tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

06/08/2015 : PEGA MONSTRO - Alfarroba

PEGA MONSTRO

Alfarroba

MusicCD
PunkRock

[70/100]   

Upset The Rhythm
06/08/2015, William LIÉNARD

EN

The Portuguese girl band Pega Mostro is a project of the sisters Julia Reis (drums) and Maria Reis (guitar, keyboard). The name of the band means 'Catch the Monster', and that is a perfect illustration of the dream-punk sound of both ladies. They have been members of other bands since 2010, and they have their own record label (Cafetra Records), which wants to chart the Portuguese garage punk scene. Their first album was released in 2012 and could count on a lot of interest in their homeland, and now Alfarroba is out, their entrance ticket to the international market. In the summer of 2015 they tour through Western Europe and with a little luck you can see them at work.

Braço de Ferro kicks off with a wall of guitars and strong vocals: power-punk in the best tradition between Blondie and Heart, steamy and loud, while Branca goes crescendo in the same style, corrosive and flowing. In Não Consegues the voices are doubled and mixed lake front, the speed is reduced and the guitar sounds more varied and less emphatic. Again, a fairly short composition.
És Tudo O Que Eu Queria is a sweet dream-punk ballad with good singing and keyboards that sound like an accordion, while Fiz Esta Canção is punk music with sharp guitars and repetitive minimal vocals.

Estrada is quieter, and what remains is a good sounding pop-rock ballad in which the atmosphere is determined by the strong vocals. But appearances are deceptive, because halfway the frantic guitars take the lead and we even hear electro snatches and noise. In És Tu, Já Sei we are treated to a portion of harmless dream-pop, while Amêndoa Amarga sounds like Heart meets Melissa Etheridge. Fado D'Agua Fria floats on what sounds like a friendly children's tune, with acoustic guitar as accompaniment, innocent and simple. Finally, Voltas Para Trás is punk-rock as we like to hear it, angular and hectic, with beautiful roaring guitars and sublime vocals.

Fans of punk-rock, dream-punk and dream-pop are pampered with this album. The songs are well constructed and the album sounds firm and loud. Julia and Maria Reis are doing well and finally it is no shame to be compared to Heart, Blondie or Melissa Ehteridge. There are worse things in life.

Tracklisting:
1. Braço de Ferro
2. Branca
3. Não Consegues
4. És Tudo O Que Eu Queria
5. Fiz Esta Canção
6. Estrada
7. És Tu, Já Sei
8. Amêndoa Amarga
9. Fado D'Água Fria
0. Voltas Para Trás

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=nw1tSJqb6Xo

William LIÉNARD
06/08/2015


NL

De Portugese meidenband Pega Mostro is een project van de zusjes Júlia Reis (drums) and Maria Reis (gitaar, keyboard). Hun bandnaam betekent ‘Vang het Monster’ en is de perfecte illustratie van het dreampunkgeluid van beide dames. Ze zijn trouwens al sinds 2010 actief in andere bands en ze hebben ook een eigen platenlabel (Cafetra Records) dat de Portugese garagepunkscène in kaart wil brengen. Hun eerste album verscheen in 2012 en kon op heel veel belangstelling rekenen in hun vaderland, en nu is Alfarroba uit, waarmee ze de internationale markt proberen te bestormen. In de zomer van 2015 toeren ze door West-Europa en met een beetje geluk kan u ze aan het werk zien.

Braço de Ferro bijt de spits af met een muur van gitaren en stevige vocalen: power-punk in de beste traditie tussen Blondie en Heart, en Branca gaat in dezelfde stijl crescendo, bijtend en vloeiend. In Não Consegues worden de stemmen verdubbeld en meer vooraan gemixt, het tempo is verlaagd en het gitaarspel klinkt gevarieerder en minder nadrukkelijk. Opnieuw een vrij korte compositie. És Tudo O Que Eu Queria is een lieflijke dreampunkballade met een zoete samenzang vooraan en keyboards die klinken als een accordeon, terwijl Fiz Esta Canção opnieuw de punktoer opgaat met scherpe repetitieve gitaren en minimale vocalen.

In Estrada wordt gas teruggenomen en wat overblijft is een goed klinkende pop-rockballade waarin de sfeer wordt bepaald door de stevige harmoniën. Maar schijn bedriegt, want halfweg nemen de hectische gitaren het voortouw en horen we zelfs flarden elektro en noise. Éin s Tu, Já Sei worden we getrakteerd op een portie ongevaarlijke dreampop, terwijl Amêndoa Amarga klinkt als Heart meets Melissa Etheridge. Fado D'Água Fria dobbert op wat een lieflijk kindermelodietje lijkt, met akoestische gitaar als begeleiding, onschuldig en eenvoudig. Voltas Para Trás ten slotte is punkrock zoals we die graag horen, hoekig en jachtig, met prachtig ronkende gitaren en sublieme zangstemmen.

Liefhebbers van punkrock, dreampunk en dreampop komen helemaal aan hun trekken met dit album. De composities zitten goed in elkaar en het geheel klinkt stevig en luid. Júlia en Maria Reis zijn goed bezig en uiteindelijk is het geen schande om te worden vergeleken met Heart, Blondie of Melissa Etheridge. Er zijn ergere dingen in het leven.

William LIÉNARD
06/08/2015


06/08/2015 : PEGA MONSTRO - Alfarroba 06/08/2015 : PEGA MONSTRO - Alfarroba

Music reviews

25
03
UNKNOWN INSTRUCTORS
Unwilling To Explain
24
03
REALITY'S DESPAIR
Human Transitions
23
03
AUTOGRAMM
What R U Waiting 4?
22
03
TINY FIGHTER
Tell Me
22
03
NEON ELECTRONICS
Apollo
21
03
ART DIKTATOR
Isola

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

25
03
The Soul Walker | Celebrating The Sound Of The Late Scott Walker
22
03
Today, exactly 29 years ago, Nine Inch Nails released their second single Head Like a Hole!
21
03
Bone Machine | 31-Years Since The Pixies Surfer Rosa
20
03
Today it’s been 29 years since Nitzer Ebb released their third studio album Showtime!
19
03
Just One Fix | Seventeen Years Since Ministry Unleashed Sphinctour
18
03
Today, 39 years ago, Joy Division released 'Licht und Blindheit'.

Concert reviews

15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

25
03
BORGHESIA
Like Every Style Of Music, EBM Also Had A Limited Period Of Duration
16
03
STEVE IGNORANT (CRASS)
'I think what drives me is the endless injustice that goes through life.'
11
03
SYNAPSCAPE
A Fascinating Challenge About Bringing New Life Into Old Tracks
10
03
BIG JOHN DUNCAN
'I don't like to copy things, I like to try and be original and always happy!'
09
03
MISSING IN STARS
'This music is for everyone, even my closest metal friends support it...'

PHOTOS

24
03
RED ZEBRA
De Lux Herenthout
24
03
DE BRASSERS
De Lux Herenthout
10
03
DER KLINKE
De Klinker Aarschot
10
03
A SLICE OF LIFE
De Klinker Aarschot
10
03
DEAD HIGH WIRE
De Klinker Aarschot
10
03
HATCHLING
De Klinker Aarschot
06
03
LAIBACH
Botanique Brussel

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

26
03
HOLE
Celebrity Skin
25
03
FAUNLET
Anatomy
24
03
YOUR LIFE ON HOLD
Phoenix
23
03
EMBER TWIN
I Can't Turn You On
22
03
MYDGAR
We choose to go to the Moon
21
03
JO QUAIL
Gold
20
03
CLAN OF XYMOX
Clan Of Xymox - Vixen In Disguise (Official Video)