tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

09/12/2016 : FAT FREDDY'S DROP - Bays

FAT FREDDY'S DROP

Bays

MusicCD
ReggaeSoulTechno

[74/100]   

V2
09/12/2016, Didier BECU

EN

Reggae from New Zealand. It obviously sounds weird, but Fat Freddy's Drop conquered its home country (and Australia too) with it, and thanks to its excellent live reputation, the band is a regular guest on (large) European stages. The record sales are super as well. 20,000 copies of the previous CD (Blackbird) were sold in Britain. Over a period of sixteen years, this band released four albums only, but because of intense touring, they were quickly known by the public.

The nice thing about Fat Freddy's Drop is that the band makes reggae, but it adds techno to it (Razor is a good example), and so it feels like the seven-piece band, led by DJ Fitchie (or Mu), is reinventing the genre.

It all sounds very laid back, but thanks to the horn sounds, which seem to come from old soul records, you have the impression that you listen to something completely new. People who dislike the genre or simply don’t want to hear music that tries to put a smile on your face, probably won’t embrace Fat Freddy’s Drop, because even on record, the band invites you to handclapping and a sultry dance. And it swings, and they are musicians who know what to do with their instruments! Now, where is the sun so we can be completely happy?

Didier BECU
09/12/2016


NL

Reggae uit Nieuw-Zeeland. Het klinkt niet bepaald als een alledaags feit, maar Fat Freddy’s Drop heeft er wel heel het land (alsook Australië) mee veroverd en dankzij de stevige livereputatie staat de band ook regelmatig op (grote) Europese podia. Ook met de platenverkoop gaat het uitstekend, de vorige cd van deze funkmachine (Blackbird) werd in Groot-Brittannië zo maar eventjes 20000 keer verkocht. Op zestien jaar heeft deze band amper vier platen uitgebracht, maar door het intense toeren en via ouderwetse mond-tot-mondreclame raakte hij vrij vlug bekend bij het publiek.

Het leuke aan Fat Freddy’s Drop is dat het gezelschap reggae maakt, maar dat in z'n geluid tevens techno mixt (Razor is daar een mooi voorbeeld van) waardoor het lijkt alsof de zevenkoppige band, die onder leiding staat van DJ Fitchie (Mu voor de vrienden), het genre heruitvindt. Het klinkt allemaal uiterst relaxt, maar dankzij de blazers die eerder uit oude soulplaten komen, heb je toch het gevoel dat je naar iets volledig nieuws luistert.

Mensen die een grondige hekel aan het genre hebben of gewoon geen zin hebben in muziek die probeert om een glimlach op je gelaat te toveren, hebben wellicht geen boodschap aan Fat Freddy’s Drop, want zelfs op plaat lijkt het alsof deze band je wil uitnodigen tot handgeklap en een zwoel dansje. Maar het swingt als geen ander, en het zijn muzikanten die weten waarvoor een instrument dient! Nu nog de zon erbij en we zijn voor een tijdje gelukkig!

Didier BECU
09/12/2016


Music reviews

29
05
THE MIDNIGHT COMPUTERS
Anxious
03
05
BOYTRONIC
The Robot Treatment
02
05
ARMAGEDDON DILDOS
Heut Nacht
01
05
BLUTENGEL + HOCICO
Obscured
30
04
STRIKKLAND
Predatorial Right
29
04
THIRD REALM
The Art of Despair

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

28
05
Electro/Synthwave Act GIANT MONSTERS ON THE HORIZON Unleash New Studio Album - Live From Night City
26
05
Happy birthday Wayne Hussey!
24
05
46 years Of Diamond Dogs!
23
05
34 years of 'Let Your Body Learn!'
22
05
39 years Spellbound!
21
05
Electro / EBM pioneers PORTION CONTROL strike hard with new album 'Head Buried'!

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

26
05
MARK E MOON
We Know We’re Not Re-Inventing The Wheel!
23
05
JOSH KLINGHOFFER (PLURALONE,RHCP)
“I suddenly found the piano the most exciting instrument to write on.”
19
05
THE HERESY GENE
'The More We Do It, The More Important It Feels.'
01
05
AUTUMN TEARS
An Interview With Autumn Tears
30
04
EMPUSAE
One thing is for sure... I'll never stop making music!

PHOTOS

13
03
SIGLO XX
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
ROME
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ROSE OF AVALANCHE
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE DANSE SOCIETY
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ARCH
Porta Nigra Aarschot
11
03
FRONT 242
Pulse Namur Isnes
11
03
SHAARGHOT
Pulse Namur Isnes

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

29
05
UNZUCHT
Ein Wort Fliegt Wie Ein Stein
28
05
GOLDEN BOY FEAT. MISS KITTIN
Rittin Kitten (Extended)
27
05
HIDDEN ORCHESTRA
Still
26
05
EX-RZ
I can't live in a living room
25
05
POISON POINT
Imaginary Veil
24
05
GRAUZONE
Eisbaer
23
05
SCHONWALD
Fury