tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

04/07/2011 : SAINTS OF RUIN - Glampyre

SAINTS OF RUIN

Glampyre

MusicCD
GothicMetalRock

[79/100]   

Echozone
04/07/2011, Didier BECU

EN

A band who do quite well in the German goth-underground are American band Saints Of Ruin and with "Glampyre" they're proud to release their second album of their career, even if this album sounds more rock than ever. But mind you, dark it stays!

Is it metal, gothmetal, rock, gothrock or what? Actually, we don't care as Ruby Ruin, Tommy Dark, Kat Downs and Michael Broadus just delivered an album in a delicious old way that we like!

"Glampyre" opens with a church organ and immediately you're invited to their Rocky Horror Picture Show where dark creatures seem to rule. The funniest thing however, is that tracks like "Fire" remind us of Joan Jett, not even mentioning the bombastic "Love dies" sounds like those old Jim Steinman compositions from the 80's, and with that we do mean Bonnie Tyler!

"Slow poison" is commercial gothmetal and we're sure some Cultfans will kill them for their interpretation of "Rain" but without blinking I admit that I'm a sucker for such things and I guess to love is the only verb I have in my vocabulary for this.

Saints Of Ruin are the kind of band that you either hate of love and seeing the points I have given, you know which side I'm on.

Didier BECU
04/07/2011


NL

Wie de Duitse goth pers op de voet volgt zal wel regelmatig de naam "Saints Of Ruin" hebben zien opduiken en het is inderdaad zo dat deze Amerikaanse gothrockers in het land van de Rijn een aardige aanhang hebben vergaard. Met "Glampyre" (leuke titel toch?) brengen Ruby Ruin, Tommy Dark, Kat Downs en Michael Broadus hun tweede album op de markt.

Een plaat die vele wenkbrauwen zal doen fronzen maar wie metalrock in de ouderwetse stijl weet te brengen, scoort bij ondergetekende steeds iets hoger.

Het eerste wat je hoort op deze cd is een dreigend kerkorgel. Eens de vlammende gitaren worden ingezet, klinkt het net alsof je in één of andere set van de Rocky Horror Picture Show bent binnengestrompeld waar heel wat donkere creaturen de show stelen.

Het leuke aan deze plaat is dat een nummer zoals "Fire" ons heerlijk doet terugdenken aan de dagen dat we zaten te staren naar posters van Joan Jett, terwijl een nummer zoals "Love dies" ons iets doet mompelen als Jim steinman, en jawel we hebben het hier over bombastische gothpop nummers zoals die in de jaren '80 werden voortgeschreeuwd door Bonnie Tyler.

"Slow poison" is dan het soort nummer waarbij men zich niet schaamt om geassocieerd te worden met uiterst commerciële gothmetal, terwijl vele fans van The Cult hun een veeg om de oren zullen willen verkopen voor hun interpretatie van "Rain".

Je ziet het, Saints Of Ruin haat je of je wordt er verliefd op. Aangezien ik nog niks negatiefs gezegd zal wel te maken hebben met het feit dat ik tot het kamp der liefhebbers behoor.

Didier BECU
04/07/2011


 

Next reviews
MAISON VAGUE • Synthpop's Alive
ATARI TEENAGE RIOT • Is this hyperreal?
ULTERIOR • Wild in wildlife
BEE MASK • Elegy For Beach Friday
SLEEPWALK • Revenge of the Lost
MINIMAL COMPACT • Raging and dancing, the anthology
PATENBRIGADE:WOLFF • Der Schallplattenunterhalter
TRAUMTAENZER • Der Weisse Raum
!BANG ELEKTRONIKA • Aktivierung!
ETERNAL NIGHTMARE • Days Without Sleeping

 

Same combination of genres: GOTHIC + METAL + ROCK
IN VIRO • Gehorche! Fühle! Glaube!
TUNES OF DAWN • Goodbye cruel world
THE MIST OF AVALON • Dinya

 

Same genre: GOTHIC
THE BIRTHDAY MASSACRE • Fascination
TWO WITCHES • The Undead
DARK • Nightmare
ANTHONY JONES • Farewell To Flesh
JESU • When I Was Small
DAVID J HASKINS • Missive To An Angel From The Halls Of Infamy And Allure
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
THE SISTERS OF MERCY • First And Last And Always
ALIEN VAMPIRES • Evil Twin Ep
SIOUXSIE AND THE BANSHEES • Juju

 

Same genre: METAL
GROOVENOM • Wir müssen reden
COMBICHRIST • Hate Like Me
FROSTTIDE • Decedents – Enshrined
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
VARIOUS • ALCATRAZ METAL FESTIVAL 2018 10-12th August, Kortrijk, Belgium
GHOST • Popestar
SWITCHBLADE • “2016”
WILDHEART • WILDHEART
NERVOSA • Agony
ASP • Verfallen Folge 2: Fassaden

 

Same genre: ROCK
THIS CAN HURT • A Darker Shade Of Blue
THE HEAT INC. • EP
STEREOSEAT • Heavenly Creatures
YATES AND YOUNG • Splinters Ep
NICK CAVE AND THE BAD SEEDS • Ghosteen (Ghosteen/Bad Seed Ltd.)
PRINCIPE VALIENTE • Choirs of Blessed Youth
TYCHO BRAHE • Triplex [Complete]
THE SLOW SHOW • DREAM DARLING
THE PRETENDERS • Alone
WAREHOUSE • Super Low

Music reviews

28
07
WULF7
I don't want (Anymore)
06
07
TRAGIC IMPULSE
Distant Worlds
04
07
RAMMSTEIN
Zeit
27
06
BALVANERA
Courses of Action
14
06
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Gift For You
10
06
SAMHAIN
Experiment

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

15
08
Futurepop Act, Voicecoil Reflects On Strange Days With New Album
14
08
Darkwave Duo, Male Tears Addresses Nightlife Hypocrisy & Abuse With New Single
10
08
Today, it’s exactly 35 years ago Nitzer Ebb released Join In The Chant!
09
08
Electronic Band She 1 - Him 2 Addresses Breaking Free With New Single
08
08
32 years of Head/Down with MOEV
07
08
Neo-Fanfare/Darkwave Band, Crooniek Reflects On The Concept Of Time With New Album

Concert reviews

05
07
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

05
08
MOTOR!K
I have to admit that I often still find it strange and difficult to grasp: people going crazy on three weirdos playing some repetitive music
12
07
FERALIA PLANITIA & DAS AUGE
'Thanks to our overlapping tastes in music, we became good friends; music was our cement, sort of speak…'
18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.

PHOTOS

15
08
COVENANT
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
15
08
NIZZER EBB
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
15
08
IN STRICT CONFIDENCE
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
13
08
BLUTENGEL
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
13
08
LORD OF THE LOST ENSEMBLE
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
13
08
SOLITARY EXPERIMENTS
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
13
08
LACRIMAS PROFUNDERE
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

15
08
AUSTRA
Utopia
14
08
THE SMITHS
There Is A Light That Never Goes Out
13
08
DRAB MAJESTY
39 By Design
12
08
COCTEAU TWINS
Hazel
11
08
IN STRICT CONFIDENDE
Somebody Else´s Dream
10
08
DOWNLOAD
Neuron Proper
09
08
WE NEVER MET
Come Play With Fire