tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

10/12/2016 : PETER SCHILLING - Error In The System

PETER SCHILLING

Error In The System

MusicCD
Synth Pop / Electro Pop

[83/100]   

Cherry Red Records
10/12/2016, Didier BECU

EN

The best thing about the Neue Deutsche Welle is undoubtedly the use of the German language, simply because it gave the songs more character. Curiously, the English-language market thought otherwise. Fortunately, alternative acts did not get an English version, but all the popular synth bands that conquered the European charts between 1982 and 1983 got one. It happened to Nena and Peter Schilling. It is logical that Cherry Red Records chose the English version for the reissue of his album Fehler Im System of 1982.

In his teens, the artist could not choose between a career as a pop artist and a professional footballer (when he was fifteenth he got an offer of VFB Stuttgart). Ultimately, he became a musician. His debut album (which was released three years after his debut single) was an instant hit. Major Tom was picked up by radio stations, and the album landed on WEA. The single, which was a response to Space Oddity, was an bigger hit than than Bowie's song from 1969.

Although Fehler Im System (or Error In The System) is a brilliant pop album that flirts with different styles such as reggae and new wave. Today, Peter Schilling is no more than a one hit wonder. You still hear Major Tom on the radio, perhaps as a cover by Apoptygma Berzerk or Hillary Duff, the rest of his songs is hardly known.

We have to be honest, Error In The System is not a masterpiece, but it is a record that definitely deserves a better status than the album with Major Tom. The other songs are somewhat burdened by the genius of this classic, however, you’ll discover a lot of (commercial) new wave gems on it.

Of course Cherry Red Records fans know that the reissues always have an extra. In addition to the English version of the album, you get three remixes of Major Tom, the 12 "version by Die Wüste Lebt, the fantastic B-side of Major Tom (Ich hab 'kein Lust) and a few other rare tracks.

For 80s pop fans this is a must for the collection, for others it is a unique opportunity to discover that Peter Schilling is just more than... (no, we don’t repeat it!)

Didier BECU
10/12/2016


NL

Het leukste aan de Neue Deutsche Welle is zonder twijfel het gebruik van de Duitse taal, gewoon omdat ze de songs meer karakter geeft. Vreemd genoeg vond de Engelstalige markt dat niet. Gelukkig bleven alternatieve acts gespaard van een Engelse versie, maar de populaire synthbands die tussen 1982 en 1983 de Europese hitparade veroverden, werden één voor één het onderwer van een Engelse bewerking. Het overkwam Nena, maar ook Peter Schilling. Het is dan ook logisch dat Cherry Red Records de Engelstalige versie koos voor de heruitgave van zijn plaat Fehler Im System uit 1982.

In zijn jeugdjaren kon deze artiest niet kiezen tussen een carrière als popartiest en profvoetballer (hij kreeg op zijn vijftiende een aanbod van VFB Stuttgart). Uiteindelijk bleek de aantrekkingskracht van de muziek net iets groter te zijn. Met zijn debuutplaat (die drie jaar na zijn debuutsingle uitkwam) was het onmiddellijk raak. Major Tom werd opgepikt door de radiostations waardoor de plaat bij WEA terechtkwam. De single die een antwoord was op Space Oddity, deed het in de hitparade beter dan het Bowie-lied uit 1969.

Hoewel Fehler Im System (of zo je wil Error In The System) een briljante popplaat is die flirt met verschillende stijlen zoals reggae en new wave, was Peter Schilling voor het grote publiek binnen de kortste keren slechts een onehitwonder. Nu hoor je Major Tom nog dagelijks op de radio (of de coverversies van Apoptygma Berzerk tot Hillary Duff), helaas is de rest van zijn songs nauwelijks bekend.

We moeten niet flauw doen, Error In The System is geen meesterwerk, wel een plaat die op zijn minst meer verdient dan de status van die lp met het liedje Major Tom. De andere songs gaan wel wat gebukt door het genie van deze klassieker, toch ontdek je er heel wat commerciële newwavepareltjes op.

Cherry Red Records-fans weten natuurlijk dat ze verwend worden met de heruitgaven. Naast de Engelstalige versie van de lp krijg je ook drie remixen van Major Tom: de 12”-versie van Die Wüste Lebt, de fantastische B-kant van Major Tom (Ich hab’ kein Lust) en een paar andere zeldzame tracks.

Voor de collectie van popfans uit de jaren 80 sowieso een onmisbare plaat; voor anderen een unieke gelegenheid om te ontdekken dat Peter Schilling meer is dan... (neen, we herhalen het niet meer!)

Didier BECU
10/12/2016


Music reviews

05
07
JAYE JAYLE
PRISYN
03
07
PORTION CONTROL
Head Buried
02
07
AIMA & THE ILLUSION OF SILENCE
Music for certain rituals
28
06
VARIOUS ARTISTS
PERIHELION 2134
24
06
COLD IN MAY
Isolation songs
19
06
UNITCODE:MACHINE
Paper empires

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

08
07
Darkwave Artist DISSONANCE Announces New Maxi-Single 'Precipice;' A Lament Of Personal Struggle
07
07
Darkwave Band STYKFAKTOR Reveals New Single, 'Distance' - An Emotional Struggle With Social Distancing
07
07
FRONT 242's Daniel B. celebrate his 66th birthday with the release of 6+6
04
07
Industrial Band RIOTLEGION Announces The Release Of Machine Liberation
03
07
I Wanted To Tell Her by Ministry turns 37 years this month!
15
06
Today it’s exactly 41 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

06
07
J.ROBBINS
'When someone has a song and they’re struggling about - what’s the best way to present it...'
04
07
LAIBACH
When they banned Laibach, we said 'great, let's move further'!
27
06
BURTON C.BELL (FEAR FACTORY, ASCENSION OF THE WATCHERS )
'It all comes from my head – whatever I’m feeling, whatever I’m thinking of.'
27
06
RODNEY ORPHEUS / THE CASSANDRA COMPLEX
I Think I’m Still As Revolutionary And Opinionated As Ever...
25
06
THE COLOURS OF SILENCE
Isolation Is Good For Art. Embrace It And Use It

PHOTOS

13
03
SIGLO XX
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
ROME
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ROSE OF AVALANCHE
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE DANSE SOCIETY
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ARCH
Porta Nigra Aarschot
11
03
FRONT 242
Pulse Namur Isnes
11
03
SHAARGHOT
Pulse Namur Isnes

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

08
07
RYUICHI SAKAMOTO & DAVID SYLVIAN
Life, Life
07
07
KDF
Innocence
06
07
SNOG
Spätzle Machine
06
07
THE HORRORIST
The Horrorist - One Night In New York City (Uncensored)(Chris Liebing Remix)
05
07
GOLDFRAPP
Winter Wonderland
04
07
LORDS OF ACID
I Sit On Acid
03
07
DEAD CAN DANCE
Eleusis