tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

26/04/2015 : KAMELOT - Haven

KAMELOT

Haven

MusicCD
Symphonic Metal

[85/100]   

Napalm Records
26/04/2015, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

'Haven' means ‘safe port’ or ‘shelter’. It’s the follow up of ‘Silverton’ and the second album with vocalist Tommy Karevik, who replaces Roy Khan very well. Since 1995 they’re active and have released their 13th album. They made especially name by making symphonic and melodic metal in an era in which the more heavier metal was popular. They confirm their status by making top quality albums.

No surprises or experiments on the new album. You hear the typical Kamelot sound, uplifting tunes with all the characteristics of their sound: beautiful and emotional keyboardlines, melodic and heavy guitarriffs, very nice drumwork (the double basses), that gives the songs the right hooks and ritmes. The vocals radiate energie and pulls you into the songs.

Guest appearances by Alissa White-Gluz (Arch Enemy), Troy Donockley (Nightwish) and Charlotte Wessels (Delain). While the vocals on ‘Silvertorn’ were rather similar, I hear now some small difference and a little bit more style in the singing parts.

Good songs are eg. ‘My Therapy’,’End of Innoncence’,’Under Grey Skies’ (a little to corny for my taste but nice with the femal vocals), ‘Veil of Elysium’ and ‘Liar Liar’.

In short ‘Haven’ is a good album (produced by Sascha Paeth and mastered by Jacob Hansen). No masterpiece, therefore they play a little too much on safety. So, a justified title and for fans of symphonic and melodic metal a nice addition to their collection. In the autmn they come to European podia with their ‘Haven’ tournee. So keep an eye on the data.

 

Wim GUILLEMYN
26/04/2015


NL

Haven betekent ‘veilige haven’ of ‘schuilplaats’. Het is de opvolger van ‘Silvertorn’ en het is het tweede album met vocalist Tommy Karevik die, wat mij betreft, Roy Khan uitstekend heeft vervangen. Sedert 1995 zijn ze actief en reeds aan hun 13de album toe. Ze hebben vooral naam gemaakt door met epische symfonische metal op de proppen te komen in een era waarin toen vooral hardere metal de bovenhand had (Sepultura, Slipknot, Rammstein, Carcass, …). Ze bevestigden hun reputatie daarna doordat ze gewoonweg topkwaliteit in hun genre afleverden.

Met hun nieuwste album trekken ze de lijn van hun vorige albums door. Je hoort hier de typische Kamelot sound. Geen verrassingen of experimenten, wel verheffende tunes met alle kenmerken: mooie emotionele keyboardlijnen, melodische en heavy gitaarriffs, geweldig drumwerk (die dubbele bassen) die de songs de juiste hooks en ritmes geven en de zang die je meetrekt en die, zelfs in de donkere songs, energie uitstraalt. Er zijn gastoptredens van Alissa White-Gluz (Arch Enemy), Troy Donockley (Nightwish) and Charlotte Wessels (Delain). Waar de zang op ‘Silvertorn’ haast niet te onderscheiden was, vind ik dat Karevik er ditmaal toch ietsjes meer zijn eigen stijl inlegt.

Goede songs zijn o.a. ‘My Therapy’, ‘End of Innocence’, ‘Under Grey Skies’ ( wel iets te melig naar mijn smaak, maar mooi met de vrouwelijke vocals erbij) , ‘Veil of Elysium’ en ‘Liar Liar’.

Kortom ‘Haven’ is een goed Kamelot-album (Produced by Sascha Paeth en mastered by Jacob Hansen). Geen meesterwerk, eerder wat op veiligheid gespeeld. Of zoals de titel het zegt ‘Haven’. Maar voor de fans van symfonische en progressieve metal een mooie toevoeging aan hun collectie. In het najaar passeren ze in Europa met hun ‘haven’-tournee. Hou dus de data in het oog.

Wim GUILLEMYN
26/04/2015


26/04/2015 : KAMELOT - Haven 26/04/2015 : KAMELOT - Haven 26/04/2015 : KAMELOT - Haven

Music reviews

08
12
NEON TZIGANE
Del Wesh
07
12
FROSTTIDE
Decedents – Enshrined
06
12
MIREXXX
Vault
23
11
JO QUAIL
Exsolve
22
11
SADOMANCER
Dystopian Dawn
20
11
METROLAND
Memorabilia & Memorabilia The Remixes

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

10
12
On this day, 39 years ago John Peel broadcasted Joy Division's 2nd Peel Sessions!
09
12
SID VICIOUS, A Christmas Story | 41-Years Ago The Pistols Deliver Christmas
08
12
Today, 40 years ago, Public Image released its debut album First issue!
08
12
Celebration Of The Lizard | Today Is Jim Morrison’s 75th-Birthday
06
12
Ever Fallen In love? | A Tribute To Pete Shelley (17/4/1955-06/12/18)
06
12
BodyBeats announces complete and 100% Swedish line-up for International EBM day!

Concert reviews

16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018
24
09
MODELE MARTIAL - AUTOPSIE D'UNE OMBRE - IAMTHESHADOW
B52 - Eernegem - 14/09/2018
14
08
WAVE GOTIK TREFFEN
Review from WGT 2018, Leipzig, Germany
10
08
GOLDEN EARRING + THE KIDS
Live at Zulzeekse Feesten, Kluisbergen - Belgium - 28.07.2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

10
12
THE BLADES
Too Late To Stop Now! | The Return Of The Blades - An Interview With Paul Cleary
05
12
NOIRE ANTIDOTE
'Negative etiquette' resemblance the negative sides of human behaviour but more translated into a feeling.
24
11
DOPPELGANGER
'We are goths, and we only remember the sad stories :)'
22
11
PAUL LEARY (THE COCKY BITCHES,BUTTHOLE SURFERS)
'My mind has a jukebox that I cannot unplug.'
19
11
THE NAMES
We're lucky to have everyone still alive and well, unlike many of our friends of Factory records.

PHOTOS

03
12
WHISPERING SONS
Sinner's Day Genk
03
12
JOHN CALE
Sinner's Day Genk
03
12
RED ZEBRA
Sinner's Day Genk
03
12
GANG OF FOUR
Sinner's Day Genk
02
12
FISCHER Z
Sinner's Day Genk
02
12
COCAINE PISS
Sinner's Day Genk
02
12
DE BRASSERS
Sinner's Day Genk

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

12
12
E-SOCIETY
E-Society
11
12
FUNKER VOGT
Feel the Pain
10
12
THE VIOLENT YOUTH
Rabota (my life is a job)
09
12
0KONTROL
Lullaby
08
12
DICEPEOPLE
Somebody to Love
08
12
RAMPLINGG
Set My Heart
07
12
KATATONIA
Old Heart Falls