tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

10/12/2016 : BATTERY OPERATED ORCHESTRA - Radiation

BATTERY OPERATED ORCHESTRA

Radiation

MusicCD

Self-released
10/12/2016, Didier BECU

I know it’s our job to tell you which gems to discover, but sometimes we hardly understand ourselves why the music isn’t more known. Take Battery Operated Orchestra, a duo from Brighton (Chris Black + Brigitte Rose) that creates sublime synth pop everybody will like. You probably have to classify it as minimal, but it is perfect pop!

This duo already exists since 2010, but this year the two musicians made the debut Radiation, which is a handmade CD. You might assume that it’s all done in a cheap way, at the contrary!

New Town opens the album and it’s perfect! Ice cold beats in old Mute style with lyrics that make you feel like an orphan, but the tune gives you such a warmth that you'll embrace it. It’s minimal synth pop, but it has the grandeur of a classic pop song. Starting a record in such a way makes you only expect the best... and it comes!

Radiation and Grey Room are less experimental, and not everyone will agree, but this is irresistible pop, this is 3 minutes of perfectness. It makes you dance, you sing-a-long and the synthetic beauty makes you smile. So yes, consider it as pop!

The Sea has some more beeps and it’s the most danceable track on the album. Ideal to prepare yourself for the darkness that will come with I Go Invisible. The song has a macaber ambience. Fast and slow the monster grows, sings Brigitte while the synths have a touch of Ultravox in Days of My Sex. Battery Operated Orchestra made a classic here.

Diamond Feelings not only has the title of what could be a Ladytron song, it actually sounds like one as well. Again you hear arctic synths with drums (of course electronic ones!) that bang your head.

On Live Rail we hear Chris’ voice for the first time, you can blame it on the Transeurope Express, but we noticed some Kraftwerk-beats. Is it wrong? What do you think it is? It just makes it better!

Rewild leads the band into another dimension as it plays eurodisco. It’s certainly not the best track, but it’s a perfect proof that Battery Operated Orchestra is a band for a very wide audience (if only it’s willing to listen).

The best track (even if it is difficult to choose) is Fairy Tale because it reminds us of the time when Gary Numan ruled the world. Genius!

This collection of ten synthetic gems ends with the mysterious (and again rather dark) Backburning.

As told in the beginning, we’re in love, and as love is still one of the most beautiful things on earth, we suggest you try these tracks too!

Didier BECU
10/12/2016


Music reviews

18
01
RINGFINGER
Pressure
16
01
SYRENOMILIA
A Rose Shattered
14
01
M73
Tainted
09
01
NEGANT
Schwarz!
08
01
MORE EPHEMEROL
Obituary Templates
07
01
CHRISTOPHE CLEBARD
SSS

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

24
01
Canadian DJ/Multi-Genre Artist JHNN Reveals New Single And Video 'My Strange Addiction'
24
01
Today, exactly 29 ago years ago Front 242 released the album Tyranny ▶For You◀
24
01
Today, 2 years ago, Mark E. Smith, singer of legendary post-punk band The Fall died, aged 60
23
01
Dirk Da Davo (former The Neon Judgement) and Jean-Marie Aerts (former TC MATIC) announce first joint venture full album!
22
01
On this day, 10 years ago, Nitzer Ebb released their sixth studio album Industrial Complex!
21
01
“A Rose Shattered”, the debut EP by Brussels-based Syrenomelia!

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

24
01
TREY GUNN (KING CRIMSON,TU ,SECURITY PROJECT,...)
'I’m trying to set up an experiential thing...'
20
01
AARON TURNER (SUMAC, ISIS, MAMIFFER...)
'It’s like a dialogue between me and what I’m hearing...'
19
01
IAN EVERETT (SOLID BRONZE)
'had a lot of time to sit with these songs...'
17
01
BROOK
I’ve soaked up a lot of musical genres over the years, and I like to think that maybe this is reflected throughout the Brook album.
15
01
ORDO ROSARIUS EQUILIBRIO
I never thought I’d live to see the day when Ordo Rosarius Equilibrio was mentioned next to Current 93 and Death in June.

PHOTOS

19
01
DAGEIST
Dark Winter Festival Liège
19
01
THE ARCH
Dark Winter Festival Liège
19
01
DER HIMMEL UBER BERLIN
Dark Winter Festival Liège
19
01
WHITE COAL ADDICTION
Dark Winter Festival Liège
19
01
ERYX LONDON
Dark Winter Festival Liège
19
01
KEZDOWN
DARK WINTER FESTIVAL LIEGE
26
12
SUICIDE COMMANDO
Bimfest

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

24
01
DE DELVERS
Poolnacht
23
01
GOLDFRAPP
Systemagic
22
01
JOSIE PACE & SAMMI DOLL
Perfect Replacement (Official Music Video)
21
01
JAH WOBBLE
How Much Are They?
20
01
THROBBING GRISTLE
Six Six Sixties (Fan made video)
19
01
THE BREATH OF LIFE
Blackout
18
01
SDH (SEMIOTICS DEPARTMENT OF HETERONYMS)
No Miracles (Official Video)