tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this movie review

20/10/2015 : FILMFEST GHENT 2015 - Thomas Bidegain: Les Cowboys

FILMFEST GHENT 2015

Thomas Bidegain: Les Cowboys

Movie
Drama

[64/100]   

Filmfest Gent
20/10/2015, Didier BECU

EN

Thomas Bidegain is a big name in the French film world since het wrote scenarios for Jacques Audiard (Un Prophète, De Rouille et D'os and Dheepan) and his work is praised enormously, but with Les Cowboys he makes his directing debut.

Don’t be scared of the title, because fortunately you’re not going to see a French western. It's about people who think that they’re John Wayne. Alain (François Damiens) is such a man who thinks that he was born in the wrong country. During a cowboy event things go wrong when his daughter Kelly disappears. After some research it shows that the teen has run away with her Muslim boyfriend and has broken all ties with her family.

Bidegain has kept the political message of his Audiard releases, but as a director he is just doing a too mediocre job to convince. Especially the first part that takes place in Belgium (with a surprisingly good François Damiens), is a beautiful piece of contemporary cinema, but things go wrong in the second part, in which the setting is moved to the Middle East. The logic is sometimes lost in the script, but we definitely have seen worse debuts than Les Cowboys...

Didier BECU
20/10/2015


NL

In de Franse filmwereld is Thomas Bidegain al een tijdje een grote naam, want als vaste scenarioschrijver van Jacques Audiard (Un ProphèteDe Rouille et d'os en Dheepan) zijn de lovende woorden over hem nauwelijks bij te houden, maar met Les Cowboys probeert hij het zelf als filmmaker.

Schrik vooral niet van de titel, want gelukkig krijg je geen Franse western te zien, wel gaat het over mensen die zich tijdens hun vrije tijd John Wayne wanen. Alain (François Damiens) is ook zo’n man die denkt dat hij in het verkeerde land is geboren, maar tijdens een cowboyevent lopen de dingen verkeerd af als zijn dochter Kelly verdwijnt. Na wat speurwerk blijkt dat de tiener er met haar moslimvriend vandoor is en alle banden met haar westerse familie heeft verbroken.

De politieke boodschap heeft Bidegain zeker behouden, maar als regisseur is hij net iets te matig om voldoende te overtuigen. Vooral het eerste gedeelte, dat zich in België afspeelt (en met een verrassend goede François Damiens), is een mooi stukje hedendaagse cinema, maar in het tweede deel waarin het decor zich naar het Midden Oosten verplaatst, loopt het wat mank. De logica in het script is soms wat zoek, want alles komt net iets te eenvoudig op zijn pootjes terecht om geloofwaardig te zijn. Maar goed, we hebben al slechtere debuten gezien dan Les Cowboys

Didier BECU
20/10/2015


Music reviews

28
07
WULF7
I don't want (Anymore)
06
07
TRAGIC IMPULSE
Distant Worlds
04
07
RAMMSTEIN
Zeit
27
06
BALVANERA
Courses of Action
14
06
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Gift For You
10
06
SAMHAIN
Experiment

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

08
08
32 years of Head/Down with MOEV
07
08
Neo-Fanfare/Darkwave Band, Crooniek Reflects On The Concept Of Time With New Album
06
08
Post-Punk Artist Daniel Ouellette Brings Life To A Haunted House With New Album
05
08
Industrial bass artist SINthetik Messiah addresses violence in The Vatican with new single
05
08
NOISE UNIT is back in full force!
05
08
Industrial artist, Nuda addresses past trauma & mental illness with 'Trigger'

Concert reviews

05
07
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

05
08
MOTOR!K
I have to admit that I often still find it strange and difficult to grasp: people going crazy on three weirdos playing some repetitive music
12
07
FERALIA PLANITIA & DAS AUGE
'Thanks to our overlapping tastes in music, we became good friends; music was our cement, sort of speak…'
18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.

PHOTOS

08
08
NEW MODEL ARMY
Rockfabrik Uebach-Palenberg
05
08
RAMMSTEIN
Park De Nieuwe Koers Oostende
02
08
SHE PAST AWAY
Amphi Festival Keulen
02
08
FROZEN PLASMA
Amphi Festival Keulen
02
08
MONO INC.
Amphi Festival Keulen
02
08
[:SITD:]
Amphi Festival Keulen
02
08
MESH
Amphi Festival Keulen

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

09
08
WE NEVER MET
Come Play With Fire
08
08
ROSARUBEA
Window Pain
07
08
CREMATORY
Haus Mit Garten
06
08
K-X-P
Space Precious Time
05
08
MONICA JEFFRIES
In Circles
04
08
ILLUMININE
For What It's Worth (Live at Sundlaugin Studio)
03
08
THE CURE
A Forest (Live in Paris 1979)