tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd (ep) review

09/12/2016 : THERAPY? - Tides

THERAPY?

Tides

MusicCD (EP)
PunkRock

[70/100]   

Amazing Record Co
09/12/2016, Mark VAN MULLEM

EN

In March 2015, Therapy? released the 12th studio album, the acclaimed Disquiet. The first single was Still Hurts. After the album release, the trio from Northern-Ireland, consisting of Andy Cairns on vocals and guitar, Michael McKeegan on bass and Neil Cooper on drums, toured and played some memorable shows in the Benelux.

On 15th April, Therapy? releases the EP Tides. The title track was featured on Disquiet. The EP also includes the new tracks Smile Or Die, Slippies and a special remix of Insecurity by industrial/electro producer Pitchphase.

If you already own Disquiet, you are familiar with this majestic tune Tides. On this track you hear the Therapy? sound of Infernal Love (1995) concluding great guitar riffs, clean vocals and a very rich sound. I also hear echoes from that other great guitar trio, Hüsker Dü, but slightly pimped and refined for the 21st century. I guess Cairns and C° won't mind to be linked to this great band. Cairns recently stated that Tides was inspired by writer Samuel Beckett.

Smiles or Die sounds raw and dirty. This song could have been a demo of Troublegum or the later Suicide Pact, You First. Despites that demo sound, it’s not a bad song at all, but I guess it won’t be a Therapy? classic.

Slippies is driven by a tight bass riff by Michael McKeegan, raw, in your face and catchy as hell. The melody is really strong with great vocals by Cairns. This is Therapy? the way I like it: raw, rough and very melodic, with big riffs and great vocals. The message is clear: History's gone, today I learnt nothing.

The remix of Insecurity surely is something for your next new wave or dark wave party, but I wonder whether Therapy? fans will be utterly happy with it. I would have chosen another great riff track. Not a bad remix, not at all, but no extra value, if you ask me.

Nevertheless, the EP is worth buying for the strong Therapy? tracks Tides and Slippies which deserve your attention, with Smiles or Die as a nice extra!

Mark VAN MULLEM
09/12/2016


NL

In maart 2015 bracht Therapy? het twaalfde album Disquiet uit dat erg goed werd ontvangen bij het pers en publiek. De eerste single daaruit was Still Hurts. Het Noord-Ierse trio met zanger-gitarist Andy Cairns, oerlid-bassist Michael McKeegan en drummer Neil Cooper, gaf in 2015 vervolgens een aantal zeer bevlogen shows in de Benelux.

Op 15 april 2016 komt Tides uit, de derde single van Disquiet, die als een ep met 4 tracks verschijnt (digitaal en als gelimiteerde cd) met de volgende tracks: Tides (albumversie), de nieuwe songs Smile or Die en Slippies en een speciale remix van Insecurity door industrial-/elektroproducer Pitchphase.

Wie het album in huis heeft, kent de nieuwe single natuurlijk al: een magistrale tune waarin rijkelijk teruggegrepen wordt naar de Therapy?-sound van Infernal Love: stevige vette riffs, zuivere vocals en een kamerbreed geluid. Ik hoor er ook de echo van dat andere geweldige gitaartrio in terug: Hüsker Dü, maar dan opgepoetst, verfijnd en gepimpt naar 2016. Een link die Cairns en C° vast niet erg vinden. Andy Cairns verwees recent naar schrijver Samuel Beckett als inspiratiebron voor Tides. En daar valt wel wat voor te zeggen qua sfeerschepping.

Smiles or Die klinkt een heel stuk rauwer, vuiler en rommeliger. De song lijkt wel een demo voor Troublegum of het latere Suicide Pact, You First. Ondanks dat demogeluid is het best wel een lekkere track, maar het wordt vast geen Therapy?-klassieker.

Dan liever Slippies, gedreven op de hechte basriff van Michael McKeegan, ruw en robuust, recht in je gezicht en aanstekelijk als de pest, met een ijzersterke melodie en geweldige vocals van McCairns. Therapy zoals ik het graag hoor: ruw en tegelijk erg melodieus, met vette riffs en knappe vocals. Met als te onthouden boodschap: History's gone, today I learnt nothing.

De remix van Insecurity lijkt ideaal voor de dansvloer op je eerstvolgend donker wavefeestje. Maar of die iets toevoegt? Of de fans hier blij mee zullen zijn? Ik weet het niet. Volgens mij hadden ze beter nog een lekkere rifftrack als afsluiter op de ep gezet.

Maar eigenlijk is deze ep alleen al voor Tides en Slippies zijn aanschaf waard, met Smiles or Die als leuke extra.

Mark VAN MULLEM
09/12/2016


 

Next reviews
ATOMIC NEON • The Bodanegra Session
NOVA-SPES • A Dog And His Boy
RED MECCA • Electricity
SAIGON BLUE RAIN • Black Easter 2016
DERNIERE VOLONTE • Prie Pour Moi
MERCIFUL NUNS • Allseeing Eye EP
LUDOVIC DHENRY • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
PATRIARCH • Rage of Gods
MASS GOTHIC • Mass Gothic
WINTERHART • Ryk Of Glory

 

Other reviews from THERAPY?
THERAPY? • AB 6 april 2015
THERAPY? • Disquiet

 

Same combination of genres: PUNK + ROCK
THE HEAT INC. • EP
SIEVEHEAD • Into the Blue
MR SHIRAZ • 21 Grams (EP)
THE BONES • Flash The Leather
THE KENDOLLS • Automania
THE SPILLS • Collecting Dust
LUCERO • All a Man Should Do
DEAD CLONES • Dead Clones
DRINKS • Hermits on Holiday
PEGA MONSTRO • Alfarroba

 

Same genre: PUNK
THE PULSEBEATS • LOOKIN’ OUT
LAPECHE • Blood In The Water
SONNY VINCENT • Shake Pit Therapy
STRUGGLER • Wilma (Determinated Protector)
THE MEMBRANES • What Nature Gives… Nature Takes Away
VARIOUS ARTISTS • A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
ERNEST MOON • Ba-Jesus
THE SPECIALS • Encore
PAUL MADDOG AND HIS BAND AISLING • Winter In London
RAT SCABIES • Rat Scabies - P.H.D.

 

Same genre: ROCK
THIS CAN HURT • A Darker Shade Of Blue
STEREOSEAT • Heavenly Creatures
YATES AND YOUNG • Splinters Ep
NICK CAVE AND THE BAD SEEDS • Ghosteen (Ghosteen/Bad Seed Ltd.)
PRINCIPE VALIENTE • Choirs of Blessed Youth
TYCHO BRAHE • Triplex [Complete]
THE SLOW SHOW • DREAM DARLING
THE PRETENDERS • Alone
WAREHOUSE • Super Low
NEW MODEL ARMY • Winter

Music reviews

27
06
BALVANERA
Courses of Action
14
06
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Gift For You
10
06
SAMHAIN
Experiment
09
06
CELESTIAL NORTH
When The Gods Dance
12
05
SHE HATES EMOTIONS
Space and time
11
05
THIS CAN HURT
A Darker Shade Of Blue

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

28
06
Ayria releases new single Irreplaceable on Artoffact Records
28
06
The Number H Explores Loss & Regret With New EP, 'The Conditioning'
16
06
44 years ago Suicide performed their legendary '23 minutes over Brussels'!
15
06
Roobanok: new talent on SkyQode
15
06
Today it’s exactly 43 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).
14
06
Industrial band, The Royal Ritual addresses organized religion ethics with debut LP, /Martyrs/

Concert reviews

14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.
20
04
NINO SABLE
I am not a friend of boxed content...
13
04
ECHO ROAD
'There was no easy way or any shortcut to be taken in terms of producing something truly representative of the human experience. We simply had to ‘just do it'.'

PHOTOS

27
06
THE MISSION
Live am See Meschede Germany
23
06
THE JESUS & MARY CHAIN
Trix Antwerpen
22
06
MONROE SUPPORT ALICE COOPER
Mitsubishi Electric Halle Düsseldorf
22
06
ALICE COOPER
Mitsubishi Electric Halle Düsseldorf
21
06
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
AB Brussel
19
06
GARY NUMAN
New Waves Day Oberhausen
19
06
PINK TURNS BLUE
New Waves Day Oberhausen

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

28
06
GUS GUS
Deep Inside
27
06
MOTOR!K
Stunden (Official Visualizer)
27
06
SEA OF SIN
Synchronize
27
06
MERCIFUL NUNS
Lightwaves
26
06
AMBASSADOR21
FUCKALLSYSTEMS
25
06
CIRCLE OF DUST
Outside In
24
06
LUH
Beneath The Concrete