tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this vinyl review

11/12/2016 : GRANDCHAOS - Memories

GRANDCHAOS

Memories

MusicVinyl
EBMElectronicsMinimalTechno

[79/100]   

Urgence Disk Records
11/12/2016, Didier BECU

EN

Fans of alternative electronic music will certainly be familiar with Grandchaos, the musical alter ego of the Belgian Russian Tcheleskov Ivanovitch who has been around since the 80s. Older music fans will remember Ivanovitch's Dans L'Ombre, the first act of this musician who released a couple of tapes. Afterwards he chose to start Grandchaos, a project that was sometimes interrupted becasue he was also involved in Signal Aout 42 with Jacky Meurisse.

Apparently, Tcheleskov is in a very creative period because Grandchaos released three items this month. The 12" Memories (on orange vinyl, which looks quite nice) includes four remixes of Memories Is A Poison. We hear a lot of readers sigh already, but fear not, the remixes are so selected that you get an extremely varied sound.

Those who have a preference for the dance floor, will undoubtedly like the remix of Noamm. The rhythm is a blast with menacing synths that come from the new beat era, with some strong EBM vocals. Music for the alternative disco, but you also enjoy it at home.

The remix by artiOm explores other forms of electronics. The beats are retained, even a bit inflated, but this is more like minimal techno with an experimental edge. Simon Carter, who provides the third remix, makes it (as expected) rougher. You can’t say it’s harsh electro, but it goes into that direction.

Finally, there is the version of 14 Anger, which is the most interesting, but as a result of its industrial sound it is also the least accessible track. Top record, we say!

Didier BECU
11/12/2016


NL

Liefhebbers van alternatieve elektronische muziek zijn zeker vertrouwd met Grandchaos, het muzikale alter ego van de Belgische Rus Tcheleskov Ivanovitch, die al sinds de jaren 80 bezig is. Oudere lezers zullen zich misschien Ivanovitch Dans L’Ombre nog herinneren, de act waarmee deze muzikant een paar tapes uitbracht. Nadien koos hij voor Grandchaos, een project dat soms is onderbroken omdat hij samen met Jacky Meurisse ook bij Signal Aout 42 is betrokken

Blijkbaar zit Tcheleskov in een zeer creatieve periode, want Grandchaos bracht niet minder dan drie releases uit deze maand. Op oranje vinyl (wat eigenlijk best mooi oogt) komt Memories uit. In feite gaat het om 4 remixes van Memories Is A Poison. We zien nu al heel wat lezers zuchten, maar vrees niet, de remixes zijn zo gekozen dat deze maxi uiterst gevarieerd klinkt.

Wie het graag netjes op de dansvloer houdt, zal ongetwijfeld de remix van Noamm verkiezen. Het ritme ligt meteen goed met dreigende synths die uit het newbeattijdperk stammen en gebracht met gebalde EBM-vocals. Muziek voor de alternatieve disco, maar je hebt er thuis minstens evenveel plezier aan.

De remix van artiOm verkent andere oorden. De beats blijven behouden en worden zelfs wat opgedreven, toch hoor je hier meer minimale techno met een experimenteel kantje. Simon Carter, die voor de derde remix zorgt, maakt het zoals verwacht wat ruiger. Harsh elektro kan je het niet noemen, wel gaat het die richting uit.

Ten slotte is er de bewerking van 14 Anger, die de meest interessante is, maar door zijn industrial geluid is het ook de minst toegankelijke track. In Nederland zou men dit als een geil schijfje bestempelen, laten wij het op een topplaat houden.

Didier BECU
11/12/2016


 

Next reviews
PET SHOP BOYS • Super
MAD ABOUT MOUNTAINS • Radio Harlaz
MESH • Looking Skyward
BLACK MARBLE • It's Immaterial
DR. ARTHUR KRAUSE • The Only Time She Moves
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Sharon Signs To Cherry Red (Independent Women 1979-1985)
IAN REVELL (DOUBLE EYELID) • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
MOON WORSHIP • Book of Pops
NOVEMBER NOVELET • Unintended By Nature (The Singles 1994-2012 + Bonus Material)
ERIK BLOOD • Lost In Slow Motion

 

Other reviews from GRANDCHAOS
GRANDCHAOS • Rumours Of My Life
GRANDCHAOS • Refuge

 

Same genre: EBM
STAATSEINDE • Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
SAMHAIN • Experiment
MICHAEL ZODOROZNY • Other Side
ARMAGEDDON DILDOS • Desctruction
RHYS FULBER • Brutal Nature
ORANGE SECTOR • Alles wird Gold
HERRNIA • Takkewereld
STAATSEINDE • Crazy Earthlings Collab Tape - Episode II
MILDREDA • I was never really there
RADERKRAFT • Dust & Debris

 

Same genre: ELECTRONICS
PORTION CONTROL • SEED EP3
WULF7 • Dark Hate
DEAR DEER / EMBERS • Split
FIRST • Restless
VARIOUS ARTISTS • PERIHELION 2134
GHOSTING • The Flanders EP
THE BLACKHEART ORCHESTRA • Mesmeranto
STATIQBLOOM • Asphyxia
MECHANIMAL • White Flag Single
PAS MUSIQUE • The Phoenix

 

Same genre: MINIMAL
THE ULTIMATE DREAMERS • Live Happily While Waiting For Death
THE RORSCHACH GARDEN • Dangerous Isolation Site
ABSOLUTE BODY CONTROL • A New Dawn
NICHOLAS LENS & NICK CAVE • L.I.T.A.N.I.E.S
MARTIN L. GORE • The Third Chimpanzee E.P.
STURM CAFE • Fernes Land
SYNTET • Hjärtats slag
RUE OBERKAMPF • Negativraum
CAWATANA • In The Silver Light (7')
COLIN EDWIN • POINTS OF ORIGIN

 

Same genre: TECHNO
NEON ELECTRONICS • Apollo
WE ARE THE WAY FOR THE COSMOS TO KNOW ITSELF • Flashbacks
PLEASURE TIME • Years About Us
LIE DETECTOR • To Fly!
XOSAR • Xymeria
PRESENCE I OF I MIND • Pure
MIRLAND • Greyscale Controller (charity-EP)
FACTORY FLOOR • 25 25
CLOCK DVA • Neoteric MiniMax
AUTOGEN • Antigen

Music reviews

27
06
BALVANERA
Courses of Action
14
06
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Gift For You
10
06
SAMHAIN
Experiment
09
06
CELESTIAL NORTH
When The Gods Dance
12
05
SHE HATES EMOTIONS
Space and time
11
05
THIS CAN HURT
A Darker Shade Of Blue

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

03
07
I Wanted To Tell Her 39
02
07
New album from Xenturion Prime on Progress Productions
01
07
Legendary Goth Club ‘The Church’ Featured In Documentary Film
01
07
41 years of Incontinent by Fad Gadget!
30
06
Luscious Apparatus Addresses Rage Control With New Single
29
06
Canadian Label Dem Modest Kids Unveils Into The Coldwave Compilation Highlighting Alberta - Based Alternative Artists

Concert reviews

14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.
20
04
NINO SABLE
I am not a friend of boxed content...
13
04
ECHO ROAD
'There was no easy way or any shortcut to be taken in terms of producing something truly representative of the human experience. We simply had to ‘just do it'.'

PHOTOS

03
07
WARDRUNA NORDIC LIGHT
Amphitheater Gelsenkirchen
30
06
AROMA DI AMORE
Sinner's Day Oostende
30
06
THE STRANGLERS
Sinner's Day Oostende
30
06
STABBING WESTWARD
Sinner's Day Oostende
30
06
MERCIFUL NUNS
Sinner's Day Oostende
30
06
NOSFERATU
Sinner's Day Oostende
30
06
AESTHETIC PERFACTION
Sinner's Day Oostende

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

03
07
SPIRITUAL FRONT
Tenderness Through Violence
02
07
KATE BUSH
And Dream of Sheep
01
07
PJ HARVEY
The Orange Monkey
30
06
FIRST HATE
White Heron
29
06
THIS CAN HURT
High Tide
28
06
GUS GUS
Deep Inside
27
06
MOTOR!K
Stunden (Official Visualizer)