tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

09/12/2016 : KARAWANE - Karawane

KARAWANE

Karawane

MusicCD
IndiePsychedelicShoegaze

[76/100]   

Excelsior Recordings
09/12/2016, Didier BECU

EN

We investigated the cover several times, not that you find many information on it, but Karawane is indeed a Dutch band, although we hear more the atmosphere of desolated American deserts than the Amsterdam canals. Karawane is the band of Anne van Wieren and Maaike van der Linde. Indie folk, flirting with ethereal pop.

You even hear some dark wave in its indie sound as Sleep surely is as beautiful as the best by Mazzy Star. Because of this brilliant opener, the Dutch band evokes high expectations, but do not worry: during 11 song Karawane maintains the high quality.

During Man, it becomes obvious that Karawane is not only about beauty, as the band likes to compose unusual pop as well. Nothing sounds in accordance with the laws of logic, although in the end Karawane comes up with majestic beauty that would fit fine on the Bella Union-catalogue.

In Ten Steps we notice some shoegaze guitars. Would it be possible that this Dutch band has some releases by Besnard Lakes in its record collection? We think so! Fun makes you dream away, while Can wakes you up and takes you out of your dream.

After hearing eleven tracks, Karawane can be described as indie pop with a melancholic sound. Black Hole almost sounds sacred, while at the end, the fairytale Bells is like a walk through Mercury Rev-land. Quite sublime!

Didier BECU
09/12/2016


NL

We hebben het hoesje meerdere malen onderzocht, niet dat er zo veel informatie op staat, maar Karawane is wel degelijk een Nederlandse band, ofschoon je hier meer verlaten Amerikaanse woestijnen in hoort dan de Amsterdamse grachten. Karawane is de band van Anne van Wieren en Maaike van der Linde. Indiefolk die flirt met ethereal pop.

Je hoort zelfs wat dark wave in hun indiegeluid, zo is Sleep minstens even aangrijpend mooi als het beste van Mazzy Star. Met deze briljante opener leggen de Nederlanders evenwel de lat meteen zeer hoog, maar geen nood: Karawane houdt het elf tracks vol.

Meteen in Man wordt het overduidelijk dat Karawane niet alleen op schoonheid teert, het mag gerust ook tegendraadse pop zijn. Niets klinkt immers volgens de wetten van de logica bij Karawane, hoewel je op het einde magistrale schoonheid hoort die niet zou misstaan in de Bella Union-catalogus.

In Ten Steps vallen ons de shoegazegitaren op. Zouden die Nederlanders platen van Besnard Lakes in hun collectie hebben? Dat zou beslist kunnen! Fun neemt je mee naar verre dromen, terwijl Can ervoor zorgt dat je niet in slaap wordt gewiegd.

Na elf tracks kan je Karawane het best omschrijven als indiepop met een melancholisch geluid. Black Hole is bijna sacraal, terwijl je in de sprookjesachtige afsluiter Bells ergens in Mercury Rev-land vertoeft. Mooi, zeg maar magistraal mooi.

Didier BECU
09/12/2016


 

Next reviews
SONJA KRAUSHOFER • Black Easter 2016
EVI VINE • Black Easter 2016
FATAL DESTINY • Palindromia
FAT FREDDY'S DROP • Bays
ADAN & ILSE • Chirurgie Plastique
E-TROPOLIS FESTIVAL 2016 • Oberhausen (5/03/2016)
ABSOLUTE BODY CONTROL • Wind (Re) Wind
PORTA NIGRA X • Aarschot, JH De Klinker (05/03/16)
COLOSSLOTH • Outstretch Your Hand For The Impress Of Truth
HEARTACHE CIRCUS • Aalst, De Werf (04/03/2016)

 

Same combination of genres: INDIE + PSYCHEDELIC + SHOEGAZE
THE UNDERGROUND YOUTH • Mademoiselle
MASS GOTHIC • Mass Gothic
THE SHOES • Chemicals
GYPSYBLOOD • Cold in the guestway

 

Same genre: INDIE
DEZ MONA • LOOSE ENDS
SJOBLOM • Tape
MONICA RICHARDS & ANTHONY JONES • AESTUARIUM
AMY STUDT • Happiest Girl in The Universe
THIS CAN HURT • Worlds Apart
LISA MORGENSTERN • Chameleon
L7 • Scatter The Rats
VUKOVAR • Cremator
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
TINY FIGHTER • Tell Me

 

Same genre: PSYCHEDELIC
CRIPPLED BLACK PHOENIX • Ellengæng
THE MEMBRANES • What Nature Gives… Nature Takes Away
ORPHAN GOGGLES/ ACID MOTHERS TEMPLE & THE MELTING PARAISO U.F.O • Split Single
CRIMEN • Silent Animals
THE TEAR GARDEN • The Brown Acid Caveat
DANIELLE DE PICCIOTTO & ALEXANDER HACKE • Perseverantia
FOLK DEVILS • Beautiful Monsters
THE TEMPEST • 5 Against The House
TRUE WIDOW • Avvolgere
ROBBING MILLIONS • Robbing Millions

 

Same genre: SHOEGAZE
FEATHER TRADE • Dead Boy
THE BLACK WATCH • Magic Johnson
NAIROD YARG • Nairod Yarg
MECHANIMAL • White Flag Single
SUBMOTILE • Ghosts Fade On Skylines
UNDERTHESKIN • Negative
LADYTRON • Ladytron
SPC ECO • Fifteen
EVI VINE • Black Light White Dark
BEAUTY IN CHAOS • Finding Beauty In Chaos

Music reviews

10
01
THE MARS MODEL
Primal Urge
10
01
ELM
Penetrator
09
01
THE JUGGERNAUTS
Fear
09
01
DE DELVERS
Hart in neonlicht
20
12
TC75
5th
19
12
THE GODFATHERS
ALPHA BETA GAMMA DELTA (2022)

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

30
01
Today, 27 years ago American Industrial-Metal band Ministry released Filth Pig!
29
01
On this day, 40 years ago, Fad Gadget performed at the Amsterdam Meervaart Theatre.
28
01
Electronic Duo, Akustikkoppler Tap Into The Past And Future With New Album
27
01
On this day, 41 years ago, the B52's released Mesopotamia
25
01
Exactly 45 years ago, Joy Division played their very first concert!
24
01
Today, 5 years ago, Mark E. Smith, singer of legendary post-punk band The Fall died, aged 60

Concert reviews

02
11
AKALOTZ - DREADFOOL - DELERITAS - WULF7
EBM NIGHT IN LIEGE...
05
07
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

22
12
DERISION CULT
An Interview With Dave McAnally of Derision Cult
16
12
OK LION
I didn't convince Patrick Codenys to work with us, it was his idea!
30
11
THE JUGGERNAUTS
Let’s leave the love dramas and (fake) feel good theme to pop music and the brain dead Tik-Tok generation.
28
11
MONSTERGOD
With their most recent release “Ozymandias” Monstergod prove that dark sounds and poetry may go hand in hand to reach the effect that is both mesmerizing and dynamic in the most excellent hard-hitting way.
29
10
PSY'AVIAH
Wanting to have everything under control is problematic, as is wanting to have nothing under control.

PHOTOS

23
01
NITZER EBB JOIN THE FORCES TOUR 23
Turbinenhalle Oberhausen
23
01
FRONT 242 JOIN THE FORCES TOUR 23
Turbinenhalle Oberhausen
23
01
LIEBKNECHT JOIN THE FORCES TOUR 23
Turbinenhalle Oberhausen
01
01
NNHMN
In Between Days Meschede Stadthalle
01
01
SHE PAST AWAY
In Between Days Meschede Stadthalle
01
01
THE INVINCIBLE SPIRIT
In Between Days Meschede Stadthalle
01
01
ASH CODE
In Between Days Meschede Stadthalle

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

29
01
THE ARCH
Cocks Populi - Naked Piano Mix 2020
28
01
POISONED HASTIA
Reptile
27
01
MERCIFUL NUNS
Cremation
26
01
MARSHEAUX
Safe Tonight
25
01
CLAN OF XYMOX
Imagination
24
01
EMPUSAE
Cadence Chamanique
23
01
GERTRUD STEIN
The Void