tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

13/07/2011 : MECHANICAL CABARET - Disco Vandalism

MECHANICAL CABARET

Disco Vandalism

MusicCD
GlampopGothic

[77/100]   
13/07/2011, Didier BECU

One of the best kept British secrets must be Mechanical Cabaret, a band that made its first steps in 1999 and is based on the music, lyrics, voice & electronics of Roi Robertson.

Apart from being support for lots of great acts, he also did remixes from established bands like Nitzer Ebb, Komputer, Client and Mesh.

This glampop band has its cradle in London Soho, especially at the famous Madame JoJo's, are now releasing their fourth album and the title couldn't be any better as this is indeed glampop-rock seen through very British eyes.

Perhaps we are the ones to blame but we couldn't help thinking that a track like "See Her Smile" is like Suede wrapped in some future-pop coat and however silly the description might be, we're still convinced that Mechanical Cabaret's music could attract these two crowds.

If you don't believe us then you can perhaps check out "GBH" which is future-pop to the core and apart from Adam Ant's "Desperate But Serious", is the most outstanding track on here.

Roi might be in love with his boa but it's clear he gives more about synths than guitars which results in a nice minimal synthgem like "Cheap & Nasty" or "It Will Come Back 2 U" which doesn't only contain the typical Prince-writing, it sounds 80's as well and yes even a bit like Alphaville meets Soft Cell.

"Disco Vandalism" is indeed the perfect record to play in decadent British nightclubs but at home it works too. Now, where's that mirror?

Didier BECU
13/07/2011


Music reviews

25
01
POUPPEE FABRIKK
Burn Forever
23
01
STURM CAFE
Fernes Land
18
01
DISTANT VOICES
Long Road to Home
17
01
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
Mechanical Soul
16
01
IMPLANT
Phantom Pain
15
01
DD SANCHEZ
StRaNgE

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

25
01
Exactly 43 years ago, Joy Division played their very first concert!
24
01
Today, exactly 30 years ago Front 242 released the album Tyranny ▶For You◀
24
01
Today, 3 years ago, Mark E. Smith, singer of legendary post-punk band The Fall died, aged 60
22
01
On this day, 11 years ago, Nitzer Ebb released their sixth studio album Industrial Complex!
21
01
Today, exactly 28 years ago, Ministry released Just One Fix!
19
01
On this day, 30 years ago (19 January 1991), The Cure performed at The Great British Music Awards!

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

07
01
MAMAN KUSTERS
‘Let’s Keep It Intriguing
16
12
THE BREATH OF LIFE
'No, I never considered quitting making music. Nor to taste good special beers.'
05
12
CEVIN KEY (SKINNY PUPPY, DOWNLOAD)
'It really has been like the formation of a new band in a lot of ways...'
03
12
ALEX SKOLNICK (TESTAMENT, ALEX SKOLNICK TRIO)
'I was as knocked out as I was hearing Van Halen...'
14
11
PROYECTO MIRAGE
I Think We Needed A Break

PHOTOS

25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival
20
08
JUSTIN SULLIVAN & GASTONE
Kreisverwaltung Groß-Gerau

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

25
01
STRONG PRODUCT
Trolleybus Park
24
01
BUZZ KULL
Last in the club
23
01
KALTE NACHT
Voices in silence
22
01
SYNAPTIC DEFECT
Tacky games
21
01
ROB ZOMBIE
The Triumph of King Freak (A Crypt of Preservation and Superstition)
20
01
NEW ORDER
True Faith
19
01
CORDE OBLIQUE
Suono su tela