tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

25/04/2015 : THE POODLES - Devil in Details

THE POODLES

Devil in Details

MusicCD
MetalRock

[79/100]   

Gain Music
25/04/2015, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

When you don’ t know this band (you’re not alone I was also one of them) and you’ll like pominded hardrock/metal in the genre of bands like Europe, Bon Jovi, Aerosmith, Def Leppard… than you must check this out. In their foreign country Sweden they’re already a long time big.

Now they brings out their 6th album. With a new bass player (the previous one joined King Diamond). I must admit to everything sound well produced. The vocals of Jacob Samuel sounds a little like Joe Tempest (Europe). A pleasant voice to listen to. The songs have very recognazible and sing-along choruses. You actually believes what he sings even the lyrics are by moments very cliché. Like on their first single ‘The Greatest’. It has an epic and atmospheric intro. The song also angling for the nomination of live- anthem. This is a nice and polished single. The most other songs are a little bit heavier. With some nice guitar parts also. ‘Crack in the Wall’ tend to be symphonic metal. A nice song that can do well on stage. ‘Life Without’ and ‘Creator and Breaker’ stays agreeable songs after several listenings.

You imagine yourself by moments back in the time when earlier called band where played on MTV. Poodles sounds and looked a little like then. So, musically you don’t have to expect new metal but old school well build up songs. Very catchy and melodic. Probably very likeable by some aloder metal fans (like myself included).

Wim GUILLEMYN
25/04/2015


NL

Voor wie deze band niet kent (ik moet bekennen dat ik er één van was) en houdt van popgerichte hardrock/metal in de stijl van Bon Jovi, Europe, Aerosmith, Def Leppard … dan moet je deze band eens checken. In thuisland Zweden zijn ze al jaren groot in hun genre.

Deze band brengt hun 6de album uit. Met een nieuwe bassist (de vorige bassist is vertrokken naar King Diamond). Ik moet zeggen dat alles haarfijn geproduceerd is. Alles klinkt heel goed. De vocals van zanger Jacob Samuel liggen in de buurt van Joe Tempest (Europe). Aangenaam om naar te luisteren. De songs hebben heel herken- en meezingbare refreinen. Verder geloof je ook echt wat hij zingt zelfs als hij heel clichématige teksten ten berde brengt. Zoals op hun eerste single ‘The Greatest’. Het heeft een mooie epische en sfeerrijke intro. Het nummer hengelt naar een nominatie voor live- anthem. Dit is een aardige en gepolijste single. De meeste andere nummers zijn iets steviger. Hier en daar fijn gitaarspel. ’Crack in the Wall’ neigt zelfs een beetje naar symfonische metal. Een mooi nummer dat live wel gensters kan slaan. ‘Life Without’ blijft net als ‘Creator and Breaker’ leuke songs na meerdere beluisteringen.

Je waant je bij momenten in de tijd terug toen we eerder genoemde groepen (Europe…) op MTV zagen voorbij passeren. Ze klinken en zien er een beetje uit zoals toen. Op zich moet je dus muzikaal geen vernieuwingen verwachten maar wel degelijk opgebouwde songs die heel melodieus klinken. Vakmanschap die waarschijnlijk de iets oudere metalfan (zoals mezelf zijnde) zal aanspreken.

Wim GUILLEMYN
25/04/2015


25/04/2015 : THE POODLES - Devil in Details 25/04/2015 : THE POODLES - Devil in Details

Music reviews

09
08
TRANSPORT AERIAN
Big Heart
08
08
VIOLENT VICKIE
Blame
07
08
FAUST PROJECT
The Future Comes On Sleeping Pills
05
08
TECHNOLORGY
Carnivore
03
08
OST+FRONT
Ikarus
15
07
SHE HATES EMOTIONS
Melancholic Maniac

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

08
08
Post-Punk Band THE FUNHOUSE COLLECTIVE Unleashes Cover Of GOLDEN EARRING's 'Twilight Zone'
03
08
Gothic Rock Band BLACK ANGEL Crafts Stories Of Love With New Album: Kiss Of Death
01
08
This month, 37 years ago, Nitzer Ebb recorded their first demo Basic Pain Procedure!
31
07
PROVISION Breaks Seven Year Silence With 'Hearts Turn Dark'
30
07
Electronic Act VEXILLARY Examines Surveillance Culture With New EP
29
07
Darkwave Act THRILLSVILLE Reveals Life On 'Lockdown' With New Video

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

08
08
BLIXA BARGELD
'The way we work is so…traditional'
06
08
SUBJECT.2
'Love, Betrayal, Deceit' - A conversation with Subject:2 on their new album
04
08
STEVE VON TILL (NEUROSIS)
'The greatest sentence in prose would have no place in a song...'
02
08
VELVET KILLS
Velvet Kills Is A Paradox, Wrapped In A Mystery, Inside Of An Enigma…
11
07
PAGE HAMILTON (HELMET)
'I think in 2021 we’ll have a new album...'

PHOTOS

13
03
SIGLO XX
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
ROME
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ROSE OF AVALANCHE
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE DANSE SOCIETY
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ARCH
Porta Nigra Aarschot
11
03
FRONT 242
Pulse Namur Isnes
11
03
SHAARGHOT
Pulse Namur Isnes

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

09
08
DES AMES LIBRES
Cold Hands
08
08
BLACK FOREST
GREED
07
08
SUPERNOVA 1006
Dope
06
08
SIXTH JUNE
Nebo
05
08
ANNE CLARK
Our Darkness
04
08
PIL
Rise
03
08
JAMBINAI
They Keep Silence