tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

04/07/2011 : DEADCIBEL - Klondike

DEADCIBEL

Klondike

MusicCD
EBMElectroFuture PopSynth Pop / Electro Pop

[76/100]   

Echozone
04/07/2011, Didier BECU

EN

"Klondike" by Deadcibel is not what we would call a fresh album but if we were offered a CD by a band who's still struggling, why would we refuse that? After all Peek-A-Boo is here for the music.

This band was formed from the ashes of electro-indusband Skorbut who were around since 1996. But since founding member Daniel Galda met the talents of Armin Kuester, he decided to give birth to Deadcibel. They ended up on the Echozone-rooster and despite its horrible name, this band offers you some very fine electronic moments. Why they choose a band's name like this is beyond me as with a name like this, you really expect some horrible harsh-noiseband but it turned out to be something totally different.

"Klondike" feels more like you're listening to a compilation album from various bands. "Hotel Lux" immediately reminds us of Das Ich or Calva Y Nada but soon after "Jerusalem Syndrom" has a more club feel, so much that the futuristic sounds of "One of 47" comes close to, say Haujobb or mind.in.a.box.

Deadcibel is band (or so it seems) looking to find which sounds fits them most. How else could you explain that "B.I.I.D" has an In Strict Confidence appeal while "Too tired to consume" reminds us of Nitzer Ebb and no, we won't even add that "Architecture" is VNV Nation-like.

We leave it to you to decide if something like that means that you're dealing with a faceless or very varied band but having said that "Klondike" sounds more than okay to our ears!

Didier BECU
04/07/2011


NL

"Klondike" van Deadcibel is nu niet bepaald een plaatje dat vers van de pers komt. Niet dat dit een hindernis vormt op het Peek-A-Boo parcours want onze magazine beoogt in de eerste plaats muziek en voor nieuwe bands die nog niet zijn opgemerkt door de muziekfans bieden wij dan ook maar al te graag een forum.

Deadcibel is eigenlijk een voortvloeisel uit elektro-indus band Skorbut, een groep die al bezig is sinds 1996. Sinds sleutelfiguur Daniel Galda begon samen te troepen met Armin Kuester, liet hij Skorbut voor wat het was en riep hij Deadcibel in het leven.

De groep eindigde vlug op Echozone, en terecht zo bleek want "Klondike" biedt je enkele fijne electronische momenten.

Waarom ze nu net met zo'n rotnaam moesten afkomen is ons tot op heden nog niet echt duidelijk want ook al verwacht je met zo'n vehikel de verschrikkelijkste harsh electro die je maar kan bedenken, is de waarheid anders. "Klondike" voelt bij momenten aan of je zit te luisteren naar een compilatie van verschillende bands.

"Hotel Lux" bracht ons meteen op het verkeerde been want eventjes dachten we dat we hier met de nieuwe Das Ich of Calva Y Nada te maken hadden maar al gauw ontpopte er zich bij het volgend nummer, "Jerusalem Syndrom", een clubgevoel, om het maar niet te hebben over de futuristische geluiden die "One of 47" iets als Haujobb of Mind.In.A.Box maakten.

Bij momenten lijkt het er zelfs sterk op dat we hier met een band te maken hebben die op zoek gaat naar welk geluid nu het best bij hun past want hoe ga je anders verklaren dat "B.I.I.D" In Strict Confidence-neigingen vertoont terwijl we op "Too tired to consume" duidelijk de echo's van Nitzer Ebb weerklinken? En dan hebben we het nog niet eens over "Architecture" dat verduiveld veel weg heeft van VNV Nation.

Of zo'n verscheidenheid nu een goede zaak is of niet, zal er van afhangen hoe je het bekijkt. De ene zal het zien als een gezichtsloos zooitje terwijl anderen net de variatie zullen ophemelen. Wat het ook antwoord ook is, "Klondike" was meer dan electronisch oorsmeersel!

Didier BECU
04/07/2011


 

Next reviews
SAINTS OF RUIN • Glampyre
MAISON VAGUE • Synthpop's Alive
ATARI TEENAGE RIOT • Is this hyperreal?
ULTERIOR • Wild in wildlife
BEE MASK • Elegy For Beach Friday
SLEEPWALK • Revenge of the Lost
MINIMAL COMPACT • Raging and dancing, the anthology
PATENBRIGADE:WOLFF • Der Schallplattenunterhalter
TRAUMTAENZER • Der Weisse Raum
!BANG ELEKTRONIKA • Aktivierung!

 

Same genre: EBM
STRIKKLAND • Predatorial Right
ARMAGEDDON DILDOS • Heut Nacht
POUPPEE FABRIKK • Armèn
REALITY'S DESPAIR • Melancholic Disposition
MISERIA ULTIMA • Graygarden
M73 • Tainted
PLASTIKSTROM • Beton Gegen Angst
ELM • Death Of The North
GRENDEL • Ascending The Abyss
PREEMPTIVE STRIKE 0.1 • Harbringer

 

Same genre: ELECTRO
BOYTRONIC • The Robot Treatment
6TH CROWD • Самозванцы (Samozvantsiy)
MASSIVE ATTACK • Massive Attack vs Mad Professor Part II | Mezzanine Remix Tapes
STAATSEINDE • Dreiheit
CHEMICAL BROTHERS • No Geography
STATIQBLOOM • Asphyxia
CABINET OF MILLIONAIRES • Theresa, Vol.3 Ep
MASSIVE EGO • Church For The Malfunctioned
UMMAGMA • Caravan -Backed With Ty i Ya
VARIOUS ARTISTS • A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

 

Same genre: FUTURE POP
LIE DETECTOR • To Fly!
SCHEUBER • The Me I See
RUINED CONFLICT • A Voice For The Voiceless
KOMPUTERGIRL • Lightbody
NATURE OF WIRES FT. COUNTESSM. • Cyber Rendezvous
MIRANDA CARTEL • Divert EP
SINESTAR • Evolve
EISFABRIK • Walking Towards The Sun
PARRALOX • Wildlife
NOVA-SPES • A Dog And His Boy

 

Same genre: SYNTH POP / ELECTRO POP
SHE HATES EMOTIONS • See The Light (Single)
MONICA RICHARDS & ANTHONY JONES • AESTUARIUM
LUCKY AND LOVE • Transitions
LADYTRON • Ladytron
SIMI NAH • La Terre est Noire
JOHN FOXX • METAMATIC (2018 BOX)
VOGON POETRY • Life, The Universe and Everything
REFLECTION • Lumen
SALLY DIGE • Holding On
PSYCHE • Youth Of Tomorrow (12'')

Music reviews

05
06
GOOD CO
So Pretty
30
05
THIS ETERNAL DECAY
Silence
29
05
THE MIDNIGHT COMPUTERS
Anxious
03
05
BOYTRONIC
The Robot Treatment
02
05
ARMAGEDDON DILDOS
Heut Nacht
01
05
BLUTENGEL + HOCICO
Obscured

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

03
06
Today, 42 years ago, Joy Division self-released their very first 7' EP, An Ideal For Living!
28
05
Electro/Synthwave act GIANT MONSTERS ON THE HORIZON unleash new studio album - Live From Night City
26
05
Happy birthday Wayne Hussey!
24
05
46 years Of Diamond Dogs!
23
05
34 years of 'Let Your Body Learn!'
22
05
39 years Spellbound!

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

26
05
MARK E MOON
We Know We’re Not Re-Inventing The Wheel!
23
05
JOSH KLINGHOFFER (PLURALONE,RHCP)
“I suddenly found the piano the most exciting instrument to write on.”
19
05
THE HERESY GENE
'The More We Do It, The More Important It Feels.'
01
05
AUTUMN TEARS
An Interview With Autumn Tears
30
04
EMPUSAE
One thing is for sure... I'll never stop making music!

PHOTOS

13
03
SIGLO XX
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
ROME
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ROSE OF AVALANCHE
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE DANSE SOCIETY
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ARCH
Porta Nigra Aarschot
11
03
FRONT 242
Pulse Namur Isnes
11
03
SHAARGHOT
Pulse Namur Isnes

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

06
06
PSYCHE
The Things That Dreams Are Made Of (Party Monster Mix)
05
06
PLASTIC NOISE EXPERIENCE
CONTROL
04
06
SUFFOCATING MINDS
Second Life
03
06
DARKH
Bury Our Bones
02
06
THE 69 EYES
Jet Fighter Plane
01
06
AEVERIUM
Hunted
31
05
THE JUGGERNAUTS
PURGE