tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

04/07/2011 : SAINTS OF RUIN - Glampyre

SAINTS OF RUIN

Glampyre

MusicCD
GothicMetalRock

[79/100]   

Echozone
04/07/2011, Didier BECU

EN

A band who do quite well in the German goth-underground are American band Saints Of Ruin and with "Glampyre" they're proud to release their second album of their career, even if this album sounds more rock than ever. But mind you, dark it stays!

Is it metal, gothmetal, rock, gothrock or what? Actually, we don't care as Ruby Ruin, Tommy Dark, Kat Downs and Michael Broadus just delivered an album in a delicious old way that we like!

"Glampyre" opens with a church organ and immediately you're invited to their Rocky Horror Picture Show where dark creatures seem to rule. The funniest thing however, is that tracks like "Fire" remind us of Joan Jett, not even mentioning the bombastic "Love dies" sounds like those old Jim Steinman compositions from the 80's, and with that we do mean Bonnie Tyler!

"Slow poison" is commercial gothmetal and we're sure some Cultfans will kill them for their interpretation of "Rain" but without blinking I admit that I'm a sucker for such things and I guess to love is the only verb I have in my vocabulary for this.

Saints Of Ruin are the kind of band that you either hate of love and seeing the points I have given, you know which side I'm on.

Didier BECU
04/07/2011


NL

Wie de Duitse goth pers op de voet volgt zal wel regelmatig de naam "Saints Of Ruin" hebben zien opduiken en het is inderdaad zo dat deze Amerikaanse gothrockers in het land van de Rijn een aardige aanhang hebben vergaard. Met "Glampyre" (leuke titel toch?) brengen Ruby Ruin, Tommy Dark, Kat Downs en Michael Broadus hun tweede album op de markt.

Een plaat die vele wenkbrauwen zal doen fronzen maar wie metalrock in de ouderwetse stijl weet te brengen, scoort bij ondergetekende steeds iets hoger.

Het eerste wat je hoort op deze cd is een dreigend kerkorgel. Eens de vlammende gitaren worden ingezet, klinkt het net alsof je in één of andere set van de Rocky Horror Picture Show bent binnengestrompeld waar heel wat donkere creaturen de show stelen.

Het leuke aan deze plaat is dat een nummer zoals "Fire" ons heerlijk doet terugdenken aan de dagen dat we zaten te staren naar posters van Joan Jett, terwijl een nummer zoals "Love dies" ons iets doet mompelen als Jim steinman, en jawel we hebben het hier over bombastische gothpop nummers zoals die in de jaren '80 werden voortgeschreeuwd door Bonnie Tyler.

"Slow poison" is dan het soort nummer waarbij men zich niet schaamt om geassocieerd te worden met uiterst commerciële gothmetal, terwijl vele fans van The Cult hun een veeg om de oren zullen willen verkopen voor hun interpretatie van "Rain".

Je ziet het, Saints Of Ruin haat je of je wordt er verliefd op. Aangezien ik nog niks negatiefs gezegd zal wel te maken hebben met het feit dat ik tot het kamp der liefhebbers behoor.

Didier BECU
04/07/2011


 

Next reviews
MAISON VAGUE • Synthpop's Alive
ATARI TEENAGE RIOT • Is this hyperreal?
ULTERIOR • Wild in wildlife
BEE MASK • Elegy For Beach Friday
SLEEPWALK • Revenge of the Lost
MINIMAL COMPACT • Raging and dancing, the anthology
PATENBRIGADE:WOLFF • Der Schallplattenunterhalter
TRAUMTAENZER • Der Weisse Raum
!BANG ELEKTRONIKA • Aktivierung!
ETERNAL NIGHTMARE • Days Without Sleeping

 

Same combination of genres: GOTHIC + METAL + ROCK
IN VIRO • Gehorche! Fühle! Glaube!
TUNES OF DAWN • Goodbye cruel world
THE MIST OF AVALON • Dinya

 

Same genre: GOTHIC
DAVID J HASKINS • Missive To An Angel From The Halls Of Infamy And Allure
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
THE SISTERS OF MERCY • First And Last And Always
ALIEN VAMPIRES • Evil Twin Ep
SIOUXSIE AND THE BANSHEES • Juju
VIRGIN PRUNES • Hérésie
FOXXXY MULDER • Heretic
BAUHAUS • Bela Lugosi’s Dead
PHANTOM OF THE BLACK HILLS • Scalped
CRYING VESSEL • A Beautiful Curse

 

Same genre: METAL
GROOVENOM • Wir müssen reden
COMBICHRIST • Hate Like Me
FROSTTIDE • Decedents – Enshrined
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
VARIOUS • ALCATRAZ METAL FESTIVAL 2018 10-12th August, Kortrijk, Belgium
GHOST • Popestar
SWITCHBLADE • “2016”
WILDHEART • WILDHEART
NERVOSA • Agony
ASP • Verfallen Folge 2: Fassaden

 

Same genre: ROCK
STEREOSEAT • Heavenly Creatures
YATES AND YOUNG • Splinters Ep
NICK CAVE AND THE BAD SEEDS • Ghosteen (Ghosteen/Bad Seed Ltd.)
PRINCIPE VALIENTE • Choirs of Blessed Youth
TYCHO BRAHE • Triplex [Complete]
THE SLOW SHOW • DREAM DARLING
THE PRETENDERS • Alone
WAREHOUSE • Super Low
NEW MODEL ARMY • Winter
MAIDAVALE • Tales of the Wicked West

Music reviews

05
07
JAYE JAYLE
PRISYN
03
07
PORTION CONTROL
Head Buried
02
07
AIMA & THE ILLUSION OF SILENCE
Music for certain rituals
28
06
VARIOUS ARTISTS
PERIHELION 2134
24
06
COLD IN MAY
Isolation songs
19
06
UNITCODE:MACHINE
Paper empires

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

08
07
Darkwave Artist DISSONANCE Announces New Maxi-Single 'Precipice;' A Lament Of Personal Struggle
07
07
Darkwave Band STYKFAKTOR Reveals New Single, 'Distance' - An Emotional Struggle With Social Distancing
07
07
FRONT 242's Daniel B. celebrate his 66th birthday with the release of 6+6
04
07
Industrial Band RIOTLEGION Announces The Release Of Machine Liberation
03
07
I Wanted To Tell Her by Ministry turns 37 years this month!
15
06
Today it’s exactly 41 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

06
07
J.ROBBINS
'When someone has a song and they’re struggling about - what’s the best way to present it...'
04
07
LAIBACH
When they banned Laibach, we said 'great, let's move further'!
27
06
BURTON C.BELL (FEAR FACTORY, ASCENSION OF THE WATCHERS )
'It all comes from my head – whatever I’m feeling, whatever I’m thinking of.'
27
06
RODNEY ORPHEUS / THE CASSANDRA COMPLEX
I Think I’m Still As Revolutionary And Opinionated As Ever...
25
06
THE COLOURS OF SILENCE
Isolation Is Good For Art. Embrace It And Use It

PHOTOS

13
03
SIGLO XX
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
ROME
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ROSE OF AVALANCHE
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE DANSE SOCIETY
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ARCH
Porta Nigra Aarschot
11
03
FRONT 242
Pulse Namur Isnes
11
03
SHAARGHOT
Pulse Namur Isnes

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

08
07
RYUICHI SAKAMOTO & DAVID SYLVIAN
Life, Life
07
07
KDF
Innocence
06
07
SNOG
Spätzle Machine
06
07
THE HORRORIST
The Horrorist - One Night In New York City (Uncensored)(Chris Liebing Remix)
05
07
GOLDFRAPP
Winter Wonderland
04
07
LORDS OF ACID
I Sit On Acid
03
07
DEAD CAN DANCE
Eleusis