tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

09/12/2016 : FAT FREDDY'S DROP - Bays

FAT FREDDY'S DROP

Bays

MusicCD
ReggaeSoulTechno

[74/100]   

V2
09/12/2016, Didier BECU

EN

Reggae from New Zealand. It obviously sounds weird, but Fat Freddy's Drop conquered its home country (and Australia too) with it, and thanks to its excellent live reputation, the band is a regular guest on (large) European stages. The record sales are super as well. 20,000 copies of the previous CD (Blackbird) were sold in Britain. Over a period of sixteen years, this band released four albums only, but because of intense touring, they were quickly known by the public.

The nice thing about Fat Freddy's Drop is that the band makes reggae, but it adds techno to it (Razor is a good example), and so it feels like the seven-piece band, led by DJ Fitchie (or Mu), is reinventing the genre.

It all sounds very laid back, but thanks to the horn sounds, which seem to come from old soul records, you have the impression that you listen to something completely new. People who dislike the genre or simply don’t want to hear music that tries to put a smile on your face, probably won’t embrace Fat Freddy’s Drop, because even on record, the band invites you to handclapping and a sultry dance. And it swings, and they are musicians who know what to do with their instruments! Now, where is the sun so we can be completely happy?

Didier BECU
09/12/2016


NL

Reggae uit Nieuw-Zeeland. Het klinkt niet bepaald als een alledaags feit, maar Fat Freddy’s Drop heeft er wel heel het land (alsook Australië) mee veroverd en dankzij de stevige livereputatie staat de band ook regelmatig op (grote) Europese podia. Ook met de platenverkoop gaat het uitstekend, de vorige cd van deze funkmachine (Blackbird) werd in Groot-Brittannië zo maar eventjes 20000 keer verkocht. Op zestien jaar heeft deze band amper vier platen uitgebracht, maar door het intense toeren en via ouderwetse mond-tot-mondreclame raakte hij vrij vlug bekend bij het publiek.

Het leuke aan Fat Freddy’s Drop is dat het gezelschap reggae maakt, maar dat in z'n geluid tevens techno mixt (Razor is daar een mooi voorbeeld van) waardoor het lijkt alsof de zevenkoppige band, die onder leiding staat van DJ Fitchie (Mu voor de vrienden), het genre heruitvindt. Het klinkt allemaal uiterst relaxt, maar dankzij de blazers die eerder uit oude soulplaten komen, heb je toch het gevoel dat je naar iets volledig nieuws luistert.

Mensen die een grondige hekel aan het genre hebben of gewoon geen zin hebben in muziek die probeert om een glimlach op je gelaat te toveren, hebben wellicht geen boodschap aan Fat Freddy’s Drop, want zelfs op plaat lijkt het alsof deze band je wil uitnodigen tot handgeklap en een zwoel dansje. Maar het swingt als geen ander, en het zijn muzikanten die weten waarvoor een instrument dient! Nu nog de zon erbij en we zijn voor een tijdje gelukkig!

Didier BECU
09/12/2016


Music reviews

05
09
FOXY
X-Ray Spex Tribute
04
09
GRENDEL
Ascending The Abyss
03
09
SUICIDE COMMANDO
Hellraiser
03
09
W - FEST, AUG 18TH 2019
24
08
MEAGER BENEFITS
Crawling
23
08
PREEMPTIVE STRIKE 0.1
Harbringer

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

06
09
KLONE RELEASE NEW SINGLE “HIDDEN PASSENGER” FROM FORTHCOMING ALBUM LE GRAND VOYAGE
05
09
Industrial Rock Band CHMCL STR8JCKT Signs To Cleopatra Records - Wrtchd Thngs Album Details Revealed
05
09
38 years ago, Soft Cell's version of ‘Tainted Love’ reached the number one position in the British hit parade!
29
08
42 years ago Iggy Pop released Lust for Life (29th August 1977)
22
08
The Cassandra Complex & Die Krupps to headline BIMFEST 2019!
14
08
Electro-Industrial Band NEON INSECT Announces The Release Of New Moscow Underground

Concert reviews

21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019
15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

11
09
NOTNOTICE
I Like When There Are Noise Collages In The Music
08
09
ALEXA HUNTER(DISTURBED FURNITURE)
'Love or hate us, we are gonna kick out the jams while we still can!'
06
09
DAVID WM.SIMS(UNFACT,THE JESUS LIZARD,SCRATCH ACID)
'We had a great personal chemistry within the band!'
15
08
SPANKTHENUN
An Interview With Electro-Industrial Artist SPANKTHENUN
13
08
AHMED SALEH ABOUT EXPERIMENTAL/INDUSTRIAL MUSIC IN AFRICA
People Here Can Get Arrested Because Of Something They Posted On Social Media!

PHOTOS

18
09
NEAR METH EXPERIENCE
Zappa Antwerpen
17
09
WAYNE HUSSEY SALAD DAZE TOUR
Movie Bielefeld
17
09
ASHTON NYTE SALAD DAZE BIELEFED WITH WAYNE HUSSEY
Movie Bielefeld
07
09
THE SPIRITUAL BAT
Le Garage Luik
25
08
BORGHESIA
Poppodium Nieuwe Nor Heerlen
14
08
SECRET GARDEN
Donkey Rock Festival Selange
13
08
TRISOMIE 21
Donkey Rock Festival Selange

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

18
09
MIEL NOIR
L’ennemi
17
09
PRECIOUS CHILD
My Little Problem
16
09
PRECIOUS CHILD
Magic is Real
15
09
TAINA
Seelenfresser [Zardonic Remix]
14
09
TALK TALK
It´s My Life
13
09
DRAB MAJESTY
Too Soon To Tell
12
09
NINE INCH NAILS
Burning Bright (Field On Fire)