tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this vinyl review

11/12/2016 : GRANDCHAOS - Memories

GRANDCHAOS

Memories

MusicVinyl
EBMElectronicsMinimalTechno

[79/100]   

Urgence Disk Records
11/12/2016, Didier BECU

EN

Fans of alternative electronic music will certainly be familiar with Grandchaos, the musical alter ego of the Belgian Russian Tcheleskov Ivanovitch who has been around since the 80s. Older music fans will remember Ivanovitch's Dans L'Ombre, the first act of this musician who released a couple of tapes. Afterwards he chose to start Grandchaos, a project that was sometimes interrupted becasue he was also involved in Signal Aout 42 with Jacky Meurisse.

Apparently, Tcheleskov is in a very creative period because Grandchaos released three items this month. The 12" Memories (on orange vinyl, which looks quite nice) includes four remixes of Memories Is A Poison. We hear a lot of readers sigh already, but fear not, the remixes are so selected that you get an extremely varied sound.

Those who have a preference for the dance floor, will undoubtedly like the remix of Noamm. The rhythm is a blast with menacing synths that come from the new beat era, with some strong EBM vocals. Music for the alternative disco, but you also enjoy it at home.

The remix by artiOm explores other forms of electronics. The beats are retained, even a bit inflated, but this is more like minimal techno with an experimental edge. Simon Carter, who provides the third remix, makes it (as expected) rougher. You can’t say it’s harsh electro, but it goes into that direction.

Finally, there is the version of 14 Anger, which is the most interesting, but as a result of its industrial sound it is also the least accessible track. Top record, we say!

Didier BECU
11/12/2016


NL

Liefhebbers van alternatieve elektronische muziek zijn zeker vertrouwd met Grandchaos, het muzikale alter ego van de Belgische Rus Tcheleskov Ivanovitch, die al sinds de jaren 80 bezig is. Oudere lezers zullen zich misschien Ivanovitch Dans L’Ombre nog herinneren, de act waarmee deze muzikant een paar tapes uitbracht. Nadien koos hij voor Grandchaos, een project dat soms is onderbroken omdat hij samen met Jacky Meurisse ook bij Signal Aout 42 is betrokken

Blijkbaar zit Tcheleskov in een zeer creatieve periode, want Grandchaos bracht niet minder dan drie releases uit deze maand. Op oranje vinyl (wat eigenlijk best mooi oogt) komt Memories uit. In feite gaat het om 4 remixes van Memories Is A Poison. We zien nu al heel wat lezers zuchten, maar vrees niet, de remixes zijn zo gekozen dat deze maxi uiterst gevarieerd klinkt.

Wie het graag netjes op de dansvloer houdt, zal ongetwijfeld de remix van Noamm verkiezen. Het ritme ligt meteen goed met dreigende synths die uit het newbeattijdperk stammen en gebracht met gebalde EBM-vocals. Muziek voor de alternatieve disco, maar je hebt er thuis minstens evenveel plezier aan.

De remix van artiOm verkent andere oorden. De beats blijven behouden en worden zelfs wat opgedreven, toch hoor je hier meer minimale techno met een experimenteel kantje. Simon Carter, die voor de derde remix zorgt, maakt het zoals verwacht wat ruiger. Harsh elektro kan je het niet noemen, wel gaat het die richting uit.

Ten slotte is er de bewerking van 14 Anger, die de meest interessante is, maar door zijn industrial geluid is het ook de minst toegankelijke track. In Nederland zou men dit als een geil schijfje bestempelen, laten wij het op een topplaat houden.

Didier BECU
11/12/2016


 

Next reviews
PET SHOP BOYS • Super
MAD ABOUT MOUNTAINS • Radio Harlaz
MESH • Looking Skyward
BLACK MARBLE • It's Immaterial
DR. ARTHUR KRAUSE • The Only Time She Moves
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Sharon Signs To Cherry Red (Independent Women 1979-1985)
IAN REVELL (DOUBLE EYELID) • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
MOON WORSHIP • Book of Pops
NOVEMBER NOVELET • Unintended By Nature (The Singles 1994-2012 + Bonus Material)
ERIK BLOOD • Lost In Slow Motion

 

Other reviews from GRANDCHAOS
GRANDCHAOS • Rumours Of My Life
GRANDCHAOS • Refuge

 

Same genre: EBM
ALVAR • I Sew A Blanket Of All The Broken Clouds
NEGANT • No !
STRUCK9 • Ritual Body Music
LEDERMAN / DE MEYER • A Tribe Of My Own
DARKNESS ON DEMAND • Back To Psychoburbia
STIN SCATZOR • Industranquilizer
VIKTOR KALIMA • Club Muscle
STRONG PRODUCT • Product III
METAL DISCO • Devil Explicit
HOCICO, FROZEN AUTUMN, SUFFOCATING MINDS, SOLITARY EXPERIMENTS, T.O.Y., MANOK, STRONG PRODUCT, UNITY ONE • XV Synthetic Snow Festival Moscow

 

Same genre: ELECTRONICS
CHRIS WATSON • Locations Processed
FERAL BODY • Chain Ritual
ORNAMENTI D'ORO • Mater Tenebrarum
THE TEAR GARDEN • The Brown Acid Caveat
THE ART OF NOISE • In Visible Silence
KRAFTWERK • 3-D Catalogue
DER PLAN • Unkapitulierbar
BESTIAL MOUTHS • (Still) Heartless
PIETER VERMEYEN • Inuit
AUTOMAT • OstWest

 

Same genre: MINIMAL
SEMIOTICS DEPARTMENT OF HETERONYMS • Semiotics Department of Heteronyms
VIOLENCE • Le Flux de la Nature
CONSPIRACY COVEN • Conspiracy Coven
DARK DOOR • Inferno
FACTICE FACTORY • Lines & Parallels
PARADOX OBSCUR • Artifact
IVANKOVA • Ivankovà EP
MESSIER 39 • Venus Eclipse
STAATSEINDE • Neue Zyklus
BETA EVERS + SPATIAL RELATION • Split EP

 

Same genre: TECHNO
PLEASURE TIME • Years About Us
LIE DETECTOR • To Fly!
XOSAR • Xymeria
PRESENCE I OF I MIND • Pure
MIRLAND • Greyscale Controller (charity-EP)
FACTORY FLOOR • 25 25
CLOCK DVA • Neoteric MiniMax
AUTOGEN • Antigen
AXIOME • L’avenir est un cerf teint
WIELORYB • Semantik

Music reviews

22
10
VEDA RAYS
For The Rest To Rest
20
10
PHANTOM OF THE BLACK HILLS
Scalped
19
10
CHRIS WATSON
Locations Processed
18
10
COLE VARGAS
Cole Vargas
16
10
DAVID BOWIE
Low, Heroes, Lodger
15
10
ALVAR
I Sew A Blanket Of All The Broken Clouds

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

20
10
CHRISTIAN DEATH Announces Headlining USA East Coast Tour Dates
19
10
Ancient Greek folk ensemble DAEMONIA NYMPHE have announced the re-release of acclaimed album Psychostasia!
18
10
Dive re-releases his fourth studio album 'Snakedressed' on double vinyl
18
10
'Write When You Get Work' screening at Philadelphia Film Festival this weekend - watch the trailer here!
17
10
Belgian post-punk outfit Whispering Sons has announced their long-awaited debut album 'Image'!
16
10
KOLLAPS ANNOUNCES EUROPEAN TOUR 2018

Concert reviews

24
09
MODELE MARTIAL - AUTOPSIE D'UNE OMBRE - IAMTHESHADOW
B52 - Eernegem - 14/09/2018
14
08
WAVE GOTIK TREFFEN
Review from WGT 2018, Leipzig, Germany
10
08
GOLDEN EARRING + THE KIDS
Live at Zulzeekse Feesten, Kluisbergen - Belgium - 28.07.2018
16
07
COVENANT W/ STONEBURNER
Live @ Ivy Smokehouse, Washington DC, 15th April 2018
24
05
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live at De Casino, Sint-Niklaas - Belgium - 05.05.2018
19
04
SCORPIONS
Live at Vorst Nationaal - Belgium - 04.04.2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

22
10
DAVID J
Interview with David J
20
10
TRASH DEITY
Trash Dialog: An Interview With Groovie Mann & John Norton of Trash Deity
19
10
SONOLOGYST
A ‘Vertical’ Approach To Music
18
10
MERZBOW
Interview with Masami Akita (Merzbow)
17
10
ALVAR
The trend of 2018 has been 303´s - we sold ours!

PHOTOS

16
10
STIN SCATZOR
Le Garage Luik
16
10
DOGANOV
Le Garage Luik
09
10
NEON ELECTRONICS
JH Wommel, Wommelgem, Belgium
09
10
APPARAAT
JH Wommel, Wommelgem, Belgium
20
09
PERSEPHONE
Théâtre Mercelis Brussels
23
08
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
W-Fest Amougies
23
08
SHE PAST AWAY
W-Fest Amougies

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

22
10
ADULT.
Heartbreak (Live @ MOOGFEST SOUND LAB)
21
10
WE NEVER MET
Come Play With Fire
20
10
RROYCE
The Principle Of Grace
19
10
DEATH KOOLAID
Kids
18
10
PRECIOUS CHILD
Hollow
17
10
VNV NATION
When is the Future?
17
10
WARDRUNA
Raido