tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

06/08/2015 : PEGA MONSTRO - Alfarroba

PEGA MONSTRO

Alfarroba

MusicCD
PunkRock

[70/100]   

Upset The Rhythm
06/08/2015, William LIÉNARD

EN

The Portuguese girl band Pega Mostro is a project of the sisters Julia Reis (drums) and Maria Reis (guitar, keyboard). The name of the band means 'Catch the Monster', and that is a perfect illustration of the dream-punk sound of both ladies. They have been members of other bands since 2010, and they have their own record label (Cafetra Records), which wants to chart the Portuguese garage punk scene. Their first album was released in 2012 and could count on a lot of interest in their homeland, and now Alfarroba is out, their entrance ticket to the international market. In the summer of 2015 they tour through Western Europe and with a little luck you can see them at work.

Braço de Ferro kicks off with a wall of guitars and strong vocals: power-punk in the best tradition between Blondie and Heart, steamy and loud, while Branca goes crescendo in the same style, corrosive and flowing. In Não Consegues the voices are doubled and mixed lake front, the speed is reduced and the guitar sounds more varied and less emphatic. Again, a fairly short composition.
És Tudo O Que Eu Queria is a sweet dream-punk ballad with good singing and keyboards that sound like an accordion, while Fiz Esta Canção is punk music with sharp guitars and repetitive minimal vocals.

Estrada is quieter, and what remains is a good sounding pop-rock ballad in which the atmosphere is determined by the strong vocals. But appearances are deceptive, because halfway the frantic guitars take the lead and we even hear electro snatches and noise. In És Tu, Já Sei we are treated to a portion of harmless dream-pop, while Amêndoa Amarga sounds like Heart meets Melissa Etheridge. Fado D'Agua Fria floats on what sounds like a friendly children's tune, with acoustic guitar as accompaniment, innocent and simple. Finally, Voltas Para Trás is punk-rock as we like to hear it, angular and hectic, with beautiful roaring guitars and sublime vocals.

Fans of punk-rock, dream-punk and dream-pop are pampered with this album. The songs are well constructed and the album sounds firm and loud. Julia and Maria Reis are doing well and finally it is no shame to be compared to Heart, Blondie or Melissa Ehteridge. There are worse things in life.

Tracklisting:
1. Braço de Ferro
2. Branca
3. Não Consegues
4. És Tudo O Que Eu Queria
5. Fiz Esta Canção
6. Estrada
7. És Tu, Já Sei
8. Amêndoa Amarga
9. Fado D'Água Fria
0. Voltas Para Trás

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=nw1tSJqb6Xo

William LIÉNARD
06/08/2015


NL

De Portugese meidenband Pega Mostro is een project van de zusjes Júlia Reis (drums) and Maria Reis (gitaar, keyboard). Hun bandnaam betekent ‘Vang het Monster’ en is de perfecte illustratie van het dreampunkgeluid van beide dames. Ze zijn trouwens al sinds 2010 actief in andere bands en ze hebben ook een eigen platenlabel (Cafetra Records) dat de Portugese garagepunkscène in kaart wil brengen. Hun eerste album verscheen in 2012 en kon op heel veel belangstelling rekenen in hun vaderland, en nu is Alfarroba uit, waarmee ze de internationale markt proberen te bestormen. In de zomer van 2015 toeren ze door West-Europa en met een beetje geluk kan u ze aan het werk zien.

Braço de Ferro bijt de spits af met een muur van gitaren en stevige vocalen: power-punk in de beste traditie tussen Blondie en Heart, en Branca gaat in dezelfde stijl crescendo, bijtend en vloeiend. In Não Consegues worden de stemmen verdubbeld en meer vooraan gemixt, het tempo is verlaagd en het gitaarspel klinkt gevarieerder en minder nadrukkelijk. Opnieuw een vrij korte compositie. És Tudo O Que Eu Queria is een lieflijke dreampunkballade met een zoete samenzang vooraan en keyboards die klinken als een accordeon, terwijl Fiz Esta Canção opnieuw de punktoer opgaat met scherpe repetitieve gitaren en minimale vocalen.

In Estrada wordt gas teruggenomen en wat overblijft is een goed klinkende pop-rockballade waarin de sfeer wordt bepaald door de stevige harmoniën. Maar schijn bedriegt, want halfweg nemen de hectische gitaren het voortouw en horen we zelfs flarden elektro en noise. Éin s Tu, Já Sei worden we getrakteerd op een portie ongevaarlijke dreampop, terwijl Amêndoa Amarga klinkt als Heart meets Melissa Etheridge. Fado D'Água Fria dobbert op wat een lieflijk kindermelodietje lijkt, met akoestische gitaar als begeleiding, onschuldig en eenvoudig. Voltas Para Trás ten slotte is punkrock zoals we die graag horen, hoekig en jachtig, met prachtig ronkende gitaren en sublieme zangstemmen.

Liefhebbers van punkrock, dreampunk en dreampop komen helemaal aan hun trekken met dit album. De composities zitten goed in elkaar en het geheel klinkt stevig en luid. Júlia en Maria Reis zijn goed bezig en uiteindelijk is het geen schande om te worden vergeleken met Heart, Blondie of Melissa Etheridge. Er zijn ergere dingen in het leven.

William LIÉNARD
06/08/2015


06/08/2015 : PEGA MONSTRO - Alfarroba 06/08/2015 : PEGA MONSTRO - Alfarroba

 

Next reviews
ABDELLATIF KECHICHE • La Vie D'Adèle (Blue Is The warmest Color)
MIDIAN DITE • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
EIGHTY-TWELVE • Everyone is wrong
XANDRIA • Fire And Ashes EP
JOHN PADDY CARSTAIRS • Dancing With Crime
JEAN-BAPTISTE LEONETTI • Beyond The Reach
IN CAMERA • Era
KEVIN STRAUWEN (TRUE ZEBRA) • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
THE MUSEUM OF LOVE • The Remixes
GEOMETRIC VISION • Virtual Analog Tears

 

Same combination of genres: PUNK + ROCK
THE HEAT INC. • EP
THERAPY? • Tides
SIEVEHEAD • Into the Blue
MR SHIRAZ • 21 Grams (EP)
THE BONES • Flash The Leather
THE KENDOLLS • Automania
THE SPILLS • Collecting Dust
LUCERO • All a Man Should Do
DEAD CLONES • Dead Clones
DRINKS • Hermits on Holiday

 

Same genre: PUNK
THE PULSEBEATS • LOOKIN’ OUT
LAPECHE • Blood In The Water
SONNY VINCENT • Shake Pit Therapy
STRUGGLER • Wilma (Determinated Protector)
THE MEMBRANES • What Nature Gives… Nature Takes Away
VARIOUS ARTISTS • A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
ERNEST MOON • Ba-Jesus
THE SPECIALS • Encore
PAUL MADDOG AND HIS BAND AISLING • Winter In London
RAT SCABIES • Rat Scabies - P.H.D.

 

Same genre: ROCK
THIS CAN HURT • A Darker Shade Of Blue
STEREOSEAT • Heavenly Creatures
YATES AND YOUNG • Splinters Ep
NICK CAVE AND THE BAD SEEDS • Ghosteen (Ghosteen/Bad Seed Ltd.)
PRINCIPE VALIENTE • Choirs of Blessed Youth
TYCHO BRAHE • Triplex [Complete]
THE SLOW SHOW • DREAM DARLING
THE PRETENDERS • Alone
WAREHOUSE • Super Low
NEW MODEL ARMY • Winter

Music reviews

14
06
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Gift For You
10
06
SAMHAIN
Experiment
09
06
CELESTIAL NORTH
When The Gods Dance
12
05
SHE HATES EMOTIONS
Space and time
11
05
THIS CAN HURT
A Darker Shade Of Blue
22
04
DEAD MAN'S HILL
Inner Journeys Through The Living Temples Of Water

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

16
06
44 years ago Suicide performed their legendary '23 minutes over Brussels'!
15
06
Roobanok: new talent on SkyQode
15
06
Today it’s exactly 43 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).
14
06
Industrial band, The Royal Ritual addresses organized religion ethics with debut LP, /Martyrs/
14
06
TELESKOP releases new EP on Progress Productions
13
06
Toxikk Deception releases new album through DSBP Records

Concert reviews

14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.
20
04
NINO SABLE
I am not a friend of boxed content...
13
04
ECHO ROAD
'There was no easy way or any shortcut to be taken in terms of producing something truly representative of the human experience. We simply had to ‘just do it'.'

PHOTOS

23
06
THE JESUS & MARY CHAIN
Trix Antwerpen
22
06
MONROE SUPPORT ALICE COOPER
Mitsubishi Electric Halle Düsseldorf
22
06
ALICE COOPER
Mitsubishi Electric Halle Düsseldorf
21
06
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
AB Brussel
19
06
GARY NUMAN
New Waves Day Oberhausen
19
06
PINK TURNS BLUE
New Waves Day Oberhausen
19
06
THE CASSANDRA COMPLEX
New Waves Day Oberhausen

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

25
06
CIRCLE OF DUST
Outside In
24
06
LUH
Beneath The Concrete
23
06
EARTHSET
SO WHAT!?
22
06
DIORAMA
ZSA
21
06
MIEL NOIR
L’ennemi
20
06
POESIE NOIRE
Déjà Vu
19
06
SLITHERUM
Godbox Suicide