tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

04/07/2011 : SAINTS OF RUIN - Glampyre

SAINTS OF RUIN

Glampyre

MusicCD
GothicMetalRock

[79/100]   

Echozone
04/07/2011, Didier BECU

EN

A band who do quite well in the German goth-underground are American band Saints Of Ruin and with "Glampyre" they're proud to release their second album of their career, even if this album sounds more rock than ever. But mind you, dark it stays!

Is it metal, gothmetal, rock, gothrock or what? Actually, we don't care as Ruby Ruin, Tommy Dark, Kat Downs and Michael Broadus just delivered an album in a delicious old way that we like!

"Glampyre" opens with a church organ and immediately you're invited to their Rocky Horror Picture Show where dark creatures seem to rule. The funniest thing however, is that tracks like "Fire" remind us of Joan Jett, not even mentioning the bombastic "Love dies" sounds like those old Jim Steinman compositions from the 80's, and with that we do mean Bonnie Tyler!

"Slow poison" is commercial gothmetal and we're sure some Cultfans will kill them for their interpretation of "Rain" but without blinking I admit that I'm a sucker for such things and I guess to love is the only verb I have in my vocabulary for this.

Saints Of Ruin are the kind of band that you either hate of love and seeing the points I have given, you know which side I'm on.

Didier BECU
04/07/2011


NL

Wie de Duitse goth pers op de voet volgt zal wel regelmatig de naam "Saints Of Ruin" hebben zien opduiken en het is inderdaad zo dat deze Amerikaanse gothrockers in het land van de Rijn een aardige aanhang hebben vergaard. Met "Glampyre" (leuke titel toch?) brengen Ruby Ruin, Tommy Dark, Kat Downs en Michael Broadus hun tweede album op de markt.

Een plaat die vele wenkbrauwen zal doen fronzen maar wie metalrock in de ouderwetse stijl weet te brengen, scoort bij ondergetekende steeds iets hoger.

Het eerste wat je hoort op deze cd is een dreigend kerkorgel. Eens de vlammende gitaren worden ingezet, klinkt het net alsof je in één of andere set van de Rocky Horror Picture Show bent binnengestrompeld waar heel wat donkere creaturen de show stelen.

Het leuke aan deze plaat is dat een nummer zoals "Fire" ons heerlijk doet terugdenken aan de dagen dat we zaten te staren naar posters van Joan Jett, terwijl een nummer zoals "Love dies" ons iets doet mompelen als Jim steinman, en jawel we hebben het hier over bombastische gothpop nummers zoals die in de jaren '80 werden voortgeschreeuwd door Bonnie Tyler.

"Slow poison" is dan het soort nummer waarbij men zich niet schaamt om geassocieerd te worden met uiterst commerciële gothmetal, terwijl vele fans van The Cult hun een veeg om de oren zullen willen verkopen voor hun interpretatie van "Rain".

Je ziet het, Saints Of Ruin haat je of je wordt er verliefd op. Aangezien ik nog niks negatiefs gezegd zal wel te maken hebben met het feit dat ik tot het kamp der liefhebbers behoor.

Didier BECU
04/07/2011


 

Next reviews
MAISON VAGUE • Synthpop's Alive
ATARI TEENAGE RIOT • Is this hyperreal?
ULTERIOR • Wild in wildlife
BEE MASK • Elegy For Beach Friday
SLEEPWALK • Revenge of the Lost
MINIMAL COMPACT • Raging and dancing, the anthology
PATENBRIGADE:WOLFF • Der Schallplattenunterhalter
TRAUMTAENZER • Der Weisse Raum
!BANG ELEKTRONIKA • Aktivierung!
ETERNAL NIGHTMARE • Days Without Sleeping

 

Same combination of genres: GOTHIC + METAL + ROCK
IN VIRO • Gehorche! Fühle! Glaube!
TUNES OF DAWN • Goodbye cruel world
THE MIST OF AVALON • Dinya

 

Same genre: GOTHIC
DAVID J HASKINS • Missive To An Angel From The Halls Of Infamy And Allure
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
THE SISTERS OF MERCY • First And Last And Always
ALIEN VAMPIRES • Evil Twin Ep
SIOUXSIE AND THE BANSHEES • Juju
VIRGIN PRUNES • Hérésie
FOXXXY MULDER • Heretic
BAUHAUS • Bela Lugosi’s Dead
PHANTOM OF THE BLACK HILLS • Scalped
CRYING VESSEL • A Beautiful Curse

 

Same genre: METAL
GROOVENOM • Wir müssen reden
COMBICHRIST • Hate Like Me
FROSTTIDE • Decedents – Enshrined
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
VARIOUS • ALCATRAZ METAL FESTIVAL 2018 10-12th August, Kortrijk, Belgium
GHOST • Popestar
SWITCHBLADE • “2016”
WILDHEART • WILDHEART
NERVOSA • Agony
ASP • Verfallen Folge 2: Fassaden

 

Same genre: ROCK
STEREOSEAT • Heavenly Creatures
YATES AND YOUNG • Splinters Ep
NICK CAVE AND THE BAD SEEDS • Ghosteen (Ghosteen/Bad Seed Ltd.)
PRINCIPE VALIENTE • Choirs of Blessed Youth
TYCHO BRAHE • Triplex [Complete]
THE SLOW SHOW • DREAM DARLING
THE PRETENDERS • Alone
WAREHOUSE • Super Low
NEW MODEL ARMY • Winter
MAIDAVALE • Tales of the Wicked West

Music reviews

03
09
SHERAPHIM SYSTEM
Phoenix
02
09
CAWATANA
In The Silver Light (7')
01
09
MIKE SOPKO, BILL LASWELL, TYSHAWN SOREY
On Common Ground
31
08
TUKT
Tukt
26
08
EMERGENCY SEQUENCE
Sharpening The Axe
21
08
STRUGGLER
Wilma (Determinated Protector)

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

22
09
Today it’s been exactly 28 years since Nine Inch Nails released Broken (EP)
08
09
SUICIDE COMMANDO release a complete 'Dein herz, meine gier' lyric video for the release of the limited club single CD 'Dein herz, meine gier / Bunkerb!tc!
04
09
39 years ago, Soft Cell's version of ‘Tainted Love’ reached the number one position in the British hit parade!
28
08
43 years ago Iggy Pop released Lust for Life (29th August 1977)
12
08
kaRIN FROM COLLIDE AND SHIKHEE FROM ANDROID LUST RELEASE NEW SINGLE ''ARE YOU LISTENING?''
10
08
Today, it’s exactly 33 years ago Nitzer Ebb released Join In The Chant!

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

19
09
MORTAR DEVOTIONS
Dystopia Is Just Around The Corner And Orwell Warned Us Already In 1948
16
09
MAT OSMAN (SUEDE)
'I’m always writing short stories...'
15
09
ERASURE
'Music certainly gives us hope' - Erasure talk about their new album 'The Neon'
14
09
WATA (BORIS)
'I will always feel like a rookie...'
12
09
DAWN OF ASHES
‘Covid-19 Is A Gateway To Show Us The True Colors Of The Human Race

PHOTOS

20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival
20
08
JUSTIN SULLIVAN & GASTONE
Kreisverwaltung Groß-Gerau
20
08
JUSTIN SULLIVAN & GASTONE
Kreisverwaltung Groß-Gerau

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

24
09
RYUICHI SAKAMOTO
Merry Christmas, Mr Lawrence
23
09
ANNA VON HAUSSWOLFF
The Mysterious Vanishing of Electra
22
09
BLACK LINE
Snap
21
09
ALPHAMAY
Silence Emotion
20
09
FREISPIELEREI
Fish Muss Schwimmen, Gell
19
09
TRUE ZEBRA
Connection is addiction
19
09
NO!ON
6