tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

06/08/2015 : SUNSHADOWS - Red Herring

SUNSHADOWS

Red Herring

MusicCD
Alternative RockElectroMetal

[80/100]   

Fromtape
06/08/2015, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

The Nineties… so far away and still so nearby. The music of this France (Lyon) trio has connections with the rock music of that era. In the press sheet The Deftones, Alice in Chains, Limp Bizkit and Depeche Mode are mentioned… Depeche Mode is a bit too far out to compare with, but the comparison with The Deftones and Limp Bizkit is right.

We hear guitar, bass, drums and additional synths. They mostly mix electronics with metal sounding guitars. The songs are rather melodic. The music sounds a little dark. Sometimes I also think of The Smashing Pumpkins.

Starter ‘Fly Away’ is a guitartrack. ‘If I Die’ begins with synths before the guitars starts to scream. A nice lyric too. ‘My Shooting Star’ has an industrial sounding base in the song, floating on a nice bass line with a beautiful solo and a nice chorus. A very nice song. ‘Sunshine’ is their first single, with emotional vocals. Not bad. In ‘Starlight’ they combine rap oriented vocals with metal. An album with melody, power and variation.

A powerful debut. For the lovers of nineties oriented rock music!

Wim GUILLEMYN
06/08/2015


NL

De Jaren 90… zo ver weg en toch zo dichtbij. De muziek van deze Franse (Luon) band heeft links met de rockmuziek uit dat decennium. In de perstekst spreekt men van Deftones, Alice in Chains, Limp Bizkit en Depeche Mode… Depeche Mode lijkt mij wat ver gezocht, maar de vergelijkingen met Deftones en Limp Bizkit kloppen volgens mij wel.

We horen gitaar, bas, drums en wat toegevoegde synths. Meestal in een mix van electro en als metal klinkende gitaren. De songs zijn melodieus en klinken wat donker. Soms moet ik ook wat aan The Smashing Pumpkins denken.

Opener ‘Fly Away’ is een gitaartrack. ‘If I die’ begint met synths voordat men de gitaren op de song loslaat. Mooie tekst ook trouwens. ‘My Shooting Star’ heeft een industrial klinkende basis en de track bevat een mooie baslijn, gitaarsolo en refrein. Een knappe song. ‘Sunshine’ is hun eerste single en is gevoelig gezongen. Niet slecht. In ‘Starlight’ combineren ze aan rap gelinkte vocalen met metal. Dit is een album met melody, power en variatie.

Een sterk debuut. Voor de liefhebbers van rockmuziek uit de jaren 90..

Wim GUILLEMYN
06/08/2015


Music reviews

08
12
NEON TZIGANE
Del Wesh
07
12
FROSTTIDE
Decedents – Enshrined
06
12
MIREXXX
Vault
23
11
JO QUAIL
Exsolve
22
11
SADOMANCER
Dystopian Dawn
20
11
METROLAND
Memorabilia & Memorabilia The Remixes

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

10
12
On this day, 39 years ago John Peel broadcasted Joy Division's 2nd Peel Sessions!
09
12
SID VICIOUS, A Christmas Story | 41-Years Ago The Pistols Deliver Christmas
08
12
Today, 40 years ago, Public Image released its debut album First issue!
08
12
Celebration Of The Lizard | Today Is Jim Morrison’s 75th-Birthday
06
12
Ever Fallen In love? | A Tribute To Pete Shelley (17/4/1955-06/12/18)
06
12
BodyBeats announces complete and 100% Swedish line-up for International EBM day!

Concert reviews

16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018
24
09
MODELE MARTIAL - AUTOPSIE D'UNE OMBRE - IAMTHESHADOW
B52 - Eernegem - 14/09/2018
14
08
WAVE GOTIK TREFFEN
Review from WGT 2018, Leipzig, Germany
10
08
GOLDEN EARRING + THE KIDS
Live at Zulzeekse Feesten, Kluisbergen - Belgium - 28.07.2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

10
12
THE BLADES
Too Late To Stop Now! | The Return Of The Blades - An Interview With Paul Cleary
05
12
NOIRE ANTIDOTE
'Negative etiquette' resemblance the negative sides of human behaviour but more translated into a feeling.
24
11
DOPPELGANGER
'We are goths, and we only remember the sad stories :)'
22
11
PAUL LEARY (THE COCKY BITCHES,BUTTHOLE SURFERS)
'My mind has a jukebox that I cannot unplug.'
19
11
THE NAMES
We're lucky to have everyone still alive and well, unlike many of our friends of Factory records.

PHOTOS

03
12
WHISPERING SONS
Sinner's Day Genk
03
12
JOHN CALE
Sinner's Day Genk
03
12
RED ZEBRA
Sinner's Day Genk
03
12
GANG OF FOUR
Sinner's Day Genk
02
12
FISCHER Z
Sinner's Day Genk
02
12
COCAINE PISS
Sinner's Day Genk
02
12
DE BRASSERS
Sinner's Day Genk

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

10
12
THE VIOLENT YOUTH
Rabota (my life is a job)
09
12
0KONTROL
Lullaby
08
12
DICEPEOPLE
Somebody to Love
08
12
RAMPLINGG
Set My Heart
07
12
KATATONIA
Old Heart Falls
06
12
ZANIAS
Aletheia (Official Video)
05
12
LIGHT ASYLUM
Skull Fucked