tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

11/07/2011 : MINA HARKER - BITTERSUSS

MINA HARKER

BITTERSUSS

MusicCD
GothicPop

[56/100]   

Out Of Line
11/07/2011, Didier BECU

EN

We're not talking about Dracula's mistress but the German gothband founded in 2007. Since Mina made a duet with Dero from Oomph!, things only got better and the debut-album "Tiefer" was quite a success in Germany with even an appearance at Amphi!

After three years of silence, Mina's back with "Bittersuss", released on Out Of Line.

After listening to this album we really can't see why this type of music is linked with goth. Okay, they're on the right label and their band's name refers to a most famous gothnovel but musicwise there's just one word for it and that's the threeletter-word named pop!

In Germany Mina's quite loved for her naughty lyrics and you don't need that much imagination to guess what's "Lolita" all about. We're even sure that you'll understand it without understanding one word of German!

Anyway, there are some lovely electropop songs like title track to be found on here but generally it's all a bit too bland and if you thought dreadful ballads can just be heard in the R'nB-section then you have never heard Mina's "Fort von mir".

A mediocre album from a mediocre artist.

Didier BECU
11/07/2011


NL

Neen hoor, we hebben het niet over het liefje van Dracula maar wel over de Duitse gothicband die opgericht werd in 2007.

Toen Mina met Dero van Oomph! een duet opnam ging de bal echt aan het rollen waardoor het debuutalbum "Tiefer" niet alleen een kassaknaller bleek maar hun ook een plaats opleverde op het grootste gothfestival van Europa, Amph.

Na drie jaren van bezinning is Mina echter terug en is opvolger "Bittersuss" op het hippe out of Line uitgebracht.

Eerlijkheidshalve zagen wij na beluistering van dit album niet echt goed in wat dit met goth te maken heeft.

Ze zitten inderdaad wel op het juiste label en de naam refereert naar de beroemdste gothroman ooit maar muzikaal is er slechts één woord voor: pop.

In thuisland Duitsland is deze vrouw bekend door haar ondeugende teksten en ook al spreek je geen letter Duits, hoef je niet over veel fantasie te beschikken om te raden waar "Lolita" over gaat.

Je vindt hier inderdaad wel enkele geslaagde electropopnummers maar het is allemaal net iets te plat.
Trouwens, wie ooit dacht dat die afschuwelijke ballads iets typisch voor R'n B-muziek is, moet maar eens naar Mina's "Fort von mir" luisteren.

We vrezen dat dit inderdaad een matige plaat is van een al evenzeer matige artiest.

Didier BECU
11/07/2011


Music reviews

05
07
JAYE JAYLE
PRISYN
03
07
PORTION CONTROL
Head Buried
02
07
AIMA & THE ILLUSION OF SILENCE
Music for certain rituals
28
06
VARIOUS ARTISTS
PERIHELION 2134
24
06
COLD IN MAY
Isolation songs
19
06
UNITCODE:MACHINE
Paper empires

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

07
07
Darkwave Band STYKFAKTOR Reveals New Single, 'Distance' - An Emotional Struggle With Social Distancing
07
07
FRONT 242's Daniel B. celebrate his 66th birthday with the release of 6+6
04
07
Industrial Band RIOTLEGION Announces The Release Of Machine Liberation
03
07
I Wanted To Tell Her by Ministry turns 37 years this month!
15
06
Today it’s exactly 41 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).
11
06
29 years of Kraftwerk in The Mix

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

06
07
J.ROBBINS
'When someone has a song and they’re struggling about - what’s the best way to present it...'
04
07
LAIBACH
When they banned Laibach, we said 'great, let's move further'!
27
06
BURTON C.BELL (FEAR FACTORY, ASCENSION OF THE WATCHERS )
'It all comes from my head – whatever I’m feeling, whatever I’m thinking of.'
27
06
RODNEY ORPHEUS / THE CASSANDRA COMPLEX
I Think I’m Still As Revolutionary And Opinionated As Ever...
25
06
THE COLOURS OF SILENCE
Isolation Is Good For Art. Embrace It And Use It

PHOTOS

13
03
SIGLO XX
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
ROME
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ROSE OF AVALANCHE
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE DANSE SOCIETY
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ARCH
Porta Nigra Aarschot
11
03
FRONT 242
Pulse Namur Isnes
11
03
SHAARGHOT
Pulse Namur Isnes

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

08
07
RYUICHI SAKAMOTO & DAVID SYLVIAN
Life, Life
07
07
KDF
Innocence
06
07
SNOG
Spätzle Machine
06
07
THE HORRORIST
The Horrorist - One Night In New York City (Uncensored)(Chris Liebing Remix)
05
07
GOLDFRAPP
Winter Wonderland
04
07
LORDS OF ACID
I Sit On Acid
03
07
DEAD CAN DANCE
Eleusis