tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

23/10/2015 : DOUBLE EYELID - Seven Years

DOUBLE EYELID

Seven Years

MusicCD
Post Punk

[76/100]   

Self-released
23/10/2015, Didier BECU

EN

Admit it, if you read in a biography that a band is influenced by Bauhaus, Sex Gang Children, David Bowie, Edith Piaf, and Christian Death, you immediately want to play that record, right? In all fairness, daily our editors are bombarded with new death rock groups that claim the same, while often they are nothing more than a slight decoction of their idols, but that is different with this Toronto band.

The music of singer Ian Revell, guitarist and keyboard player Karl Mohr Benjamin Mueller-Heaslip is even more than just death rock or post-punk. The first song (and also the single) Black Box immediately evokes the dark days of The The, while Diamond Cutter is almost a tribute to the later Wire. Those names do not just fall from the sky, because the ten songs (even including the cover of The Stranger by Rozz Williams) have an idiosyncratic post-punk sound that can be situated somewhere between Television and Bauhaus. So, do not expect any sing-alongs like say Editors or White Lies, but rather intelligent compositions with a dark twist like She's Falling, that could have been written by Nick Cave.

No,this Canadian trio doesn't makes it easy for the listener, but that's a good thing. That is why we still listen to Marquee Moon after 40 years, and that could be the case with Seven Years too!

Didier BECU
23/10/2015


NL

Geef het toe, als je in een biografie leest dat een band zijn invloeden uit Bauhaus, Sex Gang Children, David Bowie, Edith Piaf en Christian Death haalt, dan krijg je toch onmiddellijk zin om zijn muziek in je lader te duwen, niet? Eerlijkheidshalve wordt onze redactie dagelijks bestookt met tal van nieuwe deathrockgroepen die hetzelfde beweren en vaak niet meer zijn dan een flauwe afkooksel van hun idolen, maar dat is bij deze band uit Toronto toch eventjes anders.

De muziek van zanger Ian Revell, gitarist Karl Mohr en keyboardspeler Benjamin Mueller-Heaslip is zelfs meer dan deathrock of postpunk. Het eerste nummer (en tevens de single) Black Box roept meteen de donkere dagen op van The The, terwijl Diamond Cutter bijna een ode aan de latere Wire is. Het zijn geen namen die zo maar uit de lucht zijn gegrepen omdat de tien songs (zelfs inclusief de cover van The Stranger van Rozz Williams) als zeer eigenzinnige postpunk klinken die je ergens tussen Television en Bauhaus kan situeren. Verwacht dus geen kant-en-klare meezingers, maar eerder intelligente composities die steeds een donker tintje hebben, zoals bijv. She’s Falling, dat uit de pen van Nick Cave kon komen.

Neen, dit Canadese trio maakt het de luisteraar niet bepaald gemakkelijk, maar dat is maar goed ook. Daarom luisteren we veertig jaar na datum nog altijd naar Marquee Moon en dat zou met Seven Years ook wel eens het geval kunnen zijn!

 

Didier BECU
23/10/2015


Music reviews

20
10
PHANTOM OF THE BLACK HILLS
Scalped
19
10
CHRIS WATSON
Locations Processed
18
10
COLE VARGAS
Cole Vargas
16
10
DAVID BOWIE
Low, Heroes, Lodger
15
10
ALVAR
I Sew A Blanket Of All The Broken Clouds
15
10
BAUHAUS
Bela Lugosi’s Dead

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

20
10
CHRISTIAN DEATH Announces Headlining USA East Coast Tour Dates
19
10
Ancient Greek folk ensemble DAEMONIA NYMPHE have announced the re-release of acclaimed album Psychostasia!
18
10
Dive re-releases his fourth studio album 'Snakedressed' on double vinyl
18
10
'Write When You Get Work' screening at Philadelphia Film Festival this weekend - watch the trailer here!
17
10
Belgian post-punk outfit Whispering Sons has announced their long-awaited debut album 'Image'!
16
10
KOLLAPS ANNOUNCES EUROPEAN TOUR 2018

Concert reviews

24
09
MODELE MARTIAL - AUTOPSIE D'UNE OMBRE - IAMTHESHADOW
B52 - Eernegem - 14/09/2018
14
08
WAVE GOTIK TREFFEN
Review from WGT 2018, Leipzig, Germany
10
08
GOLDEN EARRING + THE KIDS
Live at Zulzeekse Feesten, Kluisbergen - Belgium - 28.07.2018
16
07
COVENANT W/ STONEBURNER
Live @ Ivy Smokehouse, Washington DC, 15th April 2018
24
05
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live at De Casino, Sint-Niklaas - Belgium - 05.05.2018
19
04
SCORPIONS
Live at Vorst Nationaal - Belgium - 04.04.2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

20
10
TRASH DEITY
Trash Dialog: An Interview With Groovie Mann & John Norton of Trash Deity
19
10
SONOLOGYST
A ‘Vertical’ Approach To Music
18
10
MERZBOW
Interview with Masami Akita (Merzbow)
17
10
ALVAR
The trend of 2018 has been 303´s - we sold ours!
03
10
A SLICE OF LIFE
Right before their performance at W-Fest A Slice Of Life released their debut album Restless which turns out to be an excellent post-punk record. Dark Entries was curious about the band’s history and the album, and had

PHOTOS

16
10
STIN SCATZOR
Le Garage Luik
16
10
DOGANOV
Le Garage Luik
09
10
NEON ELECTRONICS
JH Wommel, Wommelgem, Belgium
09
10
APPARAAT
JH Wommel, Wommelgem, Belgium
20
09
PERSEPHONE
Théâtre Mercelis Brussels
23
08
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
W-Fest Amougies
23
08
SHE PAST AWAY
W-Fest Amougies

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

21
10
WE NEVER MET
Come Play With Fire
20
10
RROYCE
The Principle Of Grace
19
10
DEATH KOOLAID
Kids
18
10
PRECIOUS CHILD
Hollow
17
10
VNV NATION
When is the Future?
17
10
WARDRUNA
Raido
16
10
DUSK
The Next Me