tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this documentary review

20/10/2015 : FILMFEST GHENT 2015 - Kent Jones: Hitchcock/Truffaut

FILMFEST GHENT 2015

Kent Jones: Hitchcock/Truffaut

MovieDocumentary
Documentary

[78/100]   

Filmfest Gent
20/10/2015, Didier BECU

EN

Reportedly Vertigo is the best movie ever (even though many critics mercilessly torn it to shreds on the occasion of the release) and Alfred Hitchcock is hyped as the greatest film director ever, but it took a while before they gave him that title.

Maybe it had something to do with the big mouth of the master of suspense, because the director didn’t hesitate to compare the actors with cattle and he gave film critics a hard time too. It was François Truffaut who, as reporter for Les Cahiers du Cinema, changed that. The founder of the nouvelle vague had just made three groundbreaking films (including Jules Et Jim and Les 400 Coups) when he invited the director for an interview that would last eight days. The conversation was not only the basis for a friendship, the French director also wrote a book about Hitchcock which still stands as one of the most important cinematic writings.

Kent Jones made a very interesting documentary about this historic conversation, and filmmakers such as Wes Anderson, Olivier Assayas, Peter Bogdanovich, Arnaud Desplechin, David Fincher, James Gray, Richard Linklater and Martin Scorsese also tell why Hitchcock is the biggest.

You might need some film knowledge to really appreciate this documentary, but if you consider yourself a true cinephile, then you have no excuse not to see this work!

Didier BECU
20/10/2015


NL

Naar verluidt is Vertigo de allerbeste film ooit (ook al werd hij bij de release door menig critici genadeloos de grond ingeboord), en Alfred Hitchcock wordt door zowat iedereen opgehemeld als de allergrootste regisseurs ooit, maar het duurde een tijdje vooraleer men hem die titel schonk. Misschien had het wel iets te maken met de grote mond van de master of suspense, want de regisseur deinsde er niet voor terug om de acteurs droogweg met vee te vergelijken en ook de filmcritici hadden het zwaar te verduren. Het was François Truffaut die, als journalist bij Les Cahiers Du Cinema, daar verandering in bracht. De grondlegger van de nouvelle vague had net drie baanbrekende films uit (waaronder Jules Et Jim en Les 400 Coups) en hij nodigde de regisseur uit voor een interview dat in totaal acht dagen zou duren. Het gesprek werd niet alleen de basis voor een vriendschap, maar nadien schreef de Franse regisseur ook een boek over Hitchcock dat vandaag nog altijd geboekstaafd staat als één van de allerbelangrijkste cinematografische schrijfsels.

Over dit historisch gesprek maakte Kent Jones een ontzettend interessante documentaire, en daarnaast vertellen ook cineasten zoals Wes Anderson, Olivier Assayas, Peter Bogdanovich, Arnaud Desplechin, David Fincher, James Gray, Richard Linklater en Martin Scorsese je waarom Hitchcock de allergrootste is.

Je moet misschien wel wat filmkennis hebben om ten volle van deze documentaire te kunnen genieten, maar indien je jezelf als een cinefiel beschouwt, heb je geen enkel excuus om dit werk niet te zien!

Didier BECU
20/10/2015


Music reviews

18
11
AD:KEY
Resonanz
17
11
SWANS
Children Of GodFeel Good Now
16
11
ERASURE
THE NEON
14
11
ASSEMBLAGE 23
Mourn
19
10
DREADFOOL
Atoms for peace
18
10
ANNA VON HAUSSWOLFF
All Thoughts Fly Sweden

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

23
11
The Public’s Image Of Metal Box | The PiL Classic 41-Years On
21
11
The Last Beat of My Heart by Siouxsie and the Banshees was released 32 years ago!
21
11
Isn't Anything (album) by My Bloody Valentine turns 32 today!
17
11
40 years of Grotesque by The Fall
17
11
Lord Of The Lost release Fears - 10th Anniversary Edition -
13
11
Today, 39 years ago, New Order released its debut album Movement!

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing
31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

14
11
PROYECTO MIRAGE
I Think We Needed A Break
21
10
DELERITAS
EBM-Indus Night Liège : The bands presented... Deleritas!
20
10
WULF7
EBM-Indus Night Liège : The bands presented... WÜLF7!
19
10
LISA GERRARD (DEAD CAN DANCE)
'I love the innocent dangers that can be experienced in musical performance...'
18
10
SERAPHIM SYSTEM
A Glorious Return To Form

PHOTOS

25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival
20
08
JUSTIN SULLIVAN & GASTONE
Kreisverwaltung Groß-Gerau

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

23
11
FOETUS
Here Comes The Rain
22
11
A SPLIT-SECOND
Flesh
21
11
LIEF HALL
Roses for Ruins
20
11
FEAR FACTORY
Expiration Date
19
11
WULFBAND
Kalt Blut
18
11
NINE INCH NAILS
Closer
17
11
BLACK NAIL CABARET
My Casual God