tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd (ep) review

10/12/2016 : CLOCK DVA - Neoteric MiniMax

CLOCK DVA

Neoteric MiniMax

MusicCD (EP)
IndustrialTechno

[96/100]   

Armcomm
10/12/2016, John R. MIRLAND

ClockDVA (Adi Newton and TeZ) presents the new ep Neoteric as what so far seems to be a CD only release through the bands label ARMComm (Anterior Research Media Communications).

ClockDVA always were the true descendants of Kraftwerk continuing the evolution of the machinist yet organic sound designs of the German forefathers even if ClockDVA never experienced the commercial succes the band so deserves.

ClockDVA’s universe is littered with sci-fi eroticism often presented alongside visuals pointing back in time to a futurist imagery in the art historic sense. The visuals are always tight and well executed. Now why comment on this ? Because ClockDVA is a collective audio/visual experience. Those who’ve experienced ClockDVA live will know what I mean. Listening to ClockDVA also demands a focused listening session. It is not background music.

The first track Neoteric builds on a pounding beat, a repeating theme and small variations like the bass and pads coming in and out of the soundstage. The sound is classic ClockDVA as it has been since Buried in Dreams or Man-Amplified with the spoken word qualities of Adi Newtons voice drenched in reverb. Yet the sound does evolve. The ClockDVA of 2016 is bigger and more powerful.

Second track Sentinel is a slowly evolving piece of space travel beginning with a distant breathing. Clocking in at 10:48 minutes it is long but not a second too long at that. Sentinel’s first part has small traits of middle eastern sounds with an almost 70’s like organ carried theme that sounds untypical in it’s seemingly improvised presentation. Approximately 5 mins into the track a bass sweep emerges from the background like a passing space ship and the track goes into it’s second part with a faster bassline and distant bell arpeggio. Jean Michel Jarre or Klaus Schultze would love this. As the second part evolves small bits of percussion fill out the soundstage and the universe unfolds.

Closing track Immission continues the feeling of space travel with a droning background as sweeps go back and forth and a bass pulse repeating itself while the track slowly progresses. Like on Sentinel a few samples towards the end are the only vocals on this track.

This is an almost perfect three-track release in every aspect and the only reason it’s not getting a full 100 point is I believe ClockDVA has the ability to evolve even further.

John R. MIRLAND
10/12/2016


 

Next reviews
HAUTVILLE • Mater Dolorosa
MARIO USAI (CLAN OF XYMOX) • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
FABRICE RAJNA (FACTICE FACTORY) • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
DECODED FEEDBACK • Dark Passenger
LET'S EAT GRANDMA • I, Gemini
THE ASSOCIATES • The Affectionate Punch
AMBASSADOR 21 • Revelation
A-WA • Habib Galbi
BOOTBLACKS • Veins
DOUBLE ECHO • Ancient Youth

 

Same combination of genres: INDUSTRIAL + TECHNO
AUTOGEN • Antigen
AXIOME • L’avenir est un cerf teint
BLUSH RESPONSE • Reshaper
ENTRZELLE, STUDIO-X VS SIMON CARTER, THE PSYCHIC FORCE, XMH, ZOMBIE GIRL • EP
CABARET VOLTAIRE, CARTER TUTTI & ANDY STOTT • Paris, Villette Sonique (24/05/2015)
14ANGER • Hasta EP
ANTIGEN SHIFT • Brotherhood
KAIBUN • Illogism
SUICIDE COMMANDO, SOMAN, AESTHETIC PERFECTION, SAM, XP8, C-LEKKTOR & SURGYN • Vampireparty Live, 6/4/2013, Petrol, Antwerpen, Belgium
ANTYTHESYS • Over Dose

 

Same genre: INDUSTRIAL
PORTION CONTROL • Head Buried
BLACK NEEDLE NOISE • Seed of Evil
THIRD REALM • The Art of Despair
BLAC KOLOR • Nephi
AIMAPROJECT • Di AimA Il Segno
GRENDEL • Ascending The Abyss
XTORT • Nothing is real
ACRETONGUE • Ghost Nocturne
HOCICO • Artificial Extinction
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III

 

Same genre: TECHNO
NEON ELECTRONICS • Apollo
WE ARE THE WAY FOR THE COSMOS TO KNOW ITSELF • Flashbacks
PLEASURE TIME • Years About Us
LIE DETECTOR • To Fly!
XOSAR • Xymeria
PRESENCE I OF I MIND • Pure
MIRLAND • Greyscale Controller (charity-EP)
FACTORY FLOOR • 25 25
GRANDCHAOS • Memories
WIELORYB • Semantik

Music reviews

03
07
PORTION CONTROL
Head Buried
02
07
AIMA & THE ILLUSION OF SILENCE
Music for certain rituals
28
06
VARIOUS ARTISTS
PERIHELION 2134
24
06
COLD IN MAY
Isolation songs
19
06
UNITCODE:MACHINE
Paper empires
18
06
BLACK NEEDLE NOISE
Seed of Evil

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

04
07
Industrial Band RIOTLEGION Announces The Release Of Machine Liberation
03
07
I Wanted To Tell Her by Ministry turns 37 years this month!
15
06
Today it’s exactly 41 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).
11
06
29 years of Kraftwerk in The Mix
11
06
Sieben covering David Bowie's Heroes live + new CD album 2020 VISION releases this Friday, 12th June!
10
06
29 years of Family Man!

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

04
07
LAIBACH
When they banned Laibach, we said 'great, let's move further'!
27
06
BURTON C.BELL (FEAR FACTORY, ASCENSION OF THE WATCHERS )
'It all comes from my head – whatever I’m feeling, whatever I’m thinking of.'
27
06
RODNEY ORPHEUS / THE CASSANDRA COMPLEX
I Think I’m Still As Revolutionary And Opinionated As Ever...
25
06
THE COLOURS OF SILENCE
Isolation Is Good For Art. Embrace It And Use It
13
06
LAST INFLUENCE OF BRAIN
L.I.O.B. Has Always Been Such A Distraction For Us

PHOTOS

13
03
SIGLO XX
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
ROME
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ROSE OF AVALANCHE
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE DANSE SOCIETY
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ARCH
Porta Nigra Aarschot
11
03
FRONT 242
Pulse Namur Isnes
11
03
SHAARGHOT
Pulse Namur Isnes

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

05
07
GOLDFRAPP
Winter Wonderland
04
07
LORDS OF ACID
I Sit On Acid
03
07
DEAD CAN DANCE
Eleusis
02
07
LIAISONS DANGEREUSES
Los niños del parque
01
07
HORD
Lines
30
06
U.R.A.N.
Geo Logo
29
06
MISS KITTIN
Bassline