tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

26/06/2011 : AUSTRA - Feel It Break

AUSTRA

Feel It Break

MusicCD
Dark WaveMinimalNew wave

[95/100]   

Domino Records
26/06/2011, Dimitri CAUVEREN

"It’s not like the longtime vocalist and producer makes Anton LaVey references or has an austere demeanor. Quite the opposite. But on Feel it Break, Stelmanis, drummer Maya Postepski and bassist Dorian Wolf have crafted a dark, danceable masterpiece suitable for both ritual incantations and clubs; an album harkening back to the sleazier side of New Wave, but still deeply rooted in Stelmanis’s classical and operatic upbringing".
I didn't write this, but it's how Domino (Austra’s label) put it in their biography and frankly I don’t know any other way to do it myself. My first thought was something similar: this is a dark and danceable album, heavy but uplifting, a sombre cloud with a silver lining etc…..

How can a girl this young write such dark lyrics and at the same time disguise them as merely simple pop ditties?

Put Feel It Break into the CD-player (or on the turntable, for the vinyl devotees) and hear echoes of contemporary singers as Zola Jesus, Florence Welch (Florence & The Machine), Karin Dreijer (The Knife, Fever Ray) or even a folky-like Amy MacDonald, but also Siouxsie and Kate Bush. Musically, the album is a perfect mix of danceable wave, hovering somewhere between minimal and electro, and dark uplifting lyrics. An album that sounds goth without being it, and thus can be played perfectly on the radio. Not unlike Karin Dreijer's solo-outing as Fever Ray actually.

Those still not convinced, should first give the singles "Beat And The Pulse" and "Lose It" a listen, the first a sombre but uplifting hypnotic song, while the second sounds like a cheerful sing-a-long, but make no mistake, the lyrics are as dark as the darkest of night.

In short, a record that should be both in the cabinet of the (minimal) wave record collector and the case of the DJ.

Dimitri CAUVEREN
26/06/2011


 

Next reviews
THE GODFATHERS • Support De Brassers | Gent, Vooruit | 24/06/2011
THIS MORN' OMINA • L'unification Des Forces Opposantes
DREAM AFFAIR • Endless Days
TECH NOMADER • Domotica
BLUE STAHLI • Blue Stahli
ATTRITION • demonstro 1981 - 1986
GIRLS NAMES • Dead to me
FINK • Perfect Darkness
TUNES OF DAWN • Goodbye cruel world
HYDRONE • Confusion

 

Same combination of genres: DARK WAVE + MINIMAL + NEW WAVE
VARIOUS ARTISTS • The Temptations Tapes Volume II
JON COSTELLO • Autotron EP

 

Same genre: DARK WAVE
ANTHONY JONES • Farewell To Flesh
THIS ETERNAL DECAY • Silence
OCTOLAB • Mystery Park
AIMAPROJECT • Di AimA Il Segno
SAIGON BLUE RAIN • Pink Obsession
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
BLUTENGEL • UN:GOTT
EUROPEAN GHOST • Collections Of Shadows
WANT/ED • Unthinkable
DARK DOOR • Inferno

 

Same genre: MINIMAL
NICHOLAS LENS & NICK CAVE • L.I.T.A.N.I.E.S
MARTIN L. GORE • The Third Chimpanzee E.P.
STURM CAFE • Fernes Land
SYNTET • Hjärtats slag
RUE OBERKAMPF • Negativraum
CAWATANA • In The Silver Light (7')
COLIN EDWIN • POINTS OF ORIGIN
STAATSEINDE • Darüber Reden Wir Nicht
SHE HATES EMOTIONS • See The Light (Single)
MORE EPHEMEROL • Obituary Templates

 

Same genre: NEW WAVE
HYSTÉRIE • Deuil
DAGEIST • Sexy
NEW MODEL ARMY • From Here
A CERTAIN RATIO • ACR-Box
DER KLINKE • Decade
JAPAN • Cries And Whispers (1983-1991)
XTC • What Do You Call That Noise?
SIOUXSIE AND THE BANSHEES • Juju
SIMI NAH • La Terre est Noire
LIZARD SMILE • Wandering in Mirrors

Music reviews

23
02
THE HEAT INC.
EP
23
02
PIG
Pain Is God
22
02
ANTHONY JONES
Farewell To Flesh
18
02
WULF7
Dark Hate
17
02
DEAR DEER / EMBERS
Split
06
02
J:DEAD
A Complicated Genocide

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

04
03
Firestarter | Celebrating The Sound Of The Prodigy And The Impact Of Keith Flint who past away 2 years ago.
03
03
MATHLOVSKY ANNOUNCES NEWEST SINGLE AND LP
02
03
DINOSAUR JR. ANNOUCE NEWEST LP TO BE RELEASED IN APRIL
02
03
Through The Looking Glass | The Siouxsie & The Banshees Masterpiece Released 34 Years Ago Today!
01
03
SEX GANG CHILDREN PREMIERE NEW SINGLE - DEATH MASK MUSSOLINI
28
02
35 years ago Siouxsie and The Banshees released the single Candyman!

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

12
02
DIVE
We All Can Ask Us The Question ‘Where Do We Go From Here?'
10
02
RAYMOND WATTS (PIG)
'It’s not a re-discovery. It’s finding the way in to let the stuff out...'
02
02
JOHN 3:16
I regularly come across animal remains at various stages of decomposition. That started to affect me, and that's where the concept of the record was born.
07
01
MAMAN KUSTERS
‘Let’s Keep It Intriguing
16
12
THE BREATH OF LIFE
'No, I never considered quitting making music. Nor to taste good special beers.'

PHOTOS

25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival
20
08
JUSTIN SULLIVAN & GASTONE
Kreisverwaltung Groß-Gerau

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

04
03
MERCIFUL NUNS
Broken Column
03
03
BLOODY KNIVES
Reflection Lies
02
03
GAVIN FRIDAY
It's All Ahead Of You
01
03
THE BREATH OF LIFE
CRIME PASSIONNEL
28
02
LCN (LE CHOCOLAT NOIR)
N'Écoutez Pas Tous Les Conseils De Vos Amis (Official Music Video)
27
02
ANTIPOLE
Part Deux
26
02
WILDNORTHE
Swamp