tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd (ep) review

10/12/2016 : CLOCK DVA - Neoteric MiniMax

CLOCK DVA

Neoteric MiniMax

MusicCD (EP)
IndustrialTechno

[96/100]   

Armcomm
10/12/2016, John R. MIRLAND

ClockDVA (Adi Newton and TeZ) presents the new ep Neoteric as what so far seems to be a CD only release through the bands label ARMComm (Anterior Research Media Communications).

ClockDVA always were the true descendants of Kraftwerk continuing the evolution of the machinist yet organic sound designs of the German forefathers even if ClockDVA never experienced the commercial succes the band so deserves.

ClockDVA’s universe is littered with sci-fi eroticism often presented alongside visuals pointing back in time to a futurist imagery in the art historic sense. The visuals are always tight and well executed. Now why comment on this ? Because ClockDVA is a collective audio/visual experience. Those who’ve experienced ClockDVA live will know what I mean. Listening to ClockDVA also demands a focused listening session. It is not background music.

The first track Neoteric builds on a pounding beat, a repeating theme and small variations like the bass and pads coming in and out of the soundstage. The sound is classic ClockDVA as it has been since Buried in Dreams or Man-Amplified with the spoken word qualities of Adi Newtons voice drenched in reverb. Yet the sound does evolve. The ClockDVA of 2016 is bigger and more powerful.

Second track Sentinel is a slowly evolving piece of space travel beginning with a distant breathing. Clocking in at 10:48 minutes it is long but not a second too long at that. Sentinel’s first part has small traits of middle eastern sounds with an almost 70’s like organ carried theme that sounds untypical in it’s seemingly improvised presentation. Approximately 5 mins into the track a bass sweep emerges from the background like a passing space ship and the track goes into it’s second part with a faster bassline and distant bell arpeggio. Jean Michel Jarre or Klaus Schultze would love this. As the second part evolves small bits of percussion fill out the soundstage and the universe unfolds.

Closing track Immission continues the feeling of space travel with a droning background as sweeps go back and forth and a bass pulse repeating itself while the track slowly progresses. Like on Sentinel a few samples towards the end are the only vocals on this track.

This is an almost perfect three-track release in every aspect and the only reason it’s not getting a full 100 point is I believe ClockDVA has the ability to evolve even further.

John R. MIRLAND
10/12/2016


 

Next reviews
HAUTVILLE • Mater Dolorosa
MARIO USAI (CLAN OF XYMOX) • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
FABRICE RAJNA (FACTICE FACTORY) • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
DECODED FEEDBACK • Dark Passenger
LET'S EAT GRANDMA • I, Gemini
THE ASSOCIATES • The Affectionate Punch
AMBASSADOR 21 • Revelation
A-WA • Habib Galbi
BOOTBLACKS • Veins
DOUBLE ECHO • Ancient Youth

 

Same combination of genres: INDUSTRIAL + TECHNO
AUTOGEN • Antigen
AXIOME • L’avenir est un cerf teint
BLUSH RESPONSE • Reshaper
ENTRZELLE, STUDIO-X VS SIMON CARTER, THE PSYCHIC FORCE, XMH, ZOMBIE GIRL • EP
CABARET VOLTAIRE, CARTER TUTTI & ANDY STOTT • Paris, Villette Sonique (24/05/2015)
14ANGER • Hasta EP
ANTIGEN SHIFT • Brotherhood
KAIBUN • Illogism
SUICIDE COMMANDO, SOMAN, AESTHETIC PERFECTION, SAM, XP8, C-LEKKTOR & SURGYN • Vampireparty Live, 6/4/2013, Petrol, Antwerpen, Belgium
ANTYTHESYS • Over Dose

 

Same genre: INDUSTRIAL
GRENDEL • Ascending The Abyss
XTORT • Nothing is real
ACRETONGUE • Ghost Nocturne
HOCICO • Artificial Extinction
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
GROOVENOM • Wir müssen reden
NEON ELECTRONICS • Apollo
VARIOUS ARTISTS • A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION
DIVE • Live Maschinenfest 2017
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY • Eye On You (Feat. Robert Görl)

 

Same genre: TECHNO
WE ARE THE WAY FOR THE COSMOS TO KNOW ITSELF • Flashbacks
PLEASURE TIME • Years About Us
LIE DETECTOR • To Fly!
XOSAR • Xymeria
PRESENCE I OF I MIND • Pure
MIRLAND • Greyscale Controller (charity-EP)
FACTORY FLOOR • 25 25
GRANDCHAOS • Memories
WIELORYB • Semantik
DMX KREW • You Exist

Music reviews

05
09
FOXY
X-Ray Spex Tribute
04
09
GRENDEL
Ascending The Abyss
03
09
SUICIDE COMMANDO
Hellraiser
03
09
W - FEST, AUG 18TH 2019
24
08
MEAGER BENEFITS
Crawling
23
08
PREEMPTIVE STRIKE 0.1
Harbringer

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

06
09
KLONE RELEASE NEW SINGLE “HIDDEN PASSENGER” FROM FORTHCOMING ALBUM LE GRAND VOYAGE
05
09
Industrial Rock Band CHMCL STR8JCKT Signs To Cleopatra Records - Wrtchd Thngs Album Details Revealed
05
09
38 years ago, Soft Cell's version of ‘Tainted Love’ reached the number one position in the British hit parade!
29
08
42 years ago Iggy Pop released Lust for Life (29th August 1977)
22
08
The Cassandra Complex & Die Krupps to headline BIMFEST 2019!
14
08
Electro-Industrial Band NEON INSECT Announces The Release Of New Moscow Underground

Concert reviews

21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019
15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

11
09
NOTNOTICE
I Like When There Are Noise Collages In The Music
08
09
ALEXA HUNTER(DISTURBED FURNITURE)
'Love or hate us, we are gonna kick out the jams while we still can!'
06
09
DAVID WM.SIMS(UNFACT,THE JESUS LIZARD,SCRATCH ACID)
'We had a great personal chemistry within the band!'
15
08
SPANKTHENUN
An Interview With Electro-Industrial Artist SPANKTHENUN
13
08
AHMED SALEH ABOUT EXPERIMENTAL/INDUSTRIAL MUSIC IN AFRICA
People Here Can Get Arrested Because Of Something They Posted On Social Media!

PHOTOS

07
09
THE SPIRITUAL BAT
Le Garage Luik
25
08
BORGHESIA
Poppodium Nieuwe Nor Heerlen
14
08
SECRET GARDEN
Donkey Rock Festival Selange
13
08
TRISOMIE 21
Donkey Rock Festival Selange
12
08
GRAND BLANC
Donkey Rock Festival Selange
12
08
WE ARE WAVES
Donkey Rock Festival Selange
10
08
MOTOR!K
De Smoutpot Zwijndrecht

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

16
09
PRECIOUS CHILD
Magic is Real
15
09
TAINA
Seelenfresser [Zardonic Remix]
14
09
TALK TALK
It´s My Life
13
09
DRAB MAJESTY
Too Soon To Tell
12
09
NINE INCH NAILS
Burning Bright (Field On Fire)
11
09
PJ HARVEY
The Orange Monkey
10
09
AUSTRA
Utopia