tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

10/12/2016 : A-WA - Habib Galbi

A-WA

Habib Galbi

MusicCD
Electronicsworld music

[81/100]   

PIAS
10/12/2016, Didier BECU

EN

It’s rather strange to tell, but the sunniest record of this moment comes from Israel. It is not exactly a country you associate with upbeat music, not even pop music, but that’s probably because our knowledge is limited to Minimal Compact and Ofra Haza.

The three Haim sisters from the Arava Valley will change that. Everything began when the trio sent a demo to Tomer Yosef of Balkan Beat Box. He was so impressed that he booked a studio and went on tour with them.

The news spread immediately, and a in record time A-Wa became one of the acts that you absolutely have to hear this year. We don’t like hypes, but it's impossible to ignore the quality of this trio. Don't, because their unique mix of Yemenite folk and electronics is simply outstanding.

Habib Galbi is an excellent, original album that can’t be compare with anything else. Even if world music is not your cup of tea, we are sure that the songs of these sisters will be a revelation.

Didier BECU
10/12/2016


NL

Vanzelfsprekend is het niet, maar de zonnigste plaat van dit moment komt uit Israël. Het is niet meteen een land dat je met vrolijke muziek associeert, zelfs niet met popmuziek, waarschijnlijk omdat onze kennis niet verder reikt dan Minimal Compact of Ofra Haza.

Daar zullen de drie Haim-zusjes uit de Arava-vallei zonder twijfel verandering in brengen. Alles begon toen het trio een demootje naar Tomer Yosef van Balkan Beat Box stuurde. Die was zo onder de indruk dat hij meteen met ze de studio in dook en een concerttour organiseerde.

Het muzikale nieuws verspreidde zich uiterst snel en in een recordtijd groeide A-Wa uit tot één van de acts die je dit jaar absoluut gehoord moet hebben. Zelf hebben we het nogal moeilijk met hypes, maar het is onmogelijk om de kwaliteit van dit trio te negeren. Dat moet je trouwens niet doen, want hun unieke mix van Jemenitische folk en elektronica is ronduit uitmuntend.

Habib Galbi is een uitstekende en vooral uiterst originele plaat die je met niets anders kan vergelijken. Zelfs indien wereldmuziek niet in je bovenste schuif ligt, zijn we ervan overtuigd dat de composities van de Haim-zusjes voor een openbaring zullen zorgen.

Didier BECU
10/12/2016


Music reviews

28
07
WULF7
I don't want (Anymore)
06
07
TRAGIC IMPULSE
Distant Worlds
04
07
RAMMSTEIN
Zeit
27
06
BALVANERA
Courses of Action
14
06
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Gift For You
10
06
SAMHAIN
Experiment

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

15
08
Futurepop Act, Voicecoil Reflects On Strange Days With New Album
14
08
Darkwave Duo, Male Tears Addresses Nightlife Hypocrisy & Abuse With New Single
10
08
Today, it’s exactly 35 years ago Nitzer Ebb released Join In The Chant!
09
08
Electronic Band She 1 - Him 2 Addresses Breaking Free With New Single
08
08
32 years of Head/Down with MOEV
07
08
Neo-Fanfare/Darkwave Band, Crooniek Reflects On The Concept Of Time With New Album

Concert reviews

05
07
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

05
08
MOTOR!K
I have to admit that I often still find it strange and difficult to grasp: people going crazy on three weirdos playing some repetitive music
12
07
FERALIA PLANITIA & DAS AUGE
'Thanks to our overlapping tastes in music, we became good friends; music was our cement, sort of speak…'
18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.

PHOTOS

15
08
COVERNANT
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
15
08
NIZZER EBB
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
15
08
IN STRICT CONFIDENCE
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
13
08
BLUTENGEL
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
13
08
LORD OF THE LOST ENSEMBLE
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
13
08
SOLITARY EXPERIMENTS
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
13
08
LACRIMAS PROFUNDERE
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

15
08
AUSTRA
Utopia
14
08
THE SMITHS
There Is A Light That Never Goes Out
13
08
DRAB MAJESTY
39 By Design
12
08
COCTEAU TWINS
Hazel
11
08
IN STRICT CONFIDENDE
Somebody Else´s Dream
10
08
DOWNLOAD
Neuron Proper
09
08
WE NEVER MET
Come Play With Fire