tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd single review

21/10/2015 : VANGUARD - I Want To Live

VANGUARD

I Want To Live

MusicCD single
ElectronicsFuture Pop

[78/100]   

Infacted Recordings
21/10/2015, Didier BECU

EN

You fancy some delicious future pop? Well, if that's the case, then you're in good company with Vanguard! This Swedish duo (yes, again from Sweden!) is formed by Jonas Olofsson enPatrik Hansson. Three years after their first record (Sanctuary) on Conzoom Records and a second album Retribution, the two are back with a single on Infacted.

Of the title track I Want To Live, we hear the original and other four different versions (one a bit faster than the other). The extremely catchy chorus of this single is future pop at its best. Of course the name VNV Nation is inevitable, but the fans will embrace that reference!

The party goes on in Alive Inside, with a melody that drags you to the dance floor, we can only imagine something like the best of Apoptygma Berzerk. He who can do this, can rule the alternative dance floor, right?

Phoenix Rising is a strange electro track. It is extremely danceable, but it also has the theatrical atmosphere of Das Ich and the dark character from the early days of Projrect Pitchfork. Indeed, again brilliant references!

Didier BECU
21/10/2015


NL

Zin in heerlijke futurepop? Wel, indien dat het geval is, dan zit je met Vanguard op rozen! Dit Zweedse duo (ja, alweer!) dat door Jonas Olofsson en Patrik Hansson wordt gevormd, bracht drie jaar geleden op Conzoom Records z'nn eerste plaat (Sanctuary) uit. Na hun tweede cd Retribution, zijn de twee terug met een single op Infacted.

Het titelnummer I Want To Live, vind je, naast het origineel, in vier andere versies (het ene al wat vlugger dan het andere) terug. Het uiterst meezingbare refrein van deze single is futurepop op zijn best. Tja, en dan is natuurlijk de naam VNV Nation zo goed als onvermijdelijk, maar dat zal de fans alleen maar plezier doen!

Ook op Alive Inside laat men er geen gras over groeien. De melodie sleept je de dansvloer op en qua stijl, kunnen we alleen maar het beste van Apoptygma Berzerk bedenken. Nou ja, “alleen maar”? Wie dat kan, heeft alles in huis om het op de alternatieve dansvloer te maken, niet?

Rising Phoenix is een vreemde electro track. Hij is uiterst dansbaar, maar bezit tevens de theatrale sfeer van Das Ich en het donkere karakter uit de begindagen van Projrect Pitchfork. Inderdaad, opnieuw schitterende referenties!

Didier BECU
21/10/2015


Music reviews

06
02
HARRY CLOUD
The Pig And The Machine
03
02
MISERIA ULTIMA
Graygarden
01
02
MONO INC.
The Book Of Fire
30
01
THE MARS MODEL
FrancoBelga
27
01
6TH CROWD
Самозванцы (Samozvantsiy)
18
01
RINGFINGER
Pressure

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

18
02
Today, exactly 17 years ago, American Industrial Metal band Ministry released Animositisomina!
17
02
On this day, 6 years ago, DEVO guitarist Bob Casale (61) died.
15
02
LEPROUS – Launch drum playthrough video for “The Sky Is Red”
15
02
This February, it's 33 AGO Kraftwerk released 'The Telephone Call / Der Telefon-Anruf'.
14
02
Today, exactly 41 years ago, John Peel broadcast the first Peel Sessions, performed by Joy Division
09
02
German Electronic/Synthpop Act SEA OF SIN Presents Their Single & Video Release For 'YOU'

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

17
02
H.R. (THE BAD BRAINS)
'I always wanted to play reggae!'
11
02
NICKY GARRATT (UK SUBS, HEDERSLEBEN)
'Putting a krautrock band together I always wanted this fearlessness.' (Interview Part 2)
10
02
NICKY GARRATT (UK SUBS, HEDERSLEBEN): PART II
'In punk, I found the vehicle for skepticism.' (Interview Part 1)
07
02
DOUGLAS P. (DEATH IN JUNE)
'Words/lyrics are continuously coming to me, everywhere and anywhere...'
02
02
CHRIS CUTLER (HENRY COW)
'We all shared a common concern with extending the vocabulary of rock...'

PHOTOS

12
02
MONSTERMAGNET
FZW Dortmund,Germany
12
02
SAINT AGNES SUPPORT MONSTERMAGNET
FZW Dortmund,Germany
26
01
FIX8:SED8
Oefenbunker Landgraaf
26
01
GRAUSAME TOCHTER
Oefenbunker Landgraaf
26
01
LAPIS EXILIS
Oefenbuker Landgraaf
25
01
ASHBURY HEIGHTS
Rockpalast Matrix Bochum Germany
25
01
MASSIVE EGO
Rockpalast Matrix Bochum Germany

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

21
02
PETER BRODERICK
Up Niek Mountain
20
02
ROGER WATERS
Wait for Her
19
02
X MARKS THE PEDWALK
Secrets
18
02
THE MISSION
Love Me To Death
17
02
CLAN OF XYMOX
Imagination
16
02
GERTRUD STEIN
The Void
15
02
MINISTRY
Same Old Madness