tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

11/07/2011 : MINA HARKER - BITTERSUSS

MINA HARKER

BITTERSUSS

MusicCD
GothicPop

[56/100]   

Out Of Line
11/07/2011, Didier BECU

EN

We're not talking about Dracula's mistress but the German gothband founded in 2007. Since Mina made a duet with Dero from Oomph!, things only got better and the debut-album "Tiefer" was quite a success in Germany with even an appearance at Amphi!

After three years of silence, Mina's back with "Bittersuss", released on Out Of Line.

After listening to this album we really can't see why this type of music is linked with goth. Okay, they're on the right label and their band's name refers to a most famous gothnovel but musicwise there's just one word for it and that's the threeletter-word named pop!

In Germany Mina's quite loved for her naughty lyrics and you don't need that much imagination to guess what's "Lolita" all about. We're even sure that you'll understand it without understanding one word of German!

Anyway, there are some lovely electropop songs like title track to be found on here but generally it's all a bit too bland and if you thought dreadful ballads can just be heard in the R'nB-section then you have never heard Mina's "Fort von mir".

A mediocre album from a mediocre artist.

Didier BECU
11/07/2011


NL

Neen hoor, we hebben het niet over het liefje van Dracula maar wel over de Duitse gothicband die opgericht werd in 2007.

Toen Mina met Dero van Oomph! een duet opnam ging de bal echt aan het rollen waardoor het debuutalbum "Tiefer" niet alleen een kassaknaller bleek maar hun ook een plaats opleverde op het grootste gothfestival van Europa, Amph.

Na drie jaren van bezinning is Mina echter terug en is opvolger "Bittersuss" op het hippe out of Line uitgebracht.

Eerlijkheidshalve zagen wij na beluistering van dit album niet echt goed in wat dit met goth te maken heeft.

Ze zitten inderdaad wel op het juiste label en de naam refereert naar de beroemdste gothroman ooit maar muzikaal is er slechts één woord voor: pop.

In thuisland Duitsland is deze vrouw bekend door haar ondeugende teksten en ook al spreek je geen letter Duits, hoef je niet over veel fantasie te beschikken om te raden waar "Lolita" over gaat.

Je vindt hier inderdaad wel enkele geslaagde electropopnummers maar het is allemaal net iets te plat.
Trouwens, wie ooit dacht dat die afschuwelijke ballads iets typisch voor R'n B-muziek is, moet maar eens naar Mina's "Fort von mir" luisteren.

We vrezen dat dit inderdaad een matige plaat is van een al evenzeer matige artiest.

Didier BECU
11/07/2011


Music reviews

18
01
RINGFINGER
Pressure
16
01
SYRENOMILIA
A Rose Shattered
14
01
M73
Tainted
09
01
NEGANT
Schwarz!
08
01
MORE EPHEMEROL
Obituary Templates
07
01
CHRISTOPHE CLEBARD
SSS

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

24
01
Canadian DJ/Multi-Genre Artist JHNN Reveals New Single And Video 'My Strange Addiction'
24
01
Today, exactly 29 ago years ago Front 242 released the album Tyranny ▶For You◀
24
01
Today, 2 years ago, Mark E. Smith, singer of legendary post-punk band The Fall died, aged 60
23
01
Dirk Da Davo (former The Neon Judgement) and Jean-Marie Aerts (former TC MATIC) announce first joint venture full album!
22
01
On this day, 10 years ago, Nitzer Ebb released their sixth studio album Industrial Complex!
21
01
“A Rose Shattered”, the debut EP by Brussels-based Syrenomelia!

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

20
01
AARON TURNER (SUMAC, ISIS, MAMIFFER...)
'It’s like a dialogue between me and what I’m hearing...'
19
01
IAN EVERETT (SOLID BRONZE)
'had a lot of time to sit with these songs...'
17
01
BROOK
I’ve soaked up a lot of musical genres over the years, and I like to think that maybe this is reflected throughout the Brook album.
15
01
ORDO ROSARIUS EQUILIBRIO
I never thought I’d live to see the day when Ordo Rosarius Equilibrio was mentioned next to Current 93 and Death in June.
14
01
IC 434
find it amazing to live in a highly developed society and at the same time having to realize what a mentally mess it really is.

PHOTOS

19
01
DAGEIST
Dark Winter Festival Liège
19
01
THE ARCH
Dark Winter Festival Liège
19
01
DER HIMMEL UBER BERLIN
Dark Winter Festival Liège
19
01
WHITE COAL ADDICTION
Dark Winter Festival Liège
19
01
ERYX LONDON
Dark Winter Festival Liège
19
01
KEZDOWN
DARK WINTER FESTIVAL LIEGE
26
12
SUICIDE COMMANDO
Bimfest

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

24
01
DE DELVERS
Poolnacht
23
01
GOLDFRAPP
Systemagic
22
01
JOSIE PACE & SAMMI DOLL
Perfect Replacement (Official Music Video)
21
01
JAH WOBBLE
How Much Are They?
20
01
THROBBING GRISTLE
Six Six Sixties (Fan made video)
19
01
THE BREATH OF LIFE
Blackout
18
01
SDH (SEMIOTICS DEPARTMENT OF HETERONYMS)
No Miracles (Official Video)