tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

25/04/2015 : THE POODLES - Devil in Details

THE POODLES

Devil in Details

MusicCD
MetalRock

[79/100]   

Gain Music
25/04/2015, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

When you don’ t know this band (you’re not alone I was also one of them) and you’ll like pominded hardrock/metal in the genre of bands like Europe, Bon Jovi, Aerosmith, Def Leppard… than you must check this out. In their foreign country Sweden they’re already a long time big.

Now they brings out their 6th album. With a new bass player (the previous one joined King Diamond). I must admit to everything sound well produced. The vocals of Jacob Samuel sounds a little like Joe Tempest (Europe). A pleasant voice to listen to. The songs have very recognazible and sing-along choruses. You actually believes what he sings even the lyrics are by moments very cliché. Like on their first single ‘The Greatest’. It has an epic and atmospheric intro. The song also angling for the nomination of live- anthem. This is a nice and polished single. The most other songs are a little bit heavier. With some nice guitar parts also. ‘Crack in the Wall’ tend to be symphonic metal. A nice song that can do well on stage. ‘Life Without’ and ‘Creator and Breaker’ stays agreeable songs after several listenings.

You imagine yourself by moments back in the time when earlier called band where played on MTV. Poodles sounds and looked a little like then. So, musically you don’t have to expect new metal but old school well build up songs. Very catchy and melodic. Probably very likeable by some aloder metal fans (like myself included).

Wim GUILLEMYN
25/04/2015


NL

Voor wie deze band niet kent (ik moet bekennen dat ik er één van was) en houdt van popgerichte hardrock/metal in de stijl van Bon Jovi, Europe, Aerosmith, Def Leppard … dan moet je deze band eens checken. In thuisland Zweden zijn ze al jaren groot in hun genre.

Deze band brengt hun 6de album uit. Met een nieuwe bassist (de vorige bassist is vertrokken naar King Diamond). Ik moet zeggen dat alles haarfijn geproduceerd is. Alles klinkt heel goed. De vocals van zanger Jacob Samuel liggen in de buurt van Joe Tempest (Europe). Aangenaam om naar te luisteren. De songs hebben heel herken- en meezingbare refreinen. Verder geloof je ook echt wat hij zingt zelfs als hij heel clichématige teksten ten berde brengt. Zoals op hun eerste single ‘The Greatest’. Het heeft een mooie epische en sfeerrijke intro. Het nummer hengelt naar een nominatie voor live- anthem. Dit is een aardige en gepolijste single. De meeste andere nummers zijn iets steviger. Hier en daar fijn gitaarspel. ’Crack in the Wall’ neigt zelfs een beetje naar symfonische metal. Een mooi nummer dat live wel gensters kan slaan. ‘Life Without’ blijft net als ‘Creator and Breaker’ leuke songs na meerdere beluisteringen.

Je waant je bij momenten in de tijd terug toen we eerder genoemde groepen (Europe…) op MTV zagen voorbij passeren. Ze klinken en zien er een beetje uit zoals toen. Op zich moet je dus muzikaal geen vernieuwingen verwachten maar wel degelijk opgebouwde songs die heel melodieus klinken. Vakmanschap die waarschijnlijk de iets oudere metalfan (zoals mezelf zijnde) zal aanspreken.

Wim GUILLEMYN
25/04/2015


25/04/2015 : THE POODLES - Devil in Details 25/04/2015 : THE POODLES - Devil in Details

Music reviews

23
08
PREEMPTIVE STRIKE 0.1
Harbringer
22
08
NAIROD YARG
Nairod Yarg
17
08
STATIQBLOOM
Asphyxia
16
08
STAATSEINDE
Dreiheit
15
08
L'AVENIR
Requiem And Live
14
08
PETER GUNDRY
V Ö L U R

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

22
08
The Cassandra Complex & Die Krupps to headline BIMFEST 2019!
14
08
Electro-Industrial artist SPANKTHENUN reveals their MIND CONTROL EP & Leaether Strip Remix Visualizer
13
08
Zeroes, the new single of M73
12
08
Post-Punk Act VAZUM Releases Video For Their Cover of BAUHAUS' 'She's In Parties'
10
08
Today, it’s exactly 32 years ago Nitzer Ebb released Join In The Chant!
09
08
JO QUAIL LAUNCHES NEW RECORD LABEL ADDERSTONE RECORDS

Concert reviews

21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019
15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

15
08
SPANKTHENUN
An Interview With Electro-Industrial Artist SPANKTHENUN
13
08
AHMED SALEH ABOUT EXPERIMENTAL/INDUSTRIAL MUSIC IN AFRICA
People Here Can Get Arrested Because Of Something They Posted On Social Media!
12
08
SINTHETIK MESSIAH
An Interview With Industrial Bass Artist SINthetik Messiah
10
08
THE BRUTE:
An Interview With Synthpop Act THE BRUTE:
09
08
VAZUM
An Interview With Dark Rock Act VAZUM

PHOTOS

14
08
SECRET GARDEN
Donkey Rock Festival Selange
13
08
TRISOMIE 21
Donkey Rock Festival Selange
12
08
GRAND BLANC
Donkey Rock Festival Selange
12
08
WE ARE WAVES
Donkey Rock Festival Selange
10
08
MOTOR!K
De Smoutpot Zwijndrecht
09
08
ALLEZ ALLEZ
Fonne Feesten Lokeren
09
08
RED ZEBRA
Fonne Feesten Lokeren

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

24
08
SLEEPING PULSE
War
23
08
LUH
Beneath The Concrete
22
08
NEW ORDER
Blue Monday
21
08
NEW MODEL ARMY
Never Arriving
20
08
FORCED TO MODE
NEVER LET ME DOWN AGAIN
19
08
THE NEON JUDGEMENT
Schyzophrenic Freddy
18
08
DAVE BALL
In Strict Tempo