tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

09/12/2016 : KARAWANE - Karawane

KARAWANE

Karawane

MusicCD
IndiePsychedelicShoegaze

[76/100]   

Excelsior Recordings
09/12/2016, Didier BECU

EN

We investigated the cover several times, not that you find many information on it, but Karawane is indeed a Dutch band, although we hear more the atmosphere of desolated American deserts than the Amsterdam canals. Karawane is the band of Anne van Wieren and Maaike van der Linde. Indie folk, flirting with ethereal pop.

You even hear some dark wave in its indie sound as Sleep surely is as beautiful as the best by Mazzy Star. Because of this brilliant opener, the Dutch band evokes high expectations, but do not worry: during 11 song Karawane maintains the high quality.

During Man, it becomes obvious that Karawane is not only about beauty, as the band likes to compose unusual pop as well. Nothing sounds in accordance with the laws of logic, although in the end Karawane comes up with majestic beauty that would fit fine on the Bella Union-catalogue.

In Ten Steps we notice some shoegaze guitars. Would it be possible that this Dutch band has some releases by Besnard Lakes in its record collection? We think so! Fun makes you dream away, while Can wakes you up and takes you out of your dream.

After hearing eleven tracks, Karawane can be described as indie pop with a melancholic sound. Black Hole almost sounds sacred, while at the end, the fairytale Bells is like a walk through Mercury Rev-land. Quite sublime!

Didier BECU
09/12/2016


NL

We hebben het hoesje meerdere malen onderzocht, niet dat er zo veel informatie op staat, maar Karawane is wel degelijk een Nederlandse band, ofschoon je hier meer verlaten Amerikaanse woestijnen in hoort dan de Amsterdamse grachten. Karawane is de band van Anne van Wieren en Maaike van der Linde. Indiefolk die flirt met ethereal pop.

Je hoort zelfs wat dark wave in hun indiegeluid, zo is Sleep minstens even aangrijpend mooi als het beste van Mazzy Star. Met deze briljante opener leggen de Nederlanders evenwel de lat meteen zeer hoog, maar geen nood: Karawane houdt het elf tracks vol.

Meteen in Man wordt het overduidelijk dat Karawane niet alleen op schoonheid teert, het mag gerust ook tegendraadse pop zijn. Niets klinkt immers volgens de wetten van de logica bij Karawane, hoewel je op het einde magistrale schoonheid hoort die niet zou misstaan in de Bella Union-catalogus.

In Ten Steps vallen ons de shoegazegitaren op. Zouden die Nederlanders platen van Besnard Lakes in hun collectie hebben? Dat zou beslist kunnen! Fun neemt je mee naar verre dromen, terwijl Can ervoor zorgt dat je niet in slaap wordt gewiegd.

Na elf tracks kan je Karawane het best omschrijven als indiepop met een melancholisch geluid. Black Hole is bijna sacraal, terwijl je in de sprookjesachtige afsluiter Bells ergens in Mercury Rev-land vertoeft. Mooi, zeg maar magistraal mooi.

Didier BECU
09/12/2016


 

Next reviews
SONJA KRAUSHOFER • Black Easter 2016
EVI VINE • Black Easter 2016
FATAL DESTINY • Palindromia
FAT FREDDY'S DROP • Bays
ADAN & ILSE • Chirurgie Plastique
E-TROPOLIS FESTIVAL 2016 • Oberhausen (5/03/2016)
ABSOLUTE BODY CONTROL • Wind (Re) Wind
PORTA NIGRA X • Aarschot, JH De Klinker (05/03/16)
COLOSSLOTH • Outstretch Your Hand For The Impress Of Truth
HEARTACHE CIRCUS • Aalst, De Werf (04/03/2016)

 

Same combination of genres: INDIE + PSYCHEDELIC + SHOEGAZE
THE UNDERGROUND YOUTH • Mademoiselle
MASS GOTHIC • Mass Gothic
THE SHOES • Chemicals
GYPSYBLOOD • Cold in the guestway

 

Same genre: INDIE
MONICA RICHARDS & ANTHONY JONES • AESTUARIUM
AMY STUDT • Happiest Girl in The Universe
THIS CAN HURT • Worlds Apart
LISA MORGENSTERN • Chameleon
L7 • Scatter The Rats
VUKOVAR • Cremator
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
TINY FIGHTER • Tell Me
DRAGON WELDING • Dragon Welding
ERNEST MOON • Ba-Jesus

 

Same genre: PSYCHEDELIC
THE MEMBRANES • What Nature Gives… Nature Takes Away
ORPHAN GOGGLES/ ACID MOTHERS TEMPLE & THE MELTING PARAISO U.F.O • Split Single
CRIMEN • Silent Animals
THE TEAR GARDEN • The Brown Acid Caveat
DANIELLE DE PICCIOTTO & ALEXANDER HACKE • Perseverantia
FOLK DEVILS • Beautiful Monsters
THE TEMPEST • 5 Against The House
TRUE WIDOW • Avvolgere
ROBBING MILLIONS • Robbing Millions
MAIDAVALE • Tales of the Wicked West

 

Same genre: SHOEGAZE
THE BLACK WATCH • Magic Johnson
NAIROD YARG • Nairod Yarg
MECHANIMAL • White Flag Single
SUBMOTILE • Ghosts Fade On Skylines
UNDERTHESKIN • Negative
LADYTRON • Ladytron
SPC ECO • Fifteen
EVI VINE • Black Light White Dark
BEAUTY IN CHAOS • Finding Beauty In Chaos
MY BLOODY VALENTINE • LOVELESS

Music reviews

31
03
POUPPEE FABRIKK
Armèn
29
03
CHRISTIAN WOLZ
La Fore
28
03
JIMMY SWEENEY
Without You
27
03
FEU FOLLET
Le champ des morts
18
03
MANNEQUIN
From a distance
16
03
OCTOLAB
Mystery Park

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

04
04
14 years ago, Nine Inch Nails released ‘Every Day Is Exactly the Same’.
03
04
On this day, 18 years ago, Frank Tovey / Fad Gadget died at the age of 45.
02
04
41 years of Replicas, unleashed by Gary Numan's Tubeway Army!
01
04
On this day, 23 years ago, Rammstein released Engel!
01
04
On this day, 31 years ago, Front Line Assembly released Gashed Senses & Crossfire!
31
03
Red Zebra releases new single!

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

30
03
JOE BOYD
Producer of Pink Floyd, Nick Drake, Nico, R.E.M, talks about the years of experience and his coming book.
29
03
AMBER TEASER
We Also Like Putting Some Strange Elements In Pop Music
19
03
DYLAN WITTROCK
'Sometimes I just write characters’ thoughts, like journal entries.'
17
03
PREEMPTIVE STRIKE 0.1
‘I Love The Belgian Scene’
14
03
COMMON EIDER, KING EIDER
‘The Dreams Of Capitalism Are Being Revealed As Smoke And Mirrors...

PHOTOS

13
03
SIGLO XX
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
ROME
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ROSE OF AVALANCHE
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE DANSE SOCIETY
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ARCH
Porta Nigra Aarschot
11
03
FRONT 242
Pulse Namur Isnes
11
03
SHAARGHOT
Pulse Namur Isnes

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

04
04
UNKNOWN LAND
CATHEDRAL
03
04
GOLDFRAPP
Strict Machine (Live at Glastonbury) [2017]
02
04
DIE KRUPPS
Chinese Black Die Krupps feat. Jyrki69 (Official Music Video)
02
04
DIESEIN
You
01
04
ILLUMININE
Dear, Eulogy (Live at Sundlaugin Studio)
31
03
DIVE
Underneath
30
03
NEAR EARTH ORBIT
INTERSTELLAR