tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

06/08/2015 : PEGA MONSTRO - Alfarroba

PEGA MONSTRO

Alfarroba

MusicCD
PunkRock

[70/100]   

Upset The Rhythm
06/08/2015, William LIÉNARD

EN

The Portuguese girl band Pega Mostro is a project of the sisters Julia Reis (drums) and Maria Reis (guitar, keyboard). The name of the band means 'Catch the Monster', and that is a perfect illustration of the dream-punk sound of both ladies. They have been members of other bands since 2010, and they have their own record label (Cafetra Records), which wants to chart the Portuguese garage punk scene. Their first album was released in 2012 and could count on a lot of interest in their homeland, and now Alfarroba is out, their entrance ticket to the international market. In the summer of 2015 they tour through Western Europe and with a little luck you can see them at work.

Braço de Ferro kicks off with a wall of guitars and strong vocals: power-punk in the best tradition between Blondie and Heart, steamy and loud, while Branca goes crescendo in the same style, corrosive and flowing. In Não Consegues the voices are doubled and mixed lake front, the speed is reduced and the guitar sounds more varied and less emphatic. Again, a fairly short composition.
És Tudo O Que Eu Queria is a sweet dream-punk ballad with good singing and keyboards that sound like an accordion, while Fiz Esta Canção is punk music with sharp guitars and repetitive minimal vocals.

Estrada is quieter, and what remains is a good sounding pop-rock ballad in which the atmosphere is determined by the strong vocals. But appearances are deceptive, because halfway the frantic guitars take the lead and we even hear electro snatches and noise. In És Tu, Já Sei we are treated to a portion of harmless dream-pop, while Amêndoa Amarga sounds like Heart meets Melissa Etheridge. Fado D'Agua Fria floats on what sounds like a friendly children's tune, with acoustic guitar as accompaniment, innocent and simple. Finally, Voltas Para Trás is punk-rock as we like to hear it, angular and hectic, with beautiful roaring guitars and sublime vocals.

Fans of punk-rock, dream-punk and dream-pop are pampered with this album. The songs are well constructed and the album sounds firm and loud. Julia and Maria Reis are doing well and finally it is no shame to be compared to Heart, Blondie or Melissa Ehteridge. There are worse things in life.

Tracklisting:
1. Braço de Ferro
2. Branca
3. Não Consegues
4. És Tudo O Que Eu Queria
5. Fiz Esta Canção
6. Estrada
7. És Tu, Já Sei
8. Amêndoa Amarga
9. Fado D'Água Fria
0. Voltas Para Trás

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=nw1tSJqb6Xo

William LIÉNARD
06/08/2015


NL

De Portugese meidenband Pega Mostro is een project van de zusjes Júlia Reis (drums) and Maria Reis (gitaar, keyboard). Hun bandnaam betekent ‘Vang het Monster’ en is de perfecte illustratie van het dreampunkgeluid van beide dames. Ze zijn trouwens al sinds 2010 actief in andere bands en ze hebben ook een eigen platenlabel (Cafetra Records) dat de Portugese garagepunkscène in kaart wil brengen. Hun eerste album verscheen in 2012 en kon op heel veel belangstelling rekenen in hun vaderland, en nu is Alfarroba uit, waarmee ze de internationale markt proberen te bestormen. In de zomer van 2015 toeren ze door West-Europa en met een beetje geluk kan u ze aan het werk zien.

Braço de Ferro bijt de spits af met een muur van gitaren en stevige vocalen: power-punk in de beste traditie tussen Blondie en Heart, en Branca gaat in dezelfde stijl crescendo, bijtend en vloeiend. In Não Consegues worden de stemmen verdubbeld en meer vooraan gemixt, het tempo is verlaagd en het gitaarspel klinkt gevarieerder en minder nadrukkelijk. Opnieuw een vrij korte compositie. És Tudo O Que Eu Queria is een lieflijke dreampunkballade met een zoete samenzang vooraan en keyboards die klinken als een accordeon, terwijl Fiz Esta Canção opnieuw de punktoer opgaat met scherpe repetitieve gitaren en minimale vocalen.

In Estrada wordt gas teruggenomen en wat overblijft is een goed klinkende pop-rockballade waarin de sfeer wordt bepaald door de stevige harmoniën. Maar schijn bedriegt, want halfweg nemen de hectische gitaren het voortouw en horen we zelfs flarden elektro en noise. Éin s Tu, Já Sei worden we getrakteerd op een portie ongevaarlijke dreampop, terwijl Amêndoa Amarga klinkt als Heart meets Melissa Etheridge. Fado D'Água Fria dobbert op wat een lieflijk kindermelodietje lijkt, met akoestische gitaar als begeleiding, onschuldig en eenvoudig. Voltas Para Trás ten slotte is punkrock zoals we die graag horen, hoekig en jachtig, met prachtig ronkende gitaren en sublieme zangstemmen.

Liefhebbers van punkrock, dreampunk en dreampop komen helemaal aan hun trekken met dit album. De composities zitten goed in elkaar en het geheel klinkt stevig en luid. Júlia en Maria Reis zijn goed bezig en uiteindelijk is het geen schande om te worden vergeleken met Heart, Blondie of Melissa Etheridge. Er zijn ergere dingen in het leven.

William LIÉNARD
06/08/2015


06/08/2015 : PEGA MONSTRO - Alfarroba 06/08/2015 : PEGA MONSTRO - Alfarroba

Music reviews

08
12
NEON TZIGANE
Del Wesh
07
12
FROSTTIDE
Decedents – Enshrined
06
12
MIREXXX
Vault
23
11
JO QUAIL
Exsolve
22
11
SADOMANCER
Dystopian Dawn
20
11
METROLAND
Memorabilia & Memorabilia The Remixes

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

10
12
On this day, 39 years ago John Peel broadcasted Joy Division's 2nd Peel Sessions!
09
12
SID VICIOUS, A Christmas Story | 41-Years Ago The Pistols Deliver Christmas
08
12
Today, 40 years ago, Public Image released its debut album First issue!
08
12
Celebration Of The Lizard | Today Is Jim Morrison’s 75th-Birthday
06
12
Ever Fallen In love? | A Tribute To Pete Shelley (17/4/1955-06/12/18)
06
12
BodyBeats announces complete and 100% Swedish line-up for International EBM day!

Concert reviews

16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018
24
09
MODELE MARTIAL - AUTOPSIE D'UNE OMBRE - IAMTHESHADOW
B52 - Eernegem - 14/09/2018
14
08
WAVE GOTIK TREFFEN
Review from WGT 2018, Leipzig, Germany
10
08
GOLDEN EARRING + THE KIDS
Live at Zulzeekse Feesten, Kluisbergen - Belgium - 28.07.2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

10
12
THE BLADES
Too Late To Stop Now! | The Return Of The Blades - An Interview With Paul Cleary
05
12
NOIRE ANTIDOTE
'Negative etiquette' resemblance the negative sides of human behaviour but more translated into a feeling.
24
11
DOPPELGANGER
'We are goths, and we only remember the sad stories :)'
22
11
PAUL LEARY (THE COCKY BITCHES,BUTTHOLE SURFERS)
'My mind has a jukebox that I cannot unplug.'
19
11
THE NAMES
We're lucky to have everyone still alive and well, unlike many of our friends of Factory records.

PHOTOS

03
12
WHISPERING SONS
Sinner's Day Genk
03
12
JOHN CALE
Sinner's Day Genk
03
12
RED ZEBRA
Sinner's Day Genk
03
12
GANG OF FOUR
Sinner's Day Genk
02
12
FISCHER Z
Sinner's Day Genk
02
12
COCAINE PISS
Sinner's Day Genk
02
12
DE BRASSERS
Sinner's Day Genk

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

10
12
THE VIOLENT YOUTH
Rabota (my life is a job)
09
12
0KONTROL
Lullaby
08
12
DICEPEOPLE
Somebody to Love
08
12
RAMPLINGG
Set My Heart
07
12
KATATONIA
Old Heart Falls
06
12
ZANIAS
Aletheia (Official Video)
05
12
LIGHT ASYLUM
Skull Fucked