tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

13/07/2011 : BIOSPHERE - N-Plants

BIOSPHERE

N-Plants

MusicCD
AmbientElectro

[83/100]   
13/07/2011, Didier BECU

Back in the 80's there was that genius band called Bel Canto, a Norwegian band who combined a cold synthsound with the warmth of those ethereal vocals by Anneli Marian Drecker but as soon as Geir Jenssen departed, not only did their fame collapse but also music wise there wasn't that much to discover.

Geir was interested in synthetic sounds and so started Biosphere. This electronic project was, in its first decade, inspired by acid house and new beat. During his heydays on dance label SSR, one of his tracks "Novelty Ways" was even used for a Levi's ad. But those who know Geir, know he was never in the game for fame and so he ended up on Touch.

His first release on this acclaimed label, "Cirque" was immediately the start of a new turn in his career as his electrodriven music was more and more ambient.

His newest masterpiece on this label is the heavenly "N-Plants" which is a macabre release.

In February Geir decided to make an album which was inspired by the Japanese post-war economic miracle where he came accross a photo of the nuclear plant Mihama. Geir's first thought was, if it's safe for tsunamis and earthquakes? He started writing music about it, commenting on the potential radiation danger. On 13th February the album was finished and a month and four days later the world was facing an other nuclear disaster further destroying our planet.

A foreseeing genius? Who knows but Geir's certainly a musical genius as this electronic masterpiece captures everything a work as such needs. We almost wrote down that this ambient electronic sound is the ideal stuff to sink away in your sofa, but the awful truth is that there is something else sinking into the ocean.

Anyway, genius album you should not miss!

Didier BECU
13/07/2011


Music reviews

16
04
AD:KEY
I can't feel you
16
04
PORTION CONTROL
SEED EP3
15
04
ABSOLUTE BODY CONTROL
A New Dawn
15
04
IN ABSENTIA
Charnel House Chatterbox (Remastered 2021)
14
04
THE BURYING KIND
The Burying Kind ( EP )
05
04
VARIOUS ARTISTS
Electropop 18 (Super Deluxe Edition)

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

16
04
36 years ago, The Sisters Of Mercy performed No Time To Cry on German TV!
16
04
On this day, 36 years ago, The Sisters Of Mercy performed ‘No Time to Cry’ on German TV
15
04
On this day, 20 years ago, FAD GADGET performed his first legendary come-back show!
14
04
In memorian.... The Punk Empowerment Of Poly Styrene (° 3 July 1957 †25 April 2011)
13
04
34 years MUTE records released 'Let Your Body Learn' by Nitzer Ebb!
07
04
Skinny Puppy’s Cevin Key zoom chat's with à;GRUMH...

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

15
04
BLEEDING RAVEN
Never really took myself serious... still don’t...
12
02
DIVE
We All Can Ask Us The Question ‘Where Do We Go From Here?'
10
02
RAYMOND WATTS (PIG)
'It’s not a re-discovery. It’s finding the way in to let the stuff out...'
02
02
JOHN 3:16
I regularly come across animal remains at various stages of decomposition. That started to affect me, and that's where the concept of the record was born.
07
01
MAMAN KUSTERS
‘Let’s Keep It Intriguing

PHOTOS

15
04
FAD GADGET
Mean Fiddler, London, England
25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

18
04
TROUBLE FAIT'
Beads of Emerald
17
04
LYNCELIA
Self-Mystery Girl
16
04
COCTEAU TWINS
Carolyn's Fingers
15
04
FAITH AND THE MUSE
Battle Hymn
14
04
MESH
It scares me
13
04
MONOTONE EXPRESSION
Out Of Tune With Life
12
04
LAID BACK
White Horse