tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

23/04/2015 : DU BLONDE - Welcome Back to Milk

DU BLONDE

Welcome Back to Milk

MusicCD
Alternative Rock

[80/100]   

Mute
23/04/2015, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

Beth Jeans Houghton is the person after Du Blonde. I didn’ t know her yet, but she has talent, that’s for sure with some directness and escapism in her music like we know from Courtney Love, Auf Der Maur, Joan As Policeman…

With her second album she makes a style change. Her previous work has more an indie style, now she introduces rawness and directness without fringes.

Starter ‘Black Flag’ floats on a fat bassline. With the guitars and her way of singing we hear some adrenaline filled songs. Who says that women can’ t make songs like The Stooges or Queens of the Stone Age does? Songs like ‘If You’re Legal’, ‘Mr. Hyde’ or ‘Raw Honey’ are heavy bass drivencompositions too. They provide an important vibe in the sound of the album.

‘Chips to Go’ goes a little further than ‘Black Flag’. The singing line seems to run away out of a Focus song.

‘After the Show’ is just like ‘Four in the Morning’ a ballade. No tearjerkers, but rather something like we can expect from eg. Joan As Policewoman. Nice build up songs like in he golden 70’s. Workmanship.

Finally ‘My Mind is on my Mind’ is a brilliant song that goes in all directions. Madness trumps. But very effective. Samuel T. Herring with his vocal piece could also be on a Daan album.

Du Blonde makes a style change and she does it very well. She makes an album that sounds lived and profound, whether it’s a ballad or a rocksong. Nice.

 

Wim GUILLEMYN
23/04/2015


NL

Beth Jeans Houghton is de persoon achter Du Blonde. Ze was mij tot nu toe onbekend, maar ze heeft wel iets in haar mars als je dit album beluistert. Ze heeft een soort directheid en je-m'en-foutisme in haar muziek zoals we die ook wel kennen van Courtney Love, Auf Der Maur, Joan As Policewoman…

Dit tweede album is een beetje een stijlbreuk met haar vorig werk. Toen klonk het iets meer indie, nu heeft het een heel eigen en andere stijl: rauw, direct en zonder franjes.

Opener ‘Black Flag’ bv. drijft op een vette baslijn. Met de bijhorende gitaren en de manier waarop ze zingt krijgen we hier een adrenaline opwekkende song. Wie zegt dat vrouwen geen songs a la Stooges, Queens of The Stone Ages kunnen schrijven? Ook in andere songs zoals ‘If You’re Legal, Mr. Hyde of ‘Raw Honey’ krijgen we baslijnen die vet en overstuurd klinken. Ze zorgen voor een belangrijke feel op het album.

‘Chips to Go’ gaat nog een beetje verder op de ingeslagen weg. De zanglijn lijkt uit een Focus-nummer weg te zijn gelopen.

‘After the Show’ is net als ‘Four in the Morning’ een ballade. Niet van het zeemzoetige genre, maar eerder iets wat we bv. van Joan As Policewoman kunnen verwachten. Mooi opgebouwde songs die je terugbrengen naar de gouden jaren 70. Vakmanschap.

Tot slot ‘My Mind is on my Mind’ is een schitterende song die alle kanten op gaat. Gekte troef. Maar heel effectief. Samuel T. Herring kon met zijn tussenkomst zo op een Daan-album prijken.

Du Blonde heeft een goeie stijlverandering gemaakt. Het album klinkt doorleefd en diep, of het nu een rocksong of een ballad betreft. Nice.

Wim GUILLEMYN
23/04/2015


Music reviews

18
01
RINGFINGER
Pressure
16
01
SYRENOMILIA
A Rose Shattered
14
01
M73
Tainted
09
01
NEGANT
Schwarz!
08
01
MORE EPHEMEROL
Obituary Templates
07
01
CHRISTOPHE CLEBARD
SSS

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

19
01
On this day, 29 years ago (19 January 1991), The Cure performed at The Great British Music Awards!
18
01
On this day, 40 ago, John Foxx released his first solo project album Metamatic!
17
01
Today, 35 years ago, Alien Sex Fiend recorded Liquid Head in Tokyo!
16
01
25 years Divine Rapture | Celebrating The Siouxsie and the Banshees 1995 and final album!
15
01
The Dreams Will Always Linger | Remembering Dolores O’Riordan - 2 Year Anniversary
15
01
This month 48 years ago KRAFTWERK released their second studio album KRAFTWERK 2

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

19
01
IAN EVERETT (SOLID BRONZE)
'had a lot of time to sit with these songs...'
17
01
BROOK
I’ve soaked up a lot of musical genres over the years, and I like to think that maybe this is reflected throughout the Brook album.
15
01
ORDO ROSARIUS EQUILIBRIO
I never thought I’d live to see the day when Ordo Rosarius Equilibrio was mentioned next to Current 93 and Death in June.
14
01
IC434
find it amazing to live in a highly developed society and at the same time having to realize what a mentally mess it really is.
13
01
SYRENOMELIA
The drunk rural constable at the local pub.

PHOTOS

19
01
DAGEIST
Dark Winter Festival Liège
19
01
THE ARCH
Dark Winter Festival Liège
19
01
DER HIMMEL UBER BERLIN
Dark Winter Festival Liège
19
01
WHITE COAL ADDICTION
Dark Winter Festival Liège
19
01
ERYX LONDON
Dark Winter Festival Liège
19
01
KEZDOWN
DARK WINTER FESTIVAL LIEGE
26
12
SUICIDE COMMANDO
Bimfest

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

20
01
THROBBING GRISTLE
Six Six Sixties (Fan made video)
19
01
THE BREATH OF LIFE
Blackout
18
01
SDH (SEMIOTICS DEPARTMENT OF HETERONYMS)
No Miracles (Official Video)
17
01
CAPITAL X
Majesty
17
01
GARBAGE
No Horses
16
01
SEVERED HEADS
All Saints Day
15
01
EURYTHMICS
Sweet Dreams