tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

10/12/2016 : A-WA - Habib Galbi

A-WA

Habib Galbi

MusicCD
Electronicsworld music

[81/100]   

PIAS
10/12/2016, Didier BECU

EN

It’s rather strange to tell, but the sunniest record of this moment comes from Israel. It is not exactly a country you associate with upbeat music, not even pop music, but that’s probably because our knowledge is limited to Minimal Compact and Ofra Haza.

The three Haim sisters from the Arava Valley will change that. Everything began when the trio sent a demo to Tomer Yosef of Balkan Beat Box. He was so impressed that he booked a studio and went on tour with them.

The news spread immediately, and a in record time A-Wa became one of the acts that you absolutely have to hear this year. We don’t like hypes, but it's impossible to ignore the quality of this trio. Don't, because their unique mix of Yemenite folk and electronics is simply outstanding.

Habib Galbi is an excellent, original album that can’t be compare with anything else. Even if world music is not your cup of tea, we are sure that the songs of these sisters will be a revelation.

Didier BECU
10/12/2016


NL

Vanzelfsprekend is het niet, maar de zonnigste plaat van dit moment komt uit Israël. Het is niet meteen een land dat je met vrolijke muziek associeert, zelfs niet met popmuziek, waarschijnlijk omdat onze kennis niet verder reikt dan Minimal Compact of Ofra Haza.

Daar zullen de drie Haim-zusjes uit de Arava-vallei zonder twijfel verandering in brengen. Alles begon toen het trio een demootje naar Tomer Yosef van Balkan Beat Box stuurde. Die was zo onder de indruk dat hij meteen met ze de studio in dook en een concerttour organiseerde.

Het muzikale nieuws verspreidde zich uiterst snel en in een recordtijd groeide A-Wa uit tot één van de acts die je dit jaar absoluut gehoord moet hebben. Zelf hebben we het nogal moeilijk met hypes, maar het is onmogelijk om de kwaliteit van dit trio te negeren. Dat moet je trouwens niet doen, want hun unieke mix van Jemenitische folk en elektronica is ronduit uitmuntend.

Habib Galbi is een uitstekende en vooral uiterst originele plaat die je met niets anders kan vergelijken. Zelfs indien wereldmuziek niet in je bovenste schuif ligt, zijn we ervan overtuigd dat de composities van de Haim-zusjes voor een openbaring zullen zorgen.

Didier BECU
10/12/2016


Music reviews

10
05
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Fear And Cufre
09
05
NEL & JP
Desinterersse
07
05
DARKEST NIGHT 2024
30
04
ATTRITION
The Black Maria
26
04
HYBRYDS
Mythopia, the sequel
25
04
PROJECT PITCHFORK
Elysium

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

26
05
Happy birthday Wayne Hussey!
24
05
50 years Of Diamond Dogs!
23
05
38 years of 'Let Your Body Learn' by Nitzer Ebb!
22
05
43 years Spellbound!
19
05
46 of The Man-Machine!
15
05
On this day, 34 years ago, British post-punk band Wire released their 7th studio album Manscape

Concert reviews

15
04
FAD GADGET
***FLASHBACK REVIEW***The Return of FAD GADGET (15.04.2001)***FLASHBACK REVIEW***
16
11
DREADFOOL - EUFORIC EXISTENCE - EULFI
ELECTRO au BNR
09
09
ENZO KREFT - DARK MINIMAL PROJECT - CAUSENATION
@B52 Music Club Eernegem
23
08
AMPHI FESTIVAL 2023
A second opinion...
18
06
ERATO - BLACK SNOW IN SUMMER
Black Planet Fest - @ B 52 Music Club Eernegem - friday 19th of may
18
06
KORINTHIANS, NEL & JP, NONA PROBLEMO
@Charlatan Ghent - 25 mei 2023

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

27
05
AUSGANG
“This crushing, slamming, heavy strife …” It is 1982. In and around Birmingham a band arises from the ashes of various Post-Punk acts.
11
05
XTR HUMAN
An Interview With Electro-Industrial Artist, XTR Human
09
05
THE RED MOON MACABRE
Resurrected after 32 years in 2021, now very active again. Interview with Renzo Tellez, founder of the classic Goth Rock band ‘The Red Moon Macabre’.
06
05
NOW AFTER NOTHING
An Interview With Darkwave Band, NOW AFTER NOTHING
10
04
ATTRITION
An Interview With The Legendary, ATTRITION

PHOTOS

26
05
DER W STEFAN WEIDNER
Christuskirche Bochum
20
05
MONO INC
Christuskirche Bochum
14
05
CHRISTIAN DEATH
Rockpalast Bochum Matrix
16
04
PROJECT PITCHFORK
Kulttempel Oberhausen
16
04
NICHTS
Christuskirche Bochum
15
04
FAD GADGET (15.04.2001)***FLASHBACK REPORT***
Elektrofest 15/04/2001, Mean Fiddler, London
14
04
OTTO VON SCHIRACH
Magasin4 Anderlecht

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

27
05
MIDAS FALL
Glue
26
05
NEW ORDER
Blue Monday
25
05
ANIMAUX ANIME
Power
24
05
BEBORN BETON
Last Day On Earth
23
05
SRSQ
Permission
22
05
SKEPTICAL MINDS
Emptiness
21
05
COLD CAVE
People Are Poison