tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this vinyl review

10/12/2016 : BOOTBLACKS - Veins

BOOTBLACKS

Veins

MusicVinyl
New wavePopPost Punk

[89/100]   

Manic Depression
10/12/2016, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

Bootblacks is a New York based post-punk band. The album can be download for free via Bootblacks.net or Bandcamp. You can order the vinyl version via Manic Depression Records. It is highly recommended album. The music has wave influences from the 80s, and combined with a pleasant singing voice, we hear fresh wave/pop songs. The band makes use of synths, guitars and catchy choruses. In the bio the sound is compared with Joy Division and New Order, but that's only partly true, because the vocals are warmer and less sharp than those of Ian Curtis. And that is and advantage, because that way Bootblacks sounds original.

The songs on Veins are very well made: the sound dark and less dark in a poppy jacket. PastLives is a very warm, upbeat song with synth strings to increase the emotionality. Opener Colorblind is strong too.

Drift is a bit darker and contains fine guitar work after the intro. ABC thrives on tight drumming and the singer's voice sounds like She Past Away sometimes. The synths do the rest. Decoy is a delicate and atmospheric song that closes an album without weak moments.

A strong release. Download the album or buy the vinyl!

Wim GUILLEMYN
10/12/2016


NL

Bootblacks is een New Yorkse post-punkband. Het album is gratis ter beschikking via hun site Bootblacks.net of via Bandcamp. Je kan het bij Manic Depression Records op vinyl bestellen. Het is een aanrader. De muziek bevat wave-invloeden uit de jaren 80 en gecombineerd met een aangename zangstem, horen we frisse wave/popsongs waarvoor ze gebruik maken van synths, gitaren en catchy refreinen. In de bio vergelijken ze de sound met Joy Division en New Order, maar dat is maar ten dele waar. De zang is bijvoorbeeld warmer en minder scherp dan die van Ian Curtis. En maar goed want op die manier heeft Bootblacks een eigen stijl.

De tracks op Veins zitten heel goed in elkaar. Het klinken licht tot heel donker en ze zijn op een heel poppy gemaakt. Pastlives is bijvoorbeeld een heel warme uptempo track waarin gebruik wordt gemaakt van synthstrijkers om de emotionaliteit te vergroten. Ook opener Colorblind is sterk.

Drift is dan weer wat donkerder qua sound. Na de intro bevat de song fijn gitaarwerk. ABC drijft op strak drumwerk en de zanger laat zijn stem nu en dan overslaan zoals die van She Past Away pleegt te doen. De synths doen de rest. Decoy is eveneens een fijn en atmosferisch klinkende song die een album zonder zwaake momenten afsluit.

Een sterke release. Downloaden of kopen dus!

Wim GUILLEMYN
10/12/2016


 

Next reviews
DOUBLE ECHO • Ancient Youth
NICOLAS VAN MEIRHAEGHE (EMPUSAE) • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
PETER SCHILLING • Error In The System
PETER CASAER • AFFLICTION
ARBEID ADELT ! + THE HUMAN LEAGUE • Leuven, Het Groot Verlof (08/07/2016)
HANTE • Ten Albums That Changed My life
MANI NEUMEIER • Talking Guru Drums
BATTERY OPERATED ORCHESTRA • Radiation
RAMMSIER • Blackflowers EP
HOLISPARK • The Harvest

 

Same combination of genres: NEW WAVE + POP + POST PUNK
LUSTS • Illuminations
VARIOUS ARISTS • Quattroannidiversi
SECTION 25 • CLASSICS : From The Hip

 

Same genre: NEW WAVE
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
DER KLINKE • Decade
JAPAN • Cries And Whispers (1983-1991)
XTC • What Do You Call That Noise?
SIOUXSIE AND THE BANSHEES • Juju
SIMI NAH • La Terre est Noire
LIZARD SMILE • Wandering in Mirrors
RITUAL VEIL • Wolf In The Night
CRYING VESSEL • A Beautiful Curse
TYCHO BRAHE • Triplex [Complete]

 

Same genre: POP
LISA MORGENSTERN • Chameleon
PARRALOX • Subculture
FORMER BULLIES • Stranger
NINE MILLION WITCHES • The Rapture
AGNES OBEL • Citizen Of Glass
NOSOUND • Scintilla
GRACE JONES • Warm Leatherette
LEVEL 42 • Mechelen, Maanrock (28/08/2016)
A LINN THING • Mechelen, Maanrock (27/08/2016)
LALALOVER • Rijmenam, Rijmrock (20/08/2016)

 

Same genre: POST PUNK
VEIL OF LIGHT • Inflict
WHERE WE SLEEP • The Desert
SUBMOTILE • Ghosts Fade On Skylines
THE MEMBRANES • What Nature Gives… Nature Takes Away
UNDERTHESKIN • Negative
JESUS LIVES IN VEGAS • Jesus Lives In Vegas
FONTAINES D.C • Dogrel
FAUST PROJECT • Somewhere between the shadows there’s a place called us
DAVID J • Thoughts And Prayers
PRINCIPE VALIENTE • Choirs of Blessed Youth

Music reviews

14
06
CABINET OF MILLIONAIRES
Theresa, Vol.3 Ep
13
06
DEF ROBOT
Makers Of Mountains
04
06
THIS CAN HURT
Worlds Apart
03
06
RADERKRAFT
Smart Control
02
06
MASSIVE EGO
Church For The Malfunctioned
01
06
VUKOVAR
Cremator

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

15
06
Today it’s exactly 40 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).
03
06
Today, 41 years ago, Joy Division self-released their very first 7' EP, An Ideal For Living!
29
05
UK's Electronic-Pop Band EMPATHY TEST Announce The Release of EMPTY-HANDED EP
16
05
45 years of Diamond Dogs (David Bowie)
15
05
On this day, 29 years ago, British post-punk band Wire released their 7th studio album Manscape
14
05
'Locating Silver Lake' out on DVD today!

Concert reviews

15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

17
06
DANIELLE DE PICCIOTTO
'I feel connected to other people because they understand the result of my thoughts.'
15
06
KENNEY JONES
'There's always an element of doubt in anything you do'
23
05
JAKE BURNS (STIFF LITTLE FINGERS)
'We were writing a songs about our own rights'
22
05
TREHA SEKTORI
‘I Have A Feeling Of Constant Dissatisfaction, So I'll Get Back To Work To Make It Better’
10
05
APSURDE
No Matter What We Do, We Will Always Sound Like Depeche Mode

PHOTOS

16
06
WAPPENBUND
Trouwfe(e)st #3, Wommelgem
16
06
PANTSER FABRIEK
Trouwfe(e)st #3, Wommelgem
12
06
RIOTMILOO
Trouwfe(e)st #3, Wommelgem
12
06
ASHTORETH
Trouwfe(e)st #3, Wommelgem
12
06
FOR GREATER GOOD
Trouwfe(e)st #3, Wommelgem
12
06
AGONOIZE
Agra, WGT Leipzig
12
06
VELVET ACID CHRIST
Agra, WGT Leipzig

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

18
06
EVI VINE
Porcelain
17
06
LEVITIKA
Zombie Barbie
16
06
WHITE ZOMBIE
More Human Than Human
15
06
KARIN PARK
Hurricane
14
06
AUSTRA
I Love You More Than You Love Yourself
13
06
FACTICE FACTORY
L'Aurore
12
06
SOWULU
Ginnungagap