tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

23/04/2015 : DU BLONDE - Welcome Back to Milk

DU BLONDE

Welcome Back to Milk

MusicCD
Alternative Rock

[80/100]   

Mute
23/04/2015, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

Beth Jeans Houghton is the person after Du Blonde. I didn’ t know her yet, but she has talent, that’s for sure with some directness and escapism in her music like we know from Courtney Love, Auf Der Maur, Joan As Policeman…

With her second album she makes a style change. Her previous work has more an indie style, now she introduces rawness and directness without fringes.

Starter ‘Black Flag’ floats on a fat bassline. With the guitars and her way of singing we hear some adrenaline filled songs. Who says that women can’ t make songs like The Stooges or Queens of the Stone Age does? Songs like ‘If You’re Legal’, ‘Mr. Hyde’ or ‘Raw Honey’ are heavy bass drivencompositions too. They provide an important vibe in the sound of the album.

‘Chips to Go’ goes a little further than ‘Black Flag’. The singing line seems to run away out of a Focus song.

‘After the Show’ is just like ‘Four in the Morning’ a ballade. No tearjerkers, but rather something like we can expect from eg. Joan As Policewoman. Nice build up songs like in he golden 70’s. Workmanship.

Finally ‘My Mind is on my Mind’ is a brilliant song that goes in all directions. Madness trumps. But very effective. Samuel T. Herring with his vocal piece could also be on a Daan album.

Du Blonde makes a style change and she does it very well. She makes an album that sounds lived and profound, whether it’s a ballad or a rocksong. Nice.

 

Wim GUILLEMYN
23/04/2015


NL

Beth Jeans Houghton is de persoon achter Du Blonde. Ze was mij tot nu toe onbekend, maar ze heeft wel iets in haar mars als je dit album beluistert. Ze heeft een soort directheid en je-m'en-foutisme in haar muziek zoals we die ook wel kennen van Courtney Love, Auf Der Maur, Joan As Policewoman…

Dit tweede album is een beetje een stijlbreuk met haar vorig werk. Toen klonk het iets meer indie, nu heeft het een heel eigen en andere stijl: rauw, direct en zonder franjes.

Opener ‘Black Flag’ bv. drijft op een vette baslijn. Met de bijhorende gitaren en de manier waarop ze zingt krijgen we hier een adrenaline opwekkende song. Wie zegt dat vrouwen geen songs a la Stooges, Queens of The Stone Ages kunnen schrijven? Ook in andere songs zoals ‘If You’re Legal, Mr. Hyde of ‘Raw Honey’ krijgen we baslijnen die vet en overstuurd klinken. Ze zorgen voor een belangrijke feel op het album.

‘Chips to Go’ gaat nog een beetje verder op de ingeslagen weg. De zanglijn lijkt uit een Focus-nummer weg te zijn gelopen.

‘After the Show’ is net als ‘Four in the Morning’ een ballade. Niet van het zeemzoetige genre, maar eerder iets wat we bv. van Joan As Policewoman kunnen verwachten. Mooi opgebouwde songs die je terugbrengen naar de gouden jaren 70. Vakmanschap.

Tot slot ‘My Mind is on my Mind’ is een schitterende song die alle kanten op gaat. Gekte troef. Maar heel effectief. Samuel T. Herring kon met zijn tussenkomst zo op een Daan-album prijken.

Du Blonde heeft een goeie stijlverandering gemaakt. Het album klinkt doorleefd en diep, of het nu een rocksong of een ballad betreft. Nice.

Wim GUILLEMYN
23/04/2015


Music reviews

14
06
CABINET OF MILLIONAIRES
Theresa, Vol.3 Ep
13
06
DEF ROBOT
Makers Of Mountains
04
06
THIS CAN HURT
Worlds Apart
03
06
RADERKRAFT
Smart Control
02
06
MASSIVE EGO
Church For The Malfunctioned
01
06
VUKOVAR
Cremator

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

15
06
Today it’s exactly 40 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).
03
06
Today, 41 years ago, Joy Division self-released their very first 7' EP, An Ideal For Living!
29
05
UK's Electronic-Pop Band EMPATHY TEST Announce The Release of EMPTY-HANDED EP
16
05
45 years of Diamond Dogs (David Bowie)
15
05
On this day, 29 years ago, British post-punk band Wire released their 7th studio album Manscape
14
05
'Locating Silver Lake' out on DVD today!

Concert reviews

15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

15
06
KENNEY JONES
'There's always an element of doubt in anything you do'
23
05
JAKE BURNS (STIFF LITTLE FINGERS)
'We were writing a songs about our own rights'
22
05
TREHA SEKTORI
‘I Have A Feeling Of Constant Dissatisfaction, So I'll Get Back To Work To Make It Better’
10
05
APSURDE
No Matter What We Do, We Will Always Sound Like Depeche Mode
09
05
ANDY GILL (GANG OF FOUR)
'You never expect Gang of Four to be very optimistic.Do you ?'

PHOTOS

16
06
WAPPENBUND
Trouwfe(e)st #3, Wommelgem
16
06
PANTSER FABRIEK
Trouwfe(e)st #3, Wommelgem
12
06
RIOTMILOO
Trouwfe(e)st #3, Wommelgem
12
06
ASHTORETH
Trouwfe(e)st #3, Wommelgem
12
06
FOR GREATER GOOD
Trouwfe(e)st #3, Wommelgem
12
06
AGONOIZE
Agra, WGT Leipzig
12
06
VELVET ACID CHRIST
Agra, WGT Leipzig

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

17
06
LEVITIKA
Zombie Barbie
16
06
WHITE ZOMBIE
More Human Than Human
15
06
KARIN PARK
Hurricane
14
06
AUSTRA
I Love You More Than You Love Yourself
13
06
FACTICE FACTORY
L'Aurore
12
06
SOWULU
Ginnungagap
11
06
SHE PAST AWAY
Katarsis