tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this movie classics review

29/04/2015 : PAUL WRIGHT - For Those In Peril

PAUL WRIGHT

For Those In Peril

MovieMovie classics
ArthouseDrama

[78/100]   

BFI
29/04/2015, Didier BECU

EN

Let’s say it as it is: For Those In Peril is not an easy film. Even more, this debut of Paul Wright from 2013 is the kind of film that some viewers will want to replace by something else after no more than 10 minutes. Whatever you might think of it, you can’t deny the fact that this Scottish film is a great mindfuck with a soft poetic side. If you’re looking for a ready-made story, then you better not start this strange trip. Do not expect any answers, and with the absurd (but disconcerting) end, you can even give it any interpretation you want.

Are you still interested? Then you are absolutely right, because the British filmmaker Paul Wright takes you into the surreal, but hard world of a Scottish fishing village. Actually, Aaron (George MacKay) must be a very lucky guy, but he is not. He is the sole survivor of a shipwreck. The villagers are not happy with him. They even say loud and clear that they don’t understand how he saved himself. Only his mother and sweetheart are still worrying about him, the others want Aaron to leave.

As said, after 80 minutes of film you won’t be any wiser. At least not concerning what happened at sea. Wright not only uses a difficult film language, the form is weird as well. He often experiments by mixing stunning shots of the Scottish coast with nervous shots that are made with a handheld camera. This approach certainly does not facilitate the viewing experience, but adds nonetheless an extra dimension.

For Those In Peril did well at the festivals. In his own country Wright was nominated for a BAFTA and in Cannes critics were full of praise for his apart (but intriguing) approach. Try if you dare!

Didier BECU
29/04/2015


NL

Om maar meteen met de deur in huis te vallen: For Those In Peril is geen gemakkelijke film. Meer zelfs, dit debuut van Paul Wright uit 2013 is het soort film dat sommige kijkers zal doen besluiten om na tien minuten iets anders te starten. Wat je er ook van denkt, je kan er niet omheen dat deze Schotse film een geweldige mindfuck is met een zacht poëtisch kantje. Wie een kant-en-klaar verhaaltje wil, begint maar beter niet aan deze vreemde filmtrip. Verwacht geen antwoorden, en met het absurde (maar vooral onthutsende) einde kun je de film zelfs elke interpretatie geven die je maar wil.

Heb je er nog zin in? Dan heb je groot gelijk, want de Britse cineast Paul Wright neemt je mee in de surrealistische, maar keiharde wereld van een Schots vissersdorpje. Eigenlijk zou Aaron (George MacKay) een zeer gelukkige kerel moeten zijn, maar hij is dat niet. Hij is de enige overlevende van een schipbreuk. De dorpsbewoners zijn helemaal niet gelukkig dat hij niet naar de zeebodem is verdwenen. Ze stellen zelfs luidop de vraag hoe het mogelijk is dat hij zich als enige heeft kunnen redden. Alleen zijn moeder en liefje bekommeren zich nog om hem, de anderen willen dat Aaron zo snel mogelijk zijn biezen pakt.

Zoals gezegd zal je na 80 minuten film niet weten hoe de vork aan de steel zit. Hooguit heb je een vermoeden van wat er zich op zee heeft afgespeeld. Wright hanteert niet alleen een al bij al moeilijke filmtaal, ook de vorm is allesbehalve doordeweeks. De Brit laat geen enkel moment onbenut om te experimenteren. Zo worden prachtige shots van de Schotse kust afgewisseld met nerveuze opnames met een handcamera. Deze aanpak vergemakkelijkt zeker de kijkervaring niet, maar geeft ze wel een extra dimensie.

For Those In Peril deed het vooral goed op de festivals. In eigen land werd Wright genomineerd voor een BAFTA en ook in Cannes waren critici vol lof over deze aparte (maar toch intrigerende) aanpak. Wie een hekelt heeft aan eigenzinnige arthouse die de kijker graag in het ooitje neemt, mijdt maar best For Those In Peril. Wie durft weet naar wat te kijken!

Didier BECU
29/04/2015


29/04/2015 : PAUL WRIGHT - For Those In Peril 29/04/2015 : PAUL WRIGHT - For Those In Peril 29/04/2015 : PAUL WRIGHT - For Those In Peril 29/04/2015 : PAUL WRIGHT - For Those In Peril 29/04/2015 : PAUL WRIGHT - For Those In Peril 29/04/2015 : PAUL WRIGHT - For Those In Peril 29/04/2015 : PAUL WRIGHT - For Those In Peril 29/04/2015 : PAUL WRIGHT - For Those In Peril 29/04/2015 : PAUL WRIGHT - For Those In Peril 29/04/2015 : PAUL WRIGHT - For Those In Peril 29/04/2015 : PAUL WRIGHT - For Those In Peril 29/04/2015 : PAUL WRIGHT - For Those In Peril 29/04/2015 : PAUL WRIGHT - For Those In Peril 29/04/2015 : PAUL WRIGHT - For Those In Peril 29/04/2015 : PAUL WRIGHT - For Those In Peril 29/04/2015 : PAUL WRIGHT - For Those In Peril

 

Next reviews
JOHN LYDON • Anger Is An Energy
FORMS OF HANDS 15 FESTIVAL • Bönen, Germany (25/04/2016)
JACK HILL • Coffy
MICHAEL MANN • Heat
DEATH BY AMBORST • Salome
JAFAR PANAHI • Taxi Teheran
SSLEEPING DESIRESS • Ssleeping Desiress
WIRE • Wire
RUCHESTATTE SCHWARS • Dark Wave Sex Zombies
JASON REITMAN • Young Adult

 

Same combination of genres: ARTHOUSE + DRAMA
BERTRAND BONELLO • L'Apollonide (Souvenirs de la maison close)
NURI BILGE CEYLAN • Winter Sleep
SOPHIE SCHOUKENS • Marieke, Marieke
RYAN GOSLING • Lost River
ALBERT SERRA • Story Of My Death (Historia De La Meva Mort)
STEPHANE DUMOUSTIER • Terre Battue
KARIM ANOUIZ • Praia Do Futuro
ALIX DELAPORTE • Angèle Et Tony
PHILIP GRONING • Die Frau Des Polizisten
CATHERINE BREILLAT • Romance

 

Same genre: ARTHOUSE
FRED ABONG • Pulsing Ep
XTC • What Do You Call That Noise?
SIOUXSIE AND THE BANSHEES • Juju
FEDERICO FELLINI • Il Casanova
PETER GREENAWAY • Eisenstein In Guanajuato
REBECCA ZLOTOWSKI • Belle Epine
KORNEL MUNDRUCZO • White God
JAFAR PANAHI • Taxi Teheran
VERA CHYTILOVA • Fruit Of Paradise
STEFAN HAUPT • Sagrada, Il Misteri de la Creació

 

Same genre: DRAMA
NINA GROSSE • Das Wochenende/The Weekend
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Yuriy Bykov: Durak
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Nanni Moretti: Mia Madre
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Andrew Haigh: 45 Years
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Ole Giæver , Marte Vold: Out of Nature
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Jayro Bustamante: Ixcanul
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Radu Muntean: One Floor Below
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • László Nemes: Son Of Saul
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Joachim Trier: Louder Than Bombs
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Alejandro Amenábar: Regression

Music reviews

27
06
BALVANERA
Courses of Action
14
06
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Gift For You
10
06
SAMHAIN
Experiment
09
06
CELESTIAL NORTH
When The Gods Dance
12
05
SHE HATES EMOTIONS
Space and time
11
05
THIS CAN HURT
A Darker Shade Of Blue

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

28
06
Ayria releases new single Irreplaceable on Artoffact Records
28
06
The Number H Explores Loss & Regret With New EP, 'The Conditioning'
16
06
44 years ago Suicide performed their legendary '23 minutes over Brussels'!
15
06
Roobanok: new talent on SkyQode
15
06
Today it’s exactly 43 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).
14
06
Industrial band, The Royal Ritual addresses organized religion ethics with debut LP, /Martyrs/

Concert reviews

14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.
20
04
NINO SABLE
I am not a friend of boxed content...
13
04
ECHO ROAD
'There was no easy way or any shortcut to be taken in terms of producing something truly representative of the human experience. We simply had to ‘just do it'.'

PHOTOS

27
06
THE MISSION
Live am See Meschede Germany
23
06
THE JESUS & MARY CHAIN
Trix Antwerpen
22
06
MONROE SUPPORT ALICE COOPER
Mitsubishi Electric Halle Düsseldorf
22
06
ALICE COOPER
Mitsubishi Electric Halle Düsseldorf
21
06
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
AB Brussel
19
06
GARY NUMAN
New Waves Day Oberhausen
19
06
PINK TURNS BLUE
New Waves Day Oberhausen

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

28
06
GUS GUS
Deep Inside
27
06
MOTOR!K
Stunden (Official Visualizer)
27
06
SEA OF SIN
Synchronize
27
06
MERCIFUL NUNS
Lightwaves
26
06
AMBASSADOR21
FUCKALLSYSTEMS
25
06
CIRCLE OF DUST
Outside In
24
06
LUH
Beneath The Concrete