tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

29/04/2015 : 14ANGER - Hasta EP

14ANGER

Hasta EP

MusicCD
IndustrialTechno

[95/100]   

Digital Mutant
29/04/2015, Britta Tabrit

I guess now it’s time to think outside the box of Industrial, EBM, Harsh electro etc. I would like to take you on a journey to France. Don’t worry, I’m not going to write about Chansons.

With this review, I try to bring nearer to you a one-man-project called 14Anger. Clément Perez, aka 14Anger, is a French Techno DJ and producer. Being into Techno Classics and Future Electronics, he manages the balancing act between Underground Electro and mainstream technoid beats. Being a member of Axess Code in South France and has been organizing EBM – Industrial – Goth parties for 15 years.

14Anger was brought to life in 2013. So let’s start with “Hasta” which is a 5-tracks EP. The record fuddles with 3 original versions and 2 remixes by Dekode and Keepsakes and is being released on May, 5th 2015

Track 1 rushes in like a TGV train. After a short intro the attack on your ears begins, booms and rattles. When I read about 14Anger as being a Techno DJ, I honestly expected something else. Of course, you can now start an argument on what the word “TECHNO” really means. Some people subsume the whole world of electronic music as Techno. If you asked me to pin down this song, I would say it’s dark electronic style mixed with Techno elements. Now I’m nosy to check the other tracks!

“Saliva” appears more like a Techno track. There is no real melody audible. Tempest-tossed, this song is clearly influenced by Rave and Trance. It reminds me of a time when I was a huge fan of the German DJs Westbam, Sven Väth and Mark Spoon. But nevertheless it is interesting to listen to it by keeping the underground music idea in mind. It makes you get a completely different perception of what genres mean (or don’t).

The third original song, named “Coal”, stands out as it is a great industrial – noise masterstroke. Provocative and contentious, also a bit shrewish. 5.43 minutes of pure flowing adrenaline. Also suitable for dancefloors, both techno and dark electronic ones. This is really my favorite track on this EP!

The Dekode remix of “Hasta” is a tapered version of the original. Less rugged and somehow dull. My impression is that it sounds like an “underwater” version. Some of the noise elements appear like the breathing sounds of a diver and sonar waves from a submarine. Maybe I’m completely off the track now but that’s what came to my mind and also after listening to this a second time, these metaphors came to my inner eye. That’s nothing bad. On the contrary! Water is my favorite element and I like the idea of putting Industrial music into a diving suit! Well done remix!

The last song is a “Saliva” remix by the New-Zealand band “Keepsakes”. Techno is the keyword here. Rave parts and howling sound elements. To tell the truth, this one caught my unawareness. Hard stamping and only few brief respites came in like a firewall of sound. I’m not quite sure if this will please the dark Electro maniacs. For my personal taste a bit too downgraded compared to the original, but certainly a perfect serenade for a DJ set somewhere on a Techno event!

Well, this was an interesting experience!

Somewhere between “back to the roots” and “off to the future” I had lots of fun with this promo record! I hope that people remain open-minded and give music a chance to cover the world with sunshine as well as with dark clouds. Because both belong to our human existence on this planet. Not only in a transferred sense…

Britta Tabrit
29/04/2015


 

Next reviews
THE GROTESQUERY • The Curse of the Skinless Bride
PAUL WRIGHT • For Those In Peril
JOHN LYDON • Anger Is An Energy
FORMS OF HANDS 15 FESTIVAL • Bönen, Germany (25/04/2016)
JACK HILL • Coffy
MICHAEL MANN • Heat
DEATH BY AMBORST • Salome
JAFAR PANAHI • Taxi Teheran
SSLEEPING DESIRESS • Ssleeping Desiress
WIRE • Wire

 

Same combination of genres: INDUSTRIAL + TECHNO
CLOCK DVA • Neoteric MiniMax
AUTOGEN • Antigen
AXIOME • L’avenir est un cerf teint
BLUSH RESPONSE • Reshaper
ENTRZELLE, STUDIO-X VS SIMON CARTER, THE PSYCHIC FORCE, XMH, ZOMBIE GIRL • EP
CABARET VOLTAIRE, CARTER TUTTI & ANDY STOTT • Paris, Villette Sonique (24/05/2015)
ANTIGEN SHIFT • Brotherhood
KAIBUN • Illogism
SUICIDE COMMANDO, SOMAN, AESTHETIC PERFECTION, SAM, XP8, C-LEKKTOR & SURGYN • Vampireparty Live, 6/4/2013, Petrol, Antwerpen, Belgium
ANTYTHESYS • Over Dose

 

Same genre: INDUSTRIAL
BLACK NEEDLE NOISE • Seed of Evil
THIRD REALM • The Art of Despair
BLAC KOLOR • Nephi
AIMAPROJECT • Di AimA Il Segno
GRENDEL • Ascending The Abyss
XTORT • Nothing is real
ACRETONGUE • Ghost Nocturne
HOCICO • Artificial Extinction
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
GROOVENOM • Wir müssen reden

 

Same genre: TECHNO
NEON ELECTRONICS • Apollo
WE ARE THE WAY FOR THE COSMOS TO KNOW ITSELF • Flashbacks
PLEASURE TIME • Years About Us
LIE DETECTOR • To Fly!
XOSAR • Xymeria
PRESENCE I OF I MIND • Pure
MIRLAND • Greyscale Controller (charity-EP)
FACTORY FLOOR • 25 25
GRANDCHAOS • Memories
WIELORYB • Semantik

Music reviews

28
06
VARIOUS ARTISTS
PERIHELION 2134
24
06
COLD IN MAY
Isolation songs
19
06
UNITCODE:MACHINE
Paper empires
18
06
BLACK NEEDLE NOISE
Seed of Evil
17
06
DEATH IN JUNE
THE CORN YEARS
16
06
AUGER
Insurgence

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

15
06
Today it’s exactly 41 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).
11
06
29 years of Kraftwerk in The Mix
11
06
Sieben covering David Bowie's Heroes live + new CD album 2020 VISION releases this Friday, 12th June!
10
06
29 years of Family Man!
03
06
Today, 42 years ago, Joy Division self-released their very first 7' EP, An Ideal For Living!
28
05
Electro/Synthwave act GIANT MONSTERS ON THE HORIZON unleash new studio album - Live From Night City

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

27
06
BURTON C.BELL (FEAR FACTORY, ASCENSION OF THE WATCHERS )
'It all comes from my head – whatever I’m feeling, whatever I’m thinking of.'
27
06
RODNEY ORPHEUS / THE CASSANDRA COMPLEX
I Think I’m Still As Revolutionary And Opinionated As Ever...
25
06
THE COLOURS OF SILENCE
Isolation Is Good For Art. Embrace It And Use It
13
06
LAST INFLUENCE OF BRAIN
L.I.O.B. Has Always Been Such A Distraction For Us
10
06
THE JUGGERNAUTS
It's striking, in 'mainstream' genres no-one is making a big deal about band's similarities and their possible influences... But oh dear if you dare make EBM!

PHOTOS

13
03
SIGLO XX
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
ROME
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ROSE OF AVALANCHE
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE DANSE SOCIETY
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ARCH
Porta Nigra Aarschot
11
03
FRONT 242
Pulse Namur Isnes
11
03
SHAARGHOT
Pulse Namur Isnes

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

02
07
LIAISONS DANGEREUSES
Los niños del parque
01
07
HORD
Lines
30
06
U.R.A.N.
Geo Logo
29
06
MISS KITTIN
Bassline
28
06
HOCICO
I Abomination
27
06
BOY HARSHER
Motion
26
06
NICK CAVE & THE BAD SEEDS
The Mercy Seat