tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

06/08/2015 : SUNSHADOWS - Red Herring

SUNSHADOWS

Red Herring

MusicCD
Alternative RockElectroMetal

[80/100]   

Fromtape
06/08/2015, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

The Nineties… so far away and still so nearby. The music of this France (Lyon) trio has connections with the rock music of that era. In the press sheet The Deftones, Alice in Chains, Limp Bizkit and Depeche Mode are mentioned… Depeche Mode is a bit too far out to compare with, but the comparison with The Deftones and Limp Bizkit is right.

We hear guitar, bass, drums and additional synths. They mostly mix electronics with metal sounding guitars. The songs are rather melodic. The music sounds a little dark. Sometimes I also think of The Smashing Pumpkins.

Starter ‘Fly Away’ is a guitartrack. ‘If I Die’ begins with synths before the guitars starts to scream. A nice lyric too. ‘My Shooting Star’ has an industrial sounding base in the song, floating on a nice bass line with a beautiful solo and a nice chorus. A very nice song. ‘Sunshine’ is their first single, with emotional vocals. Not bad. In ‘Starlight’ they combine rap oriented vocals with metal. An album with melody, power and variation.

A powerful debut. For the lovers of nineties oriented rock music!

Wim GUILLEMYN
06/08/2015


NL

De Jaren 90… zo ver weg en toch zo dichtbij. De muziek van deze Franse (Luon) band heeft links met de rockmuziek uit dat decennium. In de perstekst spreekt men van Deftones, Alice in Chains, Limp Bizkit en Depeche Mode… Depeche Mode lijkt mij wat ver gezocht, maar de vergelijkingen met Deftones en Limp Bizkit kloppen volgens mij wel.

We horen gitaar, bas, drums en wat toegevoegde synths. Meestal in een mix van electro en als metal klinkende gitaren. De songs zijn melodieus en klinken wat donker. Soms moet ik ook wat aan The Smashing Pumpkins denken.

Opener ‘Fly Away’ is een gitaartrack. ‘If I die’ begint met synths voordat men de gitaren op de song loslaat. Mooie tekst ook trouwens. ‘My Shooting Star’ heeft een industrial klinkende basis en de track bevat een mooie baslijn, gitaarsolo en refrein. Een knappe song. ‘Sunshine’ is hun eerste single en is gevoelig gezongen. Niet slecht. In ‘Starlight’ combineren ze aan rap gelinkte vocalen met metal. Dit is een album met melody, power en variatie.

Een sterk debuut. Voor de liefhebbers van rockmuziek uit de jaren 90..

Wim GUILLEMYN
06/08/2015


 

Next reviews
PEGA MONSTRO • Alfarroba
ABDELLATIF KECHICHE • La Vie D'Adèle (Blue Is The warmest Color)
MIDIAN DITE • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
EIGHTY-TWELVE • Everyone is wrong
XANDRIA • Fire And Ashes EP
JOHN PADDY CARSTAIRS • Dancing With Crime
JEAN-BAPTISTE LEONETTI • Beyond The Reach
IN CAMERA • Era
KEVIN STRAUWEN (TRUE ZEBRA) • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
THE MUSEUM OF LOVE • The Remixes

 

Same genre: ALTERNATIVE ROCK
THIRD REALM • The Art of Despair
THE BIRTHDAY MASSACRE • DIAMONDS
CLASS M PLANETS • Ravenswood
STEREOSEAT • Heavenly Creatures
KIM GORDON • No Home Record
FUTURE PILOT AKA • Orkestra Digitalis
THE BLACK WATCH • Magic Johnson
RIDE • This Is Not a Safe Place
NEW MODEL ARMY • From Here
ROSE MCDOWALL AND SHAWN PINCHBECK • Far From The Apple Tree

 

Same genre: ELECTRO
VIOLENT VICKIE • Blame
PORTION CONTROL • Head Buried
BOYTRONIC • The Robot Treatment
ARMAGEDDON DILDOS • Heut Nacht
6TH CROWD • Самозванцы (Samozvantsiy)
M73 • Tainted
PLASTIKSTROM • Beton Gegen Angst
MASSIVE ATTACK • Massive Attack vs Mad Professor Part II | Mezzanine Remix Tapes
ELM • Death Of The North
GRENDEL • Ascending The Abyss

 

Same genre: METAL
GROOVENOM • Wir müssen reden
COMBICHRIST • Hate Like Me
FROSTTIDE • Decedents – Enshrined
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
VARIOUS • ALCATRAZ METAL FESTIVAL 2018 10-12th August, Kortrijk, Belgium
GHOST • Popestar
SWITCHBLADE • “2016”
WILDHEART • WILDHEART
NERVOSA • Agony
ASP • Verfallen Folge 2: Fassaden

Music reviews

09
08
TRANSPORT AERIAN
Big Heart
08
08
VIOLENT VICKIE
Blame
07
08
FAUST PROJECT
The Future Comes On Sleeping Pills
05
08
TECHNOLORGY
Carnivore
03
08
OST+FRONT
Ikarus
15
07
SHE HATES EMOTIONS
Melancholic Maniac

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

08
08
Post-Punk Band THE FUNHOUSE COLLECTIVE Unleashes Cover Of GOLDEN EARRING's 'Twilight Zone'
03
08
Gothic Rock Band BLACK ANGEL Crafts Stories Of Love With New Album: Kiss Of Death
01
08
This month, 37 years ago, Nitzer Ebb recorded their first demo Basic Pain Procedure!
31
07
PROVISION Breaks Seven Year Silence With 'Hearts Turn Dark'
30
07
Electronic Act VEXILLARY Examines Surveillance Culture With New EP
29
07
Darkwave Act THRILLSVILLE Reveals Life On 'Lockdown' With New Video

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

08
08
BLIXA BARGELD
'The way we work is so…traditional'
06
08
SUBJECT.2
'Love, Betrayal, Deceit' - A conversation with Subject:2 on their new album
04
08
STEVE VON TILL (NEUROSIS)
'The greatest sentence in prose would have no place in a song...'
02
08
VELVET KILLS
Velvet Kills Is A Paradox, Wrapped In A Mystery, Inside Of An Enigma…
11
07
PAGE HAMILTON (HELMET)
'I think in 2021 we’ll have a new album...'

PHOTOS

13
03
SIGLO XX
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
ROME
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ROSE OF AVALANCHE
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE DANSE SOCIETY
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ARCH
Porta Nigra Aarschot
11
03
FRONT 242
Pulse Namur Isnes
11
03
SHAARGHOT
Pulse Namur Isnes

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

09
08
DES AMES LIBRES
Cold Hands
08
08
BLACK FOREST
GREED
07
08
SUPERNOVA 1006
Dope
06
08
SIXTH JUNE
Nebo
05
08
ANNE CLARK
Our Darkness
04
08
PIL
Rise
03
08
JAMBINAI
They Keep Silence