tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

04/07/2011 : DEADCIBEL - Klondike

DEADCIBEL

Klondike

MusicCD
EBMElectroFuture PopSynth Pop / Electro Pop

[76/100]   

Echozone
04/07/2011, Didier BECU

EN

"Klondike" by Deadcibel is not what we would call a fresh album but if we were offered a CD by a band who's still struggling, why would we refuse that? After all Peek-A-Boo is here for the music.

This band was formed from the ashes of electro-indusband Skorbut who were around since 1996. But since founding member Daniel Galda met the talents of Armin Kuester, he decided to give birth to Deadcibel. They ended up on the Echozone-rooster and despite its horrible name, this band offers you some very fine electronic moments. Why they choose a band's name like this is beyond me as with a name like this, you really expect some horrible harsh-noiseband but it turned out to be something totally different.

"Klondike" feels more like you're listening to a compilation album from various bands. "Hotel Lux" immediately reminds us of Das Ich or Calva Y Nada but soon after "Jerusalem Syndrom" has a more club feel, so much that the futuristic sounds of "One of 47" comes close to, say Haujobb or mind.in.a.box.

Deadcibel is band (or so it seems) looking to find which sounds fits them most. How else could you explain that "B.I.I.D" has an In Strict Confidence appeal while "Too tired to consume" reminds us of Nitzer Ebb and no, we won't even add that "Architecture" is VNV Nation-like.

We leave it to you to decide if something like that means that you're dealing with a faceless or very varied band but having said that "Klondike" sounds more than okay to our ears!

Didier BECU
04/07/2011


NL

"Klondike" van Deadcibel is nu niet bepaald een plaatje dat vers van de pers komt. Niet dat dit een hindernis vormt op het Peek-A-Boo parcours want onze magazine beoogt in de eerste plaats muziek en voor nieuwe bands die nog niet zijn opgemerkt door de muziekfans bieden wij dan ook maar al te graag een forum.

Deadcibel is eigenlijk een voortvloeisel uit elektro-indus band Skorbut, een groep die al bezig is sinds 1996. Sinds sleutelfiguur Daniel Galda begon samen te troepen met Armin Kuester, liet hij Skorbut voor wat het was en riep hij Deadcibel in het leven.

De groep eindigde vlug op Echozone, en terecht zo bleek want "Klondike" biedt je enkele fijne electronische momenten.

Waarom ze nu net met zo'n rotnaam moesten afkomen is ons tot op heden nog niet echt duidelijk want ook al verwacht je met zo'n vehikel de verschrikkelijkste harsh electro die je maar kan bedenken, is de waarheid anders. "Klondike" voelt bij momenten aan of je zit te luisteren naar een compilatie van verschillende bands.

"Hotel Lux" bracht ons meteen op het verkeerde been want eventjes dachten we dat we hier met de nieuwe Das Ich of Calva Y Nada te maken hadden maar al gauw ontpopte er zich bij het volgend nummer, "Jerusalem Syndrom", een clubgevoel, om het maar niet te hebben over de futuristische geluiden die "One of 47" iets als Haujobb of Mind.In.A.Box maakten.

Bij momenten lijkt het er zelfs sterk op dat we hier met een band te maken hebben die op zoek gaat naar welk geluid nu het best bij hun past want hoe ga je anders verklaren dat "B.I.I.D" In Strict Confidence-neigingen vertoont terwijl we op "Too tired to consume" duidelijk de echo's van Nitzer Ebb weerklinken? En dan hebben we het nog niet eens over "Architecture" dat verduiveld veel weg heeft van VNV Nation.

Of zo'n verscheidenheid nu een goede zaak is of niet, zal er van afhangen hoe je het bekijkt. De ene zal het zien als een gezichtsloos zooitje terwijl anderen net de variatie zullen ophemelen. Wat het ook antwoord ook is, "Klondike" was meer dan electronisch oorsmeersel!

Didier BECU
04/07/2011


 

Next reviews
SAINTS OF RUIN • Glampyre
MAISON VAGUE • Synthpop's Alive
ATARI TEENAGE RIOT • Is this hyperreal?
ULTERIOR • Wild in wildlife
BEE MASK • Elegy For Beach Friday
SLEEPWALK • Revenge of the Lost
MINIMAL COMPACT • Raging and dancing, the anthology
PATENBRIGADE:WOLFF • Der Schallplattenunterhalter
TRAUMTAENZER • Der Weisse Raum
!BANG ELEKTRONIKA • Aktivierung!

 

Same genre: EBM
WULF7 • I don't want (Anymore)
TRAGIC IMPULSE • Distant Worlds
STAATSEINDE • Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
SAMHAIN • Experiment
MICHAEL ZODOROZNY • Other Side
ARMAGEDDON DILDOS • Desctruction
RHYS FULBER • Brutal Nature
ORANGE SECTOR • Alles wird Gold
HERRNIA • Takkewereld
STAATSEINDE • Crazy Earthlings Collab Tape - Episode II

 

Same genre: ELECTRO
ADULT. • Becoming Undone
J:DEAD • Tearing me apart
JIHAD • Retrospekt
MILDREDA • I was never really there
LISA GERRARD & JULES MAXWELL • Burn
POTOCHKINE • Sortilèges
BLUTENGEL • Fountain of Destiny
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Electropop 18 (Super Deluxe Edition)
300 000VK • Peter Paradox
MARTIN L. GORE • The Third Chimpanzee E.P.

 

Same genre: FUTURE POP
LIE DETECTOR • To Fly!
SCHEUBER • The Me I See
RUINED CONFLICT • A Voice For The Voiceless
KOMPUTERGIRL • Lightbody
NATURE OF WIRES FT. COUNTESSM. • Cyber Rendezvous
MIRANDA CARTEL • Divert EP
SINESTAR • Evolve
EISFABRIK • Walking Towards The Sun
PARRALOX • Wildlife
NOVA-SPES • A Dog And His Boy

 

Same genre: SYNTH POP / ELECTRO POP
SHE HATES EMOTIONS • Space and time
FRAGRANCE • Salt Water
SJOBLOM • Tape
NUOVO TESTAMENTO • New Earth
STURM CAFE • Fernes Land
DD SANCHEZ • StRaNgE
ERASURE • THE NEON
HER OWN WORLD • A Different Kind Of Reality
AUGER • Insurgence
UNITCODE:MACHINE • Paper empires

Music reviews

05
10
A SLICE OF LIFE
Tabula Rasa
28
09
THIS VALE OF TEARS
This Vale Of Tears
24
09
KMFDM
Hyena
23
09
DEMI LOVATO
HOLY FVCK
22
09
MISERIA ULTIMA
Witch Heart Apparition
20
09
SYGO CRIES
In Outside Places

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

25
09
Today, exactly 35 years ago The Klinik released 'Plague'!
24
09
DIE KRUPPS members' side project, DIE ROBO SAPIENS, launches debut album in October!
23
09
Dark electronic artist SINE addresses alternate reality with new EP, Mantis 2
22
09
Today it’s been exactly 30 years since Nine Inch Nails released Broken (EP)
18
09
Industrial Band 40 Octaves Below Brings Retribution In 'Splintered'
07
09
A Slice Of Life releases new album Tabula Rasa on 23rd September

Concert reviews

05
07
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

29
09
KEVORKIAN DEATH CYCLE
An interview with Kevorkian Death Cycle
28
09
SHE 1 - HIM 2
Interview with electronic duo, She 1 - Him 2
14
09
LIA HIDE
Lia Hide & The Plato-Inspired New Album - An Interview
08
09
JOSIE PACE
Interview with Josie Pace
05
08
MOTOR!K
I have to admit that I often still find it strange and difficult to grasp: people going crazy on three weirdos playing some repetitive music

PHOTOS

01
10
SHE WANTS REVENGE
Into the Dark - Zonhoven
01
10
KORINTHIANS
Into the Dark - Zonhoven
01
10
THE STRANGLERS
Depot Leuven
01
10
SOVJET WAR
Depot Leuven
01
10
PETER HOOK AND THE LIGHT
La Madeleine Brussel
01
10
A SLICE OF LIFE
Djingel Djangel
01
10
CLAN OF XYMOX
Kulttempel Oberhausen

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

06
10
CHRISTIAN DEATH
deathwish
05
10
THE AMATORY MURDER
The Deadliest Rose
04
10
DER BLUTHARSCH AND THE INFINITE CHURCH OF THE LEADING HAND
O Lord
03
10
OAKTREE
La Fin
02
10
SHADOW TAMER
Shadow Tamer
01
10
INNERWOUD
Grashelm
30
09
PROJECT PITCHFORK
Titanes