tempobet yeni adresi

EN FR
like this cd review

13/07/2011 : PETER HOOK & THE LIGHT - 1102 (FEATURING ROWETTA)

PETER HOOK & THE LIGHT

1102 (FEATURING ROWETTA)

MusicCD
New wave

[65/100]   
13/07/2011, Didier CZEPCZYK

EN

While he was out touring for the 'Unknown Pleasures' homage concerts and before starting a live re-reading of ' Closer', Peter Hook has taken the time to record a 4 track EP also celebrating, guess who? Joy Division. 'Hookie' plays of course the bass guitar parts (and the vocals on the previously unreleased 'Pictures In My Mind'). The guitars and the drums are in charge of his two live musician partners while the voice on 'Atmosphere', 'Insight' and 'New Dawn Fades' falls to someone called Rowetta. Female singer with a warm voice, typically soul funk like Dionne Warwick or Withney Houston. Let’s be clear, the result is more than mixed. Even if technically there is nothing bad to say (Rowetta sings perfectly), we have difficulties finding the emotion of the orignal songs. Curtis was often nearly out of tune but he spread a tragical and urgency feeling which is unfornately missing here. 'Atmosphere' is fair but no more than that. 'Insight' saves the whole’s honour. The revisited refrain is more powerfull than the original one. 'New Dawn Fades', as for him, he sinks into ridiculous. Untidy guitars, too demonstrative vocals … It looks like a FM soup sounding like 'Skunk Anansie' (for some of you having the bad luck to know them).

To finish, a complete new song. A rehearsal’s demo which was never finalized by Joy Division : 'Pictures In My Mind' (with Peter on the microphone this time). A very punky composition which should have the right to take place on the compilation album 'Still'. Somewhere between 'Walked In Line' and 'The Kill'. In conclusion, this EP is a little bit disappointing but it has a historical valour : a song never recorded before and the definitive proof that Manchester’s “fab four” were the result of strong personalities not easily interchangeable.

Didier CZEPCZYK
13/07/2011


FR

Dans la foulée de sa tournée hommage à « Unknown Pleasures » et avant d’entamer une relecture scénique de « Closer », Peter Hook a pu prendre le temps de nous enregistrer un maxi 4 titres rendant, lui aussi, hommage à ? Vous avez deviné ? Joy Division.

« Hookie » se charge bien évidemment de la basse (et du chant sur l’inédit « Picture In My Head »). Les guitares et percussions sont assurées par ses deux musiciens de concert tandis que la voix sur « Atmosphere », « Insight » et « New Dawn Fades » incombe à une certaine Rowetta. Chanteuse à la voix chaude, typiquement soul funk dans la veine de Dionne Warwick ou Withney Houston. Soyons claires, le résultat est plus que mitigé. Même si techniquement il n’y a rien à médire (Rowetta chante parfaitement), nous avons du mal à retrouver l’émotion des titres originaux. Curtis, toujours à la limite du décrochage, diffusait un sentiment d’urgence tragique malheureusement absent ici. « Atmosphere » se laisse écouter mais sans plus. « Insight » s’en tire avec les honneurs. Le refrain retravaillé est beaucoup plus percutant que l’original. « New Dawn Fades », quant à lui, sombre dans le grotesque. Guitares brouillonnes, chant trop démonstratif … Cela ressemble à une soupe rock Fm du genre « Skunk Anansie » (pour ceux qui ont la malchance de connaître). Pour terminer, un titre totalement inédit. Une démo de répétition qui n’avait jamais été finalisée par Joy Division : « Picture In My Head » (avec Peter au micro cette fois). Une composition aux relents très punk qui aurait bien eu sa place sur la compilation « Still » entre « Walked In Line » et «The Kill». En conclusion, voici donc un maxi un peu décevant mais qui vaut pour son un intérêt historique : une chanson jamais enregistrée auparavant et la preuve définitive que les « fab four » de Manchester étaient la résultante de personnalités fortes difficilement interchangeables.

Didier CZEPCZYK
13/07/2011


Music reviews

27
06
BALVANERA
Courses of Action
14
06
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Gift For You
10
06
SAMHAIN
Experiment
09
06
CELESTIAL NORTH
When The Gods Dance
12
05
SHE HATES EMOTIONS
Space and time
11
05
THIS CAN HURT
A Darker Shade Of Blue

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

16
06
44 years ago Suicide performed their legendary '23 minutes over Brussels'!
15
06
Roobanok: new talent on SkyQode
15
06
Today it’s exactly 43 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).
14
06
Industrial band, The Royal Ritual addresses organized religion ethics with debut LP, /Martyrs/
14
06
TELESKOP releases new EP on Progress Productions
13
06
Toxikk Deception releases new album through DSBP Records

Concert reviews

14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.
20
04
NINO SABLE
I am not a friend of boxed content...
13
04
ECHO ROAD
'There was no easy way or any shortcut to be taken in terms of producing something truly representative of the human experience. We simply had to ‘just do it'.'

PHOTOS

27
06
THE MISSION
Live am See Meschede Germany
23
06
THE JESUS & MARY CHAIN
Trix Antwerpen
22
06
MONROE SUPPORT ALICE COOPER
Mitsubishi Electric Halle Düsseldorf
22
06
ALICE COOPER
Mitsubishi Electric Halle Düsseldorf
21
06
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
AB Brussel
19
06
GARY NUMAN
New Waves Day Oberhausen
19
06
PINK TURNS BLUE
New Waves Day Oberhausen

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

27
06
MOTOR!K
Stunden (Official Visualizer)
27
06
SEA OF SIN
Synchronize
27
06
MERCIFUL NUNS
Lightwaves
26
06
AMBASSADOR21
FUCKALLSYSTEMS
25
06
CIRCLE OF DUST
Outside In
24
06
LUH
Beneath The Concrete
23
06
EARTHSET
SO WHAT!?