tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

06/08/2015 : SUNSHADOWS - Red Herring

SUNSHADOWS

Red Herring

MusicCD
Alternative RockElectroMetal

[80/100]   

Fromtape
06/08/2015, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

The Nineties… so far away and still so nearby. The music of this France (Lyon) trio has connections with the rock music of that era. In the press sheet The Deftones, Alice in Chains, Limp Bizkit and Depeche Mode are mentioned… Depeche Mode is a bit too far out to compare with, but the comparison with The Deftones and Limp Bizkit is right.

We hear guitar, bass, drums and additional synths. They mostly mix electronics with metal sounding guitars. The songs are rather melodic. The music sounds a little dark. Sometimes I also think of The Smashing Pumpkins.

Starter ‘Fly Away’ is a guitartrack. ‘If I Die’ begins with synths before the guitars starts to scream. A nice lyric too. ‘My Shooting Star’ has an industrial sounding base in the song, floating on a nice bass line with a beautiful solo and a nice chorus. A very nice song. ‘Sunshine’ is their first single, with emotional vocals. Not bad. In ‘Starlight’ they combine rap oriented vocals with metal. An album with melody, power and variation.

A powerful debut. For the lovers of nineties oriented rock music!

Wim GUILLEMYN
06/08/2015


NL

De Jaren 90… zo ver weg en toch zo dichtbij. De muziek van deze Franse (Luon) band heeft links met de rockmuziek uit dat decennium. In de perstekst spreekt men van Deftones, Alice in Chains, Limp Bizkit en Depeche Mode… Depeche Mode lijkt mij wat ver gezocht, maar de vergelijkingen met Deftones en Limp Bizkit kloppen volgens mij wel.

We horen gitaar, bas, drums en wat toegevoegde synths. Meestal in een mix van electro en als metal klinkende gitaren. De songs zijn melodieus en klinken wat donker. Soms moet ik ook wat aan The Smashing Pumpkins denken.

Opener ‘Fly Away’ is een gitaartrack. ‘If I die’ begint met synths voordat men de gitaren op de song loslaat. Mooie tekst ook trouwens. ‘My Shooting Star’ heeft een industrial klinkende basis en de track bevat een mooie baslijn, gitaarsolo en refrein. Een knappe song. ‘Sunshine’ is hun eerste single en is gevoelig gezongen. Niet slecht. In ‘Starlight’ combineren ze aan rap gelinkte vocalen met metal. Dit is een album met melody, power en variatie.

Een sterk debuut. Voor de liefhebbers van rockmuziek uit de jaren 90..

Wim GUILLEMYN
06/08/2015


Music reviews

19
10
DREADFOOL
Atoms for peace
18
10
ANNA VON HAUSSWOLFF
All Thoughts Fly Sweden
17
10
FATAL CASUALTIES
Lullaby for Helsinki
16
10
JESU
When I Was Small
12
10
SUICIDE COMMANDO
Mindstrip Redux
09
10
PORTION CONTROL
SEED EP1

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

28
10
43 years Never Mind The Bollocks!
28
10
On this day, 32 years ago, Front 242 released Front By Front!
24
10
Exactly 31 years ago Nitzer Ebb released ‘Control I’m Here’
23
10
40 years of Subhuman and Adrenalin by Throbbing Gristle!
21
10
Angels & Agony launched a new official lyric video of 'Forever'!
21
10
The Ignition Of Irish Punk | 43 years ago, Radiators From Space released their debut album 'TV Tube Heart'

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing
31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

21
10
DELERITAS
EBM-Indus Night Liège : The bands presented... Deleritas!
20
10
WULF7
EBM-Indus Night Liège : The bands presented... WÜLF7!
19
10
LISA GERRARD (DEAD CAN DANCE)
'I love the innocent dangers that can be experienced in musical performance...'
18
10
SERAPHIM SYSTEM
A Glorious Return To Form
17
10
DREADFOOL
EBM-Indus Night Liège : The bands presented... DREADFOOL!

PHOTOS

25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival
20
08
JUSTIN SULLIVAN & GASTONE
Kreisverwaltung Groß-Gerau

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

29
10
STACIAN
Telephonix
28
10
PSY'AVIAH
Reboot Reset Relay
27
10
NO MORE
Turnaround
26
10
DEVO
Beautiful World
25
10
DIE KRUPPS
To The Hilt
24
10
CIRCLE BROS
Detroit
23
10
FEVER RAY
Part VII: IDK About You (Official Video)