tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

13/07/2011 : MECHANICAL CABARET - Disco Vandalism

MECHANICAL CABARET

Disco Vandalism

MusicCD
GlampopGothic

[77/100]   
13/07/2011, Didier BECU

One of the best kept British secrets must be Mechanical Cabaret, a band that made its first steps in 1999 and is based on the music, lyrics, voice & electronics of Roi Robertson.

Apart from being support for lots of great acts, he also did remixes from established bands like Nitzer Ebb, Komputer, Client and Mesh.

This glampop band has its cradle in London Soho, especially at the famous Madame JoJo's, are now releasing their fourth album and the title couldn't be any better as this is indeed glampop-rock seen through very British eyes.

Perhaps we are the ones to blame but we couldn't help thinking that a track like "See Her Smile" is like Suede wrapped in some future-pop coat and however silly the description might be, we're still convinced that Mechanical Cabaret's music could attract these two crowds.

If you don't believe us then you can perhaps check out "GBH" which is future-pop to the core and apart from Adam Ant's "Desperate But Serious", is the most outstanding track on here.

Roi might be in love with his boa but it's clear he gives more about synths than guitars which results in a nice minimal synthgem like "Cheap & Nasty" or "It Will Come Back 2 U" which doesn't only contain the typical Prince-writing, it sounds 80's as well and yes even a bit like Alphaville meets Soft Cell.

"Disco Vandalism" is indeed the perfect record to play in decadent British nightclubs but at home it works too. Now, where's that mirror?

Didier BECU
13/07/2011


Music reviews

03
07
PORTION CONTROL
Head Buried
02
07
AIMA & THE ILLUSION OF SILENCE
Music for certain rituals
28
06
VARIOUS ARTISTS
PERIHELION 2134
24
06
COLD IN MAY
Isolation songs
19
06
UNITCODE:MACHINE
Paper empires
18
06
BLACK NEEDLE NOISE
Seed of Evil

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

04
07
Industrial Band RIOTLEGION Announces The Release Of Machine Liberation
03
07
I Wanted To Tell Her by Ministry turns 37 years this month!
15
06
Today it’s exactly 41 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).
11
06
29 years of Kraftwerk in The Mix
11
06
Sieben covering David Bowie's Heroes live + new CD album 2020 VISION releases this Friday, 12th June!
10
06
29 years of Family Man!

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

04
07
LAIBACH
When they banned Laibach, we said 'great, let's move further'!
27
06
BURTON C.BELL (FEAR FACTORY, ASCENSION OF THE WATCHERS )
'It all comes from my head – whatever I’m feeling, whatever I’m thinking of.'
27
06
RODNEY ORPHEUS / THE CASSANDRA COMPLEX
I Think I’m Still As Revolutionary And Opinionated As Ever...
25
06
THE COLOURS OF SILENCE
Isolation Is Good For Art. Embrace It And Use It
13
06
LAST INFLUENCE OF BRAIN
L.I.O.B. Has Always Been Such A Distraction For Us

PHOTOS

13
03
SIGLO XX
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
ROME
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ROSE OF AVALANCHE
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE DANSE SOCIETY
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ARCH
Porta Nigra Aarschot
11
03
FRONT 242
Pulse Namur Isnes
11
03
SHAARGHOT
Pulse Namur Isnes

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

05
07
GOLDFRAPP
Winter Wonderland
04
07
LORDS OF ACID
I Sit On Acid
03
07
DEAD CAN DANCE
Eleusis
02
07
LIAISONS DANGEREUSES
Los niños del parque
01
07
HORD
Lines
30
06
U.R.A.N.
Geo Logo
29
06
MISS KITTIN
Bassline