tempobet yeni adresi
like this digital review

19/10/2015 : NEW ORDER - Restless (Agoria Remix)

NEW ORDER

Restless (Agoria Remix)

MusicDigital
Synth Pop / Electro Pop

[74/100]   

PIAS
19/10/2015, Benny CALUWE

Restless was released as a single this summer to promote New Order’s upcoming 10th album Music Complete. It’s the first album in a decade. The first album since the return of Gillian Gilbert, the wife of drummer Stephen Morris. It’s also the first album featuring Tom Chapman, who replaces the legendary bass player Peter Hook. Chapman was involved in Bad Lieutenant, the side project of Bernard Summer and Phil Cunningham.

The original Restless single received mixed reviews in the press. Before I heard the single myself, I read some good reviews, but I especially remembered the terrible ones. Anyway I tried to listen to it with an open mind, without any prejudices. Personally, I liked what I heard. Unlike the title suggests, the song sounds kind of relaxed. Bernard Summer’s guitars blend in nicely with the electronics. His distinctive voice and that balanced New Order sound both sound familiar. The song criticises the consumption society.

It’s a nice song, but the touch of the New Order magic is missing. Is Peter Hook’s bass missing? Could be. The bass lines are less remarkable and less prominent than they used to be. But one can’t answer this question after only hearing one track. You can’t judge a football coach on one game either.

Recently Restless (Agoria Remix) was released on PIAS. It’s extended in length. Bits of piano were added; there are more string arrangements, but it stays quite close to the original. Although this version is more danceable, it remains easy going and mellow as well. Agoria is the alter ego of Sébastien Devaud by the way. He's a French electronic record producer, composer and DJ.

OK, Restless obviously isn’t a Bizarre Love Triangle or Blue Monday. It isn’t even The Perfect Kiss with a girl named Crystal. But it sure is way better than a lot of other synth pop songs I heard or reviewed lately. I remain curious to discover Music Complete. Restless didn’t change that at all.

Below you can check out the Restless video with its references to King Arthur and Excalibur.

Benny CALUWE
19/10/2015


19/10/2015 : NEW ORDER - Restless (Agoria Remix) 19/10/2015 : NEW ORDER - Restless (Agoria Remix)

Music reviews

17
05
LISA MORGENSTERN
Chameleon
16
05
VEIL OF LIGHT
Inflict
15
05
KIM THOMPSETT
The Hollows
14
05
L7
Scatter The Rats
13
05
SIGNAL AOUT 42
Insurrection
08
05
KRISTIN HERSH
Crooked (Reissue)

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

16
05
45 years of Diamond Dogs (David Bowie)
15
05
On this day, 29 years ago, British post-punk band Wire released their 7th studio album Manscape
14
05
'Locating Silver Lake' out on DVD today!
13
05
Today it’s exactly 22 years ago Nine Inch Nails released their The Perfect Drug (Versions) EP!
12
05
Legendary Gothic/Death Rock Band CHRISTIAN DEATH Announces Forthcoming European Tour & First Ever Live Video Chat/'Forgiven' Video Premiere
12
05
This month it’s been 41 years since Kraftwerk released Die Roboter / The Robots!

Concert reviews

15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

10
05
APSURDE
No Matter What We Do, We Will Always Sound Like Depeche Mode
09
05
ANDY GILL (GANG OF FOUR)
'You never expect Gang of Four to be very optimistic.Do you ?'
29
04
STACY COCHRAN
'I didn’t want to write something cruel; I wanted to find the daily fears and even some transcendent pragmatism inside a complicated set of characters...'
28
04
KILL SHELTER
There Is An Inherent Darkness And Sadness In The Music I Create
27
04
VANGUARD
We Had The Concept Of Doing Something That Ties Man And Machine Together

PHOTOS

20
05
THE ARCH
New Waves Day,Turbinenhalle Oberhausen
16
05
ABDOMEN
Poppodium Grenswerk,Venlo
16
05
BOJACKS
Poppodium Grenswerk,Venlo
16
05
THE OTHER
Poppodium Grenswerk,Venlo
16
05
CLAN OF XYMOX
Poppodium Grenswerk,Venlo
12
05
PRAGA KHAN
YAP Leopoldsburg
05
05
DER KLINKE
MysteriA Fantasy-Fair Aarschot

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

20
05
LUCIFER'S DREAM
Elixir of Isis
19
05
SIOUXSIE & THE BANSHEES
You're Lost Little Girl
18
05
GROUND NERO
Dark Descent
17
05
JAN SWERTS
Meer Is Er Niet
16
05
IAN MCCULLOCH
Lover Lover Lover
15
05
DELEYAMAN
Secret Treasures
14
05
IN DEATH IT ENDS
the most holy death