tempobet yeni adresi
like this digital review

19/10/2015 : NEW ORDER - Restless (Agoria Remix)

NEW ORDER

Restless (Agoria Remix)

MusicDigital
Synth Pop / Electro Pop

[74/100]   

PIAS
19/10/2015, Benny CALUWE

Restless was released as a single this summer to promote New Order’s upcoming 10th album Music Complete. It’s the first album in a decade. The first album since the return of Gillian Gilbert, the wife of drummer Stephen Morris. It’s also the first album featuring Tom Chapman, who replaces the legendary bass player Peter Hook. Chapman was involved in Bad Lieutenant, the side project of Bernard Summer and Phil Cunningham.

The original Restless single received mixed reviews in the press. Before I heard the single myself, I read some good reviews, but I especially remembered the terrible ones. Anyway I tried to listen to it with an open mind, without any prejudices. Personally, I liked what I heard. Unlike the title suggests, the song sounds kind of relaxed. Bernard Summer’s guitars blend in nicely with the electronics. His distinctive voice and that balanced New Order sound both sound familiar. The song criticises the consumption society.

It’s a nice song, but the touch of the New Order magic is missing. Is Peter Hook’s bass missing? Could be. The bass lines are less remarkable and less prominent than they used to be. But one can’t answer this question after only hearing one track. You can’t judge a football coach on one game either.

Recently Restless (Agoria Remix) was released on PIAS. It’s extended in length. Bits of piano were added; there are more string arrangements, but it stays quite close to the original. Although this version is more danceable, it remains easy going and mellow as well. Agoria is the alter ego of Sébastien Devaud by the way. He's a French electronic record producer, composer and DJ.

OK, Restless obviously isn’t a Bizarre Love Triangle or Blue Monday. It isn’t even The Perfect Kiss with a girl named Crystal. But it sure is way better than a lot of other synth pop songs I heard or reviewed lately. I remain curious to discover Music Complete. Restless didn’t change that at all.

Below you can check out the Restless video with its references to King Arthur and Excalibur.

Benny CALUWE
19/10/2015


19/10/2015 : NEW ORDER - Restless (Agoria Remix) 19/10/2015 : NEW ORDER - Restless (Agoria Remix)

Music reviews

05
07
JAYE JAYLE
PRISYN
03
07
PORTION CONTROL
Head Buried
02
07
AIMA & THE ILLUSION OF SILENCE
Music for certain rituals
28
06
VARIOUS ARTISTS
PERIHELION 2134
24
06
COLD IN MAY
Isolation songs
19
06
UNITCODE:MACHINE
Paper empires

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

07
07
Darkwave Band STYKFAKTOR Reveals New Single, 'Distance' - An Emotional Struggle With Social Distancing
07
07
FRONT 242's Daniel B. celebrate his 66th birthday with the release of 6+6
04
07
Industrial Band RIOTLEGION Announces The Release Of Machine Liberation
03
07
I Wanted To Tell Her by Ministry turns 37 years this month!
15
06
Today it’s exactly 41 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).
11
06
29 years of Kraftwerk in The Mix

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

06
07
J.ROBBINS
'When someone has a song and they’re struggling about - what’s the best way to present it...'
04
07
LAIBACH
When they banned Laibach, we said 'great, let's move further'!
27
06
BURTON C.BELL (FEAR FACTORY, ASCENSION OF THE WATCHERS )
'It all comes from my head – whatever I’m feeling, whatever I’m thinking of.'
27
06
RODNEY ORPHEUS / THE CASSANDRA COMPLEX
I Think I’m Still As Revolutionary And Opinionated As Ever...
25
06
THE COLOURS OF SILENCE
Isolation Is Good For Art. Embrace It And Use It

PHOTOS

13
03
SIGLO XX
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
ROME
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ROSE OF AVALANCHE
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE DANSE SOCIETY
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ARCH
Porta Nigra Aarschot
11
03
FRONT 242
Pulse Namur Isnes
11
03
SHAARGHOT
Pulse Namur Isnes

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

08
07
RYUICHI SAKAMOTO & DAVID SYLVIAN
Life, Life
07
07
KDF
Innocence
06
07
SNOG
Spätzle Machine
06
07
THE HORRORIST
The Horrorist - One Night In New York City (Uncensored)(Chris Liebing Remix)
05
07
GOLDFRAPP
Winter Wonderland
04
07
LORDS OF ACID
I Sit On Acid
03
07
DEAD CAN DANCE
Eleusis