tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

25/04/2015 : THE POODLES - Devil in Details

THE POODLES

Devil in Details

MusicCD
MetalRock

[79/100]   

Gain Music
25/04/2015, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

When you don’ t know this band (you’re not alone I was also one of them) and you’ll like pominded hardrock/metal in the genre of bands like Europe, Bon Jovi, Aerosmith, Def Leppard… than you must check this out. In their foreign country Sweden they’re already a long time big.

Now they brings out their 6th album. With a new bass player (the previous one joined King Diamond). I must admit to everything sound well produced. The vocals of Jacob Samuel sounds a little like Joe Tempest (Europe). A pleasant voice to listen to. The songs have very recognazible and sing-along choruses. You actually believes what he sings even the lyrics are by moments very cliché. Like on their first single ‘The Greatest’. It has an epic and atmospheric intro. The song also angling for the nomination of live- anthem. This is a nice and polished single. The most other songs are a little bit heavier. With some nice guitar parts also. ‘Crack in the Wall’ tend to be symphonic metal. A nice song that can do well on stage. ‘Life Without’ and ‘Creator and Breaker’ stays agreeable songs after several listenings.

You imagine yourself by moments back in the time when earlier called band where played on MTV. Poodles sounds and looked a little like then. So, musically you don’t have to expect new metal but old school well build up songs. Very catchy and melodic. Probably very likeable by some aloder metal fans (like myself included).

Wim GUILLEMYN
25/04/2015


NL

Voor wie deze band niet kent (ik moet bekennen dat ik er één van was) en houdt van popgerichte hardrock/metal in de stijl van Bon Jovi, Europe, Aerosmith, Def Leppard … dan moet je deze band eens checken. In thuisland Zweden zijn ze al jaren groot in hun genre.

Deze band brengt hun 6de album uit. Met een nieuwe bassist (de vorige bassist is vertrokken naar King Diamond). Ik moet zeggen dat alles haarfijn geproduceerd is. Alles klinkt heel goed. De vocals van zanger Jacob Samuel liggen in de buurt van Joe Tempest (Europe). Aangenaam om naar te luisteren. De songs hebben heel herken- en meezingbare refreinen. Verder geloof je ook echt wat hij zingt zelfs als hij heel clichématige teksten ten berde brengt. Zoals op hun eerste single ‘The Greatest’. Het heeft een mooie epische en sfeerrijke intro. Het nummer hengelt naar een nominatie voor live- anthem. Dit is een aardige en gepolijste single. De meeste andere nummers zijn iets steviger. Hier en daar fijn gitaarspel. ’Crack in the Wall’ neigt zelfs een beetje naar symfonische metal. Een mooi nummer dat live wel gensters kan slaan. ‘Life Without’ blijft net als ‘Creator and Breaker’ leuke songs na meerdere beluisteringen.

Je waant je bij momenten in de tijd terug toen we eerder genoemde groepen (Europe…) op MTV zagen voorbij passeren. Ze klinken en zien er een beetje uit zoals toen. Op zich moet je dus muzikaal geen vernieuwingen verwachten maar wel degelijk opgebouwde songs die heel melodieus klinken. Vakmanschap die waarschijnlijk de iets oudere metalfan (zoals mezelf zijnde) zal aanspreken.

Wim GUILLEMYN
25/04/2015


25/04/2015 : THE POODLES - Devil in Details 25/04/2015 : THE POODLES - Devil in Details

Music reviews

04
07
RAMMSTEIN
Zeit
27
06
BALVANERA
Courses of Action
14
06
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Gift For You
10
06
SAMHAIN
Experiment
09
06
CELESTIAL NORTH
When The Gods Dance
12
05
SHE HATES EMOTIONS
Space and time

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

03
07
I Wanted To Tell Her 39
02
07
New album from Xenturion Prime on Progress Productions
01
07
Legendary Goth Club ‘The Church’ Featured In Documentary Film
01
07
41 years of Incontinent by Fad Gadget!
30
06
Luscious Apparatus Addresses Rage Control With New Single
29
06
Canadian Label Dem Modest Kids Unveils Into The Coldwave Compilation Highlighting Alberta - Based Alternative Artists

Concert reviews

14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.
20
04
NINO SABLE
I am not a friend of boxed content...
13
04
ECHO ROAD
'There was no easy way or any shortcut to be taken in terms of producing something truly representative of the human experience. We simply had to ‘just do it'.'

PHOTOS

04
07
EIVOR NORDIC NIGHT
Amphitheater Gelsenkirchen
03
07
WARDRUNA NORDIC LIGHT
Amphitheater Gelsenkirchen
30
06
AROMA DI AMORE
Sinner's Day Oostende
30
06
THE STRANGLERS
Sinner's Day Oostende
30
06
STABBING WESTWARD
Sinner's Day Oostende
30
06
MERCIFUL NUNS
Sinner's Day Oostende
30
06
NOSFERATU
Sinner's Day Oostende

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

04
07
NICK CAVE & THE BAD SEEDS
Jesus Alone
03
07
SPIRITUAL FRONT
Tenderness Through Violence
02
07
KATE BUSH
And Dream of Sheep
01
07
PJ HARVEY
The Orange Monkey
30
06
FIRST HATE
White Heron
29
06
THIS CAN HURT
High Tide
28
06
GUS GUS
Deep Inside