tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd (ep) review

09/12/2016 : THERAPY? - Tides

THERAPY?

Tides

MusicCD (EP)
PunkRock

[70/100]   

Amazing Record Co
09/12/2016, Mark VAN MULLEM

EN

In March 2015, Therapy? released the 12th studio album, the acclaimed Disquiet. The first single was Still Hurts. After the album release, the trio from Northern-Ireland, consisting of Andy Cairns on vocals and guitar, Michael McKeegan on bass and Neil Cooper on drums, toured and played some memorable shows in the Benelux.

On 15th April, Therapy? releases the EP Tides. The title track was featured on Disquiet. The EP also includes the new tracks Smile Or Die, Slippies and a special remix of Insecurity by industrial/electro producer Pitchphase.

If you already own Disquiet, you are familiar with this majestic tune Tides. On this track you hear the Therapy? sound of Infernal Love (1995) concluding great guitar riffs, clean vocals and a very rich sound. I also hear echoes from that other great guitar trio, Hüsker Dü, but slightly pimped and refined for the 21st century. I guess Cairns and C° won't mind to be linked to this great band. Cairns recently stated that Tides was inspired by writer Samuel Beckett.

Smiles or Die sounds raw and dirty. This song could have been a demo of Troublegum or the later Suicide Pact, You First. Despites that demo sound, it’s not a bad song at all, but I guess it won’t be a Therapy? classic.

Slippies is driven by a tight bass riff by Michael McKeegan, raw, in your face and catchy as hell. The melody is really strong with great vocals by Cairns. This is Therapy? the way I like it: raw, rough and very melodic, with big riffs and great vocals. The message is clear: History's gone, today I learnt nothing.

The remix of Insecurity surely is something for your next new wave or dark wave party, but I wonder whether Therapy? fans will be utterly happy with it. I would have chosen another great riff track. Not a bad remix, not at all, but no extra value, if you ask me.

Nevertheless, the EP is worth buying for the strong Therapy? tracks Tides and Slippies which deserve your attention, with Smiles or Die as a nice extra!

Mark VAN MULLEM
09/12/2016


NL

In maart 2015 bracht Therapy? het twaalfde album Disquiet uit dat erg goed werd ontvangen bij het pers en publiek. De eerste single daaruit was Still Hurts. Het Noord-Ierse trio met zanger-gitarist Andy Cairns, oerlid-bassist Michael McKeegan en drummer Neil Cooper, gaf in 2015 vervolgens een aantal zeer bevlogen shows in de Benelux.

Op 15 april 2016 komt Tides uit, de derde single van Disquiet, die als een ep met 4 tracks verschijnt (digitaal en als gelimiteerde cd) met de volgende tracks: Tides (albumversie), de nieuwe songs Smile or Die en Slippies en een speciale remix van Insecurity door industrial-/elektroproducer Pitchphase.

Wie het album in huis heeft, kent de nieuwe single natuurlijk al: een magistrale tune waarin rijkelijk teruggegrepen wordt naar de Therapy?-sound van Infernal Love: stevige vette riffs, zuivere vocals en een kamerbreed geluid. Ik hoor er ook de echo van dat andere geweldige gitaartrio in terug: Hüsker Dü, maar dan opgepoetst, verfijnd en gepimpt naar 2016. Een link die Cairns en C° vast niet erg vinden. Andy Cairns verwees recent naar schrijver Samuel Beckett als inspiratiebron voor Tides. En daar valt wel wat voor te zeggen qua sfeerschepping.

Smiles or Die klinkt een heel stuk rauwer, vuiler en rommeliger. De song lijkt wel een demo voor Troublegum of het latere Suicide Pact, You First. Ondanks dat demogeluid is het best wel een lekkere track, maar het wordt vast geen Therapy?-klassieker.

Dan liever Slippies, gedreven op de hechte basriff van Michael McKeegan, ruw en robuust, recht in je gezicht en aanstekelijk als de pest, met een ijzersterke melodie en geweldige vocals van McCairns. Therapy zoals ik het graag hoor: ruw en tegelijk erg melodieus, met vette riffs en knappe vocals. Met als te onthouden boodschap: History's gone, today I learnt nothing.

De remix van Insecurity lijkt ideaal voor de dansvloer op je eerstvolgend donker wavefeestje. Maar of die iets toevoegt? Of de fans hier blij mee zullen zijn? Ik weet het niet. Volgens mij hadden ze beter nog een lekkere rifftrack als afsluiter op de ep gezet.

Maar eigenlijk is deze ep alleen al voor Tides en Slippies zijn aanschaf waard, met Smiles or Die als leuke extra.

Mark VAN MULLEM
09/12/2016


 

Next reviews
ATOMIC NEON • The Bodanegra Session
NOVA-SPES • A Dog And His Boy
RED MECCA • Electricity
SAIGON BLUE RAIN • Black Easter 2016
DERNIERE VOLONTE • Prie Pour Moi
MERCIFUL NUNS • Allseeing Eye EP
LUDOVIC DHENRY • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
PATRIARCH • Rage of Gods
MASS GOTHIC • Mass Gothic
WINTERHART • Ryk Of Glory

 

Other reviews from THERAPY?
THERAPY? • AB 6 april 2015
THERAPY? • Disquiet

 

Same combination of genres: PUNK + ROCK
SIEVEHEAD • Into the Blue
MR SHIRAZ • 21 Grams (EP)
THE BONES • Flash The Leather
THE KENDOLLS • Automania
THE SPILLS • Collecting Dust
LUCERO • All a Man Should Do
DEAD CLONES • Dead Clones
DRINKS • Hermits on Holiday
PEGA MONSTRO • Alfarroba
DEATH BY AMBORST • Salome

 

Same genre: PUNK
STRUGGLER • Wilma (Determinated Protector)
THE MEMBRANES • What Nature Gives… Nature Takes Away
VARIOUS ARTISTS • A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
ERNEST MOON • Ba-Jesus
THE SPECIALS • Encore
PAUL MADDOG AND HIS BAND AISLING • Winter In London
RAT SCABIES • Rat Scabies - P.H.D.
STRUGGLER • The Gap
VIRGIN IN VEIL • Deviances
CULTURE SHOCK • Attention Span

 

Same genre: ROCK
STEREOSEAT • Heavenly Creatures
YATES AND YOUNG • Splinters Ep
NICK CAVE AND THE BAD SEEDS • Ghosteen (Ghosteen/Bad Seed Ltd.)
PRINCIPE VALIENTE • Choirs of Blessed Youth
TYCHO BRAHE • Triplex [Complete]
THE SLOW SHOW • DREAM DARLING
THE PRETENDERS • Alone
WAREHOUSE • Super Low
NEW MODEL ARMY • Winter
MAIDAVALE • Tales of the Wicked West

Music reviews

03
09
SHERAPHIM SYSTEM
Phoenix
02
09
CAWATANA
In The Silver Light (7')
01
09
MIKE SOPKO, BILL LASWELL, TYSHAWN SOREY
On Common Ground
31
08
TUKT
Tukt
26
08
EMERGENCY SEQUENCE
Sharpening The Axe
21
08
STRUGGLER
Wilma (Determinated Protector)

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

22
09
Today it’s been exactly 28 years since Nine Inch Nails released Broken (EP)
08
09
SUICIDE COMMANDO release a complete 'Dein herz, meine gier' lyric video for the release of the limited club single CD 'Dein herz, meine gier / Bunkerb!tc!
04
09
39 years ago, Soft Cell's version of ‘Tainted Love’ reached the number one position in the British hit parade!
28
08
43 years ago Iggy Pop released Lust for Life (29th August 1977)
12
08
kaRIN FROM COLLIDE AND SHIKHEE FROM ANDROID LUST RELEASE NEW SINGLE ''ARE YOU LISTENING?''
10
08
Today, it’s exactly 33 years ago Nitzer Ebb released Join In The Chant!

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

19
09
MORTAR DEVOTIONS
Dystopia Is Just Around The Corner And Orwell Warned Us Already In 1948
16
09
MAT OSMAN (SUEDE)
'I’m always writing short stories...'
15
09
ERASURE
'Music certainly gives us hope' - Erasure talk about their new album 'The Neon'
14
09
WATA (BORIS)
'I will always feel like a rookie...'
12
09
DAWN OF ASHES
‘Covid-19 Is A Gateway To Show Us The True Colors Of The Human Race

PHOTOS

20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival
20
08
JUSTIN SULLIVAN & GASTONE
Kreisverwaltung Groß-Gerau
20
08
JUSTIN SULLIVAN & GASTONE
Kreisverwaltung Groß-Gerau

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

24
09
RYUICHI SAKAMOTO
Merry Christmas, Mr Lawrence
23
09
ANNA VON HAUSSWOLFF
The Mysterious Vanishing of Electra
22
09
BLACK LINE
Snap
21
09
ALPHAMAY
Silence Emotion
20
09
FREISPIELEREI
Fish Muss Schwimmen, Gell
19
09
TRUE ZEBRA
Connection is addiction
19
09
NO!ON
6