tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

11/07/2011 : MINA HARKER - BITTERSUSS

MINA HARKER

BITTERSUSS

MusicCD
GothicPop

[56/100]   

Out Of Line
11/07/2011, Didier BECU

EN

We're not talking about Dracula's mistress but the German gothband founded in 2007. Since Mina made a duet with Dero from Oomph!, things only got better and the debut-album "Tiefer" was quite a success in Germany with even an appearance at Amphi!

After three years of silence, Mina's back with "Bittersuss", released on Out Of Line.

After listening to this album we really can't see why this type of music is linked with goth. Okay, they're on the right label and their band's name refers to a most famous gothnovel but musicwise there's just one word for it and that's the threeletter-word named pop!

In Germany Mina's quite loved for her naughty lyrics and you don't need that much imagination to guess what's "Lolita" all about. We're even sure that you'll understand it without understanding one word of German!

Anyway, there are some lovely electropop songs like title track to be found on here but generally it's all a bit too bland and if you thought dreadful ballads can just be heard in the R'nB-section then you have never heard Mina's "Fort von mir".

A mediocre album from a mediocre artist.

Didier BECU
11/07/2011


NL

Neen hoor, we hebben het niet over het liefje van Dracula maar wel over de Duitse gothicband die opgericht werd in 2007.

Toen Mina met Dero van Oomph! een duet opnam ging de bal echt aan het rollen waardoor het debuutalbum "Tiefer" niet alleen een kassaknaller bleek maar hun ook een plaats opleverde op het grootste gothfestival van Europa, Amph.

Na drie jaren van bezinning is Mina echter terug en is opvolger "Bittersuss" op het hippe out of Line uitgebracht.

Eerlijkheidshalve zagen wij na beluistering van dit album niet echt goed in wat dit met goth te maken heeft.

Ze zitten inderdaad wel op het juiste label en de naam refereert naar de beroemdste gothroman ooit maar muzikaal is er slechts één woord voor: pop.

In thuisland Duitsland is deze vrouw bekend door haar ondeugende teksten en ook al spreek je geen letter Duits, hoef je niet over veel fantasie te beschikken om te raden waar "Lolita" over gaat.

Je vindt hier inderdaad wel enkele geslaagde electropopnummers maar het is allemaal net iets te plat.
Trouwens, wie ooit dacht dat die afschuwelijke ballads iets typisch voor R'n B-muziek is, moet maar eens naar Mina's "Fort von mir" luisteren.

We vrezen dat dit inderdaad een matige plaat is van een al evenzeer matige artiest.

Didier BECU
11/07/2011


Music reviews

28
07
WULF7
I don't want (Anymore)
06
07
TRAGIC IMPULSE
Distant Worlds
04
07
RAMMSTEIN
Zeit
27
06
BALVANERA
Courses of Action
14
06
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Gift For You
10
06
SAMHAIN
Experiment

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

08
08
32 years of Head/Down with MOEV
07
08
Neo-Fanfare/Darkwave Band, Crooniek Reflects On The Concept Of Time With New Album
06
08
Post-Punk Artist Daniel Ouellette Brings Life To A Haunted House With New Album
05
08
Industrial bass artist SINthetik Messiah addresses violence in The Vatican with new single
05
08
NOISE UNIT is back in full force!
05
08
Industrial artist, Nuda addresses past trauma & mental illness with 'Trigger'

Concert reviews

05
07
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

05
08
MOTOR!K
I have to admit that I often still find it strange and difficult to grasp: people going crazy on three weirdos playing some repetitive music
12
07
FERALIA PLANITIA & DAS AUGE
'Thanks to our overlapping tastes in music, we became good friends; music was our cement, sort of speak…'
18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.

PHOTOS

08
08
NEW MODEL ARMY
Rockfabrik Uebach-Palenberg
05
08
RAMMSTEIN
Park De Nieuwe Koers Oostende
02
08
SHE PAST AWAY
Amphi Festival Keulen
02
08
FROZEN PLASMA
Amphi Festival Keulen
02
08
MONO INC.
Amphi Festival Keulen
02
08
[:SITD:]
Amphi Festival Keulen
02
08
MESH
Amphi Festival Keulen

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

09
08
WE NEVER MET
Come Play With Fire
08
08
ROSARUBEA
Window Pain
07
08
CREMATORY
Haus Mit Garten
06
08
K-X-P
Space Precious Time
05
08
MONICA JEFFRIES
In Circles
04
08
ILLUMININE
For What It's Worth (Live at Sundlaugin Studio)
03
08
THE CURE
A Forest (Live in Paris 1979)