tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

04/07/2011 : SAINTS OF RUIN - Glampyre

SAINTS OF RUIN

Glampyre

MusicCD
GothicMetalRock

[79/100]   

Echozone
04/07/2011, Didier BECU

EN

A band who do quite well in the German goth-underground are American band Saints Of Ruin and with "Glampyre" they're proud to release their second album of their career, even if this album sounds more rock than ever. But mind you, dark it stays!

Is it metal, gothmetal, rock, gothrock or what? Actually, we don't care as Ruby Ruin, Tommy Dark, Kat Downs and Michael Broadus just delivered an album in a delicious old way that we like!

"Glampyre" opens with a church organ and immediately you're invited to their Rocky Horror Picture Show where dark creatures seem to rule. The funniest thing however, is that tracks like "Fire" remind us of Joan Jett, not even mentioning the bombastic "Love dies" sounds like those old Jim Steinman compositions from the 80's, and with that we do mean Bonnie Tyler!

"Slow poison" is commercial gothmetal and we're sure some Cultfans will kill them for their interpretation of "Rain" but without blinking I admit that I'm a sucker for such things and I guess to love is the only verb I have in my vocabulary for this.

Saints Of Ruin are the kind of band that you either hate of love and seeing the points I have given, you know which side I'm on.

Didier BECU
04/07/2011


NL

Wie de Duitse goth pers op de voet volgt zal wel regelmatig de naam "Saints Of Ruin" hebben zien opduiken en het is inderdaad zo dat deze Amerikaanse gothrockers in het land van de Rijn een aardige aanhang hebben vergaard. Met "Glampyre" (leuke titel toch?) brengen Ruby Ruin, Tommy Dark, Kat Downs en Michael Broadus hun tweede album op de markt.

Een plaat die vele wenkbrauwen zal doen fronzen maar wie metalrock in de ouderwetse stijl weet te brengen, scoort bij ondergetekende steeds iets hoger.

Het eerste wat je hoort op deze cd is een dreigend kerkorgel. Eens de vlammende gitaren worden ingezet, klinkt het net alsof je in één of andere set van de Rocky Horror Picture Show bent binnengestrompeld waar heel wat donkere creaturen de show stelen.

Het leuke aan deze plaat is dat een nummer zoals "Fire" ons heerlijk doet terugdenken aan de dagen dat we zaten te staren naar posters van Joan Jett, terwijl een nummer zoals "Love dies" ons iets doet mompelen als Jim steinman, en jawel we hebben het hier over bombastische gothpop nummers zoals die in de jaren '80 werden voortgeschreeuwd door Bonnie Tyler.

"Slow poison" is dan het soort nummer waarbij men zich niet schaamt om geassocieerd te worden met uiterst commerciële gothmetal, terwijl vele fans van The Cult hun een veeg om de oren zullen willen verkopen voor hun interpretatie van "Rain".

Je ziet het, Saints Of Ruin haat je of je wordt er verliefd op. Aangezien ik nog niks negatiefs gezegd zal wel te maken hebben met het feit dat ik tot het kamp der liefhebbers behoor.

Didier BECU
04/07/2011


 

Next reviews
MAISON VAGUE • Synthpop's Alive
ATARI TEENAGE RIOT • Is this hyperreal?
ULTERIOR • Wild in wildlife
BEE MASK • Elegy For Beach Friday
SLEEPWALK • Revenge of the Lost
MINIMAL COMPACT • Raging and dancing, the anthology
PATENBRIGADE:WOLFF • Der Schallplattenunterhalter
TRAUMTAENZER • Der Weisse Raum
!BANG ELEKTRONIKA • Aktivierung!
ETERNAL NIGHTMARE • Days Without Sleeping

 

Same combination of genres: GOTHIC + METAL + ROCK
IN VIRO • Gehorche! Fühle! Glaube!
TUNES OF DAWN • Goodbye cruel world
THE MIST OF AVALON • Dinya

 

Same genre: GOTHIC
DAVID J HASKINS • Missive To An Angel From The Halls Of Infamy And Allure
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
THE SISTERS OF MERCY • First And Last And Always
ALIEN VAMPIRES • Evil Twin Ep
SIOUXSIE AND THE BANSHEES • Juju
VIRGIN PRUNES • Hérésie
FOXXXY MULDER • Heretic
BAUHAUS • Bela Lugosi’s Dead
PHANTOM OF THE BLACK HILLS • Scalped
CRYING VESSEL • A Beautiful Curse

 

Same genre: METAL
GROOVENOM • Wir müssen reden
COMBICHRIST • Hate Like Me
FROSTTIDE • Decedents – Enshrined
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
VARIOUS • ALCATRAZ METAL FESTIVAL 2018 10-12th August, Kortrijk, Belgium
GHOST • Popestar
SWITCHBLADE • “2016”
WILDHEART • WILDHEART
NERVOSA • Agony
ASP • Verfallen Folge 2: Fassaden

 

Same genre: ROCK
YATES AND YOUNG • Splinters Ep
NICK CAVE AND THE BAD SEEDS • Ghosteen (Ghosteen/Bad Seed Ltd.)
PRINCIPE VALIENTE • Choirs of Blessed Youth
TYCHO BRAHE • Triplex [Complete]
THE SLOW SHOW • DREAM DARLING
THE PRETENDERS • Alone
WAREHOUSE • Super Low
NEW MODEL ARMY • Winter
MAIDAVALE • Tales of the Wicked West
EZRA FURMAN • Big Fugitive Life

Music reviews

03
12
THE HERESY GENE
La Luz Del Padre
28
11
PETER BJARGO (ARCANA)
Structures and Downfall
27
11
PLASTIKSTROM
Beton Gegen Angst
23
11
MONICA RICHARDS & ANTHONY JONES
AESTUARIUM
19
11
PSY'AVIAH
Soul Searching
17
11
DAGEIST
Sexy

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

11
12
The Mission - The United European Party Tour 2020
10
12
Postpunk pioneers The Membranes and Kitty Lectro team up for stunning 'Nocturnal' EP
10
12
Los Angeles Synth Act More Ephemerol Debuts New Single, 'Cult Classics'
10
12
On this day, 40 years ago John Peel broadcasted Joy Division's 2nd Peel Sessions!
09
12
40 Years Of 20 Jazz Funk Greats!
08
12
Today, 41 years ago, Public Image released its debut album First issue!

Concert reviews

25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019
15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

09
12
FIX8:SED8
I Could Talk About The Wonder That Is Skinny Puppy For Hours
29
11
TREVOR DUNN (MR.BUNGLE,FANTOMAS, TRIO-CONVULSANT...)
'The hard thing to do is to keep it simple.'
24
11
DEAD HIGH WIRE
‘Dead High Wire Did Not Like To Be Categorized In One Box’
02
11
UNDERTHESKIN
Try To Leave The Listener In A Certain Reflection, And Maybe Bring Some Kind Of Relief
01
11
MIKE WATT(JUMPSTARTED PLOWHARDS)
In a way, the project is a total collaboration!

PHOTOS

09
12
MARK E MOON
Sportkafee Waregem
06
12
SUICIDE COMMANDO
Poppodium Nieuwe Nor Heerlen
04
12
NEAR EARTH ORBIT
Poppodium Nieuwe Nor Heerlen
03
12
DASSWAT
C.C. Palethe Pelt
03
12
DIVE
Poppodium Nieuwe Nor Heerlen
03
12
THE DEVIL AND THE UNIVERSE
Poppodium Nieuwe Nor Heerlen
03
12
CLAN OF XYMOX
Gleiss 22 Münster Germany

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

12
12
AN PIERLE
The Golden Dawn
11
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE
Death by completion
10
12
A SPLIT-SECOND
Mambo Witch
09
12
PROJECT PITCHFORK
Titanes
08
12
REVOLTING COCKS (THE)
Beer, Steers and Queers
07
12
VAST
Touched
07
12
MOTOR!K
Static