tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

17/08/2015 : VARIOUS ARTISTS - Front Line Presents Reggae Discomixes

VARIOUS ARTISTS

Front Line Presents Reggae Discomixes

MusicCD
Reggae

[90/100]   

Virgin Records
17/08/2015, Paul PLEDGER

And the reggae compilations keep on coming from the Front Line vaults (and Island - see separate review here) with this concise double CD round-up of the label's most impressive extended mixes. For me, Virgin's skanking offshoot was the UK's superior reggae imprint of the 20th century, with possibly On-u Sound a close second.

Sure, Island had the big boys and hard players all signed up but the depth of Front Line's output is hard to argue against. Their roster had an earthy honesty throughout and despite not gracing our then rather dull radio too often, save for the odd Peel appearance, there is much to savour here.

The most familiar names rub shoulders with one-offs and newbies like one big family and you'd swear that most of the discomixes here might have been hits in another life. Dr Alimantado's Find The One, U Brown's tuffest River John Mountain and I Roy's basement banger Fire in a Wire resonate like little Caribbean earthquakes, bass-lines on a seismic scale, social roots newsflashes and stories of a bygone age that isn't so bygone in 2015.

For some light relief head to the gorgeous Cairo, performed here by Joyella Blade but later covered by tropical popsters Amazulu and Bananarama - Blade's version is the ultimate and here is presented in unreleased glued-together form. There's also the rare 12" version of Gregory Isaac's inimitably smooth and soulful Permanent Lover and, perhaps one of Front Line's most cruelly ignored crooners Delroy Washington delivering You Know I Want To Be.

No duff tracks, perhaps a couple that don't quite rank and skank with the best of them but whatever, Reggae Discomixes is tuffer than tuff.

This review also appeared also on Flipside Reviews.

Paul PLEDGER
17/08/2015


Music reviews

27
06
BALVANERA
Courses of Action
14
06
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Gift For You
10
06
SAMHAIN
Experiment
09
06
CELESTIAL NORTH
When The Gods Dance
12
05
SHE HATES EMOTIONS
Space and time
11
05
THIS CAN HURT
A Darker Shade Of Blue

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

16
06
44 years ago Suicide performed their legendary '23 minutes over Brussels'!
15
06
Roobanok: new talent on SkyQode
15
06
Today it’s exactly 43 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).
14
06
Industrial band, The Royal Ritual addresses organized religion ethics with debut LP, /Martyrs/
14
06
TELESKOP releases new EP on Progress Productions
13
06
Toxikk Deception releases new album through DSBP Records

Concert reviews

14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.
20
04
NINO SABLE
I am not a friend of boxed content...
13
04
ECHO ROAD
'There was no easy way or any shortcut to be taken in terms of producing something truly representative of the human experience. We simply had to ‘just do it'.'

PHOTOS

27
06
THE MISSION
Live am See Meschede Germany
23
06
THE JESUS & MARY CHAIN
Trix Antwerpen
22
06
MONROE SUPPORT ALICE COOPER
Mitsubishi Electric Halle Düsseldorf
22
06
ALICE COOPER
Mitsubishi Electric Halle Düsseldorf
21
06
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
AB Brussel
19
06
GARY NUMAN
New Waves Day Oberhausen
19
06
PINK TURNS BLUE
New Waves Day Oberhausen

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

27
06
MOTOR!K
Stunden (Official Visualizer)
27
06
SEA OF SIN
Synchronize
27
06
MERCIFUL NUNS
Lightwaves
26
06
AMBASSADOR21
FUCKALLSYSTEMS
25
06
CIRCLE OF DUST
Outside In
24
06
LUH
Beneath The Concrete
23
06
EARTHSET
SO WHAT!?