tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this documentary review

22/07/2015 : DOMINIQUE MOLLARD - Adrift: People Of A Lesser God

DOMINIQUE MOLLARD

Adrift: People Of A Lesser God

MovieDocumentary
Documentary

[66/100]   

Simply Media
22/07/2015, Didier BECU

EN

This year we were overwhelmed with news about people who make the journey from Africa to Spain or Italy in rickety boats to seek a better life. These refugees are a major problem for European countries, but even worse is the tragedy that they experience themselves. It may seem like a very recent problem, still Dominique Mollard already made a documentary about this subject five years ago.

Adrift: People Of A Lesser God is an extremely bold project, because Mollard went undercover in a boat of refugees. Along with 30 people he defies the dangers of the sea and the painful humiliations that they have to swallow by those who have the power. The arguments of the illegal immigrants often make no sense, yet it is difficult for a Westerner to keep his eyes dry when hearing all the misery these poor sods have endured.

Dominique Mollard made a touching documentary, but because of the difficult conditions (the rough sea or the prohibition of filming), many images are of a lesser quality. That (and the dull narrative voice) are the only minor points of Adrift: People Of A Lesser God.

It is the first time that a filmmaker made a documentary on this subject. If you want to see this hellish, dangerous ride, you can now watch it on DVD. Out on Simply Media.

Didier BECU
22/07/2015


NL

Dit jaar worden we overspoeld met nieuwsberichten ove mensen die in krakkemikkige bootjes de tocht van Afrika naar Spanje of Italië maken. De opvang van deze vluchtelingen is een groot probleem voor de Europese landen, maar nog erger is de tragedie die de mensen zelf meemaken. Het lijkt misschien een zeer recent probleem, desalniettemin maakte Dominique Mollard er reeds vijf jaar geleden een documentaire over.

Adrift: People of a Lesser God is een uiterst gedurfde zet, want Mollard ging undercover in een bootje met vluchtelingen mee. Samen met 30 mensen trotseert hij de gevaren van de zee en de pijnlijke vernederingen die ze moeten slikken van zij die de macht hebben. De argumenten van de illegalen houden vaak geen steek, toch is het moeilijk om als westerling je ogen droog te houden bij het horen van de ellende die deze stakkerds moeten doorstaan.

Dominique Mollard maakte een aangrijpende documentaire, maar door de moeilijke omstandigheden (een ruwe zee of het verbod om te filmen) zijn de meeste beelden van mindere kwaliteit. Dat (en de saaie vertelstem) zijn dan ook de enige minpunten van Adrift: People Of A Lesser God.

Het is de eerste keer dat een filmmaker over dit thema een documentaire maakt. Wie deze helse, levensgevaarlijke rit op de beeldbuis wil meemaken, kan bij Simply Media terecht. Nu uit op dvd.

Didier BECU
22/07/2015


22/07/2015 : DOMINIQUE MOLLARD - Adrift: People Of A Lesser God 22/07/2015 : DOMINIQUE MOLLARD - Adrift: People Of A Lesser God 22/07/2015 : DOMINIQUE MOLLARD - Adrift: People Of A Lesser God

Music reviews

05
04
KALTE NACHT
The Last Breath
02
04
LOVATARAXX
Tilda Vaast
14
03
THEN COMES SILENCE
Trickery
13
03
DARK MINIMAL PROJECT
Remixes
27
02
WHISPERING SONS
The Great Calm
22
02
YOUR ENEMY
Broken Toys

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

11
04
LIVERNOIS Addresses The Human Reaction To Trauma With ':ablation:'
11
04
Celtic Circle Productions founder Alfred Kaenders past away...
06
04
KISS IS KILL Reveals An Anatomy Of Fear With Their New Album
06
04
FLEISCHKRIEG Unveils New Single & Video, 'I Believe In Gnomes'
05
04
Cathedral In Flames Tells A Dark Western Tale With New Single
05
04
E-TROPOLIS FESTIVAL 2025 - SOLAR FAKE, ROTERSAND, EMPATHY TEST & MORE BANDS CONFIRMED!

Concert reviews

16
11
DREADFOOL - EUFORIC EXISTENCE - EULFI
ELECTRO au BNR
09
09
ENZO KREFT - DARK MINIMAL PROJECT - CAUSENATION
@B52 Music Club Eernegem
23
08
AMPHI FESTIVAL 2023
A second opinion...
18
06
ERATO - BLACK SNOW IN SUMMER
Black Planet Fest - @ B 52 Music Club Eernegem - friday 19th of may
18
06
KORINTHIANS, NEL & JP, NONA PROBLEMO
@Charlatan Ghent - 25 mei 2023
06
05
SIOUXSIE
The glorious resurrection after ten years of silence.

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

10
04
ATTRITION
An Interview With The Legendary, ATTRITION
09
04
DE DELVERS
With the lyrics, I try to name things that I see happening around me and to pay attention to what we sometimes prefer to turn our heads away from.
03
04
FRONTAL BOUNDARY
An Interview With Harsh Electro Band, Frontal Boundary
20
03
BESTIAL MOUTHS
An Interview With Bestial Mouths
19
03
TVASHTAR
We never insisted on being an all-female band.

PHOTOS

10
04
GHOST DANCE
Black Spring Festival Engis
10
04
THE MISTRESS OF JERSEY
Black Spring Festival Engis
10
04
GOTTERDAMMERUNG
Black Spring Festival Engis
10
04
JESUS LIVES IN VEGAS
Black Spring Festival Engis
10
04
AZYLUM
Black Spring Festival Engis
01
04
MERCIFUL NUNS
Dark Skies over Witten Werkstadt Witten
01
04
RHOMBUS
Dark Skies over Witten Werkstadt Witten

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

12
04
ATTRITION
Silent Night
11
04
ANNA VON HAUSSWOLFF
The Mysterious Vanishing of Electra
11
04
THE JUGGERNAUTS
Fear v2K18 (12' Mix)
11
04
D.A.F.
Brothers (Live @ BodyFest 2023)
11
04
SCHICKSAL
24 Hours
11
04
THIS MORN' OMINA
(the) rûach (of god) ccf - live 2011
11
04
LIFELESS PAST
A Safer Place (music video)