tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

10/12/2016 : A-WA - Habib Galbi

A-WA

Habib Galbi

MusicCD
Electronicsworld music

[81/100]   

PIAS
10/12/2016, Didier BECU

EN

It’s rather strange to tell, but the sunniest record of this moment comes from Israel. It is not exactly a country you associate with upbeat music, not even pop music, but that’s probably because our knowledge is limited to Minimal Compact and Ofra Haza.

The three Haim sisters from the Arava Valley will change that. Everything began when the trio sent a demo to Tomer Yosef of Balkan Beat Box. He was so impressed that he booked a studio and went on tour with them.

The news spread immediately, and a in record time A-Wa became one of the acts that you absolutely have to hear this year. We don’t like hypes, but it's impossible to ignore the quality of this trio. Don't, because their unique mix of Yemenite folk and electronics is simply outstanding.

Habib Galbi is an excellent, original album that can’t be compare with anything else. Even if world music is not your cup of tea, we are sure that the songs of these sisters will be a revelation.

Didier BECU
10/12/2016


NL

Vanzelfsprekend is het niet, maar de zonnigste plaat van dit moment komt uit Israël. Het is niet meteen een land dat je met vrolijke muziek associeert, zelfs niet met popmuziek, waarschijnlijk omdat onze kennis niet verder reikt dan Minimal Compact of Ofra Haza.

Daar zullen de drie Haim-zusjes uit de Arava-vallei zonder twijfel verandering in brengen. Alles begon toen het trio een demootje naar Tomer Yosef van Balkan Beat Box stuurde. Die was zo onder de indruk dat hij meteen met ze de studio in dook en een concerttour organiseerde.

Het muzikale nieuws verspreidde zich uiterst snel en in een recordtijd groeide A-Wa uit tot één van de acts die je dit jaar absoluut gehoord moet hebben. Zelf hebben we het nogal moeilijk met hypes, maar het is onmogelijk om de kwaliteit van dit trio te negeren. Dat moet je trouwens niet doen, want hun unieke mix van Jemenitische folk en elektronica is ronduit uitmuntend.

Habib Galbi is een uitstekende en vooral uiterst originele plaat die je met niets anders kan vergelijken. Zelfs indien wereldmuziek niet in je bovenste schuif ligt, zijn we ervan overtuigd dat de composities van de Haim-zusjes voor een openbaring zullen zorgen.

Didier BECU
10/12/2016


Music reviews

19
10
THE BLACK WATCH
Magic Johnson
19
10
FUTURE PILOT AKA
Orkestra Digitalis
18
10
NEW MODEL ARMY
From Here
18
10
RIDE
This Is Not a Safe Place
17
10
THE BLACKHEART ORCHESTRA
Mesmeranto
17
10
ROSE MCDOWALL AND SHAWN PINCHBECK
Far From The Apple Tree

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

10
10
29 years ago Nine Inch Nails released 'Sin'
09
10
The Arch releases new album 'XII'
08
10
Eclectic Artist Addie Brik Releases New Single
07
10
YOVA - Debut Single 'Moondog' (featuring members of PJ Harvey / Grumbling Fur / Cameron Craig)
22
09
Today it’s been exactly 27 years since Nine Inch Nails released Broken (EP)
21
09
Industrial/Metal Band DECENT NEWS Announces The Release Of 'Monolith'

Concert reviews

21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019
15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

14
10
JAMES MCGREGOR (THE CLOCKWORKS)
'Our dynamic is genuinely a gang scenario'
12
10
NEON INSECT
A Conversation With Neon Insect
11
10
ENZO KREFT
Many tracks from 'Control' are about the relationship between humans and technology and the dangerous consequences of this in the near future.
10
10
AMY STUDT
'It’ll be alright in the end and if it isn’t alright, it isn’t yet the end.'
09
10
STALINGRAD VALKYRIE
The old world will be collapsing pretty soon!

PHOTOS

06
10
GROUND NERO
De Klinker Aarschot
06
10
GROUND NERO
De Klinker Aarschot
06
10
GROUND NERO
De Klinker Aarschot
04
10
SLAVE SEPERATION VS KNK
Fetish Café Antwerpen
04
10
LEAETHER STRIP
Fetish Café Antwerpen
22
09
WHISPERING SONS
Liege New Wave Festival
22
09
ASH CODE
Liege New Wave Festival

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

20
10
ORSON HENTSCHEL
Noise of the Light
19
10
ORBITAL
One Perfect Sunrise
18
10
MONICA JEFFRIES
In Circles
17
10
AZAR SWAN
Over
16
10
ILLUMININE
For What It's Worth (Live at Sundlaugin Studio)
15
10
RYUICHI SAKAMOTO
Merry Christmas Mr Lawrence
14
10
DELERIUM
Keep on Dreaming (featuring Jaël)