tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

13/07/2011 : THE SUBS - Decontrol

THE SUBS

Decontrol

MusicCD
AcidSynth Pop / Electro PopTechno

[72/100]   

NEWS
13/07/2011, Didier BECU

EN

There really is a connection between Ghent and skilled DJ’s as it's not only Dewaele Brothers who are scoring on an international score, in seemingly no time Papillon (Jeroen De Pessemier) and DJ Tonic (Wiebe Loccufier) have done the same.

“Decontrol” is their second album and from the very beginning you hear it’s all about the beats with “The Face Of The World” the opener that earlier this year was released as an EP on Lektroluv. A better start couldn’t have been imagined as this dancefloor killer immediately reveals to you that they want to embrace both the alternative and mainstream public. A more than nice attitude that can be heard on further tracks like “Don’t Stop” and “The Hype” where they got help from Highbloo (Luca Di Fernando).

But The Subs have always been more than just some collection of beats as on “Hannibal And The Battle Of Zama” they reinvented the roguish 70’s synthpop from Jean-Michel Jarre but this was nothing but some nice interlude as following track “Itch” reminds us that The Subs will never be reduced to simple pop, even if they’re not afraid to touch it!

This album closes with the titletrack which must be the most unusual track this band has ever recorded as you tend for a moment to forget their acid driven beats which they’re famous for.

A classic it ain’t but it gets them what we already gave them for a long time:

R.E.S.P.E.C.T.

 

I-Tunes

 

 

 

 

 

 

Didier BECU
13/07/2011


NL

Gent lijkt de laatste jaren wel de broeihaard te zijn voor dj’s die meer doen dan wat plaatjes draaien. Na het internationale megasukses van de broertjes Dewaele lijken ook Papillon (Jeroen De Pessemier) en DJ Tonic (Wiebe Loccufier) in dit straatje te passen.

Meteen met eerdere single, en tevens opener The Face Of The World” , hoor je dat “Decontrol” een plaat is die op twee paardjes willen wedden.

En jawel, ook al zijn “Don’t stop” en “The hype” (beide met de hulp van Highbloo aka Luca Di Fernando) voorzien van moddervette beats, is het duidelijk dat je hier op een kruispunt staat waar het alternatief en het mainstreampubliek elkaar vriendelijk begroeten.

Vreemde eend in de bijt is zonder meer “Hannibal and the battle of Zama” waar men heerlijk met de 70’s synthpop van Jean-Michel Jarre weet te goochelen ook al blijkt dit niet meer dan een artistiek verantwoordde adempauze te zijn want met “Itch” maken The Subs ons nog eens overduidelijk dat ze nooit een doordeweeks popgroepje zullen worden, ook al zijn ze niet bepaald vies van het magische drieletter woord.

Dit album sluit af met de titeltrack die zowat het meest ongewone nummer is hun hele reperoire en je wel eens durft vergeten dat je meer dan een half uur lang onderhevig bent geweest aan de aanval der beats.

Een klassieker durven we deze tweede plaat niet echt noemen maar ze krijgen wel iets wat ze reeds lange tijd gegeven hadden : R.E.S.P.E.C.T.

 

I-Tunes

 

 

 

 

 

 

Didier BECU
13/07/2011


Music reviews

28
07
WULF7
I don't want (Anymore)
06
07
TRAGIC IMPULSE
Distant Worlds
04
07
RAMMSTEIN
Zeit
27
06
BALVANERA
Courses of Action
14
06
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Gift For You
10
06
SAMHAIN
Experiment

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

15
08
Futurepop Act, Voicecoil Reflects On Strange Days With New Album
14
08
Darkwave Duo, Male Tears Addresses Nightlife Hypocrisy & Abuse With New Single
10
08
Today, it’s exactly 35 years ago Nitzer Ebb released Join In The Chant!
09
08
Electronic Band She 1 - Him 2 Addresses Breaking Free With New Single
08
08
32 years of Head/Down with MOEV
07
08
Neo-Fanfare/Darkwave Band, Crooniek Reflects On The Concept Of Time With New Album

Concert reviews

05
07
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

05
08
MOTOR!K
I have to admit that I often still find it strange and difficult to grasp: people going crazy on three weirdos playing some repetitive music
12
07
FERALIA PLANITIA & DAS AUGE
'Thanks to our overlapping tastes in music, we became good friends; music was our cement, sort of speak…'
18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.

PHOTOS

15
08
FEUERSCHWANZ
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
15
08
UNZUCHT
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
15
08
THEN COMES SILENCE
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
15
08
AEVERIUM
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
15
08
HELL BOULEVARD
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
15
08
COVENANT
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
15
08
NITZER EBB
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

15
08
AUSTRA
Utopia
14
08
THE SMITHS
There Is A Light That Never Goes Out
13
08
DRAB MAJESTY
39 By Design
12
08
COCTEAU TWINS
Hazel
11
08
IN STRICT CONFIDENDE
Somebody Else´s Dream
10
08
DOWNLOAD
Neuron Proper
09
08
WE NEVER MET
Come Play With Fire