tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

04/07/2011 : DEADCIBEL - Klondike

DEADCIBEL

Klondike

MusicCD
EBMElectroFuture PopSynth Pop / Electro Pop

[76/100]   

Echozone
04/07/2011, Didier BECU

EN

"Klondike" by Deadcibel is not what we would call a fresh album but if we were offered a CD by a band who's still struggling, why would we refuse that? After all Peek-A-Boo is here for the music.

This band was formed from the ashes of electro-indusband Skorbut who were around since 1996. But since founding member Daniel Galda met the talents of Armin Kuester, he decided to give birth to Deadcibel. They ended up on the Echozone-rooster and despite its horrible name, this band offers you some very fine electronic moments. Why they choose a band's name like this is beyond me as with a name like this, you really expect some horrible harsh-noiseband but it turned out to be something totally different.

"Klondike" feels more like you're listening to a compilation album from various bands. "Hotel Lux" immediately reminds us of Das Ich or Calva Y Nada but soon after "Jerusalem Syndrom" has a more club feel, so much that the futuristic sounds of "One of 47" comes close to, say Haujobb or mind.in.a.box.

Deadcibel is band (or so it seems) looking to find which sounds fits them most. How else could you explain that "B.I.I.D" has an In Strict Confidence appeal while "Too tired to consume" reminds us of Nitzer Ebb and no, we won't even add that "Architecture" is VNV Nation-like.

We leave it to you to decide if something like that means that you're dealing with a faceless or very varied band but having said that "Klondike" sounds more than okay to our ears!

Didier BECU
04/07/2011


NL

"Klondike" van Deadcibel is nu niet bepaald een plaatje dat vers van de pers komt. Niet dat dit een hindernis vormt op het Peek-A-Boo parcours want onze magazine beoogt in de eerste plaats muziek en voor nieuwe bands die nog niet zijn opgemerkt door de muziekfans bieden wij dan ook maar al te graag een forum.

Deadcibel is eigenlijk een voortvloeisel uit elektro-indus band Skorbut, een groep die al bezig is sinds 1996. Sinds sleutelfiguur Daniel Galda begon samen te troepen met Armin Kuester, liet hij Skorbut voor wat het was en riep hij Deadcibel in het leven.

De groep eindigde vlug op Echozone, en terecht zo bleek want "Klondike" biedt je enkele fijne electronische momenten.

Waarom ze nu net met zo'n rotnaam moesten afkomen is ons tot op heden nog niet echt duidelijk want ook al verwacht je met zo'n vehikel de verschrikkelijkste harsh electro die je maar kan bedenken, is de waarheid anders. "Klondike" voelt bij momenten aan of je zit te luisteren naar een compilatie van verschillende bands.

"Hotel Lux" bracht ons meteen op het verkeerde been want eventjes dachten we dat we hier met de nieuwe Das Ich of Calva Y Nada te maken hadden maar al gauw ontpopte er zich bij het volgend nummer, "Jerusalem Syndrom", een clubgevoel, om het maar niet te hebben over de futuristische geluiden die "One of 47" iets als Haujobb of Mind.In.A.Box maakten.

Bij momenten lijkt het er zelfs sterk op dat we hier met een band te maken hebben die op zoek gaat naar welk geluid nu het best bij hun past want hoe ga je anders verklaren dat "B.I.I.D" In Strict Confidence-neigingen vertoont terwijl we op "Too tired to consume" duidelijk de echo's van Nitzer Ebb weerklinken? En dan hebben we het nog niet eens over "Architecture" dat verduiveld veel weg heeft van VNV Nation.

Of zo'n verscheidenheid nu een goede zaak is of niet, zal er van afhangen hoe je het bekijkt. De ene zal het zien als een gezichtsloos zooitje terwijl anderen net de variatie zullen ophemelen. Wat het ook antwoord ook is, "Klondike" was meer dan electronisch oorsmeersel!

Didier BECU
04/07/2011


 

Next reviews
SAINTS OF RUIN • Glampyre
MAISON VAGUE • Synthpop's Alive
ATARI TEENAGE RIOT • Is this hyperreal?
ULTERIOR • Wild in wildlife
BEE MASK • Elegy For Beach Friday
SLEEPWALK • Revenge of the Lost
MINIMAL COMPACT • Raging and dancing, the anthology
PATENBRIGADE:WOLFF • Der Schallplattenunterhalter
TRAUMTAENZER • Der Weisse Raum
!BANG ELEKTRONIKA • Aktivierung!

 

Same genre: EBM
CABINET OF MILLIONAIRES • Theresa, Vol.3 Ep
MASSIVE EGO • Church For The Malfunctioned
SIGNAL AOUT 42 • Insurrection
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
ZWEITE JUGEND • Elektronische Körpermusik
PARADE GROUND • Life [Live In Frankfurt]
REALITY'S DESPAIR • Human Transitions
LIEBKNECHT • ICE over Erfurt
RESISTOR • Ice Cold Gold
DIVE • Live Maschinenfest 2017

 

Same genre: ELECTRO
STAATSEINDE • Dreiheit
CHEMICAL BROTHERS • No Geography
STATIQBLOOM • Asphyxia
UMMAGMA • Caravan -Backed With Ty i Ya
VARIOUS ARTISTS • A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY • Wake Up The Coma
PAS MUSIQUE • The Phoenix
UNIDENTIFIED MAN • Memento Mori
RADIOAKTIVISTS • Radioakt One
METROLAND • Memorabilia & Memorabilia The Remixes

 

Same genre: FUTURE POP
LIE DETECTOR • To Fly!
SCHEUBER • The Me I See
RUINED CONFLICT • A Voice For The Voiceless
KOMPUTERGIRL • Lightbody
NATURE OF WIRES FT. COUNTESSM. • Cyber Rendezvous
MIRANDA CARTEL • Divert EP
SINESTAR • Evolve
EISFABRIK • Walking Towards The Sun
PARRALOX • Wildlife
NOVA-SPES • A Dog And His Boy

 

Same genre: SYNTH POP / ELECTRO POP
LUCKY AND LOVE • Transitions
LADYTRON • Ladytron
SIMI NAH • La Terre est Noire
JOHN FOXX • METAMATIC (2018 BOX)
VOGON POETRY • Life, The Universe and Everything
REFLECTION • Lumen
SALLY DIGE • Holding On
PSYCHE • Youth Of Tomorrow (12'')
HELIOPHILE • Permeate
BETA EVERS + SPATIAL RELATION • Split EP

Music reviews

17
08
STATIQBLOOM
Asphyxia
16
08
STAATSEINDE
Dreiheit
15
08
L'AVENIR
Requiem And Live
14
08
PETER GUNDRY
V Ö L U R
13
08
AIMA
Haiku Irregolari In Forma Di Musica
12
08
AUGER
From Now On I

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

14
08
Electro-Industrial artist SPANKTHENUN reveals their MIND CONTROL EP & Leaether Strip Remix Visualizer
13
08
Zeroes, the new single of M73
12
08
Post-Punk Act VAZUM Releases Video For Their Cover of BAUHAUS' 'She's In Parties'
10
08
Today, it’s exactly 32 years ago Nitzer Ebb released Join In The Chant!
09
08
JO QUAIL LAUNCHES NEW RECORD LABEL ADDERSTONE RECORDS
07
08
CHELSEA announce European Tour in September

Concert reviews

21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019
15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

15
08
SPANKTHENUN
An Interview With Electro-Industrial Artist SPANKTHENUN
13
08
AHMED SALEH ABOUT EXPERIMENTAL/INDUSTRIAL MUSIC IN AFRICA
People Here Can Get Arrested Because Of Something They Posted On Social Media!
12
08
SINTHETIK MESSIAH
An Interview With Industrial Bass Artist SINthetik Messiah
10
08
THE BRUTE:
An Interview With Synthpop Act THE BRUTE:
09
08
VAZUM
An Interview With Dark Rock Act VAZUM

PHOTOS

14
08
SECRET GARDEN
Donkey Rock Festival Selange
13
08
TRISOMIE 21
Donkey Rock Festival Selange
12
08
GRAND BLANC
Donkey Rock Festival Selange
12
08
WE ARE WAVES
Donkey Rock Festival Selange
10
08
MOTOR!K
De Smoutpot Zwijndrecht
09
08
ALLEZ ALLEZ
Fonne Feesten Lokeren
09
08
RED ZEBRA
Fonne Feesten Lokeren

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

21
08
NEW MODEL ARMY
Never Arriving
20
08
FORCED TO MODE
NEVER LET ME DOWN AGAIN
19
08
THE NEON JUDGEMENT
Schyzophrenic Freddy
18
08
DAVE BALL
In Strict Tempo
17
08
MOTOR!K
Static
16
08
ENZO KREFT
Disobedient
15
08
DER KLINKE
CURTAINS