tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

13/07/2011 : THE SUBS - Decontrol

THE SUBS

Decontrol

MusicCD
AcidSynth Pop / Electro PopTechno

[72/100]   

NEWS
13/07/2011, Didier BECU

EN

There really is a connection between Ghent and skilled DJ’s as it's not only Dewaele Brothers who are scoring on an international score, in seemingly no time Papillon (Jeroen De Pessemier) and DJ Tonic (Wiebe Loccufier) have done the same.

“Decontrol” is their second album and from the very beginning you hear it’s all about the beats with “The Face Of The World” the opener that earlier this year was released as an EP on Lektroluv. A better start couldn’t have been imagined as this dancefloor killer immediately reveals to you that they want to embrace both the alternative and mainstream public. A more than nice attitude that can be heard on further tracks like “Don’t Stop” and “The Hype” where they got help from Highbloo (Luca Di Fernando).

But The Subs have always been more than just some collection of beats as on “Hannibal And The Battle Of Zama” they reinvented the roguish 70’s synthpop from Jean-Michel Jarre but this was nothing but some nice interlude as following track “Itch” reminds us that The Subs will never be reduced to simple pop, even if they’re not afraid to touch it!

This album closes with the titletrack which must be the most unusual track this band has ever recorded as you tend for a moment to forget their acid driven beats which they’re famous for.

A classic it ain’t but it gets them what we already gave them for a long time:

R.E.S.P.E.C.T.

 

I-Tunes

 

 

 

 

 

 

Didier BECU
13/07/2011


NL

Gent lijkt de laatste jaren wel de broeihaard te zijn voor dj’s die meer doen dan wat plaatjes draaien. Na het internationale megasukses van de broertjes Dewaele lijken ook Papillon (Jeroen De Pessemier) en DJ Tonic (Wiebe Loccufier) in dit straatje te passen.

Meteen met eerdere single, en tevens opener The Face Of The World” , hoor je dat “Decontrol” een plaat is die op twee paardjes willen wedden.

En jawel, ook al zijn “Don’t stop” en “The hype” (beide met de hulp van Highbloo aka Luca Di Fernando) voorzien van moddervette beats, is het duidelijk dat je hier op een kruispunt staat waar het alternatief en het mainstreampubliek elkaar vriendelijk begroeten.

Vreemde eend in de bijt is zonder meer “Hannibal and the battle of Zama” waar men heerlijk met de 70’s synthpop van Jean-Michel Jarre weet te goochelen ook al blijkt dit niet meer dan een artistiek verantwoordde adempauze te zijn want met “Itch” maken The Subs ons nog eens overduidelijk dat ze nooit een doordeweeks popgroepje zullen worden, ook al zijn ze niet bepaald vies van het magische drieletter woord.

Dit album sluit af met de titeltrack die zowat het meest ongewone nummer is hun hele reperoire en je wel eens durft vergeten dat je meer dan een half uur lang onderhevig bent geweest aan de aanval der beats.

Een klassieker durven we deze tweede plaat niet echt noemen maar ze krijgen wel iets wat ze reeds lange tijd gegeven hadden : R.E.S.P.E.C.T.

 

I-Tunes

 

 

 

 

 

 

Didier BECU
13/07/2011


Music reviews

17
05
LISA MORGENSTERN
Chameleon
16
05
VEIL OF LIGHT
Inflict
15
05
KIM THOMPSETT
The Hollows
14
05
L7
Scatter The Rats
13
05
SIGNAL AOUT 42
Insurrection
08
05
KRISTIN HERSH
Crooked (Reissue)

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

16
05
45 years of Diamond Dogs (David Bowie)
15
05
On this day, 29 years ago, British post-punk band Wire released their 7th studio album Manscape
14
05
'Locating Silver Lake' out on DVD today!
13
05
Today it’s exactly 22 years ago Nine Inch Nails released their The Perfect Drug (Versions) EP!
12
05
Legendary Gothic/Death Rock Band CHRISTIAN DEATH Announces Forthcoming European Tour & First Ever Live Video Chat/'Forgiven' Video Premiere
12
05
This month it’s been 41 years since Kraftwerk released Die Roboter / The Robots!

Concert reviews

15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

10
05
APSURDE
No Matter What We Do, We Will Always Sound Like Depeche Mode
09
05
ANDY GILL (GANG OF FOUR)
'You never expect Gang of Four to be very optimistic.Do you ?'
29
04
STACY COCHRAN
'I didn’t want to write something cruel; I wanted to find the daily fears and even some transcendent pragmatism inside a complicated set of characters...'
28
04
KILL SHELTER
There Is An Inherent Darkness And Sadness In The Music I Create
27
04
VANGUARD
We Had The Concept Of Doing Something That Ties Man And Machine Together

PHOTOS

20
05
THE ARCH
New Waves Day,Turbinenhalle Oberhausen
16
05
ABDOMEN
Poppodium Grenswerk,Venlo
16
05
BOJACKS
Poppodium Grenswerk,Venlo
16
05
THE OTHER
Poppodium Grenswerk,Venlo
16
05
CLAN OF XYMOX
Poppodium Grenswerk,Venlo
12
05
PRAGA KHAN
YAP Leopoldsburg
05
05
DER KLINKE
MysteriA Fantasy-Fair Aarschot

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

20
05
LUCIFER'S DREAM
Elixir of Isis
19
05
SIOUXSIE & THE BANSHEES
You're Lost Little Girl
18
05
GROUND NERO
Dark Descent
17
05
JAN SWERTS
Meer Is Er Niet
16
05
IAN MCCULLOCH
Lover Lover Lover
15
05
DELEYAMAN
Secret Treasures
14
05
IN DEATH IT ENDS
the most holy death