tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this vinyl review

10/12/2016 : BOOTBLACKS - Veins

BOOTBLACKS

Veins

MusicVinyl
New wavePopPost Punk

[89/100]   

Manic Depression
10/12/2016, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

Bootblacks is a New York based post-punk band. The album can be download for free via Bootblacks.net or Bandcamp. You can order the vinyl version via Manic Depression Records. It is highly recommended album. The music has wave influences from the 80s, and combined with a pleasant singing voice, we hear fresh wave/pop songs. The band makes use of synths, guitars and catchy choruses. In the bio the sound is compared with Joy Division and New Order, but that's only partly true, because the vocals are warmer and less sharp than those of Ian Curtis. And that is and advantage, because that way Bootblacks sounds original.

The songs on Veins are very well made: the sound dark and less dark in a poppy jacket. PastLives is a very warm, upbeat song with synth strings to increase the emotionality. Opener Colorblind is strong too.

Drift is a bit darker and contains fine guitar work after the intro. ABC thrives on tight drumming and the singer's voice sounds like She Past Away sometimes. The synths do the rest. Decoy is a delicate and atmospheric song that closes an album without weak moments.

A strong release. Download the album or buy the vinyl!

Wim GUILLEMYN
10/12/2016


NL

Bootblacks is een New Yorkse post-punkband. Het album is gratis ter beschikking via hun site Bootblacks.net of via Bandcamp. Je kan het bij Manic Depression Records op vinyl bestellen. Het is een aanrader. De muziek bevat wave-invloeden uit de jaren 80 en gecombineerd met een aangename zangstem, horen we frisse wave/popsongs waarvoor ze gebruik maken van synths, gitaren en catchy refreinen. In de bio vergelijken ze de sound met Joy Division en New Order, maar dat is maar ten dele waar. De zang is bijvoorbeeld warmer en minder scherp dan die van Ian Curtis. En maar goed want op die manier heeft Bootblacks een eigen stijl.

De tracks op Veins zitten heel goed in elkaar. Het klinken licht tot heel donker en ze zijn op een heel poppy gemaakt. Pastlives is bijvoorbeeld een heel warme uptempo track waarin gebruik wordt gemaakt van synthstrijkers om de emotionaliteit te vergroten. Ook opener Colorblind is sterk.

Drift is dan weer wat donkerder qua sound. Na de intro bevat de song fijn gitaarwerk. ABC drijft op strak drumwerk en de zanger laat zijn stem nu en dan overslaan zoals die van She Past Away pleegt te doen. De synths doen de rest. Decoy is eveneens een fijn en atmosferisch klinkende song die een album zonder zwaake momenten afsluit.

Een sterke release. Downloaden of kopen dus!

Wim GUILLEMYN
10/12/2016


 

Next reviews
DOUBLE ECHO • Ancient Youth
NICOLAS VAN MEIRHAEGHE (EMPUSAE) • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
PETER SCHILLING • Error In The System
PETER CASAER • AFFLICTION
ARBEID ADELT ! + THE HUMAN LEAGUE • Leuven, Het Groot Verlof (08/07/2016)
HANTE • Ten Albums That Changed My life
MANI NEUMEIER • Talking Guru Drums
BATTERY OPERATED ORCHESTRA • Radiation
RAMMSIER • Blackflowers EP
HOLISPARK • The Harvest

 

Same combination of genres: NEW WAVE + POP + POST PUNK
LUSTS • Illuminations
VARIOUS ARISTS • Quattroannidiversi
SECTION 25 • CLASSICS : From The Hip

 

Same genre: NEW WAVE
BALVANERA • Courses of Action
DIRK DA DAVO • The Unreal
ADULT. • Becoming Undone
MICHAEL ZODOROZNY • Other Side
DIRK DA DAVO • King Of Fools
DE DELVERS • Hart in neonlicht
CAWATANA • In The Silver Light (7')
SHE HATES EMOTIONS • See The Light (Single)
HYSTÉRIE • Deuil
DAGEIST • Sexy

 

Same genre: POP
LAPECHE • Blood In The Water
DEZ MONA & B.O.X • LUCY
MONICA RICHARDS & ANTHONY JONES • AESTUARIUM
LISA MORGENSTERN • Chameleon
TYCHO BRAHE • Triplex [Complete]
PARRALOX • Subculture
FORMER BULLIES • Stranger
NINE MILLION WITCHES • The Rapture
AGNES OBEL • Citizen Of Glass
NOSOUND • Scintilla

 

Same genre: POST PUNK
TERMINAL SERIOUS • Gift For You
SYGO CRIES • Talking about walls
THE ULTIMATE DREAMERS • Live Happily While Waiting For Death
DARK • Nightmare
SJOBLOM • Tape
PINK TURNS BLUE • There Must Be So Much More
TERMINAL SERIOUS • Love Was Lies
THE MARS MODEL • Sister Glory / Frozen in Time
STRUGGLER • Wilma (Determinated Protector)
FAUST PROJECT • The Future Comes On Sleeping Pills

Music reviews

28
07
WULF7
I don't want (Anymore)
06
07
TRAGIC IMPULSE
Distant Worlds
04
07
RAMMSTEIN
Zeit
27
06
BALVANERA
Courses of Action
14
06
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Gift For You
10
06
SAMHAIN
Experiment

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

08
08
32 years of Head/Down with MOEV
07
08
Neo-Fanfare/Darkwave Band, Crooniek Reflects On The Concept Of Time With New Album
06
08
Post-Punk Artist Daniel Ouellette Brings Life To A Haunted House With New Album
05
08
Industrial bass artist SINthetik Messiah addresses violence in The Vatican with new single
05
08
NOISE UNIT is back in full force!
05
08
Industrial artist, Nuda addresses past trauma & mental illness with 'Trigger'

Concert reviews

05
07
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

05
08
MOTOR!K
I have to admit that I often still find it strange and difficult to grasp: people going crazy on three weirdos playing some repetitive music
12
07
FERALIA PLANITIA & DAS AUGE
'Thanks to our overlapping tastes in music, we became good friends; music was our cement, sort of speak…'
18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.

PHOTOS

05
08
RAMMSTEIN
Park De Nieuwe Koers Oostende
02
08
SHE PAST AWAY
Amphi Festival Keulen
02
08
FROZEN PLASMA
Amphi Festival Keulen
02
08
MONO INC.
Amphi Festival Keulen
02
08
[:SITD:]
Amphi Festival Keulen
02
08
MESH
Amphi Festival Keulen
02
08
ROME
Amphi Festival Keulen

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

07
08
CREMATORY
Haus Mit Garten
06
08
K-X-P
Space Precious Time
05
08
MONICA JEFFRIES
In Circles
04
08
ILLUMININE
For What It's Worth (Live at Sundlaugin Studio)
03
08
THE CURE
A Forest (Live in Paris 1979)
02
08
DIE KRUPPS
Goldfinger
01
08
ZARDONIC
Revelation