tempobet yeni adresi
like this digital review

19/10/2015 : NEW ORDER - Restless (Agoria Remix)

NEW ORDER

Restless (Agoria Remix)

MusicDigital
Synth Pop / Electro Pop

[74/100]   

PIAS
19/10/2015, Benny CALUWE

Restless was released as a single this summer to promote New Order’s upcoming 10th album Music Complete. It’s the first album in a decade. The first album since the return of Gillian Gilbert, the wife of drummer Stephen Morris. It’s also the first album featuring Tom Chapman, who replaces the legendary bass player Peter Hook. Chapman was involved in Bad Lieutenant, the side project of Bernard Summer and Phil Cunningham.

The original Restless single received mixed reviews in the press. Before I heard the single myself, I read some good reviews, but I especially remembered the terrible ones. Anyway I tried to listen to it with an open mind, without any prejudices. Personally, I liked what I heard. Unlike the title suggests, the song sounds kind of relaxed. Bernard Summer’s guitars blend in nicely with the electronics. His distinctive voice and that balanced New Order sound both sound familiar. The song criticises the consumption society.

It’s a nice song, but the touch of the New Order magic is missing. Is Peter Hook’s bass missing? Could be. The bass lines are less remarkable and less prominent than they used to be. But one can’t answer this question after only hearing one track. You can’t judge a football coach on one game either.

Recently Restless (Agoria Remix) was released on PIAS. It’s extended in length. Bits of piano were added; there are more string arrangements, but it stays quite close to the original. Although this version is more danceable, it remains easy going and mellow as well. Agoria is the alter ego of Sébastien Devaud by the way. He's a French electronic record producer, composer and DJ.

OK, Restless obviously isn’t a Bizarre Love Triangle or Blue Monday. It isn’t even The Perfect Kiss with a girl named Crystal. But it sure is way better than a lot of other synth pop songs I heard or reviewed lately. I remain curious to discover Music Complete. Restless didn’t change that at all.

Below you can check out the Restless video with its references to King Arthur and Excalibur.

Benny CALUWE
19/10/2015


19/10/2015 : NEW ORDER - Restless (Agoria Remix) 19/10/2015 : NEW ORDER - Restless (Agoria Remix)

Music reviews

20
03
LADYTRON
Ladytron
19
03
DER KLINKE
Decade
18
03
ORPHAN GOGGLES/ ACID MOTHERS TEMPLE & THE MELTING PARAISO U.F.O
Split Single
14
03
DEZ MONA
Book Of Many
13
03
DAVID J
Thoughts And Prayers
11
03
FRED ABONG
Pulsing Ep

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

21
03
Today, exactly 29 years ago, Nine Inch Nails released their second single Head Like a Hole!
20
03
Today it’s been 29 years since Nitzer Ebb released their third studio album Showtime!
19
03
Just One Fix | Seventeen Years Since Ministry Unleashed Sphinctour
18
03
Today, 39 years ago, Joy Division released 'Licht und Blindheit'.
17
03
The Ignition Of Irish Punk | The Radiators From Space
17
03
A Darker Shade Of Green | The Virgin Prunes On Saint Patrick’s Day

Concert reviews

15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

16
03
STEVE IGNORANT (CRASS)
'I think what drives me is the endless injustice that goes through life.'
11
03
SYNAPSCAPE
A Fascinating Challenge About Bringing New Life Into Old Tracks
10
03
BIG JOHN DUNCAN
'I don't like to copy things, I like to try and be original and always happy!'
09
03
MISSING IN STARS
'This music is for everyone, even my closest metal friends support it...'
08
03
DEAN GARCIA - SPC ECO + CURVE
“..I love recording, it's one of the only things that is completely absorbing for me..”

PHOTOS

10
03
DER KLINKE
De Klinker Aarschot
10
03
A SLICE OF LIFE
De Klinker Aarschot
10
03
DEAD HIGH WIRE
De Klinker Aarschot
10
03
HATCHLING
De Klinker Aarschot
06
03
LAIBACH
Botanique Brussel
27
02
IAMX
La Madeleine Brussel
24
02
WULFBAND
De Casino St Niklaas

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

21
03
JO QUAIL
Gold
20
03
CLAN OF XYMOX
Clan Of Xymox - Vixen In Disguise (Official Video)
19
03
HANTE
Living In A French Movie
18
03
HAUSCHKA
Craco
17
03
DIVE
Sidewalk Sinner - Snakedressed
16
03
CHRONIC TWILIGHT
Mark of Cain (official lyric video)
15
03
THE YOUNG GODS
Figure sans nom