tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

06/08/2015 : SUNSHADOWS - Red Herring

SUNSHADOWS

Red Herring

MusicCD
Alternative RockElectroMetal

[80/100]   

Fromtape
06/08/2015, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

The Nineties… so far away and still so nearby. The music of this France (Lyon) trio has connections with the rock music of that era. In the press sheet The Deftones, Alice in Chains, Limp Bizkit and Depeche Mode are mentioned… Depeche Mode is a bit too far out to compare with, but the comparison with The Deftones and Limp Bizkit is right.

We hear guitar, bass, drums and additional synths. They mostly mix electronics with metal sounding guitars. The songs are rather melodic. The music sounds a little dark. Sometimes I also think of The Smashing Pumpkins.

Starter ‘Fly Away’ is a guitartrack. ‘If I Die’ begins with synths before the guitars starts to scream. A nice lyric too. ‘My Shooting Star’ has an industrial sounding base in the song, floating on a nice bass line with a beautiful solo and a nice chorus. A very nice song. ‘Sunshine’ is their first single, with emotional vocals. Not bad. In ‘Starlight’ they combine rap oriented vocals with metal. An album with melody, power and variation.

A powerful debut. For the lovers of nineties oriented rock music!

Wim GUILLEMYN
06/08/2015


NL

De Jaren 90… zo ver weg en toch zo dichtbij. De muziek van deze Franse (Luon) band heeft links met de rockmuziek uit dat decennium. In de perstekst spreekt men van Deftones, Alice in Chains, Limp Bizkit en Depeche Mode… Depeche Mode lijkt mij wat ver gezocht, maar de vergelijkingen met Deftones en Limp Bizkit kloppen volgens mij wel.

We horen gitaar, bas, drums en wat toegevoegde synths. Meestal in een mix van electro en als metal klinkende gitaren. De songs zijn melodieus en klinken wat donker. Soms moet ik ook wat aan The Smashing Pumpkins denken.

Opener ‘Fly Away’ is een gitaartrack. ‘If I die’ begint met synths voordat men de gitaren op de song loslaat. Mooie tekst ook trouwens. ‘My Shooting Star’ heeft een industrial klinkende basis en de track bevat een mooie baslijn, gitaarsolo en refrein. Een knappe song. ‘Sunshine’ is hun eerste single en is gevoelig gezongen. Niet slecht. In ‘Starlight’ combineren ze aan rap gelinkte vocalen met metal. Dit is een album met melody, power en variatie.

Een sterk debuut. Voor de liefhebbers van rockmuziek uit de jaren 90..

Wim GUILLEMYN
06/08/2015


Music reviews

13
07
LIZARD SMILE
Wandering in Mirrors
12
07
SIMPLE MINDS
Walk Between Worlds
27
06
JOHN FOXX
METAMATIC (2018 BOX)
18
06
ASTRASONIC
Passengers
15
06
NEGANT
No !
13
06
VOGON POETRY
Life, The Universe and Everything

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

16
07
DIRK DA DAVO 'MOODS': CD release July 2018
16
07
'A Midsummer Night's Dream' - a modern adaption of Shakespeare's comedy play celebrates theatrical debut
10
07
Peek-a-Boo Magazine #30 out now with temporary free download of the song 'Peek-a-Boo' by Christian Death!!
10
07
Today it’s exactly 27 years ago Ministry released N.W.O. (New World Order)!
04
07
'Locating Silver Lake' celebrates its international premiere at Edinburgh Film Festival!
29
06
Tonight! Dark Entries Night @ Kinky Star with Dead Man's Hill & Causenation!

Concert reviews

16
07
COVENANT W/ STONEBURNER
Live @ Ivy Smokehouse, Washington DC, 15th April 2018
24
05
LES NÉGRESSES VERTES
Live at De Casino, Sint-Niklaas - Belgium - 05.05.2018
19
04
SCORPIONS
Live at Vorst Nationaal - Belgium - 04.04.2018
19
03
FEVER RAY
Live @ AB - Brussels - 15.03.2018
14
03
DER KLINKE - STORY OFF
De Kelk, Brugge - 9 maart 2018
12
03
DISTORTED RETROSPECT
Distorted Retrospect - 6th March 2018 - Charlottesville, VA (USA)

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

23
06
DISTRICT 13
Many have a “life in chains”, each for themselves.[...] Many would like to be free, but they are trapped.
21
06
DANIEL B / PROTHESE
‘I Don’t Want To Be Confined In A Genre That Creates Expectations And Borders’
15
06
THE LIVELONG JUNE
OUR AIM WAS TO PRODUCE SOMETHING THAT SOUNDED LIKE NOTHING ELSE THAT WE LISTENED TO
04
06
LEAETHER STRIP
‘MY BIGGEST HERO IS ALAN WILDER’
31
05
PARADOX OBSCUR
EVERY NEW ALBUM IS GETTING CLOSER TO THE FUTURE…

PHOTOS

25
06
LACUNA COIL
Graspop, Dessel
25
06
EISBRECHER
Graspop, Dessel
25
06
MARILYN MANSON
Graspop, Dessel
23
06
IN THIS MOMENT
Graspop, Dessel
22
06
HEILUNG
Graspop, Dessel
22
06
GHOST
Graspop, Dessel
19
06
ONRUST
Trouwfe(e)st #2, JH Wommel, Wommelgem, Belgium

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

16
07
DAVID BOWIE
I Can’t Give Everything Away
15
07
JO QUAIL
Laurus
14
07
PIG
The Revelation
13
07
KLAMMER
Spiral Girl
12
07
SOFT RIOT
Waiting For Something Terrible To Happen
11
07
EUROPEAN GHOST
Suspended in the void
10
07
BLACK NAIL CABARET
Bête Noire