tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

29/04/2015 : 14ANGER - Hasta EP

14ANGER

Hasta EP

MusicCD
IndustrialTechno

[95/100]   

Digital Mutant
29/04/2015, Britta Tabrit

I guess now it’s time to think outside the box of Industrial, EBM, Harsh electro etc. I would like to take you on a journey to France. Don’t worry, I’m not going to write about Chansons.

With this review, I try to bring nearer to you a one-man-project called 14Anger. Clément Perez, aka 14Anger, is a French Techno DJ and producer. Being into Techno Classics and Future Electronics, he manages the balancing act between Underground Electro and mainstream technoid beats. Being a member of Axess Code in South France and has been organizing EBM – Industrial – Goth parties for 15 years.

14Anger was brought to life in 2013. So let’s start with “Hasta” which is a 5-tracks EP. The record fuddles with 3 original versions and 2 remixes by Dekode and Keepsakes and is being released on May, 5th 2015

Track 1 rushes in like a TGV train. After a short intro the attack on your ears begins, booms and rattles. When I read about 14Anger as being a Techno DJ, I honestly expected something else. Of course, you can now start an argument on what the word “TECHNO” really means. Some people subsume the whole world of electronic music as Techno. If you asked me to pin down this song, I would say it’s dark electronic style mixed with Techno elements. Now I’m nosy to check the other tracks!

“Saliva” appears more like a Techno track. There is no real melody audible. Tempest-tossed, this song is clearly influenced by Rave and Trance. It reminds me of a time when I was a huge fan of the German DJs Westbam, Sven Väth and Mark Spoon. But nevertheless it is interesting to listen to it by keeping the underground music idea in mind. It makes you get a completely different perception of what genres mean (or don’t).

The third original song, named “Coal”, stands out as it is a great industrial – noise masterstroke. Provocative and contentious, also a bit shrewish. 5.43 minutes of pure flowing adrenaline. Also suitable for dancefloors, both techno and dark electronic ones. This is really my favorite track on this EP!

The Dekode remix of “Hasta” is a tapered version of the original. Less rugged and somehow dull. My impression is that it sounds like an “underwater” version. Some of the noise elements appear like the breathing sounds of a diver and sonar waves from a submarine. Maybe I’m completely off the track now but that’s what came to my mind and also after listening to this a second time, these metaphors came to my inner eye. That’s nothing bad. On the contrary! Water is my favorite element and I like the idea of putting Industrial music into a diving suit! Well done remix!

The last song is a “Saliva” remix by the New-Zealand band “Keepsakes”. Techno is the keyword here. Rave parts and howling sound elements. To tell the truth, this one caught my unawareness. Hard stamping and only few brief respites came in like a firewall of sound. I’m not quite sure if this will please the dark Electro maniacs. For my personal taste a bit too downgraded compared to the original, but certainly a perfect serenade for a DJ set somewhere on a Techno event!

Well, this was an interesting experience!

Somewhere between “back to the roots” and “off to the future” I had lots of fun with this promo record! I hope that people remain open-minded and give music a chance to cover the world with sunshine as well as with dark clouds. Because both belong to our human existence on this planet. Not only in a transferred sense…

Britta Tabrit
29/04/2015


 

Next reviews
THE GROTESQUERY • The Curse of the Skinless Bride
PAUL WRIGHT • For Those In Peril
JOHN LYDON • Anger Is An Energy
FORMS OF HANDS 15 FESTIVAL • Bönen, Germany (25/04/2016)
JACK HILL • Coffy
MICHAEL MANN • Heat
DEATH BY AMBORST • Salome
JAFAR PANAHI • Taxi Teheran
SSLEEPING DESIRESS • Ssleeping Desiress
WIRE • Wire

 

Same combination of genres: INDUSTRIAL + TECHNO
CLOCK DVA • Neoteric MiniMax
AUTOGEN • Antigen
AXIOME • L’avenir est un cerf teint
BLUSH RESPONSE • Reshaper
ENTRZELLE, STUDIO-X VS SIMON CARTER, THE PSYCHIC FORCE, XMH, ZOMBIE GIRL • EP
CABARET VOLTAIRE, CARTER TUTTI & ANDY STOTT • Paris, Villette Sonique (24/05/2015)
ANTIGEN SHIFT • Brotherhood
KAIBUN • Illogism
SUICIDE COMMANDO, SOMAN, AESTHETIC PERFECTION, SAM, XP8, C-LEKKTOR & SURGYN • Vampireparty Live, 6/4/2013, Petrol, Antwerpen, Belgium
ANTYTHESYS • Over Dose

 

Same genre: INDUSTRIAL
MATT HART • TALES OF TERRA & CHAOS RETOLD
300 000VK • Peter Paradox
IMPERATIVE REACTION • Mirror
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY • Mechanical Soul
IMPLANT • Phantom Pain
HA:PEOPLE.3.55 • El Dia de la Bestia, Part 2 : WAR!
PORTION CONTROL • SEED EP 2
DIVE • Where do we go from here
SUICIDE COMMANDO • Mindstrip Redux
JESU • When I Was Small

 

Same genre: TECHNO
NEON ELECTRONICS • Apollo
WE ARE THE WAY FOR THE COSMOS TO KNOW ITSELF • Flashbacks
PLEASURE TIME • Years About Us
LIE DETECTOR • To Fly!
XOSAR • Xymeria
PRESENCE I OF I MIND • Pure
MIRLAND • Greyscale Controller (charity-EP)
FACTORY FLOOR • 25 25
GRANDCHAOS • Memories
WIELORYB • Semantik

Music reviews

08
09
DEZ MONA & B.O.X
LUCY
02
09
SJOBLOM
Tape
01
09
JIHAD
Retrospekt
23
08
LA SCALTRA
Cabaret
14
08
MATT HART
TALES OF TERRA & CHAOS RETOLD
02
08
IMPERATIVE REACTION
Mirror

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

12
09
Goth/Industrial Artist NUDA Brings Light To Mental Health Struggles With New Video
10
09
Industrial Metal Band DERISION CULT Drops Fifteenth Album, 'Charlatans Inc.'
04
09
40 years ago, Soft Cell's version of ‘Tainted Love’ reached the number one position in the British hit parade!
02
09
Czech Gothic Rock Band CATHEDRAL IN FLAMES Bring Darkness & Hope With New Album
01
09
The Utimate Dreamers reveals new kinky synthwave/ebm video
28
08
44 years ago Iggy Pop released Lust for Life (29th August 1977)

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

07
09
CYBORG AMOK
An Interview With Post-Punk / Gothic Duo, CYBORG AMOK
04
08
THE IMAGINARY SUITCASE
For most of my life, I have behaved the way I thought they wanted me to behave. And this is a scam.
02
08
BLACK ANGEL
Interview With BLACK ANGEL
31
07
ERASURE
'I'm preparing tracks for our up and coming tour' - An exclusive Interview with Vince Clarke
06
06
THE LOST INTERVIEW WITH KELLEY DEAL ( THE BREEDERS )
Peek-a-Boo publishes the interview with Kelley Deal that seemed to get lost for a long period of time - since it was made in 2018...

PHOTOS

12
09
PRAGA KHAN
Rock Monsieur Hamont
12
09
RED ZEBRA
Rock Monsieur Hamont
03
09
JUSTIN SULLIVAN NEW MODEL ARMY SOLO TOUR
Fzw Dortmund Germany
31
08
CLAN OF XYMOX
Live am See Meschede Hennesee Germany
30
08
DEAR WOLF
Live am See Meschede Hennesee Germany
30
08
THEN COMES SILENCE
Live am See Meschede Hennesee Germany
28
08
THE NEON JUDGEMENT
Sinner's Day Special Oostende

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

17
09
KIRLIAN CAMERA
Black August
16
09
THE VISION BLEAK
Into The Unknown
15
09
DILK
Deprecated (Official Video)
15
09
THE VIOLENT YOUTH
Rabota (my life is a job)
14
09
AH CAMA-SOTZ
Hotel Odessa
13
09
DIVINE SHADE
Something Bad (In The Dust | Part 1)
12
09
SPANKRAGHT
N16