tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

10/12/2016 : PETER SCHILLING - Error In The System

PETER SCHILLING

Error In The System

MusicCD
Synth Pop / Electro Pop

[83/100]   

Cherry Red Records
10/12/2016, Didier BECU

EN

The best thing about the Neue Deutsche Welle is undoubtedly the use of the German language, simply because it gave the songs more character. Curiously, the English-language market thought otherwise. Fortunately, alternative acts did not get an English version, but all the popular synth bands that conquered the European charts between 1982 and 1983 got one. It happened to Nena and Peter Schilling. It is logical that Cherry Red Records chose the English version for the reissue of his album Fehler Im System of 1982.

In his teens, the artist could not choose between a career as a pop artist and a professional footballer (when he was fifteenth he got an offer of VFB Stuttgart). Ultimately, he became a musician. His debut album (which was released three years after his debut single) was an instant hit. Major Tom was picked up by radio stations, and the album landed on WEA. The single, which was a response to Space Oddity, was an bigger hit than than Bowie's song from 1969.

Although Fehler Im System (or Error In The System) is a brilliant pop album that flirts with different styles such as reggae and new wave. Today, Peter Schilling is no more than a one hit wonder. You still hear Major Tom on the radio, perhaps as a cover by Apoptygma Berzerk or Hillary Duff, the rest of his songs is hardly known.

We have to be honest, Error In The System is not a masterpiece, but it is a record that definitely deserves a better status than the album with Major Tom. The other songs are somewhat burdened by the genius of this classic, however, you’ll discover a lot of (commercial) new wave gems on it.

Of course Cherry Red Records fans know that the reissues always have an extra. In addition to the English version of the album, you get three remixes of Major Tom, the 12 "version by Die Wüste Lebt, the fantastic B-side of Major Tom (Ich hab 'kein Lust) and a few other rare tracks.

For 80s pop fans this is a must for the collection, for others it is a unique opportunity to discover that Peter Schilling is just more than... (no, we don’t repeat it!)

Didier BECU
10/12/2016


NL

Het leukste aan de Neue Deutsche Welle is zonder twijfel het gebruik van de Duitse taal, gewoon omdat ze de songs meer karakter geeft. Vreemd genoeg vond de Engelstalige markt dat niet. Gelukkig bleven alternatieve acts gespaard van een Engelse versie, maar de populaire synthbands die tussen 1982 en 1983 de Europese hitparade veroverden, werden één voor één het onderwer van een Engelse bewerking. Het overkwam Nena, maar ook Peter Schilling. Het is dan ook logisch dat Cherry Red Records de Engelstalige versie koos voor de heruitgave van zijn plaat Fehler Im System uit 1982.

In zijn jeugdjaren kon deze artiest niet kiezen tussen een carrière als popartiest en profvoetballer (hij kreeg op zijn vijftiende een aanbod van VFB Stuttgart). Uiteindelijk bleek de aantrekkingskracht van de muziek net iets groter te zijn. Met zijn debuutplaat (die drie jaar na zijn debuutsingle uitkwam) was het onmiddellijk raak. Major Tom werd opgepikt door de radiostations waardoor de plaat bij WEA terechtkwam. De single die een antwoord was op Space Oddity, deed het in de hitparade beter dan het Bowie-lied uit 1969.

Hoewel Fehler Im System (of zo je wil Error In The System) een briljante popplaat is die flirt met verschillende stijlen zoals reggae en new wave, was Peter Schilling voor het grote publiek binnen de kortste keren slechts een onehitwonder. Nu hoor je Major Tom nog dagelijks op de radio (of de coverversies van Apoptygma Berzerk tot Hillary Duff), helaas is de rest van zijn songs nauwelijks bekend.

We moeten niet flauw doen, Error In The System is geen meesterwerk, wel een plaat die op zijn minst meer verdient dan de status van die lp met het liedje Major Tom. De andere songs gaan wel wat gebukt door het genie van deze klassieker, toch ontdek je er heel wat commerciële newwavepareltjes op.

Cherry Red Records-fans weten natuurlijk dat ze verwend worden met de heruitgaven. Naast de Engelstalige versie van de lp krijg je ook drie remixen van Major Tom: de 12”-versie van Die Wüste Lebt, de fantastische B-kant van Major Tom (Ich hab’ kein Lust) en een paar andere zeldzame tracks.

Voor de collectie van popfans uit de jaren 80 sowieso een onmisbare plaat; voor anderen een unieke gelegenheid om te ontdekken dat Peter Schilling meer is dan... (neen, we herhalen het niet meer!)

Didier BECU
10/12/2016


Music reviews

28
07
WULF7
I don't want (Anymore)
06
07
TRAGIC IMPULSE
Distant Worlds
04
07
RAMMSTEIN
Zeit
27
06
BALVANERA
Courses of Action
14
06
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Gift For You
10
06
SAMHAIN
Experiment

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

07
08
Neo-Fanfare/Darkwave Band, Crooniek Reflects On The Concept Of Time With New Album
06
08
Post-Punk Artist Daniel Ouellette Brings Life To A Haunted House With New Album
05
08
Industrial bass artist SINthetik Messiah addresses violence in The Vatican with new single
05
08
NOISE UNIT is back in full force!
05
08
Industrial artist, Nuda addresses past trauma & mental illness with 'Trigger'
05
08
Darkwave Duo Sever The Servants Drop Apocalyptic Debut LP

Concert reviews

05
07
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

05
08
MOTOR!K
I have to admit that I often still find it strange and difficult to grasp: people going crazy on three weirdos playing some repetitive music
12
07
FERALIA PLANITIA & DAS AUGE
'Thanks to our overlapping tastes in music, we became good friends; music was our cement, sort of speak…'
18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.

PHOTOS

05
08
RAMMSTEIN
Park De Nieuwe Koers Oostende
02
08
SHE PAST AWAY
Amphi Festival Keulen
02
08
FROZEN PLASMA
Amphi Festival Keulen
02
08
MONO INC.
Amphi Festival Keulen
02
08
[:SITD:]
Amphi Festival Keulen
02
08
MESH
Amphi Festival Keulen
02
08
ROME
Amphi Festival Keulen

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

07
08
CREMATORY
Haus Mit Garten
06
08
K-X-P
Space Precious Time
05
08
MONICA JEFFRIES
In Circles
04
08
ILLUMININE
For What It's Worth (Live at Sundlaugin Studio)
03
08
THE CURE
A Forest (Live in Paris 1979)
02
08
DIE KRUPPS
Goldfinger
01
08
ZARDONIC
Revelation