tempobet yeni adresi

EN FR
like this digital review

05/07/2011 : ASK THE DUST - Covers And Stuff

ASK THE DUST

Covers And Stuff

MusicDigital
Shoegaze

[60/100]   
05/07/2011, Didier CZEPCZYK

EN

With this 5 track EP, the Parisian noisy pop quartet Ask The Dust have decided to have fun doing 3 covers and they cast their net wide with, Daft Punk, David Bowie and The Police!

Everything begins really in a bad way with « One More Time » from Daft Punk. It’s not easy to transform a shit song to something good. Unless you grind it, disfigure it, … well, if you make a freak of it with the worst treatments imaginable and make it unrecognizable. Disaster occurs as Ask The Dust deliver us a full copy of the original version, horrible!

Fortunately things get better afterwards but, admittedly, the foundations are healthier. Nice remake of Bowie’s « John, I’m only dancing » and especially amazing « Walking On The Moon » from The Police! Great! It sounds like Joy Division. Listen to the bass introduction, this is « Transmission » and this is irresistible.

To finish, we have a right to two home-made composition. Two atmospheric ballads unfortunatlely more inspired by Prefab Sprout and Aztec Camera than Sonic Youth or Ride. So, all of this leaves me hungry. A complete album is expected for October 2011. Hoping that it will be a little bit more exciting. Until that, don’t hesitate to download this opus, because « Transmission On The Moon » deserves frankly all your interest.

 

Available on E-shop : http://askthedust.spinshop.com/store/askthedust.spinshop.com/details/72827

Didier CZEPCZYK
05/07/2011


FR

Avec cet EP 5 titres, le quatuor noisy pop parisien Ask The Dust a décidé de se faire plaisir avec notamment 3 covers ratissant bien large. Jugez plutôt : Daft Punk, David Bowie et The Police ! Des univers pas forcément parallèles non ?

Tout commence très mal avec le « One More Time » de Daft Punk. Difficile de métamorphoser une chanson de merde en quelque chose d’écoutable. A moins de la triturer, de la défigurer, bref lui faire subir les pires sévices afin de la rendre méconnaissable, le tour n’est pas joué. Et catastrophe, Ask The Dust nous rend une copie à 99% semblable à la version originale !

Affreux. Les choses s’améliorent fort heureusement par la suite. Mais il faut bien avouer que les bases de départ sont également plus saines. Jolie relecture du « John, I’m only dancing » de Bowie et surtout une bien belle version à la Joy Division de « Walking On The Moon » de The Police ! Surprenant ! Ecoutez l’intro de basse, c’est « Transmission » et c’est irrésistible.

Pour terminer, nous avons droit à deux compositions maison dont un inédit : « Sailor Loveburns ». Deux ballades atmosphériques malheureusement plus inspirées par Prefab Sprout et Aztec Camera que par Sonic Youth ou Ride. Bref, tout cela me laisse un peu sur ma faim. On attend un album complet prévu pour octobre 2011. On l’espère un peu plus excitant. D’ici là, n’hésitez pas à télécharger cet opus, car « Transmission On The Moon » en vaut franchement la peine.

 

Disponible sur E-shop : http://askthedust.spinshop.com/store/askthedust.spinshop.com/details/72827

Didier CZEPCZYK
05/07/2011


Music reviews

28
07
WULF7
I don't want (Anymore)
06
07
TRAGIC IMPULSE
Distant Worlds
04
07
RAMMSTEIN
Zeit
27
06
BALVANERA
Courses of Action
14
06
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Gift For You
10
06
SAMHAIN
Experiment

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

08
08
32 years of Head/Down with MOEV
07
08
Neo-Fanfare/Darkwave Band, Crooniek Reflects On The Concept Of Time With New Album
06
08
Post-Punk Artist Daniel Ouellette Brings Life To A Haunted House With New Album
05
08
Industrial bass artist SINthetik Messiah addresses violence in The Vatican with new single
05
08
NOISE UNIT is back in full force!
05
08
Industrial artist, Nuda addresses past trauma & mental illness with 'Trigger'

Concert reviews

05
07
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

05
08
MOTOR!K
I have to admit that I often still find it strange and difficult to grasp: people going crazy on three weirdos playing some repetitive music
12
07
FERALIA PLANITIA & DAS AUGE
'Thanks to our overlapping tastes in music, we became good friends; music was our cement, sort of speak…'
18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.

PHOTOS

08
08
NEW MODEL ARMY
Rockfabrik Uebach-Palenberg
05
08
RAMMSTEIN
Park De Nieuwe Koers Oostende
02
08
SHE PAST AWAY
Amphi Festival Keulen
02
08
FROZEN PLASMA
Amphi Festival Keulen
02
08
MONO INC.
Amphi Festival Keulen
02
08
[:SITD:]
Amphi Festival Keulen
02
08
MESH
Amphi Festival Keulen

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

09
08
WE NEVER MET
Come Play With Fire
08
08
ROSARUBEA
Window Pain
07
08
CREMATORY
Haus Mit Garten
06
08
K-X-P
Space Precious Time
05
08
MONICA JEFFRIES
In Circles
04
08
ILLUMININE
For What It's Worth (Live at Sundlaugin Studio)
03
08
THE CURE
A Forest (Live in Paris 1979)