tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

26/04/2015 : KAMELOT - Haven

KAMELOT

Haven

MusicCD
Symphonic Metal

[85/100]   

Napalm Records
26/04/2015, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

'Haven' means ‘safe port’ or ‘shelter’. It’s the follow up of ‘Silverton’ and the second album with vocalist Tommy Karevik, who replaces Roy Khan very well. Since 1995 they’re active and have released their 13th album. They made especially name by making symphonic and melodic metal in an era in which the more heavier metal was popular. They confirm their status by making top quality albums.

No surprises or experiments on the new album. You hear the typical Kamelot sound, uplifting tunes with all the characteristics of their sound: beautiful and emotional keyboardlines, melodic and heavy guitarriffs, very nice drumwork (the double basses), that gives the songs the right hooks and ritmes. The vocals radiate energie and pulls you into the songs.

Guest appearances by Alissa White-Gluz (Arch Enemy), Troy Donockley (Nightwish) and Charlotte Wessels (Delain). While the vocals on ‘Silvertorn’ were rather similar, I hear now some small difference and a little bit more style in the singing parts.

Good songs are eg. ‘My Therapy’,’End of Innoncence’,’Under Grey Skies’ (a little to corny for my taste but nice with the femal vocals), ‘Veil of Elysium’ and ‘Liar Liar’.

In short ‘Haven’ is a good album (produced by Sascha Paeth and mastered by Jacob Hansen). No masterpiece, therefore they play a little too much on safety. So, a justified title and for fans of symphonic and melodic metal a nice addition to their collection. In the autmn they come to European podia with their ‘Haven’ tournee. So keep an eye on the data.

 

Wim GUILLEMYN
26/04/2015


NL

Haven betekent ‘veilige haven’ of ‘schuilplaats’. Het is de opvolger van ‘Silvertorn’ en het is het tweede album met vocalist Tommy Karevik die, wat mij betreft, Roy Khan uitstekend heeft vervangen. Sedert 1995 zijn ze actief en reeds aan hun 13de album toe. Ze hebben vooral naam gemaakt door met epische symfonische metal op de proppen te komen in een era waarin toen vooral hardere metal de bovenhand had (Sepultura, Slipknot, Rammstein, Carcass, …). Ze bevestigden hun reputatie daarna doordat ze gewoonweg topkwaliteit in hun genre afleverden.

Met hun nieuwste album trekken ze de lijn van hun vorige albums door. Je hoort hier de typische Kamelot sound. Geen verrassingen of experimenten, wel verheffende tunes met alle kenmerken: mooie emotionele keyboardlijnen, melodische en heavy gitaarriffs, geweldig drumwerk (die dubbele bassen) die de songs de juiste hooks en ritmes geven en de zang die je meetrekt en die, zelfs in de donkere songs, energie uitstraalt. Er zijn gastoptredens van Alissa White-Gluz (Arch Enemy), Troy Donockley (Nightwish) and Charlotte Wessels (Delain). Waar de zang op ‘Silvertorn’ haast niet te onderscheiden was, vind ik dat Karevik er ditmaal toch ietsjes meer zijn eigen stijl inlegt.

Goede songs zijn o.a. ‘My Therapy’, ‘End of Innocence’, ‘Under Grey Skies’ ( wel iets te melig naar mijn smaak, maar mooi met de vrouwelijke vocals erbij) , ‘Veil of Elysium’ en ‘Liar Liar’.

Kortom ‘Haven’ is een goed Kamelot-album (Produced by Sascha Paeth en mastered by Jacob Hansen). Geen meesterwerk, eerder wat op veiligheid gespeeld. Of zoals de titel het zegt ‘Haven’. Maar voor de fans van symfonische en progressieve metal een mooie toevoeging aan hun collectie. In het najaar passeren ze in Europa met hun ‘haven’-tournee. Hou dus de data in het oog.

Wim GUILLEMYN
26/04/2015


26/04/2015 : KAMELOT - Haven 26/04/2015 : KAMELOT - Haven 26/04/2015 : KAMELOT - Haven

Music reviews

04
07
RAMMSTEIN
Zeit
27
06
BALVANERA
Courses of Action
14
06
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Gift For You
10
06
SAMHAIN
Experiment
09
06
CELESTIAL NORTH
When The Gods Dance
12
05
SHE HATES EMOTIONS
Space and time

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

03
07
I Wanted To Tell Her 39
02
07
New album from Xenturion Prime on Progress Productions
01
07
Legendary Goth Club ‘The Church’ Featured In Documentary Film
01
07
41 years of Incontinent by Fad Gadget!
30
06
Luscious Apparatus Addresses Rage Control With New Single
29
06
Canadian Label Dem Modest Kids Unveils Into The Coldwave Compilation Highlighting Alberta - Based Alternative Artists

Concert reviews

14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.
20
04
NINO SABLE
I am not a friend of boxed content...
13
04
ECHO ROAD
'There was no easy way or any shortcut to be taken in terms of producing something truly representative of the human experience. We simply had to ‘just do it'.'

PHOTOS

04
07
EIVOR NORDIC NIGHT
Amphitheater Gelsenkirchen
03
07
WARDRUNA NORDIC LIGHT
Amphitheater Gelsenkirchen
30
06
AROMA DI AMORE
Sinner's Day Oostende
30
06
THE STRANGLERS
Sinner's Day Oostende
30
06
STABBING WESTWARD
Sinner's Day Oostende
30
06
MERCIFUL NUNS
Sinner's Day Oostende
30
06
NOSFERATU
Sinner's Day Oostende

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

04
07
NICK CAVE & THE BAD SEEDS
Jesus Alone
03
07
SPIRITUAL FRONT
Tenderness Through Violence
02
07
KATE BUSH
And Dream of Sheep
01
07
PJ HARVEY
The Orange Monkey
30
06
FIRST HATE
White Heron
29
06
THIS CAN HURT
High Tide
28
06
GUS GUS
Deep Inside