tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

04/07/2011 : DEADCIBEL - Klondike

DEADCIBEL

Klondike

MusicCD
EBMElectroFuture PopSynth Pop / Electro Pop

[76/100]   

Echozone
04/07/2011, Didier BECU

EN

"Klondike" by Deadcibel is not what we would call a fresh album but if we were offered a CD by a band who's still struggling, why would we refuse that? After all Peek-A-Boo is here for the music.

This band was formed from the ashes of electro-indusband Skorbut who were around since 1996. But since founding member Daniel Galda met the talents of Armin Kuester, he decided to give birth to Deadcibel. They ended up on the Echozone-rooster and despite its horrible name, this band offers you some very fine electronic moments. Why they choose a band's name like this is beyond me as with a name like this, you really expect some horrible harsh-noiseband but it turned out to be something totally different.

"Klondike" feels more like you're listening to a compilation album from various bands. "Hotel Lux" immediately reminds us of Das Ich or Calva Y Nada but soon after "Jerusalem Syndrom" has a more club feel, so much that the futuristic sounds of "One of 47" comes close to, say Haujobb or mind.in.a.box.

Deadcibel is band (or so it seems) looking to find which sounds fits them most. How else could you explain that "B.I.I.D" has an In Strict Confidence appeal while "Too tired to consume" reminds us of Nitzer Ebb and no, we won't even add that "Architecture" is VNV Nation-like.

We leave it to you to decide if something like that means that you're dealing with a faceless or very varied band but having said that "Klondike" sounds more than okay to our ears!

Didier BECU
04/07/2011


NL

"Klondike" van Deadcibel is nu niet bepaald een plaatje dat vers van de pers komt. Niet dat dit een hindernis vormt op het Peek-A-Boo parcours want onze magazine beoogt in de eerste plaats muziek en voor nieuwe bands die nog niet zijn opgemerkt door de muziekfans bieden wij dan ook maar al te graag een forum.

Deadcibel is eigenlijk een voortvloeisel uit elektro-indus band Skorbut, een groep die al bezig is sinds 1996. Sinds sleutelfiguur Daniel Galda begon samen te troepen met Armin Kuester, liet hij Skorbut voor wat het was en riep hij Deadcibel in het leven.

De groep eindigde vlug op Echozone, en terecht zo bleek want "Klondike" biedt je enkele fijne electronische momenten.

Waarom ze nu net met zo'n rotnaam moesten afkomen is ons tot op heden nog niet echt duidelijk want ook al verwacht je met zo'n vehikel de verschrikkelijkste harsh electro die je maar kan bedenken, is de waarheid anders. "Klondike" voelt bij momenten aan of je zit te luisteren naar een compilatie van verschillende bands.

"Hotel Lux" bracht ons meteen op het verkeerde been want eventjes dachten we dat we hier met de nieuwe Das Ich of Calva Y Nada te maken hadden maar al gauw ontpopte er zich bij het volgend nummer, "Jerusalem Syndrom", een clubgevoel, om het maar niet te hebben over de futuristische geluiden die "One of 47" iets als Haujobb of Mind.In.A.Box maakten.

Bij momenten lijkt het er zelfs sterk op dat we hier met een band te maken hebben die op zoek gaat naar welk geluid nu het best bij hun past want hoe ga je anders verklaren dat "B.I.I.D" In Strict Confidence-neigingen vertoont terwijl we op "Too tired to consume" duidelijk de echo's van Nitzer Ebb weerklinken? En dan hebben we het nog niet eens over "Architecture" dat verduiveld veel weg heeft van VNV Nation.

Of zo'n verscheidenheid nu een goede zaak is of niet, zal er van afhangen hoe je het bekijkt. De ene zal het zien als een gezichtsloos zooitje terwijl anderen net de variatie zullen ophemelen. Wat het ook antwoord ook is, "Klondike" was meer dan electronisch oorsmeersel!

Didier BECU
04/07/2011


 

Next reviews
SAINTS OF RUIN • Glampyre
MAISON VAGUE • Synthpop's Alive
ATARI TEENAGE RIOT • Is this hyperreal?
ULTERIOR • Wild in wildlife
BEE MASK • Elegy For Beach Friday
SLEEPWALK • Revenge of the Lost
MINIMAL COMPACT • Raging and dancing, the anthology
PATENBRIGADE:WOLFF • Der Schallplattenunterhalter
TRAUMTAENZER • Der Weisse Raum
!BANG ELEKTRONIKA • Aktivierung!

 

Same genre: EBM
SHERAPHIM SYSTEM • Phoenix
TUKT • Tukt
STAATSEINDE • Darüber Reden Wir Nicht
EMERGENCY SEQUENCE • Sharpening The Axe
PORTION CONTROL • Head Buried
UNITCODE:MACHINE • Paper empires
GHOSTING • The Flanders EP
STRIKKLAND • Predatorial Right
ARMAGEDDON DILDOS • Heut Nacht
POUPPEE FABRIKK • Armèn

 

Same genre: ELECTRO
VIOLENT VICKIE • Blame
BOYTRONIC • The Robot Treatment
6TH CROWD • Самозванцы (Samozvantsiy)
M73 • Tainted
PLASTIKSTROM • Beton Gegen Angst
MASSIVE ATTACK • Massive Attack vs Mad Professor Part II | Mezzanine Remix Tapes
ELM • Death Of The North
GRENDEL • Ascending The Abyss
PREEMPTIVE STRIKE 0.1 • Harbringer
STAATSEINDE • Dreiheit

 

Same genre: FUTURE POP
LIE DETECTOR • To Fly!
SCHEUBER • The Me I See
RUINED CONFLICT • A Voice For The Voiceless
KOMPUTERGIRL • Lightbody
NATURE OF WIRES FT. COUNTESSM. • Cyber Rendezvous
MIRANDA CARTEL • Divert EP
SINESTAR • Evolve
EISFABRIK • Walking Towards The Sun
PARRALOX • Wildlife
NOVA-SPES • A Dog And His Boy

 

Same genre: SYNTH POP / ELECTRO POP
HER OWN WORLD • A Different Kind Of Reality
AUGER • Insurgence
COLD IN MAY • Koma:Redux
SHE HATES EMOTIONS • See The Light (Single)
MONICA RICHARDS & ANTHONY JONES • AESTUARIUM
LUCKY AND LOVE • Transitions
LADYTRON • Ladytron
SIMI NAH • La Terre est Noire
JOHN FOXX • METAMATIC (2018 BOX)
VOGON POETRY • Life, The Universe and Everything

Music reviews

03
09
SHERAPHIM SYSTEM
Phoenix
02
09
CAWATANA
In The Silver Light (7')
01
09
MIKE SOPKO, BILL LASWELL, TYSHAWN SOREY
On Common Ground
31
08
TUKT
Tukt
26
08
EMERGENCY SEQUENCE
Sharpening The Axe
21
08
STRUGGLER
Wilma (Determinated Protector)

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

22
09
Today it’s been exactly 28 years since Nine Inch Nails released Broken (EP)
08
09
SUICIDE COMMANDO release a complete 'Dein herz, meine gier' lyric video for the release of the limited club single CD 'Dein herz, meine gier / Bunkerb!tc!
04
09
39 years ago, Soft Cell's version of ‘Tainted Love’ reached the number one position in the British hit parade!
28
08
43 years ago Iggy Pop released Lust for Life (29th August 1977)
12
08
kaRIN FROM COLLIDE AND SHIKHEE FROM ANDROID LUST RELEASE NEW SINGLE ''ARE YOU LISTENING?''
10
08
Today, it’s exactly 33 years ago Nitzer Ebb released Join In The Chant!

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

19
09
MORTAR DEVOTIONS
Dystopia Is Just Around The Corner And Orwell Warned Us Already In 1948
16
09
MAT OSMAN (SUEDE)
'I’m always writing short stories...'
15
09
ERASURE
'Music certainly gives us hope' - Erasure talk about their new album 'The Neon'
14
09
WATA (BORIS)
'I will always feel like a rookie...'
12
09
DAWN OF ASHES
‘Covid-19 Is A Gateway To Show Us The True Colors Of The Human Race

PHOTOS

20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival
20
08
JUSTIN SULLIVAN & GASTONE
Kreisverwaltung Groß-Gerau
20
08
JUSTIN SULLIVAN & GASTONE
Kreisverwaltung Groß-Gerau

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

24
09
RYUICHI SAKAMOTO
Merry Christmas, Mr Lawrence
23
09
ANNA VON HAUSSWOLFF
The Mysterious Vanishing of Electra
22
09
BLACK LINE
Snap
21
09
ALPHAMAY
Silence Emotion
20
09
FREISPIELEREI
Fish Muss Schwimmen, Gell
19
09
TRUE ZEBRA
Connection is addiction
19
09
NO!ON
6