tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

11/07/2011 : MINA HARKER - BITTERSUSS

MINA HARKER

BITTERSUSS

MusicCD
GothicPop

[56/100]   

Out Of Line
11/07/2011, Didier BECU

EN

We're not talking about Dracula's mistress but the German gothband founded in 2007. Since Mina made a duet with Dero from Oomph!, things only got better and the debut-album "Tiefer" was quite a success in Germany with even an appearance at Amphi!

After three years of silence, Mina's back with "Bittersuss", released on Out Of Line.

After listening to this album we really can't see why this type of music is linked with goth. Okay, they're on the right label and their band's name refers to a most famous gothnovel but musicwise there's just one word for it and that's the threeletter-word named pop!

In Germany Mina's quite loved for her naughty lyrics and you don't need that much imagination to guess what's "Lolita" all about. We're even sure that you'll understand it without understanding one word of German!

Anyway, there are some lovely electropop songs like title track to be found on here but generally it's all a bit too bland and if you thought dreadful ballads can just be heard in the R'nB-section then you have never heard Mina's "Fort von mir".

A mediocre album from a mediocre artist.

Didier BECU
11/07/2011


NL

Neen hoor, we hebben het niet over het liefje van Dracula maar wel over de Duitse gothicband die opgericht werd in 2007.

Toen Mina met Dero van Oomph! een duet opnam ging de bal echt aan het rollen waardoor het debuutalbum "Tiefer" niet alleen een kassaknaller bleek maar hun ook een plaats opleverde op het grootste gothfestival van Europa, Amph.

Na drie jaren van bezinning is Mina echter terug en is opvolger "Bittersuss" op het hippe out of Line uitgebracht.

Eerlijkheidshalve zagen wij na beluistering van dit album niet echt goed in wat dit met goth te maken heeft.

Ze zitten inderdaad wel op het juiste label en de naam refereert naar de beroemdste gothroman ooit maar muzikaal is er slechts één woord voor: pop.

In thuisland Duitsland is deze vrouw bekend door haar ondeugende teksten en ook al spreek je geen letter Duits, hoef je niet over veel fantasie te beschikken om te raden waar "Lolita" over gaat.

Je vindt hier inderdaad wel enkele geslaagde electropopnummers maar het is allemaal net iets te plat.
Trouwens, wie ooit dacht dat die afschuwelijke ballads iets typisch voor R'n B-muziek is, moet maar eens naar Mina's "Fort von mir" luisteren.

We vrezen dat dit inderdaad een matige plaat is van een al evenzeer matige artiest.

Didier BECU
11/07/2011


Music reviews

19
10
DREADFOOL
Atoms for peace
18
10
ANNA VON HAUSSWOLFF
All Thoughts Fly Sweden
17
10
FATAL CASUALTIES
Lullaby for Helsinki
16
10
JESU
When I Was Small
12
10
SUICIDE COMMANDO
Mindstrip Redux
09
10
PORTION CONTROL
SEED EP1

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

24
10
Exactly 31 years ago Nitzer Ebb released ‘Control I’m Here’
23
10
40 years of Subhuman and Adrenalin by Throbbing Gristle!
21
10
Angels & Agony launched a new official lyric video of 'Forever'!
21
10
The Ignition Of Irish Punk | 43 years ago, Radiators From Space released their debut album 'TV Tube Heart'
17
10
Electronic/Alternative Artist CARVR Unleashes Debut Single & Visualizer, 'Erase Me'
16
10
SAMMI DOLL Releases Official Music Video for 'AN OM IE'

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing
31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

21
10
DELERITAS
EBM-Indus Night Liège : The bands presented... Deleritas!
20
10
WULF7
EBM-Indus Night Liège : The bands presented... WÜLF7!
19
10
LISA GERRARD (DEAD CAN DANCE)
'I love the innocent dangers that can be experienced in musical performance...'
18
10
SERAPHIM SYSTEM
A Glorious Return To Form
17
10
DREADFOOL
EBM-Indus Night Liège : The bands presented... DREADFOOL!

PHOTOS

25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival
20
08
JUSTIN SULLIVAN & GASTONE
Kreisverwaltung Groß-Gerau

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

24
10
CIRCLE BROS
Detroit
23
10
FEVER RAY
Part VII: IDK About You (Official Video)
22
10
EXECUTIVE SLACKS
So Mote it Be (Bedroom version)
21
10
PANKOW
Great Minds Against Themselves Conspire / Dirty Old Men
20
10
CHAMELEONS VOX
Swamp Thing
19
10
SALLY DIGE
Holding On
18
10
A DARKER COLOR BRIGHT
Fluorescent