tempobet yeni adresi
like this digital review

19/10/2015 : NEW ORDER - Restless (Agoria Remix)

NEW ORDER

Restless (Agoria Remix)

MusicDigital
Synth Pop / Electro Pop

[74/100]   

PIAS
19/10/2015, Benny CALUWE

Restless was released as a single this summer to promote New Order’s upcoming 10th album Music Complete. It’s the first album in a decade. The first album since the return of Gillian Gilbert, the wife of drummer Stephen Morris. It’s also the first album featuring Tom Chapman, who replaces the legendary bass player Peter Hook. Chapman was involved in Bad Lieutenant, the side project of Bernard Summer and Phil Cunningham.

The original Restless single received mixed reviews in the press. Before I heard the single myself, I read some good reviews, but I especially remembered the terrible ones. Anyway I tried to listen to it with an open mind, without any prejudices. Personally, I liked what I heard. Unlike the title suggests, the song sounds kind of relaxed. Bernard Summer’s guitars blend in nicely with the electronics. His distinctive voice and that balanced New Order sound both sound familiar. The song criticises the consumption society.

It’s a nice song, but the touch of the New Order magic is missing. Is Peter Hook’s bass missing? Could be. The bass lines are less remarkable and less prominent than they used to be. But one can’t answer this question after only hearing one track. You can’t judge a football coach on one game either.

Recently Restless (Agoria Remix) was released on PIAS. It’s extended in length. Bits of piano were added; there are more string arrangements, but it stays quite close to the original. Although this version is more danceable, it remains easy going and mellow as well. Agoria is the alter ego of Sébastien Devaud by the way. He's a French electronic record producer, composer and DJ.

OK, Restless obviously isn’t a Bizarre Love Triangle or Blue Monday. It isn’t even The Perfect Kiss with a girl named Crystal. But it sure is way better than a lot of other synth pop songs I heard or reviewed lately. I remain curious to discover Music Complete. Restless didn’t change that at all.

Below you can check out the Restless video with its references to King Arthur and Excalibur.

Benny CALUWE
19/10/2015


19/10/2015 : NEW ORDER - Restless (Agoria Remix) 19/10/2015 : NEW ORDER - Restless (Agoria Remix)

Music reviews

27
01
6TH CROWD
Самозванцы (Samozvantsiy)
18
01
RINGFINGER
Pressure
16
01
SYRENOMILIA
A Rose Shattered
14
01
M73
Tainted
09
01
NEGANT
Schwarz!
08
01
MORE EPHEMEROL
Obituary Templates

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

29
01
On this day, 37 years ago, Fad Gadget performed at the Amsterdam Meervaart Theatre.
28
01
ASHRR’S Dark Industrialized New Single, “ALL YOURS ALL MINE (DARKER DAYS MIX)” Is Streaming Now
25
01
Exactly 42 years ago, Joy Division played their very first concert!
24
01
Canadian DJ/Multi-Genre Artist JHNN Reveals New Single And Video 'My Strange Addiction'
24
01
Today, exactly 29 ago years ago Front 242 released the album Tyranny ▶For You◀
24
01
Today, 2 years ago, Mark E. Smith, singer of legendary post-punk band The Fall died, aged 60

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

24
01
TREY GUNN (KING CRIMSON,TU ,SECURITY PROJECT,...)
'I’m trying to set up an experiential thing...'
20
01
AARON TURNER (SUMAC, ISIS, MAMIFFER...)
'It’s like a dialogue between me and what I’m hearing...'
19
01
IAN EVERETT (SOLID BRONZE)
'had a lot of time to sit with these songs...'
17
01
BROOK
I’ve soaked up a lot of musical genres over the years, and I like to think that maybe this is reflected throughout the Brook album.
15
01
ORDO ROSARIUS EQUILIBRIO
I never thought I’d live to see the day when Ordo Rosarius Equilibrio was mentioned next to Current 93 and Death in June.

PHOTOS

26
01
FIX8:SED8
Oefenbunker Landgraaf
26
01
GRAUSAME TOCHTER
Oefenbunker Landgraaf
26
01
LAPIS EXILIS
Oefenbuker Landgraaf
25
01
ASHBURY HEIGHTS
Rockpalast Matrix Bochum Germany
25
01
MASSIVE EGO
Rockpalast Matrix Bochum Germany
19
01
DAGEIST
Dark Winter Festival Liège
19
01
THE ARCH
Dark Winter Festival Liège

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

29
01
TALK TO HER
IBISCO
28
01
BIG TIME KILL
Again and Again
28
01
DEPECHE MODE
Enjoy The Silence
27
01
GEOMETRIC VISION
Apocalypse Queen
26
01
MASSENHYSTERIE
Weiber regieren die Welt
25
01
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
Armored Core
24
01
DE DELVERS
Poolnacht