tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

23/10/2015 : DOUBLE EYELID - Seven Years

DOUBLE EYELID

Seven Years

MusicCD
Post Punk

[76/100]   

Self-released
23/10/2015, Didier BECU

EN

Admit it, if you read in a biography that a band is influenced by Bauhaus, Sex Gang Children, David Bowie, Edith Piaf, and Christian Death, you immediately want to play that record, right? In all fairness, daily our editors are bombarded with new death rock groups that claim the same, while often they are nothing more than a slight decoction of their idols, but that is different with this Toronto band.

The music of singer Ian Revell, guitarist and keyboard player Karl Mohr Benjamin Mueller-Heaslip is even more than just death rock or post-punk. The first song (and also the single) Black Box immediately evokes the dark days of The The, while Diamond Cutter is almost a tribute to the later Wire. Those names do not just fall from the sky, because the ten songs (even including the cover of The Stranger by Rozz Williams) have an idiosyncratic post-punk sound that can be situated somewhere between Television and Bauhaus. So, do not expect any sing-alongs like say Editors or White Lies, but rather intelligent compositions with a dark twist like She's Falling, that could have been written by Nick Cave.

No,this Canadian trio doesn't makes it easy for the listener, but that's a good thing. That is why we still listen to Marquee Moon after 40 years, and that could be the case with Seven Years too!

Didier BECU
23/10/2015


NL

Geef het toe, als je in een biografie leest dat een band zijn invloeden uit Bauhaus, Sex Gang Children, David Bowie, Edith Piaf en Christian Death haalt, dan krijg je toch onmiddellijk zin om zijn muziek in je lader te duwen, niet? Eerlijkheidshalve wordt onze redactie dagelijks bestookt met tal van nieuwe deathrockgroepen die hetzelfde beweren en vaak niet meer zijn dan een flauwe afkooksel van hun idolen, maar dat is bij deze band uit Toronto toch eventjes anders.

De muziek van zanger Ian Revell, gitarist Karl Mohr en keyboardspeler Benjamin Mueller-Heaslip is zelfs meer dan deathrock of postpunk. Het eerste nummer (en tevens de single) Black Box roept meteen de donkere dagen op van The The, terwijl Diamond Cutter bijna een ode aan de latere Wire is. Het zijn geen namen die zo maar uit de lucht zijn gegrepen omdat de tien songs (zelfs inclusief de cover van The Stranger van Rozz Williams) als zeer eigenzinnige postpunk klinken die je ergens tussen Television en Bauhaus kan situeren. Verwacht dus geen kant-en-klare meezingers, maar eerder intelligente composities die steeds een donker tintje hebben, zoals bijv. She’s Falling, dat uit de pen van Nick Cave kon komen.

Neen, dit Canadese trio maakt het de luisteraar niet bepaald gemakkelijk, maar dat is maar goed ook. Daarom luisteren we veertig jaar na datum nog altijd naar Marquee Moon en dat zou met Seven Years ook wel eens het geval kunnen zijn!

 

Didier BECU
23/10/2015


Music reviews

08
08
VIOLENT VICKIE
Blame
07
08
FAUST PROJECT
The Future Comes On Sleeping Pills
05
08
TECHNOLORGY
Carnivore
03
08
OST+FRONT
Ikarus
15
07
SHE HATES EMOTIONS
Melancholic Maniac
13
07
HER OWN WORLD
A Different Kind Of Reality

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

08
08
Post-Punk Band THE FUNHOUSE COLLECTIVE Unleashes Cover Of GOLDEN EARRING's 'Twilight Zone'
03
08
Gothic Rock Band BLACK ANGEL Crafts Stories Of Love With New Album: Kiss Of Death
01
08
This month, 37 years ago, Nitzer Ebb recorded their first demo Basic Pain Procedure!
31
07
PROVISION Breaks Seven Year Silence With 'Hearts Turn Dark'
30
07
Electronic Act VEXILLARY Examines Surveillance Culture With New EP
29
07
Darkwave Act THRILLSVILLE Reveals Life On 'Lockdown' With New Video

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

08
08
BLIXA BARGELD
'The way we work is so…traditional'
06
08
SUBJECT.2
'Love, Betrayal, Deceit' - A conversation with Subject:2 on their new album
04
08
STEVE VON TILL (NEUROSIS)
'The greatest sentence in prose would have no place in a song...'
02
08
VELVET KILLS
Velvet Kills Is A Paradox, Wrapped In A Mystery, Inside Of An Enigma…
11
07
PAGE HAMILTON (HELMET)
'I think in 2021 we’ll have a new album...'

PHOTOS

13
03
SIGLO XX
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
ROME
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ROSE OF AVALANCHE
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE DANSE SOCIETY
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ARCH
Porta Nigra Aarschot
11
03
FRONT 242
Pulse Namur Isnes
11
03
SHAARGHOT
Pulse Namur Isnes

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

09
08
DES AMES LIBRES
Cold Hands
08
08
BLACK FOREST
GREED
07
08
SUPERNOVA 1006
Dope
06
08
SIXTH JUNE
Nebo
05
08
ANNE CLARK
Our Darkness
04
08
PIL
Rise
03
08
JAMBINAI
They Keep Silence