tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

23/10/2015 : DOUBLE EYELID - Seven Years

DOUBLE EYELID

Seven Years

MusicCD
Post Punk

[76/100]   

Self-released
23/10/2015, Didier BECU

EN

Admit it, if you read in a biography that a band is influenced by Bauhaus, Sex Gang Children, David Bowie, Edith Piaf, and Christian Death, you immediately want to play that record, right? In all fairness, daily our editors are bombarded with new death rock groups that claim the same, while often they are nothing more than a slight decoction of their idols, but that is different with this Toronto band.

The music of singer Ian Revell, guitarist and keyboard player Karl Mohr Benjamin Mueller-Heaslip is even more than just death rock or post-punk. The first song (and also the single) Black Box immediately evokes the dark days of The The, while Diamond Cutter is almost a tribute to the later Wire. Those names do not just fall from the sky, because the ten songs (even including the cover of The Stranger by Rozz Williams) have an idiosyncratic post-punk sound that can be situated somewhere between Television and Bauhaus. So, do not expect any sing-alongs like say Editors or White Lies, but rather intelligent compositions with a dark twist like She's Falling, that could have been written by Nick Cave.

No,this Canadian trio doesn't makes it easy for the listener, but that's a good thing. That is why we still listen to Marquee Moon after 40 years, and that could be the case with Seven Years too!

Didier BECU
23/10/2015


NL

Geef het toe, als je in een biografie leest dat een band zijn invloeden uit Bauhaus, Sex Gang Children, David Bowie, Edith Piaf en Christian Death haalt, dan krijg je toch onmiddellijk zin om zijn muziek in je lader te duwen, niet? Eerlijkheidshalve wordt onze redactie dagelijks bestookt met tal van nieuwe deathrockgroepen die hetzelfde beweren en vaak niet meer zijn dan een flauwe afkooksel van hun idolen, maar dat is bij deze band uit Toronto toch eventjes anders.

De muziek van zanger Ian Revell, gitarist Karl Mohr en keyboardspeler Benjamin Mueller-Heaslip is zelfs meer dan deathrock of postpunk. Het eerste nummer (en tevens de single) Black Box roept meteen de donkere dagen op van The The, terwijl Diamond Cutter bijna een ode aan de latere Wire is. Het zijn geen namen die zo maar uit de lucht zijn gegrepen omdat de tien songs (zelfs inclusief de cover van The Stranger van Rozz Williams) als zeer eigenzinnige postpunk klinken die je ergens tussen Television en Bauhaus kan situeren. Verwacht dus geen kant-en-klare meezingers, maar eerder intelligente composities die steeds een donker tintje hebben, zoals bijv. She’s Falling, dat uit de pen van Nick Cave kon komen.

Neen, dit Canadese trio maakt het de luisteraar niet bepaald gemakkelijk, maar dat is maar goed ook. Daarom luisteren we veertig jaar na datum nog altijd naar Marquee Moon en dat zou met Seven Years ook wel eens het geval kunnen zijn!

 

Didier BECU
23/10/2015


Music reviews

23
02
THE HEAT INC.
EP
23
02
PIG
Pain Is God
22
02
ANTHONY JONES
Farewell To Flesh
18
02
WULF7
Dark Hate
17
02
DEAR DEER / EMBERS
Split
06
02
J:DEAD
A Complicated Genocide

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

04
03
Firestarter | Celebrating The Sound Of The Prodigy And The Impact Of Keith Flint who past away 2 years ago.
03
03
MATHLOVSKY ANNOUNCES NEWEST SINGLE AND LP
02
03
DINOSAUR JR. ANNOUCE NEWEST LP TO BE RELEASED IN APRIL
02
03
Through The Looking Glass | The Siouxsie & The Banshees Masterpiece Released 34 Years Ago Today!
01
03
SEX GANG CHILDREN PREMIERE NEW SINGLE - DEATH MASK MUSSOLINI
28
02
35 years ago Siouxsie and The Banshees released the single Candyman!

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

12
02
DIVE
We All Can Ask Us The Question ‘Where Do We Go From Here?'
10
02
RAYMOND WATTS (PIG)
'It’s not a re-discovery. It’s finding the way in to let the stuff out...'
02
02
JOHN 3:16
I regularly come across animal remains at various stages of decomposition. That started to affect me, and that's where the concept of the record was born.
07
01
MAMAN KUSTERS
‘Let’s Keep It Intriguing
16
12
THE BREATH OF LIFE
'No, I never considered quitting making music. Nor to taste good special beers.'

PHOTOS

25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival
20
08
JUSTIN SULLIVAN & GASTONE
Kreisverwaltung Groß-Gerau

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

04
03
MERCIFUL NUNS
Broken Column
03
03
BLOODY KNIVES
Reflection Lies
02
03
GAVIN FRIDAY
It's All Ahead Of You
01
03
THE BREATH OF LIFE
CRIME PASSIONNEL
28
02
LCN (LE CHOCOLAT NOIR)
N'Écoutez Pas Tous Les Conseils De Vos Amis (Official Music Video)
27
02
ANTIPOLE
Part Deux
26
02
WILDNORTHE
Swamp