tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

25/04/2015 : THE POODLES - Devil in Details

THE POODLES

Devil in Details

MusicCD
MetalRock

[79/100]   

Gain Music
25/04/2015, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

When you don’ t know this band (you’re not alone I was also one of them) and you’ll like pominded hardrock/metal in the genre of bands like Europe, Bon Jovi, Aerosmith, Def Leppard… than you must check this out. In their foreign country Sweden they’re already a long time big.

Now they brings out their 6th album. With a new bass player (the previous one joined King Diamond). I must admit to everything sound well produced. The vocals of Jacob Samuel sounds a little like Joe Tempest (Europe). A pleasant voice to listen to. The songs have very recognazible and sing-along choruses. You actually believes what he sings even the lyrics are by moments very cliché. Like on their first single ‘The Greatest’. It has an epic and atmospheric intro. The song also angling for the nomination of live- anthem. This is a nice and polished single. The most other songs are a little bit heavier. With some nice guitar parts also. ‘Crack in the Wall’ tend to be symphonic metal. A nice song that can do well on stage. ‘Life Without’ and ‘Creator and Breaker’ stays agreeable songs after several listenings.

You imagine yourself by moments back in the time when earlier called band where played on MTV. Poodles sounds and looked a little like then. So, musically you don’t have to expect new metal but old school well build up songs. Very catchy and melodic. Probably very likeable by some aloder metal fans (like myself included).

Wim GUILLEMYN
25/04/2015


NL

Voor wie deze band niet kent (ik moet bekennen dat ik er één van was) en houdt van popgerichte hardrock/metal in de stijl van Bon Jovi, Europe, Aerosmith, Def Leppard … dan moet je deze band eens checken. In thuisland Zweden zijn ze al jaren groot in hun genre.

Deze band brengt hun 6de album uit. Met een nieuwe bassist (de vorige bassist is vertrokken naar King Diamond). Ik moet zeggen dat alles haarfijn geproduceerd is. Alles klinkt heel goed. De vocals van zanger Jacob Samuel liggen in de buurt van Joe Tempest (Europe). Aangenaam om naar te luisteren. De songs hebben heel herken- en meezingbare refreinen. Verder geloof je ook echt wat hij zingt zelfs als hij heel clichématige teksten ten berde brengt. Zoals op hun eerste single ‘The Greatest’. Het heeft een mooie epische en sfeerrijke intro. Het nummer hengelt naar een nominatie voor live- anthem. Dit is een aardige en gepolijste single. De meeste andere nummers zijn iets steviger. Hier en daar fijn gitaarspel. ’Crack in the Wall’ neigt zelfs een beetje naar symfonische metal. Een mooi nummer dat live wel gensters kan slaan. ‘Life Without’ blijft net als ‘Creator and Breaker’ leuke songs na meerdere beluisteringen.

Je waant je bij momenten in de tijd terug toen we eerder genoemde groepen (Europe…) op MTV zagen voorbij passeren. Ze klinken en zien er een beetje uit zoals toen. Op zich moet je dus muzikaal geen vernieuwingen verwachten maar wel degelijk opgebouwde songs die heel melodieus klinken. Vakmanschap die waarschijnlijk de iets oudere metalfan (zoals mezelf zijnde) zal aanspreken.

Wim GUILLEMYN
25/04/2015


25/04/2015 : THE POODLES - Devil in Details 25/04/2015 : THE POODLES - Devil in Details

Music reviews

25
01
POUPPEE FABRIKK
Burn Forever
23
01
STURM CAFE
Fernes Land
18
01
DISTANT VOICES
Long Road to Home
17
01
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
Mechanical Soul
16
01
IMPLANT
Phantom Pain
15
01
DD SANCHEZ
StRaNgE

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

25
01
Exactly 43 years ago, Joy Division played their very first concert!
24
01
Today, exactly 30 years ago Front 242 released the album Tyranny ▶For You◀
24
01
Today, 3 years ago, Mark E. Smith, singer of legendary post-punk band The Fall died, aged 60
22
01
On this day, 11 years ago, Nitzer Ebb released their sixth studio album Industrial Complex!
21
01
Today, exactly 28 years ago, Ministry released Just One Fix!
19
01
On this day, 30 years ago (19 January 1991), The Cure performed at The Great British Music Awards!

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

07
01
MAMAN KUSTERS
‘Let’s Keep It Intriguing
16
12
THE BREATH OF LIFE
'No, I never considered quitting making music. Nor to taste good special beers.'
05
12
CEVIN KEY (SKINNY PUPPY, DOWNLOAD)
'It really has been like the formation of a new band in a lot of ways...'
03
12
ALEX SKOLNICK (TESTAMENT, ALEX SKOLNICK TRIO)
'I was as knocked out as I was hearing Van Halen...'
14
11
PROYECTO MIRAGE
I Think We Needed A Break

PHOTOS

25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival
20
08
JUSTIN SULLIVAN & GASTONE
Kreisverwaltung Groß-Gerau

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

25
01
STRONG PRODUCT
Trolleybus Park
24
01
BUZZ KULL
Last in the club
23
01
KALTE NACHT
Voices in silence
22
01
SYNAPTIC DEFECT
Tacky games
21
01
ROB ZOMBIE
The Triumph of King Freak (A Crypt of Preservation and Superstition)
20
01
NEW ORDER
True Faith
19
01
CORDE OBLIQUE
Suono su tela