tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

29/04/2015 : 14ANGER - Hasta EP

14ANGER

Hasta EP

MusicCD
IndustrialTechno

[95/100]   

Digital Mutant
29/04/2015, Britta Tabrit

I guess now it’s time to think outside the box of Industrial, EBM, Harsh electro etc. I would like to take you on a journey to France. Don’t worry, I’m not going to write about Chansons.

With this review, I try to bring nearer to you a one-man-project called 14Anger. Clément Perez, aka 14Anger, is a French Techno DJ and producer. Being into Techno Classics and Future Electronics, he manages the balancing act between Underground Electro and mainstream technoid beats. Being a member of Axess Code in South France and has been organizing EBM – Industrial – Goth parties for 15 years.

14Anger was brought to life in 2013. So let’s start with “Hasta” which is a 5-tracks EP. The record fuddles with 3 original versions and 2 remixes by Dekode and Keepsakes and is being released on May, 5th 2015

Track 1 rushes in like a TGV train. After a short intro the attack on your ears begins, booms and rattles. When I read about 14Anger as being a Techno DJ, I honestly expected something else. Of course, you can now start an argument on what the word “TECHNO” really means. Some people subsume the whole world of electronic music as Techno. If you asked me to pin down this song, I would say it’s dark electronic style mixed with Techno elements. Now I’m nosy to check the other tracks!

“Saliva” appears more like a Techno track. There is no real melody audible. Tempest-tossed, this song is clearly influenced by Rave and Trance. It reminds me of a time when I was a huge fan of the German DJs Westbam, Sven Väth and Mark Spoon. But nevertheless it is interesting to listen to it by keeping the underground music idea in mind. It makes you get a completely different perception of what genres mean (or don’t).

The third original song, named “Coal”, stands out as it is a great industrial – noise masterstroke. Provocative and contentious, also a bit shrewish. 5.43 minutes of pure flowing adrenaline. Also suitable for dancefloors, both techno and dark electronic ones. This is really my favorite track on this EP!

The Dekode remix of “Hasta” is a tapered version of the original. Less rugged and somehow dull. My impression is that it sounds like an “underwater” version. Some of the noise elements appear like the breathing sounds of a diver and sonar waves from a submarine. Maybe I’m completely off the track now but that’s what came to my mind and also after listening to this a second time, these metaphors came to my inner eye. That’s nothing bad. On the contrary! Water is my favorite element and I like the idea of putting Industrial music into a diving suit! Well done remix!

The last song is a “Saliva” remix by the New-Zealand band “Keepsakes”. Techno is the keyword here. Rave parts and howling sound elements. To tell the truth, this one caught my unawareness. Hard stamping and only few brief respites came in like a firewall of sound. I’m not quite sure if this will please the dark Electro maniacs. For my personal taste a bit too downgraded compared to the original, but certainly a perfect serenade for a DJ set somewhere on a Techno event!

Well, this was an interesting experience!

Somewhere between “back to the roots” and “off to the future” I had lots of fun with this promo record! I hope that people remain open-minded and give music a chance to cover the world with sunshine as well as with dark clouds. Because both belong to our human existence on this planet. Not only in a transferred sense…

Britta Tabrit
29/04/2015


 

Next reviews
THE GROTESQUERY • The Curse of the Skinless Bride
PAUL WRIGHT • For Those In Peril
JOHN LYDON • Anger Is An Energy
FORMS OF HANDS 15 FESTIVAL • Bönen, Germany (25/04/2016)
JACK HILL • Coffy
MICHAEL MANN • Heat
DEATH BY AMBORST • Salome
JAFAR PANAHI • Taxi Teheran
SSLEEPING DESIRESS • Ssleeping Desiress
WIRE • Wire

 

Same combination of genres: INDUSTRIAL + TECHNO
CLOCK DVA • Neoteric MiniMax
AUTOGEN • Antigen
AXIOME • L’avenir est un cerf teint
BLUSH RESPONSE • Reshaper
ENTRZELLE, STUDIO-X VS SIMON CARTER, THE PSYCHIC FORCE, XMH, ZOMBIE GIRL • EP
CABARET VOLTAIRE, CARTER TUTTI & ANDY STOTT • Paris, Villette Sonique (24/05/2015)
ANTIGEN SHIFT • Brotherhood
KAIBUN • Illogism
SUICIDE COMMANDO, SOMAN, AESTHETIC PERFECTION, SAM, XP8, C-LEKKTOR & SURGYN • Vampireparty Live, 6/4/2013, Petrol, Antwerpen, Belgium
ANTYTHESYS • Over Dose

 

Same genre: INDUSTRIAL
SUICIDE COMMANDO • Mindstrip Redux
JESU • When I Was Small
PORTION CONTROL • SEED EP1
ALSO • Live in Celovec
SHERAPHIM SYSTEM • Phoenix
PORTION CONTROL • Head Buried
BLACK NEEDLE NOISE • Seed of Evil
THIRD REALM • The Art of Despair
BLAC KOLOR • Nephi
AIMAPROJECT • Di AimA Il Segno

 

Same genre: TECHNO
NEON ELECTRONICS • Apollo
WE ARE THE WAY FOR THE COSMOS TO KNOW ITSELF • Flashbacks
PLEASURE TIME • Years About Us
LIE DETECTOR • To Fly!
XOSAR • Xymeria
PRESENCE I OF I MIND • Pure
MIRLAND • Greyscale Controller (charity-EP)
FACTORY FLOOR • 25 25
GRANDCHAOS • Memories
WIELORYB • Semantik

Music reviews

19
10
DREADFOOL
Atoms for peace
18
10
ANNA VON HAUSSWOLFF
All Thoughts Fly Sweden
17
10
FATAL CASUALTIES
Lullaby for Helsinki
16
10
JESU
When I Was Small
12
10
SUICIDE COMMANDO
Mindstrip Redux
09
10
PORTION CONTROL
SEED EP1

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

24
10
Exactly 31 years ago Nitzer Ebb released ‘Control I’m Here’
23
10
40 years of Subhuman and Adrenalin by Throbbing Gristle!
21
10
Angels & Agony launched a new official lyric video of 'Forever'!
21
10
The Ignition Of Irish Punk | 43 years ago, Radiators From Space released their debut album 'TV Tube Heart'
17
10
Electronic/Alternative Artist CARVR Unleashes Debut Single & Visualizer, 'Erase Me'
16
10
SAMMI DOLL Releases Official Music Video for 'AN OM IE'

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing
31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

21
10
DELERITAS
EBM-Indus Night Liège : The bands presented... Deleritas!
20
10
WULF7
EBM-Indus Night Liège : The bands presented... WÜLF7!
19
10
LISA GERRARD (DEAD CAN DANCE)
'I love the innocent dangers that can be experienced in musical performance...'
18
10
SERAPHIM SYSTEM
A Glorious Return To Form
17
10
DREADFOOL
EBM-Indus Night Liège : The bands presented... DREADFOOL!

PHOTOS

25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival
20
08
JUSTIN SULLIVAN & GASTONE
Kreisverwaltung Groß-Gerau

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

25
10
DIE KRUPPS
To The Hilt
24
10
CIRCLE BROS
Detroit
23
10
FEVER RAY
Part VII: IDK About You (Official Video)
22
10
EXECUTIVE SLACKS
So Mote it Be (Bedroom version)
21
10
PANKOW
Great Minds Against Themselves Conspire / Dirty Old Men
20
10
CHAMELEONS VOX
Swamp Thing
19
10
SALLY DIGE
Holding On