tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

23/10/2015 : DOUBLE EYELID - Seven Years

DOUBLE EYELID

Seven Years

MusicCD
Post Punk

[76/100]   

Self-released
23/10/2015, Didier BECU

EN

Admit it, if you read in a biography that a band is influenced by Bauhaus, Sex Gang Children, David Bowie, Edith Piaf, and Christian Death, you immediately want to play that record, right? In all fairness, daily our editors are bombarded with new death rock groups that claim the same, while often they are nothing more than a slight decoction of their idols, but that is different with this Toronto band.

The music of singer Ian Revell, guitarist and keyboard player Karl Mohr Benjamin Mueller-Heaslip is even more than just death rock or post-punk. The first song (and also the single) Black Box immediately evokes the dark days of The The, while Diamond Cutter is almost a tribute to the later Wire. Those names do not just fall from the sky, because the ten songs (even including the cover of The Stranger by Rozz Williams) have an idiosyncratic post-punk sound that can be situated somewhere between Television and Bauhaus. So, do not expect any sing-alongs like say Editors or White Lies, but rather intelligent compositions with a dark twist like She's Falling, that could have been written by Nick Cave.

No,this Canadian trio doesn't makes it easy for the listener, but that's a good thing. That is why we still listen to Marquee Moon after 40 years, and that could be the case with Seven Years too!

Didier BECU
23/10/2015


NL

Geef het toe, als je in een biografie leest dat een band zijn invloeden uit Bauhaus, Sex Gang Children, David Bowie, Edith Piaf en Christian Death haalt, dan krijg je toch onmiddellijk zin om zijn muziek in je lader te duwen, niet? Eerlijkheidshalve wordt onze redactie dagelijks bestookt met tal van nieuwe deathrockgroepen die hetzelfde beweren en vaak niet meer zijn dan een flauwe afkooksel van hun idolen, maar dat is bij deze band uit Toronto toch eventjes anders.

De muziek van zanger Ian Revell, gitarist Karl Mohr en keyboardspeler Benjamin Mueller-Heaslip is zelfs meer dan deathrock of postpunk. Het eerste nummer (en tevens de single) Black Box roept meteen de donkere dagen op van The The, terwijl Diamond Cutter bijna een ode aan de latere Wire is. Het zijn geen namen die zo maar uit de lucht zijn gegrepen omdat de tien songs (zelfs inclusief de cover van The Stranger van Rozz Williams) als zeer eigenzinnige postpunk klinken die je ergens tussen Television en Bauhaus kan situeren. Verwacht dus geen kant-en-klare meezingers, maar eerder intelligente composities die steeds een donker tintje hebben, zoals bijv. She’s Falling, dat uit de pen van Nick Cave kon komen.

Neen, dit Canadese trio maakt het de luisteraar niet bepaald gemakkelijk, maar dat is maar goed ook. Daarom luisteren we veertig jaar na datum nog altijd naar Marquee Moon en dat zou met Seven Years ook wel eens het geval kunnen zijn!

 

Didier BECU
23/10/2015


Music reviews

14
06
CABINET OF MILLIONAIRES
Theresa, Vol.3 Ep
13
06
DEF ROBOT
Makers Of Mountains
04
06
THIS CAN HURT
Worlds Apart
03
06
RADERKRAFT
Smart Control
02
06
MASSIVE EGO
Church For The Malfunctioned
01
06
VUKOVAR
Cremator

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

19
06
Toronto Darkwave Act DOUBLE EYELID Announces The Release Of 'A Means To An End'
18
06
Dependent Records Announces The Release of German Electronic/Industrial Act FIX8 SED8's WARNING SIGNS
15
06
Today it’s exactly 40 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).
03
06
Today, 41 years ago, Joy Division self-released their very first 7' EP, An Ideal For Living!
29
05
UK's Electronic-Pop Band EMPATHY TEST Announce The Release of EMPTY-HANDED EP
16
05
45 years of Diamond Dogs (David Bowie)

Concert reviews

15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

17
06
DANIELLE DE PICCIOTTO
'I feel connected to other people because they understand the result of my thoughts.'
15
06
KENNEY JONES
'There's always an element of doubt in anything you do'
23
05
JAKE BURNS (STIFF LITTLE FINGERS)
'We were writing a songs about our own rights'
22
05
TREHA SEKTORI
‘I Have A Feeling Of Constant Dissatisfaction, So I'll Get Back To Work To Make It Better’
10
05
APSURDE
No Matter What We Do, We Will Always Sound Like Depeche Mode

PHOTOS

16
06
WAPPENBUND
Trouwfe(e)st #3, Wommelgem
16
06
PANTSER FABRIEK
Trouwfe(e)st #3, Wommelgem
12
06
RIOTMILOO
Trouwfe(e)st #3, Wommelgem
12
06
ASHTORETH
Trouwfe(e)st #3, Wommelgem
12
06
FOR GREATER GOOD
Trouwfe(e)st #3, Wommelgem
12
06
AGONOIZE
Agra, WGT Leipzig
12
06
VELVET ACID CHRIST
Agra, WGT Leipzig

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

19
06
MEAGER BENEFITS
No Regrets
19
06
CREMATORY
Haus Mit Garten
18
06
EVI VINE
Porcelain
17
06
LEVITIKA
Zombie Barbie
16
06
WHITE ZOMBIE
More Human Than Human
15
06
KARIN PARK
Hurricane
14
06
AUSTRA
I Love You More Than You Love Yourself