tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this movie review

25/10/2015 : FILMFEST GHENT 2015 - Yuriy Bykov: Durak

FILMFEST GHENT 2015

Yuriy Bykov: Durak

Movie
Drama

[80/100]   

Filmfest Gent
25/10/2015, Didier BECU

EN

It takes a lot of courage, but there are Russian filmmakers who dare to denounce Putin's Russia. Leviathan by Andrey Zvyagintsev is of course the most famous example, but Durak (The Madman) by Yuriy Bykov is at least as strong.

The madman is Dima, a plumber who is studying at night so he can get a better job, and a better life. During one of his jobs, the young guy discovers a huge crack in a building where 800 people live. Dima fulfills his duty and informs the (drunken) local politicians about the risk of collapse. But they don't listen to his counsel, on the contrary, Dima must flee.

Corrupt politicians and drinking vodka seem to have become the two main characteristics of modern Russian cinema. Indeed, there is a lot of drinking and the Russian ​​words thatyou learn from Durak are not exactly what you’d call the most beautiful ones, but this film is another uppercut. Wondering whether Putin shares our opinion!

Didier BECU
25/10/2015


NL

Het vergt heel wat moed, toch zijn er Russische cineasten die het aandurven om het Rusland van Poetin in films te hekelen. Leviathan van Andrej Zvjagintsev is natuurlijk het bekendste voorbeeld, maar Durak (De gek) van Yuriy Bykov is minstens even sterk.

De gek is Dima, een loodgieter die ’s avonds vlijtig studeert zodat hij wat hogerop in het leven kan geraken. Tijdens één van zijn klussen ontdekt de jonge kerel in een flatgebouw waar 800 mensen leven een enorme scheur waardoor de constructie op instorten staat. Dima vervult zijn plicht en klopt bij de (alweer ladderzatte) lokale politici aan. Ze zijn echter niet van plan om te luisteren naar Dimas raad, integendeel de jonge knul moet wegvluchten.

Corrupte politici en vodka zuipen lijken wel de twee hoofdkenmerken van de moderne Russische cinema te zijn geworden. Er wordt inderdaad weer flink wat afgezopen en de Russische begrippen die je uit Durak kan leren zijn niet meteen de mooiste woorden, maar als film is dit alweer een uppercut. Benieuwd of Poetin onze mening deelt!

Didier BECU
25/10/2015


 

Next reviews
THE SISTERS OF MERCY • The Sisters Of Mercy; Antwerp-Trix (19/10/2015)
DEBRIS OF TITAN • On the Home Slope
ALIEN VAMPIRES • Drag You To Hell
EDEN SYNTHETIC CORPS • Sandwalkers
DISAPPEARS • Low
DOUBLE EYELID • Seven Years
SHERMAN • White City EP
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Andrew Haigh: 45 Years
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Ole Giæver , Marte Vold: Out of Nature
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Nanni Moretti: Mia Madre

 

Other reviews from FILMFEST GHENT 2015
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Nanni Moretti: Mia Madre
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Andrew Haigh: 45 Years
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Ole Giæver , Marte Vold: Out of Nature
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Jayro Bustamante: Ixcanul
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Radu Muntean: One Floor Below
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Barry Levinson: Rock The Kasbah
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • László Nemes: Son Of Saul
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Kent Jones: Hitchcock/Truffaut
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Hou Hsiao-hsien: The Assassin
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Joachim Trier: Louder Than Bombs

 

Same genre: DRAMA
NINA GROSSE • Das Wochenende/The Weekend
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Nanni Moretti: Mia Madre
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Andrew Haigh: 45 Years
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Ole Giæver , Marte Vold: Out of Nature
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Jayro Bustamante: Ixcanul
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Radu Muntean: One Floor Below
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • László Nemes: Son Of Saul
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Joachim Trier: Louder Than Bombs
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Alejandro Amenábar: Regression
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Thomas Bidegain: Les Cowboys

Music reviews

15
02
QUAL
Cyber Care
14
02
0KONTROL
3RDEYE2NDHAND
12
02
LIEBKNECHT
ICE over Erfurt
11
02
THE SPECIALS
Encore
02
02
PRINCIPE VALIENTE
Choirs of Blessed Youth
20
01
DEAD HIGH WIRE
Pray for us

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

15
02
This month it’s been 23 years since Ministry released their cover version of Bob Dylan’s ‘Lay Lady Lay’!
15
02
This February, it's 32 years since Kraftwerk released 'The Telephone Call / Der Telefon-Anruf'.
14
02
One year ago Peek-a-Boo and Black Easter founder Ward De Prins passed away...
14
02
Today, exactly 40 years ago, John Peel broadcast the first Peel Sessions, performed by Joy Division
13
02
In The Light | Happy Birthday Peter Hook!
12
02
Producer/composer Phil Western (Download/PlatEAU/...) passed way on Saturday 9 February.

Concert reviews

15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

16
02
THE ARCH
Living healthy can be pretty stressful
16
02
EVI VINE
'..I am a human being taking one step forward-two steps back like everyone else'
15
02
MORTAJA
It Always Has Been My Dream And I'm Enjoying It A Lot
13
02
MONICA RICHARDS
I always felt out of step with the Modern world, ever since I was a child, I do even more so now.
09
02
SIMON SCOTT (SLOWDIVE)
'We've always wanted to have a say in our production.'

PHOTOS

10
02
LORDS OF ACID
YAP Leopoldsburg
20
12
COVENANT
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium
20
12
LEAETHER STRIP
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium
20
12
AGENT SIDE GRINDER
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium
20
12
GERTRUD STEIN
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium
20
12
NZ
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium
20
12
STAHLR
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

16
02
WULFBAND
Gewalt!
15
02
UNDERVIEWER
Nobody But You (Redux)
14
02
CLAN OF XYMOX
Obsession
13
02
CROONA
Bleed For Me (Official Video Mix)
12
02
COMBICHRIST
My Life My Rules
11
02
SLOVENSKA TELEVIZA
Muskiz
11
02
ALVAR
The Fluid