Bella Union-catalogus.

In Ten Steps vallen ons de shoegazegitaren op. Zouden die Nederlanders platen van Besnard Lakes in hun collectie hebben? Dat zou beslist kunnen! Fun neemt je mee naar verre dromen, terwijl Can ervoor zorgt dat je niet in slaap wordt gewiegd.

Na elf tracks kan je Karawane het best omschrijven als indiepop met een melancholisch geluid. Black Hole is bijna sacraal, terwijl je in de sprookjesachtige afsluiter Bells ergens in Mercury Rev-land vertoeft. Mooi, zeg maar magistraal mooi.

Didier BECU
09/12/2016


 

Next reviews
SONJA KRAUSHOFER • Black Easter 2016
EVI VINE • Black Easter 2016
FATAL DESTINY • Palindromia
FAT FREDDY'S DROP • Bays
ADAN & ILSE • Chirurgie Plastique
E-TROPOLIS FESTIVAL 2016 • Oberhausen (5/03/2016)
ABSOLUTE BODY CONTROL • Wind (Re) Wind
PORTA NIGRA X • Aarschot, JH De Klinker (05/03/16)
COLOSSLOTH • Outstretch Your Hand For The Impress Of Truth
HEARTACHE CIRCUS • Aalst, De Werf (04/03/2016)

 

Same combination of genres: INDIE + PSYCHEDELIC + SHOEGAZE
THE UNDERGROUND YOUTH • Mademoiselle
MASS GOTHIC • Mass Gothic
THE SHOES • Chemicals
GYPSYBLOOD • Cold in the guestway

 

Same genre: INDIE
SJOBLOM • Tape
MONICA RICHARDS & ANTHONY JONES • AESTUARIUM
AMY STUDT • Happiest Girl in The Universe
THIS CAN HURT • Worlds Apart
LISA MORGENSTERN • Chameleon
L7 • Scatter The Rats
VUKOVAR • Cremator
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
TINY FIGHTER • Tell Me
DRAGON WELDING • Dragon Welding

 

Same genre: PSYCHEDELIC
CRIPPLED BLACK PHOENIX • Ellengæng
THE MEMBRANES • What Nature Gives… Nature Takes Away
ORPHAN GOGGLES/ ACID MOTHERS TEMPLE & THE MELTING PARAISO U.F.O • Split Single
CRIMEN • Silent Animals
THE TEAR GARDEN • The Brown Acid Caveat
DANIELLE DE PICCIOTTO & ALEXANDER HACKE • Perseverantia
FOLK DEVILS • Beautiful Monsters
THE TEMPEST • 5 Against The House
TRUE WIDOW • Avvolgere
ROBBING MILLIONS • Robbing Millions

 

Same genre: SHOEGAZE
THE BLACK WATCH • Magic Johnson
NAIROD YARG • Nairod Yarg
MECHANIMAL • White Flag Single
SUBMOTILE • Ghosts Fade On Skylines
UNDERTHESKIN • Negative
LADYTRON • Ladytron
SPC ECO • Fifteen
EVI VINE • Black Light White Dark
BEAUTY IN CHAOS • Finding Beauty In Chaos
MY BLOODY VALENTINE • LOVELESS

Music reviews

12
05
SHE HATES EMOTIONS
Space and time
11
05
THIS CAN HURT
A Darker Shade Of Blue
22
04
DEAD MAN'S HILL
Inner Journeys Through The Living Temples Of Water
20
04
HYDROM LINE
Hydrom Line Edition 2021
19
04
HOCICO
HyperViolent
15
04
DIRK DA DAVO
The Unreal

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

26
05
Happy birthday Wayne Hussey!
24
05
48 years Of Diamond Dogs!
23
05
36 years of 'Let Your Body Learn' by Nitzer Ebb!
22
05
41 years Spellbound!
19
05
44 of The Man-Machine!
15
05
On this day, 32 years ago, British post-punk band Wire released their 7th studio album Manscape

Concert reviews

24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.
20
04
NINO SABLE
I am not a friend of boxed content...
13
04
ECHO ROAD
'There was no easy way or any shortcut to be taken in terms of producing something truly representative of the human experience. We simply had to ‘just do it'.'

PHOTOS

23
05
CONFLICT
Dont Panik Esssen
21
05
PUSSY RIOT
Depot Leuven
21
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Depot Leuven
21
05
HETZE
Depot Leuven
16
05
THE MULTICOLOURED SHADES
Backyard Club Recklinghausen,Germany
15
05
RED ZEBRA
This is not a dark fest. Lessines
15
05
THE ULTIMATE DREAMERS
This is not a dark fest. Lessines

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

26
05
LOVELESSLUST
Fashion - David Bowie tribute
25
05
CORPO-MENTE
Arsalein
24
05
ATARI TEENAGE RIOT
Adrenaline
23
05
MODEL DEPOSE
Nightwatch
22
05
MARBLE SOUNDS
Tout et Partout
21
05
MARISSA NADLER
All the Colors of the Dark
20
05
SYNDROME
Forever And A Day