tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this vinyl review

11/12/2016 : GRANDCHAOS - Memories

GRANDCHAOS

Memories

MusicVinyl
EBMElectronicsMinimalTechno

[79/100]   

Urgence Disk Records
11/12/2016, Didier BECU

EN

Fans of alternative electronic music will certainly be familiar with Grandchaos, the musical alter ego of the Belgian Russian Tcheleskov Ivanovitch who has been around since the 80s. Older music fans will remember Ivanovitch's Dans L'Ombre, the first act of this musician who released a couple of tapes. Afterwards he chose to start Grandchaos, a project that was sometimes interrupted becasue he was also involved in Signal Aout 42 with Jacky Meurisse.

Apparently, Tcheleskov is in a very creative period because Grandchaos released three items this month. The 12" Memories (on orange vinyl, which looks quite nice) includes four remixes of Memories Is A Poison. We hear a lot of readers sigh already, but fear not, the remixes are so selected that you get an extremely varied sound.

Those who have a preference for the dance floor, will undoubtedly like the remix of Noamm. The rhythm is a blast with menacing synths that come from the new beat era, with some strong EBM vocals. Music for the alternative disco, but you also enjoy it at home.

The remix by artiOm explores other forms of electronics. The beats are retained, even a bit inflated, but this is more like minimal techno with an experimental edge. Simon Carter, who provides the third remix, makes it (as expected) rougher. You can’t say it’s harsh electro, but it goes into that direction.

Finally, there is the version of 14 Anger, which is the most interesting, but as a result of its industrial sound it is also the least accessible track. Top record, we say!

Didier BECU
11/12/2016


NL

Liefhebbers van alternatieve elektronische muziek zijn zeker vertrouwd met Grandchaos, het muzikale alter ego van de Belgische Rus Tcheleskov Ivanovitch, die al sinds de jaren 80 bezig is. Oudere lezers zullen zich misschien Ivanovitch Dans L’Ombre nog herinneren, de act waarmee deze muzikant een paar tapes uitbracht. Nadien koos hij voor Grandchaos, een project dat soms is onderbroken omdat hij samen met Jacky Meurisse ook bij Signal Aout 42 is betrokken

Blijkbaar zit Tcheleskov in een zeer creatieve periode, want Grandchaos bracht niet minder dan drie releases uit deze maand. Op oranje vinyl (wat eigenlijk best mooi oogt) komt Memories uit. In feite gaat het om 4 remixes van Memories Is A Poison. We zien nu al heel wat lezers zuchten, maar vrees niet, de remixes zijn zo gekozen dat deze maxi uiterst gevarieerd klinkt.

Wie het graag netjes op de dansvloer houdt, zal ongetwijfeld de remix van Noamm verkiezen. Het ritme ligt meteen goed met dreigende synths die uit het newbeattijdperk stammen en gebracht met gebalde EBM-vocals. Muziek voor de alternatieve disco, maar je hebt er thuis minstens evenveel plezier aan.

De remix van artiOm verkent andere oorden. De beats blijven behouden en worden zelfs wat opgedreven, toch hoor je hier meer minimale techno met een experimenteel kantje. Simon Carter, die voor de derde remix zorgt, maakt het zoals verwacht wat ruiger. Harsh elektro kan je het niet noemen, wel gaat het die richting uit.

Ten slotte is er de bewerking van 14 Anger, die de meest interessante is, maar door zijn industrial geluid is het ook de minst toegankelijke track. In Nederland zou men dit als een geil schijfje bestempelen, laten wij het op een topplaat houden.

Didier BECU
11/12/2016


 

Next reviews
PET SHOP BOYS • Super
MAD ABOUT MOUNTAINS • Radio Harlaz
MESH • Looking Skyward
BLACK MARBLE • It's Immaterial
DR. ARTHUR KRAUSE • The Only Time She Moves
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Sharon Signs To Cherry Red (Independent Women 1979-1985)
IAN REVELL (DOUBLE EYELID) • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
MOON WORSHIP • Book of Pops
NOVEMBER NOVELET • Unintended By Nature (The Singles 1994-2012 + Bonus Material)
ERIK BLOOD • Lost In Slow Motion

 

Other reviews from GRANDCHAOS
GRANDCHAOS • Rumours Of My Life
GRANDCHAOS • Refuge

 

Same genre: EBM
PORTION CONTROL • Head Buried
UNITCODE:MACHINE • Paper empires
GHOSTING • The Flanders EP
STRIKKLAND • Predatorial Right
ARMAGEDDON DILDOS • Heut Nacht
POUPPEE FABRIKK • Armèn
REALITY'S DESPAIR • Melancholic Disposition
MISERIA ULTIMA • Graygarden
M73 • Tainted
PLASTIKSTROM • Beton Gegen Angst

 

Same genre: ELECTRONICS
VARIOUS ARTISTS • PERIHELION 2134
THE BLACKHEART ORCHESTRA • Mesmeranto
STATIQBLOOM • Asphyxia
MECHANIMAL • White Flag Single
PAS MUSIQUE • The Phoenix
RADIOAKTIVISTS • Radioakt One
METROLAND • Memorabilia & Memorabilia The Remixes
YOU, VICIOUS! • You, Vicious!
HATCHLING • Alpha
WE ARE THE WAY FOR THE COSMOS TO KNOW ITSELF • Flashbacks

 

Same genre: MINIMAL
SHE HATES EMOTIONS • See The Light (Single)
MORE EPHEMEROL • Obituary Templates
L'AVENIR • Requiem And Live
STAATSEINDE • Dreiheit
MEAGER BENEFITS • Crawling
RADERKRAFT • Smart Control
MANDIVULA • Nonsens
SELOFAN • Vitrioli
SEMIOTICS DEPARTMENT OF HETERONYMS • Semiotics Department of Heteronyms
VIOLENCE • Le Flux de la Nature

 

Same genre: TECHNO
NEON ELECTRONICS • Apollo
PLEASURE TIME • Years About Us
LIE DETECTOR • To Fly!
XOSAR • Xymeria
PRESENCE I OF I MIND • Pure
MIRLAND • Greyscale Controller (charity-EP)
FACTORY FLOOR • 25 25
CLOCK DVA • Neoteric MiniMax
AUTOGEN • Antigen
AXIOME • L’avenir est un cerf teint

Music reviews

03
07
PORTION CONTROL
Head Buried
02
07
AIMA & THE ILLUSION OF SILENCE
Music for certain rituals
28
06
VARIOUS ARTISTS
PERIHELION 2134
24
06
COLD IN MAY
Isolation songs
19
06
UNITCODE:MACHINE
Paper empires
18
06
BLACK NEEDLE NOISE
Seed of Evil

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

04
07
Industrial Band RIOTLEGION Announces The Release Of Machine Liberation
03
07
I Wanted To Tell Her by Ministry turns 37 years this month!
15
06
Today it’s exactly 41 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).
11
06
29 years of Kraftwerk in The Mix
11
06
Sieben covering David Bowie's Heroes live + new CD album 2020 VISION releases this Friday, 12th June!
10
06
29 years of Family Man!

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

04
07
LAIBACH
When they banned Laibach, we said 'great, let's move further'!
27
06
BURTON C.BELL (FEAR FACTORY, ASCENSION OF THE WATCHERS )
'It all comes from my head – whatever I’m feeling, whatever I’m thinking of.'
27
06
RODNEY ORPHEUS / THE CASSANDRA COMPLEX
I Think I’m Still As Revolutionary And Opinionated As Ever...
25
06
THE COLOURS OF SILENCE
Isolation Is Good For Art. Embrace It And Use It
13
06
LAST INFLUENCE OF BRAIN
L.I.O.B. Has Always Been Such A Distraction For Us

PHOTOS

13
03
SIGLO XX
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
ROME
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ROSE OF AVALANCHE
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE DANSE SOCIETY
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ARCH
Porta Nigra Aarschot
11
03
FRONT 242
Pulse Namur Isnes
11
03
SHAARGHOT
Pulse Namur Isnes

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

05
07
GOLDFRAPP
Winter Wonderland
04
07
LORDS OF ACID
I Sit On Acid
03
07
DEAD CAN DANCE
Eleusis
02
07
LIAISONS DANGEREUSES
Los niños del parque
01
07
HORD
Lines
30
06
U.R.A.N.
Geo Logo
29
06
MISS KITTIN
Bassline