tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this vinyl review

03/07/2011 : BEE MASK - Elegy For Beach Friday

BEE MASK

Elegy For Beach Friday

MusicVinyl
AmbientExperimentalUnclassifiable

[62/100]   
03/07/2011, Didier BECU

EN

Welcome to the world of abstract sounds. You know the type of music that depends on the mood you’re in, the sort of music that people will wonder if it’s actually music or not?

Whatever the answer might be, it’s still true that the music being composed by Chris Madak aka Bee Mask isn’t the easiest you can think of in this genre, and still it’s a very listenable work!

This album is released on double vinyl and only spawns recordings made between 2003 and 2010.

This “Elegy For Beach Friday” is considered a personal collection of his own highlights that were released earlier on CD-R’s and tapes.

The music from Bee Mask feels like you’re sucked into a cycle of haunting sounds that are inspired by industrial, new age, electro-acoustic and ambient atmospheres.

However much of a cliché it might be(but then again it's the clichés that bear the most truth?), this release reminded me of what Brian Eno once composed for airports.

So yes it’s a good release but an easy one, it ain’t!

 

Didier BECU
03/07/2011


NL

Wees welkom in de wondere wereld van de abstracte geluiden. Het soort muziek dat afhangt van de bui waarin je verkeert, het soort klanken waarbij God en alleman je vraagt of je zoiets nog als muziek kan omschrijven. Een vraag die je best beantwoordt door eerst de definitie van muziek te gaan omschrijven, want wat maakt nu iets muziek? Vrolijkheid, melancholie, meefluitbaarheid, verkoopbaarheid...uw smaak?

Wat ook het antwoord mogen wezen is het wel zo dat de muziek van Chris Madak aka Bee Mask niet bepaald het makkelijkste is uit het genre, ook al blijft het steeds luisterbaar.

Deze release werd uitgebracht op dubbel vinyl en omspant diens werk van 2003 tot 2010.

 “Elegy for beach Friday” mag je eigenlijk als Chris’ selectie beschouwen uit een muziekcarrière die vooral uit tapes en CD-R’s bestaat.

Hoe moeilijk het ook blijft om dit soort dingen onder woorden te brengen zou je kunnen stellen dat Bee Mask je in een mix van industrial, new age, electro-acoustic en ambient omhult.

Clichés gebruiken mag dan wel flauw zijn, het blijft echter zo dat het de clichés zijn die de waarheid eer aandoen en daarom kunnen we niet anders dan er aan toevoegen dat dit bij momenten de muziek benadert die Brian Eno ooit voor luchthavens componeerde.

Is het nu een goede plaat? Jawel, maar verre van een makkelijke!

 

Didier BECU
03/07/2011


 

Next reviews
SLEEPWALK • Revenge of the Lost
MINIMAL COMPACT • Raging and dancing, the anthology
PATENBRIGADE:WOLFF • Der Schallplattenunterhalter
TRAUMTAENZER • Der Weisse Raum
!BANG ELEKTRONIKA • Aktivierung!
ETERNAL NIGHTMARE • Days Without Sleeping
5 F-X • Flight recorder 5.0
IKON • Flowers for the gathering
CLAIR OBSCUR • Rock
THE PAIN MACHINERY • Surveillance culture

 

Same genre: AMBIENT
LISA GERRARD & JULES MAXWELL • Burn
CRIPPLED BLACK PHOENIX • Ellengæng
COLIN EDWIN • POINTS OF ORIGIN
LUKE LUND • Hopium
VARIOUS ARTISTS • PERIHELION 2134
CLASS M PLANETS • Ravenswood
FUTURE PILOT AKA • Orkestra Digitalis
ROSE MCDOWALL AND SHAWN PINCHBECK • Far From The Apple Tree
PETER GUNDRY • V Ö L U R
THE DEVIL & THE UNIVERSE • Endgame 69:

 

Same genre: EXPERIMENTAL
DEAR DEER / EMBERS • Split
JESU • When I Was Small
ALSO • Live in Celovec
YATES AND YOUNG • Splinters Ep
NICK CAVE AND THE BAD SEEDS • Ghosteen (Ghosteen/Bad Seed Ltd.)
SIX HANDS // A-TOTA-SO • Bromance EP
I AM A ROCKETSHIP • Mind Grafitti
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY • Wake Up The Coma
PAS MUSIQUE • The Phoenix
HACKEDEPICCIOTTO • Menetekel

 

Same genre: UNCLASSIFIABLE
RUMMELSNUFF & ASBACH • Rummelsnuff & Asbach
FANTASTIQUE.NIGHT XLVII • MOLLY NILSSON, MARY OCHER, MENAGE A TROIS, RODOLPHE COSTER
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Ni D'Eve Ni D'Adam
MONSTER YOUTH • Lost Dream, Cool Fire
TUXEDOMOON • CLASSICS: At Twilight
THE THE • CLASSICS : Soul Mining
XTC • CLASSICS: Skylarking (Corrected)
THE FALL • Creative Distortion
BROWN REINIGER BODSON • Clear Tears, Troubled Waters
APHEX TWIN • Syro

Music reviews

08
09
DEZ MONA & B.O.X
LUCY
02
09
SJOBLOM
Tape
01
09
JIHAD
Retrospekt
23
08
LA SCALTRA
Cabaret
14
08
MATT HART
TALES OF TERRA & CHAOS RETOLD
02
08
IMPERATIVE REACTION
Mirror

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

25
09
Today, exactly 34 years ago The Klinik released 'Plague'!
22
09
Today it’s been exactly 29 years since Nine Inch Nails released Broken (EP)
12
09
Goth/Industrial Artist NUDA Brings Light To Mental Health Struggles With New Video
10
09
Industrial Metal Band DERISION CULT Drops Fifteenth Album, 'Charlatans Inc.'
04
09
40 years ago, Soft Cell's version of ‘Tainted Love’ reached the number one position in the British hit parade!
02
09
Czech Gothic Rock Band CATHEDRAL IN FLAMES Bring Darkness & Hope With New Album

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

07
09
CYBORG AMOK
An Interview With Post-Punk / Gothic Duo, CYBORG AMOK
04
08
THE IMAGINARY SUITCASE
For most of my life, I have behaved the way I thought they wanted me to behave. And this is a scam.
02
08
BLACK ANGEL
Interview With BLACK ANGEL
31
07
ERASURE
'I'm preparing tracks for our up and coming tour' - An exclusive Interview with Vince Clarke
06
06
THE LOST INTERVIEW WITH KELLEY DEAL ( THE BREEDERS )
Peek-a-Boo publishes the interview with Kelley Deal that seemed to get lost for a long period of time - since it was made in 2018...

PHOTOS

27
09
SCHILLER
Strandkorb Openair Bochum Kemnader See
25
09
LEBANON HANOVER
Les Nuits Botanique
25
09
SELOFAN
Les Nuits Botanique
25
09
ISOLATED YOUTH
Les Nuits Botanique
25
09
PORNO KARAOKE
Porta Nigra
25
09
NACHTMAHR
Porta Nigra
25
09
THE PSYCHIC FORCE
Porta Nigra

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

28
09
CRYSTAL SODA CREAM
Command Control
27
09
AGENT SIDE GRINDER
Mag 7
26
09
DULAC
Nocturne (Official Music Video)
25
09
3TEETH
Atrophy
24
09
THE DANSE SOCIETY
Hide
23
09
SIEBEN
Sell Your Future
22
09
THE KLINIK
Go Back