tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

23/04/2015 : DU BLONDE - Welcome Back to Milk

DU BLONDE

Welcome Back to Milk

MusicCD
Alternative Rock

[80/100]   

Mute
23/04/2015, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

Beth Jeans Houghton is the person after Du Blonde. I didn’ t know her yet, but she has talent, that’s for sure with some directness and escapism in her music like we know from Courtney Love, Auf Der Maur, Joan As Policeman…

With her second album she makes a style change. Her previous work has more an indie style, now she introduces rawness and directness without fringes.

Starter ‘Black Flag’ floats on a fat bassline. With the guitars and her way of singing we hear some adrenaline filled songs. Who says that women can’ t make songs like The Stooges or Queens of the Stone Age does? Songs like ‘If You’re Legal’, ‘Mr. Hyde’ or ‘Raw Honey’ are heavy bass drivencompositions too. They provide an important vibe in the sound of the album.

‘Chips to Go’ goes a little further than ‘Black Flag’. The singing line seems to run away out of a Focus song.

‘After the Show’ is just like ‘Four in the Morning’ a ballade. No tearjerkers, but rather something like we can expect from eg. Joan As Policewoman. Nice build up songs like in he golden 70’s. Workmanship.

Finally ‘My Mind is on my Mind’ is a brilliant song that goes in all directions. Madness trumps. But very effective. Samuel T. Herring with his vocal piece could also be on a Daan album.

Du Blonde makes a style change and she does it very well. She makes an album that sounds lived and profound, whether it’s a ballad or a rocksong. Nice.

 

Wim GUILLEMYN
23/04/2015


NL

Beth Jeans Houghton is de persoon achter Du Blonde. Ze was mij tot nu toe onbekend, maar ze heeft wel iets in haar mars als je dit album beluistert. Ze heeft een soort directheid en je-m'en-foutisme in haar muziek zoals we die ook wel kennen van Courtney Love, Auf Der Maur, Joan As Policewoman…

Dit tweede album is een beetje een stijlbreuk met haar vorig werk. Toen klonk het iets meer indie, nu heeft het een heel eigen en andere stijl: rauw, direct en zonder franjes.

Opener ‘Black Flag’ bv. drijft op een vette baslijn. Met de bijhorende gitaren en de manier waarop ze zingt krijgen we hier een adrenaline opwekkende song. Wie zegt dat vrouwen geen songs a la Stooges, Queens of The Stone Ages kunnen schrijven? Ook in andere songs zoals ‘If You’re Legal, Mr. Hyde of ‘Raw Honey’ krijgen we baslijnen die vet en overstuurd klinken. Ze zorgen voor een belangrijke feel op het album.

‘Chips to Go’ gaat nog een beetje verder op de ingeslagen weg. De zanglijn lijkt uit een Focus-nummer weg te zijn gelopen.

‘After the Show’ is net als ‘Four in the Morning’ een ballade. Niet van het zeemzoetige genre, maar eerder iets wat we bv. van Joan As Policewoman kunnen verwachten. Mooi opgebouwde songs die je terugbrengen naar de gouden jaren 70. Vakmanschap.

Tot slot ‘My Mind is on my Mind’ is een schitterende song die alle kanten op gaat. Gekte troef. Maar heel effectief. Samuel T. Herring kon met zijn tussenkomst zo op een Daan-album prijken.

Du Blonde heeft een goeie stijlverandering gemaakt. Het album klinkt doorleefd en diep, of het nu een rocksong of een ballad betreft. Nice.

Wim GUILLEMYN
23/04/2015


Music reviews

06
06
I LIKE TRAINS
The Truth
05
06
GOOD CO
So Pretty
30
05
THIS ETERNAL DECAY
Silence
29
05
THE MIDNIGHT COMPUTERS
Anxious
03
05
BOYTRONIC
The Robot Treatment
02
05
ARMAGEDDON DILDOS
Heut Nacht

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

03
06
Today, 42 years ago, Joy Division self-released their very first 7' EP, An Ideal For Living!
28
05
Electro/Synthwave act GIANT MONSTERS ON THE HORIZON unleash new studio album - Live From Night City
26
05
Happy birthday Wayne Hussey!
24
05
46 years Of Diamond Dogs!
23
05
34 years of 'Let Your Body Learn!'
22
05
39 years Spellbound!

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

26
05
MARK E MOON
We Know We’re Not Re-Inventing The Wheel!
23
05
JOSH KLINGHOFFER (PLURALONE,RHCP)
“I suddenly found the piano the most exciting instrument to write on.”
19
05
THE HERESY GENE
'The More We Do It, The More Important It Feels.'
01
05
AUTUMN TEARS
An Interview With Autumn Tears
30
04
EMPUSAE
One thing is for sure... I'll never stop making music!

PHOTOS

13
03
SIGLO XX
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
ROME
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ROSE OF AVALANCHE
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE DANSE SOCIETY
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ARCH
Porta Nigra Aarschot
11
03
FRONT 242
Pulse Namur Isnes
11
03
SHAARGHOT
Pulse Namur Isnes

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

06
06
PSYCHE
The Things That Dreams Are Made Of (Party Monster Mix)
05
06
PLASTIC NOISE EXPERIENCE
CONTROL
04
06
SUFFOCATING MINDS
Second Life
03
06
DARKH
Bury Our Bones
02
06
THE 69 EYES
Jet Fighter Plane
01
06
AEVERIUM
Hunted
31
05
THE JUGGERNAUTS
PURGE