tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

23/04/2015 : DU BLONDE - Welcome Back to Milk

DU BLONDE

Welcome Back to Milk

MusicCD
Alternative Rock

[80/100]   

Mute
23/04/2015, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

Beth Jeans Houghton is the person after Du Blonde. I didn’ t know her yet, but she has talent, that’s for sure with some directness and escapism in her music like we know from Courtney Love, Auf Der Maur, Joan As Policeman…

With her second album she makes a style change. Her previous work has more an indie style, now she introduces rawness and directness without fringes.

Starter ‘Black Flag’ floats on a fat bassline. With the guitars and her way of singing we hear some adrenaline filled songs. Who says that women can’ t make songs like The Stooges or Queens of the Stone Age does? Songs like ‘If You’re Legal’, ‘Mr. Hyde’ or ‘Raw Honey’ are heavy bass drivencompositions too. They provide an important vibe in the sound of the album.

‘Chips to Go’ goes a little further than ‘Black Flag’. The singing line seems to run away out of a Focus song.

‘After the Show’ is just like ‘Four in the Morning’ a ballade. No tearjerkers, but rather something like we can expect from eg. Joan As Policewoman. Nice build up songs like in he golden 70’s. Workmanship.

Finally ‘My Mind is on my Mind’ is a brilliant song that goes in all directions. Madness trumps. But very effective. Samuel T. Herring with his vocal piece could also be on a Daan album.

Du Blonde makes a style change and she does it very well. She makes an album that sounds lived and profound, whether it’s a ballad or a rocksong. Nice.

 

Wim GUILLEMYN
23/04/2015


NL

Beth Jeans Houghton is de persoon achter Du Blonde. Ze was mij tot nu toe onbekend, maar ze heeft wel iets in haar mars als je dit album beluistert. Ze heeft een soort directheid en je-m'en-foutisme in haar muziek zoals we die ook wel kennen van Courtney Love, Auf Der Maur, Joan As Policewoman…

Dit tweede album is een beetje een stijlbreuk met haar vorig werk. Toen klonk het iets meer indie, nu heeft het een heel eigen en andere stijl: rauw, direct en zonder franjes.

Opener ‘Black Flag’ bv. drijft op een vette baslijn. Met de bijhorende gitaren en de manier waarop ze zingt krijgen we hier een adrenaline opwekkende song. Wie zegt dat vrouwen geen songs a la Stooges, Queens of The Stone Ages kunnen schrijven? Ook in andere songs zoals ‘If You’re Legal, Mr. Hyde of ‘Raw Honey’ krijgen we baslijnen die vet en overstuurd klinken. Ze zorgen voor een belangrijke feel op het album.

‘Chips to Go’ gaat nog een beetje verder op de ingeslagen weg. De zanglijn lijkt uit een Focus-nummer weg te zijn gelopen.

‘After the Show’ is net als ‘Four in the Morning’ een ballade. Niet van het zeemzoetige genre, maar eerder iets wat we bv. van Joan As Policewoman kunnen verwachten. Mooi opgebouwde songs die je terugbrengen naar de gouden jaren 70. Vakmanschap.

Tot slot ‘My Mind is on my Mind’ is een schitterende song die alle kanten op gaat. Gekte troef. Maar heel effectief. Samuel T. Herring kon met zijn tussenkomst zo op een Daan-album prijken.

Du Blonde heeft een goeie stijlverandering gemaakt. Het album klinkt doorleefd en diep, of het nu een rocksong of een ballad betreft. Nice.

Wim GUILLEMYN
23/04/2015


Music reviews

17
08
STATIQBLOOM
Asphyxia
16
08
STAATSEINDE
Dreiheit
15
08
L'AVENIR
Requiem And Live
14
08
PETER GUNDRY
V Ö L U R
13
08
AIMA
Haiku Irregolari In Forma Di Musica
12
08
AUGER
From Now On I

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

14
08
Electro-Industrial artist SPANKTHENUN reveals their MIND CONTROL EP & Leaether Strip Remix Visualizer
13
08
Zeroes, the new single of M73
12
08
Post-Punk Act VAZUM Releases Video For Their Cover of BAUHAUS' 'She's In Parties'
10
08
Today, it’s exactly 32 years ago Nitzer Ebb released Join In The Chant!
09
08
JO QUAIL LAUNCHES NEW RECORD LABEL ADDERSTONE RECORDS
07
08
CHELSEA announce European Tour in September

Concert reviews

07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019
15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

15
08
SPANKTHENUN
An Interview With Electro-Industrial Artist SPANKTHENUN
13
08
AHMED SALEH ABOUT EXPERIMENTAL/INDUSTRIAL MUSIC IN AFRICA
People Here Can Get Arrested Because Of Something They Posted On Social Media!
12
08
SINTHETIK MESSIAH
An Interview With Industrial Bass Artist SINthetik Messiah
10
08
THE BRUTE:
An Interview With Synthpop Act THE BRUTE:
09
08
VAZUM
An Interview With Dark Rock Act VAZUM

PHOTOS

14
08
SECRET GARDEN
Donkey Rock Festival Selange
13
08
TRISOMIE 21
Donkey Rock Festival Selange
12
08
GRAND BLANC
Donkey Rock Festival Selange
12
08
WE ARE WAVES
Donkey Rock Festival Selange
10
08
MOTOR!K
De Smoutpot Zwijndrecht
09
08
ALLEZ ALLEZ
Fonne Feesten Lokeren
09
08
RED ZEBRA
Fonne Feesten Lokeren

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

18
08
DAVE BALL
In Strict Tempo
17
08
MOTOR!K
Static
16
08
ENZO KREFT
Disobedient
15
08
DER KLINKE
CURTAINS
14
08
SPIRITUAL FRONT
Tenderness Through Violence
13
08
TEST DEPARTMENT
Landlord
12
08
MERCIFUL NUNS
BLACK HALO