tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

04/07/2011 : DEADCIBEL - Klondike

DEADCIBEL

Klondike

MusicCD
EBMElectroFuture PopSynth Pop / Electro Pop

[76/100]   

Echozone
04/07/2011, Didier BECU

EN

"Klondike" by Deadcibel is not what we would call a fresh album but if we were offered a CD by a band who's still struggling, why would we refuse that? After all Peek-A-Boo is here for the music.

This band was formed from the ashes of electro-indusband Skorbut who were around since 1996. But since founding member Daniel Galda met the talents of Armin Kuester, he decided to give birth to Deadcibel. They ended up on the Echozone-rooster and despite its horrible name, this band offers you some very fine electronic moments. Why they choose a band's name like this is beyond me as with a name like this, you really expect some horrible harsh-noiseband but it turned out to be something totally different.

"Klondike" feels more like you're listening to a compilation album from various bands. "Hotel Lux" immediately reminds us of Das Ich or Calva Y Nada but soon after "Jerusalem Syndrom" has a more club feel, so much that the futuristic sounds of "One of 47" comes close to, say Haujobb or mind.in.a.box.

Deadcibel is band (or so it seems) looking to find which sounds fits them most. How else could you explain that "B.I.I.D" has an In Strict Confidence appeal while "Too tired to consume" reminds us of Nitzer Ebb and no, we won't even add that "Architecture" is VNV Nation-like.

We leave it to you to decide if something like that means that you're dealing with a faceless or very varied band but having said that "Klondike" sounds more than okay to our ears!

Didier BECU
04/07/2011


NL

"Klondike" van Deadcibel is nu niet bepaald een plaatje dat vers van de pers komt. Niet dat dit een hindernis vormt op het Peek-A-Boo parcours want onze magazine beoogt in de eerste plaats muziek en voor nieuwe bands die nog niet zijn opgemerkt door de muziekfans bieden wij dan ook maar al te graag een forum.

Deadcibel is eigenlijk een voortvloeisel uit elektro-indus band Skorbut, een groep die al bezig is sinds 1996. Sinds sleutelfiguur Daniel Galda begon samen te troepen met Armin Kuester, liet hij Skorbut voor wat het was en riep hij Deadcibel in het leven.

De groep eindigde vlug op Echozone, en terecht zo bleek want "Klondike" biedt je enkele fijne electronische momenten.

Waarom ze nu net met zo'n rotnaam moesten afkomen is ons tot op heden nog niet echt duidelijk want ook al verwacht je met zo'n vehikel de verschrikkelijkste harsh electro die je maar kan bedenken, is de waarheid anders. "Klondike" voelt bij momenten aan of je zit te luisteren naar een compilatie van verschillende bands.

"Hotel Lux" bracht ons meteen op het verkeerde been want eventjes dachten we dat we hier met de nieuwe Das Ich of Calva Y Nada te maken hadden maar al gauw ontpopte er zich bij het volgend nummer, "Jerusalem Syndrom", een clubgevoel, om het maar niet te hebben over de futuristische geluiden die "One of 47" iets als Haujobb of Mind.In.A.Box maakten.

Bij momenten lijkt het er zelfs sterk op dat we hier met een band te maken hebben die op zoek gaat naar welk geluid nu het best bij hun past want hoe ga je anders verklaren dat "B.I.I.D" In Strict Confidence-neigingen vertoont terwijl we op "Too tired to consume" duidelijk de echo's van Nitzer Ebb weerklinken? En dan hebben we het nog niet eens over "Architecture" dat verduiveld veel weg heeft van VNV Nation.

Of zo'n verscheidenheid nu een goede zaak is of niet, zal er van afhangen hoe je het bekijkt. De ene zal het zien als een gezichtsloos zooitje terwijl anderen net de variatie zullen ophemelen. Wat het ook antwoord ook is, "Klondike" was meer dan electronisch oorsmeersel!

Didier BECU
04/07/2011


 

Next reviews
SAINTS OF RUIN • Glampyre
MAISON VAGUE • Synthpop's Alive
ATARI TEENAGE RIOT • Is this hyperreal?
ULTERIOR • Wild in wildlife
BEE MASK • Elegy For Beach Friday
SLEEPWALK • Revenge of the Lost
MINIMAL COMPACT • Raging and dancing, the anthology
PATENBRIGADE:WOLFF • Der Schallplattenunterhalter
TRAUMTAENZER • Der Weisse Raum
!BANG ELEKTRONIKA • Aktivierung!

 

Same genre: EBM
PLASTIKSTROM • Beton Gegen Angst
ELM • Death Of The North
GRENDEL • Ascending The Abyss
PREEMPTIVE STRIKE 0.1 • Harbringer
CABINET OF MILLIONAIRES • Theresa, Vol.3 Ep
MASSIVE EGO • Church For The Malfunctioned
SIGNAL AOUT 42 • Insurrection
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
ZWEITE JUGEND • Elektronische Körpermusik
PARADE GROUND • Life [Live In Frankfurt]

 

Same genre: ELECTRO
MASSIVE ATTACK • Massive Attack vs Mad Professor Part II | Mezzanine Remix Tapes
STAATSEINDE • Dreiheit
CHEMICAL BROTHERS • No Geography
STATIQBLOOM • Asphyxia
UMMAGMA • Caravan -Backed With Ty i Ya
VARIOUS ARTISTS • A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY • Wake Up The Coma
PAS MUSIQUE • The Phoenix
UNIDENTIFIED MAN • Memento Mori
DIVE • Live Maschinenfest 2017

 

Same genre: FUTURE POP
LIE DETECTOR • To Fly!
SCHEUBER • The Me I See
RUINED CONFLICT • A Voice For The Voiceless
KOMPUTERGIRL • Lightbody
NATURE OF WIRES FT. COUNTESSM. • Cyber Rendezvous
MIRANDA CARTEL • Divert EP
SINESTAR • Evolve
EISFABRIK • Walking Towards The Sun
PARRALOX • Wildlife
NOVA-SPES • A Dog And His Boy

 

Same genre: SYNTH POP / ELECTRO POP
MONICA RICHARDS & ANTHONY JONES • AESTUARIUM
LUCKY AND LOVE • Transitions
LADYTRON • Ladytron
SIMI NAH • La Terre est Noire
JOHN FOXX • METAMATIC (2018 BOX)
VOGON POETRY • Life, The Universe and Everything
REFLECTION • Lumen
SALLY DIGE • Holding On
PSYCHE • Youth Of Tomorrow (12'')
HELIOPHILE • Permeate

Music reviews

03
12
THE HERESY GENE
La Luz Del Padre
28
11
PETER BJARGO (ARCANA)
Structures and Downfall
27
11
PLASTIKSTROM
Beton Gegen Angst
23
11
MONICA RICHARDS & ANTHONY JONES
AESTUARIUM
19
11
PSY'AVIAH
Soul Searching
17
11
DAGEIST
Sexy

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

08
12
Today, 41 years ago, Public Image released its debut album First issue!
08
12
76 Years Ago JIM MORRISON WAS BORN!
07
12
27 years ago NINE INCH NAILS released the FIXED (EP)
06
12
Ever Fallen In love? | A Tribute To Pete Shelley (17/4/1955-06/12/18)
05
12
43 Years Ago Oxygene Was Released!
04
12
This month it’s 35 years ago Canadian industrial act Skinny Puppy released their very first EP Remission.

Concert reviews

25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019
15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

29
11
TREVOR DUNN (MR.BUNGLE,FANTOMAS, TRIO-CONVULSANT...)
'The hard thing to do is to keep it simple.'
24
11
DEAD HIGH WIRE
‘Dead High Wire Did Not Like To Be Categorized In One Box’
02
11
UNDERTHESKIN
Try To Leave The Listener In A Certain Reflection, And Maybe Bring Some Kind Of Relief
01
11
MIKE WATT(JUMPSTARTED PLOWHARDS)
In a way, the project is a total collaboration!
26
10
MICHAEL GIRA (SWANS)
'Having a strong presence of death in your mind all the time is very healthy thing!'

PHOTOS

06
12
SUICIDE COMMANDO
Poppodium Nieuwe Nor Heerlen
04
12
NEAR EARTH ORBIT
Poppodium Nieuwe Nor Heerlen
03
12
DASSWAT
C.C. Palethe Pelt
03
12
DIVE
Poppodium Nieuwe Nor Heerlen
03
12
THE DEVIL AND THE UNIVERSE
Poppodium Nieuwe Nor Heerlen
03
12
CLAN OF XYMOX
Gleiss 22 Münster Germany
03
12
PALAIS IDEAL
Gleiss 22 Münster Germany

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

08
12
REVOLTING COCKS (THE)
Beer, Steers and Queers
07
12
VAST
Touched
07
12
MOTOR!K
Static
06
12
MASSIVE EGO
Let Go
05
12
JOHN ROX & OXYDION FT. ELENA ALICE FOSSI
Social Lovers
04
12
THE BREATH OF LIFE
Crime Passionel
03
12
SIXTH JUNE
Night Before