tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd (ep) review

28/04/2015 : DEATH BY AMBORST - Salome

DEATH BY AMBORST

Salome

MusicCD (EP)
PunkRock

[78/100]   

suicide records
28/04/2015, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

It looks like a Swedisch invasion of bands the last weeks. So again a band from this Scandinavian country with its third release. Their first EP was good for an Indie Award for ‘best unsigned act’ and a digital release.

This punkrock/rock n roll band has got the energy of The Hives, The strokes and the urgency of a Jack White.

‘Tall & Bowed’ is a nice starter: witty and punky. ‘In Dreams’ is built up and has single aspirations. An additive piece of music. ‘Salome’ begins furious and developes into a hard rock n roll song. 4ordinary Men’ floats on the same adrenaline level of rock. ‘The Highway’ shows that this band is capable of doing more than just punkrock songs. A nice intro, a heavy metal voice (like eg. Skid Row…) and a well build up song. The final track ‘Robert Johnson’ is difficult to judge because it’s missing on my copy. Unless three minutes of silence was the purpose…

A nice EP with some nice songs: ‘In Dreams’, ‘Salome’ en ‘The Highway’. Somehow I have the feeling that this band still is capable to grow.

 

Wim GUILLEMYN
28/04/2015


NL

Het lijkt op een Zweedse invasie de jongste weken. Opnieuw dus een band uit dit Scandinavisch land met z'n derde release. Een eerdere EP leverde hen in Zweden een indieaward op voor ‘best unsigned act’ en een digitale release.

Deze punkrock-/rock ‘n roll- band heeft de energie van The Hives en The Strokes én de urgentie van een Jack White.

‘Tall & Bowed’ is een mooie opener: snedig en punky zoals het hoort. ‘In Dreams’ zit qua song een stuk beter in elkaar en heeft single-ambities. Een verslavend stukje muziek. ‘Salome’ begint furieus en ontwikkelt zich als een harde rock ’n roll-song. ‘Ordinary Men’ drijft op adrenalinerock. ‘The Highway’ toont dat ze tot meer in staat zijn dan tot punkrockliedjes. Een aardig intro, een heavy metal stem ( zoals Skid Row…) en een goed opgebouwde song. De afsluiter ‘Robert Johnson’ ontbreekt helaas op mijn promo-exemplaar tenzij drie minuten stilte de bedoeling was…

Een aardige ep waarvan ik vooral ‘In Dreams’, ‘Salome’ en ‘The Highway’ onthoud. Ergens heb ik het gevoel dat er zeker nog groeimarge is voor deze band.

Wim GUILLEMYN
28/04/2015


Music reviews

05
04
KALTE NACHT
The Last Breath
02
04
LOVATARAXX
Tilda Vaast
14
03
THEN COMES SILENCE
Trickery
13
03
DARK MINIMAL PROJECT
Remixes
27
02
WHISPERING SONS
The Great Calm
22
02
YOUR ENEMY
Broken Toys

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

21
04
Today, 38 years ago, Siouxsie and the Banshees released Tinderbox!
16
04
39 years ago, The Sisters Of Mercy performed No Time To Cry on German TV!
15
04
On this day, 23 years ago, FAD GADGET performed his first legendary come-back show!
14
04
In memorian.... The Punk Empowerment Of Poly Styrene(° 3 July 1957 †25 April 2011)
13
04
37 years ago MUTE records released 'Let Your Body Learn' by Nitzer Ebb!
11
04
LIVERNOIS Addresses The Human Reaction To Trauma With ':ablation:'

Concert reviews

15
04
FAD GADGET
***FLASHBACK REVIEW***The Return of FAD GADGET (15.04.2001)***FLASHBACK REVIEW***
16
11
DREADFOOL - EUFORIC EXISTENCE - EULFI
ELECTRO au BNR
09
09
ENZO KREFT - DARK MINIMAL PROJECT - CAUSENATION
@B52 Music Club Eernegem
23
08
AMPHI FESTIVAL 2023
A second opinion...
18
06
ERATO - BLACK SNOW IN SUMMER
Black Planet Fest - @ B 52 Music Club Eernegem - friday 19th of may
18
06
KORINTHIANS, NEL & JP, NONA PROBLEMO
@Charlatan Ghent - 25 mei 2023

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

10
04
ATTRITION
An Interview With The Legendary, ATTRITION
09
04
DE DELVERS
With the lyrics, I try to name things that I see happening around me and to pay attention to what we sometimes prefer to turn our heads away from.
03
04
FRONTAL BOUNDARY
An Interview With Harsh Electro Band, Frontal Boundary
20
03
BESTIAL MOUTHS
An Interview With Bestial Mouths
19
03
TVASHTAR
We never insisted on being an all-female band.

PHOTOS

16
04
PROJECT PITCHFORK
Kulttempel Oberhausen
16
04
NICHTS
Christuskirche Bochum
15
04
FAD GADGET (15.04.2001)***FLASHBACK REPORT***
Elektrofest 15/04/2001, Mean Fiddler, London
14
04
OTTO VON SCHIRACH
Magasin4 Anderlecht
14
04
AMBASSADOR 21
Magasin4 Anderlecht
14
04
FRACTIONAL
Magasin4 Anderlecht
14
04
O VEUX
Wasted Night #5 Borgloon

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

21
04
ANIMACHINES
Pandemia
20
04
CHAOS RESEARCH
In Power we entrust the Love advocated
19
04
LAID BACK
White Horse
18
04
COCAINE PISS
The Dancer
17
04
CHMCL STR8JCKT
Dressed to Kill
16
04
30,000 MONKIES
Coproliet
15
04
WIM MERTENS
Struggle For Pleasure