tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this movie classics review

29/04/2015 : PAUL WRIGHT - For Those In Peril

PAUL WRIGHT

For Those In Peril

MovieMovie classics
ArthouseDrama

[78/100]   

BFI
29/04/2015, Didier BECU

EN

Let’s say it as it is: For Those In Peril is not an easy film. Even more, this debut of Paul Wright from 2013 is the kind of film that some viewers will want to replace by something else after no more than 10 minutes. Whatever you might think of it, you can’t deny the fact that this Scottish film is a great mindfuck with a soft poetic side. If you’re looking for a ready-made story, then you better not start this strange trip. Do not expect any answers, and with the absurd (but disconcerting) end, you can even give it any interpretation you want.

Are you still interested? Then you are absolutely right, because the British filmmaker Paul Wright takes you into the surreal, but hard world of a Scottish fishing village. Actually, Aaron (George MacKay) must be a very lucky guy, but he is not. He is the sole survivor of a shipwreck. The villagers are not happy with him. They even say loud and clear that they don’t understand how he saved himself. Only his mother and sweetheart are still worrying about him, the others want Aaron to leave.

As said, after 80 minutes of film you won’t be any wiser. At least not concerning what happened at sea. Wright not only uses a difficult film language, the form is weird as well. He often experiments by mixing stunning shots of the Scottish coast with nervous shots that are made with a handheld camera. This approach certainly does not facilitate the viewing experience, but adds nonetheless an extra dimension.

For Those In Peril did well at the festivals. In his own country Wright was nominated for a BAFTA and in Cannes critics were full of praise for his apart (but intriguing) approach. Try if you dare!

Didier BECU
29/04/2015


NL

Om maar meteen met de deur in huis te vallen: For Those In Peril is geen gemakkelijke film. Meer zelfs, dit debuut van Paul Wright uit 2013 is het soort film dat sommige kijkers zal doen besluiten om na tien minuten iets anders te starten. Wat je er ook van denkt, je kan er niet omheen dat deze Schotse film een geweldige mindfuck is met een zacht poëtisch kantje. Wie een kant-en-klaar verhaaltje wil, begint maar beter niet aan deze vreemde filmtrip. Verwacht geen antwoorden, en met het absurde (maar vooral onthutsende) einde kun je de film zelfs elke interpretatie geven die je maar wil.

Heb je er nog zin in? Dan heb je groot gelijk, want de Britse cineast Paul Wright neemt je mee in de surrealistische, maar keiharde wereld van een Schots vissersdorpje. Eigenlijk zou Aaron (George MacKay) een zeer gelukkige kerel moeten zijn, maar hij is dat niet. Hij is de enige overlevende van een schipbreuk. De dorpsbewoners zijn helemaal niet gelukkig dat hij niet naar de zeebodem is verdwenen. Ze stellen zelfs luidop de vraag hoe het mogelijk is dat hij zich als enige heeft kunnen redden. Alleen zijn moeder en liefje bekommeren zich nog om hem, de anderen willen dat Aaron zo snel mogelijk zijn biezen pakt.

Zoals gezegd zal je na 80 minuten film niet weten hoe de vork aan de steel zit. Hooguit heb je een vermoeden van wat er zich op zee heeft afgespeeld. Wright hanteert niet alleen een al bij al moeilijke filmtaal, ook de vorm is allesbehalve doordeweeks. De Brit laat geen enkel moment onbenut om te experimenteren. Zo worden prachtige shots van de Schotse kust afgewisseld met nerveuze opnames met een handcamera. Deze aanpak vergemakkelijkt zeker de kijkervaring niet, maar geeft ze wel een extra dimensie.

For Those In Peril deed het vooral goed op de festivals. In eigen land werd Wright genomineerd voor een BAFTA en ook in Cannes waren critici vol lof over deze aparte (maar toch intrigerende) aanpak. Wie een hekelt heeft aan eigenzinnige arthouse die de kijker graag in het ooitje neemt, mijdt maar best For Those In Peril. Wie durft weet naar wat te kijken!

Didier BECU
29/04/2015


29/04/2015 : PAUL WRIGHT - For Those In Peril 29/04/2015 : PAUL WRIGHT - For Those In Peril 29/04/2015 : PAUL WRIGHT - For Those In Peril 29/04/2015 : PAUL WRIGHT - For Those In Peril 29/04/2015 : PAUL WRIGHT - For Those In Peril 29/04/2015 : PAUL WRIGHT - For Those In Peril 29/04/2015 : PAUL WRIGHT - For Those In Peril 29/04/2015 : PAUL WRIGHT - For Those In Peril 29/04/2015 : PAUL WRIGHT - For Those In Peril 29/04/2015 : PAUL WRIGHT - For Those In Peril 29/04/2015 : PAUL WRIGHT - For Those In Peril 29/04/2015 : PAUL WRIGHT - For Those In Peril 29/04/2015 : PAUL WRIGHT - For Those In Peril 29/04/2015 : PAUL WRIGHT - For Those In Peril 29/04/2015 : PAUL WRIGHT - For Those In Peril 29/04/2015 : PAUL WRIGHT - For Those In Peril

 

Next reviews
JOHN LYDON • Anger Is An Energy
FORMS OF HANDS 15 FESTIVAL • Bönen, Germany (25/04/2016)
JACK HILL • Coffy
MICHAEL MANN • Heat
DEATH BY AMBORST • Salome
JAFAR PANAHI • Taxi Teheran
SSLEEPING DESIRESS • Ssleeping Desiress
WIRE • Wire
RUCHESTATTE SCHWARS • Dark Wave Sex Zombies
JASON REITMAN • Young Adult

 

Same combination of genres: ARTHOUSE + DRAMA
BERTRAND BONELLO • L'Apollonide (Souvenirs de la maison close)
NURI BILGE CEYLAN • Winter Sleep
SOPHIE SCHOUKENS • Marieke, Marieke
RYAN GOSLING • Lost River
ALBERT SERRA • Story Of My Death (Historia De La Meva Mort)
STEPHANE DUMOUSTIER • Terre Battue
KARIM ANOUIZ • Praia Do Futuro
ALIX DELAPORTE • Angèle Et Tony
PHILIP GRONING • Die Frau Des Polizisten
CATHERINE BREILLAT • Romance

 

Same genre: ARTHOUSE
FRED ABONG • Pulsing Ep
XTC • What Do You Call That Noise?
SIOUXSIE AND THE BANSHEES • Juju
FEDERICO FELLINI • Il Casanova
PETER GREENAWAY • Eisenstein In Guanajuato
REBECCA ZLOTOWSKI • Belle Epine
KORNEL MUNDRUCZO • White God
JAFAR PANAHI • Taxi Teheran
VERA CHYTILOVA • Fruit Of Paradise
STEFAN HAUPT • Sagrada, Il Misteri de la Creació

 

Same genre: DRAMA
NINA GROSSE • Das Wochenende/The Weekend
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Yuriy Bykov: Durak
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Nanni Moretti: Mia Madre
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Andrew Haigh: 45 Years
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Ole Giæver , Marte Vold: Out of Nature
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Jayro Bustamante: Ixcanul
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Radu Muntean: One Floor Below
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • László Nemes: Son Of Saul
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Joachim Trier: Louder Than Bombs
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Alejandro Amenábar: Regression

Music reviews

05
04
VARIOUS ARTISTS
Electropop 18 (Super Deluxe Edition)
23
03
300 000VK
Peter Paradox
10
03
PYRROLINE
Struggling
23
02
THE HEAT INC.
EP
23
02
PIG
Pain Is God
22
02
ANTHONY JONES
Farewell To Flesh

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

07
04
Skinny Puppy’s Cevin Key zoom chat's with à;GRUMH...
04
04
15 years ago, Nine Inch Nails released ‘Every Day Is Exactly the Same’.
03
04
On this day, 19 years ago, Frank Tovey / Fad Gadget died at the age of 45.
02
04
SYNAPTIC DEFECT sends teaser into the world
02
04
42 years of Replicas, unleashed by Gary Numan's Tubeway Army!
01
04
LMX releases CTRL+S

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

12
02
DIVE
We All Can Ask Us The Question ‘Where Do We Go From Here?'
10
02
RAYMOND WATTS (PIG)
'It’s not a re-discovery. It’s finding the way in to let the stuff out...'
02
02
JOHN 3:16
I regularly come across animal remains at various stages of decomposition. That started to affect me, and that's where the concept of the record was born.
07
01
MAMAN KUSTERS
‘Let’s Keep It Intriguing
16
12
THE BREATH OF LIFE
'No, I never considered quitting making music. Nor to taste good special beers.'

PHOTOS

25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival
20
08
JUSTIN SULLIVAN & GASTONE
Kreisverwaltung Groß-Gerau

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

10
04
SVEN VATH VS. ANTHONY ROTHER
Komm
09
04
THIS CAN HURT
IF YOU GO
08
04
THE SISTERS OF MERCY
Lucretia, My Reflection
07
04
CLOCK DVA
Sound Mirror
06
04
ASH CODE
Nite Rite
05
04
GOETHES ERBEN
Lazarus
04
04
ADULT.
Nite Life