tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this vinyl review

10/12/2016 : BOOTBLACKS - Veins

BOOTBLACKS

Veins

MusicVinyl
New wavePopPost Punk

[89/100]   

Manic Depression
10/12/2016, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

Bootblacks is a New York based post-punk band. The album can be download for free via Bootblacks.net or Bandcamp. You can order the vinyl version via Manic Depression Records. It is highly recommended album. The music has wave influences from the 80s, and combined with a pleasant singing voice, we hear fresh wave/pop songs. The band makes use of synths, guitars and catchy choruses. In the bio the sound is compared with Joy Division and New Order, but that's only partly true, because the vocals are warmer and less sharp than those of Ian Curtis. And that is and advantage, because that way Bootblacks sounds original.

The songs on Veins are very well made: the sound dark and less dark in a poppy jacket. PastLives is a very warm, upbeat song with synth strings to increase the emotionality. Opener Colorblind is strong too.

Drift is a bit darker and contains fine guitar work after the intro. ABC thrives on tight drumming and the singer's voice sounds like She Past Away sometimes. The synths do the rest. Decoy is a delicate and atmospheric song that closes an album without weak moments.

A strong release. Download the album or buy the vinyl!

Wim GUILLEMYN
10/12/2016


NL

Bootblacks is een New Yorkse post-punkband. Het album is gratis ter beschikking via hun site Bootblacks.net of via Bandcamp. Je kan het bij Manic Depression Records op vinyl bestellen. Het is een aanrader. De muziek bevat wave-invloeden uit de jaren 80 en gecombineerd met een aangename zangstem, horen we frisse wave/popsongs waarvoor ze gebruik maken van synths, gitaren en catchy refreinen. In de bio vergelijken ze de sound met Joy Division en New Order, maar dat is maar ten dele waar. De zang is bijvoorbeeld warmer en minder scherp dan die van Ian Curtis. En maar goed want op die manier heeft Bootblacks een eigen stijl.

De tracks op Veins zitten heel goed in elkaar. Het klinken licht tot heel donker en ze zijn op een heel poppy gemaakt. Pastlives is bijvoorbeeld een heel warme uptempo track waarin gebruik wordt gemaakt van synthstrijkers om de emotionaliteit te vergroten. Ook opener Colorblind is sterk.

Drift is dan weer wat donkerder qua sound. Na de intro bevat de song fijn gitaarwerk. ABC drijft op strak drumwerk en de zanger laat zijn stem nu en dan overslaan zoals die van She Past Away pleegt te doen. De synths doen de rest. Decoy is eveneens een fijn en atmosferisch klinkende song die een album zonder zwaake momenten afsluit.

Een sterke release. Downloaden of kopen dus!

Wim GUILLEMYN
10/12/2016


 

Next reviews
DOUBLE ECHO • Ancient Youth
NICOLAS VAN MEIRHAEGHE (EMPUSAE) • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
PETER SCHILLING • Error In The System
PETER CASAER • AFFLICTION
ARBEID ADELT ! + THE HUMAN LEAGUE • Leuven, Het Groot Verlof (08/07/2016)
HANTE • Ten Albums That Changed My life
MANI NEUMEIER • Talking Guru Drums
BATTERY OPERATED ORCHESTRA • Radiation
RAMMSIER • Blackflowers EP
HOLISPARK • The Harvest

 

Same combination of genres: NEW WAVE + POP + POST PUNK
LUSTS • Illuminations
VARIOUS ARISTS • Quattroannidiversi
SECTION 25 • CLASSICS : From The Hip

 

Same genre: NEW WAVE
SHE HATES EMOTIONS • See The Light (Single)
HYSTÉRIE • Deuil
DAGEIST • Sexy
NEW MODEL ARMY • From Here
A CERTAIN RATIO • ACR-Box
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
DER KLINKE • Decade
JAPAN • Cries And Whispers (1983-1991)
XTC • What Do You Call That Noise?
SIOUXSIE AND THE BANSHEES • Juju

 

Same genre: POP
MONICA RICHARDS & ANTHONY JONES • AESTUARIUM
LISA MORGENSTERN • Chameleon
TYCHO BRAHE • Triplex [Complete]
PARRALOX • Subculture
FORMER BULLIES • Stranger
NINE MILLION WITCHES • The Rapture
AGNES OBEL • Citizen Of Glass
NOSOUND • Scintilla
GRACE JONES • Warm Leatherette
LEVEL 42 • Mechelen, Maanrock (28/08/2016)

 

Same genre: POST PUNK
THE MARS MODEL • FrancoBelga
RINGFINGER • Pressure
CABARET VOLTAIRE • Chance Versus Causality
MOONLIGHT MEADOW • Moonlight Meadow
NAIROD YARG • Nairod Yarg
MEAGER BENEFITS • Crawling
VEIL OF LIGHT • Inflict
WHERE WE SLEEP • The Desert
SUBMOTILE • Ghosts Fade On Skylines
THE MEMBRANES • What Nature Gives… Nature Takes Away

Music reviews

03
07
PORTION CONTROL
Head Buried
02
07
AIMA & THE ILLUSION OF SILENCE
Music for certain rituals
28
06
VARIOUS ARTISTS
PERIHELION 2134
24
06
COLD IN MAY
Isolation songs
19
06
UNITCODE:MACHINE
Paper empires
18
06
BLACK NEEDLE NOISE
Seed of Evil

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

04
07
Industrial Band RIOTLEGION Announces The Release Of Machine Liberation
03
07
I Wanted To Tell Her by Ministry turns 37 years this month!
15
06
Today it’s exactly 41 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).
11
06
29 years of Kraftwerk in The Mix
11
06
Sieben covering David Bowie's Heroes live + new CD album 2020 VISION releases this Friday, 12th June!
10
06
29 years of Family Man!

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

04
07
LAIBACH
When they banned Laibach, we said 'great, let's move further'!
27
06
BURTON C.BELL (FEAR FACTORY, ASCENSION OF THE WATCHERS )
'It all comes from my head – whatever I’m feeling, whatever I’m thinking of.'
27
06
RODNEY ORPHEUS / THE CASSANDRA COMPLEX
I Think I’m Still As Revolutionary And Opinionated As Ever...
25
06
THE COLOURS OF SILENCE
Isolation Is Good For Art. Embrace It And Use It
13
06
LAST INFLUENCE OF BRAIN
L.I.O.B. Has Always Been Such A Distraction For Us

PHOTOS

13
03
SIGLO XX
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
ROME
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ROSE OF AVALANCHE
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE DANSE SOCIETY
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ARCH
Porta Nigra Aarschot
11
03
FRONT 242
Pulse Namur Isnes
11
03
SHAARGHOT
Pulse Namur Isnes

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

04
07
LORDS OF ACID
I Sit On Acid
03
07
DEAD CAN DANCE
Eleusis
02
07
LIAISONS DANGEREUSES
Los niños del parque
01
07
HORD
Lines
30
06
U.R.A.N.
Geo Logo
29
06
MISS KITTIN
Bassline
28
06
HOCICO
I Abomination