tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

13/07/2011 : MECHANICAL CABARET - Disco Vandalism

MECHANICAL CABARET

Disco Vandalism

MusicCD
GlampopGothic

[77/100]   
13/07/2011, Didier BECU

One of the best kept British secrets must be Mechanical Cabaret, a band that made its first steps in 1999 and is based on the music, lyrics, voice & electronics of Roi Robertson.

Apart from being support for lots of great acts, he also did remixes from established bands like Nitzer Ebb, Komputer, Client and Mesh.

This glampop band has its cradle in London Soho, especially at the famous Madame JoJo's, are now releasing their fourth album and the title couldn't be any better as this is indeed glampop-rock seen through very British eyes.

Perhaps we are the ones to blame but we couldn't help thinking that a track like "See Her Smile" is like Suede wrapped in some future-pop coat and however silly the description might be, we're still convinced that Mechanical Cabaret's music could attract these two crowds.

If you don't believe us then you can perhaps check out "GBH" which is future-pop to the core and apart from Adam Ant's "Desperate But Serious", is the most outstanding track on here.

Roi might be in love with his boa but it's clear he gives more about synths than guitars which results in a nice minimal synthgem like "Cheap & Nasty" or "It Will Come Back 2 U" which doesn't only contain the typical Prince-writing, it sounds 80's as well and yes even a bit like Alphaville meets Soft Cell.

"Disco Vandalism" is indeed the perfect record to play in decadent British nightclubs but at home it works too. Now, where's that mirror?

Didier BECU
13/07/2011


Music reviews

27
06
BALVANERA
Courses of Action
14
06
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Gift For You
10
06
SAMHAIN
Experiment
09
06
CELESTIAL NORTH
When The Gods Dance
12
05
SHE HATES EMOTIONS
Space and time
11
05
THIS CAN HURT
A Darker Shade Of Blue

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

16
06
44 years ago Suicide performed their legendary '23 minutes over Brussels'!
15
06
Roobanok: new talent on SkyQode
15
06
Today it’s exactly 43 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).
14
06
Industrial band, The Royal Ritual addresses organized religion ethics with debut LP, /Martyrs/
14
06
TELESKOP releases new EP on Progress Productions
13
06
Toxikk Deception releases new album through DSBP Records

Concert reviews

14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.
20
04
NINO SABLE
I am not a friend of boxed content...
13
04
ECHO ROAD
'There was no easy way or any shortcut to be taken in terms of producing something truly representative of the human experience. We simply had to ‘just do it'.'

PHOTOS

27
06
THE MISSION
Live am See Meschede Germany
23
06
THE JESUS & MARY CHAIN
Trix Antwerpen
22
06
MONROE SUPPORT ALICE COOPER
Mitsubishi Electric Halle Düsseldorf
22
06
ALICE COOPER
Mitsubishi Electric Halle Düsseldorf
21
06
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
AB Brussel
19
06
GARY NUMAN
New Waves Day Oberhausen
19
06
PINK TURNS BLUE
New Waves Day Oberhausen

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

28
06
GUS GUS
Deep Inside
27
06
MOTOR!K
Stunden (Official Visualizer)
27
06
SEA OF SIN
Synchronize
27
06
MERCIFUL NUNS
Lightwaves
26
06
AMBASSADOR21
FUCKALLSYSTEMS
25
06
CIRCLE OF DUST
Outside In
24
06
LUH
Beneath The Concrete