tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

13/07/2011 : THE SUBS - Decontrol

THE SUBS

Decontrol

MusicCD
AcidSynth Pop / Electro PopTechno

[72/100]   

NEWS
13/07/2011, Didier BECU

EN

There really is a connection between Ghent and skilled DJ’s as it's not only Dewaele Brothers who are scoring on an international score, in seemingly no time Papillon (Jeroen De Pessemier) and DJ Tonic (Wiebe Loccufier) have done the same.

“Decontrol” is their second album and from the very beginning you hear it’s all about the beats with “The Face Of The World” the opener that earlier this year was released as an EP on Lektroluv. A better start couldn’t have been imagined as this dancefloor killer immediately reveals to you that they want to embrace both the alternative and mainstream public. A more than nice attitude that can be heard on further tracks like “Don’t Stop” and “The Hype” where they got help from Highbloo (Luca Di Fernando).

But The Subs have always been more than just some collection of beats as on “Hannibal And The Battle Of Zama” they reinvented the roguish 70’s synthpop from Jean-Michel Jarre but this was nothing but some nice interlude as following track “Itch” reminds us that The Subs will never be reduced to simple pop, even if they’re not afraid to touch it!

This album closes with the titletrack which must be the most unusual track this band has ever recorded as you tend for a moment to forget their acid driven beats which they’re famous for.

A classic it ain’t but it gets them what we already gave them for a long time:

R.E.S.P.E.C.T.

 

I-Tunes

 

 

 

 

 

 

Didier BECU
13/07/2011


NL

Gent lijkt de laatste jaren wel de broeihaard te zijn voor dj’s die meer doen dan wat plaatjes draaien. Na het internationale megasukses van de broertjes Dewaele lijken ook Papillon (Jeroen De Pessemier) en DJ Tonic (Wiebe Loccufier) in dit straatje te passen.

Meteen met eerdere single, en tevens opener The Face Of The World” , hoor je dat “Decontrol” een plaat is die op twee paardjes willen wedden.

En jawel, ook al zijn “Don’t stop” en “The hype” (beide met de hulp van Highbloo aka Luca Di Fernando) voorzien van moddervette beats, is het duidelijk dat je hier op een kruispunt staat waar het alternatief en het mainstreampubliek elkaar vriendelijk begroeten.

Vreemde eend in de bijt is zonder meer “Hannibal and the battle of Zama” waar men heerlijk met de 70’s synthpop van Jean-Michel Jarre weet te goochelen ook al blijkt dit niet meer dan een artistiek verantwoordde adempauze te zijn want met “Itch” maken The Subs ons nog eens overduidelijk dat ze nooit een doordeweeks popgroepje zullen worden, ook al zijn ze niet bepaald vies van het magische drieletter woord.

Dit album sluit af met de titeltrack die zowat het meest ongewone nummer is hun hele reperoire en je wel eens durft vergeten dat je meer dan een half uur lang onderhevig bent geweest aan de aanval der beats.

Een klassieker durven we deze tweede plaat niet echt noemen maar ze krijgen wel iets wat ze reeds lange tijd gegeven hadden : R.E.S.P.E.C.T.

 

I-Tunes

 

 

 

 

 

 

Didier BECU
13/07/2011


Music reviews

20
03
LADYTRON
Ladytron
19
03
DER KLINKE
Decade
18
03
ORPHAN GOGGLES/ ACID MOTHERS TEMPLE & THE MELTING PARAISO U.F.O
Split Single
14
03
DEZ MONA
Book Of Many
13
03
DAVID J
Thoughts And Prayers
11
03
FRED ABONG
Pulsing Ep

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

21
03
Today, exactly 29 years ago, Nine Inch Nails released their second single Head Like a Hole!
20
03
Today it’s been 29 years since Nitzer Ebb released their third studio album Showtime!
19
03
Just One Fix | Seventeen Years Since Ministry Unleashed Sphinctour
18
03
Today, 39 years ago, Joy Division released 'Licht und Blindheit'.
17
03
The Ignition Of Irish Punk | The Radiators From Space
17
03
A Darker Shade Of Green | The Virgin Prunes On Saint Patrick’s Day

Concert reviews

15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

16
03
STEVE IGNORANT (CRASS)
'I think what drives me is the endless injustice that goes through life.'
11
03
SYNAPSCAPE
A Fascinating Challenge About Bringing New Life Into Old Tracks
10
03
BIG JOHN DUNCAN
'I don't like to copy things, I like to try and be original and always happy!'
09
03
MISSING IN STARS
'This music is for everyone, even my closest metal friends support it...'
08
03
DEAN GARCIA - SPC ECO + CURVE
“..I love recording, it's one of the only things that is completely absorbing for me..”

PHOTOS

10
03
DER KLINKE
De Klinker Aarschot
10
03
A SLICE OF LIFE
De Klinker Aarschot
10
03
DEAD HIGH WIRE
De Klinker Aarschot
10
03
HATCHLING
De Klinker Aarschot
06
03
LAIBACH
Botanique Brussel
27
02
IAMX
La Madeleine Brussel
24
02
WULFBAND
De Casino St Niklaas

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

21
03
JO QUAIL
Gold
20
03
CLAN OF XYMOX
Clan Of Xymox - Vixen In Disguise (Official Video)
19
03
HANTE
Living In A French Movie
18
03
HAUSCHKA
Craco
17
03
DIVE
Sidewalk Sinner - Snakedressed
16
03
CHRONIC TWILIGHT
Mark of Cain (official lyric video)
15
03
THE YOUNG GODS
Figure sans nom