tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

10/12/2016 : MANI NEUMEIER - Talking Guru Drums

MANI NEUMEIER

Talking Guru Drums

MusicCD
Psychedelicworld music

[60/100]   

Purple Pyramid Records (division of Cleopatra records)
10/12/2016, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

Sometimes, a reviewer receives less obvious promos. The debut of Mani Neumeier, former drummer and frontman of the krautrock band Guru Guru, is such an album, full of percussion and drums. The album sounds eclectic and contains elements of world music, but the added voices clash with the rest of the album because of the atmosphere of parody and irony... Just listen to the spoken parts in the opening track Timedrops or the cries in Shaman Dancer.

Maybe it was not the intention, but that is the result. Neumeier is without doubt a gifted drummer and percussionist. Every track contains beautiful and good-sounding percussion, complemented with sounds of frogs, crickets, singing bowls, logs...

On Talking Guru Drums, we mainly hear percussion and jungle sounds. It' s a quite eclectic album, more suitable for a smaller audience. Do not be fooled when you hear the name of the artist and/or the album, because you won't hear krautrock on this production. Each track lasts about ten minutes, interspersed with short jingles of ten seconds. For lovers of incense sticks and honeysuckle.

Wim GUILLEMYN
10/12/2016


NL

Een resencent krijgt nu en dan een minder voor de hand liggende promo’s voor zijn neus geschoven. Zoals deze bijvoorbeeld: Het debuut van Mani Neumeier, voormalig drummer en frontman van de krautrockband Guru Guru. Het is een album vol percussie en slagwerk. Het klinkt soms vrij zweverig, eclectisch en bevat elementen van wereldmuziek. De occasionele stemgeluiden hebben één nadeel: ze breken een beetje het opzet van het album met een ondertoon van parodie of ironie. Luister naar de gesproken delen in de openingstrack Time Drops of naar de kreten in Shaman Dancer.

Waarschijnlijk is het niet de bedoeling, maar toch maakt het die indruk. Dat Neumeier een begenadigd drummer en percussionist is, merk je aan de songs. De tracks bevatten mooie en goed klinkende percussie. Aangevuld met geluiden van kikkers, krekels, klankschalen, houtblokken…

Op Talking Guru Drums horen we voornamelijk percussie en junglegeluiden. Het is vrij eclectisch en eerder geschikt voor een kleinere doelgroep. Mispak u niet aan de naam want van krautrock is hier geen sprake. Tracks van ongeveer tien minuten worden afgewisseld met korte jingles van een tiental seconden. Voor de liefhebbers van wierookstokjes en kamperfoelie.

Wim GUILLEMYN
10/12/2016


Music reviews

10
05
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Fear And Cufre
09
05
NEL & JP
Desinterersse
07
05
DARKEST NIGHT 2024
30
04
ATTRITION
The Black Maria
26
04
HYBRYDS
Mythopia, the sequel
25
04
PROJECT PITCHFORK
Elysium

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

19
05
46 of The Man-Machine!
15
05
On this day, 34 years ago, British post-punk band Wire released their 7th studio album Manscape
13
05
Today it’s exactly 27 years ago Nine Inch Nails released their The Perfect Drug (Versions) EP!
11
05
Today it’s been 37 years since NITZER EBB released their legendary debut album That Total Age!
08
05
EVA X Drops Her 'Dopamine Blind' Video; A Nighttime Escape Story
08
05
44 years ALAN VEGA · MARTIN REV or THE SECOND SUICIDE ALBUM!

Concert reviews

15
04
FAD GADGET
***FLASHBACK REVIEW***The Return of FAD GADGET (15.04.2001)***FLASHBACK REVIEW***
16
11
DREADFOOL - EUFORIC EXISTENCE - EULFI
ELECTRO au BNR
09
09
ENZO KREFT - DARK MINIMAL PROJECT - CAUSENATION
@B52 Music Club Eernegem
23
08
AMPHI FESTIVAL 2023
A second opinion...
18
06
ERATO - BLACK SNOW IN SUMMER
Black Planet Fest - @ B 52 Music Club Eernegem - friday 19th of may
18
06
KORINTHIANS, NEL & JP, NONA PROBLEMO
@Charlatan Ghent - 25 mei 2023

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

11
05
XTR HUMAN
An Interview With Electro-Industrial Artist, XTR Human
09
05
THE RED MOON MACABRE
Resurrected after 32 years in 2021, now very active again. Interview with Renzo Tellez, founder of the classic Goth Rock band ‘The Red Moon Macabre’.
06
05
NOW AFTER NOTHING
An Interview With Darkwave Band, NOW AFTER NOTHING
10
04
ATTRITION
An Interview With The Legendary, ATTRITION
09
04
DE DELVERS
With the lyrics, I try to name things that I see happening around me and to pay attention to what we sometimes prefer to turn our heads away from.

PHOTOS

20
05
MONO INC
Christuskirche Bochum
14
05
CHRISTIAN DEATH
Rockpalast Bochum Matrix
16
04
PROJECT PITCHFORK
Kulttempel Oberhausen
16
04
NICHTS
Christuskirche Bochum
15
04
FAD GADGET (15.04.2001)***FLASHBACK REPORT***
Elektrofest 15/04/2001, Mean Fiddler, London
14
04
OTTO VON SCHIRACH
Magasin4 Anderlecht
14
04
AMBASSADOR 21
Magasin4 Anderlecht

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

20
05
VENUS FLY TRAP
Rocket USA
19
05
SUFFOCATING MINDS
Should I Look Above
18
05
SCHWEFELGELB
Zu Zweit
17
05
THIS CAN HURT
IF YOU GO
16
05
FEAR FACTORY
Expiration Date
15
05
KAI SCHUMACHER
The Hug (Rework by Illuminine)
14
05
ASH CODE
Nite Rite