tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

10/12/2016 : PETER SCHILLING - Error In The System

PETER SCHILLING

Error In The System

MusicCD
Synth Pop / Electro Pop

[83/100]   

Cherry Red Records
10/12/2016, Didier BECU

EN

The best thing about the Neue Deutsche Welle is undoubtedly the use of the German language, simply because it gave the songs more character. Curiously, the English-language market thought otherwise. Fortunately, alternative acts did not get an English version, but all the popular synth bands that conquered the European charts between 1982 and 1983 got one. It happened to Nena and Peter Schilling. It is logical that Cherry Red Records chose the English version for the reissue of his album Fehler Im System of 1982.

In his teens, the artist could not choose between a career as a pop artist and a professional footballer (when he was fifteenth he got an offer of VFB Stuttgart). Ultimately, he became a musician. His debut album (which was released three years after his debut single) was an instant hit. Major Tom was picked up by radio stations, and the album landed on WEA. The single, which was a response to Space Oddity, was an bigger hit than than Bowie's song from 1969.

Although Fehler Im System (or Error In The System) is a brilliant pop album that flirts with different styles such as reggae and new wave. Today, Peter Schilling is no more than a one hit wonder. You still hear Major Tom on the radio, perhaps as a cover by Apoptygma Berzerk or Hillary Duff, the rest of his songs is hardly known.

We have to be honest, Error In The System is not a masterpiece, but it is a record that definitely deserves a better status than the album with Major Tom. The other songs are somewhat burdened by the genius of this classic, however, you’ll discover a lot of (commercial) new wave gems on it.

Of course Cherry Red Records fans know that the reissues always have an extra. In addition to the English version of the album, you get three remixes of Major Tom, the 12 "version by Die Wüste Lebt, the fantastic B-side of Major Tom (Ich hab 'kein Lust) and a few other rare tracks.

For 80s pop fans this is a must for the collection, for others it is a unique opportunity to discover that Peter Schilling is just more than... (no, we don’t repeat it!)

Didier BECU
10/12/2016


NL

Het leukste aan de Neue Deutsche Welle is zonder twijfel het gebruik van de Duitse taal, gewoon omdat ze de songs meer karakter geeft. Vreemd genoeg vond de Engelstalige markt dat niet. Gelukkig bleven alternatieve acts gespaard van een Engelse versie, maar de populaire synthbands die tussen 1982 en 1983 de Europese hitparade veroverden, werden één voor één het onderwer van een Engelse bewerking. Het overkwam Nena, maar ook Peter Schilling. Het is dan ook logisch dat Cherry Red Records de Engelstalige versie koos voor de heruitgave van zijn plaat Fehler Im System uit 1982.

In zijn jeugdjaren kon deze artiest niet kiezen tussen een carrière als popartiest en profvoetballer (hij kreeg op zijn vijftiende een aanbod van VFB Stuttgart). Uiteindelijk bleek de aantrekkingskracht van de muziek net iets groter te zijn. Met zijn debuutplaat (die drie jaar na zijn debuutsingle uitkwam) was het onmiddellijk raak. Major Tom werd opgepikt door de radiostations waardoor de plaat bij WEA terechtkwam. De single die een antwoord was op Space Oddity, deed het in de hitparade beter dan het Bowie-lied uit 1969.

Hoewel Fehler Im System (of zo je wil Error In The System) een briljante popplaat is die flirt met verschillende stijlen zoals reggae en new wave, was Peter Schilling voor het grote publiek binnen de kortste keren slechts een onehitwonder. Nu hoor je Major Tom nog dagelijks op de radio (of de coverversies van Apoptygma Berzerk tot Hillary Duff), helaas is de rest van zijn songs nauwelijks bekend.

We moeten niet flauw doen, Error In The System is geen meesterwerk, wel een plaat die op zijn minst meer verdient dan de status van die lp met het liedje Major Tom. De andere songs gaan wel wat gebukt door het genie van deze klassieker, toch ontdek je er heel wat commerciële newwavepareltjes op.

Cherry Red Records-fans weten natuurlijk dat ze verwend worden met de heruitgaven. Naast de Engelstalige versie van de lp krijg je ook drie remixen van Major Tom: de 12”-versie van Die Wüste Lebt, de fantastische B-kant van Major Tom (Ich hab’ kein Lust) en een paar andere zeldzame tracks.

Voor de collectie van popfans uit de jaren 80 sowieso een onmisbare plaat; voor anderen een unieke gelegenheid om te ontdekken dat Peter Schilling meer is dan... (neen, we herhalen het niet meer!)

Didier BECU
10/12/2016


Music reviews

15
04
ABSOLUTE BODY CONTROL
A New Dawn
15
04
IN ABSENTIA
Charnel House Chatterbox (Remastered 2021)
14
04
THE BURYING KIND
The Burying Kind ( EP )
05
04
VARIOUS ARTISTS
Electropop 18 (Super Deluxe Edition)
23
03
300 000VK
Peter Paradox
10
03
PYRROLINE
Struggling

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

15
04
On this day, 20 years ago, FAD GADGET performed his first legendary come-back show!
14
04
In memorian.... The Punk Empowerment Of Poly Styrene (° 3 July 1957 †25 April 2011)
13
04
34 years MUTE records released 'Let Your Body Learn' by Nitzer Ebb!
07
04
Skinny Puppy’s Cevin Key zoom chat's with à;GRUMH...
04
04
15 years ago, Nine Inch Nails released ‘Every Day Is Exactly the Same’.
03
04
On this day, 19 years ago, Frank Tovey / Fad Gadget died at the age of 45.

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

15
04
BLEEDING RAVEN
Never really took myself serious... still don’t...
12
02
DIVE
We All Can Ask Us The Question ‘Where Do We Go From Here?'
10
02
RAYMOND WATTS (PIG)
'It’s not a re-discovery. It’s finding the way in to let the stuff out...'
02
02
JOHN 3:16
I regularly come across animal remains at various stages of decomposition. That started to affect me, and that's where the concept of the record was born.
07
01
MAMAN KUSTERS
‘Let’s Keep It Intriguing

PHOTOS

15
04
FAD GADGET
Mean Fiddler, London, England
25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

15
04
FAITH AND THE MUSE
Battle Hymn
14
04
MESH
It scares me
13
04
MONOTONE EXPRESSION
Out Of Tune With Life
12
04
LAID BACK
White Horse
11
04
VOK
Waterfall
10
04
SVEN VATH VS. ANTHONY ROTHER
Komm
09
04
THIS CAN HURT
IF YOU GO