tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

06/08/2015 : SUNSHADOWS - Red Herring

SUNSHADOWS

Red Herring

MusicCD
Alternative RockElectroMetal

[80/100]   

Fromtape
06/08/2015, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

The Nineties… so far away and still so nearby. The music of this France (Lyon) trio has connections with the rock music of that era. In the press sheet The Deftones, Alice in Chains, Limp Bizkit and Depeche Mode are mentioned… Depeche Mode is a bit too far out to compare with, but the comparison with The Deftones and Limp Bizkit is right.

We hear guitar, bass, drums and additional synths. They mostly mix electronics with metal sounding guitars. The songs are rather melodic. The music sounds a little dark. Sometimes I also think of The Smashing Pumpkins.

Starter ‘Fly Away’ is a guitartrack. ‘If I Die’ begins with synths before the guitars starts to scream. A nice lyric too. ‘My Shooting Star’ has an industrial sounding base in the song, floating on a nice bass line with a beautiful solo and a nice chorus. A very nice song. ‘Sunshine’ is their first single, with emotional vocals. Not bad. In ‘Starlight’ they combine rap oriented vocals with metal. An album with melody, power and variation.

A powerful debut. For the lovers of nineties oriented rock music!

Wim GUILLEMYN
06/08/2015


NL

De Jaren 90… zo ver weg en toch zo dichtbij. De muziek van deze Franse (Luon) band heeft links met de rockmuziek uit dat decennium. In de perstekst spreekt men van Deftones, Alice in Chains, Limp Bizkit en Depeche Mode… Depeche Mode lijkt mij wat ver gezocht, maar de vergelijkingen met Deftones en Limp Bizkit kloppen volgens mij wel.

We horen gitaar, bas, drums en wat toegevoegde synths. Meestal in een mix van electro en als metal klinkende gitaren. De songs zijn melodieus en klinken wat donker. Soms moet ik ook wat aan The Smashing Pumpkins denken.

Opener ‘Fly Away’ is een gitaartrack. ‘If I die’ begint met synths voordat men de gitaren op de song loslaat. Mooie tekst ook trouwens. ‘My Shooting Star’ heeft een industrial klinkende basis en de track bevat een mooie baslijn, gitaarsolo en refrein. Een knappe song. ‘Sunshine’ is hun eerste single en is gevoelig gezongen. Niet slecht. In ‘Starlight’ combineren ze aan rap gelinkte vocalen met metal. Dit is een album met melody, power en variatie.

Een sterk debuut. Voor de liefhebbers van rockmuziek uit de jaren 90..

Wim GUILLEMYN
06/08/2015


 

Next reviews
PEGA MONSTRO • Alfarroba
ABDELLATIF KECHICHE • La Vie D'Adèle (Blue Is The warmest Color)
MIDIAN DITE • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
EIGHTY-TWELVE • Everyone is wrong
XANDRIA • Fire And Ashes EP
JOHN PADDY CARSTAIRS • Dancing With Crime
JEAN-BAPTISTE LEONETTI • Beyond The Reach
IN CAMERA • Era
KEVIN STRAUWEN (TRUE ZEBRA) • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
THE MUSEUM OF LOVE • The Remixes

 

Same genre: ALTERNATIVE ROCK
RAT SCABIES • Rat Scabies - P.H.D.
STRUGGLER • The Gap
BRAND NEW • Science Fiction
RULE OF THUMB • Rule Of Thumb
NINE MILLION WITCHES • The Rapture
MOANING CITIES • D Klein
NEW MODEL ARMY • Live at the Muziekgieterij, Maastricht, NL - 30.09.2016 - Photo Hub Dautzenberg
THE BEAUTY OF GEMINA • Minor Sun
PIXIES • Head Carrier
SEVEN EYED CROW • Dark Ways to the Sun

 

Same genre: ELECTRO
NEGANT • No !
STRUCK9 • Ritual Body Music
LEDERMAN / DE MEYER • A Tribe Of My Own
MIRLAND/LARSEN • Disturbia
THE INVINCIBLE SPIRIT • NEIN! (Single)
PSYCHE • Youth Of Tomorrow (12'')
DIRK DA DAVO / JEAN -MARIE AERTS • DDDJMX (EP)
BETA EVERS + SPATIAL RELATION • Split EP
FIXMER / MCCARTHY • Chemicals
DIVE • Underneath

 

Same genre: METAL
VARIOUS • ALCATRAZ METAL FESTIVAL 2018 10-12th August, Kortrijk, Belgium
GHOST • Popestar
SWITCHBLADE • “2016”
WILDHEART • WILDHEART
NERVOSA • Agony
ASP • Verfallen Folge 2: Fassaden
PSYCHO GENERATION + OST+FRONT • Eernegem, B52 (22/04/2016)
HIGHRIDER • Armageddon Rock
KRISTOFFER GILDENLöW • The Rain
AEON SABLE • Hypaerion

Music reviews

25
09
THE EXPLODING BOY
Alarms!
01
09
A SLICE OF LIFE
Restless
31
08
DICEPEOPLE
One From Many
30
08
VARIOUS
ALCATRAZ METAL FESTIVAL 2018 10-12th August, Kortrijk, Belgium
28
08
LEAETHER STRIP
World Molæster
27
08
EUROPEAN GHOST
Collections Of Shadows

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

25
09
Today, exactly 31 years ago The Klinik released 'Plague'!
24
09
First new Empirion material in almost a decade - I Am Electronic / Red Noise (12'/CD)
23
09
The electronic einzelgänger TRUE ZEBRA releases 123
22
09
Today it’s been exactly 26 years since Nine Inch Nails released Broken (EP)
21
09
Today: Russian dark-electro over Brussels!
16
09
Diane Grace releases first of three videos, 'Wedding', taken from their new EP 'Pan!c'!

Concert reviews

24
09
MODELE MARTIAL - AUTOPSIE D'UNE OMBRE - IAMTHESHADOW
B52 - Eernegem - 14/09/2018
14
08
WAVE GOTIK TREFFEN
Review from WGT 2018, Leipzig, Germany
10
08
GOLDEN EARRING + THE KIDS
Live at Zulzeekse Feesten, Kluisbergen - Belgium - 28.07.2018
16
07
COVENANT W/ STONEBURNER
Live @ Ivy Smokehouse, Washington DC, 15th April 2018
24
05
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live at De Casino, Sint-Niklaas - Belgium - 05.05.2018
19
04
SCORPIONS
Live at Vorst Nationaal - Belgium - 04.04.2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

06
09
STRONG PRODUCT, 0KONTROL
What RUSSIAN EBM and ATOMWAVE are all about
04
09
SOPHYA
Luckily The Human Being Is Bored Easily And Vinyl Saved The Day
01
09
DEAD ASTROPILOTS
There Is Also Something Related To Decay That We Love With Vinyl Records
11
08
MICK HARVEY
Interview with Mick Harvey (The Boys Next Door, The Birthday Party, Crime & the City Solution, Nick Cave and the Bad Seeds, PJ Harvey)
07
08
RAT SCABIES (EX THE DAMNED)
'I never planned to make a solo record... It was something I was doing for fun.'

PHOTOS

20
09
PERSEPHONE
Théâtre Mercelis Brussels
23
08
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
W-Fest Amougies
23
08
SHE PAST AWAY
W-Fest Amougies
23
08
THE DEVIL & THE UNIVERSE
W-Fest Amougies
23
08
ASH CODE
W-Fest Amougies
23
08
DAGEIST
W-Fest Amougies
22
08
KIM WILDE
W-Fest Amougies

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

26
09
LES PANTIES
L'Arrivée
25
09
CLOCK DVA
The Hacker
24
09
FATAL CASUALTIES
Tankevurpa
23
09
KRANKLAND
Summer Avalanche
22
09
UNZUCHT
Neuntöter
21
09
CASPIAN
Rioseco
20
09
LOVELESSLUT
AntiYouth