tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this vinyl review

11/12/2016 : GRANDCHAOS - Memories

GRANDCHAOS

Memories

MusicVinyl
EBMElectronicsMinimalTechno

[79/100]   

Urgence Disk Records
11/12/2016, Didier BECU

EN

Fans of alternative electronic music will certainly be familiar with Grandchaos, the musical alter ego of the Belgian Russian Tcheleskov Ivanovitch who has been around since the 80s. Older music fans will remember Ivanovitch's Dans L'Ombre, the first act of this musician who released a couple of tapes. Afterwards he chose to start Grandchaos, a project that was sometimes interrupted becasue he was also involved in Signal Aout 42 with Jacky Meurisse.

Apparently, Tcheleskov is in a very creative period because Grandchaos released three items this month. The 12" Memories (on orange vinyl, which looks quite nice) includes four remixes of Memories Is A Poison. We hear a lot of readers sigh already, but fear not, the remixes are so selected that you get an extremely varied sound.

Those who have a preference for the dance floor, will undoubtedly like the remix of Noamm. The rhythm is a blast with menacing synths that come from the new beat era, with some strong EBM vocals. Music for the alternative disco, but you also enjoy it at home.

The remix by artiOm explores other forms of electronics. The beats are retained, even a bit inflated, but this is more like minimal techno with an experimental edge. Simon Carter, who provides the third remix, makes it (as expected) rougher. You can’t say it’s harsh electro, but it goes into that direction.

Finally, there is the version of 14 Anger, which is the most interesting, but as a result of its industrial sound it is also the least accessible track. Top record, we say!

Didier BECU
11/12/2016


NL

Liefhebbers van alternatieve elektronische muziek zijn zeker vertrouwd met Grandchaos, het muzikale alter ego van de Belgische Rus Tcheleskov Ivanovitch, die al sinds de jaren 80 bezig is. Oudere lezers zullen zich misschien Ivanovitch Dans L’Ombre nog herinneren, de act waarmee deze muzikant een paar tapes uitbracht. Nadien koos hij voor Grandchaos, een project dat soms is onderbroken omdat hij samen met Jacky Meurisse ook bij Signal Aout 42 is betrokken

Blijkbaar zit Tcheleskov in een zeer creatieve periode, want Grandchaos bracht niet minder dan drie releases uit deze maand. Op oranje vinyl (wat eigenlijk best mooi oogt) komt Memories uit. In feite gaat het om 4 remixes van Memories Is A Poison. We zien nu al heel wat lezers zuchten, maar vrees niet, de remixes zijn zo gekozen dat deze maxi uiterst gevarieerd klinkt.

Wie het graag netjes op de dansvloer houdt, zal ongetwijfeld de remix van Noamm verkiezen. Het ritme ligt meteen goed met dreigende synths die uit het newbeattijdperk stammen en gebracht met gebalde EBM-vocals. Muziek voor de alternatieve disco, maar je hebt er thuis minstens evenveel plezier aan.

De remix van artiOm verkent andere oorden. De beats blijven behouden en worden zelfs wat opgedreven, toch hoor je hier meer minimale techno met een experimenteel kantje. Simon Carter, die voor de derde remix zorgt, maakt het zoals verwacht wat ruiger. Harsh elektro kan je het niet noemen, wel gaat het die richting uit.

Ten slotte is er de bewerking van 14 Anger, die de meest interessante is, maar door zijn industrial geluid is het ook de minst toegankelijke track. In Nederland zou men dit als een geil schijfje bestempelen, laten wij het op een topplaat houden.

Didier BECU
11/12/2016


 

Next reviews
PET SHOP BOYS • Super
MAD ABOUT MOUNTAINS • Radio Harlaz
MESH • Looking Skyward
BLACK MARBLE • It's Immaterial
DR. ARTHUR KRAUSE • The Only Time She Moves
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Sharon Signs To Cherry Red (Independent Women 1979-1985)
IAN REVELL (DOUBLE EYELID) • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
MOON WORSHIP • Book of Pops
NOVEMBER NOVELET • Unintended By Nature (The Singles 1994-2012 + Bonus Material)
ERIK BLOOD • Lost In Slow Motion

 

Other reviews from GRANDCHAOS
GRANDCHAOS • Rumours Of My Life
GRANDCHAOS • Refuge

 

Same genre: EBM
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY • Eye On You (Feat. Robert Görl)
SADOMANCER • Dystopian Dawn
EMPIRION • I Am Electronic / Red Noise
KNK • Dead Body Music III
ALVAR • I Sew A Blanket Of All The Broken Clouds
NEGANT • No !
STRUCK9 • Ritual Body Music
LEDERMAN / DE MEYER • A Tribe Of My Own
DARKNESS ON DEMAND • Back To Psychoburbia
STIN SCATZOR • Industranquilizer

 

Same genre: ELECTRONICS
METROLAND • Memorabilia & Memorabilia The Remixes
YOU, VICIOUS! • You, Vicious!
HATCHLING • Alpha
WE ARE THE WAY FOR THE COSMOS TO KNOW ITSELF • Flashbacks
CHRIS WATSON • Locations Processed
FERAL BODY • Chain Ritual
ORNAMENTI D'ORO • Mater Tenebrarum
VIKTOR KALIMA • Club Muscle
THE TEAR GARDEN • The Brown Acid Caveat
THE ART OF NOISE • In Visible Silence

 

Same genre: MINIMAL
SEMIOTICS DEPARTMENT OF HETERONYMS • Semiotics Department of Heteronyms
VIOLENCE • Le Flux de la Nature
CONSPIRACY COVEN • Conspiracy Coven
DARK DOOR • Inferno
FACTICE FACTORY • Lines & Parallels
PARADOX OBSCUR • Artifact
IVANKOVA • Ivankovà EP
MESSIER 39 • Venus Eclipse
STAATSEINDE • Neue Zyklus
BETA EVERS + SPATIAL RELATION • Split EP

 

Same genre: TECHNO
PLEASURE TIME • Years About Us
LIE DETECTOR • To Fly!
XOSAR • Xymeria
PRESENCE I OF I MIND • Pure
MIRLAND • Greyscale Controller (charity-EP)
FACTORY FLOOR • 25 25
CLOCK DVA • Neoteric MiniMax
AUTOGEN • Antigen
AXIOME • L’avenir est un cerf teint
WIELORYB • Semantik

Music reviews

08
12
NEON TZIGANE
Del Wesh
07
12
FROSTTIDE
Decedents – Enshrined
06
12
MIREXXX
Vault
23
11
JO QUAIL
Exsolve
22
11
SADOMANCER
Dystopian Dawn
20
11
METROLAND
Memorabilia & Memorabilia The Remixes

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

10
12
On this day, 39 years ago John Peel broadcasted Joy Division's 2nd Peel Sessions!
09
12
SID VICIOUS, A Christmas Story | 41-Years Ago The Pistols Deliver Christmas
08
12
Today, 40 years ago, Public Image released its debut album First issue!
08
12
Celebration Of The Lizard | Today Is Jim Morrison’s 75th-Birthday
06
12
Ever Fallen In love? | A Tribute To Pete Shelley (17/4/1955-06/12/18)
06
12
BodyBeats announces complete and 100% Swedish line-up for International EBM day!

Concert reviews

16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018
24
09
MODELE MARTIAL - AUTOPSIE D'UNE OMBRE - IAMTHESHADOW
B52 - Eernegem - 14/09/2018
14
08
WAVE GOTIK TREFFEN
Review from WGT 2018, Leipzig, Germany
10
08
GOLDEN EARRING + THE KIDS
Live at Zulzeekse Feesten, Kluisbergen - Belgium - 28.07.2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

10
12
THE BLADES
Too Late To Stop Now! | The Return Of The Blades - An Interview With Paul Cleary
05
12
NOIRE ANTIDOTE
'Negative etiquette' resemblance the negative sides of human behaviour but more translated into a feeling.
24
11
DOPPELGANGER
'We are goths, and we only remember the sad stories :)'
22
11
PAUL LEARY (THE COCKY BITCHES,BUTTHOLE SURFERS)
'My mind has a jukebox that I cannot unplug.'
19
11
THE NAMES
We're lucky to have everyone still alive and well, unlike many of our friends of Factory records.

PHOTOS

03
12
WHISPERING SONS
Sinner's Day Genk
03
12
JOHN CALE
Sinner's Day Genk
03
12
RED ZEBRA
Sinner's Day Genk
03
12
GANG OF FOUR
Sinner's Day Genk
02
12
FISCHER Z
Sinner's Day Genk
02
12
COCAINE PISS
Sinner's Day Genk
02
12
DE BRASSERS
Sinner's Day Genk

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

12
12
E-SOCIETY
E-Society
11
12
FUNKER VOGT
Feel the Pain
10
12
THE VIOLENT YOUTH
Rabota (my life is a job)
09
12
0KONTROL
Lullaby
08
12
DICEPEOPLE
Somebody to Love
08
12
RAMPLINGG
Set My Heart
07
12
KATATONIA
Old Heart Falls