tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

29/06/2011 : CLAIR OBSCUR - Rock

CLAIR OBSCUR

Rock

MusicCD
Cold WavePopPost Punk

[74/100]   

Infrastition
29/06/2011, Didier BECU

EN

Every country has its coldwavepast and if you investigate the one from France you will bump into Clair Obscur.
Where as many bands from that glorious past were copies from existing heroes (we're not going to mention them for a millionth time) Clair Obscur were definitely a band who had chosen a rather unique way. Not afraid to combine classic avant-garde with cold and punkwave brought them timeless classic albums like "In/Out".

Since some time, the French label Infrastition reissues their unfindable albums and this time it's time for "Rock", an album that was recorded in 1990 but due to financial problems, it could only be released three years later.

Back then, this album was considered as a difficult album, not in the least because Clair Obscur were exploring some new horizons which disappointed fans who were expecting them to repeat themselves their 80's-sound.

I always thought the name of this cd was rather stupid. Not only because this album doesn't sound rock at all but with a title as such it seems like they're aching for some commercial suicide and somewhere it was as "Rock" got completely neglected back then..

Perhaps the 90's weren't exactly the best decade to come up with coldwave-inspired sounds but today this album is nowhere to be found and a reissue is more than welcome and immediately more than a great opportunity to rediscover it as this album might not be the classic of their career, but still there are some great gems to be found on here.

With its uptempo beat opener "Downtown" might be the most anti-Clair Obscur that ever got recorded, still it's a great popsong.

Note the word, "popsong" as this is what it's all about but that's only the opener as from next track on ("Mercredi") you got their traditional frivolous sound and even if there's not all time classic on here like, say "Blume", tracks like "We went", "Showtime" or "Still" can be added to their impressive catalogue of great songs.

Didier BECU
29/06/2011


NL

Ieder landje op deze aardbol heeft wel een coldwave en postpunk verleden en als je dat van Frankrijk oprakelt, kom je ongetwijfeld in aanraking met Clair Obscur.

Nochtans is Clair Obscur een groep die het over een andere boeg gooide. Het werd meer dan zomaar het blind naspelen van de idolen van destijds want deze Fransen slaagden erin om cabaretachtige avantgarde te gaan vermengen met coldwave geluid wat hun tijdloze albums opbracht als "In/Out".

Het Franse Infrastition-label is reeds geruime tijd bezig om de onvindbare Clair Obscur heruit te brengen en nu kwam "Rock" aan de beurt.

Meteen een bizarre plaat uit de geschiedenis van dit Frans instituut. Ook al werd dit album in 1990 opgenomen, het duurde toch drie jaar vooraleer men de cd op de markt kon gooien. En jawel, de reden was geld.

Het werd niet alleen opboksen tegen het financieel aspect ook wat de muziek betreft, liep het niet bepaald van een leien dakje want op deze cd wilde Clair Obscur nieuwe horizonten verkennen waardoor heel wat fans van het eerste uur afhaakten omdat deze groep weigerde om hun verleden nog maar eens te herkauwen.

Zelf heb ik het steeds moeilijk gehad met de ronduit debiele keuze van de titel van deze cd. Niet alleen klinkt deze cd op geen enkel ogenblik rock en ook al is sarcasme hier het antwoord, was dit meteen ook commerciële zelfmoord want destijds bleef deze cd steevast vastgeroest in de winkelrekken.

Misschien is het inderdaad wel een excuus dat de jaren '90 nu niet bepaalde het tijdstip bij uitstek was om een publiek te overtuigen met coldwave geluiden. Desalnietemin zul je ons nooit horen beweren dat "Rock " een klassieker van hun hand is, maar toch bevat deze cd meer dan genoeg tracks die de aandacht verdienen en daarom kan deze heruitgave meteen ook een mogelijkheid tot herontdekking zijn.

Opener "Downtown' is misschien wel het meeste anti-Clair Obscur dat je ooit kan horen want je kan gelijk welk genre verzinnen voor dit, het is en blijft pop.

Jawel pop, maar dat betekent niet dat hier geen nummers op staan die een plaats in de mooie Clair Obscur-catalogus verdienen. Je treft hier geen parel als "Blume" op terug maar toch bevatten nummers als "Mercredi", "We went", "Showtime" of "Still" dat mooie typische Clair Obscur-geluid.

Didier BECU
29/06/2011


Music reviews

26
01
FIX8:SED8
The Inevitable Relapse (Limited Edition)
25
01
POUPPEE FABRIKK
Burn Forever
23
01
STURM CAFE
Fernes Land
18
01
DISTANT VOICES
Long Road to Home
17
01
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
Mechanical Soul
16
01
IMPLANT
Phantom Pain

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

27
01
On this day, 39 years ago, the B52's released Mesopotamia
25
01
Exactly 43 years ago, Joy Division played their very first concert!
24
01
Today, exactly 30 years ago Front 242 released the album Tyranny ▶For You◀
24
01
Today, 3 years ago, Mark E. Smith, singer of legendary post-punk band The Fall died, aged 60
22
01
On this day, 11 years ago, Nitzer Ebb released their sixth studio album Industrial Complex!
21
01
Today, exactly 28 years ago, Ministry released Just One Fix!

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

07
01
MAMAN KUSTERS
‘Let’s Keep It Intriguing
16
12
THE BREATH OF LIFE
'No, I never considered quitting making music. Nor to taste good special beers.'
05
12
CEVIN KEY (SKINNY PUPPY, DOWNLOAD)
'It really has been like the formation of a new band in a lot of ways...'
03
12
ALEX SKOLNICK (TESTAMENT, ALEX SKOLNICK TRIO)
'I was as knocked out as I was hearing Van Halen...'
14
11
PROYECTO MIRAGE
I Think We Needed A Break

PHOTOS

25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival
20
08
JUSTIN SULLIVAN & GASTONE
Kreisverwaltung Groß-Gerau

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

27
01
PALAIS IDEAL
Crossfade / Dissolve (Official Video)
26
01
CHICKS ON SPEED
Utopia
25
01
STRONG PRODUCT
Trolleybus Park
24
01
BUZZ KULL
Last in the club
23
01
KALTE NACHT
Voices in silence
22
01
SYNAPTIC DEFECT
Tacky games
21
01
ROB ZOMBIE
The Triumph of King Freak (A Crypt of Preservation and Superstition)