tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this movie review

20/10/2015 : FILMFEST GHENT 2015 - Thomas Bidegain: Les Cowboys

FILMFEST GHENT 2015

Thomas Bidegain: Les Cowboys

Movie
Drama

[64/100]   

Filmfest Gent
20/10/2015, Didier BECU

EN

Thomas Bidegain is a big name in the French film world since het wrote scenarios for Jacques Audiard (Un Prophète, De Rouille et D'os and Dheepan) and his work is praised enormously, but with Les Cowboys he makes his directing debut.

Don’t be scared of the title, because fortunately you’re not going to see a French western. It's about people who think that they’re John Wayne. Alain (François Damiens) is such a man who thinks that he was born in the wrong country. During a cowboy event things go wrong when his daughter Kelly disappears. After some research it shows that the teen has run away with her Muslim boyfriend and has broken all ties with her family.

Bidegain has kept the political message of his Audiard releases, but as a director he is just doing a too mediocre job to convince. Especially the first part that takes place in Belgium (with a surprisingly good François Damiens), is a beautiful piece of contemporary cinema, but things go wrong in the second part, in which the setting is moved to the Middle East. The logic is sometimes lost in the script, but we definitely have seen worse debuts than Les Cowboys...

Didier BECU
20/10/2015


NL

In de Franse filmwereld is Thomas Bidegain al een tijdje een grote naam, want als vaste scenarioschrijver van Jacques Audiard (Un ProphèteDe Rouille et d'os en Dheepan) zijn de lovende woorden over hem nauwelijks bij te houden, maar met Les Cowboys probeert hij het zelf als filmmaker.

Schrik vooral niet van de titel, want gelukkig krijg je geen Franse western te zien, wel gaat het over mensen die zich tijdens hun vrije tijd John Wayne wanen. Alain (François Damiens) is ook zo’n man die denkt dat hij in het verkeerde land is geboren, maar tijdens een cowboyevent lopen de dingen verkeerd af als zijn dochter Kelly verdwijnt. Na wat speurwerk blijkt dat de tiener er met haar moslimvriend vandoor is en alle banden met haar westerse familie heeft verbroken.

De politieke boodschap heeft Bidegain zeker behouden, maar als regisseur is hij net iets te matig om voldoende te overtuigen. Vooral het eerste gedeelte, dat zich in België afspeelt (en met een verrassend goede François Damiens), is een mooi stukje hedendaagse cinema, maar in het tweede deel waarin het decor zich naar het Midden Oosten verplaatst, loopt het wat mank. De logica in het script is soms wat zoek, want alles komt net iets te eenvoudig op zijn pootjes terecht om geloofwaardig te zijn. Maar goed, we hebben al slechtere debuten gezien dan Les Cowboys

Didier BECU
20/10/2015


Music reviews

23
02
THE HEAT INC.
EP
23
02
PIG
Pain Is God
22
02
ANTHONY JONES
Farewell To Flesh
18
02
WULF7
Dark Hate
17
02
DEAR DEER / EMBERS
Split
06
02
J:DEAD
A Complicated Genocide

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

05
03
44 years ago Kraftwerk released Trans Europe Express!
04
03
Electro/Industrial Artist I YA TOYAH Unleashes New Single & Video, 'Out Of Order'
04
03
Firestarter | Celebrating The Sound Of The Prodigy And The Impact Of Keith Flint who past away 2 years ago.
03
03
MATHLOVSKY ANNOUNCES NEWEST SINGLE AND LP
02
03
DINOSAUR JR. ANNOUCE NEWEST LP TO BE RELEASED IN APRIL
02
03
Through The Looking Glass | The Siouxsie & The Banshees Masterpiece Released 34 Years Ago Today!

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

12
02
DIVE
We All Can Ask Us The Question ‘Where Do We Go From Here?'
10
02
RAYMOND WATTS (PIG)
'It’s not a re-discovery. It’s finding the way in to let the stuff out...'
02
02
JOHN 3:16
I regularly come across animal remains at various stages of decomposition. That started to affect me, and that's where the concept of the record was born.
07
01
MAMAN KUSTERS
‘Let’s Keep It Intriguing
16
12
THE BREATH OF LIFE
'No, I never considered quitting making music. Nor to taste good special beers.'

PHOTOS

25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival
20
08
JUSTIN SULLIVAN & GASTONE
Kreisverwaltung Groß-Gerau

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

06
03
ECHO BEATTY
SOLDIER ON FURLOUGH
05
03
THE ARCH
Alien Ann
04
03
MERCIFUL NUNS
Broken Column
03
03
BLOODY KNIVES
Reflection Lies
02
03
GAVIN FRIDAY
It's All Ahead Of You
01
03
THE BREATH OF LIFE
CRIME PASSIONNEL
28
02
LCN (LE CHOCOLAT NOIR)
N'Écoutez Pas Tous Les Conseils De Vos Amis (Official Music Video)