tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this vinyl review

10/12/2016 : BOOTBLACKS - Veins

BOOTBLACKS

Veins

MusicVinyl
New wavePopPost Punk

[89/100]   

Manic Depression
10/12/2016, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

Bootblacks is a New York based post-punk band. The album can be download for free via Bootblacks.net or Bandcamp. You can order the vinyl version via Manic Depression Records. It is highly recommended album. The music has wave influences from the 80s, and combined with a pleasant singing voice, we hear fresh wave/pop songs. The band makes use of synths, guitars and catchy choruses. In the bio the sound is compared with Joy Division and New Order, but that's only partly true, because the vocals are warmer and less sharp than those of Ian Curtis. And that is and advantage, because that way Bootblacks sounds original.

The songs on Veins are very well made: the sound dark and less dark in a poppy jacket. PastLives is a very warm, upbeat song with synth strings to increase the emotionality. Opener Colorblind is strong too.

Drift is a bit darker and contains fine guitar work after the intro. ABC thrives on tight drumming and the singer's voice sounds like She Past Away sometimes. The synths do the rest. Decoy is a delicate and atmospheric song that closes an album without weak moments.

A strong release. Download the album or buy the vinyl!

Wim GUILLEMYN
10/12/2016


NL

Bootblacks is een New Yorkse post-punkband. Het album is gratis ter beschikking via hun site Bootblacks.net of via Bandcamp. Je kan het bij Manic Depression Records op vinyl bestellen. Het is een aanrader. De muziek bevat wave-invloeden uit de jaren 80 en gecombineerd met een aangename zangstem, horen we frisse wave/popsongs waarvoor ze gebruik maken van synths, gitaren en catchy refreinen. In de bio vergelijken ze de sound met Joy Division en New Order, maar dat is maar ten dele waar. De zang is bijvoorbeeld warmer en minder scherp dan die van Ian Curtis. En maar goed want op die manier heeft Bootblacks een eigen stijl.

De tracks op Veins zitten heel goed in elkaar. Het klinken licht tot heel donker en ze zijn op een heel poppy gemaakt. Pastlives is bijvoorbeeld een heel warme uptempo track waarin gebruik wordt gemaakt van synthstrijkers om de emotionaliteit te vergroten. Ook opener Colorblind is sterk.

Drift is dan weer wat donkerder qua sound. Na de intro bevat de song fijn gitaarwerk. ABC drijft op strak drumwerk en de zanger laat zijn stem nu en dan overslaan zoals die van She Past Away pleegt te doen. De synths doen de rest. Decoy is eveneens een fijn en atmosferisch klinkende song die een album zonder zwaake momenten afsluit.

Een sterke release. Downloaden of kopen dus!

Wim GUILLEMYN
10/12/2016


 

Next reviews
DOUBLE ECHO • Ancient Youth
NICOLAS VAN MEIRHAEGHE (EMPUSAE) • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
PETER SCHILLING • Error In The System
PETER CASAER • AFFLICTION
ARBEID ADELT ! + THE HUMAN LEAGUE • Leuven, Het Groot Verlof (08/07/2016)
HANTE • Ten Albums That Changed My life
MANI NEUMEIER • Talking Guru Drums
BATTERY OPERATED ORCHESTRA • Radiation
RAMMSIER • Blackflowers EP
HOLISPARK • The Harvest

 

Same combination of genres: NEW WAVE + POP + POST PUNK
LUSTS • Illuminations
VARIOUS ARISTS • Quattroannidiversi
SECTION 25 • CLASSICS : From The Hip

 

Same genre: NEW WAVE
A CERTAIN RATIO • ACR-Box
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
DER KLINKE • Decade
JAPAN • Cries And Whispers (1983-1991)
XTC • What Do You Call That Noise?
SIOUXSIE AND THE BANSHEES • Juju
SIMI NAH • La Terre est Noire
LIZARD SMILE • Wandering in Mirrors
RITUAL VEIL • Wolf In The Night
CRYING VESSEL • A Beautiful Curse

 

Same genre: POP
LISA MORGENSTERN • Chameleon
TYCHO BRAHE • Triplex [Complete]
PARRALOX • Subculture
FORMER BULLIES • Stranger
NINE MILLION WITCHES • The Rapture
AGNES OBEL • Citizen Of Glass
NOSOUND • Scintilla
GRACE JONES • Warm Leatherette
LEVEL 42 • Mechelen, Maanrock (28/08/2016)
A LINN THING • Mechelen, Maanrock (27/08/2016)

 

Same genre: POST PUNK
NAIROD YARG • Nairod Yarg
MEAGER BENEFITS • Crawling
VEIL OF LIGHT • Inflict
WHERE WE SLEEP • The Desert
SUBMOTILE • Ghosts Fade On Skylines
THE MEMBRANES • What Nature Gives… Nature Takes Away
UNDERTHESKIN • Negative
JESUS LIVES IN VEGAS • Jesus Lives In Vegas
FONTAINES D.C • Dogrel
FAUST PROJECT • Somewhere between the shadows there’s a place called us

Music reviews

20
09
JE T'AIME
Je T'aime
05
09
FOXY
X-Ray Spex Tribute
04
09
GRENDEL
Ascending The Abyss
03
09
SUICIDE COMMANDO
Hellraiser
03
09
W - FEST, AUG 18TH 2019
24
08
MEAGER BENEFITS
Crawling

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

22
09
Today it’s been exactly 27 years since Nine Inch Nails released Broken (EP)
21
09
Industrial/Metal Band DECENT NEWS Announces The Release Of 'Monolith'
20
09
Warish streaming forthcoming full length debut ahead of release
19
09
Such Beautiful Flowers premières first video from upcoming Wool-E Tapes release.
06
09
KLONE RELEASE NEW SINGLE “HIDDEN PASSENGER” FROM FORTHCOMING ALBUM LE GRAND VOYAGE
05
09
Industrial Rock Band CHMCL STR8JCKT Signs To Cleopatra Records - Wrtchd Thngs Album Details Revealed

Concert reviews

21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019
15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

21
09
BRIAN JAMES(THE DAMNED,THE LORDS OF THE NEW CHURCH)
'If it’s something that comes from your heart – you can do whatever you want do to!'
19
09
CHMCL STR8JCKT
An Interview With Chmcl Str8jckt
11
09
NOTNOTICE
I Like When There Are Noise Collages In The Music
08
09
ALEXA HUNTER(DISTURBED FURNITURE)
'Love or hate us, we are gonna kick out the jams while we still can!'
06
09
DAVID WM.SIMS(UNFACT,THE JESUS LIZARD,SCRATCH ACID)
'We had a great personal chemistry within the band!'

PHOTOS

22
09
WHISPERING SONS
Liege New Wave Festival
22
09
ASH CODE
Liege New Wave Festival
22
09
DARK SIDE EONS
Liege New Wave Festival
21
09
SISTERS OF MERCY
The Roundhouse London
21
09
AMENRA
The Roundhouse London
18
09
NEAR METH EXPERIENCE
Zappa Antwerpen
17
09
WAYNE HUSSEY SALAD DAZE TOUR
Movie Bielefeld

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

22
09
THE AMATORY MURDER
The Deadliest Rose
21
09
AESTHETIC PERFECTION
Love Like Lies
20
09
ROSARUBEA
Window Pain
19
09
THE UNDERTONES
Teenage Kicks
18
09
MIEL NOIR
L’ennemi
17
09
PRECIOUS CHILD
My Little Problem
16
09
PRECIOUS CHILD
Magic is Real