tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

13/07/2011 : BIOSPHERE - N-Plants

BIOSPHERE

N-Plants

MusicCD
AmbientElectro

[83/100]   
13/07/2011, Didier BECU

Back in the 80's there was that genius band called Bel Canto, a Norwegian band who combined a cold synthsound with the warmth of those ethereal vocals by Anneli Marian Drecker but as soon as Geir Jenssen departed, not only did their fame collapse but also music wise there wasn't that much to discover.

Geir was interested in synthetic sounds and so started Biosphere. This electronic project was, in its first decade, inspired by acid house and new beat. During his heydays on dance label SSR, one of his tracks "Novelty Ways" was even used for a Levi's ad. But those who know Geir, know he was never in the game for fame and so he ended up on Touch.

His first release on this acclaimed label, "Cirque" was immediately the start of a new turn in his career as his electrodriven music was more and more ambient.

His newest masterpiece on this label is the heavenly "N-Plants" which is a macabre release.

In February Geir decided to make an album which was inspired by the Japanese post-war economic miracle where he came accross a photo of the nuclear plant Mihama. Geir's first thought was, if it's safe for tsunamis and earthquakes? He started writing music about it, commenting on the potential radiation danger. On 13th February the album was finished and a month and four days later the world was facing an other nuclear disaster further destroying our planet.

A foreseeing genius? Who knows but Geir's certainly a musical genius as this electronic masterpiece captures everything a work as such needs. We almost wrote down that this ambient electronic sound is the ideal stuff to sink away in your sofa, but the awful truth is that there is something else sinking into the ocean.

Anyway, genius album you should not miss!

Didier BECU
13/07/2011


Music reviews

27
01
MARTIN L. GORE
The Third Chimpanzee E.P.
26
01
FIX8:SED8
The Inevitable Relapse (Limited Edition)
25
01
POUPPEE FABRIKK
Burn Forever
23
01
STURM CAFE
Fernes Land
18
01
DISTANT VOICES
Long Road to Home
17
01
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
Mechanical Soul

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

27
01
On this day, 39 years ago, the B52's released Mesopotamia
25
01
Exactly 43 years ago, Joy Division played their very first concert!
24
01
Today, exactly 30 years ago Front 242 released the album Tyranny ▶For You◀
24
01
Today, 3 years ago, Mark E. Smith, singer of legendary post-punk band The Fall died, aged 60
22
01
On this day, 11 years ago, Nitzer Ebb released their sixth studio album Industrial Complex!
21
01
Today, exactly 28 years ago, Ministry released Just One Fix!

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

07
01
MAMAN KUSTERS
‘Let’s Keep It Intriguing
16
12
THE BREATH OF LIFE
'No, I never considered quitting making music. Nor to taste good special beers.'
05
12
CEVIN KEY (SKINNY PUPPY, DOWNLOAD)
'It really has been like the formation of a new band in a lot of ways...'
03
12
ALEX SKOLNICK (TESTAMENT, ALEX SKOLNICK TRIO)
'I was as knocked out as I was hearing Van Halen...'
14
11
PROYECTO MIRAGE
I Think We Needed A Break

PHOTOS

25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival
20
08
JUSTIN SULLIVAN & GASTONE
Kreisverwaltung Groß-Gerau

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

27
01
PALAIS IDEAL
Crossfade / Dissolve (Official Video)
26
01
CHICKS ON SPEED
Utopia
25
01
STRONG PRODUCT
Trolleybus Park
24
01
BUZZ KULL
Last in the club
23
01
KALTE NACHT
Voices in silence
22
01
SYNAPTIC DEFECT
Tacky games
21
01
ROB ZOMBIE
The Triumph of King Freak (A Crypt of Preservation and Superstition)