tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this documentary review

22/07/2015 : DOMINIQUE MOLLARD - Adrift: People Of A Lesser God

DOMINIQUE MOLLARD

Adrift: People Of A Lesser God

MovieDocumentary
Documentary

[66/100]   

Simply Media
22/07/2015, Didier BECU

EN

This year we were overwhelmed with news about people who make the journey from Africa to Spain or Italy in rickety boats to seek a better life. These refugees are a major problem for European countries, but even worse is the tragedy that they experience themselves. It may seem like a very recent problem, still Dominique Mollard already made a documentary about this subject five years ago.

Adrift: People Of A Lesser God is an extremely bold project, because Mollard went undercover in a boat of refugees. Along with 30 people he defies the dangers of the sea and the painful humiliations that they have to swallow by those who have the power. The arguments of the illegal immigrants often make no sense, yet it is difficult for a Westerner to keep his eyes dry when hearing all the misery these poor sods have endured.

Dominique Mollard made a touching documentary, but because of the difficult conditions (the rough sea or the prohibition of filming), many images are of a lesser quality. That (and the dull narrative voice) are the only minor points of Adrift: People Of A Lesser God.

It is the first time that a filmmaker made a documentary on this subject. If you want to see this hellish, dangerous ride, you can now watch it on DVD. Out on Simply Media.

Didier BECU
22/07/2015


NL

Dit jaar worden we overspoeld met nieuwsberichten ove mensen die in krakkemikkige bootjes de tocht van Afrika naar Spanje of Italië maken. De opvang van deze vluchtelingen is een groot probleem voor de Europese landen, maar nog erger is de tragedie die de mensen zelf meemaken. Het lijkt misschien een zeer recent probleem, desalniettemin maakte Dominique Mollard er reeds vijf jaar geleden een documentaire over.

Adrift: People of a Lesser God is een uiterst gedurfde zet, want Mollard ging undercover in een bootje met vluchtelingen mee. Samen met 30 mensen trotseert hij de gevaren van de zee en de pijnlijke vernederingen die ze moeten slikken van zij die de macht hebben. De argumenten van de illegalen houden vaak geen steek, toch is het moeilijk om als westerling je ogen droog te houden bij het horen van de ellende die deze stakkerds moeten doorstaan.

Dominique Mollard maakte een aangrijpende documentaire, maar door de moeilijke omstandigheden (een ruwe zee of het verbod om te filmen) zijn de meeste beelden van mindere kwaliteit. Dat (en de saaie vertelstem) zijn dan ook de enige minpunten van Adrift: People Of A Lesser God.

Het is de eerste keer dat een filmmaker over dit thema een documentaire maakt. Wie deze helse, levensgevaarlijke rit op de beeldbuis wil meemaken, kan bij Simply Media terecht. Nu uit op dvd.

Didier BECU
22/07/2015


22/07/2015 : DOMINIQUE MOLLARD - Adrift: People Of A Lesser God 22/07/2015 : DOMINIQUE MOLLARD - Adrift: People Of A Lesser God 22/07/2015 : DOMINIQUE MOLLARD - Adrift: People Of A Lesser God

Music reviews

22
04
PINK TURNS BLUE
There Must Be So Much More
21
04
POTOCHKINE
Sortilèges
20
04
BLUTENGEL
Fountain of Destiny
19
04
DAEMONIA NYMPHE
Witches' Lullaby
18
04
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Love Was Lies
16
04
AD:KEY
I can't feel you

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

21
04
Today, 35 years ago, Siouxsie and the Banshees released Tinderbox!
16
04
36 years ago, The Sisters Of Mercy performed No Time To Cry on German TV!
16
04
On this day, 36 years ago, The Sisters Of Mercy performed ‘No Time to Cry’ on German TV
15
04
On this day, 20 years ago, FAD GADGET performed his first legendary come-back show!
14
04
In memorian.... The Punk Empowerment Of Poly Styrene (° 3 July 1957 †25 April 2011)
13
04
34 years MUTE records released 'Let Your Body Learn' by Nitzer Ebb!

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

20
04
TERMINAL SERIOUS
I ask myself time after time: can love still save us?
15
04
BLEEDING RAVEN
Never really took myself serious... still don’t...
12
02
DIVE
We All Can Ask Us The Question ‘Where Do We Go From Here?'
10
02
RAYMOND WATTS (PIG)
'It’s not a re-discovery. It’s finding the way in to let the stuff out...'
02
02
JOHN 3:16
I regularly come across animal remains at various stages of decomposition. That started to affect me, and that's where the concept of the record was born.

PHOTOS

15
04
FAD GADGET
Mean Fiddler, London, England
25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

22
04
ANNA VON HAUSSWOLFF
Mountains Crave
21
04
SECRETS OF THE MOON
Man Behind The Sun
20
04
VIOLENT VICKIE
Cicle Square
19
04
VUKOVAR
When Rome Falls (Official Video)
19
04
SECRET ZOO
Enslaved
18
04
TROUBLE FAIT'
Beads of Emerald
17
04
LYNCELIA
Self-Mystery Girl