tempobet yeni adresi

EN FR
like this cd review

13/07/2011 : PETER HOOK & THE LIGHT - 1102 (FEATURING ROWETTA)

PETER HOOK & THE LIGHT

1102 (FEATURING ROWETTA)

MusicCD
New wave

[65/100]   
13/07/2011, Didier CZEPCZYK

EN

While he was out touring for the 'Unknown Pleasures' homage concerts and before starting a live re-reading of ' Closer', Peter Hook has taken the time to record a 4 track EP also celebrating, guess who? Joy Division. 'Hookie' plays of course the bass guitar parts (and the vocals on the previously unreleased 'Pictures In My Mind'). The guitars and the drums are in charge of his two live musician partners while the voice on 'Atmosphere', 'Insight' and 'New Dawn Fades' falls to someone called Rowetta. Female singer with a warm voice, typically soul funk like Dionne Warwick or Withney Houston. Let’s be clear, the result is more than mixed. Even if technically there is nothing bad to say (Rowetta sings perfectly), we have difficulties finding the emotion of the orignal songs. Curtis was often nearly out of tune but he spread a tragical and urgency feeling which is unfornately missing here. 'Atmosphere' is fair but no more than that. 'Insight' saves the whole’s honour. The revisited refrain is more powerfull than the original one. 'New Dawn Fades', as for him, he sinks into ridiculous. Untidy guitars, too demonstrative vocals … It looks like a FM soup sounding like 'Skunk Anansie' (for some of you having the bad luck to know them).

To finish, a complete new song. A rehearsal’s demo which was never finalized by Joy Division : 'Pictures In My Mind' (with Peter on the microphone this time). A very punky composition which should have the right to take place on the compilation album 'Still'. Somewhere between 'Walked In Line' and 'The Kill'. In conclusion, this EP is a little bit disappointing but it has a historical valour : a song never recorded before and the definitive proof that Manchester’s “fab four” were the result of strong personalities not easily interchangeable.

Didier CZEPCZYK
13/07/2011


FR

Dans la foulée de sa tournée hommage à « Unknown Pleasures » et avant d’entamer une relecture scénique de « Closer », Peter Hook a pu prendre le temps de nous enregistrer un maxi 4 titres rendant, lui aussi, hommage à ? Vous avez deviné ? Joy Division.

« Hookie » se charge bien évidemment de la basse (et du chant sur l’inédit « Picture In My Head »). Les guitares et percussions sont assurées par ses deux musiciens de concert tandis que la voix sur « Atmosphere », « Insight » et « New Dawn Fades » incombe à une certaine Rowetta. Chanteuse à la voix chaude, typiquement soul funk dans la veine de Dionne Warwick ou Withney Houston. Soyons claires, le résultat est plus que mitigé. Même si techniquement il n’y a rien à médire (Rowetta chante parfaitement), nous avons du mal à retrouver l’émotion des titres originaux. Curtis, toujours à la limite du décrochage, diffusait un sentiment d’urgence tragique malheureusement absent ici. « Atmosphere » se laisse écouter mais sans plus. « Insight » s’en tire avec les honneurs. Le refrain retravaillé est beaucoup plus percutant que l’original. « New Dawn Fades », quant à lui, sombre dans le grotesque. Guitares brouillonnes, chant trop démonstratif … Cela ressemble à une soupe rock Fm du genre « Skunk Anansie » (pour ceux qui ont la malchance de connaître). Pour terminer, un titre totalement inédit. Une démo de répétition qui n’avait jamais été finalisée par Joy Division : « Picture In My Head » (avec Peter au micro cette fois). Une composition aux relents très punk qui aurait bien eu sa place sur la compilation « Still » entre « Walked In Line » et «The Kill». En conclusion, voici donc un maxi un peu décevant mais qui vaut pour son un intérêt historique : une chanson jamais enregistrée auparavant et la preuve définitive que les « fab four » de Manchester étaient la résultante de personnalités fortes difficilement interchangeables.

Didier CZEPCZYK
13/07/2011


Music reviews

10
01
THE MARS MODEL
Primal Urge
10
01
ELM
Penetrator
09
01
THE JUGGERNAUTS
Fear
09
01
DE DELVERS
Hart in neonlicht
20
12
TC75
5th
19
12
THE GODFATHERS
ALPHA BETA GAMMA DELTA (2022)

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

06
02
On this day, 41 years ago, the Kraftwerk single ‘The Model’ reached the Top 1 of the UK Singles Chart!
05
02
Plastic Passion | This Day 43 Years Ago, The Cure Release Boys Don’t Cry!
05
02
33 years ago Nitzer Ebb released Lightningman
04
02
Gold Star Punk | The Ramones End Of The Century At 43!
03
02
This month, 37 years ago, Front Line Assembly released Corrosion!
02
02
Anarchy And Innocence | Sid Vicious Died 44 Years Ago Today...

Concert reviews

02
11
AKALOTZ - DREADFOOL - DELERITAS - WULF7
EBM NIGHT IN LIEGE...
05
07
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

22
12
DERISION CULT
An Interview With Dave McAnally of Derision Cult
16
12
OK LION
I didn't convince Patrick Codenys to work with us, it was his idea!
30
11
THE JUGGERNAUTS
Let’s leave the love dramas and (fake) feel good theme to pop music and the brain dead Tik-Tok generation.
28
11
MONSTERGOD
With their most recent release “Ozymandias” Monstergod prove that dark sounds and poetry may go hand in hand to reach the effect that is both mesmerizing and dynamic in the most excellent hard-hitting way.
29
10
PSY'AVIAH
Wanting to have everything under control is problematic, as is wanting to have nothing under control.

PHOTOS

05
02
SHE HATES EMOTIONS
Matrix Bochum
05
02
JAN REVOLUTION
Matrix Bochum
30
01
THE RESIDENTS
Botanique Brussel
23
01
NITZER EBB JOIN THE FORCES TOUR 23
Turbinenhalle Oberhausen
23
01
FRONT 242 JOIN THE FORCES TOUR 23
Turbinenhalle Oberhausen
23
01
LIEBKNECHT JOIN THE FORCES TOUR 23
Turbinenhalle Oberhausen
01
01
NNHMN
In Between Days Meschede Stadthalle

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

06
02
FRONTMASCHINE
EXP9
05
02
AFFET ROBOT
Fırtına
04
02
DEPECHE MODE
Never Let Me Down again
03
02
SCHULTZ
Rats In The Sewers
02
02
NACHTFALTER
Maschinenklang
01
02
THE KLINIK
Face To Face
31
01
W. PIKE
We were lucky