tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

09/12/2016 : FAT FREDDY'S DROP - Bays

FAT FREDDY'S DROP

Bays

MusicCD
ReggaeSoulTechno

[74/100]   

V2
09/12/2016, Didier BECU

EN

Reggae from New Zealand. It obviously sounds weird, but Fat Freddy's Drop conquered its home country (and Australia too) with it, and thanks to its excellent live reputation, the band is a regular guest on (large) European stages. The record sales are super as well. 20,000 copies of the previous CD (Blackbird) were sold in Britain. Over a period of sixteen years, this band released four albums only, but because of intense touring, they were quickly known by the public.

The nice thing about Fat Freddy's Drop is that the band makes reggae, but it adds techno to it (Razor is a good example), and so it feels like the seven-piece band, led by DJ Fitchie (or Mu), is reinventing the genre.

It all sounds very laid back, but thanks to the horn sounds, which seem to come from old soul records, you have the impression that you listen to something completely new. People who dislike the genre or simply don’t want to hear music that tries to put a smile on your face, probably won’t embrace Fat Freddy’s Drop, because even on record, the band invites you to handclapping and a sultry dance. And it swings, and they are musicians who know what to do with their instruments! Now, where is the sun so we can be completely happy?

Didier BECU
09/12/2016


NL

Reggae uit Nieuw-Zeeland. Het klinkt niet bepaald als een alledaags feit, maar Fat Freddy’s Drop heeft er wel heel het land (alsook Australië) mee veroverd en dankzij de stevige livereputatie staat de band ook regelmatig op (grote) Europese podia. Ook met de platenverkoop gaat het uitstekend, de vorige cd van deze funkmachine (Blackbird) werd in Groot-Brittannië zo maar eventjes 20000 keer verkocht. Op zestien jaar heeft deze band amper vier platen uitgebracht, maar door het intense toeren en via ouderwetse mond-tot-mondreclame raakte hij vrij vlug bekend bij het publiek.

Het leuke aan Fat Freddy’s Drop is dat het gezelschap reggae maakt, maar dat in z'n geluid tevens techno mixt (Razor is daar een mooi voorbeeld van) waardoor het lijkt alsof de zevenkoppige band, die onder leiding staat van DJ Fitchie (Mu voor de vrienden), het genre heruitvindt. Het klinkt allemaal uiterst relaxt, maar dankzij de blazers die eerder uit oude soulplaten komen, heb je toch het gevoel dat je naar iets volledig nieuws luistert.

Mensen die een grondige hekel aan het genre hebben of gewoon geen zin hebben in muziek die probeert om een glimlach op je gelaat te toveren, hebben wellicht geen boodschap aan Fat Freddy’s Drop, want zelfs op plaat lijkt het alsof deze band je wil uitnodigen tot handgeklap en een zwoel dansje. Maar het swingt als geen ander, en het zijn muzikanten die weten waarvoor een instrument dient! Nu nog de zon erbij en we zijn voor een tijdje gelukkig!

Didier BECU
09/12/2016


Music reviews

27
06
BALVANERA
Courses of Action
14
06
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Gift For You
10
06
SAMHAIN
Experiment
09
06
CELESTIAL NORTH
When The Gods Dance
12
05
SHE HATES EMOTIONS
Space and time
11
05
THIS CAN HURT
A Darker Shade Of Blue

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

29
06
Canadian Label Dem Modest Kids Unveils Into The Coldwave Compilation Highlighting Alberta - Based Alternative Artists
29
06
Dark Pop Artist Lia Hide Addresses Emotional Struggle With Plato-Inspired LP
28
06
Ayria releases new single Irreplaceable on Artoffact Records
28
06
The Number H Explores Loss & Regret With New EP, 'The Conditioning'
16
06
44 years ago Suicide performed their legendary '23 minutes over Brussels'!
15
06
Roobanok: new talent on SkyQode

Concert reviews

14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.
20
04
NINO SABLE
I am not a friend of boxed content...
13
04
ECHO ROAD
'There was no easy way or any shortcut to be taken in terms of producing something truly representative of the human experience. We simply had to ‘just do it'.'

PHOTOS

29
06
VNV NATION
Sinner's Day Oostende
29
06
PUBLI IMAGE LIMITED
Sinner's Day Oostende
29
06
NITZER EBB
Sinner's Day Oostende
29
06
TALK TO HER
Sinner's Day Oostende
29
06
DIARY OF DREAMS
Sinner's Day Oostende
29
06
DISORIENTATIONS
Sinner's Day Oostende
29
06
IST IST
Sinner's Day Oostende

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

30
06
FIRST HATE
White Heron
29
06
THIS CAN HURT
High Tide
28
06
GUS GUS
Deep Inside
27
06
MOTOR!K
Stunden (Official Visualizer)
27
06
SEA OF SIN
Synchronize
27
06
MERCIFUL NUNS
Lightwaves
26
06
AMBASSADOR21
FUCKALLSYSTEMS