tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

10/12/2016 : A-WA - Habib Galbi

A-WA

Habib Galbi

MusicCD
Electronicsworld music

[81/100]   

PIAS
10/12/2016, Didier BECU

EN

It’s rather strange to tell, but the sunniest record of this moment comes from Israel. It is not exactly a country you associate with upbeat music, not even pop music, but that’s probably because our knowledge is limited to Minimal Compact and Ofra Haza.

The three Haim sisters from the Arava Valley will change that. Everything began when the trio sent a demo to Tomer Yosef of Balkan Beat Box. He was so impressed that he booked a studio and went on tour with them.

The news spread immediately, and a in record time A-Wa became one of the acts that you absolutely have to hear this year. We don’t like hypes, but it's impossible to ignore the quality of this trio. Don't, because their unique mix of Yemenite folk and electronics is simply outstanding.

Habib Galbi is an excellent, original album that can’t be compare with anything else. Even if world music is not your cup of tea, we are sure that the songs of these sisters will be a revelation.

Didier BECU
10/12/2016


NL

Vanzelfsprekend is het niet, maar de zonnigste plaat van dit moment komt uit Israël. Het is niet meteen een land dat je met vrolijke muziek associeert, zelfs niet met popmuziek, waarschijnlijk omdat onze kennis niet verder reikt dan Minimal Compact of Ofra Haza.

Daar zullen de drie Haim-zusjes uit de Arava-vallei zonder twijfel verandering in brengen. Alles begon toen het trio een demootje naar Tomer Yosef van Balkan Beat Box stuurde. Die was zo onder de indruk dat hij meteen met ze de studio in dook en een concerttour organiseerde.

Het muzikale nieuws verspreidde zich uiterst snel en in een recordtijd groeide A-Wa uit tot één van de acts die je dit jaar absoluut gehoord moet hebben. Zelf hebben we het nogal moeilijk met hypes, maar het is onmogelijk om de kwaliteit van dit trio te negeren. Dat moet je trouwens niet doen, want hun unieke mix van Jemenitische folk en elektronica is ronduit uitmuntend.

Habib Galbi is een uitstekende en vooral uiterst originele plaat die je met niets anders kan vergelijken. Zelfs indien wereldmuziek niet in je bovenste schuif ligt, zijn we ervan overtuigd dat de composities van de Haim-zusjes voor een openbaring zullen zorgen.

Didier BECU
10/12/2016


Music reviews

30
05
THIS ETERNAL DECAY
Silence
29
05
THE MIDNIGHT COMPUTERS
Anxious
03
05
BOYTRONIC
The Robot Treatment
02
05
ARMAGEDDON DILDOS
Heut Nacht
01
05
BLUTENGEL + HOCICO
Obscured
30
04
STRIKKLAND
Predatorial Right

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

28
05
Electro/Synthwave Act GIANT MONSTERS ON THE HORIZON Unleash New Studio Album - Live From Night City
26
05
Happy birthday Wayne Hussey!
24
05
46 years Of Diamond Dogs!
23
05
34 years of 'Let Your Body Learn!'
22
05
39 years Spellbound!
21
05
Electro / EBM pioneers PORTION CONTROL strike hard with new album 'Head Buried'!

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

26
05
MARK E MOON
We Know We’re Not Re-Inventing The Wheel!
23
05
JOSH KLINGHOFFER (PLURALONE,RHCP)
“I suddenly found the piano the most exciting instrument to write on.”
19
05
THE HERESY GENE
'The More We Do It, The More Important It Feels.'
01
05
AUTUMN TEARS
An Interview With Autumn Tears
30
04
EMPUSAE
One thing is for sure... I'll never stop making music!

PHOTOS

13
03
SIGLO XX
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
ROME
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ROSE OF AVALANCHE
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE DANSE SOCIETY
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ARCH
Porta Nigra Aarschot
11
03
FRONT 242
Pulse Namur Isnes
11
03
SHAARGHOT
Pulse Namur Isnes

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

02
06
THE 69 EYES
Jet Fighter Plane
01
06
AEVERIUM
Hunted
31
05
THE JUGGERNAUTS
PURGE
30
05
MERCIFUL NUNS
Live at Amphi, Cologne 23-07-2017
29
05
UNZUCHT
Ein Wort Fliegt Wie Ein Stein
28
05
GOLDEN BOY FEAT. MISS KITTIN
Rittin Kitten (Extended)
27
05
HIDDEN ORCHESTRA
Still