tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

10/12/2016 : PETER SCHILLING - Error In The System

PETER SCHILLING

Error In The System

MusicCD
Synth Pop / Electro Pop

[83/100]   

Cherry Red Records
10/12/2016, Didier BECU

EN

The best thing about the Neue Deutsche Welle is undoubtedly the use of the German language, simply because it gave the songs more character. Curiously, the English-language market thought otherwise. Fortunately, alternative acts did not get an English version, but all the popular synth bands that conquered the European charts between 1982 and 1983 got one. It happened to Nena and Peter Schilling. It is logical that Cherry Red Records chose the English version for the reissue of his album Fehler Im System of 1982.

In his teens, the artist could not choose between a career as a pop artist and a professional footballer (when he was fifteenth he got an offer of VFB Stuttgart). Ultimately, he became a musician. His debut album (which was released three years after his debut single) was an instant hit. Major Tom was picked up by radio stations, and the album landed on WEA. The single, which was a response to Space Oddity, was an bigger hit than than Bowie's song from 1969.

Although Fehler Im System (or Error In The System) is a brilliant pop album that flirts with different styles such as reggae and new wave. Today, Peter Schilling is no more than a one hit wonder. You still hear Major Tom on the radio, perhaps as a cover by Apoptygma Berzerk or Hillary Duff, the rest of his songs is hardly known.

We have to be honest, Error In The System is not a masterpiece, but it is a record that definitely deserves a better status than the album with Major Tom. The other songs are somewhat burdened by the genius of this classic, however, you’ll discover a lot of (commercial) new wave gems on it.

Of course Cherry Red Records fans know that the reissues always have an extra. In addition to the English version of the album, you get three remixes of Major Tom, the 12 "version by Die Wüste Lebt, the fantastic B-side of Major Tom (Ich hab 'kein Lust) and a few other rare tracks.

For 80s pop fans this is a must for the collection, for others it is a unique opportunity to discover that Peter Schilling is just more than... (no, we don’t repeat it!)

Didier BECU
10/12/2016


NL

Het leukste aan de Neue Deutsche Welle is zonder twijfel het gebruik van de Duitse taal, gewoon omdat ze de songs meer karakter geeft. Vreemd genoeg vond de Engelstalige markt dat niet. Gelukkig bleven alternatieve acts gespaard van een Engelse versie, maar de populaire synthbands die tussen 1982 en 1983 de Europese hitparade veroverden, werden één voor één het onderwer van een Engelse bewerking. Het overkwam Nena, maar ook Peter Schilling. Het is dan ook logisch dat Cherry Red Records de Engelstalige versie koos voor de heruitgave van zijn plaat Fehler Im System uit 1982.

In zijn jeugdjaren kon deze artiest niet kiezen tussen een carrière als popartiest en profvoetballer (hij kreeg op zijn vijftiende een aanbod van VFB Stuttgart). Uiteindelijk bleek de aantrekkingskracht van de muziek net iets groter te zijn. Met zijn debuutplaat (die drie jaar na zijn debuutsingle uitkwam) was het onmiddellijk raak. Major Tom werd opgepikt door de radiostations waardoor de plaat bij WEA terechtkwam. De single die een antwoord was op Space Oddity, deed het in de hitparade beter dan het Bowie-lied uit 1969.

Hoewel Fehler Im System (of zo je wil Error In The System) een briljante popplaat is die flirt met verschillende stijlen zoals reggae en new wave, was Peter Schilling voor het grote publiek binnen de kortste keren slechts een onehitwonder. Nu hoor je Major Tom nog dagelijks op de radio (of de coverversies van Apoptygma Berzerk tot Hillary Duff), helaas is de rest van zijn songs nauwelijks bekend.

We moeten niet flauw doen, Error In The System is geen meesterwerk, wel een plaat die op zijn minst meer verdient dan de status van die lp met het liedje Major Tom. De andere songs gaan wel wat gebukt door het genie van deze klassieker, toch ontdek je er heel wat commerciële newwavepareltjes op.

Cherry Red Records-fans weten natuurlijk dat ze verwend worden met de heruitgaven. Naast de Engelstalige versie van de lp krijg je ook drie remixen van Major Tom: de 12”-versie van Die Wüste Lebt, de fantastische B-kant van Major Tom (Ich hab’ kein Lust) en een paar andere zeldzame tracks.

Voor de collectie van popfans uit de jaren 80 sowieso een onmisbare plaat; voor anderen een unieke gelegenheid om te ontdekken dat Peter Schilling meer is dan... (neen, we herhalen het niet meer!)

Didier BECU
10/12/2016


Music reviews

25
01
POUPPEE FABRIKK
Burn Forever
23
01
STURM CAFE
Fernes Land
18
01
DISTANT VOICES
Long Road to Home
17
01
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
Mechanical Soul
16
01
IMPLANT
Phantom Pain
15
01
DD SANCHEZ
StRaNgE

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

25
01
Exactly 43 years ago, Joy Division played their very first concert!
24
01
Today, exactly 30 years ago Front 242 released the album Tyranny ▶For You◀
24
01
Today, 3 years ago, Mark E. Smith, singer of legendary post-punk band The Fall died, aged 60
22
01
On this day, 11 years ago, Nitzer Ebb released their sixth studio album Industrial Complex!
21
01
Today, exactly 28 years ago, Ministry released Just One Fix!
19
01
On this day, 30 years ago (19 January 1991), The Cure performed at The Great British Music Awards!

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

07
01
MAMAN KUSTERS
‘Let’s Keep It Intriguing
16
12
THE BREATH OF LIFE
'No, I never considered quitting making music. Nor to taste good special beers.'
05
12
CEVIN KEY (SKINNY PUPPY, DOWNLOAD)
'It really has been like the formation of a new band in a lot of ways...'
03
12
ALEX SKOLNICK (TESTAMENT, ALEX SKOLNICK TRIO)
'I was as knocked out as I was hearing Van Halen...'
14
11
PROYECTO MIRAGE
I Think We Needed A Break

PHOTOS

25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival
20
08
JUSTIN SULLIVAN & GASTONE
Kreisverwaltung Groß-Gerau

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

25
01
STRONG PRODUCT
Trolleybus Park
24
01
BUZZ KULL
Last in the club
23
01
KALTE NACHT
Voices in silence
22
01
SYNAPTIC DEFECT
Tacky games
21
01
ROB ZOMBIE
The Triumph of King Freak (A Crypt of Preservation and Superstition)
20
01
NEW ORDER
True Faith
19
01
CORDE OBLIQUE
Suono su tela