tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

26/04/2015 : KAMELOT - Haven

KAMELOT

Haven

MusicCD
Symphonic Metal

[85/100]   

Napalm Records
26/04/2015, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

'Haven' means ‘safe port’ or ‘shelter’. It’s the follow up of ‘Silverton’ and the second album with vocalist Tommy Karevik, who replaces Roy Khan very well. Since 1995 they’re active and have released their 13th album. They made especially name by making symphonic and melodic metal in an era in which the more heavier metal was popular. They confirm their status by making top quality albums.

No surprises or experiments on the new album. You hear the typical Kamelot sound, uplifting tunes with all the characteristics of their sound: beautiful and emotional keyboardlines, melodic and heavy guitarriffs, very nice drumwork (the double basses), that gives the songs the right hooks and ritmes. The vocals radiate energie and pulls you into the songs.

Guest appearances by Alissa White-Gluz (Arch Enemy), Troy Donockley (Nightwish) and Charlotte Wessels (Delain). While the vocals on ‘Silvertorn’ were rather similar, I hear now some small difference and a little bit more style in the singing parts.

Good songs are eg. ‘My Therapy’,’End of Innoncence’,’Under Grey Skies’ (a little to corny for my taste but nice with the femal vocals), ‘Veil of Elysium’ and ‘Liar Liar’.

In short ‘Haven’ is a good album (produced by Sascha Paeth and mastered by Jacob Hansen). No masterpiece, therefore they play a little too much on safety. So, a justified title and for fans of symphonic and melodic metal a nice addition to their collection. In the autmn they come to European podia with their ‘Haven’ tournee. So keep an eye on the data.

 

Wim GUILLEMYN
26/04/2015


NL

Haven betekent ‘veilige haven’ of ‘schuilplaats’. Het is de opvolger van ‘Silvertorn’ en het is het tweede album met vocalist Tommy Karevik die, wat mij betreft, Roy Khan uitstekend heeft vervangen. Sedert 1995 zijn ze actief en reeds aan hun 13de album toe. Ze hebben vooral naam gemaakt door met epische symfonische metal op de proppen te komen in een era waarin toen vooral hardere metal de bovenhand had (Sepultura, Slipknot, Rammstein, Carcass, …). Ze bevestigden hun reputatie daarna doordat ze gewoonweg topkwaliteit in hun genre afleverden.

Met hun nieuwste album trekken ze de lijn van hun vorige albums door. Je hoort hier de typische Kamelot sound. Geen verrassingen of experimenten, wel verheffende tunes met alle kenmerken: mooie emotionele keyboardlijnen, melodische en heavy gitaarriffs, geweldig drumwerk (die dubbele bassen) die de songs de juiste hooks en ritmes geven en de zang die je meetrekt en die, zelfs in de donkere songs, energie uitstraalt. Er zijn gastoptredens van Alissa White-Gluz (Arch Enemy), Troy Donockley (Nightwish) and Charlotte Wessels (Delain). Waar de zang op ‘Silvertorn’ haast niet te onderscheiden was, vind ik dat Karevik er ditmaal toch ietsjes meer zijn eigen stijl inlegt.

Goede songs zijn o.a. ‘My Therapy’, ‘End of Innocence’, ‘Under Grey Skies’ ( wel iets te melig naar mijn smaak, maar mooi met de vrouwelijke vocals erbij) , ‘Veil of Elysium’ en ‘Liar Liar’.

Kortom ‘Haven’ is een goed Kamelot-album (Produced by Sascha Paeth en mastered by Jacob Hansen). Geen meesterwerk, eerder wat op veiligheid gespeeld. Of zoals de titel het zegt ‘Haven’. Maar voor de fans van symfonische en progressieve metal een mooie toevoeging aan hun collectie. In het najaar passeren ze in Europa met hun ‘haven’-tournee. Hou dus de data in het oog.

Wim GUILLEMYN
26/04/2015


26/04/2015 : KAMELOT - Haven 26/04/2015 : KAMELOT - Haven 26/04/2015 : KAMELOT - Haven

Music reviews

15
02
QUAL
Cyber Care
14
02
0KONTROL
3RDEYE2NDHAND
12
02
LIEBKNECHT
ICE over Erfurt
11
02
THE SPECIALS
Encore
02
02
PRINCIPE VALIENTE
Choirs of Blessed Youth
20
01
DEAD HIGH WIRE
Pray for us

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

15
02
This month it’s been 23 years since Ministry released their cover version of Bob Dylan’s ‘Lay Lady Lay’!
15
02
This February, it's 32 years since Kraftwerk released 'The Telephone Call / Der Telefon-Anruf'.
14
02
One year ago Peek-a-Boo and Black Easter founder Ward De Prins passed away...
14
02
Today, exactly 40 years ago, John Peel broadcast the first Peel Sessions, performed by Joy Division
13
02
In The Light | Happy Birthday Peter Hook!
12
02
Producer/composer Phil Western (Download/PlatEAU/...) passed way on Saturday 9 February.

Concert reviews

15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

15
02
MORTAJA
It Always Has Been My Dream And I'm Enjoying It A Lot
13
02
MONICA RICHARDS
I always felt out of step with the Modern world, ever since I was a child, I do even more so now.
09
02
SIMON SCOTT (SLOWDIVE)
'We've always wanted to have a say in our production.'
07
02
GOETHES ERBEN
Goethes Erben: Strangely enough, those who cry the loudest are not those who drown during their flight
01
02
WAYNE HUSSEY
'I think for every action there is a reaction.'

PHOTOS

10
02
LORDS OF ACID
YAP Leopoldsburg
20
12
COVENANT
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium
20
12
LEAETHER STRIP
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium
20
12
AGENT SIDE GRINDER
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium
20
12
GERTRUD STEIN
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium
20
12
NZ
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium
20
12
STAHLR
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

16
02
WULFBAND
Gewalt!
15
02
UNDERVIEWER
Nobody But You (Redux)
14
02
CLAN OF XYMOX
Obsession
13
02
CROONA
Bleed For Me (Official Video Mix)
12
02
COMBICHRIST
My Life My Rules
11
02
SLOVENSKA TELEVIZA
Muskiz
11
02
ALVAR
The Fluid