tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd (ep) review

10/12/2016 : CLOCK DVA - Neoteric MiniMax

CLOCK DVA

Neoteric MiniMax

MusicCD (EP)
IndustrialTechno

[96/100]   

Armcomm
10/12/2016, John R. MIRLAND

ClockDVA (Adi Newton and TeZ) presents the new ep Neoteric as what so far seems to be a CD only release through the bands label ARMComm (Anterior Research Media Communications).

ClockDVA always were the true descendants of Kraftwerk continuing the evolution of the machinist yet organic sound designs of the German forefathers even if ClockDVA never experienced the commercial succes the band so deserves.

ClockDVA’s universe is littered with sci-fi eroticism often presented alongside visuals pointing back in time to a futurist imagery in the art historic sense. The visuals are always tight and well executed. Now why comment on this ? Because ClockDVA is a collective audio/visual experience. Those who’ve experienced ClockDVA live will know what I mean. Listening to ClockDVA also demands a focused listening session. It is not background music.

The first track Neoteric builds on a pounding beat, a repeating theme and small variations like the bass and pads coming in and out of the soundstage. The sound is classic ClockDVA as it has been since Buried in Dreams or Man-Amplified with the spoken word qualities of Adi Newtons voice drenched in reverb. Yet the sound does evolve. The ClockDVA of 2016 is bigger and more powerful.

Second track Sentinel is a slowly evolving piece of space travel beginning with a distant breathing. Clocking in at 10:48 minutes it is long but not a second too long at that. Sentinel’s first part has small traits of middle eastern sounds with an almost 70’s like organ carried theme that sounds untypical in it’s seemingly improvised presentation. Approximately 5 mins into the track a bass sweep emerges from the background like a passing space ship and the track goes into it’s second part with a faster bassline and distant bell arpeggio. Jean Michel Jarre or Klaus Schultze would love this. As the second part evolves small bits of percussion fill out the soundstage and the universe unfolds.

Closing track Immission continues the feeling of space travel with a droning background as sweeps go back and forth and a bass pulse repeating itself while the track slowly progresses. Like on Sentinel a few samples towards the end are the only vocals on this track.

This is an almost perfect three-track release in every aspect and the only reason it’s not getting a full 100 point is I believe ClockDVA has the ability to evolve even further.

John R. MIRLAND
10/12/2016


 

Next reviews
HAUTVILLE • Mater Dolorosa
MARIO USAI (CLAN OF XYMOX) • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
FABRICE RAJNA (FACTICE FACTORY) • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
DECODED FEEDBACK • Dark Passenger
LET'S EAT GRANDMA • I, Gemini
THE ASSOCIATES • The Affectionate Punch
AMBASSADOR 21 • Revelation
A-WA • Habib Galbi
BOOTBLACKS • Veins
DOUBLE ECHO • Ancient Youth

 

Same combination of genres: INDUSTRIAL + TECHNO
AUTOGEN • Antigen
AXIOME • L’avenir est un cerf teint
BLUSH RESPONSE • Reshaper
ENTRZELLE, STUDIO-X VS SIMON CARTER, THE PSYCHIC FORCE, XMH, ZOMBIE GIRL • EP
CABARET VOLTAIRE, CARTER TUTTI & ANDY STOTT • Paris, Villette Sonique (24/05/2015)
14ANGER • Hasta EP
ANTIGEN SHIFT • Brotherhood
KAIBUN • Illogism
SUICIDE COMMANDO, SOMAN, AESTHETIC PERFECTION, SAM, XP8, C-LEKKTOR & SURGYN • Vampireparty Live, 6/4/2013, Petrol, Antwerpen, Belgium
ANTYTHESYS • Over Dose

 

Same genre: INDUSTRIAL
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
GROOVENOM • Wir müssen reden
NEON ELECTRONICS • Apollo
VARIOUS ARTISTS • A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION
DIVE • Live Maschinenfest 2017
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY • Eye On You (Feat. Robert Görl)
KLANGWELT • The Incident
FOXXXY MULDER • Heretic
KAISER IMAGO • The Whisper Of Darkness
KNK • Dead Body Music III

 

Same genre: TECHNO
WE ARE THE WAY FOR THE COSMOS TO KNOW ITSELF • Flashbacks
PLEASURE TIME • Years About Us
LIE DETECTOR • To Fly!
XOSAR • Xymeria
PRESENCE I OF I MIND • Pure
MIRLAND • Greyscale Controller (charity-EP)
FACTORY FLOOR • 25 25
GRANDCHAOS • Memories
WIELORYB • Semantik
DMX KREW • You Exist

Music reviews

17
05
LISA MORGENSTERN
Chameleon
16
05
VEIL OF LIGHT
Inflict
15
05
KIM THOMPSETT
The Hollows
14
05
L7
Scatter The Rats
13
05
SIGNAL AOUT 42
Insurrection
08
05
KRISTIN HERSH
Crooked (Reissue)

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

16
05
45 years of Diamond Dogs (David Bowie)
15
05
On this day, 29 years ago, British post-punk band Wire released their 7th studio album Manscape
14
05
'Locating Silver Lake' out on DVD today!
13
05
Today it’s exactly 22 years ago Nine Inch Nails released their The Perfect Drug (Versions) EP!
12
05
Legendary Gothic/Death Rock Band CHRISTIAN DEATH Announces Forthcoming European Tour & First Ever Live Video Chat/'Forgiven' Video Premiere
12
05
This month it’s been 41 years since Kraftwerk released Die Roboter / The Robots!

Concert reviews

15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

23
05
JAKE BURNS (STIFF LITTLE FINGERS)
'We were writing a songs about our own rights'
22
05
TREHA SEKTORI
‘I Have A Feeling Of Constant Dissatisfaction, So I'll Get Back To Work To Make It Better’
10
05
APSURDE
No Matter What We Do, We Will Always Sound Like Depeche Mode
09
05
ANDY GILL (GANG OF FOUR)
'You never expect Gang of Four to be very optimistic.Do you ?'
29
04
STACY COCHRAN
'I didn’t want to write something cruel; I wanted to find the daily fears and even some transcendent pragmatism inside a complicated set of characters...'

PHOTOS

25
05
LARVA
Dame C Rijsel
25
05
MIREXXX
Dam C Rijsel
21
05
PETER HOOK
New Waves Day, Oberhausen
21
05
GANG OF FOUR
New Waves Day, Oberhausen
21
05
CHAMELEONS VOX
New Waves Day, Oberhausen
21
05
AND ALSO THE TREES
New Waves Day, Oberhausen
21
05
PINK TURNS BLUE
New Waves Day, Oberhausen

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

26
05
NOISE
Quiet
25
05
KNK
Darling
24
05
TUXEDOMOON
In a manner of speaking
23
05
THE CURE
One Hundred Years, Live in Antwerp, 2016
22
05
NEW MODEL ARMY
Winter
21
05
NUMB
Lies
20
05
LUCIFER'S DREAM
Elixir of Isis