tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

11/07/2011 : MINA HARKER - BITTERSUSS

MINA HARKER

BITTERSUSS

MusicCD
GothicPop

[56/100]   

Out Of Line
11/07/2011, Didier BECU

EN

We're not talking about Dracula's mistress but the German gothband founded in 2007. Since Mina made a duet with Dero from Oomph!, things only got better and the debut-album "Tiefer" was quite a success in Germany with even an appearance at Amphi!

After three years of silence, Mina's back with "Bittersuss", released on Out Of Line.

After listening to this album we really can't see why this type of music is linked with goth. Okay, they're on the right label and their band's name refers to a most famous gothnovel but musicwise there's just one word for it and that's the threeletter-word named pop!

In Germany Mina's quite loved for her naughty lyrics and you don't need that much imagination to guess what's "Lolita" all about. We're even sure that you'll understand it without understanding one word of German!

Anyway, there are some lovely electropop songs like title track to be found on here but generally it's all a bit too bland and if you thought dreadful ballads can just be heard in the R'nB-section then you have never heard Mina's "Fort von mir".

A mediocre album from a mediocre artist.

Didier BECU
11/07/2011


NL

Neen hoor, we hebben het niet over het liefje van Dracula maar wel over de Duitse gothicband die opgericht werd in 2007.

Toen Mina met Dero van Oomph! een duet opnam ging de bal echt aan het rollen waardoor het debuutalbum "Tiefer" niet alleen een kassaknaller bleek maar hun ook een plaats opleverde op het grootste gothfestival van Europa, Amph.

Na drie jaren van bezinning is Mina echter terug en is opvolger "Bittersuss" op het hippe out of Line uitgebracht.

Eerlijkheidshalve zagen wij na beluistering van dit album niet echt goed in wat dit met goth te maken heeft.

Ze zitten inderdaad wel op het juiste label en de naam refereert naar de beroemdste gothroman ooit maar muzikaal is er slechts één woord voor: pop.

In thuisland Duitsland is deze vrouw bekend door haar ondeugende teksten en ook al spreek je geen letter Duits, hoef je niet over veel fantasie te beschikken om te raden waar "Lolita" over gaat.

Je vindt hier inderdaad wel enkele geslaagde electropopnummers maar het is allemaal net iets te plat.
Trouwens, wie ooit dacht dat die afschuwelijke ballads iets typisch voor R'n B-muziek is, moet maar eens naar Mina's "Fort von mir" luisteren.

We vrezen dat dit inderdaad een matige plaat is van een al evenzeer matige artiest.

Didier BECU
11/07/2011


Music reviews

15
10
DAVID J HASKINS
Missive To An Angel From The Halls Of Infamy And Allure
15
10
ARMSTRONG
Under Blue Skies
14
10
MOONLIGHT MEADOW
Moonlight Meadow
14
10
IN DEED
Everest - Expanded Edition
13
10
REACTOR7X
Are You My Bitch
13
10
WALTER CELI
Blend

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

10
10
29 years ago Nine Inch Nails released 'Sin'
09
10
The Arch releases new album 'XII'
08
10
Eclectic Artist Addie Brik Releases New Single
07
10
YOVA - Debut Single 'Moondog' (featuring members of PJ Harvey / Grumbling Fur / Cameron Craig)
22
09
Today it’s been exactly 27 years since Nine Inch Nails released Broken (EP)
21
09
Industrial/Metal Band DECENT NEWS Announces The Release Of 'Monolith'

Concert reviews

21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019
15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

14
10
JAMES MCGREGOR (THE CLOCKWORKS)
'Our dynamic is genuinely a gang scenario'
12
10
NEON INSECT
A Conversation With Neon Insect
11
10
ENZO KREFT
Many tracks from 'Control' are about the relationship between humans and technology and the dangerous consequences of this in the near future.
10
10
AMY STUDT
'It’ll be alright in the end and if it isn’t alright, it isn’t yet the end.'
09
10
STALINGRAD VALKYRIE
The old world will be collapsing pretty soon!

PHOTOS

06
10
GROUND NERO
De Klinker Aarschot
06
10
GROUND NERO
De Klinker Aarschot
06
10
GROUND NERO
De Klinker Aarschot
04
10
SLAVE SEPERATION VS KNK
Fetish Café Antwerpen
04
10
LEAETHER STRIP
Fetish Café Antwerpen
22
09
WHISPERING SONS
Liege New Wave Festival
22
09
ASH CODE
Liege New Wave Festival

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

15
10
RYUICHI SAKAMOTO
Merry Christmas Mr Lawrence
14
10
DELERIUM
Keep on Dreaming (featuring Jaël)
13
10
SAIGON BLUE RAIN
Queen Ephemeria / live in Hamburg
12
10
THE FROZEN AUTUMN
Static Cold
11
10
BALTIMORE
Sunglasses
10
10
PET SHOP BOYS
Domino Dancing (Extended Version)
09
10
ALISON MOYET
Is This Love