tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

10/12/2016 : A-WA - Habib Galbi

A-WA

Habib Galbi

MusicCD
Electronicsworld music

[81/100]   

PIAS
10/12/2016, Didier BECU

EN

It’s rather strange to tell, but the sunniest record of this moment comes from Israel. It is not exactly a country you associate with upbeat music, not even pop music, but that’s probably because our knowledge is limited to Minimal Compact and Ofra Haza.

The three Haim sisters from the Arava Valley will change that. Everything began when the trio sent a demo to Tomer Yosef of Balkan Beat Box. He was so impressed that he booked a studio and went on tour with them.

The news spread immediately, and a in record time A-Wa became one of the acts that you absolutely have to hear this year. We don’t like hypes, but it's impossible to ignore the quality of this trio. Don't, because their unique mix of Yemenite folk and electronics is simply outstanding.

Habib Galbi is an excellent, original album that can’t be compare with anything else. Even if world music is not your cup of tea, we are sure that the songs of these sisters will be a revelation.

Didier BECU
10/12/2016


NL

Vanzelfsprekend is het niet, maar de zonnigste plaat van dit moment komt uit Israël. Het is niet meteen een land dat je met vrolijke muziek associeert, zelfs niet met popmuziek, waarschijnlijk omdat onze kennis niet verder reikt dan Minimal Compact of Ofra Haza.

Daar zullen de drie Haim-zusjes uit de Arava-vallei zonder twijfel verandering in brengen. Alles begon toen het trio een demootje naar Tomer Yosef van Balkan Beat Box stuurde. Die was zo onder de indruk dat hij meteen met ze de studio in dook en een concerttour organiseerde.

Het muzikale nieuws verspreidde zich uiterst snel en in een recordtijd groeide A-Wa uit tot één van de acts die je dit jaar absoluut gehoord moet hebben. Zelf hebben we het nogal moeilijk met hypes, maar het is onmogelijk om de kwaliteit van dit trio te negeren. Dat moet je trouwens niet doen, want hun unieke mix van Jemenitische folk en elektronica is ronduit uitmuntend.

Habib Galbi is een uitstekende en vooral uiterst originele plaat die je met niets anders kan vergelijken. Zelfs indien wereldmuziek niet in je bovenste schuif ligt, zijn we ervan overtuigd dat de composities van de Haim-zusjes voor een openbaring zullen zorgen.

Didier BECU
10/12/2016


Music reviews

18
01
RINGFINGER
Pressure
16
01
SYRENOMILIA
A Rose Shattered
14
01
M73
Tainted
09
01
NEGANT
Schwarz!
08
01
MORE EPHEMEROL
Obituary Templates
07
01
CHRISTOPHE CLEBARD
SSS

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

24
01
Today, exactly 29 ago years ago Front 242 released the album Tyranny ▶For You◀
24
01
Today, 2 years ago, Mark E. Smith, singer of legendary post-punk band The Fall died, aged 60
23
01
Dirk Da Davo (former The Neon Judgement) and Jean-Marie Aerts (former TC MATIC) announce first joint venture full album!
22
01
On this day, 10 years ago, Nitzer Ebb released their sixth studio album Industrial Complex!
21
01
“A Rose Shattered”, the debut EP by Brussels-based Syrenomelia!
21
01
Today, exactly 27 years ago, Ministry released Just One Fix!

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

20
01
AARON TURNER (SUMAC, ISIS, MAMIFFER...)
'It’s like a dialogue between me and what I’m hearing...'
19
01
IAN EVERETT (SOLID BRONZE)
'had a lot of time to sit with these songs...'
17
01
BROOK
I’ve soaked up a lot of musical genres over the years, and I like to think that maybe this is reflected throughout the Brook album.
15
01
ORDO ROSARIUS EQUILIBRIO
I never thought I’d live to see the day when Ordo Rosarius Equilibrio was mentioned next to Current 93 and Death in June.
14
01
IC 434
find it amazing to live in a highly developed society and at the same time having to realize what a mentally mess it really is.

PHOTOS

19
01
DAGEIST
Dark Winter Festival Liège
19
01
THE ARCH
Dark Winter Festival Liège
19
01
DER HIMMEL UBER BERLIN
Dark Winter Festival Liège
19
01
WHITE COAL ADDICTION
Dark Winter Festival Liège
19
01
ERYX LONDON
Dark Winter Festival Liège
19
01
KEZDOWN
DARK WINTER FESTIVAL LIEGE
26
12
SUICIDE COMMANDO
Bimfest

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

24
01
DE DELVERS
Poolnacht
23
01
GOLDFRAPP
Systemagic
22
01
JOSIE PACE & SAMMI DOLL
Perfect Replacement (Official Music Video)
21
01
JAH WOBBLE
How Much Are They?
20
01
THROBBING GRISTLE
Six Six Sixties (Fan made video)
19
01
THE BREATH OF LIFE
Blackout
18
01
SDH (SEMIOTICS DEPARTMENT OF HETERONYMS)
No Miracles (Official Video)