tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

20/07/2011 : VARIOUS ARTISTS - Born///Evolve///Progress///3

VARIOUS ARTISTS

Born///Evolve///Progress///3

MusicCD
EBMElectronicsFuture PopSynth Pop / Electro PopSynth Wave

[77/100]   

Progress Productions
20/07/2011, Didier BECU

Progress Productions is of course the label that hosts Covenant, but apart from this Swedish electro-institute there's much more to discover on this label. For the third time, Progress Production comes up with a compilation that contains the finest and newest of the Scandinavian electro-offerings.

As is typical for this "Born///Evolve///Progress" series, the sleeve shows some plane crash which can be seen as an explosion of talent, at least that's what we think they mean!

When a compilation offers you thirteen tracks by various bands then it's obvious that not all bands obtain the same level, so let's stick with the bands that definitely have something to offer as "Born///Evolve///Progress" is made with one goal only: to discover them!

Covenant is presenting the Speedrun II version from their latest clubhit "Lightbringer" and this song needs no introduction, perhaps we just need to mention that they're joined by Necro Facility who are indeed (and deservedly) pointed out as the new hope in the electro world. I once said that Necro Facility is the radio friendly version of a distorted Skinny Puppy song and I'll stick to that, even if this up-tempo Henrik Bäckström remix might give you the wrong view of how they really sound.

Henric de la Cour (what a name!) is the label's newest singning and while we're waiting for their debut, we have the chance to hear how intelligent synthpop can be at times. Are Henric de la Hourc synthpop then? Nah, perhaps harsh synthpop or whatever but definitely a band to hear!

There are of course bands included on here that are opting for the old school synthpop approach. Best examples here are without any doubt Code 64 or Kite who are using the same beats that only bands like Erasure or Yazoo could have in mind. EBM-fans will surely embrace Cyro who is coming up here with the first taste of his third forthcoming album.

When a label has Covenant under it's wing it’s only natural to have bands around who sound alike and that’s surely the case with Titans, even if their “Dried Out” track has a bit of an And One feel.

A spacey atmosphere with a Haujobb touch can be discovered by Soundsequence while Mr Jones Machine feat. Susie are the stranger in the midst, choosing the Swedish language for their “De Manbleka Tingen” track.

Progress Productions might have chosen synthetic sounds but on this compilation they show that they opt for a very wide range, as its not only Covenant and Necro Facility gaining their share of the fame. Our world has a lot to catch up with!

 

TRACKLIST :

01. Henric de la Cour "Dogs" *
02. Kite "Ways To Dance" (Leaether Strip Remix) *
03. Red Cell "Lost" *
04. Covenant feat. Necro Facility "Lightbringer" (Speedrun II) **
05. Code 64 "Deviant" (SPARK! Remix) *
06. Necro Facility "Do You Feel The Same" (Henrik Bäckström Remix) *
07. Cryo "Change" (90ies Mix) *
08. SPARK! "Popkomplex" *
09. Titans "Dried Out" *
10. Mr Jones Machine feat. Susie "De Månbleka Tingen" (Beanbag Remix by Cryo) *
11. System "Inheritance" (SYSTEMatic Mix) ***
12. SoundSequence "Grim Reaper" (2002) ***
13. Mommy Hurt My Head "Flawless" (pAn alt. version Mix) *

* Previously Unreleased
** Rare Track
*** Previously Only Released Via Digital Platforms... never on CD

 

Didier BECU
20/07/2011


 

Next reviews
GRAURAUM • Shades
ACHENAR • Super Death Explosion Kittens
MINERVE • Please
HYCOSCYAMUS NIGER • Czas
SOLOLUST • Total Loss 7' Single
LAS KELLIES • LAS KELLIES
MIRT • Oh! You are so naive!
JOHN FOXX AND HAROLD BUDD • Nighthawks (featuring Ruben Garcia)/Translucence and Drift Music
THE SUBS • Decontrol
SHARRON KRAUS • The Woody Nightshade

 

Other reviews from VARIOUS ARTISTS
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Electropop 18 (Super Deluxe Edition)
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Electrostorm vol. 9
VARIOUS ARTISTS • PERIHELION 2134
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
VARIOUS ARTISTS • A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION
VARIOUS ARTISTS • A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Sherwood at the Controls 2 (1985 - 1990)
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Bipolar Sounds Volume 1
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Sharon Signs To Cherry Red (Independent Women 1979-1985)
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Studio One Showcase

 

Same genre: EBM
WULF7 • I don't want (Anymore)
TRAGIC IMPULSE • Distant Worlds
STAATSEINDE • Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
SAMHAIN • Experiment
MICHAEL ZODOROZNY • Other Side
ARMAGEDDON DILDOS • Desctruction
RHYS FULBER • Brutal Nature
ORANGE SECTOR • Alles wird Gold
HERRNIA • Takkewereld
STAATSEINDE • Crazy Earthlings Collab Tape - Episode II

 

Same genre: ELECTRONICS
PORTION CONTROL • SEED EP3
WULF7 • Dark Hate
DEAR DEER / EMBERS • Split
FIRST • Restless
VARIOUS ARTISTS • PERIHELION 2134
GHOSTING • The Flanders EP
THE BLACKHEART ORCHESTRA • Mesmeranto
STATIQBLOOM • Asphyxia
MECHANIMAL • White Flag Single
PAS MUSIQUE • The Phoenix

 

Same genre: FUTURE POP
LIE DETECTOR • To Fly!
SCHEUBER • The Me I See
RUINED CONFLICT • A Voice For The Voiceless
KOMPUTERGIRL • Lightbody
NATURE OF WIRES FT. COUNTESSM. • Cyber Rendezvous
MIRANDA CARTEL • Divert EP
SINESTAR • Evolve
EISFABRIK • Walking Towards The Sun
PARRALOX • Wildlife
NOVA-SPES • A Dog And His Boy

 

Same genre: SYNTH POP / ELECTRO POP
SHE HATES EMOTIONS • Space and time
FRAGRANCE • Salt Water
SJOBLOM • Tape
NUOVO TESTAMENTO • New Earth
STURM CAFE • Fernes Land
DD SANCHEZ • StRaNgE
ERASURE • THE NEON
HER OWN WORLD • A Different Kind Of Reality
AUGER • Insurgence
UNITCODE:MACHINE • Paper empires

 

Same genre: SYNTH WAVE
MAGNETIC RUST • Multicolor
RADERKRAFT • Dust & Debris
ABSOLUTE BODY CONTROL • A New Dawn
BLACK SNOW IN SUMMER • Lost Feelings
CAUSENATION • Promises of hope and fear
RUE OBERKAMPF • Negativraum
VIOLENT VICKIE • Blame
SHE HATES EMOTIONS • Melancholic Maniac
HYSTÉRIE • Deuil
MORE EPHEMEROL • Obituary Templates

Music reviews

28
07
WULF7
I don't want (Anymore)
06
07
TRAGIC IMPULSE
Distant Worlds
04
07
RAMMSTEIN
Zeit
27
06
BALVANERA
Courses of Action
14
06
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Gift For You
10
06
SAMHAIN
Experiment

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

14
08
Darkwave Duo, Male Tears Addresses Nightlife Hypocrisy & Abuse With New Single
10
08
Today, it’s exactly 35 years ago Nitzer Ebb released Join In The Chant!
09
08
Electronic Band She 1 - Him 2 Addresses Breaking Free With New Single
08
08
32 years of Head/Down with MOEV
07
08
Neo-Fanfare/Darkwave Band, Crooniek Reflects On The Concept Of Time With New Album
06
08
Post-Punk Artist Daniel Ouellette Brings Life To A Haunted House With New Album

Concert reviews

05
07
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

05
08
MOTOR!K
I have to admit that I often still find it strange and difficult to grasp: people going crazy on three weirdos playing some repetitive music
12
07
FERALIA PLANITIA & DAS AUGE
'Thanks to our overlapping tastes in music, we became good friends; music was our cement, sort of speak…'
18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.

PHOTOS

15
08
COVERNANT
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
15
08
NIZZER EBB
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
15
08
IN STRICT CONFIDENCE
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
13
08
BLUTENGEL
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
13
08
LORD OF THE LOST ENSEMBLE
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
13
08
SOLITARY EXPERIMENTS
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
13
08
LACRIMAS PROFUNDERE
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

15
08
AUSTRA
Utopia
14
08
THE SMITHS
There Is A Light That Never Goes Out
13
08
DRAB MAJESTY
39 By Design
12
08
COCTEAU TWINS
Hazel
11
08
IN STRICT CONFIDENDE
Somebody Else´s Dream
10
08
DOWNLOAD
Neuron Proper
09
08
WE NEVER MET
Come Play With Fire