tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this vinyl review

11/12/2016 : GRANDCHAOS - Memories

GRANDCHAOS

Memories

MusicVinyl
EBMElectronicsMinimalTechno

[79/100]   

Urgence Disk Records
11/12/2016, Didier BECU

EN

Fans of alternative electronic music will certainly be familiar with Grandchaos, the musical alter ego of the Belgian Russian Tcheleskov Ivanovitch who has been around since the 80s. Older music fans will remember Ivanovitch's Dans L'Ombre, the first act of this musician who released a couple of tapes. Afterwards he chose to start Grandchaos, a project that was sometimes interrupted becasue he was also involved in Signal Aout 42 with Jacky Meurisse.

Apparently, Tcheleskov is in a very creative period because Grandchaos released three items this month. The 12" Memories (on orange vinyl, which looks quite nice) includes four remixes of Memories Is A Poison. We hear a lot of readers sigh already, but fear not, the remixes are so selected that you get an extremely varied sound.

Those who have a preference for the dance floor, will undoubtedly like the remix of Noamm. The rhythm is a blast with menacing synths that come from the new beat era, with some strong EBM vocals. Music for the alternative disco, but you also enjoy it at home.

The remix by artiOm explores other forms of electronics. The beats are retained, even a bit inflated, but this is more like minimal techno with an experimental edge. Simon Carter, who provides the third remix, makes it (as expected) rougher. You can’t say it’s harsh electro, but it goes into that direction.

Finally, there is the version of 14 Anger, which is the most interesting, but as a result of its industrial sound it is also the least accessible track. Top record, we say!

Didier BECU
11/12/2016


NL

Liefhebbers van alternatieve elektronische muziek zijn zeker vertrouwd met Grandchaos, het muzikale alter ego van de Belgische Rus Tcheleskov Ivanovitch, die al sinds de jaren 80 bezig is. Oudere lezers zullen zich misschien Ivanovitch Dans L’Ombre nog herinneren, de act waarmee deze muzikant een paar tapes uitbracht. Nadien koos hij voor Grandchaos, een project dat soms is onderbroken omdat hij samen met Jacky Meurisse ook bij Signal Aout 42 is betrokken

Blijkbaar zit Tcheleskov in een zeer creatieve periode, want Grandchaos bracht niet minder dan drie releases uit deze maand. Op oranje vinyl (wat eigenlijk best mooi oogt) komt Memories uit. In feite gaat het om 4 remixes van Memories Is A Poison. We zien nu al heel wat lezers zuchten, maar vrees niet, de remixes zijn zo gekozen dat deze maxi uiterst gevarieerd klinkt.

Wie het graag netjes op de dansvloer houdt, zal ongetwijfeld de remix van Noamm verkiezen. Het ritme ligt meteen goed met dreigende synths die uit het newbeattijdperk stammen en gebracht met gebalde EBM-vocals. Muziek voor de alternatieve disco, maar je hebt er thuis minstens evenveel plezier aan.

De remix van artiOm verkent andere oorden. De beats blijven behouden en worden zelfs wat opgedreven, toch hoor je hier meer minimale techno met een experimenteel kantje. Simon Carter, die voor de derde remix zorgt, maakt het zoals verwacht wat ruiger. Harsh elektro kan je het niet noemen, wel gaat het die richting uit.

Ten slotte is er de bewerking van 14 Anger, die de meest interessante is, maar door zijn industrial geluid is het ook de minst toegankelijke track. In Nederland zou men dit als een geil schijfje bestempelen, laten wij het op een topplaat houden.

Didier BECU
11/12/2016


 

Next reviews
PET SHOP BOYS • Super
MAD ABOUT MOUNTAINS • Radio Harlaz
MESH • Looking Skyward
BLACK MARBLE • It's Immaterial
DR. ARTHUR KRAUSE • The Only Time She Moves
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Sharon Signs To Cherry Red (Independent Women 1979-1985)
IAN REVELL (DOUBLE EYELID) • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
MOON WORSHIP • Book of Pops
NOVEMBER NOVELET • Unintended By Nature (The Singles 1994-2012 + Bonus Material)
ERIK BLOOD • Lost In Slow Motion

 

Other reviews from GRANDCHAOS
GRANDCHAOS • Rumours Of My Life
GRANDCHAOS • Refuge

 

Same genre: EBM
POUPPEE FABRIKK • Armèn
REALITY'S DESPAIR • Melancholic Disposition
MISERIA ULTIMA • Graygarden
M73 • Tainted
PLASTIKSTROM • Beton Gegen Angst
ELM • Death Of The North
GRENDEL • Ascending The Abyss
PREEMPTIVE STRIKE 0.1 • Harbringer
CABINET OF MILLIONAIRES • Theresa, Vol.3 Ep
MASSIVE EGO • Church For The Malfunctioned

 

Same genre: ELECTRONICS
THE BLACKHEART ORCHESTRA • Mesmeranto
STATIQBLOOM • Asphyxia
MECHANIMAL • White Flag Single
PAS MUSIQUE • The Phoenix
RADIOAKTIVISTS • Radioakt One
METROLAND • Memorabilia & Memorabilia The Remixes
YOU, VICIOUS! • You, Vicious!
HATCHLING • Alpha
WE ARE THE WAY FOR THE COSMOS TO KNOW ITSELF • Flashbacks
CHRIS WATSON • Locations Processed

 

Same genre: MINIMAL
MORE EPHEMEROL • Obituary Templates
L'AVENIR • Requiem And Live
STAATSEINDE • Dreiheit
MEAGER BENEFITS • Crawling
RADERKRAFT • Smart Control
MANDIVULA • Nonsens
SELOFAN • Vitrioli
SEMIOTICS DEPARTMENT OF HETERONYMS • Semiotics Department of Heteronyms
VIOLENCE • Le Flux de la Nature
CONSPIRACY COVEN • Conspiracy Coven

 

Same genre: TECHNO
NEON ELECTRONICS • Apollo
PLEASURE TIME • Years About Us
LIE DETECTOR • To Fly!
XOSAR • Xymeria
PRESENCE I OF I MIND • Pure
MIRLAND • Greyscale Controller (charity-EP)
FACTORY FLOOR • 25 25
CLOCK DVA • Neoteric MiniMax
AUTOGEN • Antigen
AXIOME • L’avenir est un cerf teint

Music reviews

31
03
POUPPEE FABRIKK
Armèn
29
03
CHRISTIAN WOLZ
La Fore
28
03
JIMMY SWEENEY
Without You
27
03
FEU FOLLET
Le champ des morts
18
03
MANNEQUIN
From a distance
16
03
OCTOLAB
Mystery Park

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

29
03
UK Electro-Industrial band BIOMECHANIMAL announces the release of 'Waves': split single with MECHANICAL VEIN
29
03
On this day, 40 years ago, Kraftwerk performed Das Model on German TV.
28
03
On this day, 15 years ago, Nine Inch Nails released 'The Hands That Feeds' single
27
03
Electro-Industrial Artist I YA TOYAH Reveals Latest Video: 'Motion (SKOLD Remix)'
22
03
Today, exactly 31 years ago, Nine Inch Nails released their second single Head Like a Hole!
21
03
No-One Driving since 1980! John Foxx released his second 7' 40 years ago!

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

30
03
JOE BOYD
Producer of Pink Floyd, Nick Drake, Nico, R.E.M, talks about the years of experience and his coming book.
29
03
AMBER TEASER
We Also Like Putting Some Strange Elements In Pop Music
19
03
DYLAN WITTROCK
'Sometimes I just write characters’ thoughts, like journal entries.'
17
03
PREEMPTIVE STRIKE 0.1
‘I Love The Belgian Scene’
14
03
COMMON EIDER, KING EIDER
‘The Dreams Of Capitalism Are Being Revealed As Smoke And Mirrors...

PHOTOS

13
03
SIGLO XX
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
ROME
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ROSE OF AVALANCHE
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE DANSE SOCIETY
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ARCH
Porta Nigra Aarschot
11
03
FRONT 242
Pulse Namur Isnes
11
03
SHAARGHOT
Pulse Namur Isnes

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

31
03
DIVE
Underneath
30
03
NEAR EARTH ORBIT
INTERSTELLAR
29
03
MAYFLOWER MADAME
Vultures (official video)
28
03
EROTIC ELK
Watching You (featuring Karin My)
28
03
DES AMES LIBRES
Enemy
27
03
THE RITUALISTS
I'm With The Painted People (Official Music Video)
26
03
SEGBROEK
Hungry Eyes