tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

09/12/2016 : FAT FREDDY'S DROP - Bays

FAT FREDDY'S DROP

Bays

MusicCD
ReggaeSoulTechno

[74/100]   

V2
09/12/2016, Didier BECU

EN

Reggae from New Zealand. It obviously sounds weird, but Fat Freddy's Drop conquered its home country (and Australia too) with it, and thanks to its excellent live reputation, the band is a regular guest on (large) European stages. The record sales are super as well. 20,000 copies of the previous CD (Blackbird) were sold in Britain. Over a period of sixteen years, this band released four albums only, but because of intense touring, they were quickly known by the public.

The nice thing about Fat Freddy's Drop is that the band makes reggae, but it adds techno to it (Razor is a good example), and so it feels like the seven-piece band, led by DJ Fitchie (or Mu), is reinventing the genre.

It all sounds very laid back, but thanks to the horn sounds, which seem to come from old soul records, you have the impression that you listen to something completely new. People who dislike the genre or simply don’t want to hear music that tries to put a smile on your face, probably won’t embrace Fat Freddy’s Drop, because even on record, the band invites you to handclapping and a sultry dance. And it swings, and they are musicians who know what to do with their instruments! Now, where is the sun so we can be completely happy?

Didier BECU
09/12/2016


NL

Reggae uit Nieuw-Zeeland. Het klinkt niet bepaald als een alledaags feit, maar Fat Freddy’s Drop heeft er wel heel het land (alsook Australië) mee veroverd en dankzij de stevige livereputatie staat de band ook regelmatig op (grote) Europese podia. Ook met de platenverkoop gaat het uitstekend, de vorige cd van deze funkmachine (Blackbird) werd in Groot-Brittannië zo maar eventjes 20000 keer verkocht. Op zestien jaar heeft deze band amper vier platen uitgebracht, maar door het intense toeren en via ouderwetse mond-tot-mondreclame raakte hij vrij vlug bekend bij het publiek.

Het leuke aan Fat Freddy’s Drop is dat het gezelschap reggae maakt, maar dat in z'n geluid tevens techno mixt (Razor is daar een mooi voorbeeld van) waardoor het lijkt alsof de zevenkoppige band, die onder leiding staat van DJ Fitchie (Mu voor de vrienden), het genre heruitvindt. Het klinkt allemaal uiterst relaxt, maar dankzij de blazers die eerder uit oude soulplaten komen, heb je toch het gevoel dat je naar iets volledig nieuws luistert.

Mensen die een grondige hekel aan het genre hebben of gewoon geen zin hebben in muziek die probeert om een glimlach op je gelaat te toveren, hebben wellicht geen boodschap aan Fat Freddy’s Drop, want zelfs op plaat lijkt het alsof deze band je wil uitnodigen tot handgeklap en een zwoel dansje. Maar het swingt als geen ander, en het zijn muzikanten die weten waarvoor een instrument dient! Nu nog de zon erbij en we zijn voor een tijdje gelukkig!

Didier BECU
09/12/2016


Music reviews

11
07
CONTAINER 90
Friendship and love
10
07
ENZO KREFT
Control
09
07
HOCICO
Artificial Extinction
04
07
MECHANIMAL
White Flag Single
14
06
CABINET OF MILLIONAIRES
Theresa, Vol.3 Ep
13
06
DEF ROBOT
Makers Of Mountains

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

18
07
Today it’s 31 years since Siouxsie & The Banshees released their single Peek-a-Boo.
18
07
Today, exactly 39 years ago, Joy Division released their second and final studio album, Closer.
17
07
Electronic/Industrial Bass Artist SINthetik Messiah Announces The Release of Their Single 'Black Sheep'
16
07
Electronic Act THE BRUTE: Announces New LONESOME HERO/AND I WANT YOU Split Single & Video
15
07
New Peek-a-Boo Magazine #34 out now!
15
07
PINK TURNS ANNOUNCES REISSUES OF FIRST ALBUMS + TOUR 2019

Concert reviews

14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019
15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

16
07
MARK DEUTROM (CLOWN ALLEY/THE MELVINS)
' I felt like I needed to make a solo-record at that time!'
15
07
STEVE DIGGLE (BUZZCOCKS)
'We were writing from the heart and soul!'
08
07
TODD TRAINER (SHELLAC)
'My attitude has always been to be original and unique!'
06
07
BOB BERT (PUSSY GALORE, LYDIA LUNCH RETROVIRUS, EX-SONIC YOUTH,...)
'One man’s noise is another man’s symphony!'
02
07
TEST DEPARTMENT
THE 80s WERE AN AMAZING TIME FOR MUSICAL DEVELOPMENT

PHOTOS

19
07
SILENT RUNNERS
Blue Shell Köln
17
07
JOY/DISASTER
Blue Shell Köln
17
07
JOY/DISASTER
Blue Shell Köln
16
07
IAMTHESHADOW
Blue Shell Köln
16
07
IAMTHESHADOW
Blue Shell Köln
16
07
CRYING VESSEL
Blue Shell Köln
10
07
CEPHALGY
Parkhaus Duisburg

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

21
07
MINUIT MACHINE
BATTLES
20
07
THE LUST SYNDICATE
Death moves towards us
19
07
FIELDS OF THE NEPHILIM
Moonchild
18
07
AMBASSADOR21
FUCKALLSYSTEMS
17
07
THIS CAN HURT
Worlds Apart
16
07
RABIA SORDA
Deaf
15
07
GUS GUS
Deep Inside