tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd (ep) review

09/12/2016 : THERAPY? - Tides

THERAPY?

Tides

MusicCD (EP)
PunkRock

[70/100]   

Amazing Record Co
09/12/2016, Mark VAN MULLEM

EN

In March 2015, Therapy? released the 12th studio album, the acclaimed Disquiet. The first single was Still Hurts. After the album release, the trio from Northern-Ireland, consisting of Andy Cairns on vocals and guitar, Michael McKeegan on bass and Neil Cooper on drums, toured and played some memorable shows in the Benelux.

On 15th April, Therapy? releases the EP Tides. The title track was featured on Disquiet. The EP also includes the new tracks Smile Or Die, Slippies and a special remix of Insecurity by industrial/electro producer Pitchphase.

If you already own Disquiet, you are familiar with this majestic tune Tides. On this track you hear the Therapy? sound of Infernal Love (1995) concluding great guitar riffs, clean vocals and a very rich sound. I also hear echoes from that other great guitar trio, Hüsker Dü, but slightly pimped and refined for the 21st century. I guess Cairns and C° won't mind to be linked to this great band. Cairns recently stated that Tides was inspired by writer Samuel Beckett.

Smiles or Die sounds raw and dirty. This song could have been a demo of Troublegum or the later Suicide Pact, You First. Despites that demo sound, it’s not a bad song at all, but I guess it won’t be a Therapy? classic.

Slippies is driven by a tight bass riff by Michael McKeegan, raw, in your face and catchy as hell. The melody is really strong with great vocals by Cairns. This is Therapy? the way I like it: raw, rough and very melodic, with big riffs and great vocals. The message is clear: History's gone, today I learnt nothing.

The remix of Insecurity surely is something for your next new wave or dark wave party, but I wonder whether Therapy? fans will be utterly happy with it. I would have chosen another great riff track. Not a bad remix, not at all, but no extra value, if you ask me.

Nevertheless, the EP is worth buying for the strong Therapy? tracks Tides and Slippies which deserve your attention, with Smiles or Die as a nice extra!

Mark VAN MULLEM
09/12/2016


NL

In maart 2015 bracht Therapy? het twaalfde album Disquiet uit dat erg goed werd ontvangen bij het pers en publiek. De eerste single daaruit was Still Hurts. Het Noord-Ierse trio met zanger-gitarist Andy Cairns, oerlid-bassist Michael McKeegan en drummer Neil Cooper, gaf in 2015 vervolgens een aantal zeer bevlogen shows in de Benelux.

Op 15 april 2016 komt Tides uit, de derde single van Disquiet, die als een ep met 4 tracks verschijnt (digitaal en als gelimiteerde cd) met de volgende tracks: Tides (albumversie), de nieuwe songs Smile or Die en Slippies en een speciale remix van Insecurity door industrial-/elektroproducer Pitchphase.

Wie het album in huis heeft, kent de nieuwe single natuurlijk al: een magistrale tune waarin rijkelijk teruggegrepen wordt naar de Therapy?-sound van Infernal Love: stevige vette riffs, zuivere vocals en een kamerbreed geluid. Ik hoor er ook de echo van dat andere geweldige gitaartrio in terug: Hüsker Dü, maar dan opgepoetst, verfijnd en gepimpt naar 2016. Een link die Cairns en C° vast niet erg vinden. Andy Cairns verwees recent naar schrijver Samuel Beckett als inspiratiebron voor Tides. En daar valt wel wat voor te zeggen qua sfeerschepping.

Smiles or Die klinkt een heel stuk rauwer, vuiler en rommeliger. De song lijkt wel een demo voor Troublegum of het latere Suicide Pact, You First. Ondanks dat demogeluid is het best wel een lekkere track, maar het wordt vast geen Therapy?-klassieker.

Dan liever Slippies, gedreven op de hechte basriff van Michael McKeegan, ruw en robuust, recht in je gezicht en aanstekelijk als de pest, met een ijzersterke melodie en geweldige vocals van McCairns. Therapy zoals ik het graag hoor: ruw en tegelijk erg melodieus, met vette riffs en knappe vocals. Met als te onthouden boodschap: History's gone, today I learnt nothing.

De remix van Insecurity lijkt ideaal voor de dansvloer op je eerstvolgend donker wavefeestje. Maar of die iets toevoegt? Of de fans hier blij mee zullen zijn? Ik weet het niet. Volgens mij hadden ze beter nog een lekkere rifftrack als afsluiter op de ep gezet.

Maar eigenlijk is deze ep alleen al voor Tides en Slippies zijn aanschaf waard, met Smiles or Die als leuke extra.

Mark VAN MULLEM
09/12/2016


 

Next reviews
ATOMIC NEON • The Bodanegra Session
NOVA-SPES • A Dog And His Boy
RED MECCA • Electricity
SAIGON BLUE RAIN • Black Easter 2016
DERNIERE VOLONTE • Prie Pour Moi
MERCIFUL NUNS • Allseeing Eye EP
LUDOVIC DHENRY • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
PATRIARCH • Rage of Gods
MASS GOTHIC • Mass Gothic
WINTERHART • Ryk Of Glory

 

Other reviews from THERAPY?
THERAPY? • AB 6 april 2015
THERAPY? • Disquiet

 

Same combination of genres: PUNK + ROCK
SIEVEHEAD • Into the Blue
MR SHIRAZ • 21 Grams (EP)
THE BONES • Flash The Leather
THE KENDOLLS • Automania
THE SPILLS • Collecting Dust
LUCERO • All a Man Should Do
DEAD CLONES • Dead Clones
DRINKS • Hermits on Holiday
PEGA MONSTRO • Alfarroba
DEATH BY AMBORST • Salome

 

Same genre: PUNK
THE MEMBRANES • What Nature Gives… Nature Takes Away
VARIOUS ARTISTS • A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
ERNEST MOON • Ba-Jesus
THE SPECIALS • Encore
PAUL MADDOG AND HIS BAND AISLING • Winter In London
RAT SCABIES • Rat Scabies - P.H.D.
STRUGGLER • The Gap
VIRGIN IN VEIL • Deviances
CULTURE SHOCK • Attention Span
PUFF • Living In The Partyzone

 

Same genre: ROCK
YATES AND YOUNG • Splinters Ep
NICK CAVE AND THE BAD SEEDS • Ghosteen (Ghosteen/Bad Seed Ltd.)
PRINCIPE VALIENTE • Choirs of Blessed Youth
TYCHO BRAHE • Triplex [Complete]
THE SLOW SHOW • DREAM DARLING
THE PRETENDERS • Alone
WAREHOUSE • Super Low
NEW MODEL ARMY • Winter
MAIDAVALE • Tales of the Wicked West
EZRA FURMAN • Big Fugitive Life

Music reviews

19
10
THE BLACK WATCH
Magic Johnson
19
10
FUTURE PILOT AKA
Orkestra Digitalis
18
10
NEW MODEL ARMY
From Here
18
10
RIDE
This Is Not a Safe Place
17
10
THE BLACKHEART ORCHESTRA
Mesmeranto
17
10
ROSE MCDOWALL AND SHAWN PINCHBECK
Far From The Apple Tree

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

10
10
29 years ago Nine Inch Nails released 'Sin'
09
10
The Arch releases new album 'XII'
08
10
Eclectic Artist Addie Brik Releases New Single
07
10
YOVA - Debut Single 'Moondog' (featuring members of PJ Harvey / Grumbling Fur / Cameron Craig)
22
09
Today it’s been exactly 27 years since Nine Inch Nails released Broken (EP)
21
09
Industrial/Metal Band DECENT NEWS Announces The Release Of 'Monolith'

Concert reviews

21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019
15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

14
10
JAMES MCGREGOR (THE CLOCKWORKS)
'Our dynamic is genuinely a gang scenario'
12
10
NEON INSECT
A Conversation With Neon Insect
11
10
ENZO KREFT
Many tracks from 'Control' are about the relationship between humans and technology and the dangerous consequences of this in the near future.
10
10
AMY STUDT
'It’ll be alright in the end and if it isn’t alright, it isn’t yet the end.'
09
10
STALINGRAD VALKYRIE
The old world will be collapsing pretty soon!

PHOTOS

06
10
GROUND NERO
De Klinker Aarschot
06
10
GROUND NERO
De Klinker Aarschot
06
10
GROUND NERO
De Klinker Aarschot
04
10
SLAVE SEPERATION VS KNK
Fetish Café Antwerpen
04
10
LEAETHER STRIP
Fetish Café Antwerpen
22
09
WHISPERING SONS
Liege New Wave Festival
22
09
ASH CODE
Liege New Wave Festival

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

21
10
STORY OFF
Life On Other Planets
20
10
ORSON HENTSCHEL
Noise of the Light
19
10
ORBITAL
One Perfect Sunrise
18
10
MONICA JEFFRIES
In Circles
17
10
AZAR SWAN
Over
16
10
ILLUMININE
For What It's Worth (Live at Sundlaugin Studio)
15
10
RYUICHI SAKAMOTO
Merry Christmas Mr Lawrence